Macy's Credit Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

1.4 out of 5 stars
80 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

1.5 out of 5 stars

1.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jan 30, 2017
Great card if you pay it off monthly!
dmxrob Cardholder

I've been a card holder for 5+  years.  They have consistenly raised my credit limit (now at 6k), and are always sending coupons to be used at Macy's.  You can usually always get an extra 10-15% off everything just by using the card.  I pay the card in full each  month (except for a few times over the years) and they have rewarded me consistently with CLIs.  You can pay your bill in-store, online or by mail. 

Pro Tip:  Open the card when you are making a furniture purchase.  This will get you the biggest bonus bang for your buck!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Sep 19, 2017
$2 charge every month
swalas Cardholder

You will get charged $2 for not using this card every month. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Dec 02, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

DO NOT GET IT!!!!!!The worst credit card I have ever had! Ruined my credit. Even if you make the payment on time they will still charge you late fee and then another late fee...

more ...
Nov 27, 2017
too high APR
Anonymous Cardholder

They will not lower APR

more ...
Nov 27, 2017
H O R R I B L E
Anonymous Cardholder

HORRIBLE! HORRIBLE! HORRIBLE! HORRIBLE! HORRIBLE! HORRIBLE! HORRIHORRIBLE! HORRIBLE! BLE! HORRIBLE! HORRIBLE! HORRIBLE! HORRIBLE! HORRIBLE! HORRIBLE! HORRIBLE! 

more ...
Nov 13, 2017
Please Do Not Get This Card!

Macy's talks a big game about their store card, "save on this and that, just use your card!". All the savings and coupons never work on anything you are trying to buy of course. I can understand some restrictions to discounts of course but when every single time I enter the store with a coupon and I leave with it unused... That can get annoying. I'm pretty sure every coupon they've sent me I have not been able to use. ANYWAY... That's not the worst part. So I've had my macy's card for a little over a year now and I HAD it set up on my account online so I could pay it online. Somehow that card was removed from my account? I can't remember me removing it for any particuar reason. No big deal. I hit "add a new card" on my account and filled out the info. And for 2 weeks it told me the information was not correct. Uhm... I'm staring right at it... So I created a new online account and tried to add it there. I got farther than before and was able to put in security question answers after entering my card info. But right after that it told me this card was already linked to my account... Wait what? This card is linked to this brand new account I created 30 seconds ago?? Tried it several times, still nothing and the site keeps freezing. I went back to my existing account to try again and now it says the same thing that the card already exists on my account when it clearly does not. I've tried everything and it still does not let me add my card online. Why should I HAVE to go in store to make a payment? What a hassle. And after reading these reviews, I know I'll just be in for a ride if I decide to call customer service or try to cancel my card. Not to mention that I too have also experienced the $2 mystery charges when not using my card and when I posted a complaint they emailed me and gave my account a $2 credit but when do the $2 charges stop? I wish they'd have a reason or a way for you to not be charged on $0. 
In conclusion,

DO NOT get this card.

.You won't be able to get all these "fantastic savings" anyway.

. Good luck using their AWFUL website.

.You'll be charged interest on $0. Yeah because 25% of $0 of course is $2! ... 

 Just save your time and sanity and use cash or a more reputable credit card that isn't known for fraud. 

more ...
Nov 10, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

Customer service is TERRIBLE! Our accounts are going to get closed this week and we won’t ever be using Macy’s for a credit card again. A payment was set up and that payment, on top of the full balance, was paid (so there was a credit on my credit card balance). Spent 2 hours on hold with CS trying to get a refund and still nothing and it’s been a week. Be prepared for long hold times and absolutely worthless customer service agents. 

more ...
Nov 09, 2017
Scams people into paying late fees
Anonymous Cardholder

Macy's Card Holder beware.  I purchased $150 worth of goods in september via a macys.com purchase.  After I received the goods I tried them on and ended up returning $130 worth of the goods because I didn't like how they fit.  In the meantime I had gotten my bill to be paid in october for $150 with a minimum amount of $27 due.  I knew that I had returned the goods and that my current outstanding balance on my card was only $20--- so i paid the $20 (my balance) in full.  Macy's is now saying my account is "past due" because the minimum payment for that statement period was $27, not $20!   Why would I pay the minimum payment if I knew I had returned goods and my entire outstanding balance was only $20!!!!   I don't owe macy's a free loan of $7 against a future purchase that I might make.  Absolutely a scam and it is ridiculous.  Planning on cancelling my card.   Customer service did remove the bogus late fee that they assessed but it was so ridiculous that I had to spend my time dealing with this when I have been a loyal customer of theirs for over 20 years with not so much as one late payment ever.

more ...
Oct 27, 2017
Beyond frustrating
Anonymous Cardholder

I make large payments to Macy’s monthly as I try not to carry a balance.  My latest payment of $400 has already cleared my bank account but has not been credited to my Macy’s account. I called customer service and went through a series of one automated menu after another only to go full circle back to my starting point. After 10 minutes of that, I finally reached a customer rep who had such a heavy accent I couldn’t understand him. I then got transferred to another rep but nobody answered. I called back and went through the lengthy menu and received another rep with a heavy accent. I am told that the payment I made 3 days ago is “floating.”

The website works about 50% of the time so I must drive to the store to make my payment. 

I asked the customer rep where I was calling and she reluctantly said “we are ambassadors of Macy’s in the Philippines. Macy’s is a multi billion dollar Corp and they out source jobs to another country! 

I’m going right now to pay off my account. This all is very bad business practice and customer service. This is 40 minutes of my life that I’ll never get back. 

more ...
Oct 17, 2017
Horibble

Do not even get this card if you are planning to get your next credit card.

First of all their customer service is really really bad. They will not even try to dispute an unauthorized charge on your account. They tell you to call the third party who charged you and resolve it with them.

Then, today I log into my macys account to find out that they have lowered my credit limit from $2000 to $300. That's a 85% decrease! This card is a complete joke. I made my payments on time every month, and when I decided to pay off my card in full, they decided to take down my limit by 85%. Ridiculous!

This company is just a complete joke.

Do not waste you money with these crooks.

more ...
Oct 05, 2017
damedu Cardholder

I closed my account and was not notified of a debt of less than $200. I moved home and never got notifications until a collection agency reached out. Great! My credit was damaged by Macy's for less than $200, do yourself a favor, stay away from Macy's credit cards, they won't negotiate with you erasing anything from your credit report, even if you pay them off.

more ...
Sep 30, 2017
No Customer Care/Service
davidbarerun Cardholder

A nightmare trying to access the accont online!  And forget any customer service/care on the phone!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Macy's Credit Card