Fingerhut® Credit Account Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.5 out of 5 stars
57 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

3.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jan 24, 2014
Good Starter
CenturyChild Cardholder

Excellent card to establish credit if you do not have any at all, or are in need of a tradeline to rebuild.

However, if you already have a tradeline started, you are probably better of to just give those time as better options will be avaialable to you once you get 6months to a year of good history.

This card does grow well with you though. Mine started off with a $250 balance and the only credit account I had at the time.  I used it 2 or 3 times over the course of 6 months.

By the time the account was 14 month old it now has a $1150 credit limit, though I do not use it anymore.

The bad thing about FH are the inflated prices.  But, as mentioned, if you have no tradelines they are a excellent place to start. Buy a couple small things and pay it of in a timely manner.

You will out grow it quick though.

Im giving it 5 stars as they really did help get my Credit History started and on the right path. Other than the higher prices, theres really nothing bad to say about them. Just know that going in, and thats its just a short term thing to deal with and you'll be fine.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Dec 01, 2010
psychicmike Cardholder

I was approved for this card in January 2010 with a starting limit of $330.  Then in April 2010 they increased it to $430.  They do give credit limit increases quite often.  The product prices are about 20% higher than most stores online. This is due to the low monthly payments they offer. It carries an interest rate of 24.90% on purchases. The key to buying products from this company is it is affordable if you buy just one or two items and pay on them. They constantly send you catalogs and emails with promotions and discounts.  I swear I get a catalog in the mail about once a week and about  1 email daily. They heavily over market their catalogs to get you to buy more than one item at a time and max out your limit fast. So Be Aware. Make only a few purchases and pay them off first before buying more.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

May 24, 2017
Lesson learned
Greg7777777 Cardholder

   The company will give almost anyone credit. The catch is.....everything is very over charged. I bought an item and my credit didn't budge. Everything is clear and I'm current on everything. My credit is still 529. Nothing moved, now I have a payment which is going nowhere, along with my credit. I bought a desk for $500 and made 9 payments. 

   I bought nothing else and made minimum payment along with double payments. My balance to date after 9 payments is $493.00. That's right, $500....9 ontime payments ranging from $35 to $100 and $7 went to principal. Everything else went to Fingerhut. So..... this means I paid $500 for a $130 desk on Amazon...made 9 payment equaling $538...and I still owe fingerhut $493.00. I should have never bought something so high. 

   I suggest buying something very small and paying it off in full. I have a feeling, if I dont pay this off in full, I will pay thousands of dollars for a desk wgich won't sell at a yard sale for $50. Lesson learned. 

more ...
May 11, 2017
Decent
Richman87 Cardholder

I was recently approved for the "Fresh Start" program. I as many of the people on here are looking for the credit support. They say "good credit is the new rich" and when starting over you can't expect the best when you start off with trench shoveling grade credit.  I intend to start with a rich mixture of pretty generic (probabaly over priced) credit lines and gradually work my way up the ladder from this point forward. With the FH fresh start program I placed my $30 deposit for a game that I know costs $20 at Wal-Mart. I know I'm overpaying but honestly, it's my own fault for putting myself here. I'll be waiting to see what im given following my actual rotating line of credit and will be using about 10 - 15 percent of that for my purchases with immediate pay off. The strategy here is to show a resposible non-depedent use of credit. So far I have placed my order, paid my deposit and, received tracking and delivery (for today) all in a very timely manner. I will do my best to keep everyone updated on my experience with these folks.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jun 14, 2017

Decent (Continued) 6/14/17

I have made my first payment that was required to be setup on desktop and can now be paid via the mobile app. So far I have no issues with Fingerhut or the product I received. The account properly reported to each credit bureau. My first payment due on 6/13/17 has not reported as of yet (bill was paid around 5/25/17) they report based on billing cycle not when bill is paid. Not much else to report, I'll check in at least every billing cycle, sooner if I have an experience of some kind with them.

