The Home Depot® Consumer Credit Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

1.8 out of 5 stars
61 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

2 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Feb 07, 2017
Handy
HappyFitChick Cardholder

The individuals comments on how horrible this card is must be terrible at money management. I have had nothing but good things to say. The financing at 0% is amazing on all of our renovation projects---you just have to pay it off in time. I'm not sure why people are blaming HD for this? If you can't pay it off during the promotional period, don't buy it. Plain and simple. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

May 11, 2017
If you like brain damage, get this card
Anonymous Cardholder

There are so many issues, from messing with the promotional periods and debiting and crediting my account without notifcation. Not responding to inquiries. It goes on and on. I've lost HOURS of time dealing with these special people.  

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Nov 11, 2017
Misleading
Anonymous Cardholder

Verbiage of credit card terms unclear (overall purchase vs individual purchases )

more ...
Nov 07, 2017
Citi Bank is pretty HORIBBLE
Anonymous Cardholder

I carry one of the Homedepot cards that is serviced by CITI.  They make sure that they allpy payments to your card in such a way that you almost will not stop paying them and it is setup in a way that makes them way more money..  It took me a while to find out that you can allocate payments your way but even then, you have to call them and wait on the phone and even after you give them your allocations, you still run a risk of them applying the payment their way.

If you have this card, I say beware and REALLY KEEP ON TOP OF YOUR CHARGES AND PAYMENTS AND ALLOCATIONS.

CERY DISAPPOINTED IN CITI.  Not putting this one on Homedepot.

more ...
Nov 03, 2017
Horrible
nfz85 Cardholder

I cancelled this card. Avoid it like the plague. They will require you to make certain purchases by certain deadlines, out of the blue, or they will punish you with threats of closing the account or lowering the credit line, etc.

This is ONLY a store card, not a Visa or Mastercard, so you can only use it a Home Depot. Very unusual for a store card to have this kind of strict activity rules. I have had a JC Penny store-card for 10 years, and have barely used it, and they never did this to me. Had my NewEgg and Amazon store card for a couple years now, they haven't done this to me either. Home Depot sucks. I told them I couldn't use the card, because I was afffected by Hurricane Irma, displaced, they didn't give a ----. They told me if I cancel the card, that I can never reopen it. Talk about vindictive and manipulative. That just made me want to cancel more, and plus never shop at Home Depot again. There was no concern, no remediation, and their first step is to use intimidation. What a terrible company.

more ...
Oct 25, 2017
Bad
Anonymous Cardholder

Problems

more ...
Oct 05, 2017
Waste of Time
WontonNYC Cardholder

I was approved with a $500 credit line over a year ago making small purchases and paying off on time and nothing! They don't increase the credit line. My Lowe's Card had $200 and now it is up to $5k without having to do anything. I love how they keep mailing me offers to charge more than $500 on the card when they know the card doesn't have suffcient credit. Skip this one!

more ...
Sep 23, 2017
No Real Value Besides Special Financing
Anonymous Cardholder

The HD Consumer Card is pretty bare bones.  Aside from special no interest financing, there isn't much use for it.  When I first applied, I was promised a 5% discount on merchandise if financed normally (25 day grace period if paid in full).  Once that discount went away, it's only valid for special financing. No discounts. No rewards. Not worth it. As someone who pays my card off monthly, I'm better off using a different rewards card.  Due to not using the card, they reduced my credit limit with only a letter in the mail that contained an offer that looked like all the other ones I didn't need.

Bottom line: Unless you need no-interest financing, I would recommend avoiding this card, as it offers none of the other benefits other retail credit accounts offer (e.g. Macy's, Best Buy, etc.)

more ...
Sep 16, 2017
Does it's job
TheCreditGame Cardholder

HP for CLI, low starting limit, increase on recon or after 6 months.

For all the negatives - look closely at these reviews, every negative review has the same exact sentence in it:  "i was dumb and didnt pay my bills for reason X, CITI RUINED ME"

Pay your bill and nothing bad happens, idiot.

more ...
Aug 23, 2017
Stay Away!

They give you a very low limit then when you make a payment they hold your payment for 14 days before it is applied. Its always maxxed out and hurts your credit and is worthless!

more ...
Jul 24, 2017
thievery
Anonymous Cardholder

I closed my Home Depot account because I had a problem with an installation and they treated me terribly because of it.  They tacked on late fees and told me they had a right to report me tto credit bureaus even if my account is in good standing.  When I filed a federal complaint, they deliberately misstated the facts.   I don't know if the lies ar deliberate or if they care so little.  Maybe some of both.  I think Citibank is so bad, I don't think a single star is low enough.

more ...
Jul 09, 2017
Pour choice for HD to team up with Citi
Anonymous Cardholder

We recently bought a building that required renovation so taking advantage of 60 day terms was a no brainer, or so I thought. I hadn't even had the card for 60 days and on my first statement they were charging me interest on a 60 day interest free account. Spent 30 minutes on the phone and had to talk to a manager to get it cleared up. I went a head and paid off the cards balance. Since then we returned an item, and have a credit on the card. Received my second statement today and somehow they have figured out a way to charge me interest again. Not sure how that works considering they technically owe me money. Can't believe how crazy this company is. Lesson learned will be closing the account and thinking twice about my future business with Home Depot.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

The Home Depot® Consumer Credit Card