Macy's Credit Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

1.5 out of 5 stars
108 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

1.5 out of 5 stars

1.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jan 30, 2017
Great card if you pay it off monthly!
dmxrob Cardholder

I've been a card holder for 5+  years.  They have consistenly raised my credit limit (now at 6k), and are always sending coupons to be used at Macy's.  You can usually always get an extra 10-15% off everything just by using the card.  I pay the card in full each  month (except for a few times over the years) and they have rewarded me consistently with CLIs.  You can pay your bill in-store, online or by mail. 

Pro Tip:  Open the card when you are making a furniture purchase.  This will get you the biggest bonus bang for your buck!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Apr 01, 2017
Macy's ripping off credit card customers
Anonymous Cardholder

I have had a Macy's CC for over 30 years but will be cancelling shortly. On numerous occasions after paying the card in full well before the due date I have been hit with a $2.00 fee. When I call customer service I am informed that that is minimum interest for the month. I have tried to tell customer service that this contradicts the information on the back of the statement I am told that I am not correct but they will take the 2.00 fee off  bill. I did find the mininum interest statement on line but it does not appear anywhere on the billing statement. STAY AWAY FROM THIS CARD

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Aug 17, 2017
Interest charge on $0
Anonymous Cardholder

Like everyone else has been saying, they put that $2.00 charge on your card even after a balance of $0.  I sent a message via their website, but excpect a robotic response and will be calling to cancel today before they tack on their "late fee" to their $2.00 scam charge.

more ...
Aug 17, 2017
Interest charge on $0
Anonymous Cardholder

Like everyone else has been saying, they put that $2.00 charge on your card even after a balance of $0.  I sent a message via their website, but excpect a robotic response and will be calling to cancel today before they tack on their "late fee" to their $2.00 scam charge.

more ...
Aug 14, 2017
Not worth it
getzamany Cardholder

Use reward credit cards for the money you spent and very bad customer service. They reduced my limit to 300 because I missed one payment. I was going through family problems and forgot to make a payment. I was with them for 5 years with perfect payment history but they didn't appreciate me as loyal customer. I have credit cards with 15000 limit, it was insulting for them to take me down to 300.

more ...
Aug 07, 2017
this card can ruin your fido score
Anonymous Cardholder

Bought furniture at macys and opened this card for on my wife's name - as a result her credit score dived from 760 to 716. Had to repay right away that stupid card, really wish to close it but not now since it may hit her score even worse. Stay away from this card.

more ...
Jul 21, 2017
Not worth it
Debbiedeb909 Cardholder

Mandatory APR increase regardless of how long you've been a loyal member with excellent payment history and great credit score.

more ...
Jul 14, 2017
not professional at all
Anonymous Cardholder

not professional at all

more ...
Jul 06, 2017
Ridiculous
Anonymous Cardholder

Never get it

more ...
Jun 29, 2017
Too expensive With APR increase
Anonymous Cardholder

I have been using this card for years. They just increased the APR from 21% to 25.99%. The coupon discounts don't make this worth the fee. I won't be using my card again until they lower their APR. 

more ...
Jun 28, 2017
25% interest rate? No Thank You!
centrd Cardholder

Macy's credit cards are a joke. I rarely use mine, usually only around Christmas or if there's a big sale and I benefit from using it. But since I use it so infrequently, they've actually put a "security hold" on it before and then I have to talk to their credit department when checking out, holding up the long line behind me. Now they send me a notice saying I can either accept an interest rate increase to 24.99 % or they'll close it. Grrr...I want to close it but will doing so affect my credit rating? I don't want to negatively impact my "excellent" score. 

more ...
Jun 20, 2017
Worhtless card
Anonymous Cardholder

They make it difficult to pay your bill on their website and then you get slapped with a ridiculous fee. I wouldnt recommend this I only got this since they were giving a certain percent off of purchases if you open one.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Macy's Credit Card