Macy's Credit Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

1.6 out of 5 stars
132 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

1.5 out of 5 stars

1.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Apr 14, 2016
Not as bad as it sounds
Emmanuel1920 Cardholder

I was very hesitant to apply especially with my credit being at a 591 transunion and a 588 equifax. I applied online and was told that I needed to call and provide more information. I definitely thought it was a denial so I let it go a day or two. By day three I decided to call back. The lady over over the phone asked me two questions and I answered them it was pertaining to my phone number and she also asked about my social security number and after that there was a short pause in the conversation. She said after about two mins of silence there were able to approve me for a credit line of $300. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Nov 10, 2014
First card I've hated
Anonymous Cardholder

I opened this card because of the benefits they give you when you have a wedding registry.

I have a ton of high quality credit cards.  This is the first one I've hated.  The website is terrible, and it takes about 15-20 minutes to get someone on the phone by the time I navigate the phone menus and manage to not get disconnected.  It's virtually impossible to get your account number so you can pay through any other source but them (ex: your banking website).  

I've attempted to change the statement end date so it syncs with my other cards, and I've had significant trouble with having them change it - they refused the dates I requested due to internal policies.

I regret opening this card, at some point the damage to my credit rating this may cause or the fees I get stuck with will far outweigh any benefits.

P.S. I've never taken the time to review a credit card - this one causes me so much frustration.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

May 18, 2017
Not worth its value in plastic
Anonymous Cardholder

Everything about this card is garbage. They started charging me these phantom $2 fees for nothing, which I had to call about to have them take it away. They even reported me to credit companies because I hadn't paid one of them on time (my fault for not checking my statement, but since I hadn't spent anything I didn't imagine I'd need to). I had to call them just to have them stop the revolving $2/monthly charges. Their website is also awful, it's broken at least half the time you need to access it. 

Absolutely not worth any savings you might earn at Macys. 

more ...
May 18, 2017
Stay away!
lolo0804 Cardholder

Similar experience to the other reviewers, I had no balance  yet they charged me the $2 for six consecutive months (unknown to me), which resulted in lowering my credit score- actually knocking it from good to fair. I am furious! 

more ...
May 17, 2017
Bad worst I ever had
safety42 Cardholder

I went paperless.  Paid online. I would go online and pay and then put in my register.   I would get a call saying it wasnt paid.   In addition to late fee I started printing confirmations out because it was the only account I ever had this problem with.   So I paid off the balance before the due date.  4 days after they added 2.00.   Would you know months went by and no call saying it was late, no letter just kept adding 2.00 per month.   Shady, bad business ethics.   I just logged in to see what the limit was otherwise I would have never known.   I have 100% paying ontime and this could have really screwed up my record.    I wont use it again.

more ...
May 02, 2017
Very bad
Anonymous Cardholder

Stay away from this card. They kept charging me even after closing my account.

more ...
May 01, 2017
Payments complex, but price is right
Anonymous Cardholder

Macy's website won't allow me to make any payments.  Have to call and wait on hold for ages.  But Macy's has great sales, so I put up with it.

more ...
Apr 24, 2017
Don't fall for this trap card!
Anonymous Cardholder

I opened this card (after much pushing by Macy's employees) solely for a large discount on a $400 Christmas purchase in November 2016. I planned to divide the total balance by 3 and pay off the balance over a 3-month span, which I did. However, this card has a sneaky little feature called the "minimum interest fee", which will add $2 to your balance every month, whether you use the card or not. I found out in April that I had a $4 balance, which surprised me, seeing as I had not used the card. Citibank, who supplies Macy's with the card, must get a kick out of messing up people's credit scores. They apply this fee monthly, which if not paid on time, results in a late fee as well, which gets reported to the bureau and lowers your score. I take my credit seriously and refuse to carry a card that costs me money (even when advertised as 'no annual fee') when I don't use it. I called Macy's customer service, paid off the fee balance and cancelled the card. I highly suggest you avoid this card unless you plan on shopping at Macy's at least once a month.

more ...
Apr 18, 2017
Thief
Anonymous Cardholder

They don't know wht they r doing .. they keep charging you 

more ...
Apr 13, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

Wanted to make a payment on the account, tried doing it online the system would not let me.. Tried making the payment over the phone and the agents just took me around in circles. 

more ...
Apr 12, 2017
Second credit card open false pretenses
Anonymous Cardholder

I've had a Macy's card for over 11 years and was told that I could use my existing card to make a purchase however the card had been deactivated apparently due to non use over a good period of time. Associate tells me no problem. She can reactivate my card. I said fine and two years later I found a second card that had been opened in my name. I do not open credit cards in order to receive discounts particularly when I already have a credit card with a particularly company as was the case here. I surely don't need two.

more ...
Apr 01, 2017
Macy's ripping off credit card customers
Anonymous Cardholder

I have had a Macy's CC for over 30 years but will be cancelling shortly. On numerous occasions after paying the card in full well before the due date I have been hit with a $2.00 fee. When I call customer service I am informed that that is minimum interest for the month. I have tried to tell customer service that this contradicts the information on the back of the statement I am told that I am not correct but they will take the 2.00 fee off  bill. I did find the mininum interest statement on line but it does not appear anywhere on the billing statement. STAY AWAY FROM THIS CARD

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Macy's Credit Card