Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Sam's Club® Consumer Credit Card

Find Out More

Ratings by Category

Application Process
Customer Service
Cardholder Ratings
2.2692 5

Most Helpful Positive Review

Oct 06, 2011
Anonymous Cardholder

I was shopping at Sam's one day, paying for my purchase and the cashier said i was approved for a Sam's Club credit card and if i accepted i would receive $25 off on my purchase!  I accepted started out with $300 limit and they have now changed my limit to $1100 great for re-building and it's accepted at wal-mart also!  Online access, i really like it!

more ...
 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 01, 2015
Good way to ruin your credit!!
Anonymous Cardholder

I applied for this card in December to use for purchaes for my business. This card has been a NIGHTMARE!!!! payments don't get credited correctly, the user portal is the WORST I have ever seen, payments made in the store dont get credited correctly and customer service is horrendous!!! I am posting this under the Consumer complaints as when I call the business side they tell me it is a personal card. The funny thing is that when I call the consumer side they tell me it is a business card. Another BIG negative is they refuse to sync with any accounting software so every transaction has to be entered by hand. Oh, I almost forgot they assign you some cryptic user ID (you can't pick something you can remember) and the site is constantly locking us out on the password even though it is entered correctly. We are currently fighting over a late payment that was made in the store and not credited to the account. The card is mismanaged by Synchrony Bank so beware of any of their cards.

more ...
 

Reviews (78)

Add Review
Feb 11, 2016
odd limit of $837??
Anonymous Cardholder

I have had this card for 4 months with a odd limit of $837. I have a walmart card with a $5,000 credit limit. I called and asked why the limit is so low and why is it an odd amount. The customer service lady was very rude about it. I make $90k a year and have a high score of 760 and low of 731. my debt to cli is only 8%. By far the lowest cl card i have, besides my $5k walmart card. Even if i wanted to purchase something on this card, I couldn't buy much but maybe groceries. Horrible card, no perks and horrible customer service.

more ...
Jan 13, 2016
Good Cashback Rewards, That's it
Anonymous Cardholder

$10 for every $500 spent at the club and 5% back on gas there as well, very nice.  However, my score is over 800 and the rate on this card is over 24%, I think people that get payday loans have better rates than that!!!  If you like to carry balances, this is not the card for you!!!

more ...
Jan 11, 2016
Master card keeps blocking my purchases
Anonymous Cardholder

Very frequently Sams master card declines my purchases.  My on line pharmacy is their main target and now while on vacation, declined three times.  This happens several times a month.  It is embarassing, and inconvenient.  I carry a couple of Visa cards to bail me out of awkward situations.  I am going to see what I can do to get SAMs to get another membership card.  I any event, I can't use the current one anymore.  It simply doesn't work.

more ...
Jan 05, 2016
Poor Service; Poor Web Portal;
ColdFultonBSD Cardholder

The annual cash kickback is the only reason to have this card. We have frequent holds put on the card due fraud concerns (which were valid transactions). Only way to clear is to call in; here is the fraud number (888.345.0518); the primary number big waste of time;

Right now, the web portal is running a seven year old version of Sun GlassFish Enterprise Server v2.1.1 (Jan 2009) back when Sun & Java weren't under Oracle. {Why Oracle is running a 7 year old software on there own Oracle iPlanet Web Server farm?} How many critical fixes to Java and Sun GlassFish Enterprise Server since Jan 2009? https://www.cvedetails.com/vulnerability-list/vendor_id-93/product_id-20700/version_id-107433/Oracle-Glassfish-Server-2.1.1.html

more ...
Dec 27, 2015
Worst card in my wallet
adamlwvdc36 Cardholder

I have had this card for over a year now.  I was approved for 5000.  I carried a balance for a while and then (within the last month) paid the entire balance off.  How was I rewarded? They reduced my limit down to 250!  They say that there is new information on my credit report... which is total crap.  I have 0 negative remarks, my credit utilization obviously went down,  and I think they just want chumps to rack up debt and pay the minimum payment every month so they could keep raping you for the interest.  I am keeping the card open however just so I can have one more account active... other than that, I wont use this card again.  Biggest let down ever.

more ...
Dec 23, 2015
Wow! Read all reviews
Anonymous

Most likely will not or get near this credit card after reading all reviews seems that this is a really bad cc an can ruin your credit. Thanks everyone for reviews

more ...
Dec 21, 2015
Steer clear of Synchrony Bank
jtsomers Cardholder

I am a long time and loyal Sam's customer, and agreed to apply for the the Sam's Club Master Card, issued by Synchrony Bank.  I've had the card for about a year with a few ongoing issues, but today is the final straw.  After a 20 mile drive to the store, I learn the account was cancelled due to some security breach at a retailer that I used.  They said they mailed me a new card, but I didn't receive it, and they did not send any further notification.  So, after a frustrating, no-help argument with the Synchrony Bank rep, I told her to cancel my account immediately, and I will notify Sam's Headquarters.  The rep would not give me her name, location or even the headquarters address of Synchrony Bank, only to say it was in Florida, as if she had something to hide.  This is a huge red flag, and I plan to steer clear of Synchrony Bank.  

more ...
Dec 19, 2015
Cannot access recent activity online
Anonymous Cardholder

When you go to the online credit card you cannot see recent activity and if you call for help you receive a customer service person who likes to argue with you and then when you ask for the supervisor, 1 to 2 minutes and I have waited now over five minutes and still no supervisor. This happened last week too and then after 20 minutes they just hung up on me.

more ...
Dec 11, 2015
Bobinmiss Cardholder

In order to get the lower interest rate you must have a credit score of 840. Mine is 812 so I get the 22.9 interest rate. That's a little crazy!

more ...
Dec 03, 2015
Sam's Club reduced me from $300 to $100!
Anonymous Cardholder

Be careful what you ask for, you may not get anything from them usable.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

Rate this card overall

Please select a rating

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Company Overview

Sam's Club® Consumer Credit Card, offered through GE Money Bank, helps Sam’s Club® customers finance purchases through credit. Online account management is available and allows cardholders to service their account online to pay bills, request a credit line increase, update account information, view recent activity, and receive special offers.

Sam’s Club® is a chain of membership-only retail warehouse clubs and a division of Wal-Mart Stores, Inc. since 1969. Established in 1983, the first Sam’s Club® was opened in Midwest City, Oklahoma, and has expanded today to nearly 600 locations to serve more than 47 million members throughout the United States as well as internationally in Brazil, China, Mexico, and Puerto Rico.

Sam's Club® Consumer Credit Card

78 Reviews