Home Loan Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

American Financial Resources, Inc

3.0 out of 5 stars
6 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

3 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Nov 18, 2016
Easy and quick
Anonymous Borrower

I got my quote and everything went smooth. Great communication and got my refinance done quick. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Nov 04, 2016
Worst financing experience I've ever had
Anonymous Borrower

I wish I had read these reviews before doing business with this company. I implore anyone who reads this to NEVER DO BUSINESS WITH AMERICAN FINANCIAL RESOURCES. Jxxx Xxxxxxx is either the laziest or most incompetent person I've ever dealt with...and I mean EVER. He doesn't return phone calls or emails and shows no interest in getting things right. Similar to others, my loan processing was slow and painful. I wanted to refinance two homes, no cash out, 50% loan-to-value...should have been simple. It took three months to close, underwriting always needed "one other piece of information", which was never needed from me, always from some mysterious underwriter within the company. When we FINALLY got confirmation from AFR that they were ready to close, no one followed up to set a closing date/time. Instead, I get a call from the title company at 8:45 am saying they received funds on one of the loans and apparently we had an appointment at 9:00 am to close...the title company was just as surprised as I was. When we got to closing, the loan documents did not reflect a credit that had been agreed to previously and, even better, didn't include me as the borrower. Even though I had been the only person dealing with the company for three months, only my partner was on the note. All of the paperwork had to be redone, re-signed, etc. and, because of all the hassle, we closed without the agreed upon credit with the assurance from Jxxx that we'd be made whole after the closing. We are now nearly one month later and the credit has still not been resolved. I've started emailed Jxxx on a daily basis and will do so until I have a check in hand. This is a long post, so if you go this far, I will reiterate...unless you want to lose every hair on your head trying to get a deal done with these guys, avoid AFR like the plague.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Dec 19, 2016
terrible experience
Anonymous Borrower

Run, run away! Honestly, I know the low rate is tempting, but the frustration you will suffer through the entire experience is not worth it. I’ve never dealt with such unresponsive, unprofessional, uncaring people. At times, I felt like I was being conned because it was just such an unbelievably bad experience. I wondered if they were intentionally drawing it out and not returning my emails for some reason. It was just baffling.

If you still choose to work with eLend, know that you, the CUSTOMER, will have to be the proactive party in this transaction. Know that there will be many emails that go unanswered. Know that even when you provide all of the documentation needed – and quickly – there will be more and more and more information needed. And then needed again, because the old paperwork expired…because the process was taking so long…because they are incompetent.

And also, know that you will not get any sympathy from your originator or processor. They will not care that you are exhausted from the process and deserve answers. And know that likely it will take you contacting their supervisor to get action to finally happen so you can close and move on with your life. 

more ...
Nov 18, 2016
Easy and quick
Anonymous Borrower

I got my quote and everything went smooth. Great communication and got my refinance done quick. 

more ...
Nov 04, 2016
Worst financing experience I've ever had
Anonymous Borrower

I wish I had read these reviews before doing business with this company. I implore anyone who reads this to NEVER DO BUSINESS WITH AMERICAN FINANCIAL RESOURCES. Jxxx Xxxxxxx is either the laziest or most incompetent person I've ever dealt with...and I mean EVER. He doesn't return phone calls or emails and shows no interest in getting things right. Similar to others, my loan processing was slow and painful. I wanted to refinance two homes, no cash out, 50% loan-to-value...should have been simple. It took three months to close, underwriting always needed "one other piece of information", which was never needed from me, always from some mysterious underwriter within the company. When we FINALLY got confirmation from AFR that they were ready to close, no one followed up to set a closing date/time. Instead, I get a call from the title company at 8:45 am saying they received funds on one of the loans and apparently we had an appointment at 9:00 am to close...the title company was just as surprised as I was. When we got to closing, the loan documents did not reflect a credit that had been agreed to previously and, even better, didn't include me as the borrower. Even though I had been the only person dealing with the company for three months, only my partner was on the note. All of the paperwork had to be redone, re-signed, etc. and, because of all the hassle, we closed without the agreed upon credit with the assurance from Jxxx that we'd be made whole after the closing. We are now nearly one month later and the credit has still not been resolved. I've started emailed Jxxx on a daily basis and will do so until I have a check in hand. This is a long post, so if you go this far, I will reiterate...unless you want to lose every hair on your head trying to get a deal done with these guys, avoid AFR like the plague.

more ...
Jul 25, 2016
HORRIBLE customer service ever
Anonymous Borrower

The worst customer service service I've ever had in all my life, no one can solve anything, are you transferring from one department to another and nobody knows absolutely solve anything.

I have over 750 points of credit, and even then rose my interest!

Do not have account with that bank horrible!

more ...
Jun 23, 2016
Great Rate and fast close
Tcostant Borrower

I’ve refinanced or closed on a loan five times in my life and this was by far the best experience recently with eLend (a.k.a American Financial Resource). I contracted eLend on May 3rd, 2016 I found them though a “Bankrate” search and there rate was better than anyone and tied with one other. I got estimates from each, while the rates were same eLend fees were much, much lower. When I was paying for the appraisal ($475), I was given a $200 closing credit just for asking for a lower amount. I was able to get the appraiser to come at lunch a few days later and received the final report a week later. The processing fee was also offset with a lender credit. In addition, the title fees quoted were cheaper than anything else I could find (and cheaper than three years earlier when I refinanced with Citimortgage). Sarah was my initial contract; she always returned a call or answered any question, just a pleasure to deal with. I also liked that eLend send out these emails as your loan moves to the next stage (Loan Disclosures, Send To Processing, Submitted to Underwriting, Underwriting, and Cleared to Close, & Close); this is great for anyone who in wondering what is happening. As my loan was about half way done, Dawn Yoquelet was the processor and my point of contract and she was most helpful, especially when my title fees came in $200 higher than my initial quote, she worked with the title company and got them to match the original quote. Both Sarah Harper & Dawn Yoquelet were a pleasure to work with, professional and just plain very helpful. My loan closed on June 14 and the funds moved a week later. I was able to lock in the rate of 2.625% for 15 years fixed (my credit union was at 2.875 with more fees). So happy.

more ...
Mar 21, 2016
My experience was nice and smooth.
FBodyexpert Borrower

I can't speak for the other reviewer experiences on here or their loan officers. I used my own independent loan officer for a FHA purchase. They approved me when no one else would look at me. 622 mid score and I have a 3.8% interest rate. There was a bunch of back and forth with document requests but it happened fast. We closed in less that 30 days over the holidays. Even asked the closing date to be moved from Janurary 28th to the 15th and they were able to make it happen. Payments, and taxes were less than originally quoted, and they don't charge me for payments made online. It's only been 2 months so they haven't really had a chance to screw up yet, but so far I'm happy.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations