Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Kay Jewelers Credit Card

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

1.6 out of 5 stars
17 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

1.5 5
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Feb 14, 2017
Should come with a warning lable
Anonymous Cardholder

I recently got a Kay card to put a wedding band on, I had the cash to pay for the ring in hand but thought why not. Was approved for $1000 limit so out 700 on the card and paid 150 on it the first month. Little did I know the MAX amount of credit line available for the card was 400 so after 2 months and my credit dropping 100 points before I checked CK. I notified the company and sadly it was put in the system wrong but nothing could be done through the bearu for my credit score. Being in the recovery stage of the card I'm a little salty towards them and will likely never use this card again.

more ...
Jan 24, 2017
joke
Anonymous Cardholder

very rude customer service

more ...
Jan 24, 2017
Piece of garbage
Anonymous Cardholder

I was late by a month and I called them up because they closed my account and they couldn't reopen the account and it totally crashed my credit score. 

more ...
Jan 19, 2017
Worst credit card
BDtallman Cardholder

I used this card to buy my wifes engagement ring. I set up autopay right away, but 2 months later I got a call saying I havent made any payments. I go check online and  the autopay somehow got cancelled. They said I owed a ton of late fees etc so I asked to have those reduced, the person online said no way. Alright, I hang up and go to their online chat, the guy there said he can take care of all the fees. Weird that one person could help me out but the other couldn't. So I set up autopay again, and again the next month I check and the autopay was cancelled/removed AGAIN. This is the WORST website and payment system that seems to be designed to make you late on payments and make money on the extremely exagerated fees they charge you. 

more ...
Jan 06, 2017
Horrible.
AdamVanLewen Cardholder

This card is horrifyingly hard to pay, and a joke for limits. You can only request an increase every 10 months, and although I have Chase cards with 5K+ limits, they refuse the raise mine for 3 more months. The customer care is awful, the app is even worse. If this wasn't my longest open card, I'd cancel it in a heartbeat. Disgusting. 

more ...
Dec 19, 2016
This card can be deceiving
Shaunwilson Cardholder

If you have a Kay and a Jared account the accounts are combined. So if you have a $5000 limit on both cards and you make a $3000 purchase at Jared and a $2000 purchase at Kay you will find out that you have no available credit. I was not aware of this until this holiday season while Christmas shopping. I am very disappointed.

more ...
Nov 21, 2016
Merchendise is secured and high intrest
Anonymous Cardholder

The payment plan is easy, the service is poor. wont kill your credit unless you have a high useage ratio.

more ...
Nov 17, 2016
Approval
Anonymous Cardholder

For 3k appiled online was told to go to the store for verification. Haven't seen any hanged yet to my credit report. They did call my job to verify I work there which was strange to me. 

more ...
Nov 02, 2016
Random checks make credit line change
Anonymous Cardholder

I had a $7,600 CL opened in 2012 and never missed any payments. Shopping at Kay in November 2016 they told me that my LOC was with Jared even though I had a physical Kay card. They made me fill out a new application and was approved for $4,000. They told me I would have $7,600 with Jared and $4,000 with Kay. What really happened was that Jared lowered my CL by $3,600 which not only dropped my available credit, but just sent my high balance from 15% to 30% of my credit line based on a purchase I made in 2012.

Called CS and they said my last annual credit check was Dec 2015 (my credit rating at the time was 150 points average lower than it is now across all reports) and it was good enough to maintain $7,600. Now, in November, they say it's only good for $4,000. Beware- they may pull the rug out from under you.

more ...
Jul 25, 2016
Alyssab12 Cardholder

I had decent credit in the 720s until I got this card. I had the money to buy the ring straight up but I thought that financing it would help build my credit since I have only had a credit card for about a year and it was slow to rise. I was approved for $4,000 and paid a down payment of $850 for a $2,700 ring (plus warranty, tax, etc. making it $3,200). After I paid the down payment, they dropped my approval to $3,000 so I was using 70% of my credit card utilization rather than 50%. My credit score dropped 82 points after the first payment! (The minimum was $185 and I paid $200.) I paid $1,000 on it today hoping that lowering my utilization will help my score bounce back but I have spent so much time trying to raise my score it makes me want to cry! Now all I can do is wait. Make sure you know what you're getting into before signing up for this card!!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Kay Jewelers Credit Card