Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Sam's Club® Consumer Credit Card

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

1.7 out of 5 stars
40 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

1.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Feb 21, 2016
So far so good, I'm happy with it
sagebrushfire Cardholder

Unless I'm just confused and have a different card, I don't understand the negative reviews here. I have the Sam's Club Mastercard which I got after getting the Sam's Plus membership. So far it has been excellent and I haven't experienced any of the issues other users have. 

1. I got a $1,500 credit limit with NO HARD PULL. I have no idea why, I was in disbelief myself. I wasn't even after a credit card that day and I made the rep all but sign in blood that applying for the card wouldn't be an inquery. It's been 4 months and I seriously don't have any new inqueries on my reports. 

2. The online portal works fine. It looks like it was designed in 1995 and has a few minor issues (Payments default to the first of the next month, if you're making an early payment pay attention to the little calendar pop-up) but nothing serious enough to heavily criticize. 

3. So far none of my payments has been messed up, counted as late or anything like that. I don't use the card as if it were extra money though; I only use it when I actually have the money I'm spending with it. Basically I just treat the card as if it were a 1% discount on everything, 3% for food and 5% for gas. Maybe that's the key difference; people complaining are using their card irresponsibly. If your income doesn't change from month to month, you have no reason to abuse a credit card and treat it like extra cash. If you couldn't afford that stuff this month, how will you afford it next month?!

4. After about 4 months of service my credit limit has increased to $2,000 and I didn't even ask (that I can remember). My score isn't even that great yet; FICO is in the 650's and Vantage scores are all in the 640's. 

I don't know why I'm having such a positive experience with this card and others aren't. My guess is that people just don't use credit cards responsibly or maybe I have a different card and I'm just confused. It's not a business card that I know of, I log-in through the "Consumer Credit Account" portal, not the business one. 

I only detracted one star because the web interface is fairly dated and their reporting date (maybe due to my billing cycle) is at an odd time of the month so balances on my card affect my scores longer than they should when I'm self-monitoring because it's out of sync with when Credit Karma and my other services pull their info. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Sep 19, 2016
Worst customer service
Anonymous Cardholder

When I applied online it says that if I made the first purchase of over $100 the same day, I'd get $40 back. Which they never told me it had to be in club purchase. How am I supposed to know that I applied for a credit card online and have to go in the store the same day to make that purchse, if they didn't put that on the website. Then I called them, and credit card said they couldn't do anything because it's the website's fault. Then I called Sam's Club, they said they don't have enough information to see if I'd get the promotion. I feel that that was a fraud honestly.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jan 16, 2017
Worst credit card ever..
Anonymous Cardholder

If sam's club cannot manage a creit card, they should not offer one.. There is 3 rd party who manage credit card on behalf of them who never send you the credit card to your mailing address.

I never reached me and staff at sam's club is least bothered if we request to help us on getting the card to us. There was  messup made and due to which my credit score is impacted. NEVER CONSIDER TAKING SAM"S CREDIT CARD 

more ...
Jan 01, 2017
I love it!!
Jewlzzz81 Cardholder

Never had any problems with any cards from this bank. I have there Walmart and Pennys card and I love them all. Yes high interest but you already knew that when you applied. Started out in the 2,000's 6 mos ago and I'm now at 8,000. Never been declined or have ever had a problem accessing my account. This is a great card! 

more ...
Nov 22, 2016
WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE
Anonymous Cardholder

ONLY APPLIED BECAUSE OF THE PROMOTION AND I NEVER GOT IT, I GOT PLAYED, CALLED THEM AND THEY DIDNT CARE ABOUT LOSING A LIFETIME MEMBER. WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE EVER.

more ...
Nov 13, 2016
Complete ripoff
Anonymous Cardholder

If you have a problem with them they cancel your card without connecting with a live person and STEAL your rewards. I am happy that I never paid the exorbitant interest that they charge nor any late fees, but I did have an issue with Synchrony not providing online transaction information. The "chat" person cancelled my card without connection to human. I found out a that the card had been cancelled when I attempted to get gasoline at Sam's Club and  that my year's worth of rewards had been forfeited less than one month before they were available to use. DO NOT buy into the wait a year rewards trap. They will STEAL them. 

more ...
Oct 27, 2016
Not what I wanted
Brendanpayne15 Cardholder

I applied for a Sam's Club MasterCard and my application said I was approved, but it didn't tell me that my approval was for a Sam's Club store card. When I called customer service they told me there is no way to switch the account to a Sam's Club MasterCard.

more ...
Oct 20, 2016
horrible customer service
Anonymous Cardholder

Got this card 4 months ago or so, took advantage of instore promotion.

Each month i've tried to pay online since, the website won't work.  Customer service via phone and text were horrible, didn't speak same language as me (english), reading from script trying to get me to wait and make  changes to my computer browser settings.  Eventually got it to work on mobile device in past months.  No luck today on any device.

I will be cancelling this card.

more ...
Oct 07, 2016
Horrible card,just stay away from it!
Anonymous Cardholder

I applied for this card few days ago to get a finance on my tires purchase,i went today to buy some stuff so i used my credit and boom the cashier said it eas declined! So i went to the customer service and there was an ******* at the customer service who wasn't helpful at all ,he told me that my card is closed for further purchase and he didn't even telle why,so i called the customer service and they were even more unhelpful than the doosh bag ,it effected my score , I'm waiting for their letter to see what is the issue,stay away from them,iy was my mistake when i applied in the first place.

more ...
Sep 29, 2016
good rewards always getting hacked
Anonymous Cardholder

sams has alerts but only for purchases over $300 i am constantly having this card hacked with fraud purchases so is my mother in law if like other cards they would let you set the $ alert amount which i keep mine on my other cards at $1 i would know immediately instead you have to wait for them to show up online also not easy to download into quicken thinking of canceling card when rewards come due.

more ...
Sep 19, 2016
Worst customer service
Anonymous Cardholder

When I applied online it says that if I made the first purchase of over $100 the same day, I'd get $40 back. Which they never told me it had to be in club purchase. How am I supposed to know that I applied for a credit card online and have to go in the store the same day to make that purchse, if they didn't put that on the website. Then I called them, and credit card said they couldn't do anything because it's the website's fault. Then I called Sam's Club, they said they don't have enough information to see if I'd get the promotion. I feel that that was a fraud honestly.

more ...
Aug 27, 2016
Applied in store...
steelergurl1 Cardholder

Applied in store in Feb went in to get a new membership and saw a sign for $40 off purchase if approved... Was approved for $500 just got a cli this month for an additional $500. I set up bill pay through my personal bank but I do pay in store sometimes as it is right up the street from my house. You must know your balance if paying in store as they only take the payment they have no way of knowing your info with Synchrony. My payments do post same day when I pay in store.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Sam's Club® Consumer Credit Card