Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Macy's Credit Card

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

1.6 out of 5 stars
150 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

1.5 out of 5 stars

1.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Apr 14, 2016
Not as bad as it sounds
Emmanuel1920 Cardholder

I was very hesitant to apply especially with my credit being at a 591 transunion and a 588 equifax. I applied online and was told that I needed to call and provide more information. I definitely thought it was a denial so I let it go a day or two. By day three I decided to call back. The lady over over the phone asked me two questions and I answered them it was pertaining to my phone number and she also asked about my social security number and after that there was a short pause in the conversation. She said after about two mins of silence there were able to approve me for a credit line of $300. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 08, 2016
Very Shady Business Practices BEWARE!!!
8thray Cardholder

Paid off the card in full, just prior to that my email was hacked could not be accessed or recovered by anyone.  Since I received paperless statements to that account, it was out of sight out of mind.  Macy's/Citi charges residual interest...A VERY DECEPTIVE PRACTICE!  So although I paid the card off a small interest amount was charged.  Since I though the account was paid off and did not receive my statements, I thought all was well.  Still no problem at this point.  HOWEVER after 120 days, 120 in late fees and reporting to the credit bureaus, they finally called me!  All other accounts and cards I have call me at the 30 day late mark if there was a mistake.  If it is not a law it should be. THEY ADMIT IT WAS THEIR FAULT AND REMOVED ALL FEES AND REMOVED 60 DAYS OF THE 2 CREDIT REPORTS AND 30 DAYS OF EXPERIAN, EVEN THOUGH THE APOLOGIZED AND PROMISED TO REMOVE IT COMPLETELY DUE TO NOT NOTIFYING ME PROPERLY!  I had never heard of this practice before, but it is regarded as a tricky tactic to screw people into late fee's.  I will never trust Citi nor shop at Macy's/Bloomingdales ever.  I hope you don't either.    

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Feb 22, 2017
HORRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE
EYMRS Cardholder

Citi wasn't on my list of major banks to have a card with (I have AMEX, Capital One, Barclay's, and Bank of America) and now I will never. 

I've had this account for 6 months and have charged and paid in full numerous times. All of a sudden, I make a $195 charge, pay $195 a few days later, and the payment needs 10 days to "clear" the bank. It is an electronic payment!!!! Clear WHAT, exactly? 

This card just made it on the list of closures with Comenity bank.

more ...
Feb 17, 2017
Horrible
Anonymous Cardholder

if you don't have please don't get it

everytime i make a payment  and a week later then send me an email stating that the transction has not been completed ( mind you they are still adding intrest)

horrible serices

save your time!!

more ...
Feb 17, 2017
HORRIBLE!!!!!!
Anonymous Cardholder

I opened a an account in store to get a discount. I never received the card or an invoice. A month later I get a collections call telling me the payment is past due and I now owe interest plus a $35 late fee. I told them that can't be the case because I haven't received a bill. They sent the invoice to my email address and it's in a secured format where I can't access it without entering the card number of the cars I never received. They said they were waiving the late fee but when the charge came through my bank account there it was for the full amount including the fees. Now they tell me I agreed to have that amount charged and I have no proof otherwise. I can guarantee I will not only never use their card again but I will avoid Macy's altogether going forward.

more ...
Feb 15, 2017
Don't get it
Anonymous Cardholder

Don't get it 

more ...
Feb 15, 2017
Closed account and still being charged
Anonymous Cardholder

I had my card and it wasn't bad but when I paid for this offer you're supposed to get money back at the end of the period. Well I never recieved anything multiple times. I closed my account after years of having it open in Oct 2016 and I'm getting emails now that I have a balance of interest and late fees. I've had to call every month to have them wave the fees and get the run around and I'm told I should not be charged further more since the card has been closed for so long. It's ridiculous and now I'm even wondering if theyre doing this to people other than myself. I don't even know if it's affecting my credit yet. Very disappointed in macys.

more ...
Feb 06, 2017
Terrible customer service
Anonymous Cardholder

I pay my card in full every month - now they keep billing me $2.00 for a late fee.  When I called to question it, the customer service told me he removed this as it was an error...yet I keep getting the recurring charge back.  Now customer service is telling me it wasn't an error and it keep going up by $2.00.  I plan to close my account.  This is a joke.  My credit score is over 800 and they are marking my credit report as a late payment!  Absolutely the worst...

more ...
Feb 01, 2017
Unreliable system, support and service
Anonymous Cardholder

I had my credit card compromised. I don't know how it happened. I have my credit card with me all the time, and I barely use Macy's card. I have several other credit cards and I have no problem. I went through the dispute charge process. I had spent more than 10 hours of paperwork and customer service call back and forth. I was okay with it because they were helping me to clear my balance. I closed my credit card and I did not activate the new card they issued because I no longer trust the security of their card. 

The dispute charges were clear after few months. A month after that, there is a charge showing up (at this point I've already closed my account and did not activate new card). I contacted customer support to clear that dispute charge that should have been cleared few months back. They said they will clear it and I asked for confirmation letter. Few weeks later I received the letter stating that I have zero balance. New balance is showing up again with interest after few weeks. After spending another hours of hours of customer support call, the balance was finally down to zero. This process took few months with customer service call back and forth (in addition to over 10 hours that I've spent to dispute charges). 

Few weeks after, I receive an email saying that there is a balance due for my card. I checked my balance and I was charged $2 for zero balance. Of course I'll have to call and spend hours of hours of discussion for $2.

I can understand if you have a bad customer service. But having the unrelible system and showing up balance for unknown reason is not acceptable. I've already closed my card for almost a year now because I don't want any mistake from your system. It's still sending me email and asking for balance due. I think this is getting very very annoying.

I do NOT recommend Macy's card to anyone. 

more ...
Jan 30, 2017
Great card if you pay it off monthly!
dmxrob Cardholder

I've been a card holder for 5+  years.  They have consistenly raised my credit limit (now at 6k), and are always sending coupons to be used at Macy's.  You can usually always get an extra 10-15% off everything just by using the card.  I pay the card in full each  month (except for a few times over the years) and they have rewarded me consistently with CLIs.  You can pay your bill in-store, online or by mail. 

Pro Tip:  Open the card when you are making a furniture purchase.  This will get you the biggest bonus bang for your buck!

more ...
Jan 29, 2017
FRAUD
Anonymous Cardholder

I stopped using it completely for a long time so I obviously thought I had no payments due, but they charge you for not using the card. Basically if you have a balance of $0, they will charge you. I was charged $2 every month when I stopped using it. The $2 accumulated, and they didn't even notice me. This affected my credit score dramatically, as I was unaware of the $2 fees. Do not get this card! I am cancelling my card!

more ...
Jan 28, 2017
one of the worst credit cards
Anonymous Cardholder

high interest rates, and difficulty signing in to website, coupons can never be applied to my items even those on sale.i was told the balance on my Macy's card would transfer over to my Macy's Amex card which is inccorrect. Then was told to dispose of my Macy's Card and keep the Macy's Amex. 2 months later I incurred late fees of 37.00! Today i paid off the balance on my Macy's card and will discontinue the Amex once fully paid.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Macy's Credit Card