Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Sam's Club® Consumer Credit Card

Find Out More

Ratings by Category

Application Process
Customer Service
Cardholder Ratings
2 5

Most Helpful Positive Review

Oct 06, 2011
Anonymous Cardholder

I was shopping at Sam's one day, paying for my purchase and the cashier said i was approved for a Sam's Club credit card and if i accepted i would receive $25 off on my purchase!  I accepted started out with $300 limit and they have now changed my limit to $1100 great for re-building and it's accepted at wal-mart also!  Online access, i really like it!

more ...
 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 01, 2015
Good way to ruin your credit!!
Anonymous Cardholder

I applied for this card in December to use for purchaes for my business. This card has been a NIGHTMARE!!!! payments don't get credited correctly, the user portal is the WORST I have ever seen, payments made in the store dont get credited correctly and customer service is horrendous!!! I am posting this under the Consumer complaints as when I call the business side they tell me it is a personal card. The funny thing is that when I call the consumer side they tell me it is a business card. Another BIG negative is they refuse to sync with any accounting software so every transaction has to be entered by hand. Oh, I almost forgot they assign you some cryptic user ID (you can't pick something you can remember) and the site is constantly locking us out on the password even though it is entered correctly. We are currently fighting over a late payment that was made in the store and not credited to the account. The card is mismanaged by Synchrony Bank so beware of any of their cards.

more ...
 

Reviews (96)

Add Review
May 07, 2016
Credit Destroyer

They run checks on your credit even after you get their card and pay your bill on time every month. I've had the card for about 5 years and had built up to a credit limit of 2,000. My son's in the Army so we were together on a cell phone account for him. He changed cell phone companies and there was a mix-up on payment of the actual phone. In April that issue hit my credit. I quickly resolved the problem. In March I had used another charge card to pay for auto repair $600. Sams ran their check, saw the charge card usage and the phone item.  They lowered my credit limit to $25 above my balance dropping my credit score by 82 points. I'm in the process of purchasing a home.  Now i can't.  I called just asking them to raise the limit back up and explained that the phone had been paid. I was told that my score would have to go back up first (that takes 30 to 90 days). After that I could ask for an increase which would take another 30 to 90 days to hit my credit report.  I'm sunk now for at least 2 months. I was to close this month because I'm leasing the home that I'm buying and that was the agreement with the owner. 

So even though I pay this card on time, was nowhere near my limit, they have stopped me from purchasing my home and I may loose it all together.  Just because of lowering my limit over honest mistakes.

more ...
May 05, 2016
never paid late, ruined my credit
Anonymous Cardholder

Never paid late, and always more than the minimum, but they still managed to ruin my credit. After my card was misplaced, I called for a replacement--sounds harmless. They closed my entire account and opened a brand new account. Now both are listed as balances owed and they will not remove them. Instead I was instructed to contact all 3 credit reporting agencies because they did not know how to remove my extra account. On top of that, I'm going on week 11 with no replacement card because they have to mail me a special phone number to call in 2 weeks, then I can call to receive a card another 2 weeks after. For some reason they also cannot issue a replacement in person. The most incompetent company I've ever had to work with. Ruined me, not worth it. Please do yourself a favor and stay away. Lastly, they will not tell me my balance owed so I'm assuming it will be ruining my credit further. I'm forced to blindly pay different amounts. This is horrible that the customer service reps cannot help me, I've called 2x a week the last 11 weeks and keep getting the run around.

more ...
May 05, 2016
memanaog Cardholder

This company ruined my credit. I paid on time each month, they ended up closing me entire account & opening an entirely new account because of a lost card. I'm going on week 12, no replacement card and credit score is down because of their actions. Apparently they need to MAIL ME A PHONE NUMBER. 

more ...
May 05, 2016
memanaog Cardholder

Please stay away from this card and company. My credit was good before this company, now they have ruined me. Application was easy but I've regretted it ever since. My daughter was an authorized user on this account and lost her card. They cancelled both our cards and Apparently you can't get a replacement card in person. Long story short, they ended up closing my entire account and REOPENING a new one!!!! My credit score has dropped tremendously. All we needed was 1 replacement card and we still haven't got any!! I get a different answer that it's been mailed with each person that I speak with. It's going on week 11 and apparently they have to mail me a phone number to call in another 2 weeks, which I'm supposed to call and then REQUEST a card to get 2 weeks after. They have blocked me out of my account so I can't even pay or see if my account is up to date or what my balance is. They are ruining me and my credit. I'm assuming my account is probably delinquent now and going to drop my credit score more. I paid each month and was never late. They are in the business of ruining credit. Please please please do yourself a favor and stay away. I wish I would have read reviews before applying.

more ...
May 03, 2016
Disappointng
Anonymous Cardholder

Went to use to make a purchase of a new dishwasher and refrigerator. My thinking good way to earn cash back. When my card was used I was denied. My purchase was under $2,000 and my limit is $12,000 and my current balance is maybe $200 on the card which I pay each billing cycle in full. My credit limit is 6x's this amount and I can't use the card?? Why give me a card that I cannot use? I have no use for this - first time I go to use it on a big purchase and they reject it. Sorry made the purchase anyway and looking for a company that will stand behind their word. Not worth the plastic its printed on.

more ...
Apr 21, 2016
NIGHTMARE!!!! DO NOT GET!
Anonymous Cardholder

1. Cash back is a lie! It is never right and they only issues checks in February. Then you have to take the check into a Sams to cash it. Bull. Who has time for that. 

2. If you want a bill sent to your email... Better make sure you go on their website and check the right box. I was receiving marketing emails but not my bill ... When I called they told me that is a different box. If you can send me marketing emails, you can send me my bill. Bull. 

The card is a nightmare. Worse card ever!!!

more ...
Apr 19, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

Worst card ever! My card got hacked and it was sent to fraud. I got a letter from fraud saying it was taking care of. They closed the card and sent a new one. I didn't open it. I cut it up. Two months later I get a bill for the same fraud charge on the new card. When I called I was told they would send it back to fraud. Today, I get a bill with a late fee and when I called, I talked to 5 different people and not one person could tell me how a charge got transferred to an unactivated card. A charge that I was told was "taking care of" I was also told I had to pay the $425 because it says balance transfer. Worst Credit card ever! Customer Service has no clue what they are doing

more ...
Apr 04, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

Very high risk of identity theft. Unauthorized purchases happened.

more ...
Apr 02, 2016
Excellent Card with great Benefits!
Anonymous Cardholder

After reading the negative reviews, I couldnt believe it was about Sams Club.  Easy credit application while I was joining Sam Club...alot of perks when joining!  I have used my card for Travel, and the membership services was able to book a  Las Vegas hotel saving me 200.00 then if I booked the same room myself.  The rewards for gas, restaurants, pharmacy discounts, financing,  quick cash. etc are fantastic.  The card grows very quickly as well.   Customer Service has been stellar as well EVERY time that I have called.  I have many many cards and by far Sams Club MasterCard is one of my favorites that gets monthly use!  

more ...
Apr 02, 2016
Just a rewards card. Other feature SUCKS
Anonymous Cardholder

I had bought a Mattress in a store, which was on 0% APR promotion in February at Sams club. I paid-off the balance except for the mattress cost. Now I received the next statement and see that there is a 25$ interest charge on my account for not paying full amount. When I called the customer service, they say the promotion was not applied in the club, but I'm pretty sure that the promotion was scanned (right in front of my eyes in the club). So something in the system didn't work properly and didn't apply the promotion. Now the customer service said they can apply the promotion for the mattress, but later mentioned I wouldn't get all the credit back as the payment had to be allocated to regular purchase or the promotional purchase. NO ONE REALLY EXPLAINED THIS CONDITION before. This is all hidden terms and condition. After this I asked how to allocate the payments for future, and they say I will have to call the customer service to allocate my monthly payments to regular purchases. This is such as waste of time. There is nothing that can be done Online it-seems (I prefer online payments to save time). In this modern world when every one is moving to ONLINE system, Sam's club is moving back to AGE-OLD Call customer service to get stuff done.

Even now my previous statement hasn't been allocated to regular purchases yet and the interest charge still exist in my account and they say it takes 1-2 billing cycle to apply promotion. This is just a SCAM promotion. I used the 0% APR for a reason not to pay for the purchase for 18 months. Such a waste. Also to mention the onlline portal is really feels OUTDATED for mobile and computer. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

Rate this card overall

Please select a rating

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Company Overview

Sam's Club® Consumer Credit Card, offered through GE Money Bank, helps Sam’s Club® customers finance purchases through credit. Online account management is available and allows cardholders to service their account online to pay bills, request a credit line increase, update account information, view recent activity, and receive special offers.

Sam’s Club® is a chain of membership-only retail warehouse clubs and a division of Wal-Mart Stores, Inc. since 1969. Established in 1983, the first Sam’s Club® was opened in Midwest City, Oklahoma, and has expanded today to nearly 600 locations to serve more than 47 million members throughout the United States as well as internationally in Brazil, China, Mexico, and Puerto Rico.

Sam's Club® Consumer Credit Card

96 Reviews