Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Sam's Club® Consumer Credit Card

Approval Odds
Application Process
Customer Service
2.4 5
Write a Review

About Credit Karma

Thinking about applying? Credit Karma can estimate your Approval Odds based on your credit profile. Get your information for free and get started.
  • Credit Scores
  • Credit Reports
  • Personalized Offers

Most Helpful Positive Review

Dec 16, 2012

Great Credit increase
Helpful to 4 out of 4 people

went into sams club store just to enroll in store and they told me that i was pre-approved for there credit card with limit of 300. so i went for it since  i want to rebulit credit ( i had a car repo 6months earlier before all this) so i didnt have anything to lose. i was waiting  for a lady to tell i was denied. I Was very surprised when she told that i was approve for 500 not for the  300 that she had told me earlier. spent about 300 same day paid it off in full when i got bill got a 200 raise first month and 300 third month.

Read More
 

Most Helpful Critical Review

Aug 12, 2014

They will pull a fast one on you
Helpful to 3 out of 3 people

I applied for the Sam's Club Mastercard. When applying no where did it state that if i wasn't approved i would get this store credit card, which by the way has no cash back no rewards whatsoever and you can only use it in store. I have a Walmart store card and i love it for the 15 cents off a gallon i received so no i didn't want another store card when i can use my walmart in store. I wanted the mastercard for the cash back rewards when i spend money. So when i didn't receive a card a few weeks later i call and am told I am stuck with store credit even though i was never informed i would be. I told her cancel it i would rather have no card then a card i wont use.

Read More
 

Reviews (46)

Mar 01, 2015

Good way to ruin your credit!!

I applied for this card in December to use for purchaes for my business. This card has been a NIGHTMARE!!!! payments don't get credited correctly, the user portal is the WORST I have ever seen, payments made in the store dont get credited correctly and customer service is horrendous!!! I am posting this under the Consumer complaints as when I call the business side they tell me it is a personal card. The funny thing is that when I call the consumer side they tell me it is a business card. Another BIG negative is they refuse to sync with any accounting software so every transaction has to be entered by hand. Oh, I almost forgot they assign you some cryptic user ID (you can't pick something you can remember) and the site is constantly locking us out on the password even though it is entered correctly. We are currently fighting over a late payment that was made in the store and not credited to the account. The card is mismanaged by Synchrony Bank so beware of any of their cards.

Read More
  Write A Reply |

Feb 25, 2015

Poor. difficult to get statement info

Statements cannot be viewed on line they must be mailed.  Online does not work with Chrome.  customer service outsourced to people with attitudes  I like Sam's club but not their choise of sams club card

Read More
  Write A Reply |

Feb 07, 2015

Beware of Trick in Application Process

Like others, I also have a 700+ score. I applied for the mastercard with the 5-3-1 cash rewards program. After applying, I was very disappointed to learn they had only issued me a store credit card that could only be used in the store. The language used does not easily tell you that if you are denied for one card, you will be stuck with the other. Even after receiving the email stating you have been approved for a card, pay close attention to which card because it still was not readily apparent. After calling, their customer service told me that I was not approved for the mastercard but that I could apply again. I told them to cancel the store credit card and I reapplied and this time I was approved for the mastercard.

Read More
  Write A Reply |

Feb 03, 2015

BEWARE!

I applied for the Card for the Cash Back Perks. I went into Sams club to apply specifically for the Sams Mastercard. I emplyee tried to sign me up multiple times and said I was not approved for the master card. From there they sent me to customer service where she then signed me up for the card. Come to find out she signed me up for the Store card with NO BENEFITS for a $3000 limit, HA!. I was furious, I had not given them permission to do so. I fought with phone customer service to have the card taken off of my credit and to close the account. I had them re-run my info for the master card and I was approved for $12,000 limit. Find it kind of funny I was orginally declined for the Master card but then I was approved for $12,000. I have perfect credit!  

