Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Lowe's Credit Card

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.1 out of 5 stars
32 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Apr 09, 2016
They give credit increase, Great card, G
JRTampa Cardholder

I applied for the card, was approved online, Great,, Was a little sad my credit limit was only 800,, but 3 month later my credit was bumped up to 6000, Just gos to show, keep your balance under 30% and pay your bill in full, and good things will happen.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jan 27, 2017
The Good The Bad and The Ugly
Darwin686 Cardholder

First off I cannot faught lowes as a store for any issues with this card as Synchrony is the card issue. I would love it if Lowes as a company were to dump them and move to a more replutatle company such as Citi.  My expereince with the card has been good for the most part but there are a few catches. Here is the bad, DO NOT stack promotional purchaes and regular purchases together, they will not apply the payment to the promortional purchase, as others have cited, when you pay your bill so you are slaped with compounded retoractive intrest from that point on until all of the promotional purchase is paid off.  Now the ugly,  the website is garbage for a normal PC user, the mobile version is suprsining better.  Synchrony doesn't always raise credit rates on a regular.  This is actully one of my lowest credit lines started at 600 and then bumped to 1300 three years ago.  I use this card on the regular and pay it in full. I often times pay it well before the due date and they have not bumped up the credit limit on the card.  I've contacted them about this via the online chat portal and they give the ususal run around of various factors on your credit report that they supposidily check. I looked into this and they haven't done a soft query on my credit report in years LOL!  I'm sporting a 799 credit sore and I've expressed to them. The only two options that I have is to either wait it our or request an increase online or via their customer service. Be warned if you request the increase online or via the customer service department you are now authorizing them to do a hard query on your credit report!  I told  them to bugger off on that idea as I don't want be staring at that on my credit report for the next two years.   I'm planing a major kitchen remodle and home depot has my business until Synchrony gets off it's own butt.

The Ugly... I've had a long history with Synchrony, please note they used to be called GE Money Bank and they ruined their repurtation to the point that they had to change names!  This creditor is absolutly the worst of the worst.  The day you get your statement pay your bill, never wait on this one.  I've had them take up to 7 business days from the moment I issued the payment for them to take it and process it. other times it takes anywhere from 24-48 hours  I gennerally recomend that if you can do not carry any balance on this card, if you are working with a promotional purchase don't use the card  for any other purchase until you pay it off or use it for a secondary promotional purchase.

Pros: 5% off purchase, using the card makes returns easier if you lost the reciept, and promotional pruchases which can be a catch 22.

Cons: Synchrony AKA worst creditor out there, bad at rasiing credit limits, customer service is a bit of a joke,  Synchrony doesn't work well with finincal software such as quicken or Mint or MS Money.

Overall: The card has some perks but you have to use it very, very wisley.  Failure to do so will lead to nothing but headaches!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Feb 16, 2017
It's ok for credit building
Anonymous Cardholder

The main issue is they start you on a low limit like 600-800 mins was a 800 with my score of 720 they said keep it under 30% and pay it off and it will shoot up to 2500-3500 lie! Paid it off twice now and all they do is restart me back at 800.00 !!! Never missed payment or late on a payment, so the main issue seems to be sync banking not Lowes.  However Lowes should change and help the customers get a banking card to increase as they work hard to pay it off in full. Also paying your bill is a hassle some times as they don't except some payments and charge fees and need lots info for phone payments short story it's not quick. 

more ...
Feb 15, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

A late payment on just over $3. Then all this mumble jumble about pers centages of payments overse a year period verses amount of charges....My last payment should have brought the account to 0, then this $3 appears on it.  It might be 3/4 of a mile farther down the road, but Home Depot here I come! Brought my credit score down!

more ...
Feb 14, 2017
Great store and decent card
jeffreyhampton Cardholder

After applying 7 times and being denied I finally was approved I think the denials come from 17 years ago having a bankruptcy years ago against Lowes and ge bank from back then. then so grateful to have another chance with the starting limit of 300 it will grow just have to be gentle and pay off what is charged synchrony gives good limits when you treat them right. Recently got Amex so on the right path now I would hope.

more ...
Feb 02, 2017
NOT DEPENDABLE FOR CHARGING
mellowde Cardholder

I had a Lowes CC for about a year, only used it once for a $30 purchase which I paid off the end of the same month.  After one year with a zero balance they summarily cancelled my account without any notice.  I got a credit karma notification.  That's how I found out.  Suppose I had gone into their store and tried to charge something?  That could be terribly embarrassing. I would not recommend this outfit sychrony bank.  They are weasels.  

more ...
Jan 27, 2017
The Good The Bad and The Ugly
Darwin686 Cardholder

First off I cannot faught lowes as a store for any issues with this card as Synchrony is the card issue. I would love it if Lowes as a company were to dump them and move to a more replutatle company such as Citi.  My expereince with the card has been good for the most part but there are a few catches. Here is the bad, DO NOT stack promotional purchaes and regular purchases together, they will not apply the payment to the promortional purchase, as others have cited, when you pay your bill so you are slaped with compounded retoractive intrest from that point on until all of the promotional purchase is paid off.  Now the ugly,  the website is garbage for a normal PC user, the mobile version is suprsining better.  Synchrony doesn't always raise credit rates on a regular.  This is actully one of my lowest credit lines started at 600 and then bumped to 1300 three years ago.  I use this card on the regular and pay it in full. I often times pay it well before the due date and they have not bumped up the credit limit on the card.  I've contacted them about this via the online chat portal and they give the ususal run around of various factors on your credit report that they supposidily check. I looked into this and they haven't done a soft query on my credit report in years LOL!  I'm sporting a 799 credit sore and I've expressed to them. The only two options that I have is to either wait it our or request an increase online or via their customer service. Be warned if you request the increase online or via the customer service department you are now authorizing them to do a hard query on your credit report!  I told  them to bugger off on that idea as I don't want be staring at that on my credit report for the next two years.   I'm planing a major kitchen remodle and home depot has my business until Synchrony gets off it's own butt.

