Target REDcard™ Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.8 out of 5 stars
18 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

4 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jan 19, 2018
Great card!
cwinters90 Cardholder

I started out with a $300 limit on this card 13 months ago. Both CK scores were around 600 when I applied. My balance was frequently increased by a sizable amount - my current limit is $2,400! A tip I heard for this card, which has paid off immensely I believe, is to frequently update your income - even if it hasn’t changed. I did this faithfully every 3 months and nearly every time I did, the next billing statement reflected a higher limit. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Oct 14, 2018
Terrible Service, OLAM is deplorable
bbooth1986 Cardholder

Calling in to their service number is a joke, you CANNOT just talk to a person. Their online account manager is a terribly designed website, and they dont even offer a live chat feature, so I have to call in about most things. Super dumb!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Nov 27, 2018
Interest rate is highway robbery.
GroovyJan Cardholder

I opened this card years ago when I needed to build credit in my own name. It's easy to apply for and easy to get. The 5% discount is nice, but the 24% interest rate makes the 5% worthless unless you are able to pay off your balance every month. After a year or two, I was offered to switch the Target Red Card to a regular credit card (still owned by Target) that could be used anywhere with a $10K limit. I needed to make a couple large, unavoidable purchases. No matter how many times I called or wrote. No matter how good my credit and repayment history was, they would NOT reduce that interest rate. Completely shameful. I finally applied for and received a different card and moved the balance to that card with no interest for a year. I paid off what would have taken at least five years with the Target card in 18 months with the new one. Don't accept this card unless you really need to build your credit! You will NOT save any money at Target.

more ...
Oct 14, 2018
Terrible Service, OLAM is deplorable
bbooth1986 Cardholder

Calling in to their service number is a joke, you CANNOT just talk to a person. Their online account manager is a terribly designed website, and they dont even offer a live chat feature, so I have to call in about most things. Super dumb!

more ...
Oct 03, 2018
Bad for your credit score.
Amandk Cardholder

The card is from TD bank. They are terrible. I just checked my credit score, it came down because my balance went up from $0 to $3. This is not the first time this has happened. At this point, I am thinking of cutting it up and forget about. Compared to my other Bank of America card, this is terrible. 

more ...
Sep 15, 2018
Excellent Approvals
IYTM Cardholder

Time to cut the debit target and add the NEW RED card to your wallet because i own it. 

more ...
May 23, 2018
Nice to have
Statum94 Cardholder

I started out with a $300 CL. I got this card to help my credit, but it has still not shown up on my credit report.

more ...
May 17, 2018
It is a convenient card to have
PSForsy Cardholder

It does reflect on Credit score HOWEVER if you use it only use 3% of credit cuz it takes FOREVER for it to update after payment is made and it pulls ur Credit score down.

more ...
Mar 09, 2018
Game changer
Anonymous Cardholder

Didn’t expect to get approved with my recent luck regarding credit but here I am on my way to discounts at my favorite store! 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Mar 14, 2018

Would you mind sharing what your credit score was at the time of application and what limit you were approved for?

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations
 

Target REDcard™