Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Navy Federal Credit Union® Credit Card

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.8 out of 5 stars
27 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

5 out of 5 stars

5 5
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Feb 19, 2017
Thank God for Navy Federal!
tophershane Cardholder

Given my not so perfect history, Navy Federal took a chance on me and approved me for my GO REWARDS Signature VISA. 

Ever since I turned 18, I was pretty irresponsible when it came to credit. Had a lot of missed payments and credit write-offs. I didn't really start cleaning it up until about 5 years ago. However, everyone knows how hard it is to rebuild with limited credit. It took awhile, but never had any large amounts made available to me. I recently closed a secured MC from Capital One of 2 years positive history - which they graduated me to a Quicksilver One (after applying).

Credit One CL $700 (23% APR)

Capital One Quicksilver One $300 (intro 0% APR for 9 months)

I applied for this GO REWARDS card last night, and got the message that my application was accepted and is being reviewed. Shortly after, I sent a secure message asking them to do a more detailed review into my history, rather than just looking at my score. I gave evidence of my income and direct deposits into my NFCU Everyday Checking. And in the morning, I found a nice message in my inbox that I was approved! 

I'm the type to use it all if I don't need it, but definitely blessed to be headed in the right direction - as this will definitely offset my high utilization rate. The next steps is to use it - and negotiate the high rate down (Yes! You can do this with any creditor!) after I have proven myself even more creditworthy.

Approved NFCU CL $7,900 (18% APR)

TU 596 EQ 564

Annual Income: $87,000

more ...
Feb 14, 2017
AWESOME!
msteedubya Cardholder

I was approved for a savings and checking account with NFCU. 10 minutes after I was approved I applied for the Green Cash Rewards card. I was approved for a credit line of $24,000. I thought I wouldn't get approved because my Transunion score was 649. This is the BEST credit union hands down. I will enjoy doing business with them for years to come.

more ...
Feb 10, 2017
Love them
blove8302 Cardholder

Recently opened two accounts thought that I would apply after reading the reviews. My credit score right now is 574 on TransUnion and 520 on Experian so I didn't expect much. But to my surprise the approved me in a few seconds for 1700. I am now planing on switching my direct deposit to them. I make 4135 a month don't know if my income had anything to do with it but I'm appreciative 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Feb 19, 2017

It might have. What was really successful for me was sending a secured message about how I currently bank with Navy Federal (including the direct deposit), and want to keep my business with them. I offered to show proof of my income - but the biggest thing was that's I asked them for a more detailed review instead of looking into my older scores. I have paid consistently and on-time for the past few years, and have been working to repair/rebuild myself.

 
Feb 10, 2017
Love them.
blove8302 Cardholder

I applied today after reading these reviews I am rebuilding my credit after missing some payments in December and November causing my score to from 620 to 560 on TransUnion. So I opened an acct and applied right after and they approved me for 1700 right away which was surprising but I am very greatful and now hoping to use my va home loan with them once my credit is back to 620. (Also my income is 4135/per month don't know if that made a difference or not)

more ...
Jan 11, 2017
I'm so impressed
Susu0490 Cardholder

So I just joined navy federal a month ago. I applied  for the secured card because my credit is in the low 500's. I knew I would not get approved for the regular once. I also applied for the secured personal loan. To help build my credit. 4 week later, I applied for cash reward card, limit of 1100. Score till at low 500.

more ...
Jan 07, 2017
OMG LOVE IT!!!!
Ursulab2 Cardholder

We just had our bankruptcy discharged in January of 2015. I was afraid we would NEVER get credit again. Decided to try my luck at the NFCU CashRewards card. An hour later I got a text that I was approved. Checked my account and it was $3800 CL (I looked several times to make sure it didn't say $380). I checked for the next several days to make sure it wasn't a mistake! I almost fell out of my chair when I saw that! The next month our credit score went up 70 points! I am so obsessed with NFCU now. :D 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Feb 19, 2017

I had to check mine several times too!

 
Dec 24, 2016
Great way to improve score
Seangunner Cardholder

there are not a lot of benefits that you see in other cards such as cash back and points. However, I have 615 TU AND 603 EQ and I got approved for $5500 limit. I have 1 delinquent and 3 charge offs. My other cards are only $200 so this will benefit me a lot. My interest rate is a bit high at 16% but still lower than my other secured cards. They do have a feature called member mall where you can earn cash back by buying with certain retailers. NFCU as a whole has taken great care of me. I have my back up checking account, auto loan, and now credit card with them. Application was easy, especially since I am a member and they auto populated some of my information. I will be getting my home loan through them as well. Overall if you have the ability to get an account with NFCU do it. You will not be disappointed. 

more ...
Dec 13, 2016
Perfect if its your primary
Anonymous Cardholder

It is perfect never had any issues. Better than my chase and wells Fargo in terms of customer service. They have caught fraud I looked right over

more ...
Nov 19, 2016
Amazing!
ericamp Cardholder

I applied for this card the same day I opened my NFCU account (today).  I have very low scores (TU 571, EQ 543) and am just starting to rebuild my credit in hopes of buying a home this time next year, so I said this would be my last credit app until after I close on my house. I read all the reviews and decided I'd take the plunge and apply via the NFCU app. The application process was simple and easy and it took about 10 seconds to get an APPROVED message! I cannot believe I was approved! God answers prayers! The limit is $2600 and although that is low to some, that is excellent for me! I've never had good credit and the highest limit card I've ever had was $500! I am very excited to build a strong relationship with NFCU and would recommend anyone that is eligible to join! Pretty sure I will try to use them to purchase my home because they have given me a chance and I'm very appreciative! I opted for the expedited delivery and called customer service and they said I should have it by Tuesday (today is Saturday!!!). If you can open an account with them, go for it!

more ...
Nov 02, 2016
Fantastic no-frills card, great service.
AM021 Cardholder

Pros: good rates, good staarter card for young credit, lowered my rates & increased my limit substantially within the first couple of years without me asking. Hands down best customer service I've ever dealt with and stellar fraud protection services

Cons: you don't get points or miles, so if that's the most important thing try one of their other cards so you can still get the same great service

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Navy Federal Credit Union® Credit Card

27 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i