Macy's Credit Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

1.5 out of 5 stars
122 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

1.5 out of 5 stars

1.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Apr 14, 2016
Not as bad as it sounds
Emmanuel1920 Cardholder

I was very hesitant to apply especially with my credit being at a 591 transunion and a 588 equifax. I applied online and was told that I needed to call and provide more information. I definitely thought it was a denial so I let it go a day or two. By day three I decided to call back. The lady over over the phone asked me two questions and I answered them it was pertaining to my phone number and she also asked about my social security number and after that there was a short pause in the conversation. She said after about two mins of silence there were able to approve me for a credit line of $300. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Nov 10, 2014
First card I've hated
Anonymous Cardholder

I opened this card because of the benefits they give you when you have a wedding registry.

I have a ton of high quality credit cards.  This is the first one I've hated.  The website is terrible, and it takes about 15-20 minutes to get someone on the phone by the time I navigate the phone menus and manage to not get disconnected.  It's virtually impossible to get your account number so you can pay through any other source but them (ex: your banking website).  

I've attempted to change the statement end date so it syncs with my other cards, and I've had significant trouble with having them change it - they refused the dates I requested due to internal policies.

I regret opening this card, at some point the damage to my credit rating this may cause or the fees I get stuck with will far outweigh any benefits.

P.S. I've never taken the time to review a credit card - this one causes me so much frustration.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jul 21, 2017
Not worth it
Debbiedeb909 Cardholder

Mandatory APR increase regardless of how long you've been a loyal member with excellent payment history and great credit score.

more ...
Jul 14, 2017
not professional at all
Anonymous Cardholder

not professional at all

more ...
Jul 06, 2017
Ridiculous
Anonymous Cardholder

Never get it

more ...
Jun 29, 2017
Too expensive With APR increase
Anonymous Cardholder

I have been using this card for years. They just increased the APR from 21% to 25.99%. The coupon discounts don't make this worth the fee. I won't be using my card again until they lower their APR. 

more ...
Jun 28, 2017
25% interest rate? No Thank You!
centrd Cardholder

Macy's credit cards are a joke. I rarely use mine, usually only around Christmas or if there's a big sale and I benefit from using it. But since I use it so infrequently, they've actually put a "security hold" on it before and then I have to talk to their credit department when checking out, holding up the long line behind me. Now they send me a notice saying I can either accept an interest rate increase to 24.99 % or they'll close it. Grrr...I want to close it but will doing so affect my credit rating? I don't want to negatively impact my "excellent" score. 

more ...
Jun 20, 2017
Worhtless card
Anonymous Cardholder

They make it difficult to pay your bill on their website and then you get slapped with a ridiculous fee. I wouldnt recommend this I only got this since they were giving a certain percent off of purchases if you open one.

more ...
Jun 19, 2017
add ons
Anonymous Cardholder

after paying my full balance i get a bill in the mail 2 transaction fee. people should know of this

more ...
Jun 08, 2017
Fake charges, you dont want this card
Anonymous Cardholder

They say they will remove crazy fees a then just keep putting them on!

more ...
Jun 08, 2017
Pain in my ........
Anonymous Cardholder

It gave me such a bad experience that I now don't want to take any retail store card. I canceled the card because I was having trouble with their payment system. I completely paid every penny off that day but they somehow managed to charge me 2 dollors interest and kept on adding interest on interest until it was 14 dollors. Then I knew it cause my credit score was ruined. I paid it off completely , then they say I might see another 2 dollor interest charge next month. I had to set up automatic payment for them to charge me every month to have them go away. It felt like I was dealing with cancer.

more ...
Jun 08, 2017
Terrible!
Anonymous Cardholder

I cancelled my Macy's card because it's such a scam. They charge a monthly fee even if you pay off your entire balance on time! $2 per month, but it adds up. Customer service was not helpful, and it took 2 attempts to cancel this card -after I got another $2 bill, I was like - what the heck? To me, these types of fees are so greedy and deter customers from using their Macy's card. It has really turned me off to Macy's in general-I used to be a regular shopper, but I just don't bother shopping there anymore. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Macy's Credit Card