Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

The Home Depot® Consumer Credit Card

Find Out More

Ratings by Category

Application Process
Customer Service
Cardholder Ratings
2 5

Most Helpful Positive Review

Aug 12, 2012
forty9rman Cardholder

 Fico score of 760. Applied for this card and got a cl of 7,000.00. This has been a great card for promo items with either 6 months or 12 months special financing options.

more ...
 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jun 08, 2011
diswiddlepiggy Cardholder

Was approved for $750 CL and 24.99% APR. Promotional offer said 10% off first purchase, which I did not receive. They wanted me to jump through hoops in the store to get the 10% off, so I let it go. Will pay off $400 balance and use rarely. Read some pretty crappy reviews.

more ...
 

Reviews (108)

Add Review
May 23, 2016
Great home improvement card.
Floridabiker777 Cardholder

I app'd for this card and got a 600.00 limit.  Called credit analyst today and got that increased to 15k.  Now we can use the card and not have to worry about ut.

We sort of live in the store since we built a new home and am trying to make it our own.

Fico 793.  Also have a Lowe's card for 25k.  UT right now is about 11% total.

more ...
May 03, 2016
Useful, but comes with strings attached
laureeneastin Cardholder

We have had this card for 3 years now and have made a few $1000-1500 purchases using financing options.  Home Depot doesn't offer many weekly financing options, and there seems to be some hoops to jump through to get the financing option.  Of course you get to pick when you open the card, and then periodically you're mailed a "coupon" with financing options.  I find this helps with misc. items that don't fall under tradional projects like windows or flooring.  For example we used a coupon to finance a playset for the yard.  However, when we purchased flooring during a financing promo, we were expecting to get 18 months and only 6 months appeared on our statement.  I sent a message and they corrected the financing term.  We divide the total amount financed by the length of the financing term into even payments to avoid being slapped with the deferred interest.  I wish there were more fiancing options, but we have never had problems.  Take responsibility for your spending and read the terms for interest, and obviously call if you haven't received a statement.

more ...
Apr 28, 2016
Bad practices
2Chat Cardholder

They dropped my limit while I was carrying a balance. I don't recommend them. I'm currently working to pay this card off and close it.

more ...
Apr 21, 2016
Funny, denied!

Don't know what happened, but applied a few months back for a fridge and got denied?? Credit score of 720... Applied for Sears and got approved for $3500 CL....  

more ...
Apr 11, 2016
Good Card for Promotional Purchases
siberian1 Cardholder

This has been an okay credit card that we've used for general home inprovement. The APR is high so you need to pay off the balance before the time runs out. I've spent probably $15,000 on this card over the years.

I put a large $3000 purchase for a fence project on the account and didn't get it paid off in time for the 0% interest promotional period, so the accumulated interest put me over my $3300 limit by about $107. It took me about 6 months to pay the balance off in full.

When I looked at the latest statement to make sure it was a $0 balance I noticed that my credit limit had been reduced to zero as well. I don't understand why this was such a big deal as I always paid on time and my credit score is 804.

Happy Shopping!!!!!

Thanks a lot Home Depot I know you appriciate my business!!!!

more ...
Apr 02, 2016
Beware! Rip off and not worth it
JHo767 Cardholder

I've had this card for years but just closed it today.   I hadn't used the card in awhile and got a notice that it would be cancelled for non use.  I decided i would put a charge on it to keep it open so I went to Home Depot and bought a $12 item I needed.  Well I had paperless statements and realized the following month I was 3 days late on paying so I logged in online and noticed a late fee but whatever I paid it off right then and there.  The thing that ****es me off is I pulled my credit report today (this happend almost 6 months ago) and they reported the late payment to the credit bureau and my score dropped quite a bit.  I called them and they said they report every 30 days and wouldn't take it off the credit report and I should have called during that billing period... well I didn't know they reported it.  I've never had a major credit card report for being 3 days late.     It is the ONLY late payment on my credit report.   I had them close it on the spot.  I know Home Depot is separate from the card company but I don't even want to shop at home depot anymore.   In my mind the credit company they are using has tarnished their name.  I'll shop elsware.

more ...
Apr 02, 2016
Beware! Rip off and not worth it
JHo767 Cardholder

I've had this card for years but just closed it today.   I hadn't used the card in awhile and got a notice that it would be cancelled for non use.  I decided i would put a charge on it to keep it open so I went to Home Depot and bought a $12 item I needed.  Well I had paperless statements and realized the following month I was 3 days late on paying so I logged in online and noticed a late fee but whatever I paid it off right then and there.  The thing that ****es me off is I pulled my credit report today (this happend months ago) and they reported the late payment to the credit bureau and my score dropped quite a bit.  I called them and they said they report every 30 days and wouldn't take it off the credit report and I should have called during that billing period... well I didn't know they reported it.  I've never had a major credit card report for being 3 days late.     It is the ONLY late payment on my credit report.   I had them close it on the spot.  I know Home Depot is separate from the card company but I don't even want to shop at home depot anymore.   In my mind the credit company they are using has tarnished their name.  I'll shop elsware.

more ...
Mar 27, 2016
Increased credit limit
DaVickster Cardholder

Never click on the link whereby the website asks if you want to increase your credit limit.  Unlike Bank of America, Home Depot runs a HARD credit inquiry which showed up immediately on Credit Karma.  I called customer service immediately and was told it was too late to do anything about it.

more ...
Mar 20, 2016
easy

719 fico score, did in house application as I was purchasing a new stove and wanted the zero percent for 6 months. Was approved for 500.00 CL was not happy. Called citi immediately and they asked me what I wanted ? I asked for 3500.00 and they gave it to me

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

Rate this card overall

Please select a rating

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Company Overview

The Home Depot® Consumer Credit Card, serviced by Citibank, offers Home Depot® customers card benefits. Cardholder features may include an interest-free introductory period, automatic savings for in-store purchases, special promotions throughout the year, and online account management. Online account access includes the ability to view statements, check balance, make payments, and request a credit line increase. Home Depot® also offers additional credit products, such as The Home Depot® Rewards MasterCard® , The Home Depot® Commercial Revolving Charge Card, The Home Depot® Commercial Account, and The Home Depot® Business Rewards MasterCards® to fit consumers' credit needs.

The Home Depot® opened its doors in 1979 in Atlanta, Georgia as a one-stop shopping for the “do-it-yourselfer”. The first stores were huge, 60,000 square foot warehouses that dwarfed the competing hardware stores. Empty boxes piled high on the shelves gave the illusion of even more product, the story goes. Today, The Home Depot® is the world’s largest home improvement specialty retailer, with 2,246 retail store across all 50 U.S. states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, U.S. Virgin Islands, Canada, Mexico, and China.

The Home Depot® Consumer Credit Card