Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

The Home Depot® Consumer Credit Card

Find Out More

Ratings by Category

Application Process
Customer Service
Cardholder Ratings
2 5

Most Helpful Positive Review

Aug 12, 2012
forty9rman Cardholder

 Fico score of 760. Applied for this card and got a cl of 7,000.00. This has been a great card for promo items with either 6 months or 12 months special financing options.

more ...
 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jun 08, 2011
diswiddlepiggy Cardholder

Was approved for $750 CL and 24.99% APR. Promotional offer said 10% off first purchase, which I did not receive. They wanted me to jump through hoops in the store to get the 10% off, so I let it go. Will pay off $400 balance and use rarely. Read some pretty crappy reviews.

more ...
 

Reviews (105)

Add Review
Apr 28, 2016
Bad practices
2Chat Cardholder

They dropped my limit while I was carrying a balance. I don't recommend them. I'm currently working to pay this card off and close it.

more ...
Apr 21, 2016
Funny, denied!

Don't know what happened, but applied a few months back for a fridge and got denied?? Credit score of 720... Applied for Sears and got approved for $3500 CL....  

more ...
Apr 11, 2016
Good Card for Promotional Purchases
siberian1 Cardholder

This has been an okay credit card that we've used for general home inprovement. The APR is high so you need to pay off the balance before the time runs out. I've spent probably $15,000 on this card over the years.

I put a large $3000 purchase for a fence project on the account and didn't get it paid off in time for the 0% interest promotional period, so the accumulated interest put me over my $3300 limit by about $107. It took me about 6 months to pay the balance off in full.

When I looked at the latest statement to make sure it was a $0 balance I noticed that my credit limit had been reduced to zero as well. I don't understand why this was such a big deal as I always paid on time and my credit score is 804.

Happy Shopping!!!!!

Thanks a lot Home Depot I know you appriciate my business!!!!

more ...
Apr 02, 2016
Beware! Rip off and not worth it
JHo767 Cardholder

I've had this card for years but just closed it today.   I hadn't used the card in awhile and got a notice that it would be cancelled for non use.  I decided i would put a charge on it to keep it open so I went to Home Depot and bought a $12 item I needed.  Well I had paperless statements and realized the following month I was 3 days late on paying so I logged in online and noticed a late fee but whatever I paid it off right then and there.  The thing that ****es me off is I pulled my credit report today (this happend almost 6 months ago) and they reported the late payment to the credit bureau and my score dropped quite a bit.  I called them and they said they report every 30 days and wouldn't take it off the credit report and I should have called during that billing period... well I didn't know they reported it.  I've never had a major credit card report for being 3 days late.     It is the ONLY late payment on my credit report.   I had them close it on the spot.  I know Home Depot is separate from the card company but I don't even want to shop at home depot anymore.   In my mind the credit company they are using has tarnished their name.  I'll shop elsware.

more ...
Apr 02, 2016
Beware! Rip off and not worth it
JHo767 Cardholder

I've had this card for years but just closed it today.   I hadn't used the card in awhile and got a notice that it would be cancelled for non use.  I decided i would put a charge on it to keep it open so I went to Home Depot and bought a $12 item I needed.  Well I had paperless statements and realized the following month I was 3 days late on paying so I logged in online and noticed a late fee but whatever I paid it off right then and there.  The thing that ****es me off is I pulled my credit report today (this happend months ago) and they reported the late payment to the credit bureau and my score dropped quite a bit.  I called them and they said they report every 30 days and wouldn't take it off the credit report and I should have called during that billing period... well I didn't know they reported it.  I've never had a major credit card report for being 3 days late.     It is the ONLY late payment on my credit report.   I had them close it on the spot.  I know Home Depot is separate from the card company but I don't even want to shop at home depot anymore.   In my mind the credit company they are using has tarnished their name.  I'll shop elsware.

more ...
Mar 27, 2016
Increased credit limit
DaVickster Cardholder

Never click on the link whereby the website asks if you want to increase your credit limit.  Unlike Bank of America, Home Depot runs a HARD credit inquiry which showed up immediately on Credit Karma.  I called customer service immediately and was told it was too late to do anything about it.

more ...
Mar 20, 2016
easy

719 fico score, did in house application as I was purchasing a new stove and wanted the zero percent for 6 months. Was approved for 500.00 CL was not happy. Called citi immediately and they asked me what I wanted ? I asked for 3500.00 and they gave it to me

more ...
Mar 15, 2016
Great
Anonymous Cardholder

I have used the card and shopped at HD for years. Never any issues! 

more ...
Feb 24, 2016
Do not get it
Anonymous Cardholder

I am very annoyed by my Home Depot card. I got 6 month interest free. I was told you to pay as much as I could for the first 6 months so that my minimum payment was low. However, after the 6 months, I was charged with back interest which was over 200$ and now I am getting charged with a huge interest fee each month. It's almost 3/4 of the minimum payment. At this rate, it says I will pay off my card in 8 years. I am not happy. I feel like I was lied to and nobody is taking accountability for their actions. I would not recommend this card to anyone. Stealing money from hard working people. Not happy!

more ...
Mar 22, 2016

In the credit card disclosure it explains how the no interest promotions work.

 
Apr 29, 2016

It is not interest free, it is deferred interest. Huge difference if it's not paid off in the promotional period. There is a section on the statement each month that tells you how much interest has accrued and will be charged if not paid in full by the end of the promotion.

 
Feb 23, 2016
Improper billings
Anonymous Cardholder

If you have this card, review your statements very, very carefully.   They add incorrect late fees and interest charges.  They say that adjustments can take one or two billing cycles.  If you pay the correct current balance which may not reflect the credit, you can wind up in an endless loop of not paying the minimum balance and you get back into the late fees and interest loop.  Just ridiculous.   I'm closing my account after only six months AND I am surprised that the CSRs don't seem to care.  The customer service isn't the problem -- from what I can tell, they have serious software and billing systrem issues.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

Rate this card overall

Please select a rating

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Company Overview

The Home Depot® Consumer Credit Card, serviced by Citibank, offers Home Depot® customers card benefits. Cardholder features may include an interest-free introductory period, automatic savings for in-store purchases, special promotions throughout the year, and online account management. Online account access includes the ability to view statements, check balance, make payments, and request a credit line increase. Home Depot® also offers additional credit products, such as The Home Depot® Rewards MasterCard® , The Home Depot® Commercial Revolving Charge Card, The Home Depot® Commercial Account, and The Home Depot® Business Rewards MasterCards® to fit consumers' credit needs.

The Home Depot® opened its doors in 1979 in Atlanta, Georgia as a one-stop shopping for the “do-it-yourselfer”. The first stores were huge, 60,000 square foot warehouses that dwarfed the competing hardware stores. Empty boxes piled high on the shelves gave the illusion of even more product, the story goes. Today, The Home Depot® is the world’s largest home improvement specialty retailer, with 2,246 retail store across all 50 U.S. states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, U.S. Virgin Islands, Canada, Mexico, and China.

The Home Depot® Consumer Credit Card