 
May 09, 2017
VERY HIGH PRICES !!!!
Anonymous Cardholder

Constantly calling to the point of harassment When I asked them to please stop calling and mail me they STOPPED MY CARD !!!!

more ...
Apr 20, 2017
Ok
Anonymous Cardholder

Items are pretty pricey

more ...
Apr 20, 2017
i have weblink fingerhut account
brookeatch31 Cardholder

Pretty good for improving credit. I got approved for a fresh account with $130 credit so i bought something I already needed. Shipping is pretty expensive it took every bit of my $30 required deposit and they take forever to update to the credit companys but I guess I cant complain it boosted my credit up an extra 34 points the first month.

more ...
Apr 18, 2017
Poor customer service
swrboo Cardholder

I opened this account as a way to purchase things on credit and help rebuild my credit, but I ran into issues with a computer tower I bought over a year ago.  It was defective so I asked for a replacement, which they sent right away.  They billed me for the second one with the intent to credit me for the first one once they received it.  Problem was it got lost in transport back somehow.   I kept all my receipts and tracking numbers and disputed it with them.  They basically told me sorry about your luck.  I had to get the BBB involved for them to finally resolve the issue.  I have never ordered anything more from them, but recently got letters from them saying someone had ordered big ticket items on my account but they did not ship because they could not verify my identity at that time.   I tried to call fraud department only to have to sit on hold forever, only to finally get a recording saying no one could answer my call.  I had to leave a message and someone would get back with me in two days?  Really?  No one ever called back.  I got the BBB involved again.   Someone from the company did try to call but I couldn't answer.  I tried calling back again today only to have the same run around with no one answering.  My advice.....stay away from this company.   They have poor customer service.

more ...
Apr 12, 2017
Great for credit building
isma864 Cardholder

A year ago I had no credit history. Credit Karma recommended me to open a Fingerhut Credit Account, so I did. I was initially approved for 500 dollars! I was very excited! Then I went only and saw their prices and my jaw dropped. I couldn't believe their prices, but once again I was in no position to complain because my credit was AWFUL. I ordered 3 things from them and paid them off quickly. Later that year I received a letter that I was getting a credit line increase to 700 dollars (yay....not really). All in all Fingerhut helped me get my credit where I wanted it to be, but it doesn't make sense to pay 2 sometimes 3 times amount you would pay at amazon. I have nothing to complain about Fingerhut. If your credit is really bad or poor give them a try. Order cheap stuff and pay them quickly, you'll be surprise how much it will improve your credit. I never ordered anything more than 200 dollars, and paid it off as soon as I got it. Today 4/12/2017 I closed my fingerhut account because I simply don't need it anymore. Fingerhut we had a good run, but I have to let you go.  

more ...
Apr 11, 2017
Fresh Start
Anonymous Cardholder

About two months ago my score was close to 400, I disputed some items on my credit report and it is now 532, I want it to increase so I gave fingerhut a try because no one else will approve me. FIngerhut gave me a $130 credit limit with a down payment of $30, so I just ordered something small just to utilize and plan to make my payments early and more than the minimum. Will follow up as more happens!

more ...
Apr 07, 2017
Do not use
Anonymous Cardholder

Do not use Fingerhut under any circumstance if you ever want to get a loan in your lifetime they will screw up your credit and never fix it

more ...
Apr 02, 2017
Yb1984 Cardholder

This people are liers and you should never deal with them I have account with them for 3 years and 6 month and my payment was perfect with them and I never miss or been late for one payment until this last September 2016 I have been late some months I was out of the country when I come back I call them to make the payments that I was late for in conditions to take the late fees off so they agree I pay them 800 dollars the next week I cheek my account with them it was closed and they sned it to collection after they take the 800 dollar from my bank account  i don't even know if that's legale to do ?! So please stay away from this company...

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations
?>

Fingerhut® Credit Account