Lowe's Credit Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

1.7 out of 5 stars
38 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

1.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Feb 14, 2017
Great store and decent card
jeffreyhampton Cardholder

After applying 7 times and being denied I finally was approved I think the denials come from 17 years ago having a bankruptcy years ago against Lowes and ge bank from back then. then so grateful to have another chance with the starting limit of 300 it will grow just have to be gentle and pay off what is charged synchrony gives good limits when you treat them right. Recently got Amex so on the right path now I would hope.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jan 27, 2017
The Good The Bad and The Ugly
Darwin686 Cardholder

First off I cannot faught lowes as a store for any issues with this card as Synchrony is the card issue. I would love it if Lowes as a company were to dump them and move to a more replutatle company such as Citi.  My expereince with the card has been good for the most part but there are a few catches. Here is the bad, DO NOT stack promotional purchaes and regular purchases together, they will not apply the payment to the promortional purchase, as others have cited, when you pay your bill so you are slaped with compounded retoractive intrest from that point on until all of the promotional purchase is paid off.  Now the ugly,  the website is garbage for a normal PC user, the mobile version is suprsining better.  Synchrony doesn't always raise credit rates on a regular.  This is actully one of my lowest credit lines started at 600 and then bumped to 1300 three years ago.  I use this card on the regular and pay it in full. I often times pay it well before the due date and they have not bumped up the credit limit on the card.  I've contacted them about this via the online chat portal and they give the ususal run around of various factors on your credit report that they supposidily check. I looked into this and they haven't done a soft query on my credit report in years LOL!  I'm sporting a 799 credit sore and I've expressed to them. The only two options that I have is to either wait it our or request an increase online or via their customer service. Be warned if you request the increase online or via the customer service department you are now authorizing them to do a hard query on your credit report!  I told  them to bugger off on that idea as I don't want be staring at that on my credit report for the next two years.   I'm planing a major kitchen remodle and home depot has my business until Synchrony gets off it's own butt.

The Ugly... I've had a long history with Synchrony, please note they used to be called GE Money Bank and they ruined their repurtation to the point that they had to change names!  This creditor is absolutly the worst of the worst.  The day you get your statement pay your bill, never wait on this one.  I've had them take up to 7 business days from the moment I issued the payment for them to take it and process it. other times it takes anywhere from 24-48 hours  I gennerally recomend that if you can do not carry any balance on this card, if you are working with a promotional purchase don't use the card  for any other purchase until you pay it off or use it for a secondary promotional purchase.

Pros: 5% off purchase, using the card makes returns easier if you lost the reciept, and promotional pruchases which can be a catch 22.

Cons: Synchrony AKA worst creditor out there, bad at rasiing credit limits, customer service is a bit of a joke,  Synchrony doesn't work well with finincal software such as quicken or Mint or MS Money.

Overall: The card has some perks but you have to use it very, very wisley.  Failure to do so will lead to nothing but headaches!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Aug 15, 2017
This card is a rip off
Anonymous Cardholder

Late fees are more than the balance

more ...
Aug 13, 2017
Terrible customer service
IanMPritchett Cardholder

Lowered my credit limit out of the blue, with no warning, despite me never having missed a payment. Customer service with zero help,

more ...
Aug 04, 2017
Waste of time!
Anonymous Cardholder

Very crooked company!

more ...
Aug 04, 2017
love it
Anonymous Cardholder

I've had the lowes card for a couple of years and and even though I've often had very high balance I've never had a late payment and they have automatically raised my credit limit 

more ...
Jul 18, 2017
Horrible.
BIGORICH Cardholder

You will never get a credit line increase. I have good credit and zero late payments and get turned down every time. I don't have this problem with any of my other credit accounts.

more ...
Jul 18, 2017
Horrible
BIGORICH Cardholder

Refuse to increase credit limit. Only offered 300 to start. I have good credit and zero late payments. Very disappointed.

