Macy's Credit Card

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

1.5 out of 5 stars
140 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

1.5 out of 5 stars

1.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Apr 14, 2016
Not as bad as it sounds
Emmanuel1920 Cardholder

I was very hesitant to apply especially with my credit being at a 591 transunion and a 588 equifax. I applied online and was told that I needed to call and provide more information. I definitely thought it was a denial so I let it go a day or two. By day three I decided to call back. The lady over over the phone asked me two questions and I answered them it was pertaining to my phone number and she also asked about my social security number and after that there was a short pause in the conversation. She said after about two mins of silence there were able to approve me for a credit line of $300. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Nov 10, 2014
First card I've hated
Anonymous Cardholder

I opened this card because of the benefits they give you when you have a wedding registry.

I have a ton of high quality credit cards.  This is the first one I've hated.  The website is terrible, and it takes about 15-20 minutes to get someone on the phone by the time I navigate the phone menus and manage to not get disconnected.  It's virtually impossible to get your account number so you can pay through any other source but them (ex: your banking website).  

I've attempted to change the statement end date so it syncs with my other cards, and I've had significant trouble with having them change it - they refused the dates I requested due to internal policies.

I regret opening this card, at some point the damage to my credit rating this may cause or the fees I get stuck with will far outweigh any benefits.

P.S. I've never taken the time to review a credit card - this one causes me so much frustration.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Apr 24, 2017
Don't fall for this trap card!
Anonymous Cardholder

I opened this card (after much pushing by Macy's employees) solely for a large discount on a $400 Christmas purchase in November 2016. I planned to divide the total balance by 3 and pay off the balance over a 3-month span, which I did. However, this card has a sneaky little feature called the "minimum interest fee", which will add $2 to your balance every month, whether you use the card or not. I found out in April that I had a $4 balance, which surprised me, seeing as I had not used the card. Citibank, who supplies Macy's with the card, must get a kick out of messing up people's credit scores. They apply this fee monthly, which if not paid on time, results in a late fee as well, which gets reported to the bureau and lowers your score. I take my credit seriously and refuse to carry a card that costs me money (even when advertised as 'no annual fee') when I don't use it. I called Macy's customer service, paid off the fee balance and cancelled the card. I highly suggest you avoid this card unless you plan on shopping at Macy's at least once a month.

more ...
Apr 18, 2017
Thief
Anonymous Cardholder

They don't know wht they r doing .. they keep charging you 

more ...
Apr 13, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

Wanted to make a payment on the account, tried doing it online the system would not let me.. Tried making the payment over the phone and the agents just took me around in circles. 

more ...
Apr 12, 2017
Second credit card open false pretenses
Anonymous Cardholder

I've had a Macy's card for over 11 years and was told that I could use my existing card to make a purchase however the card had been deactivated apparently due to non use over a good period of time. Associate tells me no problem. She can reactivate my card. I said fine and two years later I found a second card that had been opened in my name. I do not open credit cards in order to receive discounts particularly when I already have a credit card with a particularly company as was the case here. I surely don't need two.

more ...
Apr 01, 2017
Macy's ripping off credit card customers
Anonymous Cardholder

I have had a Macy's CC for over 30 years but will be cancelling shortly. On numerous occasions after paying the card in full well before the due date I have been hit with a $2.00 fee. When I call customer service I am informed that that is minimum interest for the month. I have tried to tell customer service that this contradicts the information on the back of the statement I am told that I am not correct but they will take the 2.00 fee off  bill. I did find the mininum interest statement on line but it does not appear anywhere on the billing statement. STAY AWAY FROM THIS CARD

more ...
Mar 31, 2017
DON'T DO IT
Anonymous Cardholder

Paid off my balance they sent me a bill for 27$ they said it was a late fee. Got it removed then got a bill for 56. They said it's a 25$ donation and the late fee. This was really frustrating. They can't be trusted. Then they held the gift card over my head for not paying the balance. Dirt bags!

more ...
Mar 29, 2017
Horrible!!
Anonymous Cardholder

Stay away from this credit card, PLEASE.  It will likely cost me more in credit status and credit worthiness because I missed a payment due date; I did not receive my credit card within a couple weeks as promised and didn't realize the due date.  Received call after call from a phone number that I Googled -----  found out this is normal practice for them.  Outsourced to a company for collections.  Not just after a week overdue but within days.  I will no longer shop at Macy's.  Done.    

more ...
Mar 20, 2017
Always charging interest!
Anonymous Cardholder

Doesn't matter if you pay it off, I've done that twice and two months consecutively they send me bills for the interest...ON A 0 BALANCE! It's like they charge interest on the interest, which is shady. Don't bother with this card, they will scam you out of as much money as possible.

more ...
Mar 19, 2017
Interest policy stinks
Anonymous Cardholder

If you make a partial payment on your account, then understandably there will be an interest charge on your next month's bill.  However, if you then pay the balance in full, you're not done!  They will send you another bill the following month for more interest.  This is the only store credit card I've ever had that does this.  All other cards will not continue to charge interest after you have paid the balance in full. I will never use the Macy's card again because of this practice.

more ...
Mar 18, 2017
WHAT THEY DON'T TELL YOU...
Anonymous Cardholder

I was told I should have the chip on my card and not the old card and to stop using the old card.  Of course, they should have the account balance of the old card linked to the new card after you activate it and when I received it it had an Amer Express logo on it and I called to see why, they said I can use at merchants who accept AmEx. 

They do not tell you that you have to pay 2 separate bills; the customer service told me the old card is not discontinued unless you have paid off the balance and closed the account.  So because I missed a payment I didn't realize was not made to the new balance also, they did a hard credit inquiry and lowered my credit rating.  I made a formal complaint to the BBB, Dept of Consumer Affairs and will to the Attorney General of NY also.  They should not get away with doing this.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Macy's Credit Card