TJX RewardsTM MasterCard® Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

1.7 out of 5 stars
47 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

1.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jan 24, 2017
Good reward bad interest
titliest72 Cardholder

High interest card so as usualy pay off. The rewards are great. You get certificates to use at the store. The down side is if you go paperless you do not know you have reward certificate to print unless you view the statement. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Nov 15, 2016
Not worth it
Anonymous Cardholder

I am a regular at Marshalls and Homegoods so I thought it'd be a great idea but I was wrong. It is not very technological  friendly. I have to end up calling alot of times to pay my bill because the online option rarely works. Plus the rewards aren't that great. There are definitely way better options out there!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Sep 18, 2017
They should be investigated!
MelissaSWI Cardholder

I had been working on rebuilding my credit, and my limit on this card was $300. I paid it down to below 50% utilization. I logged into my account to see that they decreased my credit limit to $170 so it looks like I now have 92% utilization!! I called them and they claimed my credit score came in low. Really? Because I have monitoring dashboards installed on my phone and log in daily and my credit score is reporting 20 points higher than what TJ Maxx is claiming. They also claimed to have mailed me a letter on September 13 -- but today is the 18th and I still don't have a letter. They should be investigated for this behavior. This is fraudulent activity. I'm going to pay it off and then they can go ahead and cancel it. Hopefully someone investigates them in the mean time.

more ...
Sep 17, 2017
Don't get it
Anonymous Cardholder

Tried paying this card off because of high interest. Guess what? I logged in and it had been cancelled. When I called customer service I was told that because I hadn't used it in awhile it was closed due to inactivity. So you get penalized for not using it. Well, there's a punishment for trying to do the right thing. One more hit to the credit score. Wow

more ...
Sep 07, 2017
Stay Away!
Anonymous Cardholder

If I could rate it a zero or minus 5, I would... I've had a TJMaxx credit card for many years now and use it on a regular basis at their various stores; paying balances off immediately. I started back in the days with a $200 limit and am at a $4,000 limit today which of course I don't need or ever used up. I'm not up for the rewards points but use credit cards in general to build my credit and keep my scores up. I received a TJMaxx replacement card in the mail this summer named TJMaxx Mastercard. When I activated it, I received a notification on Credit Karma that an account was closed and a new one opened in my name. I can't believe that Synchrony Bank sent me a new card, closed my actual credit card account and opened a new mastercard account in my name!!! This stupid and unusual action has cost me 25 credit score points. When I contacted their customer service, no one could give me a real explanation as to why they would follow such strange business tactics. Up until today I am waiting for an explanation but only get instructions on how to set up a new online log in as with this new mastercard, my old online account was closed. I had to register for a new one and noticed that my payment was transferred but of course the reward points didn't make it... I am very disappointed as I work hard on my scores. It is so hard to built your credit score point by point... losing 25 points overnight for a stupid, unacceptable action is a big hit! I am no longer interested in TJMaxx's credit card business. I personally think it's a ripp off. I first considered abandoning all of the TJMaxx stores but understand that Synchrony Bank is independent and not an actual TJMaxx "store"...

more ...
Aug 31, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

I have never been late on a payment. The moment Hurricane Harvey hits in Houston, I was affected, as well as my city. Not to mention I am not getting paid for the days I missed work due to this NATURAL DISASTER! I call them and advise of this info and they tell me a late fee will still be assessed and there is no grace period etc. Once this is paid off they will NEVER get another penny from me nor will I shop in any of their stores!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Sep 06, 2017

Did you apply for the insurance?

 
Aug 16, 2017
It's 2017, they need a mobile app!!!
Anonymous Cardholder

This card is great, but the way in which you have to make payments becomes extremely confusing. It's only mail or electronic through email. They do not have a mobile app which makes payments much easier, most major credit cards companies have adapted to this strategy. This is really my only major qualm about the card itself. Update to an app-based source for electronic payments, it's the year 2017... 

more ...
Jul 22, 2017
****!
Anonymous Cardholder

My husband had this card. His credit dropped a few points so the reduced his credit limit. We had only used it a few times. The first being for like 390.00 paid it off a week later. 2 nd time for like 159. Paid it off slower to show payments. Haven't used it for months so they cancelled the card. Could never get the payment to go through online. It drove him crazy!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Sep 06, 2017

Synchrony Bank has done the same to me with 2 other cards.

 
Jul 21, 2017
Random closing of account
Anonymous Cardholder

I have had this card less than a year. Started out with a $200 credit limit and always kept a balance on it, paying the minium and using it when I wanted. Well, in June of this year, I paid it all the way off. I go to the store today, July 21, to use it on a reasonable sized purchase only to have it declined. Twice. The lady at the counter called them and the guy told me because there was something on my credit report that came up that they didn't like, which was a medical bill that just recently went into collections but despite that my credit score is past 600, they decided to close my card. They claim they sent a letter but I never got it. They said I could reapply but when I did, I was declined. Makes me wonder if I pay off my other cards with this same bank if they are going to close those too! 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Sep 06, 2017

Yes they will close the other ones once you pay them off. It happened to me. Two of Synchrony cards. Nothing bad showed in my credit report, they just started closing the cards immediately after paying them off. Dropped my credit score 99 points. Pay the others off slowly until you ready to buy something else.

 
Jul 12, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

PLEASE DO NOT GET THIS CREDIT CARD. I HAVE A REALLY THE WORTH  EXPERIENCE. MY CREDIT WENT DOWN BAD JUST FOR THIS ACCOUNT. AND TO TOP IT OFF, THERE IS CUSTOMER SERVICE, THEY JUST DONT CARE ABOUT YOU AFTER THEY MESS YOU UP. 

more ...
Jul 07, 2017
Must set up ALERT to get email statement
Anonymous Cardholder

They must be trying to stick customers for late fees.  I kept not getting paper statements and the store literally will not let you charge anything even if you only owe like $20.  If you haven't made a payment, new charges are declined.  So, I switched to electronic statements.  Tried to use my card and it was declined again.  Called and found out I had a balance, emails not coming through.  Thought I had this taken care of until happened again today.  Very embarrassing considering I pay all my bills in full, have excellent credit, and a small balance is no reason to decline my charge.  FINALLY one customer service agent explained that you have to go in and set up alerts for your statements to either your phone or your email.  They do not send out e-statements automatically.  What a bunch of BS!  I just went on to the website and it is very difficult to find how to do this.  Alerts settings are not even in any of the drop down menus at the top with all the other choices but rather down the side of the page, in what looks like an ad.  :(   The hassle is not worth the TJ Max rewards!!!  Now I can't cancel bc that looks bad on my credit.  Just gonna stop using it.

more ...
Jul 07, 2017
Terrible card!
Anonymous Cardholder

I've had the card in my possession for roughly a year. I rarely use it, but made a few big purchases on furniture, which brought the balance to 800 roughly. So I started sending payments to pay it off. Long and behold this sneaky company lowered to limit from 3500 down to the balance owed. So they lowered it down to 720. That made my credit go down 9 points!!!! I have never in my life experience something like that. So I paid if off and will never use it again. Never been late. I only used it to keep it active. I don't need that kind of crappy card or company in my life. My shredder owns the card now.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Sep 06, 2017

Yup they did it to me. And once you pay off the card they will close the account. I'm wondering if this is illegal. I called a lawyer and they may start a class action lawsuit against Synchrony Bank.

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

TJX RewardsTM MasterCard®