Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Old Navy Credit Card

Find Out More

Ratings by Category

Application Process
Customer Service
Cardholder Ratings
2.5 5

Most Helpful Positive Review

Oct 13, 2012
Started out with Old Navy then upgraded
shauny2k3 Cardholder

I started out with the Old Navy store card a little over 2 years ago with a $500 credit limit. Would buy some clothes then pay off over 2/3months at a time, then buy more clothes.  CL quickly raised to $900, then about 9months ago I logged in to pay my bill and the system told me I was eligible to update to Old Navy Visa card, and that i'd get $20 in Old Navy Coupons for accepting the offer.  I accepted and received ON Visa with $2500 limit. Rewards are excellent also.

more ...

Most Helpful Negative Review

Oct 30, 2010
shelebelly Cardholder

Applied for this card with a ck score of  598 and got approved! Yippee even if the credit line is only $200 I am happy. ~On way to rebuild my credit~

more ...

Reviews (97)

Add Review
Sep 24, 2016
Worst- Will refuse to pay for no reason
rafiqul991 Cardholder

Synchrony Banks online Banking system is the worst I have encountered in USA. I have been a customer for last five years. Have tolerated enough eccentricity and hurdles from the bank, but no more.

I just got off speaking to two representatives, one supervisor named Ray, and no one was able to resolve my problem.

My account was placed on hold because of no specific reason. I just swiped the card instead of pushing it in at Trader’s Joe. I called the customer care to remove the hold, and she said she was unable to do that.

Next, I log into my account, and lo and behold, online access has been frozen and also on hold.

Called customer care again. They say, they need to verify my identity.  So they asked me a series of security question (which is ok) and I answered hem all. I also gave details of my last transactions an d so forth.

Next, they asked me series of security questions, which I answer correctly. But then the bombshell. The representative says I will have to send my photo ID to the fraud squad based in Ohio to verify my ID. I tell them, that has never happened with any other bank that you have to send your photo ID to some where else.

But no dice. They say their system requires such verification. I am stunned. However, just to go along, I mail my photo ID to the address given to me and call the number again after a week.

They tell me, they still haven’t received my ID (I have proof from postal office), and it might take as much as three weeks to resolve this issue.

Is this a Bank or a Security company?

Do they offer service or just go about questioning everyone’s authenticity.

By this time, I was so mad, I asked them, I would like to pay my balance and close my credit card permanently. I said, I don’t want to pay unnecessary fines and late fees as I am unable to see if any payment is due on my account.

Still they kept hedging and hawing. After about 2 hours and countless holds, I was able to speak to some one who will accept my final payment.  I paid everything and asked to close my card down permanently as they are so good at doing.

They still would’nt do it. Started with subtle threats of this will affect my credit ratings to I will lose all my rewards I have accumulated over last three and half years. I said, I don’t care, and with service as bad as this, I will forgo all rewards they may promise me.

What was astounding, was they could call up all my transactions with old navy and Walmart. But they couldn’t verify my ID even with three phones attached to my account.

This so ridiculous and so bloody frustrating. The way I see it, SYNCHRONYBANK has an antiquated online banking system and they don’t want to invest banks money to upgrade their customer service and online system. Instead they put roadblocks in every conceivable way and charge the customer for no reason.

I feel harassed and extremely angry at their rudeness and quality of customer care. Have any other customer face similar requirement from any other Bank.

I have recorded my conversation with the representative as well as the supervisor who did nothing and are there for no reason. They only parrot the words “system does not permit” and I am sorry.

I will put out my conversations records online on social media and may be even the customer help sites. You can judge for yourself what a lousy service and system SYNCHRONYBANK has.  I like Walmart, I like Old Navy, but I would never ever have their credit card from Synchrony Bank. I hope Walmart and old navy choose other decent bank who are service minded.

Rafiqul islam

Cambridge,  Massachusetts

more ...
Sep 21, 2016
coolchick14 Cardholder

I started with a regular Old Navy cc and with a $900 limit, used it and paid it off used it paid it off.....then I get a letter for a Old Navy Visa Card.....applies and got a credit limit of $1500, ran it up paid it and because I was used and paid it off or down to almost nothing my credit had got bumped up to $2700, then $3300, and now I'm at a $4300 limit. I have a high balance but I pay it on time and more the mininum and I plan to get an increase soon. I actually like the card for the rewards but it would be nice if the rewards were good for other stores besides Old navy go figure.

more ...
Sep 19, 2016
Payments not accepted in store
seefeld5014 Cardholder

What company wouldn't take in store payments? You can only do it over the phone or online. How does that make sence?

more ...
Sep 21, 2016

that's the only thing I hate about the car can't make payments in store and I keep suggesting that to them

Sep 23, 2016

I don't see why that's an issue with apps but if you old fashion like that then maybe you should stick to cash only.

Sep 03, 2016
Great rewards!
Anonymous Cardholder

5% cashback. Rewards for store shopping. no annual fees.

more ...
Aug 15, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

I applied for the card while shopping for school clothing for a family member. I was approved with $1K limit. When my card arrived, I saw that it was the Old Navy Visa with a $2K limit. Not bad at all. My husband and I will probably use it more for Banana Republic than Old Navy but it was nice to get the VISA card over the store card. 

more ...
Sep 21, 2016


Jul 18, 2016

I applied for this card and was approved for $300. A few days later, I walk into Old Navy to shop and was told I needed a temporary number since they couldnt pull up my info by my social. I called 4 times while standing in the store to be hung up on 4 different times. I get home, call again to be told my account was closed. How is my account closed and I haven't even received my card yet? I demand a supervisor on the phone and was told the fraud department had my account. I asked for what? She tells me because the info I gave doesnt match up with the "credit bureau ". Lies, bc I just applied for chase freedom and was approved and my card just came. This people are idiots and it's probably a blessing in disguise bc now I'm reading bad reviews! Screw old navy!

more ...
Jul 12, 2016
I feel scammed.
Anonymous Cardholder

Honestly, I wouldn't recommend getting one. Their late fees is crazy. The effort they put in to remind you that you have overfees is close to nothing. They send out one email a month and no phone calls or anything. It wasn't until I got a call from a debt collecting company that I realize I have overdue fees.
In the span of 3-4 months, my fees went up 4x. It's insane. I bet their main profit is from late interest fees and halfbaked reminders.

I used it once but never again.

more ...
Aug 09, 2016

Then pay it on time

Sep 21, 2016

not sure why you would want people you own to call you every time a bill is due.....but you should sign up with text messaging for suggestion to you is pay them on time that's just common sense

Jul 11, 2016
Fast Response
TaylerLee Cardholder

I called the cs line because I haven't received my card, I went onto the the Old Navy website and then on the left hand side was a CHAT icon. So, I clicked on it and got a rep within minutes. They for some reason could access my account and said to call 877-222-6868 and I got a live rep after answering some quick questions on the keypad and the cs lady was soo nice and efficent. So far I am please with the cs. I will ask for a credi increase after I have the card about 6 months per other reviews that I have read. At the time of getting the card I had a 600ish score and approved per a pre-qualifed email for $300, not bad! Considering that I am rebuilding my credit!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

Rate this card overall

Please select a rating

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

What should others know about this card?


How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Old Navy Credit Card