Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Zales Credit Card

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

1.4 out of 5 stars
9 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

1.5 5
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Oct 03, 2016
Not bad until your Promo ends
Anonymous Cardholder

Got this card to pay of my fiances wedding ring and had no problems. Until the 12 month promo period hit. I had $218 left to pay on the card until they smacked me with a $365 interest charge. Instead of charging me interest on the $218 they charged me interest on the original purchase price. Called in to ask about it and they said they could do nothing about it. They said if I would have called a week after my promotion ended and paid off the card it would have been no problem. I don't know anyone that checks their bills weekly to ensure they are the correct amount. I would have paid the amount due on the phone then and there but now that I owe close to $600 I now have to pay it month by month AND get charged interest on the new interest charges they added!!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 01, 2016

I'm a card holder as well and I currently have a promo going on. It clearly states that interest will be charged from the date of purchase, if it isn't paid in full by the end of the promo date. This isn't limited to Zales, Blispay, Paypal, Care Credit to name a few offers the same promo policy.

 
Sep 07, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

Zales I had no problem with when they had the old company to make payments. Now this new company that they transfer the accounts to are horrible. The Comenity Capital Bank dont have automatic payments even though they told me on the phone they do. They had to delete my account and recreate it for some issue that was going on. When I finally called back about all these issues they did remove the late fee but jeez what kind of company doesnt have automatic payment. This is just a way that they can make more money from the fees then anything. I would never buy from Zales again unless I am using my own credit cards. 

more ...
Aug 20, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

Massive late fees and minimum charge fees. Taking advantage of the poor. Comenity bank executives will rot in hell. Never get a store credit card.

more ...
Jul 12, 2016
Worst card ever
Anonymous Cardholder

I purchased a ring from Zales and was convinced to use their card.  I was set up with automatic payments that came out each month.  After 18 months I received a 2000.00 interest fee.  The balance on the card was around 3000.00.  When I called to ask what was up, I was told I should have read the fine print.  My promotion period ended and I had to pay interest for the entire period.  I was 3 weeks past my promotion period and paid the balance off.  I am still stuck with 2000.00 interest.  It's amazing that I have to pay 2000.00 interest for 3 weeks.  I also can't figure their rates out becasue the entire amount financed was only around 7000.00.  That seems like a very high rate of interest.  My advice is stay away from Aales and Comenity Bank.

more ...
Jul 04, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

I was just charged 59.00 twice and then charged 267 some kind revolving interest. Happy 4th bs. I will never shop here again.

more ...
Jun 24, 2016
A literal SCAM!
Anonymous Cardholder

Zales credit is the biggest scam in the United States!!!  A negative star would be most appropriate.  They lied regarding 0 interest offers, escalate finance charges and even their telephone customer service reps cannot explain the charges.  When questioned regarding the math they become rude and present it as though they have done you a favor.  I think it would be better to have dealt with a payday loan scammer...at least they put their scam in small print.  Zales blindsides you!

The application process was easy...it should have been, I have excellent credit!  I paid my balance ($1500.00) in full to be rid of them.  I will never, ever, ever purchase anything from them again!!!

Shame on Citi!  Beware!

more ...
May 09, 2016
pretty happy
Anonymous Cardholder

I got this card, and was approved instantly and was approved for a $3000.00 limit was pretty excited and was very happy. got my mother a pair of earings and went from there. If you get approved for this buy something under what 10% of the what the limit is and build credit like that, and just pay it off it may be a little credit hisotry but it shows you been able to control your limit. like me i was a 610 credirt score now im a 725 with a car payment and one credit card from zales. just dont spend on a credit card at all and you'll be fuine for one time use only thought.

more ...
Jan 12, 2016
lies Lies LIES
hess1979 Cardholder

This credit card is a total scam!  AVOID at all costs!  The salespeople in the store are sooooo excited to get you to take their 6, 12, or 18 month no interest deals.  What they don't tell you is that is interest is DEFERRED only!  They are telling you LIES are committing CRIMES!  I got charged a late fee for paying my credit card EARLY!  Two days BEFORE the due date!  If I hadn't called within 60 days, they would have not reversed the charge.  DON'T GET THIS CARD!

more ...
Dec 22, 2015
jsjammu23 Cardholder

Citibank is the one who are jerks not necessarily zales staff unless you had some shady sales staff. I had $2300 limit Zales card and paid if off before the 12 months and always made payment on time. I went back the follow year and was hoping for Citi to increase my limit and nothing. They said they weren't able to extend my limit. If you can get your financing from your credit union or apply with other credit cards and use the free 12 month or 15 months 0% offers.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Zales Credit Card