Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Fingerhut® Credit Account

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.9 out of 5 stars
58 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

4 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

May 17, 2016
PathToRecovery Cardholder

This is long but you must read if you really want to build your credit up

Let me tell you guys (or women) all about my fingerhut experience.

My credit score was 426 (as most of us from silly mistakes when I was younger) and I was approved for a fresh start account for $130 (bummer!). I used my entire credit limit on my first purchase (lucky it was reporting as a installment loan and not credit card so it didn't affect my utilization) all of the stuff fell apart within two weeks (cheaply made but highly overpriced) but I still continued to pay on it (really didn't have a choice if I wanted to continue on the path to recovery). I paid more than the minimum each month even if it was just a dollar more. I fully paid off my balance after my third payment. After a week I received a email congratulating me on graduating to a revolving account and after two weeks I received a paper card and began reporting to the bureau's as a credit card with a whopping, wait for it, wait for it, $150 (oh my gosh that's a huge increase, right?) Well at least my credit went from 426 TU to 613 TU within three months. After all of my baddies fell off of my credit report I had a chat with a mortgage broker asking him what all I need to get a home loan and he mentioned that I need at least three revolving credit accounts. Well credit apps here I come I started off with Gettington (fingerhit sister) and surprisingly was denied. I applied for a Capital One Quick Silver One and was approved for $300. I read somewhere that QS1 is harder to get than Platinum so I applied for a Platinum card and was approved for $500. Getting approved for two cards was very, very exciting so I applied for even more, I said I was going to stop once I get a denial. I applied for Kohl's approved for $300, applied for Walmart $150 (bummer!), applied for Lowe's $600, applied for home depot $601 (that dollar matter, lol.), applied for Capital One buy power card, denied. I know what I said but I didn't stop there. I applied for the Chase freedom card, denied. That's when I officially stopped putting in apps. I read forum after forum on myfico (you should really checked them out) and I read about backdoor numbers. I called a backdoor number for Lowe's and asked for a credit limit increase (CLI) and he asked how much, I said $25,000. I'm not going to lie I expected for him to laugh and hang up on me. He didn't. Instead he asked me my personal income (25k) and if I own or rent (I rent but I said own since I'm looking to buy a house within the next six months) he placed me on hold for about six minutes and the slience was very intense. He came back and said, "I have some bad news" my heart kinda dropped in disappointment, "I wasn't able to approve you for $25,000 but I was able to approve you for $17,000. Do you accept?" I almost fell out my seat and did three backflips in the process. I was so speechless I couldn't even say yes. "Sir, sir are you there." I had to play it off, yes I'm here I was really looking forward to 25k but I guess 17k would do. I still can't believe it I called their automated system three times just to make sure I wasn't being pranked. I'm now currently on hold with home depot to try and do the same thing I did with Lowe's and next is Kohl's and Walmart. None of this would be possible if it wasn't for fingerhut fresh start. All of this happened today, May 17, 2016. I can't wait to get my cards in the mail. Don't ask questions just apply for fingerhut A.S.A.P! Go, Go, Go!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Aug 09, 2016
Tythom202 Cardholder

I had got an offer to start the fresh start program, did a little researching and then decided to start the fresh start program. I was given $200 with a $30 down payment! I brought two items (even though the items was cheap, they definitely was not worth it). I paid on time for 4 months straight, during the 5th month I decided to just pay it off!! If your on the fresh start program DO NOT PAY EARLY OR LATE! Not even a day early or late or it will mess you up! I did not see any difference in my score (even though I did see that they had reported it) they did offer me to restart the fresh start program because I paid early BUT, would not give me a regular account with them! SMH! I personally would try other ways to build my credit if I was anyone else, the quality of items is just not worth it, nor how they do the fresh start program! 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Feb 09, 2017
Thank you for giving me a chance!
bbrown0814 Cardholder

I applied originally with a score in the low 500's. I tried applying for many other cards and got denied for all of them. Fingerhut approved me for the fresh start program which is basically an installment loan. I had a $30 down payment for a $130 "loan". I paid off a little more the minimum each month about a week before it was due and just made my last payment last week. I checked my account yesterday and I got approved to move up to the actual credit account with a limit of $300. The fresh start program raised my score to the upper 500's and I can't wait to see how this continues to help me. I am so thankful that someone gave me a chance because it's the only thing I've found to help my credit with such a low score. I'm hoping soon I will be approved for other things I try for!

more ...
Jan 14, 2017
Too high of an interest rate
Anonymous Cardholder

They charge twice the price for items, and it's had to return items especially large items. You have to pay your own shipping and handling. The payments just keep getting higher and so doesn't the interest rate.

more ...
Jan 06, 2017
Pleasant and helpful
jstahr50 Cardholder

Fingerhut products are FAR superior to what they were years ago. Fingerhut has grown into a very reputable company that I am pleased to be affiliated with. I will be purchasing most all of my household needs from them moving forward. 

