Sam's Club® Consumer Credit Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

1.2 out of 5 stars
26 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

1 5
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Oct 03, 2017
Disgraceful!!!!
Anonymous Cardholder

I am not one to give bad reviews but today was the final straw. Synchrony constantly said our business cards were compromised and would cut them off in the middle of us being out of state.Then it was a nightmare to get them turned back on. They finally cancelled all four employee cards and reissued one Business owner card but never activated it. Finally got it activated and they cut it off a week later. We also had a $5000 prepay credit due to them not able to process payments during a hurricane. You could talk to one employee and they would tell you something different than the next employee. We are currently switching to another card. Too much trouble and you never know if you will have to cancel a flight or hotel room because of them. Not dependable at all.

more ...
Aug 26, 2017
Very complicated and service horrible
Anonymous Cardholder

Opening account was a nightmare, wrong address the employee entered, took over a month to get the card activated. Once activated, Synchrony Bank unable to activate my mobile number, and they keep blocking the card without reason. Each time I have to call them. Today I paid my card in full and they blocked the card after payment in Sam's C'ub, no one is able to activate it, keep saying "we have to send you a lwtter in few days with a code" sorry but ai cancelled the card, got compensation from Sam's C'ub and left. Worst Bank swrvice ever encountered. Literally they are useless and unprofessional! Stay away from Synchrony bank, too many issues in 2 months of nightmare! 

more ...
Jul 02, 2017
bdggdg Cardholder

I opened this card for the rewards/cash back. The first month I used it and paid off the statement balance in full (approximately $300). I used the card quite a bit the next month in order to get the rewards. I wanted to pay the full statement balance of approximately $2200.  I called the number on the card to find out what the policy was for payments posting. I was told it was 48 hours unless the payment was made in store and then it was immediate. I was going to the store anyway, so decided to just make the payment in person. At the store, I was told that since checks are electronic and treated as cash, they credit the same as cash. Much to my surprise when I learned that my payment still had not credited after 48 hours,  that it would not credit for 19 DAYS.  I spoke to 4 different people. The system flagged it as "out of pattern" because my last balance was much lower. Even though I was PAYING IN FULL. They stated that even after my payment CLEARED THE BANK, the funds still would not be released for 19 days because of the amount and that I wrote a check. I asked to see this policy in writing and she said it was not in writing, but it was "flagged by the system" due to the amount and it would not be undone for 19 days, EVEN after the check has cleared. 

more ...
Jun 29, 2017
Stay away from Sam;s/Synchrony -worst!!

My credit score has hovered close to 800 for many years, as I always pay invoices on time, and nearly always in full.  Sadly, I was attracted by the attractive 5% rebate on gas purchases using the Synchrony/Sam's Club card.  Yet Synchrony denied credit several times including for a gas purchase at Sam's Club in my home town, and on at least 3 other occasions recently.  Each time Synchrony falsely claimed that a fraudulent transaction occurred.  The only fraud on my card is by Synchrony itself.  Same credit denial when new Sam's cards were received and activated.  Though I complained, Synchrony never notified me what problems they claim to have occurred on denied transactions.

Synchrony is formerly the dreaded GE Credit that is also well-known for past unethical practices and horrible customer no-service.  I carry 5 or 6 credit cards, but the Synchrony card is so unreliable that I no longer waste time and space in my wallet for this worthless card.  

Don't be fooled by the attractive rebates, as you wont get 5% back on gas purchases if credit for your purchase is denied.  Unless you seek terrible encounters with yor credit card provider, I strongly recommend that you avoid Synchrony/Sams Club cards like the plague.  It's no wonder that nearly every other user has the same opinion and similar terrible customer-no-service experiences as mine with Synchrony.

more ...
May 10, 2017
Was Trying To Set Up My Pin For An Hour
Mykyta Cardholder

Just got my card activated and called cs to set up a pin. I've been transfered over 6-7 customer service representatives and still didn't set up a PIN. Only after wasting an hour and a conversation with a manager I finally set up my PIN. I already disapointed and will recommend to nobody to use this credit card. 

more ...
May 02, 2017
Ripoff
Anonymous Cardholder

Interest rate 23.65% says it all. Of $44.00 payment, $30.00 is interest.

more ...
Apr 29, 2017
Worst customer service
Usafohio Cardholder

Synchrony bank continues to have horrible customer service.  I paid the card off in full and went to use card and it kept declining the transaction.  After 4 calls to Synchrony , I asked to just close account and for them to Mail a letter stating it was closed and to show it was reported to the credit agencies.  I never received the letter!!

more ...
Apr 15, 2017
They change balance without notices
Anonymous Cardholder

We kept a nice credit history, never late always using and paying, sometimes minimum payment sometimes $400 payments but never delinquent. Our available balance was $500 and after making a payment they reduced the card to $170. It hurt my credit -20 points when I was having for the past 6 months a monthly positive increase on my credit score 

more ...
Apr 12, 2017
DO NOT GET THIS CARD!!!!!
Anonymous Cardholder

Customer service is a nightmare! Good luck if your card is stolen.

more ...
Apr 12, 2017
High Interest Rates
Anonymous Cardholder

I have a 760 credit score and the entire time I have had this card they have put my APR at 24% which is down right outragious! I am doing a balance tranfere and applied for a CITI card and after the 21mos 0APR it'll be 16%

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Sam's Club® Consumer Credit Card