Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

The Home Depot® Consumer Credit Card

Find Out More

Ratings by Category

Application Process
Customer Service
Cardholder Ratings
1.8478 5

Most Helpful Positive Review

Aug 12, 2012
forty9rman Cardholder

 Fico score of 760. Applied for this card and got a cl of 7,000.00. This has been a great card for promo items with either 6 months or 12 months special financing options.

more ...

Most Helpful Negative Review

Aug 14, 2012
Anonymous Cardholder

Recently I attempted to purchase a new washer/dryer from my local Home Depot because they had 0% financing for card holders.  I tried my card but was told the account had been CLOSED.  No problem.  I applied for credit again and was refused and was told I would be receiving a letter explaining why I was refused.  Easy enough.  Right?  Wrong.

The reason for refusal was sent to me with a bill showing a balance of $250.54 in addition to a letter from a collection agency.  Upon a closer look I saw that the Late Fees & Interest for the Year totaled $250.14.  I NEVER RECEIVED A STATEMENT or used the card this year.  Now lets do the math.  The difference between the fees/interest and the current balance is $0.40.  Yes 40 cents.   Citibank decided to accrue late fees and interest on 40 cents from the beginning of the year totaling over $250. 

The folks at Citibank are a BUNCH OF CROOKS.  BEWARE!!!!!!! and check your statements carefully.

more ...

Reviews (92)

Add Review
Nov 12, 2015
Stay Clear.
Anonymous Cardholder

I paid off this card off in 2012. Before my interest hit my card for buying windows. I had this card since 2003
but when I paid the card off and closed it they marked my credit 30 days past due. Ive contacted them several
times and they wont change it. I guess they do what they want.

more ...
Oct 17, 2015
Useless, "for security reasons."
Anonymous Cardholder

There are some revolving accounts that are so utterly worthless in their design and execution that they shouldn't be allowed anywhere near your wallet.  This is that account.

Like other reviewers, I received Home Depot's mailer advertising the 0% interest with minimum payments (aka "same as cash") to its cardholders.  Mailer in hand, I pushed that big orange flatbed cart all over the store to the tune of $2,300 of merchandise.  All was well until the cashier sheepishly wheeled that flatbed cart into a dark corner away from the checkstand and asked me to visit the customer service desk.  Why?  Because Citibank (the HD card issuer) decided it would be a great idea to CLOSE THE CARDHOLDER'S ACCOUNT WITHOUT NOTICE if not used within the past 12 months.  I called Citibank and the customer service rep told me that the policy exists "for security reasons."

C'mon man.  Why is every underhanded policy in this country now lurking under the banner of "for security reasons?"  I was then immediately encouraged to apply for another account.  Yep, after telling me my account was closed "for security reasons," I was encouraged to once again hand out my social security number, gross monthly income, phone number, work address and spouse's info to someone wearing an orange apron making $12 per hour.

For security reasons I shredded that utterly useless card and went to Lowe's.

more ...
Oct 20, 2015

It's not $12 an hour.. I used to work at home depot it's 8.75... (7.25 after taxes)... work there a year and you'd be up 25 cents..

Oct 07, 2015
Approved, but...

Really odd inital credit limit of $1,201.  Scores in the 730's, no derogs, utilization kind of high at 55%.  Oh well.  Planning a bathroom remodel.  Looks like Lowe's will get the majority of my business on this project.  Maybe I can buy a little grout from Home Depot.

more ...
Oct 01, 2015
Anonymous Cardholder

Be aware of special purchase financing. they make you call in to apply payment directly to the special purchase. Essentially you have no record of the payment by phone either. So you think you paid off the no interest purchase and later are hit with all the interest. It is an interest scam. We had used this option several years ago and it wasnt set up that way.

more ...
Sep 17, 2015
Great Card - Simple as That
southspringer Cardholder

I don't really know why there are so many bad reviews on this card. I've had nothing but good experiences with it. And I've had similar situations as these other people. 

I have made separate purchases and chatted with Home Depot Credit Department and they have grouped them together for me and then applied a 0% interest rate. And if they aren't able (it's happened once), you can just go to the store and talk to the manager - they can refund everything and reapply them to the card. Then you get the credit department to apply the financing then. Simple as that. 