A month later I needed to update my name on the credit card, It will take 7-10 business days to get the card. What kind of BS is this. Chase can have a card out to me next day. WHAT THE HELL IS WRONG WITH SYNCHRONY BANK??? The customer service was rude and when I spoke to a supervisor she was just as rude. I have had nothing but problems with the customerservice since I opened this card. I wish I would have read the reviews before I opened a Card with Sams

Read More
  Write A Reply |

Feb 03, 2015

Worst credit card policy of any CC

So, I always pay any balance in full upon receipt of my statement. A statement failed to arrrive and I was late by ONE DAY. How does Synchrony Bank handle it? Easy! Synchrony Bank puts a hold on the MC! Really? Is this the best way to treat your costumers? The CSR on the phone was polite with Synchrony Bank's scripted apology, "As a courtesy we've waived the late fee; however, your card will remain deactivated until we process the electronic payment."

Please, if you must shop at Sam's, do so with a MC from a reputable issuer versus Synchrony Bank - save your credit score from the carelessness of Synchrony Bank.

Synchrony Bank is a Terrible, Terrible, Terrible institution...

Read More
  Write A Reply |

Feb 02, 2015

The service I recieved when using the sams club master card was so poor, that I will not be going to Sams Club anymore. 

Read More
  Write A Reply |

Jan 27, 2015

DONT USE
Helpful to 0 out of 1 people

I have this card and they DO NOT report balances to credit agencies... I have had NO BALANCE for 3 months and they still have hundreds of dollars on the report for credit karma and others....that synbc credit company does NOT report !!!!  

Read More

jdgirl7500's review was:    

 
Write A Reply |

Jan 14, 2015

Worst Credit Card Ever

I have had a credit card for the past 7 years and have used American Express and Visa with great success.  I have never missed a payment and pay in full monthly.  I tried to set this card up for automatic bill pay twice and it didn't work.  The second time they said their records showed I was signed up but they had the wrong bank account.  When I called to pay on the phone they asked for the last 4 of my bank account and I confirmed them and that payment went through just fine.  I'm not sure why it wouldn't work online but did over the phone.  Worst customer service EVER!  When I cancelled the card I asked for my reward points and they gave me a different number to call because they couldn't forward me on to customer service.  Do NOT sign up for this card!

Read More
  Write A Reply |

Jan 03, 2015

Have it Don't use unless need loan

Customer service is terrible confused can not answer questions  put burden on caller  ended have to talk to supervisor  then that is not must better  Hope I never have to use it really don't like Synchrony Bank  wish Sam's would get better bank  to service their MC card also  it is a mess mostly Banks fault

Read More
  Write A Reply |

Dec 21, 2014

I like the card

I have had the card for 1.5 years. The CLIs have been generous, I've gone from $500 to $6,000. The online banking an payments have always worked. I take advantage of their zero percent financing offers quite often. The only gripe I would have is that the customer service is offshore. My AMEX and Discover cards both have US support. I use those cards almost exclusively because of that. I think the support is better and I want to do business with companies that hire Americans. I would recomend the card however, and would do business with Synchrony in the future.

Read More

Justin71's review was:    

 
Write A Reply |

Add Your Review Of Sam's Club® Consumer Credit Card

Rate this product

Rate your application experience (Optional)

Application Process

Customer Service

What is your experience with this product?

I Have It

I Used To Have It

I Applied For It

Write your review:

Profile Image
Anonymous

Company Overview

Sam's Club® Consumer Credit Card, offered through GE Money Bank, helps Sam’s Club® customers finance purchases through credit. Online account management is available and allows cardholders to service their account online to pay bills, request a credit line increase, update account information, view recent activity, and receive special offers.

Sam’s Club® is a chain of membership-only retail warehouse clubs and a division of Wal-Mart Stores, Inc. since 1969. Established in 1983, the first Sam’s Club® was opened in Midwest City, Oklahoma, and has expanded today to nearly 600 locations to serve more than 47 million members throughout the United States as well as internationally in Brazil, China, Mexico, and Puerto Rico.

Approval Odds

Sam's Club® Consumer Credit Card

Search All Cards