Kay Jewelers Credit Card

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

1.8 out of 5 stars
20 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

2 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Dec 30, 2012
Terrible credit, got this card.
Anonymous Cardholder

I had horrible credit when I got this card. My score was 530, and I was approved for $1100. My score jumped 80 points as a result. This card helped me recover, in conjunction with a secured credit card from Capital One.

The fact that I even qualified for no-interest for 12 months, $1100 credit line with a score of 530 made me question the quality of the card, but in the end it has helped me a lot. Can't say anything bad about this lender.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Feb 20, 2013
Kays
Anonymous Cardholder

I have a credit card with Kays, the only down fault is that they report one month behind. Other than that it is a great card and great customer service company.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Mar 30, 2017
YoSoyMuerto Cardholder

Double charged my last payment and overdrew my account.   Mind you, I never received a confirmation email about my monthly payment.

Called to get a re-imbursement as this was their fault.  Spoke to a Stephanie in customer service.  She was rude and basically told me nothing they could do as this was my fault.  I could have called to make sure my payment was going through, which has nothing to do with me paying double the premium amount.

Will be cancelling my card.

more ...
Mar 08, 2017
Poor customer service!
kmdrpr Cardholder

I had this card for 2 years and it was in good standing with the company, i tried to go in store 2 weeks after i purchsed a new bridal set, to upgrade that bridal set to a bigger size and little did i know they had closed my account! WITHOUT WARNING so not only was it extremely embarrassing to have the purchse declined but I  would have been screwed with having to pay over $3,000 upfront or sent to collections for that if I hadn't gone in to find this out because they didn't call, email, or send a letter in mail informing me of this! I have had a good standing account with an excellent payment history with them over the last 2 years! To blindside a customer like this is very wrong, I don't care if it was in the terms at sign up that they do a credit check every year, i have a credit score that is over the 600 range so really?!?!? I WILL NEVER DO BUSINESS WITH KAY OR STERLING JEWELERS AGAIN, which is a shame because I would be spending close to $10,000 with them! 

more ...
Mar 02, 2017
Only ones willing to help rebuild credit
Anonymous Cardholder

This was the only card that was willing to help me rebuild my credit, I'm hoping to get an increase I've had it for a few years now and it's really helped me establish my credit and my score 

more ...
Feb 14, 2017
Should come with a warning lable
Anonymous Cardholder

I recently got a Kay card to put a wedding band on, I had the cash to pay for the ring in hand but thought why not. Was approved for $1000 limit so out 700 on the card and paid 150 on it the first month. Little did I know the MAX amount of credit line available for the card was 400 so after 2 months and my credit dropping 100 points before I checked CK. I notified the company and sadly it was put in the system wrong but nothing could be done through the bearu for my credit score. Being in the recovery stage of the card I'm a little salty towards them and will likely never use this card again.

more ...
Jan 24, 2017
joke
Anonymous Cardholder

very rude customer service

more ...
Jan 24, 2017
Piece of garbage
Anonymous Cardholder

I was late by a month and I called them up because they closed my account and they couldn't reopen the account and it totally crashed my credit score. 

more ...
Jan 19, 2017
Worst credit card
BDtallman Cardholder

I used this card to buy my wifes engagement ring. I set up autopay right away, but 2 months later I got a call saying I havent made any payments. I go check online and  the autopay somehow got cancelled. They said I owed a ton of late fees etc so I asked to have those reduced, the person online said no way. Alright, I hang up and go to their online chat, the guy there said he can take care of all the fees. Weird that one person could help me out but the other couldn't. So I set up autopay again, and again the next month I check and the autopay was cancelled/removed AGAIN. This is the WORST website and payment system that seems to be designed to make you late on payments and make money on the extremely exagerated fees they charge you. 

more ...
Jan 06, 2017
Horrible.
AdamVanLewen Cardholder

This card is horrifyingly hard to pay, and a joke for limits. You can only request an increase every 10 months, and although I have Chase cards with 5K+ limits, they refuse the raise mine for 3 more months. The customer care is awful, the app is even worse. If this wasn't my longest open card, I'd cancel it in a heartbeat. Disgusting. 

more ...
Dec 19, 2016
This card can be deceiving
Shaunwilson Cardholder

If you have a Kay and a Jared account the accounts are combined. So if you have a $5000 limit on both cards and you make a $3000 purchase at Jared and a $2000 purchase at Kay you will find out that you have no available credit. I was not aware of this until this holiday season while Christmas shopping. I am very disappointed.

more ...
Nov 21, 2016
Merchendise is secured and high intrest
Anonymous Cardholder

The payment plan is easy, the service is poor. wont kill your credit unless you have a high useage ratio.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Kay Jewelers Credit Card