Navy Federal Credit Union® Credit Card

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.8 out of 5 stars
30 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

5 out of 5 stars

5 5
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Apr 22, 2017
Simply amazing!!
Anonymous Cardholder

I applied through the app and got a message saying that my app was under review. The next morning I got a text saying I was approved but didn't say the credit limit. I have a 705 TU, 654 EQ and  620 EX. I got an secured Open Sky credit card with $200 about  5 months ago, then got a Capital One with a $1000 credit limit about a month and half ago and a Discover credit card with credit limit of $1400 a couple of days ago. I wasn't happy with the low limits because I was looking to increase my revolving credit limit. I opened a NFCU account and the same day applied for the credit card. Just called the NFCU customer service number and I was approved with a credit line of $24,000!!! I do make a good salary and have a couple of collections on my credit report but these don't report on my TU account which is what NFCU pulled for my application. 

more ...
Apr 15, 2017
Great for rebuilding
lemurlass Cardholder

I am glad I did some googling about credit union cards for rebuilding credit.  This card does not pop up under my credit karma profile.  But it is a must try if you qualify.  My scores are all over the place.  True FICU puts me at 660 exp and 655 trans, but the Vantange scores have me at 592 trans and 640 equi.  I have some recent baddies, including several 4 month non-payments and a chargeoff of $300.  It seems to matter how little the charge off amount was - a charge off is a charge off.  In hindsight I should have paid it and not settled.  Regardless, I was able to get a Capital One platinium with $1000 CL and have been using it and paying it off for 4 months.  But having only $1000 as available credit doesnt help so much.  I wanted to get a card that gave me more.  Enter in NFCC.  My brother was military, and even though he didnt have an account with them, I qualified.  They gave me $2600 CL.  No foreign transaction fees and cash back.  BUT, they pulled my score 2x.  1 to open a savings and 1 for the credit card.  It is worth it to me, as I would rather have 1 card with a higher CL than several with low CLs.

more ...
Apr 12, 2017
The Best thus far!!
Yubiubi Cardholder

With a credit score very low, I was approved for a CL of 3600. Sometimes you just need a financial institution to believe in you to have a fresh start. The interest is pretty good compare to other credit cards I still owned. Very happy with NFCU.

more ...
Mar 21, 2017
IN LOVE
Anonymous Cardholder

My current credit score is in the low 500s and I've been working desperately to improve my score. I first applied for their secured card 15 months ago but it's yet to switch to unsecured. However, during the last few months I was unemployed and signed up for the insurance on my card so the insurance was paying my bills for me. That may have been the reason it didn't switch over, im sure they wanted to wait until I was employed. 

Anyway, yesterday I applied for this card and was approved for 3,100. Again, my credit score is in the low 500s. I plan to use this as my gas card and not go crazy on spending so that I can at least reach the 700s by the end of the year. 

more ...
Mar 21, 2017
IN LOVE
Anonymous Cardholder

My current credit score is in the low 500s and I've been working desperately to improve my score. I first applied for their secured card 15 months ago but it's yet to switch to unsecured. However, during the last few months I was unemployed and signed up for the insurance on my card so the insurance was paying my bills for me. That may have been the reason it didn't switch over, im sure they wanted to wait until I was employed. 

Anyway, yesterday I applied for this card and was approved for 3,100. Again, my credit score is in the low 500s. I plan to use this as my gas card and not go crazy on spending so that I can at least reach the 700s by the end of the year. 

more ...
Mar 07, 2017
The best bank ever
Kcbat Cardholder

Low crefit score alot of inquiries they approved me with a 8000 dollar limit I have been super responsible with my card and I pray they continue to believe in me they saved my life Thank you NFCU

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Mar 15, 2017

what was your credit score at the time?

