Macy's Credit Card

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

1.6 out of 5 stars
146 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

1.5 out of 5 stars

1.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Apr 14, 2016
Not as bad as it sounds
Emmanuel1920 Cardholder

I was very hesitant to apply especially with my credit being at a 591 transunion and a 588 equifax. I applied online and was told that I needed to call and provide more information. I definitely thought it was a denial so I let it go a day or two. By day three I decided to call back. The lady over over the phone asked me two questions and I answered them it was pertaining to my phone number and she also asked about my social security number and after that there was a short pause in the conversation. She said after about two mins of silence there were able to approve me for a credit line of $300. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jan 29, 2017
FRAUD
Anonymous Cardholder

I stopped using it completely for a long time so I obviously thought I had no payments due, but they charge you for not using the card. Basically if you have a balance of $0, they will charge you. I was charged $2 every month when I stopped using it. The $2 accumulated, and they didn't even notice me. This affected my credit score dramatically, as I was unaware of the $2 fees. Do not get this card! I am cancelling my card!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Mar 20, 2017
Always charging interest!
Anonymous Cardholder

Doesn't matter if you pay it off, I've done that twice and two months consecutively they send me bills for the interest...ON A 0 BALANCE! It's like they charge interest on the interest, which is shady. Don't bother with this card, they will scam you out of as much money as possible.

more ...
Mar 19, 2017
Interest policy stinks
Anonymous Cardholder

If you make a partial payment on your account, then understandably there will be an interest charge on your next month's bill.  However, if you then pay the balance in full, you're not done!  They will send you another bill the following month for more interest.  This is the only store credit card I've ever had that does this.  All other cards will not continue to charge interest after you have paid the balance in full. I will never use the Macy's card again because of this practice.

more ...
Mar 18, 2017
WHAT THEY DON'T TELL YOU...
Anonymous Cardholder

I was told I should have the chip on my card and not the old card and to stop using the old card.  Of course, they should have the account balance of the old card linked to the new card after you activate it and when I received it it had an Amer Express logo on it and I called to see why, they said I can use at merchants who accept AmEx. 

They do not tell you that you have to pay 2 separate bills; the customer service told me the old card is not discontinued unless you have paid off the balance and closed the account.  So because I missed a payment I didn't realize was not made to the new balance also, they did a hard credit inquiry and lowered my credit rating.  I made a formal complaint to the BBB, Dept of Consumer Affairs and will to the Attorney General of NY also.  They should not get away with doing this.

more ...
Mar 18, 2017
Charge over and over
Anonymous Cardholder

Very bad card. I fill like Macy's credit card still my money 💰 they do over charge on my card. :(

more ...
Mar 14, 2017
The card is great, it's the credit depar
Anonymous Cardholder

There really should be a class action law suit! Here goes... unbenounced to my knowledge when I opened my Macy's account I was automatically enrolled into a credit protection program. Upon me taking not seem I would pay my bill and never saw the additional charges. Once I took notice of the charges I called and requested a full refund I don't have a need for the protection as a retiree. I received a very nice letter in the mail refunding me back over 1400.00 however a couple days into the refund Macy's decides they want to lower my credit limit by the amount of the refund ( or the amount which I hadn't touched as of yet! So I'd rather receive a bill for 2buck then to get strong armed robbed by a company whose products I really cared for and bill I paid earnestly. Give the refund with a smile then take it back by lowering my line of credit is the shakiest business move by any major corporation I've seen yet. Yes I'm talking to an attorney to discuss damages! Bye Macy's!!!

more ...
Mar 13, 2017
Approved with 660 Experian!!
JosepBillcc3 Cardholder

>Denied: December 1, 2016. Because DSNB was unable tu proof my identity. (636) Experian hard pull, 5 hard inquiries, no collections, 3 late student 2014.

>Approved: March 10, 2017.
>Credit score: 660 Experian hard pull.
>Initial credit limit: $400
>Online application, instant approval.
>3 late payments student loan in 2014
>Credit utilization 43%

I'm very happy for the approval. I planned to request Macy's Amex after 13 month's of own the store version.

more ...
Mar 13, 2017
Very pleasing
Anonymous Cardholder

I don't know what u ppl are talking about Macy's is a excellent card to have

more ...
Mar 09, 2017
DO NOT GET THIS CARD
Anonymous Cardholder

I had a huge hit to my credit. By huge hit I mean 100+ points because they cancelled my card without my notification and they did not send me any notices about a balance. I called customer service about 20 minutes before they closed and they put us on hold until the call disconnected. When I tried to call back, the lines were closed. I have never felt more frustrated because I worked hard to get my credit score up.

more ...
Mar 04, 2017
Charged fee even though balance paid off
Anonymous Cardholder

Macy's charges a fee, even if the balance is paid off by the due date. 

more ...
Feb 22, 2017
HORRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE
EYMRS Cardholder

Citi wasn't on my list of major banks to have a card with (I have AMEX, Capital One, Barclay's, and Bank of America) and now I will never. 

I've had this account for 6 months and have charged and paid in full numerous times. All of a sudden, I make a $195 charge, pay $195 a few days later, and the payment needs 10 days to "clear" the bank. It is an electronic payment!!!! Clear WHAT, exactly? 

This card just made it on the list of closures with Comenity bank.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Macy's Credit Card