Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

The Home Depot® Consumer Credit Card

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

1.8 out of 5 stars
41 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

2 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Sep 15, 2016
Amazing and up front!
Anonymous Cardholder

As long as you pay your promotional offers by the due date it's amazing... read your statements and you will be good to go. Everything you need is on page 1 and page 3 of each statment.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 27, 2016
Increased credit limit
DaVickster Cardholder

Never click on the link whereby the website asks if you want to increase your credit limit.  Unlike Bank of America, Home Depot runs a HARD credit inquiry which showed up immediately on Credit Karma.  I called customer service immediately and was told it was too late to do anything about it.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Nov 28, 2016
Just fine
prescottchels Cardholder

I'd give it 5 stars if it had a lower APR, but seeing as how this was my first card after my credit crashed I didn't mind. I've paid my bill in store with cash or with my debit card as well as online with my debit card or e-check & never had any trouble, even when it was last minute. Plus I received money off my purchase when I applied for the card, which was a nice bonus!

more ...
Nov 28, 2016
Avoid this card!!!
Anonymous Cardholder

They do not allow payment from another credit card therefore you cannot transfer the balance to a lower interest rate card. 

more ...
Nov 22, 2016
payment processing scam!
Anonymous Cardholder

They hold your payment until it's late then say it wasn't received until after their cut-off.

more ...
Nov 18, 2016
Customer service sucks!!!
chica17cdm Cardholder

I would just like to say that I am officially done with Home Depot and Citi Bank. As part of my closing for my house in July I had to pay off the remaining $287 on my Home Depot Credit card. The title company cut the check and it was my job to mail it. Since I do paperless billing, I did not have a stub to send with it, so in order to make sure it got credited to my account I wrote my account number, full name, email, and mailing address on the attached piece of paper to the check. Mind you, in order to separate this piece from the check, you would have to tear it off along the perforated line.

So, with that I placed the check in the mail. Fast forward to a month later, I get a overdue notice from Home Depot/Citi Bank (side note, also had to send a check to Kohl's using same tactic. No problems whatsoever). After many phone calls, sitting on hold, being transfered, repeating my story over and over again, getting a copy of the cashed check from the title company, faxing multiple copies from their own home depot, loss of lunch breaks on the phone, them telling me it would be handled in two days and then not handled, been told to wait and be patient, it takes time to be credited, etc, after a month or more, the money is finally credited to my account, late fees removed and balance is zero. I have never been more frustrated with a company, or felt so talked down to. I have been treated like I am trying to cheat them and avoid paying them. After several frustrating transfers, I did get in touch with a very nice lady who found the payment after I read her the routing number off the check and the date of deposit and that it would be credited to my account within two days. A week later I call back because it's not showing up as credited and am that told the only way it will get credited is if I send them a copy of the check. They wouldn't even let me just email the scanned check, I had to find a fax machine and send it to a specific department. That faxing was the only way of communicating with "said" department. Completely different story than the week before. Thus, me running around trying to find a fax machine because I can't use the one at work for private stuff.,

Fast forward to today, I get a call from them saying oops, since they didn't know who to credit the account to, they refunded the money back to the title company sometime in September and I need to get a new check to them by December 1st. So, not only is it a Friday, the lady who handled my closing is out, and next week is a holiday. If they can confirm the returned money, I will need to take time off work, get a substitute for my classes I teach (because middle school teachers can't just leave work Willy nilly), drive to the title company, wait for them to give me a new check, write down all the same information I attached to the first check, and then mail it to the same address as before. Are you f-ing kidding me!?!? The gentleman suggested I actually write my account number on the check this time, and I almost came through the phone to strangle him. They had to literally rip it off the old check to lose it and he thinks they are going to do better this time around? I'm not gonna hold my breath.

Lowe's, you better thank Home Depot/CitiBank for sending you a new loyal customer, who is a new home owner with lots of projects in her future. As soon as this is done, Lowe's is where I will do all my future home improvement shopping. I also have materials for a kitchen backsplash project I will be returning as I feel supporting this company is no longer in my best interest as a consumer. The amount of time and effort I have had to put in to fix their ongoing mistake far outweighs the amount that was owed to them (which was paid in full when they deposited the check, and it was correctly marked!). I might also add that despite being frustrated with a company I have never publicly given them a bad review. Thank you Home Depot, you are providing me with a lot of firsts lately.

more ...
Nov 17, 2016
If I could give 0 stars, I would!
Anonymous Cardholder

To start off, it took 10+ calls just to make a payment. Once payment was finally made, with said confirmation # of approval, they call weeks later saying it was declined. And now trying to charge more fees & no answers from a supervisor. Stay far far away, and they refuse to close the account even once it's paid off.....

more ...
Nov 10, 2016
Rip off
Anonymous Cardholder

Interest rate is ridiculous.

more ...
Nov 10, 2016
the most worst credit card
Anonymous Cardholder

once you buy the product from this card, even though you never received a product and you tell them immediately . they wont understand and still charge you. Resprentavtie are very rude not willing to help and practically do not care about losing a loyal customer over years.

more ...
Nov 04, 2016
HORRIBLE
Anonymous Cardholder

Customer service is the worst dont know how they even have a job! Hire new people that want to work! Husband oppened a cc when when the check out lady said she will save him 20% off his check out that day so he did! we already have a charge card that is paid off sure as hell dont need another. He paid cash that day did not put it on the card then next thing we know were getting calls from a collection co saying we owe 93.00 ???? for what becouse they said that card was used for a 23$ purchase?? wait he paid cash we have never even recived a card nor a bill WTF!!!! JUST TO GET THIS OUT OF OUR HAIR AS WE ARE BUYING A HOUSE!! what can I do? you can pay the 23.00 ill take off the late fees fine run to home depot after she gave a an account number since we have never recived any thing on this card That was Oct 17TH I have talked to 11 different people i need a paper saying this account is closed!!!!! it is now Nov 4th still not **** you lost our business HOME DEPOT YOU CAN KISS OFF!

more ...
Nov 04, 2016
Cancer.
BAKDenver Cardholder

This is honestly one of the WORST store cards I've ever seen. It is awful. The interest is horrible, the 'special' financing offers are a joke, and the CLIs are minimal. I started with a limit of 1000...then I was boosted to 1500, now I'm at 2200. I got better CLIs from Crapital One. You can hold up to 5 of these orange pieces of junk at any time because they pass them out like candy. Why? They have trouble getting rid of them. Plain and simple. In addition to that, they like arbitrating your card every now and then just for fun. That means a totally new card agreement just because they can...they're notorious for reporting people for anything and everything, canceling lines of credit, and being a general pain to deal with. You're better off with a low tier self funded credit card. This card is a joke, but not a funny one. I have my husband on the account and it's now saying that there's a 0 balance on the card which unfortunately isn't true. Nothing of the sort is being reported on my credit. I sincerely hope that this is not the arbitration's fault because if they mess up our credit, I will come unglued. 

Do yourself a favor and stay far away from THD's cancer card. It's a trap, it's a nightmare, and it's just plain pathetic.

more ...
Oct 22, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

I do not recommend this credit card. I have had issues at every single stage in the process from applying to setting up reoccuring payments and paying it off (wanted to pay it off just so i didn't have to deal with the issues any longer). 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

The Home Depot® Consumer Credit Card