Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Fingerhut® Credit Account

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.7 out of 5 stars
70 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

3.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

May 17, 2016
PathToRecovery Cardholder

This is long but you must read if you really want to build your credit up

Let me tell you guys (or women) all about my fingerhut experience.

My credit score was 426 (as most of us from silly mistakes when I was younger) and I was approved for a fresh start account for $130 (bummer!). I used my entire credit limit on my first purchase (lucky it was reporting as a installment loan and not credit card so it didn't affect my utilization) all of the stuff fell apart within two weeks (cheaply made but highly overpriced) but I still continued to pay on it (really didn't have a choice if I wanted to continue on the path to recovery). I paid more than the minimum each month even if it was just a dollar more. I fully paid off my balance after my third payment. After a week I received a email congratulating me on graduating to a revolving account and after two weeks I received a paper card and began reporting to the bureau's as a credit card with a whopping, wait for it, wait for it, $150 (oh my gosh that's a huge increase, right?) Well at least my credit went from 426 TU to 613 TU within three months. After all of my baddies fell off of my credit report I had a chat with a mortgage broker asking him what all I need to get a home loan and he mentioned that I need at least three revolving credit accounts. Well credit apps here I come I started off with Gettington (fingerhit sister) and surprisingly was denied. I applied for a Capital One Quick Silver One and was approved for $300. I read somewhere that QS1 is harder to get than Platinum so I applied for a Platinum card and was approved for $500. Getting approved for two cards was very, very exciting so I applied for even more, I said I was going to stop once I get a denial. I applied for Kohl's approved for $300, applied for Walmart $150 (bummer!), applied for Lowe's $600, applied for home depot $601 (that dollar matter, lol.), applied for Capital One buy power card, denied. I know what I said but I didn't stop there. I applied for the Chase freedom card, denied. That's when I officially stopped putting in apps. I read forum after forum on myfico (you should really checked them out) and I read about backdoor numbers. I called a backdoor number for Lowe's and asked for a credit limit increase (CLI) and he asked how much, I said $25,000. I'm not going to lie I expected for him to laugh and hang up on me. He didn't. Instead he asked me my personal income (25k) and if I own or rent (I rent but I said own since I'm looking to buy a house within the next six months) he placed me on hold for about six minutes and the slience was very intense. He came back and said, "I have some bad news" my heart kinda dropped in disappointment, "I wasn't able to approve you for $25,000 but I was able to approve you for $17,000. Do you accept?" I almost fell out my seat and did three backflips in the process. I was so speechless I couldn't even say yes. "Sir, sir are you there." I had to play it off, yes I'm here I was really looking forward to 25k but I guess 17k would do. I still can't believe it I called their automated system three times just to make sure I wasn't being pranked. I'm now currently on hold with home depot to try and do the same thing I did with Lowe's and next is Kohl's and Walmart. None of this would be possible if it wasn't for fingerhut fresh start. All of this happened today, May 17, 2016. I can't wait to get my cards in the mail. Don't ask questions just apply for fingerhut A.S.A.P! Go, Go, Go!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jan 26, 2016
IF I COULD TURN BACK TIME :(
misspale2015 Cardholder

I've had this card for two years now. The first year was good. It does initally boost your credit. Now, I'm wishing I never got it. Beware of their " temporary credit limits". It's a ploy to get you to feel obligated to buy more **** from them. I've begged them to stop giving me temporary credit line increases, and they do it anyway. Why would I be mad at temporary credit line increases?? Well, I will tell you. It's all nice, and rosey for your credit, when you get these, but imagine what it looks like on your FICO score, when Fingerhut takes away 1500+ in available credit, and it hits your credit score. I'll tell you..... a decrease of about 35+ points down the *******. ****, FINGERHUT YOU'RE DOING ME WRONG!

Before some ill equipped jerk tells me, "well, you must have done something wrong", nope! 2 years of FLAWLESS PAYMENTS,buying their way overpriced ****,always making more than the minimum payments,this is the thanks I get? Two years of about 3k in purchases :( I also, have 7 other credit cards, and yes perfect payment history on those as well. 

So, if you don't mind a year later this being a complete waste of time, crap customer service from the middle east, awful APR, and all the merchandise being 40% more than the value of the product.... pick this card!!

In closing.... Fingerhut.... you're the devil... I will never buy anything again. You can take my 4k credit limit, and shove it!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Dec 06, 2016
Horrible
CWHEASDT Cardholder

Bought and xbox one. Paid early every month. Paid one day too early one month and note in receiving a late payment because the payment I paid wasn't accepted as a payment but may as a extra amount. Called customer service and they said don't worry we will fix this. Two days later in getting creditor calls stating I'm late and need to make payment. Told them no I already paid and they said nope you still owe us. Called customer service back and they said don't worry we will take care of this. Will be taken care of by Tuesday at the latest. Nope got a call from a creditor stating I not only owe the payment but now I have a late fee that is as much as a normal payment. I'm thru we these crooks.

more ...
Dec 06, 2016
Excellent
jb065m Cardholder

I applied and was issued a CL of $230 through the fresh start program. Once the minumum payment posted online, I pad it immediately. 2 weeks later, I paid again, which paid off the account in full. I had read that doing so would prevent me from graduating to a regular credit account. That was incorrect information. Today, I checked, which was 3 days after paying off the account, and I had been issued a credit line of $350. I also received a call from Fingerhut welcoming me and if I had any questions/issues to contact them. This was all done via autmoated phone call. 

