Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Menards Big Card

Approval Odds
Find Out More

Ratings by Category

Application Process
Customer Service
Cardholder Ratings
1.2 5

Reviews (10)

Add Review
Nov 07, 2015

Unable to identify me too lame

more ...
Aug 27, 2015
Anonymous Cardholder

This is how they sell at a low cost. They will remove last months interest, but that is all they can do, even in cases of hardship. 

more ...
Jan 01, 2015
Unable to verify my identity

They were unable to verify my identity after asking me questions about my ex's family, which I've not been involved with for over 12 years!!  Really??  How the heck am I supposed to know where all of his family lives these days?  I have two other Capital One credit cards too.  I guess I'll be purchasing flooring for the whole house somewhere else now.

more ...
Aug 24, 2014
Declined - Unable to verify identity.

As the title states.  Unable to verify my identity.  This is after asking me half a dozen questions about vehicles, family members, addresses, etc.   I have three other Capital One issued cards, no problems with any of them knowing who I am.  This is the only card I've ever had this issue with.

more ...
Apr 29, 2014
Outrageous APR and many hidden dangers
Nexious Cardholder

I signed up for this card after becoming inundated by flashy adverts promoting it. When inquiring about it at checkout I was whisked away to the sign-up kiosk where I quickly got approved with a $2500 limit. The base APR is 25%, and the buzzy "6 months no interest" claim apparently only holds water if you pay off the entire amount by then or else you will be charged 25% accumulated interest from the very first month onward. 

The awards and benefits of using such a card are also subpar. $2 back for every $100 you spent, in the form of an in-store gift certificate every quarter or so. Most in-store cards I have offer 5% immediate discounts. For joining I also got a free "you could win up to $500 by scanning this paper" but of course it was instead the lowest award amount of $2--I suspect the odds of winning anything higher are very low.

The website to manage transactions and pay bills is complicated. I find it especially confusing when paying early as it doesn't make it clear what part of the balance has already been paid and what is still owed. You cannot drill into any particular charge to any extent more than you can a generic credit card, to review specific purchases for instance. As soon as I figure out how much I still owe them I plan to pay off the card and will avoid using it in the future.

(Several months after joining, I still haven't received the promised $10 gift certificate [only valid on $100+ purchases], unless it got lost in the mail.)

more ...
Jun 10, 2013
Just Signed Up Two Days Ago
UpNorth52 Cardholder

Seeing the lackluster reviews for the Big Card is a concern.

more ...
Feb 27, 2013
Menards Big Card is a scam
Anonymous Cardholder

I have had the big Card for a year.  I expected my 2% rebate at the end of the year but didnt receive it. I called and was told that my concern would be studied and I may hear back in 30 days.

more ...
May 17, 2012
bobojan Cardholder

I have had this card paifd for in full and have proof of this.  call them & all they say is sold bill to another.  Called another & agreed it is paid for in full & menards card is not correcting this matter nor! do they even care!  I got such a run around from them & w/o explaining a thing.  Never again!  Look at the date also 1998!  They need to update their system.  This may cost me a loan to purchase a home for us!

more ...
May 06, 2012
bobojan Cardholder

 this is a store card. It is very close at changing credit issues.  pd in full 2 months now & credit has not changed to show it as paid.  good thing i have proof of payment.  they need to speed up their imput time to keep cutomers ratings correct.  does damage when they r slow.  be very careful having this account. i dont reccommend having it

more ...
Aug 18, 2011
Anonymous Cardholder

It is a store card, not great not terrible. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

Rate this card overall

Please select a rating

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

What should others know about this card?


How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Company Overview

The Menards Big Card, serviced by HSBC Bank, is issued to Menards customers. Cardholder benefits include an annual rebate on Menards purchases, in-store gift certificates, enrollment in the Big Card Savers Club, and annual rebates on purchases at affiliate stores. Online account management allows access to bill payment, statements, alert options, and balance.

Menards, a home improvement store widely known in the Midwest, was started in 1960 by John Menard, Jr. Dedicated to the slogan “SAVE BIG MONEY ®”, Menards offers high quality materials and tools for home improvement projects at low prices. Products offered at Menards stores include appliances, pet products, garden supplies, and more.

Menards Big Card