Navy Federal Credit Union® Credit Card Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.8 out of 5 stars
39 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

5 out of 5 stars

5 5
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jun 12, 2017
Nice!!
DanielJaay1 Cardholder

I have a collection from sprint on my credit as well as a few late payments from almost two years ago. According to credit karma my EQ and EXP score are around 605-611 and my EXP is a 621. Applying for this card I was vey nervous that I wasn;t going to get approved but I was instantly approved with a $1700 credit limit. Not the best but considering my credit score I'm super thankful. The day I approved is also the day I opened up a checking and savings account with them and ditched Bank of America. So far so good!!!! 

more ...
Jun 10, 2017
NFCU is your best bet!
building4cpa Cardholder

I applied for the Navy Federal Cash Rewards Card after a friend told me about their success rate. My score fluctated from low 600 EX EQ to 665 TU. I was denied by all the major cards (even with pre-approvals) At this point I would get crappy offers and ended up taking a few retail cards with 200-500 limit just to establish some credit. I also got a secured card with US Bank for $300 and had it for 6 months before I applied with Navy Fed. I had also been using Sky Blue (highly recommend) who got tons of things deleted from my report. My TU was clean aside from an old charge off Belk Card from 5 years ago and an $80 utiility bill collectiton when I applied. 35k student loans and 10k high interest car loan. They ended up pulling my TU twice which was 650 at the time and 3 days later APPROVED FOR $7,100 15% apr.  I still can't belive it!!!! I'm so happy. To make matters worse I had a charge off checking account with them of $40 from when I was in high school. They were willing to let me reopen my account after I paid in full. I applied for the credit card the same day the payment cleared and there you have it! NFCU is the freaking best! I would suggest following up with a secured message explaining any negative items and providing proof of income. I did that after I hadn't heard back for 48 hours when I got a 24 hr under review message originally. They approved me 2 hours after I sent the message and my check stub. 

more ...
Jun 07, 2017
Impressed!
Anonymous Cardholder

I recently opened a checking and savings with NFCU. I decided to apply for a credit card and was stoked when I was proved with $7k CL. This is the highest CL I have so far. I was approved a few weeks prior for a capital one CC with a $3K limit. I'm seriously on my way to rebuilding my credit!! So grateful for this second chance. (Credit score at the time 633). 

more ...
Jun 05, 2017
First approval after my foreclosure!
BigDaddyKoehn Cardholder

My scores are around 580ish on Credit Karma and I was approved for $8K. I've been rebuilding my credit for the last five years and until now had only been "approved" for secured cards and through Comenity utilizing the "shopping cart trick." And those were only for $250.

more ...
Jun 03, 2017
visa
Anonymous Cardholder

Very helpful when dealing with stolen identity.

more ...
May 29, 2017
HOLY SHHHHH!
LomarKinbell Cardholder

All I gotta say is 23k CL! My TransUnion 649.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jun 20, 2017

what card did you apply for

 
May 23, 2017
Thank you for giving me a chance!
Anonymous Cardholder

Got approved for a 24K line! CK Transunion 717 CK Equifax 707. I had a few late payments and an open collection. After 8 months of rebuilding credit, I got two secured credit cards-Capital One and OpenSky which has very low limits. Thank you, NFCU! 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jun 20, 2017

what card did you apply for

 
May 22, 2017
Good limit. Easy process.
Nate949 Cardholder

Highest limit right away on a Credit Card. My other cards, well, Chase gave me a $1000 limit even though I had over $100,000+ with them, CapitalOne I've had since 2005 and a card with a $750 cap (worthless), so I've been using my Costco Credit card ($6000 limit) this whole time. I always pay off cards each month, plenty in bank, and near 800 FICO and Vantage score, but everyone's been ****ing me with low limits. 

Went into Navy Fed and opened a card on a whim as I was moving money there, and approved right away with a $24,000 credit limit, no foreign transaction fees, and a host of other perks. Good card to have. 

more ...
May 09, 2017
Visa Signature Flagship Rewards
Anonymous Cardholder

I recently applied for this card after working on my credit for a year and a half. I started at 500 and now right at 710/707/705. I also applied for a brand new truck 2017 and was approved. I'm so excited to say after countless denied denied denied NFCU took a chance on me and approved me for $24,000 out the door. Yeah I'm tap dancing while writing  this. 

more ...
May 02, 2017
A Second Chance
Anonymous Cardholder

So I recently opened up my Navy Federal Checking & Savings account with Navy Federal about 4 months ago. Today I received an email from Navy FEDERAL that I have been pre-approved for the GO Rewards credit card. I couldn't believe it. 

I have a FICO score of 620 but my CreditWise TU was a 560 and EQ 535. I literally was biting my nails as I read reviews saying that people were approved for this card. I have 2 30 day late payments & 1 90 day late payment and 1 charge off with several closed accounts at $0 from a few years ago. I am completely debt free with the exceptions of my student loans. I was so nervous about applying and when I did I was approved instantly for $4600 CL!!!! I couldn't believe it! I have been working so hard to make on time payments to build my credit and staying debt free! Thank you so much Navy Federal for giving me a second chance' you've looked into all of the things I was doing right instead of just a number! 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations
?>

Navy Federal Credit Union® Credit Card

39 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i