Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

TJX RewardsTM MasterCard®

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.0 out of 5 stars
43 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

2 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jul 28, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

love that I got one I save %10 every time I use it. Im ganna start going to Marshalls more they have great stuff! I recommend you get a TJX card

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Nov 15, 2016
Not worth it
Anonymous Cardholder

I am a regular at Marshalls and Homegoods so I thought it'd be a great idea but I was wrong. It is not very technological  friendly. I have to end up calling alot of times to pay my bill because the online option rarely works. Plus the rewards aren't that great. There are definitely way better options out there!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jan 18, 2017
Horrible Customer Service - Not Worth It
sarahskilling Cardholder

The rewards are poor compared to most other cash back or travel rewards cards and the customer service is terrible. I had fraud on my card and had issues dealing with the logistics for months. One small charge was fraudulently approved, they closed the account completely instead of issuing a replacement card and that negatively impacted my credit score. Had I known I would've just paid the fraudulent charge myself and requested a replacement card.

more ...
Jan 09, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

This is by far the WORST credit card company ever!  Worse than Bank of America.  Have had a TJ Maxx CC for 4 years and in the last 18 months they have mis-billed me, lost a 100.00 payment, taking more than 6 months to rectify, TJX's fault!.  And refused to give me the loust reward credits.  I sent a 100.00 payment  and TJX lost it.  I had it tracked and it shows TJX cashed the payment on 12.12.16.  Sent all copies to them showing they received the payment but did not credit my account!  Still fighting with them.  Useless online customer service, useless custommer servie when you call, and even worse when you try to send via snail mail. 

more ...
Dec 21, 2016
Terrible
LNEVIL Cardholder

HIghest Interest Rate - holds your payment for 48 hours

more ...
Dec 10, 2016
Be aware
ayl08001 Cardholder

I had this credit card for years because I enjoyed shopping at TJ Maxx and Marshall. I was using automatic payment feature to pay for the monthly outstanding balance. Then I closed and switched to a different bank. I thought it was my fault that I forgot to update the old bank information because one monthly payment did not go through. I checked  and the information was correct and I don't know why the payment was not processed. One month later, I was mailed a notice by Synchrony Bank (TJmaxx credit card company) that my credit card account was closed due to a "number of dishonored payments." I called the customer service agent and was told that there was nothing they could do now that my credit card account was closed by them. 

I felt it was not the right treatment because: 

1. All my payments for years were on time and paid In full until this one delayed payment

2. It was not "a number of dishonest payments." It was only one.

3. After all, the card was not serving much benefit anyways because it was just $10 store credit back every $200 spent at their stores and just $1 back every $100 spent elsewhere. It's not better than many credit cards you can find. It's not even cash back. I am really okay not carrying this card in my wallet. 

more ...
Nov 27, 2016
Garbage.
fgplinden Cardholder

Do not recommend it to anyone.  Always giving trouble about something

more ...
Nov 27, 2016
Great for frequent shoppers/big spenders
Creditloveb Cardholder

 The 5% cash back is amazing if you frequent TJ maxx, seirra trading post, Marshals, or home goods. You can use the credit card and earn 5% cash back in any of the companies stores and then you get rewards certificates in the mail with your statements to use in store, so make sure you get those before you toss the statement (my husband accidentally tossed one of mine) you get $10 for every $200 that you spend, and if you apply in store you can get instantly approved  in like, you get a 10% off coupon that you can use that day, or save for a larger purchase. My application took like 2 minutes. I applied in store at tjmaxx about a year ago, and was instantly approved. I only needed my ID, my social security number and an estimated annual income. My only downfall about the card is the high interest rate (which isn't an issue for me because I constantly use and pay off my card, but could be an issue for some) and that you have to go online to pay the bill, but I recently asked a worker at tj max why They don't have the option to pay in store like with other retail cards, and he explained that it was an added security precaution. They don't allow you to pay in store because they don't save any customers information linked to the credit cards in the computers at the stores, to protect against identity theift, which makes sense, even though it's a bit less convenient that way. If you spend a lot at any of their stores I would highly recommend this card. You just have to be able to pay it off to avoid the interest rate. 

more ...
Nov 20, 2016
No APPlLE PAY and more problems
rusriverman Cardholder

In the beginning I didn't question no APPLE PAY, but now?  it's just a poor excuse on the part of Synchrony Bank or TJMAXX, not sure who it is, but it isn't acceptable.  Further the card was compromised and the length of time it took to resolve was far too long, especially since I had the card in my possession the whole time.

more ...
Nov 15, 2016
Not worth it
Anonymous Cardholder

I am a regular at Marshalls and Homegoods so I thought it'd be a great idea but I was wrong. It is not very technological  friendly. I have to end up calling alot of times to pay my bill because the online option rarely works. Plus the rewards aren't that great. There are definitely way better options out there!

more ...
Nov 13, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

I had fraudulent transactions which were beyond my control back in June. The card was in my possession at that time, but it was used for a couple of purchases in other states without my knowledge. They blocked my account right after that happened, but called me to go over the transactions and I verified them. To make a long story short, they've credited the wrong amounts for those transactions, and my case is still pending 5 months later even after I returned the verification letter correcting their credit adjustments to their investigation team 3 months ago. 

I experienced bad customer service every single time I tried to resolve the issue after the fraudulent transactions. 

1) They blocked my online account immediately, so I couldn't  review those activities at all. After I received the new card, I still couldn't access my account for a month. I'm not kidding. They told me I need to set up a new account with a new ID and password. I understand having to change the password, but a new account ID? The service agent didn't seem knowledgeable and had a bad attitude. 

2) Eventually I didn't have to create a new ID, and they transfered the old balance with no transaction history. They even charged interest fees on the fraudulent transactions during their investigation, and applied the wrong credit amounts to my accounts. 

3) I called them again to correct the credit amount and transferred balance. They said they CAN NOT SEE the details of my transferred balance, and COULD NOT VERIFY which transanctions were credited. I must call the investigation department during the week before 5 est time.

Pros- I enjoyed the rewards program since I like shopping at tjx, marshalls, and home goods.

Cons- Don't expect good customer service that you generally have with the major banks or other credit card companies.

more ...
Nov 05, 2016
Great card
Anonymous Cardholder

They Approve me with a 3000 limit ,use the card ,make 3 or 4 payment and keep 10% balance of the credit limit ,6 months 

i ask them for a credit limit increase 

they rease up my limit to 7000 

soft inquirie .im happy with a bank that only do soft inquiries 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

TJX RewardsTM MasterCard®