Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Sam's Club® Consumer Credit Card

Find Out More

Ratings by Category

Application Process
Customer Service
Cardholder Ratings
2 5

Most Helpful Positive Review

Oct 06, 2011
Anonymous Cardholder

I was shopping at Sam's one day, paying for my purchase and the cashier said i was approved for a Sam's Club credit card and if i accepted i would receive $25 off on my purchase!  I accepted started out with $300 limit and they have now changed my limit to $1100 great for re-building and it's accepted at wal-mart also!  Online access, i really like it!

more ...
 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 01, 2015
Good way to ruin your credit!!
Anonymous Cardholder

I applied for this card in December to use for purchaes for my business. This card has been a NIGHTMARE!!!! payments don't get credited correctly, the user portal is the WORST I have ever seen, payments made in the store dont get credited correctly and customer service is horrendous!!! I am posting this under the Consumer complaints as when I call the business side they tell me it is a personal card. The funny thing is that when I call the consumer side they tell me it is a business card. Another BIG negative is they refuse to sync with any accounting software so every transaction has to be entered by hand. Oh, I almost forgot they assign you some cryptic user ID (you can't pick something you can remember) and the site is constantly locking us out on the password even though it is entered correctly. We are currently fighting over a late payment that was made in the store and not credited to the account. The card is mismanaged by Synchrony Bank so beware of any of their cards.

more ...
 

Reviews (91)

Add Review
Apr 21, 2016
NIGHTMARE!!!! DO NOT GET!
Anonymous Cardholder

1. Cash back is a lie! It is never right and they only issues checks in February. Then you have to take the check into a Sams to cash it. Bull. Who has time for that. 

2. If you want a bill sent to your email... Better make sure you go on their website and check the right box. I was receiving marketing emails but not my bill ... When I called they told me that is a different box. If you can send me marketing emails, you can send me my bill. Bull. 

The card is a nightmare. Worse card ever!!!

more ...
Apr 19, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

Worst card ever! My card got hacked and it was sent to fraud. I got a letter from fraud saying it was taking care of. They closed the card and sent a new one. I didn't open it. I cut it up. Two months later I get a bill for the same fraud charge on the new card. When I called I was told they would send it back to fraud. Today, I get a bill with a late fee and when I called, I talked to 5 different people and not one person could tell me how a charge got transferred to an unactivated card. A charge that I was told was "taking care of" I was also told I had to pay the $425 because it says balance transfer. Worst Credit card ever! Customer Service has no clue what they are doing

more ...
Apr 04, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

Very high risk of identity theft. Unauthorized purchases happened.

more ...
Apr 02, 2016
Excellent Card with great Benefits!
Anonymous Cardholder

After reading the negative reviews, I couldnt believe it was about Sams Club.  Easy credit application while I was joining Sam Club...alot of perks when joining!  I have used my card for Travel, and the membership services was able to book a  Las Vegas hotel saving me 200.00 then if I booked the same room myself.  The rewards for gas, restaurants, pharmacy discounts, financing,  quick cash. etc are fantastic.  The card grows very quickly as well.   Customer Service has been stellar as well EVERY time that I have called.  I have many many cards and by far Sams Club MasterCard is one of my favorites that gets monthly use!  

more ...
Apr 02, 2016
Just a rewards card. Other feature SUCKS
Anonymous Cardholder

I had bought a Mattress in a store, which was on 0% APR promotion in February at Sams club. I paid-off the balance except for the mattress cost. Now I received the next statement and see that there is a 25$ interest charge on my account for not paying full amount. When I called the customer service, they say the promotion was not applied in the club, but I'm pretty sure that the promotion was scanned (right in front of my eyes in the club). So something in the system didn't work properly and didn't apply the promotion. Now the customer service said they can apply the promotion for the mattress, but later mentioned I wouldn't get all the credit back as the payment had to be allocated to regular purchase or the promotional purchase. NO ONE REALLY EXPLAINED THIS CONDITION before. This is all hidden terms and condition. After this I asked how to allocate the payments for future, and they say I will have to call the customer service to allocate my monthly payments to regular purchases. This is such as waste of time. There is nothing that can be done Online it-seems (I prefer online payments to save time). In this modern world when every one is moving to ONLINE system, Sam's club is moving back to AGE-OLD Call customer service to get stuff done.