The Ugly... I've had a long history with Synchrony, please note they used to be called GE Money Bank and they ruined their repurtation to the point that they had to change names!  This creditor is absolutly the worst of the worst.  The day you get your statement pay your bill, never wait on this one.  I've had them take up to 7 business days from the moment I issued the payment for them to take it and process it. other times it takes anywhere from 24-48 hours  I gennerally recomend that if you can do not carry any balance on this card, if you are working with a promotional purchase don't use the card  for any other purchase until you pay it off or use it for a secondary promotional purchase.

Pros: 5% off purchase, using the card makes returns easier if you lost the reciept, and promotional pruchases which can be a catch 22.

Cons: Synchrony AKA worst creditor out there, bad at rasiing credit limits, customer service is a bit of a joke,  Synchrony doesn't work well with finincal software such as quicken or Mint or MS Money.

Overall: The card has some perks but you have to use it very, very wisley.  Failure to do so will lead to nothing but headaches!

more ...
Jan 19, 2017
Froze Card and Will Not say why!
Anonymous Cardholder

I have a project going on to remodel my bathroom and used synchrony bank Lowes Credit card.  Never late, Over 10,000 left before reaching credit limit, and have a high credit score.  Got declined while trying to pay for 120 worth of lowes items with the card.  Called from the store on my cell phone to find out why, and was told to call from the phone number on the account (my home number).  Ok, fine.  Went home and called, then they said because my line was a Voip (internet based telephone)  they could not verify who I was and therefore could give me no information.  They said they would send a secret code by snail mail in 10 days.  Meanwhile, we have an active project through Lowes going on and keep getting declined.  Try a bathroom remodel project on a frozen CC.  Does not work very well!!

I work for a bank and am a part time cop.  The security measures they have in place are plain stupid!  They asked for different kinds of verification information, all of which I gave and still could not tell my why they froze my card.  My card should not have been frozen in the first place!

Going to pay this card off and head to Home Depot.

more ...
Dec 13, 2016
imposible to get card fixed when they ty
tnnow Cardholder

imposible to get verified when they mistype your phone number

more ...
Nov 13, 2016
Avoid at all costs.
Anonymous Cardholder

I read the prior reviews and thought I could avoid the pitfalls of the 6-month special financing. Surely, I thought, these people simply didn't read the fine print? False. I purchased a tractor after an elaborate conversation with a Lowe's credit card rep about precisely how to set things up to avoid paying interest. I screenshot the whole conversation, convinced that something would go wrong. And, as you might predict, things did go wrong. Simply put, the financing is designed to collect interest on you. The website layout is terrible. The instructions for how to pay your promotional balance are minimal and obfuscated. And you will inevitably pay interest. 

Yes, the 5% off is nice. But not nice enough to negate the interest you will pay and the customer service you will receive. Get yourself a card with a 0% financing for X months if you want special financing or a 2% cashback card if you want to save money. The other 3% just isn't worth it with this card.

Avoid. At. All. Costs.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 26, 2016

All credit companies and banks have minimum payment plans. Its up to you on how to decide what the amount needed to pay the purchase off in the allotted time to avoid interest. The financing through Synchrony Bank is designed for responsible adults with good decision making skills. You cant pay off your purchase with paying only minimum payments. That's everywhere..

 
Nov 10, 2016
Easy approval process
MimiRoss Cardholder

I was approved for $2,000 initially. I recon and told them I wanted to buy a washer and dryer set and I would be over 50% on my credit usage so was there anyway they could raise it up to $5,000? They asked me to verify annual income, address, phone number and then approved me for the $5,000!!!

They pulled Transunion. My scores was 753, no baddies, no bankruptcy and already have 3 other credit cards with Synchrony (Marvel Mastercard, Walmart Store Card and Amazon Prime Store Card)

more ...
Oct 28, 2016
Worst customer service EVER!!!!!!!!
michaelberke Cardholder

WHAT THE F! I just had to go through just t pay my F'n bill NO F'n way F this card and Lowes I'm going to Home Depot Lowes CC sucks ***! THE F'n BS one has to go through just to pay their F'n bill F this BS card!!!!!!!!

more ...
Nov 10, 2016

How Hard is it to pay a bill? You Get a Statement, Write out a check for the full balance, put the check, and the payment sub from the bill in the the Supplied enveloped. place a stamp on it and send it in. Easy as backing a Pie.

 
Jan 26, 2017

You can also go online and pay your bill. If you have deferred billing in effect; you can direct how your payment is directed.

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Lowe's Credit Card