more ...
Dec 30, 2016
Love fingerhut!!
Anonymous Cardholder

I love fingerhut I started off with a cl of $300 and I never missed a payment and fingerhut gave me a $500 increase and my credit score went up.thanks fingerhut,

more ...
Dec 23, 2016
Worst ever
Anonymous Cardholder

Let's start by it's Christmas time. I order something for my

son and by the time the down payment cleared it was out of stock. They cancelled my order, that's with out telling me it was cancelled for being out of stock. I called and spoke to someone a week before Christmas and made an over the phone purchase. 2 days before Christmas I'm wondering what the ship date was I check and I can't find anything. So I call again, and again it was cancelled this time because the sales rep didn't do the order correctly. Again I still never got a notification and they tell me that there is nothing they can do to get me something before Christmas. When I asked for my deposit back they could not even send me an email confirmation because "they don't do that". I will have to say this is the worst company ever. 

more ...
Dec 16, 2016
Thank You Finger Hut....
sarahem1965 Cardholder

I applied for a figerhut account and received a "Freshstart" account in the tune of $180.00.. I used apprx. $50.00 on shoes for my daughter, that were on clearance(if that's possible)Made one payment of $38.00 and then before coming due I paid off balance. I just waited to see what FH would do with my account instead of calling them. Patience is a bxxxx.. So, 2 weeks later I receive an email from FH statine I have a new account, I had "graduated" to a regular account with a starting credit line of .....wait for it....$300.-- yes...that's right 300 dollars.. We know It's not going to take me long to spend thta amount..How ever I do appreciate FingerHut extending credit to me when no one else would. Thanks FingerHut

more ...
Dec 06, 2016
Horrible
CWHEASDT Cardholder

Bought and xbox one. Paid early every month. Paid one day too early one month and note in receiving a late payment because the payment I paid wasn't accepted as a payment but may as a extra amount. Called customer service and they said don't worry we will fix this. Two days later in getting creditor calls stating I'm late and need to make payment. Told them no I already paid and they said nope you still owe us. Called customer service back and they said don't worry we will take care of this. Will be taken care of by Tuesday at the latest. Nope got a call from a creditor stating I not only owe the payment but now I have a late fee that is as much as a normal payment. I'm thru we these crooks.

more ...
Dec 06, 2016
Excellent
jb065m Cardholder

I applied and was issued a CL of $230 through the fresh start program. Once the minumum payment posted online, I pad it immediately. 2 weeks later, I paid again, which paid off the account in full. I had read that doing so would prevent me from graduating to a regular credit account. That was incorrect information. Today, I checked, which was 3 days after paying off the account, and I had been issued a credit line of $350. I also received a call from Fingerhut welcoming me and if I had any questions/issues to contact them. This was all done via autmoated phone call. 

I have been working to rebuild my credit, a year ago I was in upper 400's and now I am in upper 500's. I have been doing my due deligence. Fingerhut/Web Bank gave me a shot and I am happy with that. Also, I've read that they do not report or have not reported quickly. I noticed that my FreshStart account was listed on my credit report within 30 days. Now that I'm paid off, wonder what it will do for my score now. :)

more ...
Nov 30, 2016
Time waster
disait Cardholder

I would like to start with saying the employees are polite and easy to talk to. The items are nice but VERY overpriced. I call this credit line a time waster if you are applying for a fingerhut fresh start card and you have life events like rent, utilities, or anything else really. I was approved for 230$. My issue started the 4th payment, I called 4 days early and informed them my payments would be 2 days late. I was told by a very polite woman that was OK and the late fees would be waved, no problems. I then payed off the credit line the next month entirely, one month early. I paid EVERY payment other than the 4th payment early. I was told after I paid it off give them 5-7 days I would receive a letter in the mail informing me of my credit approval, or denial. 2 weeks go by and nothing comes. I called and asked, and was then informed of the ONE payment payed 2 days late (with my informing them of this and being told no problem) that is why I was denied credit. Finally, they still say I owe money and are reporting this to both tu and Equifax on credit karma two months later. They are not worth the hassle if you are trying to rebuild your credit

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 08, 2017

You gave them 1 star because you failed to uphold the due date agreement? Is it pretty strict that they did that? Yea. But ultimately it was your own fault.

 
Nov 30, 2016
Time waster
disait Cardholder

I would like to start with saying the employees are polite and easy to talk to. The items are nice but VERY overpriced. I call this credit line a time waster if you are applying for a fingerhut fresh start card and you have life events like rent, utilities, or anything else really. I was approved for 230$. My issue started the 4th payment, I called 4 days early and informed them my payments would be 2 days late. I was told by a very polite woman that was OK and the late fees would be waved, no problems. I then payed off the credit line the next month entirely, one month early. I paid EVERY payment other than the 4th payment early. I was told after I paid it off give them 5-7 days I would receive a letter in the mail informing me of my credit approval, or denial. 2 weeks go by and nothing comes. I called and asked, and was then informed of the ONE payment payed 2 days late (with my informing them of this and being told no problem) that is why I was denied credit. Finally, they still say I owe money and are reporting this to both tu and Equifax on credit karma two months later. They are not worth the hassle if you are trying to rebuild your credit

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Fingerhut® Credit Account