And just pay your bill at the right interval with the right payment. If you buy $1,000 worth of stuff and get 18 months financing, you need to pay about $55.55 each month to avoid interest. People that pay interest on this card (or ANY card) are idiots. I use credit to maximize the value of my money and stretch my monthly budget a little bit further. Paying interest means you were diligent enough to know what payments were required. 

And customer service is just like any company. I have no compllaints - I pay my bill and never any interest. 

more ...
Sep 04, 2015
They over charge with finance fees.
Anonymous Cardholder

I purchased 2000 on my 8k limit.  It was to be interest free for 6 months. On the 5th month of my billing cycle I was charged an additional $987. 

How can the interest charges for 5mo on 2000 be almost 50% of the total charges.  That makes an APR of nearly 100%!  

I called several times and was told I had to pay it.  I pay over 200 every month and my balance only increases in spite of not using the card.  Two yrs later I owe almost 6000.  They are crooks of the worst kind!

do not use their credit!  

more ...
Nov 06, 2015

0 % for 6 months meant all interest was deferred for 6 months. that is common for all store cards. they all do it. If you do not pay off the entire balance of 2000 wish was the initial purchase, you my good friend get charged all that accumulated interest. and considering you're an uninformed consumer you're probably paying around 29.99 % interest. They're not crooks sir, you're just an uninformed consumer.

Sep 01, 2015
Anonymous Cardholder





more ...
Apr 29, 2015
Worst card ever
beanzzz123 Cardholder

I got the card about 3 years ago and was given a measly $500 limit.  No big deal. I have a 6 figure income but a low credit score from a divorce. Have worked on my credit using lawyers and the whole nine. Part of fixing my credit was credit utilization. Having no balance is good but showing that you can pay a balance is better as long as you keep it under 30%. So...after 3 years of rebuilding credit (no thanks to a $500 limit) I have good credit again. I was actually approved for a $300k mortgage and found a house.  I figured that with a new house and some remodeling in mind it would be a good time to request an increase on my Home Depot card. Immediately denied.  So I decided to look at my credit report to see why after being approved for $300k a month earlier I am now being denied a $2000 limit.   It seems that if I was not paying this card early it was late.  There were 4 derogatory marks from this stupid bank!  Everything else was fine. I imagine I must have been a day or two late here and there on paying off a $60-100 balance and they reported it!  Stay far away from this stupid card if you care about your credit.  Lowes is usually right across the street!

more ...
Mar 22, 2015
Taxi818 Cardholder

I got a pre selected offer in the mail. not even sure that they pulled my credit as my equifax is closed. 2k credit limit from the beginning. will call when i get card to ask for increase when i want to do big project. love the 0 percent offers with the card. just not sure if the total must be over 299. or single item.

more ...
Mar 28, 2015

Well they let someone make over $600.00 purchase on my card looking to transfer it and cancell

Feb 11, 2015
be warned , stay clear of this
Anonymous Cardholder

spent $30,000 dollars with home depot last year, not a penny more will i spend

more ...
Mar 22, 2015

So what happened after spending that kind of money.

Add a Review

Add Your Review

Rate this card overall

Please select a rating

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

What should others know about this card?


How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Company Overview

The Home Depot® Consumer Credit Card, serviced by Citibank, offers Home Depot® customers card benefits. Cardholder features may include an interest-free introductory period, automatic savings for in-store purchases, special promotions throughout the year, and online account management. Online account access includes the ability to view statements, check balance, make payments, and request a credit line increase. Home Depot® also offers additional credit products, such as The Home Depot® Rewards MasterCard® , The Home Depot® Commercial Revolving Charge Card, The Home Depot® Commercial Account, and The Home Depot® Business Rewards MasterCards® to fit consumers' credit needs.

The Home Depot® opened its doors in 1979 in Atlanta, Georgia as a one-stop shopping for the “do-it-yourselfer”. The first stores were huge, 60,000 square foot warehouses that dwarfed the competing hardware stores. Empty boxes piled high on the shelves gave the illusion of even more product, the story goes. Today, The Home Depot® is the world’s largest home improvement specialty retailer, with 2,246 retail store across all 50 U.S. states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, U.S. Virgin Islands, Canada, Mexico, and China.

The Home Depot® Consumer Credit Card

92 Reviews