Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Sam's Club® Consumer Credit Card

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

1.7 out of 5 stars
39 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

1.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Aug 27, 2016
Applied in store...
steelergurl1 Cardholder

Applied in store in Feb went in to get a new membership and saw a sign for $40 off purchase if approved... Was approved for $500 just got a cli this month for an additional $500. I set up bill pay through my personal bank but I do pay in store sometimes as it is right up the street from my house. You must know your balance if paying in store as they only take the payment they have no way of knowing your info with Synchrony. My payments do post same day when I pay in store.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Sep 19, 2016
Worst customer service
Anonymous Cardholder

When I applied online it says that if I made the first purchase of over $100 the same day, I'd get $40 back. Which they never told me it had to be in club purchase. How am I supposed to know that I applied for a credit card online and have to go in the store the same day to make that purchse, if they didn't put that on the website. Then I called them, and credit card said they couldn't do anything because it's the website's fault. Then I called Sam's Club, they said they don't have enough information to see if I'd get the promotion. I feel that that was a fraud honestly.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Feb 06, 2017
Terrible. No iPad app
Anonymous Cardholder

Trying to login on iPad is a real pain.

more ...
Jan 26, 2017
Horrible card
Anonymous Cardholder

I applied for this card because of promotion they were running in the store. I was preapporved and gave the sam's club customer service my information (iliscence and ss#). I received a temporary card to make a purchase to recieve the $40 off a purchase and recieved my acutal card in the mail two weeks later. The problem arose when I tried to activate my card. They said they couldn't verify my address or phone number in the public record (even though I had recieved three items in the mail from them and it is the same address that is on my driver's liscence). They then locked my account and said I had to mail a copy of driver's licence, social security card, and a ultility bill to their office in Ohio. After reading other reviews, I have cancelled the card because I am not going to send all that information in the mail for it to end up in the wrong hands. Funny thing was that they could verify me enough to talk to me as the card holder, but not enough to activate the account. Horrible customer service and it just seems like a scam. I will still shop at Sam's club but I will never apply for one of their cards as long as it synchrony bank.

more ...
Jan 24, 2017
They took $188.98 in earend rewards
Anonymous Cardholder

They removed $188.98 in rewards that I had earned with the card, and they refused to pay it.  They could not explain why.  They said they would reinstate it, then trasnferd me over and they said they could not.  They went back and forth without anybody giving me a straigh answer.  They should not be allowed to do business. 

more ...
Jan 16, 2017
Worst credit card ever..
Anonymous Cardholder

If sam's club cannot manage a creit card, they should not offer one.. There is 3 rd party who manage credit card on behalf of them who never send you the credit card to your mailing address.

I never reached me and staff at sam's club is least bothered if we request to help us on getting the card to us. There was  messup made and due to which my credit score is impacted. NEVER CONSIDER TAKING SAM"S CREDIT CARD 

more ...
Jan 01, 2017
I love it!!
Jewlzzz81 Cardholder

Never had any problems with any cards from this bank. I have there Walmart and Pennys card and I love them all. Yes high interest but you already knew that when you applied. Started out in the 2,000's 6 mos ago and I'm now at 8,000. Never been declined or have ever had a problem accessing my account. This is a great card! 

more ...
Nov 22, 2016
WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE
Anonymous Cardholder

ONLY APPLIED BECAUSE OF THE PROMOTION AND I NEVER GOT IT, I GOT PLAYED, CALLED THEM AND THEY DIDNT CARE ABOUT LOSING A LIFETIME MEMBER. WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE EVER.

more ...
Nov 13, 2016
Complete ripoff
Anonymous Cardholder

If you have a problem with them they cancel your card without connecting with a live person and STEAL your rewards. I am happy that I never paid the exorbitant interest that they charge nor any late fees, but I did have an issue with Synchrony not providing online transaction information. The "chat" person cancelled my card without connection to human. I found out a that the card had been cancelled when I attempted to get gasoline at Sam's Club and  that my year's worth of rewards had been forfeited less than one month before they were available to use. DO NOT buy into the wait a year rewards trap. They will STEAL them. 

more ...
Oct 27, 2016
Not what I wanted
Brendanpayne15 Cardholder

I applied for a Sam's Club MasterCard and my application said I was approved, but it didn't tell me that my approval was for a Sam's Club store card. When I called customer service they told me there is no way to switch the account to a Sam's Club MasterCard.

more ...
Oct 20, 2016
horrible customer service
Anonymous Cardholder

Got this card 4 months ago or so, took advantage of instore promotion.

Each month i've tried to pay online since, the website won't work.  Customer service via phone and text were horrible, didn't speak same language as me (english), reading from script trying to get me to wait and make  changes to my computer browser settings.  Eventually got it to work on mobile device in past months.  No luck today on any device.

I will be cancelling this card.

more ...
Oct 07, 2016
Horrible card,just stay away from it!
Anonymous Cardholder

I applied for this card few days ago to get a finance on my tires purchase,i went today to buy some stuff so i used my credit and boom the cashier said it eas declined! So i went to the customer service and there was an ******* at the customer service who wasn't helpful at all ,he told me that my card is closed for further purchase and he didn't even telle why,so i called the customer service and they were even more unhelpful than the doosh bag ,it effected my score , I'm waiting for their letter to see what is the issue,stay away from them,iy was my mistake when i applied in the first place.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Sam's Club® Consumer Credit Card