The Home Depot® Consumer Credit Card

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

1.9 out of 5 stars
62 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

2 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Feb 15, 2017
Not bad for a store card.
LordOrwell Cardholder

Ok so first off, it's actually a CITI card in disguise.   I saw someone else say the available credit was tiny but even with marginal at best credit at the time, i was given a limit of $2000 and i'm pretty sure 10% off of my purchase or some such.  It automatically gives you six months same as cash when you buy over a certain dollar amount but this doesn't mean you don't have a monthly payment in the mean time.  It just means there is no interest.  There also is no annual fee and it's possible to use the card in store without the actual card as long as you have ID.  They aren't messing around though:  A credit increase check is a hard check but those really don't affect your score that much anyway.   The biggest affect is avaiable credit and percentage of credit and this card raised my score 75 points getting it.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jun 22, 2016
Hazardous to your credit score!!!!!

I have had this card for around 4 years and have never been late on any payments. My CL started at $6000. I was doing a kitchen remodel and ran the card up to $5800 making my utilization close to 100% so it droped my credit score. I paid it down to $4,400 with in 3 months to lower my utilization to try to repair my score a little. At that point they lowered my CL to $4,500 making my utilization close to 100% again lowering my credit score again. I payed it down to $3,000 to try to repair again it helped a little. I mantained my payments never really helping my score much because i was still close to 70%. After a year or so they balance was down to about $2000 they lowered my CL to $3,500 increasing my utilaization again and then again 6 months later or so they lowered it to $3,000. After talking with them several times and getting nowhere. I finally got through to someone at citi they said that because i used the card my utilization went up it lowered my score they did a soft pull on my credit and decided to lower my limit with the lower limit my utilization went up and they lowered it again and again. They said they will never lower it less then the balance on the card. So if im not going to pay it off just pay the min payment to keep it maxed out so they cant lower it on me.   WHAT KIND OF ADVICE IS THAT FROM A LENDER?  I never had a problem with my bills being messed up or anything so that is why i rated it at a 2 star not a 1.  I will be paying it off and closing the card. Horrible lender!!!!!     score was a 730ish when opening the card it is a 670ish now

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Mar 28, 2017
Negative to Credit Score
Anonymous Cardholder

I used Home Depot Credit Card for 2 years. Always made payments on time.

In Dec 2016 , I had returned few items and total net payment due for the month was $12. I forgot to pay this amount in next payment cycle. There was not even a signle reminder from Home Depot to pay this outstanding amount. Next month, they reported my account as Delinquent for $12 without any warning or chance to correct. This impacted my credit scope by more than 80 points. From 792 to 711.

Even after multiple discussion they did not help me to correct this.  I Just closed this credit card account. I do not want to be associated with this card and retail store anymore.

Please be safe and do not open account with this credit card.

more ...
Mar 07, 2017
very sneaky
Anonymous Cardholder

User beware they ewill not send a statement then smoke your credit score. If you use best set up auto pay with a reliable payhment source.

more ...
Mar 01, 2017
helpfull
Anonymous Cardholder

 IT get the job done

more ...
Feb 28, 2017
DISHONEST
Anonymous Cardholder

They cash your payment late to take a $25 fee.

more ...
Feb 26, 2017
DISHONEST
Anonymous Cardholder

They send your bill after the pay date so they can collect $25 late fees. My 3 companies are not shopping in Home Depot anymore. Lowe's gives you 5% discount.

more ...
Feb 20, 2017
WORST
Anonymous Cardholder

The worst. Tried to set up auto-pay online only to have no payments made for 3 months. No help, and have been given the runaround. The worst!!! Wish I could give them 0 stars.

more ...
Feb 20, 2017
Total crap and credit killer
Anonymous Cardholder

They charged late fee and reported to the credit bureau without any bills notification monthly. This is probably the worst credit card you ever had. We always pays the whole bill everytime but somehow they told us we had 10 dollars short to our payment? This is ridiculous and never apply again.

more ...
Feb 16, 2017
Very Handy for Home Reno
Darwin686 Cardholder

Very Handy card! Use it all of the time for all purchases at Home Depot and pay it in full each month.  I've never had a problem with the promotional purchases and have been using the card for about 2 years now.  If you are good at money mangment this card is for you.  I do everything electronically so no snail mail but eStatments instead. Never had any issues with not getting notificed by Citi when a payment is due or when a statement is ready.

more ...
Feb 16, 2017
Do not listen to their promotion!
Anonymous Cardholder

Each transaction must be more than 299.99 for promotion. Beware of that!

more ...
Feb 15, 2017
Not bad for a store card.
LordOrwell Cardholder

Ok so first off, it's actually a CITI card in disguise.   I saw someone else say the available credit was tiny but even with marginal at best credit at the time, i was given a limit of $2000 and i'm pretty sure 10% off of my purchase or some such.  It automatically gives you six months same as cash when you buy over a certain dollar amount but this doesn't mean you don't have a monthly payment in the mean time.  It just means there is no interest.  There also is no annual fee and it's possible to use the card in store without the actual card as long as you have ID.  They aren't messing around though:  A credit increase check is a hard check but those really don't affect your score that much anyway.   The biggest affect is avaiable credit and percentage of credit and this card raised my score 75 points getting it.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Mar 07, 2017

What is your minimum payment and balance now?

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

The Home Depot® Consumer Credit Card