Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

The Home Depot® Consumer Credit Card

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

1.7 out of 5 stars
52 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

1.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Sep 15, 2016
Amazing and up front!
Anonymous Cardholder

As long as you pay your promotional offers by the due date it's amazing... read your statements and you will be good to go. Everything you need is on page 1 and page 3 of each statment.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 27, 2016
Increased credit limit
DaVickster Cardholder

Never click on the link whereby the website asks if you want to increase your credit limit.  Unlike Bank of America, Home Depot runs a HARD credit inquiry which showed up immediately on Credit Karma.  I called customer service immediately and was told it was too late to do anything about it.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jan 23, 2017
love it and will still use it
Anonymous Cardholder

very easy to use

more ...
Jan 16, 2017
WORST CARD EVER- BE AWARE
Anonymous Cardholder

What they dont tell you with this card is that all your payments dont go toward the promotional purchase, they use all of your payments toward yoru revolving $ amount meaning you wont ever get ahead and pay down the promotional purchase unless you dont use this card for anything else and when your promotional purcahse is done even if you have 10 cents left from that purchase amount they smack you with ALL of the interest for the ENTIRE $$ of the promotional purcahse. For example I bought a washer and dryer for a 1300$ promotional amount and then used for card forr other things over the year and I had 100$ left of that washer and dryer purcahse left which I never would have known unless I called but all my payments went toward my other purcahses so I got hit with 350$ interest charge for the WHOLE 1300$ even though 100$ was left.... GET ANOTHER CARD DONT FALL FOR THIS, CITIBANK IS THE WORST!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 17, 2017

Just because YOU didn't read the disclaimer does not make the card bad. I'm only 21 & i understand how a promotional card works. As I stated previously, read the terms before you agree. I've had this card for a few months & I've yet to have any of these "issues." Lol

 
Jan 14, 2017
Citi Bank is a bad business
Anonymous Cardholder

I have had this Home Depot credit card since August 2013.  My wife and I purchased a house and did some improvements.  We paid down the balance and then in 2015 we paid the card off in full when we sold that house to move.  When we purchased another house in September 2015, we used that card to do improvements again.  Well now everytime we make a large payment they lower my available credit (i.e. We make a $1,000 payment, they lower my available credit by $900.) This constantly shows up bad on my credit report and is constantly hurting my credit score.  They told me that they do reviews every 6 months and adjust the available credit accordingly.  Well mine was lowered on average every two months.  So now, we are just going to pay it off and close it as well as the other two citi bank cards that I have.  Citi Bank can have their cards back.  I will not recommend anything that has to deal with Citi Bank.  

more ...
Jan 09, 2017
CITIBANK IS A HASSLE!
Anonymous Cardholder

Do NOT apply for this card. They automatically start you at the highest interest rate of 25%. THEN, even before our first payment was made (and we have good credit) they were calling us on the 1st of the month when the statement says it is not due until the 5th. We made another automatic bank payment on time, but then they called and complained that it took SEVEN days to process...mind you, we're not even a month overdue!!! They call constantly, even on Sundays, when there is NO issue!!! I have only had this card about 4 months and I'm taking it back to the store and cutting it up in front of them. This is horrible customer service. Since the store overall is good, I was surprised to have a different experience with the credit card. NOT worth it. Same reason I tore up my Macy's card!

more ...
Jan 05, 2017
Just awful. Horrible service.
Anonymous Cardholder

I've had this card for one week & already, I've never experienced anything like it. I've used the card 3 times ever, at the same Home Depot where I signed up for the card, and the the last two times were each flagged for fraud, despite the fact that I had my card and driver's license with me. Being flagged for fraud at the head of a Home Depot checkout line took 20 minutes to resolve each time, with 4-5 customer servcie reps asking repetitive security questions over and over again--and all this for a $29 charge! After three uses, I tried to log into my account online (to pay off and close this terrible card) and AGAIN found my account closed for fraud, and again had to call in and spend 25 minutes resolving this. I will never use this card again. Out-of-control, mindless fraud checks make it the least used friendly, most obnoxious CC I've ever used. Time to CLOSE it before they waste more of time & energy.

more ...
Jan 05, 2017
Crappy
Anonymous Cardholder

I made a phone payment and was given a confirmation number and told that the payment had gone through. I found out at my next bill cycle that the payment did not go through and I had been reported to credit agencies. They refused to remove the credit report. The people that run home depot credit card have turned me against ever stepping foot inside another home depot store. I am fuming mat to have a stain on my credit over a negligible amount of money.

more ...
Dec 22, 2016
Not for novice credit card holder
ATSolidarity Cardholder

So I have a few cards...enough credit cards rather and this is the worst one! First off the credit limit they give you is ridiculously low. Next if you are a minute late or miss a payment be warned they WILL ruin your credit score. I used the card to pay for a three dollar item at HD. I got busy and forgot to pay the card on time. When i went to go pay, that three dollars jumped to having the late fee.....of which they would not waive.....to cost me nearly 30 bucks. Then they didnt post it and generated a new statement. Total now is nearly 90 bucks in fees. I wont make that mistake again. Most of my cards dont sweat a payment being delayed a day or two but Home Depot??? Forget it. They want blood!

OK so to be fair I get the fact that the payment was late. I dont always pay late. In fact I usually pay before it is due but this was a new card and wasnt really in my rotation and on the radar. It is now!

So if you are looking to boost up your credit dont think this card is helpful that way. The limit is little, the fees are hard and they take a really hard line on payments. So no flexibility for you here. 

more ...
Dec 20, 2016
Awful!!!!!!!!
Anonymous Cardholder

This is the worst credit card. Customer service is extremely unhelpful. I paid my balance in full and keep getting fee after fee after fee. I call every month to get them waived... biggest headache ever.

more ...
Dec 16, 2016
late payment report on my credit
bjhodg Cardholder

first payment of 7 dollars was missed because I thought I had set up for autopayment.  only 30 days late until paid in full.  They reported to credit bureau as unknown amount, an unknown number of days late and it tanked my credit score.  Still trying to resolve.  Only late payment ever in my life on my credit report.  I am 61 year old and had a score of 812 and now it is 725.  This is stupid.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Dec 22, 2016

This just happened to me! I had a low dollar charge and forgot about it. Paid it late and HD trashed my credit!! I too have no other late payments. It dropped my score almost as much. I regret ever using or getting this card.

 
Dec 12, 2016
No benefits for me
towhee3 Cardholder

Home Depot Card-I have had the Home Depot Commercial card for years. I no longer use it and have not for over a year or more. Home Depot once gave you a 5% Lowes discount if you asked for it and use you H.D card. This is a added bennifet Lowes offers to credit card owners. H.D. doesn't offer the Lowes discount any longer. Home Depot card has ZERO benefits except gas discounts and no gas pumps in my town. I just use a VISA 1.5% cash back cards now. Just closed both my Home Depot cards (personnel & Commercial). Good reddens!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

The Home Depot® Consumer Credit Card