Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

U.S. Bank Visa® Platinum Card

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.2 out of 5 stars
10 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

3 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Sep 04, 2016
Love this card, wonderful service!'
Anonymous Cardholder

This is a wonderful card with great interest rates!!! Love the professional and friendly service I always receive from US Bank!!  Highly recommend this card!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jun 16, 2016
No thrills at all, Basic
bisrama Cardholder

My score is over 747, been paying them for over 2 years, never late, never have gone over the limit and literally always owe on it less that 15% of the $1000 credit line. Yep, no increse in credit line ever. And what sucks even more, is you always need to wait 10 days to get an answer as to increase or whatever from them. Go with Chase Freedom in my opinion.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Nov 05, 2016
don't get it trust me!!
Anonymous Cardholder

I have pay my balance on my account and they still charging me (interest charge on purchases) and I have not use my card for five months its almost $213...

more ...
Nov 01, 2016
Pain free application process.
Anonymous Cardholder

Approval decision was quick and the representative was knowledgeable, courteous and helpful.

more ...
Sep 04, 2016
Love this card, wonderful service!'
Anonymous Cardholder

This is a wonderful card with great interest rates!!! Love the professional and friendly service I always receive from US Bank!!  Highly recommend this card!!

more ...
Aug 19, 2016
great card
Anonymous Cardholder

started with 1000 limit with 640 credit score in 2012 now in 2016 i have a 14000 limit and credit score of 760

more ...
Jun 16, 2016
No thrills at all, Basic
bisrama Cardholder

My score is over 747, been paying them for over 2 years, never late, never have gone over the limit and literally always owe on it less that 15% of the $1000 credit line. Yep, no increse in credit line ever. And what sucks even more, is you always need to wait 10 days to get an answer as to increase or whatever from them. Go with Chase Freedom in my opinion.

more ...
May 20, 2016
Be aware! Must read before apply
kyainkarma Cardholder

I applied this card to take the advantage of addittional discount from REI. Applying the card was standard like any other companies. Then the nightmare starts....

Within 8 month of having this card, there is already a fraudulent charge on my account. Never in the past I have had this problem with a card that has a short history on it. Obvious it was handled in the correct way by law, however, I just can't stop thinking about how the information was leak to cause to event. While this event happened, I do not fully blame of bank for everything, afterall this do happen to almost everyone I knew.

After 1 year of owning this card, I decided to make a credit line increase request with the bank, which is a common practice I do with every card I own. During the process, they asked me to fill a apllication for the increase which I understand. Every credit card company does thing a bit different when handling this request.

However, THEY DID A HARD PULL ON MY CREDIT INQUIRY just for the credit line increase request which I'VE NEVER HAD THAT WITH ANY OTHER COMPANY IN PAST. A hard pull is usually needed when you are opening new accounts or get a new loans, NOT ON A CREDIT LINE INCREASE.

I've come to realized this happened thanks to CREDIT KRAMA's wonderful notification alert system.

Conculsion: DO NOT apply for this card if you ever wanted to increase your credit line. The service and the terms were just standard which I'm 100% positive there would be a better offer out there.

I have no chioce but to stay with them since the damage is done already. But you can still avoid this. 

more ...
May 24, 2016

FYI, ALL companies do a hard credit pull for credit line increases UNLESS it's a automatic increase where the offer u the increase. And u can't name the bank for fraudulent card use, there are millions of ways fraudsters get your card info. People like you shouldn't be allowed to have credit cards, do some research b4 applying. Don't bother disputing this, I've worked for 3 big bank credit card companies for over 30 years.

 
May 24, 2016

Grammar police, auto correct didn't do me any favors

 
May 10, 2016
Bait and switch card
yeastbeast Cardholder

US Bank sent me this card when I applied for their REI Mastercard. The CSR told me that I "didn't qualify" for the REI card, despite a 800+ FICO. I wish they had been upfront about this when I was "approved" for the REI card. Won't be doing business with US Bank from now on. 

more ...
Mar 26, 2016
LOVE U.S. BANK
pitsy088 Cardholder

Approved with a 630 Transunion score.  Have 3 other cards with them and A Checking.  This one is my lowest limit.  I have had to call into underwriting for all of my applications.  Just to very info.  Have never been denied.  Pay off my balances often.  Really use my cards.  And use my Checking often showing I can handle credit well.  I think they use people for applications which is good.  

more ...
Feb 03, 2016
The UnderWriter's of US Bank smh
Anonymous Cardholder

Sucks......

more ...
Jan 28, 2016
Absolutely LOVE this card

Ive been a US Bank customer for years and have 2 credit cards with them. I was approved for 300$ then after 6 months it was raised to 2000$. No apr for the first year and they report and its accurate. I also got a 100$ "pay and get statement credit" my first month, i dont know why though. Overall great card and great company

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Oct 24, 2016

Curious as to what your credit was when you applied if you don't mind me asking. I just applied for the same card and I'm trying to figure out my chances .

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

U.S. Bank Visa® Platinum Card