Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Sam's Club® Consumer Credit Card

Approval Odds
Application Process
Customer Service
2.4 5
Write a Review

About Credit Karma

Thinking about applying? Credit Karma can estimate your Approval Odds based on your credit profile. Get your information for free and get started.
  • Credit Scores
  • Credit Reports
  • Personalized Offers

Most Helpful Positive Review

Nov 18, 2012

Helpful to 3 out of 3 people

Already have a Wal-Mart store card for like a month, and went to Sam's Club(11-18-2012) today to buy few items and went to pay at register and gave them my membership card and before I could pay and receipt printed out saying I was pre-approved for the Sam's store card for $500! Man it felt good getting approved without even applying! CK 610

Read More

youngpzo's review was:    

 

Most Helpful Critical Review

Aug 12, 2014

They will pull a fast one on you
Helpful to 3 out of 3 people

I applied for the Sam's Club Mastercard. When applying no where did it state that if i wasn't approved i would get this store credit card, which by the way has no cash back no rewards whatsoever and you can only use it in store. I have a Walmart store card and i love it for the 15 cents off a gallon i received so no i didn't want another store card when i can use my walmart in store. I wanted the mastercard for the cash back rewards when i spend money. So when i didn't receive a card a few weeks later i call and am told I am stuck with store credit even though i was never informed i would be. I told her cancel it i would rather have no card then a card i wont use.

Read More
 

Reviews (50)

Top Contributor
15 Contributions
42 People Helped

Most Helpful Positive Review

Helpful to 3 out of 3 people

Already have a Wal-Mart store card for like a month, and went to Sam's Club(11-18-2012) today to buy few items and went to pay at register and gave them my membership card and before I could pay and receipt printed out saying I was pre-approved for the Sam's store card for $500! Man it felt good getting approved without even applying! CK 610

Most Helpful Negative Review

They will pull a fast one on you

Helpful to 3 out of 3 people

I applied for the Sam's Club Mastercard. When applying no where did it state that if i wasn't approved i would get this store credit card, which by the way has no cash back no rewards whatsoever and you can only use it in store. I have a Walmart store card and i love it for the 15 cents off a gallon i received so no i didn't want another store card when i can use my walmart in store. I wanted the mastercard for the cash back rewards when i spend money. So when i didn't receive a card a few weeks later i call and am told I am stuck with store credit even though i was never informed i would be. I told her cancel it i would rather have no card then a card i wont use.

Mar 23, 2015

Poorly trained agents and worst policy

If you want to ruin your credit, go ahead and apply for this card. I applied the card in Sam's a couple of years ago. A service agent helped me with the application, and used to wrong address on the card. The statement (I don't use the card, so only contained membership fee) had been mailed to the wrong address until two months later, they called me. I paid off the fees, and they told me they wouldn't report it to the credit bureaus, since it was their fault. Guess what? It showed up on my credit report! It took me quite a while to get it off my reports. And then today, they cancelled my account without notifying! It was all because I have not been using the card in the past 12 months. They just cancelled it! And I can't just reactivate it, I must go apply for it again! Like hell I will, but thanks for numerous attempts of ruining my credit!

Read More

NoSams's review was:    

 
Write A Reply |

Mar 20, 2015

Worst Card, Rewards and Service!

I have had my account with Sam's club for a couple of years now. The credit card through Symphony bank, initially a Discover card now MasterCard, has never issued any rewards to me. Each time I called to find out about the rewards the story changed or they pushed the date out or just outright lied about sending the check. I just got off the phone with them and was told it was sent Feb 21. I asked to where they sent the check and Mike (Employee ID: 469952) stated it was sent to the address I gave them when I gave him in the beginning of my conversation. I stated I never gave an address, he verified my identity by asking me to verify the phone number associated with the account. He then asked what address I live at. I stated I would like to know where the check was sent. He stated he could not tell me due to security restrictions. I stated that I wanted to speak with his supervisor. I was transferred to "James" (supposed Employee ID: 1265) this was a lie and I knew it. James got on the line and I explained the situation and asked where the check was sent. James refused to tell me where the check was sent due to "security" even after I have verified my identity. I asked them to stop payment on this check that was sent and send one with a tracking number to the address on file, which should have been no issue. I was told they would not issue another check, and that they could only credit it back to my account and I would have to wait another year before receiving my rewards. I am now starting a better business report and hope that Sam's will terminate this contract. If you have experienced this type of occurrence please contact me as I will also be attempting to initiate a class action suit. Contact me at fatheradvocate@aol.com. Please pass this post to all you know at banking with this Symphony Bank or with accounts at Sam’s club.

Read More

abarnettceo's review was:    

 
Write A Reply |

Mar 17, 2015

Rewards program a joke

No way to redeem your rewards- you have to wait until Feb of every year before they mail out your reward check. I spent over an hour with their online rep trying to get a straight answer regarding their redemption policies. I have plenty of ohter credit cards that i can log in online and request a check to be mailed out. I use my CC for all business travel and spend thousands of dollars a month. I will go back to using my other credit cards for these purchases.

