The Children's Place Credit Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.9 out of 5 stars
18 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

3 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jan 28, 2017
got approved. only had for one day so no
Tabduarte Cardholder

i have a pretty low credit score. ive applied before and was denied. the lady asked me "would like to try" i said "okay one last time" boom approved for $300 i about fell to the floor. apparently in the past i was denied they were with citi bank. now they are with CapitalOne and many more people are being approved. for ME to get approved you shopuld definetly check. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 31, 2017
DOOOON'T DO IT
Anonymous Cardholder

I HAD AUTOMATIC PAYMENTS SET UP AND I ONLY HAD A BALANCE OF $25 DOLLARS LEFT ON THE CARD. ALL WAS FINE UNTIL I RECENTLY GOT A CALL FROM A COLLECTION COMPANY INFORMING ME THAT I OWED ALMOST $200 ON THE CARD BECAUSE THEY SENT OUT A NEW CARD (WHICH I NEVER RECEIVED MUCH LESS REGISTERED) AND THAT PAYMENTS HAD NOT BEEN MADE FOR THE LAST 3 MONTHS. I NEVER ASKED FOR A NEW CARD, AND I HAD AUTOMATIC PAYMENTS SET UP BUT THEY NEVER CALLED ME TO INFORM ME OF WHAT WAS GOING ON, INSTEAD I GET A CALL WHEN IM ALREADYYY IN COLLECTION. I HAVE NEVER HAD LATE PAYMENTS AND AM EXTREMELY UPSET BECAUSE I WENT FROM OWING $25 TO ALMOST $200 FOR SOMETHING THAT WAS NOOOOT MY FAULT AND NOT TO MENTION IT AFFECTED MY CREDIT SCORE. DO NOT GET THIS CARD!!!!!!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Aug 09, 2017
Worst Experience Ever
aejimenez Cardholder

Before they changed to Commenity Bank  they had the AUTO PAY option, so I didn't have to worry about having to make payments.. I was late 1 month by $8.00 not realizing it.. After I finally realized I was late, I paid the balance to find out my credit score went down 70 POINTS!!!!!  Mind you I've had the card for over 4 years with perfect paying record, and they NEVER increased my credit limit... Will not be using this card again..

more ...
Jul 01, 2017
Going to close this card
Anonymous Cardholder

Bern with them for quite some time, only received one increase, I was in the hospital, wound up 18 days late on a payment and they dropped my limit back to where I started, unbelievable. Told me I was 1 whole billing cycle off being they bill 1 month in advance even though my bill wasn't even due til the next month. My son is 14 and have no need for the clothes anymore anyhow. I was going to buy clothes for my god daughter just to continue to use the card but I'm going to close it

more ...
Jun 28, 2017
Not worth it.
Anonymous Cardholder

I have a FICO score of 776 and was only approved for a $250 credit limit.  This was not even worth the time to fill out.  One shopping trip and I will be over my 30% utilization.  That limit is an insult.  

more ...
May 30, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

Does the childrens credit card increase your credit? If so, by how much points? Does it increase if you pay off your credit card the same day it is used??

more ...
May 18, 2017
Loved the store
Riley0119 Cardholder

Loved the store when it came to my local mall, got the store card because I got two growning kids, less than a year of having it, the store lost my payment and then call center wouldn't talk to me over the phone as it was in my husband's name, even though I was trying to make a payment, so we closed the account and when I tried to pay it in store as we had continued, was told they wouldn't accept my payment because the card was old. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jul 27, 2017

The children's place switched banks to commitity bank beginning 2017 so your card you tried making a payment with was no longer valid. Easy fix, you could have had the sales associate look your card up in the system for a stress free payment.

 
Apr 03, 2017
good so far.
Anonymous Cardholder

i have a VS card with comenity bank and have not had a problem with them. I like to use my cards as "same as cash" so i pay everything off as soon as its posted. my average Credit Score is around 749 and i got approved for $1000 which is way more than i need to spend in a shopping trip at a store. 

more ...
Mar 31, 2017
DOOOON'T DO IT
Anonymous Cardholder

I HAD AUTOMATIC PAYMENTS SET UP AND I ONLY HAD A BALANCE OF $25 DOLLARS LEFT ON THE CARD. ALL WAS FINE UNTIL I RECENTLY GOT A CALL FROM A COLLECTION COMPANY INFORMING ME THAT I OWED ALMOST $200 ON THE CARD BECAUSE THEY SENT OUT A NEW CARD (WHICH I NEVER RECEIVED MUCH LESS REGISTERED) AND THAT PAYMENTS HAD NOT BEEN MADE FOR THE LAST 3 MONTHS. I NEVER ASKED FOR A NEW CARD, AND I HAD AUTOMATIC PAYMENTS SET UP BUT THEY NEVER CALLED ME TO INFORM ME OF WHAT WAS GOING ON, INSTEAD I GET A CALL WHEN IM ALREADYYY IN COLLECTION. I HAVE NEVER HAD LATE PAYMENTS AND AM EXTREMELY UPSET BECAUSE I WENT FROM OWING $25 TO ALMOST $200 FOR SOMETHING THAT WAS NOOOOT MY FAULT AND NOT TO MENTION IT AFFECTED MY CREDIT SCORE. DO NOT GET THIS CARD!!!!!!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jul 27, 2017

That's because they switched banks at the beginning of the year. A lot of people ended up disregarding the letters sent if they had auto payments in effect.

 
Feb 25, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

So far so good! I applied got approved for $300 I hv low scores 595 591 603 trying to rebuild credit.. been declined in the past with them... my plan is to buy an pay off! 

more ...
Feb 21, 2017
Since the change,,, horrible
Anonymous Cardholder

Since the change to Commenity this has been a total disaster. My payment was sent back TWICE, and after the first time I called and asked why and the rep told me to try online payment again. I tried again only to get the same notification days later. Finally a rep told me my bank was not found and that the bank possibly changed my routing and/or account number without knowledge. umm.. no.. So my account is past due and they tried to pin late charges and return fees on me, but didn't tell me the issue. Their solution now is to go in the store each time to make a payment. I tried once more online and it went through no problems. Going to the store is an incovenience when I've never had a problem paying my account online. The customer reps all 6 of them has told me something totally different each time.

more ...
Feb 18, 2017
Terrible
Anonymous Cardholder

When Comenity took over paying a bill became a chore. I made a payment through the online system and a month later I was charged a late fee. No one can take the fee off even though I paid my bill. They requested paperwork to prove i paid my bill. It was sent and still the bill reflects I never made a payment! This will be the 5th time calling back because now it's reflecting on my credit score! Will not be using this card anymore!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

The Children's Place Credit Card