Lowe's Credit Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

1.7 out of 5 stars
44 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

1.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Feb 14, 2017
Great store and decent card
jeffreyhampton Cardholder

After applying 7 times and being denied I finally was approved I think the denials come from 17 years ago having a bankruptcy years ago against Lowes and ge bank from back then. then so grateful to have another chance with the starting limit of 300 it will grow just have to be gentle and pay off what is charged synchrony gives good limits when you treat them right. Recently got Amex so on the right path now I would hope.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jan 27, 2017
The Good The Bad and The Ugly
Darwin686 Cardholder

First off I cannot faught lowes as a store for any issues with this card as Synchrony is the card issue. I would love it if Lowes as a company were to dump them and move to a more replutatle company such as Citi.  My expereince with the card has been good for the most part but there are a few catches. Here is the bad, DO NOT stack promotional purchaes and regular purchases together, they will not apply the payment to the promortional purchase, as others have cited, when you pay your bill so you are slaped with compounded retoractive intrest from that point on until all of the promotional purchase is paid off.  Now the ugly,  the website is garbage for a normal PC user, the mobile version is suprsining better.  Synchrony doesn't always raise credit rates on a regular.  This is actully one of my lowest credit lines started at 600 and then bumped to 1300 three years ago.  I use this card on the regular and pay it in full. I often times pay it well before the due date and they have not bumped up the credit limit on the card.  I've contacted them about this via the online chat portal and they give the ususal run around of various factors on your credit report that they supposidily check. I looked into this and they haven't done a soft query on my credit report in years LOL!  I'm sporting a 799 credit sore and I've expressed to them. The only two options that I have is to either wait it our or request an increase online or via their customer service. Be warned if you request the increase online or via the customer service department you are now authorizing them to do a hard query on your credit report!  I told  them to bugger off on that idea as I don't want be staring at that on my credit report for the next two years.   I'm planing a major kitchen remodle and home depot has my business until Synchrony gets off it's own butt.

The Ugly... I've had a long history with Synchrony, please note they used to be called GE Money Bank and they ruined their repurtation to the point that they had to change names!  This creditor is absolutly the worst of the worst.  The day you get your statement pay your bill, never wait on this one.  I've had them take up to 7 business days from the moment I issued the payment for them to take it and process it. other times it takes anywhere from 24-48 hours  I gennerally recomend that if you can do not carry any balance on this card, if you are working with a promotional purchase don't use the card  for any other purchase until you pay it off or use it for a secondary promotional purchase.

Pros: 5% off purchase, using the card makes returns easier if you lost the reciept, and promotional pruchases which can be a catch 22.

Cons: Synchrony AKA worst creditor out there, bad at rasiing credit limits, customer service is a bit of a joke,  Synchrony doesn't work well with finincal software such as quicken or Mint or MS Money.

Overall: The card has some perks but you have to use it very, very wisley.  Failure to do so will lead to nothing but headaches!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Sep 22, 2017
I would never get this card again

Ive had this card for two years.  My first purchase was a washer and dryer set.  Within 2 months I paid off the full balance.  In january of this year, my husband lost his job.  He was out of work for 6 months.  With very limited unemployment income and no cash/food benefits, we would buy our bottled water and put it on the card.  We did that for 2 months.  Our balance was $38 and in may, we were evicted, and had zero unemployment money.  I called lowes and told them our circumstances.  EVERY other creditor we had was totally understanding.  Lowes though reduced my balance to $400.  They also would call twice a day.  I told him the date in june that would be his first check (he was hired on june 21).  They STILL harassed me daily.  So the $38 was paid, as I told them, and they would only remove 1 late fee, okay fine.  We barely went 2 months late, it was only 45 days.

So now today I go to pay on my card, and my account has been closed.  WHAT...?  Yup, closed.  The rep said they have a right to pull my credit report and drop me at any time.  My credit score went down, he said.  OF COURSE IT DID, we didnt have income for 2 months, lost our apartment, and our scores went down.  They do not care.  I would NEVER get this card again.  Of all the Synchrony accounts, THIS ONE is the WORST.

more ...
Sep 17, 2017
Misleading
Anonymous Cardholder

When you get approved and use your card, be careful about carrying a balance. Even though you are current on your monthly payments, the minute THEY decide that you are a "RISK" they will close your account. Closing a credit card account, whether it be by your doing or the credit card company, is looked at poorly by credit reporting agencies. Thanks for the hit to my credit report! GOOD BYE LOWES .. HELLO HOME DEPO!

more ...
Sep 17, 2017
Services are horrible.
njlove4ya Cardholder

I used this card for 5 and half years, for them to just close my account. I have NEVER missed a payment with them. After calling customer service and speaking with a manager, they had no interest in reactivating my card because my credit score has dropped due to a hardship. The only thing they take into consideration is your credit score, it does not matter how long you have been a loyal customer. I used this card for special interest rates, and as a safety net for if anything went wrong with the house. After 5 years, I had managed to build a credit limit of $8,500. Once I fell into a hardship, my credit took a hit, and they decreased my credit limit to the balance I had left on the card at the beginning of this year, around $700. Rebuilding your credit takes time after a hardship, and apparently, I couldn't repair it fast enough for them. This was one of my highest credit limits, with the lowest balances, and the longest age of credit. All of which will now impact my credit even more. I will never use their services again. Their competitors have not closed or even lowered my credit limit.

more ...
Sep 16, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

This card sucks!!! Never missed a payment on this card.Had a limit of 2400.00 .They closed account with a 1000.00 balance don't no the reason.Did it without even telling me first.

more ...
Sep 08, 2017
Worst Experiance
Anonymous Cardholder

There card is handled by GE financing (now under a different name Synchrony Bank) but it is the same crappy bank.  Received the card and charged items to receive the 5% & sent my payment 5 days in advance of the due date and by the way (I'm only 2 days by mail to their location) and they since the postmark was not 7 days in advance they did not deposit it and charged me a late fee.  I dropped the card immediately as the was total bull.  Never again will I ever apply to the Lowe's credit again.  By the way I did not pay the late fee they charged either.

more ...
Sep 06, 2017
I charge, I payoff what else do you want
hotsciontc Cardholder

Perfect for emergency situations like this hurricane.

more ...
Sep 01, 2017
Slow to post payments then charge fees
Anonymous Cardholder

I only get statements in the mail and their website is always down, so I have to call all the time to find out if I still owe some tiny amount that is currently charging me interest. Their statements are always late and they charge exorbitant late fees. I am NEVER late on payments for any other loan or program, and this company is ALWAYS trying to find a way to charge me. CANCELLING.

more ...
Aug 15, 2017
This card is a rip off
Anonymous Cardholder

Late fees are more than the balance

more ...
Aug 13, 2017
Terrible customer service
IanMPritchett Cardholder

Lowered my credit limit out of the blue, with no warning, despite me never having missed a payment. Customer service with zero help,

more ...
Aug 04, 2017
Waste of time!
Anonymous Cardholder

Very crooked company!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Lowe's Credit Card