Navy Federal Credit Union® Credit Card Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.5 out of 5 stars
15 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5 5
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jul 26, 2018
Fast approval.
cnrvz6192 Cardholder

Applied with a 746 Equifax and was instantly approved for 4100.

more ...
Jun 19, 2018
Good option for members with low scores
Anonymous Cardholder

NFCU uses their own internal scoring system to award credit cards — which is most likely why I was approved for a card while most traditional credit card companies deny me. I have $100k in student loans from undergrad and graduate school combined, with about 3 months of nonpayment 2 years ago from a time when I was unemployed. That had seriously affected my credit, bringing me down to the 550s from 700. I also moved overseas, which meant I had to pay off the auto loan that was helping to rebuild my score. Additionally, since we're now overseas, my household dropped to one income as my spouse cannot find employment here due to language barriers etc. This makes us look unappealing to regular credit card companies. Thankfully, NFCU had our back!

At the time of application to NFCU, my credit score was 564; I was approved for the Visa GO Rewards with a $10,000 limit — lower than what others with similar scores seem to get, but it's better than nothing!

This site helped me decide to pull the trigger with my application, so I hope my review can be of assistance for someone in a similar situation!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jun 20, 2018

That is awesome. This site was the reason I became a navy federal member. Glad they gave you a second chance. Sometimes that's all people need to get back on their feet. I really want to make them my main CU but they don't have a local branch were I live. I don't know any bank or CU that will issue an unsecured credit card with type of limit with scores in mid 500s. Again congrats and I hope your able to continue to build your credit back up.

 
Jun 19, 2018
Amazing!! approved with low score
mchance562 Cardholder

I opened account 3-8-2018, 505 CS approved for Amex more rewards 3300 limit. Today is 3-19-18 and had cc just over 3 months approved for 2nd card signature visa with 5k limit. Just asked for CL increase on Amex and 24 hour messege. Will update if approved for CL, but anyway 3 months with Navy Fed and over 8k limit and my CS now is only 562. WOW

more ...
Jun 16, 2018
Wow for first time go
Anonymous Cardholder

I have $25000 limit 7.49% interest. Almost no fees. 0 intro. Seems legit. I sent in a request to have it increased to 30000. I wonder if they will

more ...
Jun 16, 2018
Great
Anonymous Cardholder

Applied got 25000 instant approval, credit karma had me at 750 credit score. 7.49 % sent in message to up it to 30000 we will see. No fee for balance transfer im unsure what the fee is for cash advance..

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations
 

Navy Federal Credit Union® Credit Card

15 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i