TJX RewardsTM MasterCard® Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

1.4 out of 5 stars
49 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

1.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jan 24, 2017
Good reward bad interest
titliest72 Cardholder

High interest card so as usualy pay off. The rewards are great. You get certificates to use at the store. The down side is if you go paperless you do not know you have reward certificate to print unless you view the statement. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jul 21, 2017
Random closing of account
Anonymous Cardholder

I have had this card less than a year. Started out with a $200 credit limit and always kept a balance on it, paying the minium and using it when I wanted. Well, in June of this year, I paid it all the way off. I go to the store today, July 21, to use it on a reasonable sized purchase only to have it declined. Twice. The lady at the counter called them and the guy told me because there was something on my credit report that came up that they didn't like, which was a medical bill that just recently went into collections but despite that my credit score is past 600, they decided to close my card. They claim they sent a letter but I never got it. They said I could reapply but when I did, I was declined. Makes me wonder if I pay off my other cards with this same bank if they are going to close those too! 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Nov 11, 2017
Pathetic and Worst Experience
Anonymous Cardholder

You never know when you were charged or if you were to call the call center you get nothing apart from Spanish. Imagine a 9am to 6pm access call center and that too I have never been able to get them on Sat and Sun. One of the worst experiences with any credit card or so called credit card

more ...
Nov 11, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

Had a horrible experience with this credit card. Received this card in June, made purchases with it for several months and never received any of my rewards. Even after multiple phone calls to the company, they couldn’t get them to me. Next step was to cancel the card. This request could not be completed correctly either. A charge happened two months later after “paid in full” and “cancelled my card”. Customer service rep was not friendly after the situation was explained. The card is NOT recommended! 

more ...
Nov 09, 2017
DON'T GET THIS CC
Anonymous Cardholder

This is a horrible card. I've paid all my balances in full. 

This card has dropped my credit score about 2-3 times and my card has a balance decreased twice without validity. I don't recommend this card to a pet, or a human. 

more ...
Nov 07, 2017
BAD
Anonymous Cardholder

I've a TJX credit card for less than a year. They always persuade customer to select paperless for statement thus I did that. However, when I supposed to receive the reward certificate they forgot to mail me the reward certificate for couple months. The paperless just doesn't work. When I called customer service and asked if I didn't receive the statement in the mail, will TJX re-issue the reward cert if  the reward cert wasn't in used? The rep. said No. I'm feeling better and smarter to use my cash back credit card instead of the TJX card after knowing the answer.  I won't recommend TJX credit card to anyone.

more ...
Oct 31, 2017
Great stores horrible bank card company
skipinma Cardholder

I am a big fan of @TJXco and even got a rewards card last year but I regret that decision and would recommend not doing that. TJX is a great Company their partner that runs TJX rewards is not.  Synchrony bank suspends my account while I was on vacation in Puerto Rico over what amounted to 15.00. I paid electronically and they lost my payment a few days later it surfaced but the damage was done and embarrassment erased. I quit my account on 2/19 in downtown San Juan that day and asked for a final bill to be sent to me. A paper bill, just so I could see all charges. They have not sent one yet. They said it could be in my spam folder, but their last email to me there was on 9/28/15. Not sure how they mail/email stuff but it isn't working at all.

Lastly, On Friday last I asked again for a paper bill to pay off this horrid relationship. Ron from US phone bank said he will send one. He failed to mention however it would take 7-14 business days. This would put my horrid account in auto report mode to credit agencies. Damo in The Philippines explained it at length and apologized profusely. So in the name of good commerce, I paid a blind bill that TJX rewards have been holding hostage since 2/19/16. Where do their bills to me go? It's not via snail mail or email. Is this how they generate more interest on your TJX rewards account? Why Isn't our beloved TJX holding Synchrony bank accountable?

more ...
Oct 24, 2017
Rip off!!!
Anonymous Cardholder

Dont make a mistake of opening one. They charge the highest fee ever! I had a good credit score, when I opened an account, it pulled my credit score down because they're online system is terrible. Please, please, stay away from this card, the savings is not worth the aggravation!

more ...
Oct 20, 2017
Mediocre
MAGS4663 Cardholder

Basic and ugly website.

Very difficult to use reward certificates for online shopping. Expect frustration.

Terribly laborious automated phone service to reach a representative. You HAVE to listen to your balance EVERY time you call, and the automated voice is SLOW. Ugh. 

Fraudulent activity was monitored on my card, so my card was canceled (phew). But then a new card was never sent to me in the mail, after a new one was reissued. I waited 3 weeks, called, and found out it was never mailed! Then I was told it would be another 7-10 days to receive the card. Unimpressive. 

more ...
Oct 14, 2017
Don’t do it
MelissaSWI Cardholder

Update: last billing cycle, Synchrony dropped my CL to $10 above what my remaining balance was. I opened this card at Christmas last year with a 600 Credit  score. it has gone up over 100 points since, and I’ve had every other CL on my other cards RAISED! Not these jackholes — according to them, I have “bad credit.” 

ok well just bought a big house that needs decorating — guess which card I won’t be using, Synchrony! 

more ...
Sep 29, 2017
good only for the cash back in shop
Anonymous Cardholder

the card per se is aweful. Poor costumer service. If you have been paying diligently for years and forget just one payment they charge you 35 dollars of fee. I normally pay right away every time and I have an excellent credit score. FOr every normal purchasa I use my Amazon Prime card. The only reason I do not discontiue this is I love the stores.... I still have it so  this is why I am posting anonimously

more ...
Sep 29, 2017
This card is a ripoff
Anonymous Cardholder

I was given 200 in credit in Jan , 2017 and now its Sep. I have paid before time and still no credit increase. They took 100 dollars from me which I don't no why. I'm closing this account so please stay away. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

TJX RewardsTM MasterCard®