Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

The Home Depot® Consumer Credit Card

Find Out More

Ratings by Category

Application Process
Customer Service
Cardholder Ratings
2 5

Most Helpful Positive Review

Aug 12, 2012
forty9rman Cardholder

 Fico score of 760. Applied for this card and got a cl of 7,000.00. This has been a great card for promo items with either 6 months or 12 months special financing options.

more ...
 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jun 08, 2011
diswiddlepiggy Cardholder

Was approved for $750 CL and 24.99% APR. Promotional offer said 10% off first purchase, which I did not receive. They wanted me to jump through hoops in the store to get the 10% off, so I let it go. Will pay off $400 balance and use rarely. Read some pretty crappy reviews.

more ...
 

Reviews (128)

Add Review
Sep 23, 2016
So far so good!
Anonymous Cardholder

Applied online and receieved a note saying I call to call them with a reference code. I called, gave reference code and they asked me a few verification questions. They told me to hold for a moment and then congratulated me with a $500CL. I called back and said that it wasn't enough. The customer service guy asked how much I wanted. I told him $1500 and was immediately apporved for the $1500 I asked for. My Credit Karma score is 640. I was told to use  my reference number to recieve a temporary card in store. When we got to check out, my card wasn't working. Customer service was so helpful! They immediately fixed the problem and allowed my $400 purchase to go through all in the same day! So far, I really like this card.

more ...
Sep 15, 2016
Amazing and up front!
Anonymous Cardholder

As long as you pay your promotional offers by the due date it's amazing... read your statements and you will be good to go. Everything you need is on page 1 and page 3 of each statment.

more ...
Sep 13, 2016
Horrible scam finance charges and ruin c
Anonymous Cardholder

Can you believe they charged be a $2 fee after I already paid them off my $9.10 balance quoted to me by thier rep over phone and reported me to credit bureau for having a $2 balance. On top of it charged me another $2 fee for thier $2 fee!! Wth kind of credit card can do this? I thought it was illegal to charge a fee on your fees? What's worst is I found out by being denied a loan (my first time ever getting denied!!) That they reported it to my credit bureau literally instantly. I called into have them reverse it with credit bureaus due to thier error and they had the nerve to send a letter saying they wont. So not only are they practicing unethical business tactics they are wipeing out thier customers credit scores from thier errors! DO NOT GET THIS CARD. Never had a nightmare like this before over a couple of dollars I could have easily paid.

more ...
Aug 29, 2016
ootif Cardholder

The interest rate is very high. You have to read the fine print. Here's what I mean:

You get the card for the intro apr of 0% on your first purchase up to $2000 for 6 months.

You make your first purchase of say, $500.

Then you make addition purchases, lets say $2000.

Your balance is now $2500

Remember that $500 initial purchase you made? If you didn't pay it off 100%, all the interest that they didn't charge you over those 6 mos introductory period is now due.

Beware.

more ...
Sep 13, 2016

That's the differences between "interest free" and "interest deferred", many consumers don't usually pay attentions to the details. Just about every retailers' interest free are in fact interest deferred, in which if you don't pay the entire balances off during the promotion period? You will be charged interest from very first date of purchasing.

 
Jul 19, 2016
Worst credit card I ever had.
Anonymous Cardholder

My advice is to stay away from it.

more ...
Jul 15, 2016
One of the worst cards to carry
fbadea55 Cardholder

Theres really no reason to have this card. Cust. service is horrible, there really are no rewards worth getting

more ...
Jul 15, 2016
Horrible interest rate, horrible service
amay1972 Cardholder

First, this is a horrible interest rate.  2nd, we moved and missed a single 30 day $20 payment waiting for mail to be forwarded.  No phone calls, no follow-up letter...just an 80 point hit on our credit score.  I tried twice to get this removed given the history of payments, change of address, etc and they refused.  Sorry, but with an interest rate like that, your credit whacking is writing checks your interest rate can't back.  It's like ugly people trying to be a diva or jock.

more ...
Jul 09, 2016
misleading and greasy
Anonymous Cardholder

they offered me 18 months no interest but thats not what I recieved.$35 per month interest charge on 800 balance.Thats not even %28 but %50.Boycott home depot..They screw their customers.

more ...
Jul 06, 2016
Credit Destroyer
Anonymous Cardholder

Had the card for over a year been making purchases and paying them off. Used one of there promotions and that is still on the card. Well I get an alert that my credit score has dropped significantly. Well low and behold my credit limit on the card had been slashed more than half throwing my debit to credit ratio way off. All this 3 weeks before I close on my house. I am now fighting with the bank to keep my financing. So thank you home depot for more than likely making me lose my house. I am an employee also is what makes this funny. They treat their employees like crap and their customers

more ...
Jul 28, 2016

The card is issued by Citibank, not Home Depot. Home Depot has absolutely no input about your credit line. If you're truly an employee, you would know that.

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

Rate this card overall

Please select a rating

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

The Home Depot® Consumer Credit Card