Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Macy's Credit Card

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

1.6 out of 5 stars
167 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

1.5 out of 5 stars

1.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Apr 14, 2016
Not as bad as it sounds
Emmanuel1920 Cardholder

I was very hesitant to apply especially with my credit being at a 591 transunion and a 588 equifax. I applied online and was told that I needed to call and provide more information. I definitely thought it was a denial so I let it go a day or two. By day three I decided to call back. The lady over over the phone asked me two questions and I answered them it was pertaining to my phone number and she also asked about my social security number and after that there was a short pause in the conversation. She said after about two mins of silence there were able to approve me for a credit line of $300. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 08, 2016
Very Shady Business Practices BEWARE!!!
8thray Cardholder

Paid off the card in full, just prior to that my email was hacked could not be accessed or recovered by anyone.  Since I received paperless statements to that account, it was out of sight out of mind.  Macy's/Citi charges residual interest...A VERY DECEPTIVE PRACTICE!  So although I paid the card off a small interest amount was charged.  Since I though the account was paid off and did not receive my statements, I thought all was well.  Still no problem at this point.  HOWEVER after 120 days, 120 in late fees and reporting to the credit bureaus, they finally called me!  All other accounts and cards I have call me at the 30 day late mark if there was a mistake.  If it is not a law it should be. THEY ADMIT IT WAS THEIR FAULT AND REMOVED ALL FEES AND REMOVED 60 DAYS OF THE 2 CREDIT REPORTS AND 30 DAYS OF EXPERIAN, EVEN THOUGH THE APOLOGIZED AND PROMISED TO REMOVE IT COMPLETELY DUE TO NOT NOTIFYING ME PROPERLY!  I had never heard of this practice before, but it is regarded as a tricky tactic to screw people into late fee's.  I will never trust Citi nor shop at Macy's/Bloomingdales ever.  I hope you don't either.    

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jan 17, 2017
Lowered credit limit without warning
Anonymous Cardholder

Of the credit cards I have, Macy's is my least favorite. They lowered my nearly $2,000 credit limit to $300 without any warning. I didn't realize this until after I made a purchase online and decided to investigate what my limit was now. I was surprised to see it go down to $300 because the purchase I made was so close to the credit limit. The only reason why I didn't go over limit is because I used gift cards with my purchase. But that could've gone left real quick. I feel like it's irresponsible of them to do this. Their customer service is not helpful.

more ...
Jan 17, 2017
DO NOT APPLY TO MACYS CREDIT CARD
Anonymous Cardholder

Horrible customer service. High interest rates and fees. They will try to steal your money if they have a chance. I had to be calling for two week straight to get my money back because they took two payments out of my account and the only thing they did was to put it as a credit on my macys account. They will never issue a refund to your bank. They rather keep the money! Very sneaky way of doing business. DO NOT GET THE MACYS CREDIT CARD!!! AVOID

more ...
Jan 14, 2017
Terrible
Anonymous Cardholder

Absolutely the worst phone customer service EVER!

more ...
Jan 13, 2017
WORST CREDIT CARD EVER!!!
Anonymous Cardholder

After you pay your balance in full Macy's will continue to charge you $2.00 every month. One month it was marked as an interest fee (how you get charged interest on a $0 balance is beyond me!), the next month it was listed as an "Other fee" with no other explanation beyond that. Needless to say I am calling to complain and cancel this card immediately! What jokers!

more ...
Jan 13, 2017
Nothing special
oshiet Cardholder

Does not offer financing and the interest is high. They also charge a minimun of $2 a month to keep the card, even if you have a $0 balance on it... They will also put your account as "Past Due" if you do not check every month and pay the dang minimum interest charge, which freeze your credit with them... It's also very frustrating getting any credit increase with their bank. I've been stuck with the same limit for over 2 years now.

Over all, even if you pay off your balance every month after saving the possible 15-20% on certain items, it's a big headache to maintain this credit card with that silly $2 charge every month... And the fine print for any savings with the credit card is really limited, so I honestly just pay cash if I shop at this store now.

more ...
Jan 10, 2017
Not of fan!
Anonymous Cardholder

The credit card department actually called the house to have me pay over the phone. I didn't know if it was some other group trying to hack me and get information. I asked to talk to the supervisor, was put on hold and then listened to music till they disconnected me. I called back and was disappointed by supervisor I was finally put through to.  I had to ask three people multiple times to cancel my card. I dont need harassment when there are plenty of other ways to shop there.

more ...
Jan 09, 2017
Shady practices.
Anonymous Cardholder

Made an online purchase.  Was charged full price.  Called Customer Service and was assured the difference between what my original online invoice showed and what I was charged would be credited to my account.  It has not been.  Looked at Macy's website and their copy of my invoice now shows the full price, not the amount I agreed to pay on the original invoice, using their holiday % off sale.  And now they've added a $2.00 fee.  I will fight this and then close my account. 

more ...
Jan 05, 2017
Love this card!
Taylorelse Cardholder

 Excellent customer service, recieved many late fees for making late payments and they were always waved. Was approved for the card 4 years ago when I was 21 for 300 limit which was average for me at the time. Couple years later after using the card all the time and periodically asking for credit limit increases my limit is now 20,000! Company has always taken care of me as a customer and never once did they pull a hard inquiry for a credit limit increase. Over all a great experience with this card and very happy I have it! Also, having the card makes returns very easy and the store can always look up my card so I do not have to carry it with me!

more ...
Dec 21, 2016
DONT NOT TRUST THIS DEVIL!
Anonymous Cardholder

AVOID WITH ALL OF YOUR STRENGTH.  IF YOU ACCEPT ONE OF THESE CARDS YOU WILL PAY FOR IT LATER.... JUST PAY CASH AND LIVE A HAPPY LIFE. 

more ...
Dec 20, 2016
a trip to hell
Anonymous Cardholder

I am canceling my card this is a terrible business in custmer service.  I will not go and buy anything in Macys again.  I bought one lousey dress and they charged me shipping and handling and other costs I was unable to identify.  After over 34 minutes on the phone and the web site not helpful.  I called back and  canceled my card.  Buyer beware.  I paid off my card and never will buy a thiing from them again.  Hello Zappps. Amazon and small business shops who will get my money.  Good buy Macys.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Macy's Credit Card