Read More
  Write A Reply |

Mar 09, 2015

Convenient, easy to use card.
Helpful to 0 out of 1 people

I had my Sams M/C card for 3 months now.  Got instant approval of 3.5k & they just increased it to 5k.  I pay online & check in a couple of days to  see if it has been processed.  No problems as of yet.  Very easy to shop & use just one card for it all.  Have been happy with this card.  I do pay as soon as the purchase hits my bill.

Read More

Floridabiker777's review was:    

 
Write A Reply |

Mar 01, 2015

Good way to ruin your credit!!
Helpful to 2 out of 2 people

I applied for this card in December to use for purchaes for my business. This card has been a NIGHTMARE!!!! payments don't get credited correctly, the user portal is the WORST I have ever seen, payments made in the store dont get credited correctly and customer service is horrendous!!! I am posting this under the Consumer complaints as when I call the business side they tell me it is a personal card. The funny thing is that when I call the consumer side they tell me it is a business card. Another BIG negative is they refuse to sync with any accounting software so every transaction has to be entered by hand. Oh, I almost forgot they assign you some cryptic user ID (you can't pick something you can remember) and the site is constantly locking us out on the password even though it is entered correctly. We are currently fighting over a late payment that was made in the store and not credited to the account. The card is mismanaged by Synchrony Bank so beware of any of their cards.

Read More
  Write A Reply |

Feb 25, 2015

Poor. difficult to get statement info
Helpful to 1 out of 1 people

Statements cannot be viewed on line they must be mailed.  Online does not work with Chrome.  customer service outsourced to people with attitudes  I like Sam's club but not their choise of sams club card

Read More
  Write A Reply |

Feb 07, 2015

Beware of Trick in Application Process
Helpful to 1 out of 1 people

Like others, I also have a 700+ score. I applied for the mastercard with the 5-3-1 cash rewards program. After applying, I was very disappointed to learn they had only issued me a store credit card that could only be used in the store. The language used does not easily tell you that if you are denied for one card, you will be stuck with the other. Even after receiving the email stating you have been approved for a card, pay close attention to which card because it still was not readily apparent. After calling, their customer service told me that I was not approved for the mastercard but that I could apply again. I told them to cancel the store credit card and I reapplied and this time I was approved for the mastercard.

Read More
  Write A Reply |

Feb 03, 2015

BEWARE!

I applied for the Card for the Cash Back Perks. I went into Sams club to apply specifically for the Sams Mastercard. I emplyee tried to sign me up multiple times and said I was not approved for the master card. From there they sent me to customer service where she then signed me up for the card. Come to find out she signed me up for the Store card with NO BENEFITS for a $3000 limit, HA!. I was furious, I had not given them permission to do so. I fought with phone customer service to have the card taken off of my credit and to close the account. I had them re-run my info for the master card and I was approved for $12,000 limit. Find it kind of funny I was orginally declined for the Master card but then I was approved for $12,000. I have perfect credit!  

A month later I needed to update my name on the credit card, It will take 7-10 business days to get the card. What kind of BS is this. Chase can have a card out to me next day. WHAT THE HELL IS WRONG WITH SYNCHRONY BANK??? The customer service was rude and when I spoke to a supervisor she was just as rude. I have had nothing but problems with the customerservice since I opened this card. I wish I would have read the reviews before I opened a Card with Sams

Read More
  Write A Reply |

Feb 03, 2015

Worst credit card policy of any CC
Helpful to 1 out of 1 people

So, I always pay any balance in full upon receipt of my statement. A statement failed to arrrive and I was late by ONE DAY. How does Synchrony Bank handle it? Easy! Synchrony Bank puts a hold on the MC! Really? Is this the best way to treat your costumers? The CSR on the phone was polite with Synchrony Bank's scripted apology, "As a courtesy we've waived the late fee; however, your card will remain deactivated until we process the electronic payment."

Please, if you must shop at Sam's, do so with a MC from a reputable issuer versus Synchrony Bank - save your credit score from the carelessness of Synchrony Bank.

Synchrony Bank is a Terrible, Terrible, Terrible institution...

Read More
  Write A Reply |

Feb 02, 2015

Helpful to 1 out of 1 people

The service I recieved when using the sams club master card was so poor, that I will not be going to Sams Club anymore. 

Read More
  Write A Reply |

Add Your Review Of Sam's Club® Consumer Credit Card

Rate this product

Rate your application experience (Optional)

Application Process

Customer Service

What is your experience with this product?

I Have It

I Used To Have It

I Applied For It

Write your review:

Profile Image
Anonymous

Company Overview

Sam's Club® Consumer Credit Card, offered through GE Money Bank, helps Sam’s Club® customers finance purchases through credit. Online account management is available and allows cardholders to service their account online to pay bills, request a credit line increase, update account information, view recent activity, and receive special offers.

Sam’s Club® is a chain of membership-only retail warehouse clubs and a division of Wal-Mart Stores, Inc. since 1969. Established in 1983, the first Sam’s Club® was opened in Midwest City, Oklahoma, and has expanded today to nearly 600 locations to serve more than 47 million members throughout the United States as well as internationally in Brazil, China, Mexico, and Puerto Rico.

Approval Odds

Sam's Club® Consumer Credit Card

Search All Cards