Navy Federal Credit Union® Credit Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.7 out of 5 stars
9 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5 5
Collapse

5 star reviews (8) See All

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Aug 13, 2019
Ttaharah77 Cardholder

I’ve recently starting rebuilding my credit. 550 I started mid March 2019 got a secured card from OpenSky 200 credit limit. Two months later applied for capital one platinum 300 credit limit. My credit score was 610 when i got approved for capital one. By August my score went to 650 Tu 640 eq. I was told to open a bank account with a credit union. Got into navy federal by using my sister. Opened the account with 100 bucks 3 days later applied for their credit card. Go rewards! Got 1,100 instant approval. They’re awesome. I’ll check back in n about 3 months with a update 

more ...
May 20, 2019
Navy Federal is the best!
bmaninbama Cardholder

If you're a Navy Federal member, you're in luck! I applied for this card in December with a 726 TU and 689 EQ and got approved for $25,000. I applied today, less than six months later, for a Navy Federal CashRewards Mastercard and got approved...again for $25,000! Thanks Navy Federal for these awesome high credit limits. My EQ score is over 800 now and TU isn't far behind.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jun 02, 2019

Hello, can you please share where your referenced credit scores were pulled from?

 
May 18, 2019
WOW!!
Bwood901 Cardholder

I applied with a 666TU/658EX/636EQ. They pulled my TU. I was approved for 25k CL! I have one collections account and current credit usage is 2%. 

more ...
May 29, 2019

Which card did you apply for?

 
Jun 02, 2019

Hello, can you please share where your referenced credit scores were pulled from?

 
Mar 26, 2019
Thank you Navy Fed!!!!
CJfromTx Cardholder

Straight to the facts: I currently have a credit score range from 626 to 629. I have a total of 21 late payments across two credit card accounts. 1 reposession in June 2017 with a $9,998 balance. 0 collection accounts. All accounts current. Recently increased my score from 589 to 629 in under 2 months. Currently using 46% of my credit. 1 personal loan with $1237 balance. 1 charged off Capt One account woth $1500 balance. I applied for the go Rewards card today and was instantly approved for $20K. What more can I say? I dont plan on using this card other than small purchases and paying it off immediately every month. I set up an account with them 1 month ago with only $100 in it. I will not screw this up. Hooefully this will be a stepping stone to getting to my goal of a 750 credit score by the end of the year. Wish me luck!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jun 02, 2019

Hello, can you please share where your referenced credit scores were pulled from?

 
Jan 31, 2019
Amazing!

I applied for the the cashback rewards card in Nov 2018 and was instantly approved for $25,000. I was shocked and thought I had double vision and saw to many zeros. My credit score at the time was around the 620's, nothing in collections, about $50000 in student loan debt but not showing as negative. Also a couple of older loans that are still showing as derogatory totaling about $5000. I also have a capital one card of $500 credit limit. My suggestion if u have collections is to pay off the newest, larger amount items first. I had a $206 medical bill on my account for 4 months and once I paid it off my score jumped 76 points, which put me at around the 620's for my credit score. NFCU has been wonderful to me so far, check out there auto buying program as well..it worked wonders for me and got me a great vehicle at a much lower APR than anyone else. Some banks would say as low as 13%, NFCU said 8%. Good luck!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jun 02, 2019

Hello, can you please share where your referenced credit scores were pulled from?

 
Nov 14, 2018
Great low rate with $0 annual fee.
suprdavr Cardholder

Applied and was given a $25k credit limit instantly, which is great for this card since the low interest rate is good for large purchases. Navy Fed is an all around good company.

more ...
Nov 06, 2018
No Cash Rewards Visa reviews??
Noximus03 Cardholder

Fine, I'll put my own then. I applied for, and was instantly approved for $1,000. My scores are all mid 600's, and I had a Bankruptcy discharged in 2016. Literally just starting to rebuild. I've been an NFCU member for 20 years, but NEVER used NFCU for any reason other than to just have a second account open just in case. After 2 full years of my BK7 being discharged and some serious hard work in rebuilding a damaged credit score, I didnt agree with the initial $1,000 limit given my debt to income ratio (very low debt, very nice income $140k/yr),. So i sent them a message asking for a reconsideration and stated my case. They stood their ground and said $1k was all I could be approved for. I shot back asking if I decided not to activate my card, would it hurt my account. Wait about 3 hours and the reply comes back that I was approved for a $15,000 limit instead, and they apologozed for any inconvienience. 

I know my credit history is checkered, but I've worked very hard to put it behind me and make the most out of the second chance. It was a confidence builder to know that NFCU had my back. I had to nudge them a little, but at least for once a human being reviewed my case and did what they thought was right. You cant put a price on that. 

more ...
Oct 03, 2018
Cash rewards card
Jaimhall2013 Cardholder

Of course u have an account w/Navy Fed. Today I applied for a cash rewards card with a 625 credit score (working on repairing credit) and was instantly approved w/ a 15,000 limit!! I've applied before and was denied so I think I'm headed in the right direction w the credit repair process.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations
 

Navy Federal Credit Union® Credit Card