 
Mar 02, 2017
NFCU Platinum Credit Card
savio1100 Cardholder

Let me start by giving my current situation. I am a college sophomore, who only opened one credit card in the past year to build credit and for emergencies. I opened my first credit card with Bank Of America. After a year, I built my credit to a 719 Transunion (736 Equifax), but there was a serious problem developing. I realized that the interest rate on my Cash Rewards credit card was very high. The interest rate was 23.49%. After learning of this, I decided that it was time to look for a new credit card with a lower interest rate. The first bank that I thought of was Navy Federal. I proceeded to apply for the lowest interest rate card that they had which was the Platinum credit card. As soon as i applied, I was approved in 10 minutes! I was completely shocked! I got approved for a credit line of $8,000 (double my first credit line) with an interest rate of 13.49%. The overall experience was awesome, I'm so glad that I can count on NFCU.

more ...
Feb 19, 2017
Thank God for Navy Federal!
tophershane Cardholder

Given my not so perfect history, Navy Federal took a chance on me and approved me for my GO REWARDS Signature VISA. 

Ever since I turned 18, I was pretty irresponsible when it came to credit. Had a lot of missed payments and credit write-offs. I didn't really start cleaning it up until about 5 years ago. However, everyone knows how hard it is to rebuild with limited credit. It took awhile, but never had any large amounts made available to me. I recently closed a secured MC from Capital One of 2 years positive history - which they graduated me to a Quicksilver One (after applying).

Credit One CL $700 (23% APR)

Capital One Quicksilver One $300 (intro 0% APR for 9 months)

I applied for this GO REWARDS card last night, and got the message that my application was accepted and is being reviewed. Shortly after, I sent a secure message asking them to do a more detailed review into my history, rather than just looking at my score. I gave evidence of my income and direct deposits into my NFCU Everyday Checking. And in the morning, I found a nice message in my inbox that I was approved! 

I'm the type to use it all if I don't need it, but definitely blessed to be headed in the right direction - as this will definitely offset my high utilization rate. The next steps is to use it - and negotiate the high rate down (Yes! You can do this with any creditor!) after I have proven myself even more creditworthy.

Approved NFCU CL $7,900 (18% APR)

TU 596 EQ 564

Annual Income: $87,000

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Feb 25, 2017

I would like to add that I was sent the NFCU 'Your Credit Report and the Price You Pay for Credit' document. It said that they obtained my credit report from TU. Also, on the back it provided me a Navy Federal-specific score which was 274 in a range from 100 to 450; which was used to set the terms of credit they offered me. Key factors that affected my NFCU score were: UTILIZATION OF REVOLVING ACCOUNT CREDIT LINES IN LAST 3 MONTHS, NUMBER OF DELINQUENT PAST OR PRESENT CREDIT OBLIGATIONS, LIMITED CREDIT EXPERIENCE, RATIO OF ACCOUNTS OPENED IN LAST 24 MONTHS TO ALL ACCOUNTS, AND NUMBER OF INQUIRIES ON CREDIT BUREAU REPORT.

 
Feb 14, 2017
AWESOME!
msteedubya Cardholder

I was approved for a savings and checking account with NFCU. 10 minutes after I was approved I applied for the Green Cash Rewards card. I was approved for a credit line of $24,000. I thought I wouldn't get approved because my Transunion score was 649. This is the BEST credit union hands down. I will enjoy doing business with them for years to come.

more ...
Feb 10, 2017
Love them
blove8302 Cardholder

Recently opened two accounts thought that I would apply after reading the reviews. My credit score right now is 574 on TransUnion and 520 on Experian so I didn't expect much. But to my surprise the approved me in a few seconds for 1700. I am now planing on switching my direct deposit to them. I make 4135 a month don't know if my income had anything to do with it but I'm appreciative 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Feb 19, 2017

It might have. What was really successful for me was sending a secured message about how I currently bank with Navy Federal (including the direct deposit), and want to keep my business with them. I offered to show proof of my income - but the biggest thing was that's I asked them for a more detailed review instead of looking into my older scores. I have paid consistently and on-time for the past few years, and have been working to repair/rebuild myself.

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Navy Federal Credit Union® Credit Card

30 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i