Old Navy Credit Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.3 out of 5 stars
29 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Aug 15, 2016
Approved
Anonymous Cardholder

I applied for the card while shopping for school clothing for a family member. I was approved with $1K limit. When my card arrived, I saw that it was the Old Navy Visa with a $2K limit. Not bad at all. My husband and I will probably use it more for Banana Republic than Old Navy but it was nice to get the VISA card over the store card. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 05, 2017
Don't do it
seefeld5014 Cardholder

I had a $300 balance. Paid my card on time each month and never once maxed it out. They decided to LOWER my credit limit without notice meaning it dropped my credit score. No reason when you're paying your card and being responsible with it!!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jul 12, 2017
Synchrony Bank is the Worst
zionsmom1016 Cardholder

I've had this ON card plus a few other of Synchrony cards. I have great pay back history, no delinquencies and they keep closing my accounts days after I payoff the balance. Then I get a letter 2 months later stating they closed my account because of my credit score being low but because they keep closing my accounts, it is lowering my credit score so they close the next one after I pay off the balance. How am I supposed to rebuild my credit if they keep doing this. Something has to be done about them. UGH!!!! They are awful. 

more ...
Jul 11, 2017
Crap bank!
breylen66 Cardholder

If you want a retail card to have for years without them butting into your credit all the time, DO NOT get Old Navy! Worst EVER! I've had retail cards for YEARS with no activity or bumps in my credit score during rough times, they've never went and lowered my limit, or just CLOSE it! Ummmm.....dumb ***, people keep cards OPEN for a reason! Want to buy a house, no activity or God forbid you dispute your payments by using a credit repair. All of these..they will auto close on you! Piece of crap bank! Wow! Never will I shop those stores with credit cards associated with SYNCHRONY BANK!

more ...
Jun 27, 2017
Worst card ever
tikarose535 Cardholder

This was one of my first credit cards I got to help him prove my credit score and build credit my credit limit changed it actually went down even though I made all my payments on time two and a half years later it randomly is turned off my account was closed without my knowledge zero balance monthly payments made on time no reason for it to be closed

more ...
Jun 21, 2017
Very good
Anonymous Cardholder

I make my payment on time have great rewards

more ...
May 15, 2017
Terrible. Absolutely terrible.

Customer service is a pain to contact. You're only option is to call and listen to the recording repeat itself over and over. When you finally do get through, it's never an American, so it's hard to understand anything said. You ask for a supervisor, and you're literally in the line for OVER 20 minutes. Called once to change address, new card was still sent to wrong address. Called second time when I no longer had account access. They sent new card, but I was still locked out of anything online. I could not use my rewards money or take advantage of any discounts/sales. After another thirty minute conversation, they told me I needed to download a new browser. Even though the browser I was using always worked otherwise. They told me to re-register, but like I told them before, It would not allow me to online or on the app. I called again. Let's just say I will no longer be shopping or using an Old Navy, Gap, Banana Republic, or Athletica card again. It is a complete headache and waste of time, money, and energy. Save yourself and don't open a card with them. 

Interest rates jump up whenever they feel like doing so, as well, so that's always a nice surprise. STAY AWAY!

more ...
Apr 09, 2017
Don't ever miss a payment - may not be w
Anonymous Cardholder

So the rewards you get for shopping at Old Navy using the card are good. I would never use this card for any other reason because the rate is high. I purely use it to get rewards. I use it to pay then pay the amount off immediately. Unfortunately I made a $28 purchase online and forgot about it. So I had a $28 balance. I didn't pay the balance on time ONCE, I never keep it running balance on his card that is owed and it was ONLY $28!!! Synchrony Bank reported me delinquent by $30 days for $28 and being late on a payment once. For a $28. A lance on my over inflated $2500 limit. That report dropped my credit score 30 points. Horrible. I will never open another card being run by this bank ever again. 

more ...
Apr 08, 2017
Worst credit card I have!
Treestump14 Cardholder

This credit card is awful. They are constantly changing the allowed limit - from $300, to $500, to $220 etc. without any warning. It must be changing every other month, it's ridiculous! I don't even max it out or pay late, so I'm not sure what the deal is. When my home purchase closes this week, I plan on getting rid of this card. I've never had an issue like this with any other credit card - my credit score is good, so why constantly change the card limit with no warning? Doesn't make any sense...

more ...
Mar 19, 2017
I like it!
peleby Cardholder

I've had my card for a few years now. I love Old Navy, but I noticed that the designs aren't to my liking much anymore. I started off with a 200 CL, was increased a few years later to 900 after I asked for a CLI. My plan is to charge it and pay it. 

more ...
Mar 07, 2017
Love the card, hate the bank.
greykiddo Cardholder

I shop at Old Navy, Gap, and Banana Republic frequently, so it made sense to get their card. Well, at least it made sense before I figured out who the issuing bank is. Synchrony Bank treated me horribly with my TJ Maxx card (separate and honest review also on CreditKarma), so I'm afraid they might do the same with this one. Thankfully, no horror stories, and customer service has been great. Account set-up online was easy and secure. No issues with payment, as I always pay a week or two ahead of time (so if any problems arise, I can catch it).

Anyways, I digress. The rewards are great, and being able to use this card at Gap's affilates is awesome! I don't mind the APR (23% I believe), because it's a store card, and I know to keep my balance low or just use cash (LOL). I have a low CL, too, but expected that. However, I was told my account would be favorably reviewed within the next month or so; I'm an on-time, PIF, low util. user, but remember this is Synchrony Bank...  

Will keep y'all posted if I get a CLI or CLD...

But I'm saying now, if it's a CLD, I'm cancelling all of my Synchrony Bank accounts. This would be the second time, and enough is enough. Either you appreciate/want me as a cardholder or you don't.   

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Mar 13, 2017

UPDATE: Closed the ON card over the weekend, along with any other account I had with Synchrony Bank. I'm reading horror stories about their predatory and misleading banking practices, and I can't take any chances. My credit score might take a hit, but it's better than dealing with Synchrony...

 
Mar 05, 2017
Don't do it
seefeld5014 Cardholder

I had a $300 balance. Paid my card on time each month and never once maxed it out. They decided to LOWER my credit limit without notice meaning it dropped my credit score. No reason when you're paying your card and being responsible with it!!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jul 12, 2017

That is awful. They did the same to me. Then closed the account after I used it and paid off the balance. Synchrony Bank is doing that to all of my accounts and they are hurting my credit score badly.

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Old Navy Credit Card