Navy Federal Credit Union® Credit Card Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.8 out of 5 stars
36 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

5 out of 5 stars

5 5
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

May 23, 2017
Thank you for giving me a chance!
Anonymous Cardholder

Got approved for a 24K line! CK Transunion 717 CK Equifax 707. I had a few late payments and an open collection. After 8 months of rebuilding credit, I got two secured credit cards-Capital One and OpenSky which has very low limits. Thank you, NFCU! 

more ...
May 22, 2017
Good limit. Easy process.
Nate949 Cardholder

Highest limit right away on a Credit Card. My other cards, well, Chase gave me a $1000 limit even though I had over $100,000+ with them, CapitalOne I've had since 2005 and a card with a $750 cap (worthless), so I've been using my Costco Credit card ($6000 limit) this whole time. I always pay off cards each month, plenty in bank, and near 800 FICO and Vantage score, but everyone's been ****ing me with low limits. 

Went into Navy Fed and opened a card on a whim as I was moving money there, and approved right away with a $24,000 credit limit, no foreign transaction fees, and a host of other perks. Good card to have. 

more ...
May 09, 2017
Visa Signature Flagship Rewards
Anonymous Cardholder

I recently applied for this card after working on my credit for a year and a half. I started at 500 and now right at 710/707/705. I also applied for a brand new truck 2017 and was approved. I'm so excited to say after countless denied denied denied NFCU took a chance on me and approved me for $24,000 out the door. Yeah I'm tap dancing while writing  this. 

more ...
May 02, 2017
A Second Chance
Anonymous Cardholder

So I recently opened up my Navy Federal Checking & Savings account with Navy Federal about 4 months ago. Today I received an email from Navy FEDERAL that I have been pre-approved for the GO Rewards credit card. I couldn't believe it. 

I have a FICO score of 620 but my CreditWise TU was a 560 and EQ 535. I literally was biting my nails as I read reviews saying that people were approved for this card. I have 2 30 day late payments & 1 90 day late payment and 1 charge off with several closed accounts at $0 from a few years ago. I am completely debt free with the exceptions of my student loans. I was so nervous about applying and when I did I was approved instantly for $4600 CL!!!! I couldn't believe it! I have been working so hard to make on time payments to build my credit and staying debt free! Thank you so much Navy Federal for giving me a second chance' you've looked into all of the things I was doing right instead of just a number! 

more ...
May 02, 2017
Just sign up for NAVY FED A.S.A.P
Rickkk2009 Cardholder

I made a lot of reallllly bad decisions coming out of high school. I signed up for two credit cards... one from discover and one from citi bank. I maxed out both and ended up getting them closed. Couple years down the road I found myself in an even worse spot when I had to break a lease. My credit at this point was in the low 500's. I have always been a member of Navy Fed and decided to use their secured credit card. A year went by of me making on time payments and keeping it under 30% utilization. One day I logged in and saw that they upgraded my card to a unsecured and deposited my money bank into my account. They also increased my credit limit from $500 to $1000! Six months after that I applied for a credit limit increased and to my suprise, was approved for $10,000!!!! Today I called and switched from the nRewards to the Go Rewards. It was very easy and only took about five minutes. I will continue to use this company and look forward to improving my credit score. 

more ...
Apr 29, 2017
Awesome bank
Anonymous Cardholder

I was approved online but trust me I was so nervous. I've been owkrig to rebuild my credit which is mostly due to high utilization and old late payments. Current score 667/675/ 656 not the best but I'm trying. Approved for 8500! I'm very happy with that !!

more ...
Apr 28, 2017
More than just a Number
Anonymous Cardholder

I have been working hard to repair my credit after my second divorce. I may not be where I would like to be but with every year I get closer. Two years ago I had a Vantage Score of 518 TU and my FICO score was even lower at 486. Divorce took a hit on my credit. Capital One took a chance on me with a $500 credit card and another with $1100 two years ago. I was finally able to purchase my FIRST brand new car financed by Toyota Motor Credit but WOW I was hit with almost a 15% APR. Six months after my purchase I was approved for a refinance with NFCU and was given a 4.69% APR, the lowest APR I had EVER had in my life. A year later they refinanced me again after the need to trade it my previous vehicle for a larger one. 

Now, six months later I was approved for the GO Rewards credit card with the largest credit limit I have ever had. I was surprised with the CL and the representative said "Our members are more than a number, we look at everything." 

I couldn't agree more!!

Scores 

Vantage Score TU 637, EQ 629 

FICO Scores TU 645, EQ 617, EX 601

more ...
Apr 22, 2017
Simply amazing!!
Anonymous Cardholder

I applied through the app and got a message saying that my app was under review. The next morning I got a text saying I was approved but didn't say the credit limit. I have a 705 TU, 654 EQ and  620 EX. I got an secured Open Sky credit card with $200 about  5 months ago, then got a Capital One with a $1000 credit limit about a month and half ago and a Discover credit card with credit limit of $1400 a couple of days ago. I wasn't happy with the low limits because I was looking to increase my revolving credit limit. I opened a NFCU account and the same day applied for the credit card. Just called the NFCU customer service number and I was approved with a credit line of $24,000!!! I do make a good salary and have a couple of collections on my credit report but these don't report on my TU account which is what NFCU pulled for my application. 

more ...
Apr 15, 2017
Great for rebuilding
lemurlass Cardholder

I am glad I did some googling about credit union cards for rebuilding credit.  This card does not pop up under my credit karma profile.  But it is a must try if you qualify.  My scores are all over the place.  True FICU puts me at 660 exp and 655 trans, but the Vantange scores have me at 592 trans and 640 equi.  I have some recent baddies, including several 4 month non-payments and a chargeoff of $300.  It seems to matter how little the charge off amount was - a charge off is a charge off.  In hindsight I should have paid it and not settled.  Regardless, I was able to get a Capital One platinium with $1000 CL and have been using it and paying it off for 4 months.  But having only $1000 as available credit doesnt help so much.  I wanted to get a card that gave me more.  Enter in NFCC.  My brother was military, and even though he didnt have an account with them, I qualified.  They gave me $2600 CL.  No foreign transaction fees and cash back.  BUT, they pulled my score 2x.  1 to open a savings and 1 for the credit card.  It is worth it to me, as I would rather have 1 card with a higher CL than several with low CLs.

more ...
Apr 12, 2017
The Best thus far!!
Yubiubi Cardholder

With a credit score very low, I was approved for a CL of 3600. Sometimes you just need a financial institution to believe in you to have a fresh start. The interest is pretty good compare to other credit cards I still owned. Very happy with NFCU.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Navy Federal Credit Union® Credit Card

36 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i