West Elm Credit Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.1 out of 5 stars
7 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

2 5
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

May 08, 2017
DO NOT GET THIS CARD
Anonymous Cardholder

I've had many credit cards, and this one seemed like a good idea with the free financing for a year to help furnish our new house. We spent close to $8000 on new furniture, paying well over the amount due to pay it off in a year. Last month I started noticing finance charges, the company claiming that my "promo" expired and that the balance was paid off. Please note, none of these purchases were made on the same date and half of them made six months later. So all of them had the same "year financing" promo. I called to ask about the $750 added to my account, only for her to tell me that I was paying the finance charges, rather than paying for the actual items. So this caused three of my items to start getting finance charges. According to the lady I talked to, I apparently needed to call the company and tell them where I wanted my payments to be applied. Aka I needed to tell them I wanted to pay off the other items first to avoid their finance charges. Makes no sense why I would pay the interest first, rather than paying off other items to avoid other charges. I am paying the card entirely off today and plan to never use it again. It's exactly what someone above me said, they look for ways to charge you in fees any way that they can. Avoid this card at all costs, literally. 

more ...
Mar 02, 2017
Unfair and unlawful payment policies
Anonymous Cardholder

This is by far the worst credit card I have ever had.  I paid off the balance in full within 30 days and was charged a total of $55.91 in late fees.  The bill was given to me 30 days before expected as my sofa was ready before the date they told me.  I was given only 11 days to pay off my balance.  I stronly advise NOT to get this credit card.  This is not worth the benefits they give.  I called to see if they would waive the two fees (the initial fee and the second fee) as a courtesy and they said no.  It feels like a fraudulent credit card company.

more ...
Feb 23, 2017
The worst credit card I've ever use
Anonymous Cardholder

This is definitely the worst credit card and points system I've ever seen/used. It is not worth the trouble AT ALL so don't be fooled by the promos to join. I've had nothing but trouble every time I've tried to use it (which is infrequently). Missing bills / rewards dollars, not getting charged right when I order something so I know about when a bill will be due yet inability to set up auto-pay, etc. This bank almost tries to make it unnecessarily difficult so they rack in fees and finance charges. The way the Design Dollars are redeemed is also awful and unecessarily difficult to understand. I've had probably 25 different credit cards over the years and a perfect credit score (over 800). This is BY FAR the worst card I've ever used.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Mar 01, 2017

As someone with 14 cards, I have to agree with you on this card. As I've said in my previous post it might be better paying for what you want from West Elm on a different credit card.

 
Jan 28, 2017
So so.
rosafamily Cardholder

If you're looking to purchase items from West Elm I might suggest using a different credit card. The finance charges are really high which in the end you might end up paying near double. If you don't have enough money on a different card and getting a West Elm credit card is your only option then just expect to pay more over time. I pay double the min due to get rid of the balance faster. However, I did get almost $300 in bonus rewards which kind of makes up for the finance charges. So this card in my opinion isn't bad or good. Just try to pay it off fast.

more ...
Oct 09, 2016
Too many strings
Anonymous Cardholder

Reward dollars come with way too many strings attached - hard to earn, hard to spend before expiry, no return refunds.

Card site has limited functionality and no autopay so it's easy to miss a payment on a card you hardly ever use. Plus last I checked it had no Mint.com integration so even more risk of losing track.

I missed a payment due to an incorrect charge and initially the Comenity Bank customer service was intractable despite West Elm backing me. I ended up writing a letter to Comenity Bank and they did eventually retract the charges, late fees and negative reporting. Thank you to whomever at Comenity approved that - had it not happened I would have cancelled the card and stopped shopping at West Elm.

more ...
Sep 09, 2016
Signup is nice
Fakyuden Cardholder

The $50 for signing up works and helped buy a bag. 2 day shipping.

It's a store card so the apr is whatever, but nowhere near as bad as overstock's 27%. Checking the online portal is a breeze and I had to call them several times, but to their merit comenity bank has always answered on time and been very courteous.

more ...
Sep 06, 2016
WARNING
Anonymous Cardholder

At first, I was very happy with this card because of the 10% back coupons and benefits you receive with each purchase. Every month, I checked my account and paid off the minimum balance requested. I could have afforded to pay it all off at once, but decided I would slowly pay it off since I was given the option. Little did I know (and nobody from the company told me) that they charge you every month you have any money in the account left unpaid, even if you pay off the minumum balance as calculated by the website. 

The first month they charged me a $54 "finance charge". Confused, I paid off everything but that $54 and emailed customer service asking what it was about. They did not respond. I waited until I got the chance to call them, and in the meantime found another $35 finance charge on my account. When I called them they finally told me that they put finance charges on the card based on whatever unpaid balance is left on the card, even if you pay the minimum. Nobody in the store who convinced me to set up the card, nor the credit card expert who set it up over the phone, mentioned this to me. It is only in the fine print of the card information. 

Even with this in mind, I have no idea how they justified adding a $35 finance charge when my unpaid balance on the card was only $54. 

If you go in knowing to pay off the entire balance every month you will be fine. But it blows my mind that they can do this to people without giving them any sort of legitimate warning. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Dec 10, 2016

Are you serious? All credit cards charge interest. The only time they don't is when you purchase something under a special zero percent interest period.

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

West Elm Credit Card