Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

The Home Depot® Consumer Credit Card

Find Out More

Ratings by Category

Application Process
Customer Service
Cardholder Ratings
2 5

Most Helpful Positive Review

Aug 12, 2012
forty9rman Cardholder

 Fico score of 760. Applied for this card and got a cl of 7,000.00. This has been a great card for promo items with either 6 months or 12 months special financing options.

more ...
 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jun 08, 2011
diswiddlepiggy Cardholder

Was approved for $750 CL and 24.99% APR. Promotional offer said 10% off first purchase, which I did not receive. They wanted me to jump through hoops in the store to get the 10% off, so I let it go. Will pay off $400 balance and use rarely. Read some pretty crappy reviews.

more ...
 

Reviews (118)

Add Review
Jun 28, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

If you don't use it they will lower your CL. If you use it and pay it off every month they will lower your credit limit. When you keep a balance on the card and pay minimum payments every month you won't get a CLI for years. Beginning CLI $8,700. This card will ruin your utilization and your credit score. Mid 750's CS. 

STAY FAR AWAY!!

more ...
Jun 22, 2016
Hazardous to your credit score!!!!!

I have had this card for around 4 years and have never been late on any payments. My CL started at $6000. I was doing a kitchen remodel and ran the card up to $5800 making my utilization close to 100% so it droped my credit score. I paid it down to $4,400 with in 3 months to lower my utilization to try to repair my score a little. At that point they lowered my CL to $4,500 making my utilization close to 100% again lowering my credit score again. I payed it down to $3,000 to try to repair again it helped a little. I mantained my payments never really helping my score much because i was still close to 70%. After a year or so they balance was down to about $2000 they lowered my CL to $3,500 increasing my utilaization again and then again 6 months later or so they lowered it to $3,000. After talking with them several times and getting nowhere. I finally got through to someone at citi they said that because i used the card my utilization went up it lowered my score they did a soft pull on my credit and decided to lower my limit with the lower limit my utilization went up and they lowered it again and again. They said they will never lower it less then the balance on the card. So if im not going to pay it off just pay the min payment to keep it maxed out so they cant lower it on me.   WHAT KIND OF ADVICE IS THAT FROM A LENDER?  I never had a problem with my bills being messed up or anything so that is why i rated it at a 2 star not a 1.  I will be paying it off and closing the card. Horrible lender!!!!!     score was a 730ish when opening the card it is a 670ish now

more ...
Jun 22, 2016

I have had this card for around 4 years and have never been late on any payments. My CL started at $6000. I was doing a kitchen remodel and ran the card up to $5800 making my utilization close to 100% so it droped my credit score. I paid it down to $4,400 with in 3 months to lower my utilization to try to repair my score a little. At that point they lowered my CL to $4,500 making my utilization close to 100% again lowering my credit score again. I payed it down to $3,000 to try to repair again it helped a little. I mantained my payments never really helping my score much because i was still close to 70%. After a year or so they balance was down to about $2000 they lowered my CL to $3,500 increasing my utilaization again and then again 6 months later or so they lowered it to $3,000. After talking with them several times and getting nowhere. I finally got through to someone at citi they said that because i used the card my utilization went up it lowered my score they did a soft pull on my credit and decided to lower my limit with the lower limit my utilization went up and they lowered it again and again. They said they will never lower it less then the balance on the card. So if im not going to pay it off just pay the min payment to keep it maxed out so they cant lower it on me.   WHAT KIND OF ADVICE IS THAT FROM A LENDER?  I never had a problem with my bills being messed up or anything so that is why i rated it at a 2 star not a 1.  I will be paying it off and closing the card. Horrible lender!!!!!     score was a 730ish when opening the card it is a 670ish now 

more ...
Jun 13, 2016
not worth keeping it!
Anonymous Cardholder

I paid my monthly balance of 5.99 right after I received my statement and they charged me 3.99 interest on the next months invoice (get this) "because I paid the invoice too early so it generated a late charge of 3.99"  they were nice and reversed the 3.99 charge but I had to ask about it first.  What a ripoff.  They try and get in your pocket because I try to keep up with my payments.  Not any longer, Home Depot Credit Card good bye, I"ll keep my own money thank you!

