TJX RewardsTM MasterCard® Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

1.8 out of 5 stars
46 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

2 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jan 24, 2017
Good reward bad interest
titliest72 Cardholder

High interest card so as usualy pay off. The rewards are great. You get certificates to use at the store. The down side is if you go paperless you do not know you have reward certificate to print unless you view the statement. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Nov 15, 2016
Not worth it
Anonymous Cardholder

I am a regular at Marshalls and Homegoods so I thought it'd be a great idea but I was wrong. It is not very technological  friendly. I have to end up calling alot of times to pay my bill because the online option rarely works. Plus the rewards aren't that great. There are definitely way better options out there!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Aug 16, 2017
It's 2017, they need a mobile app!!!
Anonymous Cardholder

This card is great, but the way in which you have to make payments becomes extremely confusing. It's only mail or electronic through email. They do not have a mobile app which makes payments much easier, most major credit cards companies have adapted to this strategy. This is really my only major qualm about the card itself. Update to an app-based source for electronic payments, it's the year 2017... 

more ...
Jul 22, 2017
****!
Anonymous Cardholder

My husband had this card. His credit dropped a few points so the reduced his credit limit. We had only used it a few times. The first being for like 390.00 paid it off a week later. 2 nd time for like 159. Paid it off slower to show payments. Haven't used it for months so they cancelled the card. Could never get the payment to go through online. It drove him crazy!

more ...
Jul 21, 2017
Random closing of account
Anonymous Cardholder

I have had this card less than a year. Started out with a $200 credit limit and always kept a balance on it, paying the minium and using it when I wanted. Well, in June of this year, I paid it all the way off. I go to the store today, July 21, to use it on a reasonable sized purchase only to have it declined. Twice. The lady at the counter called them and the guy told me because there was something on my credit report that came up that they didn't like, which was a medical bill that just recently went into collections but despite that my credit score is past 600, they decided to close my card. They claim they sent a letter but I never got it. They said I could reapply but when I did, I was declined. Makes me wonder if I pay off my other cards with this same bank if they are going to close those too! 

more ...
Jul 12, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

PLEASE DO NOT GET THIS CREDIT CARD. I HAVE A REALLY THE WORTH  EXPERIENCE. MY CREDIT WENT DOWN BAD JUST FOR THIS ACCOUNT. AND TO TOP IT OFF, THERE IS CUSTOMER SERVICE, THEY JUST DONT CARE ABOUT YOU AFTER THEY MESS YOU UP. 

more ...
Jul 07, 2017
Must set up ALERT to get email statement
Anonymous Cardholder

They must be trying to stick customers for late fees.  I kept not getting paper statements and the store literally will not let you charge anything even if you only owe like $20.  If you haven't made a payment, new charges are declined.  So, I switched to electronic statements.  Tried to use my card and it was declined again.  Called and found out I had a balance, emails not coming through.  Thought I had this taken care of until happened again today.  Very embarrassing considering I pay all my bills in full, have excellent credit, and a small balance is no reason to decline my charge.  FINALLY one customer service agent explained that you have to go in and set up alerts for your statements to either your phone or your email.  They do not send out e-statements automatically.  What a bunch of BS!  I just went on to the website and it is very difficult to find how to do this.  Alerts settings are not even in any of the drop down menus at the top with all the other choices but rather down the side of the page, in what looks like an ad.  :(   The hassle is not worth the TJ Max rewards!!!  Now I can't cancel bc that looks bad on my credit.  Just gonna stop using it.

more ...
Jul 07, 2017
Terrible card!
Anonymous Cardholder

I've had the card in my possession for roughly a year. I rarely use it, but made a few big purchases on furniture, which brought the balance to 800 roughly. So I started sending payments to pay it off. Long and behold this sneaky company lowered to limit from 3500 down to the balance owed. So they lowered it down to 720. That made my credit go down 9 points!!!! I have never in my life experience something like that. So I paid if off and will never use it again. Never been late. I only used it to keep it active. I don't need that kind of crappy card or company in my life. My shredder owns the card now.

more ...
Jun 28, 2017
Terrible!
Anonymous Cardholder

They do not credit my online payments in a timely manner. They also say it looks suspicious if you make several payments even though you are following the guidelines they have set forth. I have made all my payments before the due date, my credit scores are higher and they have lowered my available credit limit more than once. They work against you using this card.

TJ MAXX begs you to get its credit card and yet they partner with a financial inatitution that is so bad I am starting to dislike TJ MAXX due to this vile credit card.

Deserves a negative star rating!

more ...
Jun 19, 2017
This card is the WORST.
Anonymous Cardholder

I set up autopayments so I wouldn't have to worry, but every month it wouldn't pay and I would get a late fee of $35. The card does not synch to finance apps like Mint or Prism. Plus, their website crashes all the time. It was even a hassle to cancel this card. It is definatly not worth any TJ Maxx/Marshalls savings. DO NOT RECOMMEND. 

more ...
Jun 18, 2017
Easily susceptible to fraud
Anonymous Cardholder

I own this card for almost 5 years now. Every year, my card would have fraud. They are not compatible with many money mgnt app e.g. mint. It's extremely frustrating that they cannot alert me before declining my card. Just not worth the rewards points.

more ...
May 31, 2017
Worst Card Owned by the worse bank ever!
Treyna Cardholder

Its has great rewards, but they will do random pulls of your credit and even if you have been a great customer for years they will still find a way to lower ya credit limit without notice or deactivate/ close your card. I love the stores, but the bank which is synchrony sucks... Run from any card owned by this bank.  They are a bunch of crooks.. The customer service will tell u nothing but just to receive a letter in the mail for everything.. I will never deal with them again!! 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

TJX RewardsTM MasterCard®