Fingerhut® Credit Account

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.6 out of 5 stars
64 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

3.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jan 24, 2014
Good Starter
CenturyChild Cardholder

Excellent card to establish credit if you do not have any at all, or are in need of a tradeline to rebuild.

However, if you already have a tradeline started, you are probably better of to just give those time as better options will be avaialable to you once you get 6months to a year of good history.

This card does grow well with you though. Mine started off with a $250 balance and the only credit account I had at the time.  I used it 2 or 3 times over the course of 6 months.

By the time the account was 14 month old it now has a $1150 credit limit, though I do not use it anymore.

The bad thing about FH are the inflated prices.  But, as mentioned, if you have no tradelines they are a excellent place to start. Buy a couple small things and pay it of in a timely manner.

You will out grow it quick though.

Im giving it 5 stars as they really did help get my Credit History started and on the right path. Other than the higher prices, theres really nothing bad to say about them. Just know that going in, and thats its just a short term thing to deal with and you'll be fine.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Dec 01, 2010
psychicmike Cardholder

I was approved for this card in January 2010 with a starting limit of $330.  Then in April 2010 they increased it to $430.  They do give credit limit increases quite often.  The product prices are about 20% higher than most stores online. This is due to the low monthly payments they offer. It carries an interest rate of 24.90% on purchases. The key to buying products from this company is it is affordable if you buy just one or two items and pay on them. They constantly send you catalogs and emails with promotions and discounts.  I swear I get a catalog in the mail about once a week and about  1 email daily. They heavily over market their catalogs to get you to buy more than one item at a time and max out your limit fast. So Be Aware. Make only a few purchases and pay them off first before buying more.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Apr 20, 2017
Ok
Anonymous Cardholder

Items are pretty pricey

more ...
Apr 20, 2017
i have weblink fingerhut account
brookeatch31 Cardholder

Pretty good for improving credit. I got approved for a fresh account with $130 credit so i bought something I already needed. Shipping is pretty expensive it took every bit of my $30 required deposit and they take forever to update to the credit companys but I guess I cant complain it boosted my credit up an extra 34 points the first month.

more ...
Apr 18, 2017
Poor customer service
swrboo Cardholder

I opened this account as a way to purchase things on credit and help rebuild my credit, but I ran into issues with a computer tower I bought over a year ago.  It was defective so I asked for a replacement, which they sent right away.  They billed me for the second one with the intent to credit me for the first one once they received it.  Problem was it got lost in transport back somehow.   I kept all my receipts and tracking numbers and disputed it with them.  They basically told me sorry about your luck.  I had to get the BBB involved for them to finally resolve the issue.  I have never ordered anything more from them, but recently got letters from them saying someone had ordered big ticket items on my account but they did not ship because they could not verify my identity at that time.   I tried to call fraud department only to have to sit on hold forever, only to finally get a recording saying no one could answer my call.  I had to leave a message and someone would get back with me in two days?  Really?  No one ever called back.  I got the BBB involved again.   Someone from the company did try to call but I couldn't answer.  I tried calling back again today only to have the same run around with no one answering.  My advice.....stay away from this company.   They have poor customer service.

more ...
Apr 12, 2017
Great for credit building
isma864 Cardholder

A year ago I had no credit history. Credit Karma recommended me to open a Fingerhut Credit Account, so I did. I was initially approved for 500 dollars! I was very excited! Then I went only and saw their prices and my jaw dropped. I couldn't believe their prices, but once again I was in no position to complain because my credit was AWFUL. I ordered 3 things from them and paid them off quickly. Later that year I received a letter that I was getting a credit line increase to 700 dollars (yay....not really). All in all Fingerhut helped me get my credit where I wanted it to be, but it doesn't make sense to pay 2 sometimes 3 times amount you would pay at amazon. I have nothing to complain about Fingerhut. If your credit is really bad or poor give them a try. Order cheap stuff and pay them quickly, you'll be surprise how much it will improve your credit. I never ordered anything more than 200 dollars, and paid it off as soon as I got it. Today 4/12/2017 I closed my fingerhut account because I simply don't need it anymore. Fingerhut we had a good run, but I have to let you go.  

more ...
Apr 11, 2017
Fresh Start
Anonymous Cardholder

About two months ago my score was close to 400, I disputed some items on my credit report and it is now 532, I want it to increase so I gave fingerhut a try because no one else will approve me. FIngerhut gave me a $130 credit limit with a down payment of $30, so I just ordered something small just to utilize and plan to make my payments early and more than the minimum. Will follow up as more happens!

more ...
Apr 07, 2017
Do not use
Anonymous Cardholder

Do not use Fingerhut under any circumstance if you ever want to get a loan in your lifetime they will screw up your credit and never fix it

more ...
Apr 02, 2017
Yb1984 Cardholder

This people are liers and you should never deal with them I have account with them for 3 years and 6 month and my payment was perfect with them and I never miss or been late for one payment until this last September 2016 I have been late some months I was out of the country when I come back I call them to make the payments that I was late for in conditions to take the late fees off so they agree I pay them 800 dollars the next week I cheek my account with them it was closed and they sned it to collection after they take the 800 dollar from my bank account  i don't even know if that's legale to do ?! So please stay away from this company...

more ...
Mar 30, 2017
Helped my credit!
Anonymous Cardholder

This is one of the very first lines of credit I applied for. My score was very poor. It was somewhere in the low to mid 500's. They gave me somehwere around 70 points in total on my credit score (over the course of several months) and quickly raised my avaliable credit from $500 to $1,400. I started out by ordering something cheap and making a few payments then simply paying it off. Since then i've purchased a computer and one or two other things. I know the prices aren't the most competitive but it has been great for my credit. I even had my husband open himself an account with them to help his credit out! I would recommend this to anyone trying to build or rebuild their credit! 

more ...
Mar 28, 2017
Overpriced merchandise and high interest
realleah Cardholder

If you do some research on the sale prices for merchandise at Fingerhut, you can usually find the items online elsewhere for WAY cheaper. What a scam!

more ...
Mar 26, 2017
Worst company ever
MikeJoned Cardholder

I placed a order and after 3 weeks of not hearing anything I called and asked what was going on, they canceled my order the last said and was returning my $30 I had to give well it's been just about 60 days since she told me that and I haven't received a thing. This company survives on thieving from unsuspected people and to be honest there is nothing you can do about it. This is complete BS and I will never recommend this company to ANYONE, STAY AWAY FROM THEM THEY WILL STEAL YOUR MONEY, POINT BLANK!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Fingerhut® Credit Account