more ...
Jun 09, 2016
Easy to get!
Anonymous Cardholder

I went to purchase a vcuum cleaner for my wife on sale for $88, I asked the cashier to apply for a credit card, he entered my info into the computer in a matter of seconds. Boom just like that 2k instantly. Credit score at the time about 695.

more ...
Jun 03, 2016
Why even apply?
Anonymous

I have a 730 FICO score and decided to apply for a Home Depot credit card.  BTW -- I make $104k/yr and own my home outright.  I've been building my credit over the past year because previously I had paid everything in cash and didn't realize that made my credit score fall into the toilet.  I have a perfect payment record with the 4 other credit cards I have -- including a $6,000 CL from Chase and a $2,300 CL from Capital One.   My utilization is currently 15%.  

This is why I was SHOCKED when I was approved for a HD card, but ONLY for $500.  I also had to call and jump through hoops to get the card.  I wouldn't have bothered except that now I have a hard pull and so if I didn't take the card, it would have lowered my score with nothing to show for it.  I explained to the customer service that I'm planning on renovating my house however, she said she couldn't raise my CL.  

So much for that.  Guess I'll just stick to using my Chase card from now on.  VERY DISAPPOINTED IN HOME DEPOT!!

more ...
Jun 01, 2016

Applied $500 approval experian 631 Efax 568 and transunion is 509 had to do verification on phone

more ...
May 31, 2016
No benefits, no points, no cash back
Anonymous Cardholder

In an era of 2% cash back cards, this card has nothing to offer.

I applied for this card in-store after the cashier promised that I would get a 5% discount every time I used the card. "Is this just a promo, or is this forever?" I asked.   "Forever.", the cashier said.  The first time I used the card, I noticed I did not get the discount.  The cashier said "you have to ask for the Promo Code to get the discount".  Okay, I said, and from that point forward I asked for the Promo Code whenever I used the card.  

After a couple of months, I tried to use the Promo Code, and the cashier said, "Oh, they're not doing that any more".  

Classic bait and switch.  I cancelled my card immediately.

more ...
May 31, 2016
Worthless
Anonymous Cardholder

I like Home Depot, but CS 750-770, large income, no carried balances. Start me off at $1701.00. $30.00 cheaper than I was looking to spend. I spoke to the customer rep to see what the issue was. He said I could raise up my limit if I wanted. I shouldn't have to jump thru hoops to make purchases. I paid for it with my debit card, and I will be closing this account as soon as it arrives at my house. Home Depot you should probably look at getting away from CITI.  

more ...
May 27, 2016
Dropped 5 percent discount
SCHNOODLE3 Cardholder

Only reason to have the card was to get a five percent store discount. They discontinued this in Jan 2016 in Jan 2016. No reason to keep this crummy card.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

Rate this card overall

Please select a rating

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Company Overview

The Home Depot® Consumer Credit Card, serviced by Citibank, offers Home Depot® customers card benefits. Cardholder features may include an interest-free introductory period, automatic savings for in-store purchases, special promotions throughout the year, and online account management. Online account access includes the ability to view statements, check balance, make payments, and request a credit line increase. Home Depot® also offers additional credit products, such as The Home Depot® Rewards MasterCard® , The Home Depot® Commercial Revolving Charge Card, The Home Depot® Commercial Account, and The Home Depot® Business Rewards MasterCards® to fit consumers' credit needs.

The Home Depot® opened its doors in 1979 in Atlanta, Georgia as a one-stop shopping for the “do-it-yourselfer”. The first stores were huge, 60,000 square foot warehouses that dwarfed the competing hardware stores. Empty boxes piled high on the shelves gave the illusion of even more product, the story goes. Today, The Home Depot® is the world’s largest home improvement specialty retailer, with 2,246 retail store across all 50 U.S. states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, U.S. Virgin Islands, Canada, Mexico, and China.

The Home Depot® Consumer Credit Card