The Home Depot® Consumer Credit Card Reviews

The Home Depot® Consumer Credit Card Reviews
2.3 out of 5 stars
12 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

2.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Oct 15, 2019
659/641/617 Scores

I applied for the card while in the process of rebuilding my credit. I received $500 limit when I opened the card. I have never carried a balance. I pay off the card every month before the statement closes so a $0 balance appears on my statements. I applied for $250 credit limit increase in September. They approved me for $300. I applied for another $200 increase in October and they approved. I used the online website to apply for credit limit increases. After two years of owning this account my limit has increased from $500 to $1,000 which I am very happy with. I am working hard to rebuild my credit back to the 700s. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

May 22, 2019
Bad
Ceric19991981 Cardholder

Don't get

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jan 10, 2020
CitiBank SUCKS!!
Fergie5 Cardholder

I have an 800+ credit score...They lower limits whenever they want and score took a hit for being RESPONSIBLE!! TOTAL BS!! 😡

more ...
Jan 07, 2020
The absolute worst card ever.
realestate63 Cardholder

I was told it would take 5 min to get approved. It took over an hour. Got approved for 5k. Citibank never sent a card or statement, and rung my phone off the hook. Customer service is horrible. Will pay balance and close account.

more ...
Oct 15, 2019
659/641/617 Scores

I applied for the card while in the process of rebuilding my credit. I received $500 limit when I opened the card. I have never carried a balance. I pay off the card every month before the statement closes so a $0 balance appears on my statements. I applied for $250 credit limit increase in September. They approved me for $300. I applied for another $200 increase in October and they approved. I used the online website to apply for credit limit increases. After two years of owning this account my limit has increased from $500 to $1,000 which I am very happy with. I am working hard to rebuild my credit back to the 700s. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Oct 23, 2019

Thank you for including the scores. The information I was searching for to determine the approval rate, or scores that nearly mimic my own, and customer complaints. I like to research before opening my Credit Scores to a Hard Hit.

 
Sep 24, 2019
Absolutely Horrible
OlUncleJoe Cardholder

Home Depot approaches you and sells you this card as the greatest thing since sliced cheese.
The rewards and point programs are minimal and pale in comparison to most reputable crads.

If you don't use it, they twist your arm behind your back and lower your credit limit or close your card, of course adversely affecting your credit score.

Don't get this card!

more ...
Jul 25, 2019
Horrible
rascbry Cardholder

Absolute worst website ever (credit card services)

more ...
Jun 17, 2019
No problems
SLB401 Cardholder

I opened this card right after I closed on my home almost 5 years ago. My credit wasn't stellar at the time, so I got a small 500 limit. I've been happy with the card with no complaints and have used it to buy paint, garden stuff and light fixtures. I do wish that they periodically reviewed and increased the limit like some of my other cards do. I know that you can ask for a credit line increase, but since I’m building my credit, I want to keep hard inquiries down to a minimum at this time. 

I rated customer service excellent however I haven't had to deal with them. My payments are set to auto pay and I have literally never had to call customer service for anything related to the card. 

more ...
Jul 04, 2019

They do periodically review, and they will raise OR lower as they see fit. They just did it to someone I'm helping. Don't be so quick to ask for it unless you know your score is better. If it isn't you will not like the result.

 
Jul 16, 2019

aaa

 
Jul 16, 2019

a

 
Jul 16, 2019

asdaaa

 
Jul 16, 2019

asd>

 
Jul 16, 2019

asd123

 
Jul 16, 2019

asd345<678</p>

 
Jul 16, 2019

asd345<678</p>

 
Jul 16, 2019

asd345<678</s>

 
Jul 16, 2019

asd345<678</p>

 
Jul 16, 2019

asd

 
Jul 16, 2019

undefined

 
May 29, 2019
Terrible
Nlgold29 Cardholder

I accidentally closed my account on the automatic system. I spoke with a customer service representative immediately after and explained it was a accident. They will not reopen my account and I was told I would have to reapply customer over 7yrs paid on time never late. 1 simple mistake and they will not reopen my account.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jul 04, 2019

They are not legally able to. None are. I tried many years ago on a Capital One card to do that same. Mine wasn't a mistake mind you. I just didn't realize the hit I would take closing it. A closed account cannot be reopened. PERIOD.

 
May 21, 2019
It deserves negative stars
Scottwj Cardholder

Horrible interest rates, and no way to lower them. They dont tell you this when you apply.

more ...
May 14, 2019
Simple with reciept tracking!
Ianthatguy80 Cardholder

Great card especially if you have returns and no reciept, just swipe your card and the rest is history

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations
 
The Home Depot® Consumer Credit Card Reviews

The Home Depot® Consumer Credit Card