Macy's Credit Card Reviews

Macy
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

1.3 out of 5 stars
9 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

1.5 out of 5 stars

1.5 5
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Dec 11, 2019
Bad credit practices
Shannadl Cardholder

The credit process to increase/decrease limits is so arbitrary.  Have always paid, often have a 0 balance and get notice they've slashed limit.  Reviewed credit report and no changes so this was ridiculous!

more ...
Oct 08, 2019
Beware! Terrible customer service!
marnie0295 Cardholder

As noted in the other reviews, the customer service sucks! I was 30 days late, due to not receiving a paper statement and I simply forgot about it because I never use the card and my credit score dropped 90 points due to this onetime thing. All they say, there is nothing we can do, which is complete BS. Very unfair that my credit score is ruined for 7 years because of a simple mistake. I am canceling and I will tell others about my terrible experience!

more ...
Aug 03, 2019
Imposible to pay online. High interests
NicoPerfetti Cardholder

Imposible to pay online. Their whole process is old and clumsy. I kept getting server response errors and customer support wasn't able to help.

I was 42 days past due and my debt was duplicated. I forgot to pay by phone or go to the store.

Do not get this card.

more ...
Mar 25, 2019
Bunch of theves
Vanessa19822 Cardholder

I am rating this credit card with MINIUS 10 stars.
Do not use it! Bunch of thieves and liars.
They will ripp you of. By liaing to you.
They told to the store one story and then they charge you.

They told to the store that I have 2 year promotion with no interest and it actually it was one year.

On my first statement they added the interest also. I am glad I payed attention. I called them and this is how I found out that my promotion will end in 12 month.

Went back to the store and talked to people in the store. They told them something else.

They dont deserve to do bussinees with them. They need to be closed and taken to court.

Liars!

more ...
Mar 14, 2019
No Problems with Card But......
Anonymous Cardholder

Very fast to include your purchase to the credit bureau which is fine but S L O W to update credit bureau after its paid.

more ...
Dec 28, 2018
Disgusting Treatment of Customers

I went into the store to return something and the cashier signed me up for the rewards program without telling me there was a charge. When I got my statement, I saw there was $25 charge. I called and explained what happened and they said it would take a billing cycle to remove from my account. A month later, my statement showed the$25 charge and a late fee! I called again and they removed the late fee and said it would take two to three billing cycles to show. I just received a credit karma notification that I'm past due on my Macy's account!!! So I called AGAIN and explained that I've been waiting for 3 months for this stupid charge to be removed and now it's caused problems with my credit. They were incredibly unhelpful and I'm beyond frustrated. I finally just paid the whole balance due and will never, ever shop at Macy's again. Unbelievable!!!

more ...
Dec 17, 2018
no customer loyalty
upseteddie Cardholder

I have the macy platinum card, after years of 100% on time payments, i missed one payment for $68, that i made on time, but was returned because i had one to many digits on my account number, and they cut my limit by 2/3! And would not restore it. If you miss one payment on yuor regular credit card they don't take such drastic action. so, its all good as long as i'm a loyal customer to them and make my payments on time every month, but as soon as I miss a payment, Macy's true colors and customer loyalty shows! i am very disappointed with this department store and i vow that i will never give them another penny. Because they don't give a sh!+ about their consumers. And if you speak to a rep, all they're gonna tell you is, the system, the system, the syems did it. there is nothing we can do. Thats bull****, somebody can do something but they choose not too, becuase Macy could care two sh!t!!!!!!!!!!  My experience with American express has been phenomenal! i can say they care about their clients. I can also say the same about capital one, i am really ****ed off, i feel like a sucka, like i've been had! Is Macys a bad store card to have? NO its not, as long as you dont get jammed up, cause as soon as you do, they will **** on you hard, and you'll see your credit rating drop because macy has NOT F#*k!NG LOYALTY......................................

more ...
Dec 12, 2018
Extremely Bad and Unreliable
Alaa1981 Cardholder

one of the worst cards you could ever get, I had my card with them for more than 2 years, never missed a payment, and all of the sudden they cut my limit down to 500$ from 3500$  originally, called them and got that BS answers about credit report factors and reviews, no willingness to rectify the situation, cold attitude from customer service, I have been and still platinum customer since I do a lot of purchase using that card,  think no more now!, please don't waste your time and credit points with this card 

more ...
Dec 12, 2018
Alaa1981 Cardholder

one of the worst cards you could ever get, I had my card with them for more than 2 years, never missed a payment, and all of the sudden they cut my limit down to 500$ from 3500$  originally, called them and got that BS answers about credit report factors and reviews, no willingness to rectify the situation, cold attitude from customer service, I have been and still platinum customer since I do a lot of purchase using that card,  think no more now!, please don't waste your time and credit points with this card 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Dec 17, 2018

just went through the same experience, read Upseteddie

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations
 
Macy

Macy's Credit Card