Macy's Credit Card

Overall card rating

2.2
184 Reviews
from Credit Karma members

Most helpful positive review

Dec 15, 2017
Love it
Credit Karma Member

I have had this carf for 1 year 7 months, I have never had one issue, I started with a credit of $300 I am now at $10,000. You have to log into macys.com to access your credit card account. I see lots of posters saying that the credit card website is difficult to navigate. I have never had an issue, I get tons of coupons and the Macys Cash is awesome. When I applied for the card they needed to speak to me to verify that it was me after that the account was opened and I use it and make timely payments some times I pay it off sometimes I carry a balance.

30
1
0

Most helpful negative review

Sep 19, 2017
$2 charge every month
Credit Karma Member

You will get charged $2 for not using this card every month.

21
5
2


Member ratings


All member reviews (184)

40
12
16
7
109

Apr 23, 2022
A waste of my third hard pull
Credit Karma Member

Approved for $300 after applying online yesterday with a 722 credit score. Called in today to see if that was accurate and to possibly try for a higher credit line and was not approved for that. A little disappointed. I pay in full each statement on my other cards so I guess I'll just wait until 6 months to try again. I thought I had gotten approved for the American Express Macy's Card yesterday, but the representative told me it is not. So this is even more disappointing. I feel like I wasted my third hard pull. Also, the 20% off of my purchase will not be applied until the end of the first billing cycle. Would've been better to apply at time of purchase. Well, let's see how this journey will go, I hope for a great one.

0
0
0

Apr 12, 2022
Inconsistent Credit Limit
Credit Karma Member

I've had a Macy's card for over a decade now. I never had more than a $1200 limit (even though I have twice that at Boscov's and $7k at JCPenney). But a year or so ago, they unexpectedly and with no notice slashed my limit to $800. Now, again with no notice, they cut it back to $600. My credit score hasn't changed, my financial situation hasn't changed, the frequency with which I use the card hasn't changed. They seem to just pick cards at random and slash their limit with no notice. I wouldn't have even known if I hadn't logged on to Credit Karma and seen that my limit decreased. Last time it happened, I asked for an increase again, and was told that it was too soon after the decrease. I won't close the account because I don't want to lose any more credit or number of accounts, but I certainly won't shop there anymore.

0
0
0

Feb 28, 2022
Watch out and beware
Credit Karma Member

I purchased a piece of furniture on an interest free for 1-year agreement. On the third statement, interest charges started to appear. I called in to correct the charges and was able to get a credit. You have to watch your back with this card...most people probably just pay the bill and Citibank reaps the profits.

0
0
0

Dec 21, 2021
Terrible Costumer Service
Credit Karma Member

You won't believe how unprofessional is the customer service. I asked for the supervisor and he hung up on me! Every single call for easy work takes 15 minutes at least.

3
0
0

Jul 23, 2021
NO GOOD
Credit Karma Member

WHAT DO YOU GET FOR PAYING YOUR CARD OFF.THEY CLOSE YOUR ACCOUNT . THAT'S REAL NICE

3
0
0

Mar 25, 2021
Worst credit
Credit Karma Member

Worst credit I’ve ever had, I made a payment and I receive message in app for “Thanks for make a payment”, after that my payment returned and they didn’t let me know and I didn’t check my app because I wasn’t any shop, and no balance , and they reported to credit, and l lost 80 point just for 34$. It’s really effect my life.

5
0
0

Sep 16, 2020
Horrible
Credit Karma Member

The Macy’s card is the worst retail card I have ever had. Not only they charge a lot of interest but they also have very bad service. My account was not past due or delinquent but they still send me to collection agency on March 21,2020. Just because I had called them and had told them I lost my job due to Covid. Not only they didn’t provide any assistance but also they send me to a collection agency.

4
0
0

Apr 28, 2020
Horrible experience
Credit Karma Member

Found out Macys card reported me days late. I hve been a long time customer and always pay my balances. Macy had not credited my return even when they show recieving the return it say in process can not get anyone to answer emails and forget getting through by phone. I was finally able to speak with a customer service and all she could tell me is I would have to MAIL a letter with my complaint!!! I was so mad I could cry. This is not Macys it is the bank who backs Macys cards. I am canceling and reporting THEM

4
0
0

Mar 11, 2020
This card dropped my credit 107 points
Credit Karma Member

They don't send you alerts, email, any calls for payment. If you get this card pay it immediately after you purchase. No warning they will drop your limit. Very confused.

6
2
0

Feb 26, 2020
Feel my pain please
Credit Karma Member

Please don't go for this credit card. They don't use modern techniques to send statement. I didn't know that this credit card existed in my account. I had owed a little of $50 , they never remind you or send alert like modern banks to pay. And now they reported missed payment to credit bureau. I own 2 other credit cards from good banks and never missed any payments. However because of Macy, my credit score dropped 150 points I was charged $100 to close the account. Still they didn't remove negative remark on credit bureau. I will never deal with Macy again in my life. I hope this company go bankrupt.

8
0
0

1-10 of 184

See Approval Odds before you apply

We’ll estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. Join today — it’s free! You’ll also get:

Sign up
  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Macy's Credit Card

Macy's Credit Card


These ratings and reviews are provided by our users. Banks, issuers and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee this content, are not responsible for it, and may not even be aware of it.

†† The opinions you read here come from our editorial team. Credit Karma receives compensation from third-party advertisers, but that doesn’t affect our editors' opinions. Our marketing partners don’t review, approve or endorse our editorial content. It’s accurate to the best of our knowledge when it’s posted.