Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

The Home Depot® Consumer Credit Card

Find Out More

Ratings by Category

Application Process
Customer Service
Cardholder Ratings
2 5

Most Helpful Positive Review

Aug 12, 2012
forty9rman Cardholder

 Fico score of 760. Applied for this card and got a cl of 7,000.00. This has been a great card for promo items with either 6 months or 12 months special financing options.

more ...
 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jun 08, 2011
diswiddlepiggy Cardholder

Was approved for $750 CL and 24.99% APR. Promotional offer said 10% off first purchase, which I did not receive. They wanted me to jump through hoops in the store to get the 10% off, so I let it go. Will pay off $400 balance and use rarely. Read some pretty crappy reviews.

more ...
 

Reviews (124)

Add Review
Jul 19, 2016
Worst credit card I ever had.
Anonymous Cardholder

My advice is to stay away from it.

more ...
Jul 15, 2016
One of the worst cards to carry
fbadea55 Cardholder

Theres really no reason to have this card. Cust. service is horrible, there really are no rewards worth getting

more ...
Jul 15, 2016
Horrible interest rate, horrible service
amay1972 Cardholder

First, this is a horrible interest rate.  2nd, we moved and missed a single 30 day $20 payment waiting for mail to be forwarded.  No phone calls, no follow-up letter...just an 80 point hit on our credit score.  I tried twice to get this removed given the history of payments, change of address, etc and they refused.  Sorry, but with an interest rate like that, your credit whacking is writing checks your interest rate can't back.  It's like ugly people trying to be a diva or jock.

more ...
Jul 09, 2016
misleading and greasy
Anonymous Cardholder

they offered me 18 months no interest but thats not what I recieved.$35 per month interest charge on 800 balance.Thats not even %28 but %50.Boycott home depot..They screw their customers.

more ...
Jul 06, 2016
Credit Destroyer
Anonymous Cardholder

Had the card for over a year been making purchases and paying them off. Used one of there promotions and that is still on the card. Well I get an alert that my credit score has dropped significantly. Well low and behold my credit limit on the card had been slashed more than half throwing my debit to credit ratio way off. All this 3 weeks before I close on my house. I am now fighting with the bank to keep my financing. So thank you home depot for more than likely making me lose my house. I am an employee also is what makes this funny. They treat their employees like crap and their customers

more ...
Jul 28, 2016

The card is issued by Citibank, not Home Depot. Home Depot has absolutely no input about your credit line. If you're truly an employee, you would know that.

 
Jun 28, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

If you don't use it they will lower your CL. If you use it and pay it off every month they will lower your credit limit. When you keep a balance on the card and pay minimum payments every month you won't get a CLI for years. Beginning CLI $8,700. This card will ruin your utilization and your credit score. Mid 750's CS. 

STAY FAR AWAY!!

more ...
Jun 22, 2016
Hazardous to your credit score!!!!!

I have had this card for around 4 years and have never been late on any payments. My CL started at $6000. I was doing a kitchen remodel and ran the card up to $5800 making my utilization close to 100% so it droped my credit score. I paid it down to $4,400 with in 3 months to lower my utilization to try to repair my score a little. At that point they lowered my CL to $4,500 making my utilization close to 100% again lowering my credit score again. I payed it down to $3,000 to try to repair again it helped a little. I mantained my payments never really helping my score much because i was still close to 70%. After a year or so they balance was down to about $2000 they lowered my CL to $3,500 increasing my utilaization again and then again 6 months later or so they lowered it to $3,000. After talking with them several times and getting nowhere. I finally got through to someone at citi they said that because i used the card my utilization went up it lowered my score they did a soft pull on my credit and decided to lower my limit with the lower limit my utilization went up and they lowered it again and again. They said they will never lower it less then the balance on the card. So if im not going to pay it off just pay the min payment to keep it maxed out so they cant lower it on me.   WHAT KIND OF ADVICE IS THAT FROM A LENDER?  I never had a problem with my bills being messed up or anything so that is why i rated it at a 2 star not a 1.  I will be paying it off and closing the card. Horrible lender!!!!!     score was a 730ish when opening the card it is a 670ish now

more ...
Jun 22, 2016

I have had this card for around 4 years and have never been late on any payments. My CL started at $6000. I was doing a kitchen remodel and ran the card up to $5800 making my utilization close to 100% so it droped my credit score. I paid it down to $4,400 with in 3 months to lower my utilization to try to repair my score a little. At that point they lowered my CL to $4,500 making my utilization close to 100% again lowering my credit score again. I payed it down to $3,000 to try to repair again it helped a little. I mantained my payments never really helping my score much because i was still close to 70%. After a year or so they balance was down to about $2000 they lowered my CL to $3,500 increasing my utilaization again and then again 6 months later or so they lowered it to $3,000. After talking with them several times and getting nowhere. I finally got through to someone at citi they said that because i used the card my utilization went up it lowered my score they did a soft pull on my credit and decided to lower my limit with the lower limit my utilization went up and they lowered it again and again. They said they will never lower it less then the balance on the card. So if im not going to pay it off just pay the min payment to keep it maxed out so they cant lower it on me.   WHAT KIND OF ADVICE IS THAT FROM A LENDER?  I never had a problem with my bills being messed up or anything so that is why i rated it at a 2 star not a 1.  I will be paying it off and closing the card. Horrible lender!!!!!     score was a 730ish when opening the card it is a 670ish now 

more ...
Jun 13, 2016
not worth keeping it!
Anonymous Cardholder

I paid my monthly balance of 5.99 right after I received my statement and they charged me 3.99 interest on the next months invoice (get this) "because I paid the invoice too early so it generated a late charge of 3.99"  they were nice and reversed the 3.99 charge but I had to ask about it first.  What a ripoff.  They try and get in your pocket because I try to keep up with my payments.  Not any longer, Home Depot Credit Card good bye, I"ll keep my own money thank you!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

Rate this card overall

Please select a rating

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

The Home Depot® Consumer Credit Card