Macy's Credit Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

1.5 out of 5 stars
126 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

1.5 out of 5 stars

1.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Apr 14, 2016
Not as bad as it sounds
Emmanuel1920 Cardholder

I was very hesitant to apply especially with my credit being at a 591 transunion and a 588 equifax. I applied online and was told that I needed to call and provide more information. I definitely thought it was a denial so I let it go a day or two. By day three I decided to call back. The lady over over the phone asked me two questions and I answered them it was pertaining to my phone number and she also asked about my social security number and after that there was a short pause in the conversation. She said after about two mins of silence there were able to approve me for a credit line of $300. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Nov 10, 2014
First card I've hated
Anonymous Cardholder

I opened this card because of the benefits they give you when you have a wedding registry.

I have a ton of high quality credit cards.  This is the first one I've hated.  The website is terrible, and it takes about 15-20 minutes to get someone on the phone by the time I navigate the phone menus and manage to not get disconnected.  It's virtually impossible to get your account number so you can pay through any other source but them (ex: your banking website).  

I've attempted to change the statement end date so it syncs with my other cards, and I've had significant trouble with having them change it - they refused the dates I requested due to internal policies.

I regret opening this card, at some point the damage to my credit rating this may cause or the fees I get stuck with will far outweigh any benefits.

P.S. I've never taken the time to review a credit card - this one causes me so much frustration.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jun 19, 2017
add ons
Anonymous Cardholder

after paying my full balance i get a bill in the mail 2 transaction fee. people should know of this

more ...
Jun 08, 2017
Fake charges, you dont want this card
Anonymous Cardholder

They say they will remove crazy fees a then just keep putting them on!

more ...
Jun 08, 2017
Pain in my ........
Anonymous Cardholder

It gave me such a bad experience that I now don't want to take any retail store card. I canceled the card because I was having trouble with their payment system. I completely paid every penny off that day but they somehow managed to charge me 2 dollors interest and kept on adding interest on interest until it was 14 dollors. Then I knew it cause my credit score was ruined. I paid it off completely , then they say I might see another 2 dollor interest charge next month. I had to set up automatic payment for them to charge me every month to have them go away. It felt like I was dealing with cancer.

more ...
Jun 08, 2017
Terrible!
Anonymous Cardholder

I cancelled my Macy's card because it's such a scam. They charge a monthly fee even if you pay off your entire balance on time! $2 per month, but it adds up. Customer service was not helpful, and it took 2 attempts to cancel this card -after I got another $2 bill, I was like - what the heck? To me, these types of fees are so greedy and deter customers from using their Macy's card. It has really turned me off to Macy's in general-I used to be a regular shopper, but I just don't bother shopping there anymore. 

more ...
Jun 05, 2017
2$ monthly charges for nothing.
Anonymous Cardholder

2$ montly charges even when I paid my balance off. I enjoy Macy's. But not this much.

more ...
Jun 05, 2017
2$ monthly charges for nothing.
Anonymous Cardholder

2$ montly charges even when I paid my balance off. I enjoy Macy's. But not this much.

more ...
May 27, 2017
STAY AWAY FROM MACYS AMERICAN EXPRESS
Anonymous Cardholder

 Macys Company is so irresponsible and unprofessional in its credit card services and also tricky to fool people like me to use their macys cards in different places while this company never provides a decent support and customer service to them. When this credit card was suggested to me by one of the agents at one of your stores, they lied to me and fooled me by saying that the card I was going to receive was an Amex credit card which is %100 false because there is no card by this name in the American express official website. It seems to me that Macys has just paid an amount of money to American Express to get the permission to put that logo but your customers should know that this card is no way  considered an Amex Card. In fact, I have put my trust in American Express NOT Macys but your people tricked me in the store. Now I can vividly see the difference between the card that I had expected to receive and the actual card that I am holding . I got ripped off by this company but not being able to remove a charge of $2000 that google adwords stole from me while promising that they would reverse the charge within a week in December 2016 but it never happened until this moment. And now after 6 months from the date that opened a dispute on that amount, Macys credit card company sent me a letter that I would be held responsible to pay $2070 including the original amount plus interest on it ! THAT IS RIDICULOUS! STAY AWAY MACYS COMPANY!!!!

more ...
May 18, 2017
Not worth its value in plastic
Anonymous Cardholder

Everything about this card is garbage. They started charging me these phantom $2 fees for nothing, which I had to call about to have them take it away. They even reported me to credit companies because I hadn't paid one of them on time (my fault for not checking my statement, but since I hadn't spent anything I didn't imagine I'd need to). I had to call them just to have them stop the revolving $2/monthly charges. Their website is also awful, it's broken at least half the time you need to access it. 

Absolutely not worth any savings you might earn at Macys. 

more ...
May 18, 2017
Stay away!
lolo0804 Cardholder

Similar experience to the other reviewers, I had no balance  yet they charged me the $2 for six consecutive months (unknown to me), which resulted in lowering my credit score- actually knocking it from good to fair. I am furious! 

more ...
May 17, 2017
Bad worst I ever had
safety42 Cardholder

I went paperless.  Paid online. I would go online and pay and then put in my register.   I would get a call saying it wasnt paid.   In addition to late fee I started printing confirmations out because it was the only account I ever had this problem with.   So I paid off the balance before the due date.  4 days after they added 2.00.   Would you know months went by and no call saying it was late, no letter just kept adding 2.00 per month.   Shady, bad business ethics.   I just logged in to see what the limit was otherwise I would have never known.   I have 100% paying ontime and this could have really screwed up my record.    I wont use it again.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations
?>

Macy's Credit Card