Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Sam's Club® Consumer Credit Card

Find Out More

Ratings by Category

Application Process
Customer Service
Cardholder Ratings
2 5

Most Helpful Positive Review

Oct 06, 2011
Anonymous Cardholder

I was shopping at Sam's one day, paying for my purchase and the cashier said i was approved for a Sam's Club credit card and if i accepted i would receive $25 off on my purchase!  I accepted started out with $300 limit and they have now changed my limit to $1100 great for re-building and it's accepted at wal-mart also!  Online access, i really like it!

more ...
 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 01, 2015
Good way to ruin your credit!!
Anonymous Cardholder

I applied for this card in December to use for purchaes for my business. This card has been a NIGHTMARE!!!! payments don't get credited correctly, the user portal is the WORST I have ever seen, payments made in the store dont get credited correctly and customer service is horrendous!!! I am posting this under the Consumer complaints as when I call the business side they tell me it is a personal card. The funny thing is that when I call the consumer side they tell me it is a business card. Another BIG negative is they refuse to sync with any accounting software so every transaction has to be entered by hand. Oh, I almost forgot they assign you some cryptic user ID (you can't pick something you can remember) and the site is constantly locking us out on the password even though it is entered correctly. We are currently fighting over a late payment that was made in the store and not credited to the account. The card is mismanaged by Synchrony Bank so beware of any of their cards.

more ...
 

Reviews (112)

Add Review
Sep 19, 2016
Worst customer service
Anonymous Cardholder

When I applied online it says that if I made the first purchase of over $100 the same day, I'd get $40 back. Which they never told me it had to be in club purchase. How am I supposed to know that I applied for a credit card online and have to go in the store the same day to make that purchse, if they didn't put that on the website. Then I called them, and credit card said they couldn't do anything because it's the website's fault. Then I called Sam's Club, they said they don't have enough information to see if I'd get the promotion. I feel that that was a fraud honestly.

more ...
Aug 27, 2016
Applied in store...
steelergurl1 Cardholder

Applied in store in Feb went in to get a new membership and saw a sign for $40 off purchase if approved... Was approved for $500 just got a cli this month for an additional $500. I set up bill pay through my personal bank but I do pay in store sometimes as it is right up the street from my house. You must know your balance if paying in store as they only take the payment they have no way of knowing your info with Synchrony. My payments do post same day when I pay in store.

more ...
Aug 24, 2016
WEB PORTAL AND PAYMENTS FAIL!!!
topshelfproducts Cardholder

Absolute garbage, the card works at sams club as it should, but when you make a payment in the store, they can't tell you what you owe, your balance, when it is due etc.  Nothing, they just take the payment blindly.  On top of that when you log into the samsclub card portal you can only see payments made online, YOU CANNOT SEE A PAYMENT MADE IN STORE!!!  Are you kidding me!  No rolling balance to see what is + or - and no way to know if your payments are actually getting applied unless you keep diligent books!  You would think a company as large as Sams Club would at least have it together when it comes to their own offerings of credit and payments.  Avoid at all cost, get the membership and pay cash or use another credit card at check out, not worth the headache!

more ...
Aug 23, 2016
Sam'sClubSynchronyMastCardUntrustworthy
Anonymous Cardholder

Sam's Club (Synchrony Master Card / Discover Card) untrustworthy. They both have the same problems that

everyone has complained about.  We received a call from Synchrony Visa Card saying that someone used our card 4

States away from us 3 days ago. My question is why couldn’t they have caught this the same day? I’ll tell you why,

because it is the mistake of (SYNCHRONY BANK) To make it worse they will not talk with the wife but only the

Husband. If you will notice all of our stories are similar. They are getting our accounts mixed up with

another customer & denying all the mistakes that they make.  Your local Banks earn you cash rewards as well.

We are closing our Sam's Club Synchrony Card just as we did our Sam's Club Discover. This is a very good way to

destroy your own credit. In spite of it all I must say that I do enjoy shopping at SAM'S CLUB

more ...
Aug 15, 2016
Worst card ever
Anonymous Cardholder

I applied for the card and then moved to a different state. I wanted to change the address online but I was asked to verify a phone number which I disconnected many years before. So I called the costumer service to change the address and update my information. They asked security question and changed it. The very next day, they blocked my account. I called again and this time, they asked for a driver's liscence AND a utility bill before they can make a decision to weather keep my account or not!! I told them that I just moved and provided with all of my personal information inluding birthday, last 4 digit of my ssn, and cell phone number. But no, they wouldn't do anything until I comply. So I ask them to just close my account for ever. 

more ...
Aug 03, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

Have had this card for years and have never had any problems with it. 

more ...
Aug 02, 2016
Decent Initial Credit Line

APPICATION PROCESS WAS VERY FAST, I THOUGHT I WAS GOING TO GET AN INITIAL CREDIT LINE OF $200 BUT NO I GOT $837 I THOUGHT IT WAS PRETTY SWEET!!!

more ...
Jul 30, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

I have plenty of credit with my synchrony bank/Sam's Club Master Card.  I just experience embarrassment.  The card was declined twice.  It turns out that they were just checking to see if the card was hacked.  Well, at the time I thought and so did the merchant think that I had a credit problem.  I held up the line for nothing.   I had to take time stratening this out.  The first person was extremely difficult.  His name was Wilson.  His accent was extremely hard to understand.  Even the supervisor was hard to understand.  I believe in equal opportunately but your should hire people that are easily understandable and use courtesy.

more ...
Jul 29, 2016
This card is HORRIBLE!!!!!!!!
Jen104 Cardholder

I have been a valued customer for over 2 years & have never been late on payments. In fact, I always pay more than the minimum & I pay it early. However, they have charged me a late fee twice because they said I paid a day too early. I paid June's bill on May 31st. & paid July's bill on July 1st. I'm trying to purchase a home and cannot have any late payments. I've never heard of being punished for paying your bill early. No one resolved my problem. In fact, I asked for the contact for a manager or higher executive & they gave me the wrong #. As soon as I get my home, I'm canceling my card. I HATE Sam's Synchrony Bank! PLEASE STAY AWAY from them.They will ruin you!

more ...
Jul 22, 2016
Very low credit limits
Anonymous

I have the Sams club card and had it for 3 years with credit limit of $9000.00. Today I applied for the SAMs MasterCard because of the 5% cash back on gas, because I travel a lot. I was disappointed with credit limit I was given, $1800.00. I called the issuer of the card and they went through the process to incrise my limit but came back not approved for increase.  I should have the MasterCard in 7-10 days. 

more ...
Jul 29, 2016

Give it a couple of months you might get an increase.

 
Jul 29, 2016

Did you call the "credit solutions" or just regular CSRs?

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

Rate this card overall

Please select a rating

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Sam's Club® Consumer Credit Card