I have been working to rebuild my credit, a year ago I was in upper 400's and now I am in upper 500's. I have been doing my due deligence. Fingerhut/Web Bank gave me a shot and I am happy with that. Also, I've read that they do not report or have not reported quickly. I noticed that my FreshStart account was listed on my credit report within 30 days. Now that I'm paid off, wonder what it will do for my score now. :)

more ...
Nov 30, 2016
Time waster
disait Cardholder

I would like to start with saying the employees are polite and easy to talk to. The items are nice but VERY overpriced. I call this credit line a time waster if you are applying for a fingerhut fresh start card and you have life events like rent, utilities, or anything else really. I was approved for 230$. My issue started the 4th payment, I called 4 days early and informed them my payments would be 2 days late. I was told by a very polite woman that was OK and the late fees would be waved, no problems. I then payed off the credit line the next month entirely, one month early. I paid EVERY payment other than the 4th payment early. I was told after I paid it off give them 5-7 days I would receive a letter in the mail informing me of my credit approval, or denial. 2 weeks go by and nothing comes. I called and asked, and was then informed of the ONE payment payed 2 days late (with my informing them of this and being told no problem) that is why I was denied credit. Finally, they still say I owe money and are reporting this to both tu and Equifax on credit karma two months later. They are not worth the hassle if you are trying to rebuild your credit

more ...
Nov 30, 2016
Time waster
disait Cardholder

I would like to start with saying the employees are polite and easy to talk to. The items are nice but VERY overpriced. I call this credit line a time waster if you are applying for a fingerhut fresh start card and you have life events like rent, utilities, or anything else really. I was approved for 230$. My issue started the 4th payment, I called 4 days early and informed them my payments would be 2 days late. I was told by a very polite woman that was OK and the late fees would be waved, no problems. I then payed off the credit line the next month entirely, one month early. I paid EVERY payment other than the 4th payment early. I was told after I paid it off give them 5-7 days I would receive a letter in the mail informing me of my credit approval, or denial. 2 weeks go by and nothing comes. I called and asked, and was then informed of the ONE payment payed 2 days late (with my informing them of this and being told no problem) that is why I was denied credit. Finally, they still say I owe money and are reporting this to both tu and Equifax on credit karma two months later. They are not worth the hassle if you are trying to rebuild your credit

more ...
Nov 30, 2016
Time waster
disait Cardholder

I would like to start with saying the employees are polite and easy to talk to. The items are nice but VERY overpriced. I call this credit line a time waster if you are applying for a fingerhut fresh start card and you have life events like rent, utilities, or anything else really. I was approved for 230$. My issue started the 4th payment, I called 4 days early and informed them my payments would be 2 days late. I was told by a very polite woman that was OK and the late fees would be waved, no problems. I then payed off the credit line the next month entirely, one month early. I paid EVERY payment other than the 4th payment early. I was told after I paid it off give them 5-7 days I would receive a letter in the mail informing me of my credit approval, or denial. 2 weeks go by and nothing comes. I called and asked, and was then informed of the ONE payment payed 2 days late (with my informing them of this and being told no problem) that is why I was denied credit. Finally, they still say I owe money and are reporting this to both tu and Equifax on credit karma two months later. They are not worth the hassle if you are trying to rebuild your credit

more ...
Nov 22, 2016
Like it so far
aljohnson17 Cardholder

Applied for fh late july with cs of 560 got approved for $400 limit limit. made a couple purchases, paid a little more than the minimum every month. Received $500 increase at the end of October.. Haven't really seen my cs improve, but every one is different. actively working on utilization now.. but so far so good!

more ...
Nov 18, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

Wonderful products and services for rebuilding your credit. I have been with fingerhut for two years and still pleased.

more ...
Nov 09, 2016
Did exactly what I wanted it to do
Anonymous Cardholder

Started off in the fresh start program with $230 limit. I purchased an item that was $104 with shipping paid my $30 that was on October 23rd got the item on Nov 4th I made a payment of $44.98 on November 9th I signed in to setup two reoccurring payments for my remaining $30 balance and my account had been moved to a regular account with a $400 limit so I decided to check my credit score and it had jumped 27 points. Yes some items are over priced but honestly for the to boost your credit you can't complain. Try buying stuff that you already know is a good brand. So you can at least justify gat the product was good. My plan is to buy something around $70 each month from them and pay off in two payments each month to keep a steady positive report from them 

more ...
Nov 02, 2016
Opportunity

I initally applied and got denied because I had moved and couldn't prove my identity. But I applied again and got approved wth a $500 cl.  My CS was bumped over 40 points because I got the card.  I spent about half my CL and plan to pay it down and then off to show progressively lower credit utilization.  I keep telling myself low usage, pay before posting date and wait.  Waiting is the hard part.  i'll update in 90 days.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Fingerhut® Credit Account