more ...
Jul 10, 2017
Nothing makes sense!
Anonymous Cardholder

I applied for the card-- when it came in the mail, I activated it online. Then, it asked me to create an account, but then wouldn't let me create the account because my information was wrong. Tried over and over, now I'm locked out. Can't get ahold of anyone, haven't gotten a statement in the mail, so I CANT pay it!! However, they sent me a letter saying they lowered my credit line due to non-payment? Seriously? What a crap company! I made ONE purchase on this and now I'm paying for it with my credit score and late fees but STILL can't pay it. I'll drive the 30 minutes to the store tomorrow to see if they can help me out =(

more ...
Jul 06, 2017
Synchony Finanical / Lowes / NEVER AGAIN
JJTECHSMART Cardholder

3 years ago, my wife and I applied for Lowes credit card and was approved for $6000! With such a large limit, we could charge $1-2 thousand on the card and not have it affect our credit in a negative way. Plus, take advantage of the 5% off and 0% APR Promos. This was the impression we were under at the time.

Without getting into detail, about two months ago, we had a family emergency which drained our saving account and almost maxed out two of MY credit cards; not my wife’s. When I checked, our credit reports the following month, my wife’s credit was fine. However, mine took a little bit of a dip because of the new high balances on my two major credit cards I still hold. Still I was sitting at a 705 Avg. Score and my wife was @ a 790 Avg. I thought to myself, no worries I'll pay down the balance on my two credit cards and my credit scores should come back up in 6 months or so.

 A couple of weeks ago, I was going to purchase a $300 lawn mower from Lowes using the Lowes credit card. I only had $1300 balance, I thought it wise to just charge the mower and pay it off by the end of the month. When I went to check the balance on my Lowes card through Synchony Financial, I learned that: THEY DROPPED MY CREDIT LIMIT TO $2000 FROM $6000! THUS FURTHER RUINING MY CREDIT UTILIZATION .... Now, with no other credit cards in my name and my other 2 major credit cards nearly maxed out. I pulled my credit report again yesterday as it updated and my score dropped another 20 points because of this! Worse off, my wife took a smaller hit on her credit score! I received a letter from Synchony Financial after I found this out and they said it was because of the high balances on my other credit cards I had recently racked up... I paid this and all my bills on time and for more than the minimum payments. Now because SYNCHONY FINANCIAL did this, the security blanket I thought I had with a $6000 credit limit is now gone along with 20 points on my credit score… All for doing business with these jerks! I gave both Lowes and Synchony Financial a chance to make this right and all the did was note my concerns on the account... Because it would save money on interest and to show how stupid they are, I transferred the balance from Lowes Credit to my AMEX card. FYI: SYNCHONY FINANCIAL also does business with Newegg which I did the same on that card as well and will never use it again.   

I now REFUSE to do BUSINESS with both Lowes and Newegg because I won’t purchase from an organization that does business with SHARKS like SYNCHONY FINANCIAL. If you read the very, very, very fine print, you will learn that they can pull your credit report at any time and ADJUST your credit limit to fit their needs. They can even close the account on you! All though this is legal, IT SHOULD BE A CRIME! This is not a good business practice and hurts the consumers.

more ...
Jul 05, 2017
suck's
Anonymous Cardholder

My card was down to 0 i odered online there web site switch me to wrong store i contact them canceled the order they said they refunded all the money back to card witch would put me back to 0 then irdered again at right store paid it off in 2 payments and then they said i still owed them 115.48 i told them they took 2 months and still did not fix the account so i paid the 115.48 so not to hurt my credit so they stole that money but they will never get one more penny from me i hope that makes them crooks happy 

more ...
Jul 03, 2017
no issues
seanfd Cardholder

Started with $1500 2yrs ago . Now 10k limit . never declined increases . Been good . Marginal score and multiple syncrony accts in good standing..Use it for promotional no intrest purchases and pay quick ..

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Lowe's Credit Card