Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

The Home Depot® Consumer Credit Card

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

1.9 out of 5 stars
59 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

2 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Feb 07, 2017
Handy
HappyFitChick Cardholder

The individuals comments on how horrible this card is must be terrible at money management. I have had nothing but good things to say. The financing at 0% is amazing on all of our renovation projects---you just have to pay it off in time. I'm not sure why people are blaming HD for this? If you can't pay it off during the promotional period, don't buy it. Plain and simple. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 27, 2016
Increased credit limit
DaVickster Cardholder

Never click on the link whereby the website asks if you want to increase your credit limit.  Unlike Bank of America, Home Depot runs a HARD credit inquiry which showed up immediately on Credit Karma.  I called customer service immediately and was told it was too late to do anything about it.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Feb 16, 2017
Very Handy for Home Reno
Darwin686 Cardholder

Very Handy card! Use it all of the time for all purchases at Home Depot and pay it in full each month.  I've never had a problem with the promotional purchases and have been using the card for about 2 years now.  If you are good at money mangment this card is for you.  I do everything electronically so no snail mail but eStatments instead. Never had any issues with not getting notificed by Citi when a payment is due or when a statement is ready.

more ...
Feb 16, 2017
Do not listen to their promotion!
Anonymous Cardholder

Each transaction must be more than 299.99 for promotion. Beware of that!

more ...
Feb 15, 2017
Not bad for a store card.
LordOrwell Cardholder

Ok so first off, it's actually a CITI card in disguise.   I saw someone else say the available credit was tiny but even with marginal at best credit at the time, i was given a limit of $2000 and i'm pretty sure 10% off of my purchase or some such.  It automatically gives you six months same as cash when you buy over a certain dollar amount but this doesn't mean you don't have a monthly payment in the mean time.  It just means there is no interest.  There also is no annual fee and it's possible to use the card in store without the actual card as long as you have ID.  They aren't messing around though:  A credit increase check is a hard check but those really don't affect your score that much anyway.   The biggest affect is avaiable credit and percentage of credit and this card raised my score 75 points getting it.

more ...
Feb 11, 2017
Need riding lawn mower
Anonymous Cardholder

Help them

more ...
Feb 09, 2017
This Card Has Been Flawless

Don't know what the wining is all about, we have had this card for years and it's been flawless. Of course we are responsible adults. Don't get a statement? So what, we know the payment is due by the 6th of the month. How hard is that? One of the great things about this card is that if you make multiple payments per month they report positive great payment multiple times per month. One of the best kept secrets for raising your credit score quickly. We also prefer making cash payments at a teller in Home Depot. Is that to difficult? Card has been flawless.

more ...
Feb 07, 2017
Handy
HappyFitChick Cardholder

The individuals comments on how horrible this card is must be terrible at money management. I have had nothing but good things to say. The financing at 0% is amazing on all of our renovation projects---you just have to pay it off in time. I'm not sure why people are blaming HD for this? If you can't pay it off during the promotional period, don't buy it. Plain and simple. 

more ...
Feb 05, 2017
Credit killer
Anonymous Cardholder

Miss one payment and opt for non automated payments they stab you in the back. my limit dropped by $4200 and credit score by 100 pts stay away from home depot and citi bank!

more ...
Jan 27, 2017
It's a scam
Anonymous Cardholder

Never received my first bill so it was late by about a week. They dropped my credit limit down to almost nothing. Now I'm stuck with itand no one there is willing to help. Stupid.

more ...
Jan 25, 2017
HORRIBLE!!!!!!
Anonymous Cardholder

Fees after fees apply even if you make payment ontime.

more ...
Jan 23, 2017
love it and will still use it
Anonymous Cardholder

very easy to use

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

The Home Depot® Consumer Credit Card