Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Kay Jewelers Credit Card

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.5 out of 5 stars
20 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

2.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jul 23, 2016
Sugar to salt
Anonymous Cardholder

Had this card for a year before I used it. A few days ago ordered something and found out my account was closed. Not because of late payments or none payment. I paid a month in advance and over the minimum amount due. They closed my account due to an old hospital bill on my credit going to collections. Really!!!!! In the future, Kay, make leave account open until it is paid in full so that way u can ensure to be paid. Lol

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jul 25, 2016
Alyssab12 Cardholder

I had decent credit in the 720s until I got this card. I had the money to buy the ring straight up but I thought that financing it would help build my credit since I have only had a credit card for about a year and it was slow to rise. I was approved for $4,000 and paid a down payment of $850 for a $2,700 ring (plus warranty, tax, etc. making it $3,200). After I paid the down payment, they dropped my approval to $3,000 so I was using 70% of my credit card utilization rather than 50%. My credit score dropped 82 points after the first payment! (The minimum was $185 and I paid $200.) I paid $1,000 on it today hoping that lowering my utilization will help my score bounce back but I have spent so much time trying to raise my score it makes me want to cry! Now all I can do is wait. Make sure you know what you're getting into before signing up for this card!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Nov 21, 2016
Merchendise is secured and high intrest
Anonymous Cardholder

The payment plan is easy, the service is poor. wont kill your credit unless you have a high useage ratio.

more ...
Nov 17, 2016
Approval
Anonymous Cardholder

For 3k appiled online was told to go to the store for verification. Haven't seen any hanged yet to my credit report. They did call my job to verify I work there which was strange to me. 

more ...
Nov 02, 2016
Random checks make credit line change
Anonymous Cardholder

I had a $7,600 CL opened in 2012 and never missed any payments. Shopping at Kay in November 2016 they told me that my LOC was with Jared even though I had a physical Kay card. They made me fill out a new application and was approved for $4,000. They told me I would have $7,600 with Jared and $4,000 with Kay. What really happened was that Jared lowered my CL by $3,600 which not only dropped my available credit, but just sent my high balance from 15% to 30% of my credit line based on a purchase I made in 2012.

Called CS and they said my last annual credit check was Dec 2015 (my credit rating at the time was 150 points average lower than it is now across all reports) and it was good enough to maintain $7,600. Now, in November, they say it's only good for $4,000. Beware- they may pull the rug out from under you.

more ...
Oct 19, 2016
Great Starter Card
AdamVanLewen Cardholder

Way back in the day, the day I turned 18, I got this card. Got approved for $400 becuase I had no credit whatsoever. Got a watch, and have been just doing it NO INTEREST FOR 12 MONTHS for the past year and a half. I now have 4 really nice Movados and the raised my limit to $1,100. Customer service is bad, payments on the app are a nightmare. Just call in, although it's a time-consuming waste.

more ...
Sep 28, 2016
so far Goo
KetKet1 Cardholder

It is a good card so far.  I got approved for $1000 with low scores in the 585-620 range.  Not sure which was my score because credit karma is different than my real score. Most time it is lower.  The only thing i dont like is that they do not allow you to change your payment due date.  I like all my bill close to the same day at the end of the month and so far of all of my cards this has been the only one that i could not change.  Even with a secured card i was able to get the dat i wanted but now with this one.  Other than that i have no issues so far

more ...
Jul 25, 2016
Alyssab12 Cardholder

I had decent credit in the 720s until I got this card. I had the money to buy the ring straight up but I thought that financing it would help build my credit since I have only had a credit card for about a year and it was slow to rise. I was approved for $4,000 and paid a down payment of $850 for a $2,700 ring (plus warranty, tax, etc. making it $3,200). After I paid the down payment, they dropped my approval to $3,000 so I was using 70% of my credit card utilization rather than 50%. My credit score dropped 82 points after the first payment! (The minimum was $185 and I paid $200.) I paid $1,000 on it today hoping that lowering my utilization will help my score bounce back but I have spent so much time trying to raise my score it makes me want to cry! Now all I can do is wait. Make sure you know what you're getting into before signing up for this card!!

more ...
Jul 23, 2016
Sugar to salt
Anonymous Cardholder

Had this card for a year before I used it. A few days ago ordered something and found out my account was closed. Not because of late payments or none payment. I paid a month in advance and over the minimum amount due. They closed my account due to an old hospital bill on my credit going to collections. Really!!!!! In the future, Kay, make leave account open until it is paid in full so that way u can ensure to be paid. Lol

more ...
Jul 23, 2016
Sugar to salt
Snn525 Cardholder

I received an Kay credit card and waited over an year to use it. And a few days ago I placed an order for some $50 earrings and my order was accepted and 20 mins later cancelled. Come to find out my card was cancelled. Not because of non payment or because I was behind on any payments cause I wasn't any of those things. I paid a month ahead and over the minimum amount due. They cancelled my card because of an olllldd hospital bill went to collections on my credit report. If that don't make any sense. Kay for future reference leave account open until u r paid in full so u can ensure to get ur money. I was warned not to get a credit with them 

more ...
Jul 19, 2016
Horrible!
Anonymous Cardholder

This card is a disgrace! My account was in good standing, I paid more than I needed to each month and for no reason it was closed. And it wasn't even open 2 years!! Will NEVER buy anything from there again!

more ...
Jul 16, 2016
Don't apply!
1Diesel1 Cardholder

They will run random credit checks while you have them. Available credit will change both up and down. Call center service is the worst.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Kay Jewelers Credit Card