Even now my previous statement hasn't been allocated to regular purchases yet and the interest charge still exist in my account and they say it takes 1-2 billing cycle to apply promotion. This is just a SCAM promotion. I used the 0% APR for a reason not to pay for the purchase for 18 months. Such a waste. Also to mention the onlline portal is really feels OUTDATED for mobile and computer. 

more ...
Mar 29, 2016
Goods rewards program, Nothing else
Anonymous Cardholder

The customerservice with this card is a the gold standard of terrible.  After evaluating several rewards cards we went with the Sam's club rewards card because it was the slightly better choice over the Amex rewards card, and at the time sam's didn't accept Amex.    

Calling customer service is a terrible experiance, often not helpful with long wait times.  The rewards check is made out to sam's club in the name of the primary card holder.  So the check has to be cashed at a sams club, by the primary card holder only.  

Although the rewards are good the level of inconvenence this card brings makes it marginally worth it.  If you are consider other cards go with them, anything is better than dealing with this card.  

more ...
Mar 27, 2016
Pretty Useless Card
RichTheGeek Cardholder

I applied for and was approved for this card in August of 2015, with a bizarre (and insultingly stingy) credt limit of $637.00. I used the card for a few months, making at least four times the minimum payments every month, and then applied for a CLI. Denied. Then I paid the balance off to zero, waited a few weeks, and tonight resubmitted my request for a CLI. Denied again. So I clicked the button to close the account.

Synchrony is a Shylock card issuer whose only saving grace is that they tend to be generous with CLIs. But this card is an exception. Where they come up with their bizarre CLs and why they're so stingy about CLIs are mysteries that I really can't be bothered pondering. I can't think of a single good reason to posess this card.

For the sake of fairness, they never messed up any of my payments or were in any way dishonest. The one time I called their customer service, they were about average by today's standards, which of course is a low bar, but it is what it is. They were no worse than most.

more ...
Mar 19, 2016
Poor Service
Msmoonshinemaker Cardholder

I had the card for years.  They gave it to me when i renewed my Sam's membership.  It was a low limit for one month then they raised it alot..  I use it sevral times and paid it off monthly.  No problem til this month.  I pay in full monthly by ach.  My bank gets merged and the route number changes and they add 1 zeroe to my account number. So payment does not go through.I call they say no problem just  reinput new info.  I do.  Well the following week at Sam's my card was declined.    I thought that was strange but let it go.  Then I go on line to check my balance,  It says account closed for returned payment. I email them.  Two days letter I get a responce we are looking into it and will get back to you in 60 days.  I still have not gotten a notice about this in the mail.   I use to shop for business and work over $2,500 amonth but I gues now i will be going to either Super Target or Costo.   

more ...
Mar 15, 2016
check your rewards - maybe be inorrect
Anonymous Cardholder

on the statement listed: previous rewards - $10.29, this statement: 5% on Gas - $3.89, 3% on travel - $2.08, Other -$1.29, new total rewards $12.27. The math does not work. Customer service explanations do not make sence. the only use for this card is that you can use self check-out in the store.

more ...
Mar 13, 2016
I can only give this card excellent!
Anonymous Cardholder

I have never had anything bad happen with this card,  I love all the Synchrony bank cards that I have! best overall customer service!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

Rate this card overall

Please select a rating

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Company Overview

Sam's Club® Consumer Credit Card, offered through GE Money Bank, helps Sam’s Club® customers finance purchases through credit. Online account management is available and allows cardholders to service their account online to pay bills, request a credit line increase, update account information, view recent activity, and receive special offers.

Sam’s Club® is a chain of membership-only retail warehouse clubs and a division of Wal-Mart Stores, Inc. since 1969. Established in 1983, the first Sam’s Club® was opened in Midwest City, Oklahoma, and has expanded today to nearly 600 locations to serve more than 47 million members throughout the United States as well as internationally in Brazil, China, Mexico, and Puerto Rico.

Sam's Club® Consumer Credit Card

91 Reviews