Fingerhut® Credit Account

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.7 out of 5 stars
59 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

3.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

May 17, 2016
PathToRecovery Cardholder

This is long but you must read if you really want to build your credit up

Let me tell you guys (or women) all about my fingerhut experience.

My credit score was 426 (as most of us from silly mistakes when I was younger) and I was approved for a fresh start account for $130 (bummer!). I used my entire credit limit on my first purchase (lucky it was reporting as a installment loan and not credit card so it didn't affect my utilization) all of the stuff fell apart within two weeks (cheaply made but highly overpriced) but I still continued to pay on it (really didn't have a choice if I wanted to continue on the path to recovery). I paid more than the minimum each month even if it was just a dollar more. I fully paid off my balance after my third payment. After a week I received a email congratulating me on graduating to a revolving account and after two weeks I received a paper card and began reporting to the bureau's as a credit card with a whopping, wait for it, wait for it, $150 (oh my gosh that's a huge increase, right?) Well at least my credit went from 426 TU to 613 TU within three months. After all of my baddies fell off of my credit report I had a chat with a mortgage broker asking him what all I need to get a home loan and he mentioned that I need at least three revolving credit accounts. Well credit apps here I come I started off with Gettington (fingerhit sister) and surprisingly was denied. I applied for a Capital One Quick Silver One and was approved for $300. I read somewhere that QS1 is harder to get than Platinum so I applied for a Platinum card and was approved for $500. Getting approved for two cards was very, very exciting so I applied for even more, I said I was going to stop once I get a denial. I applied for Kohl's approved for $300, applied for Walmart $150 (bummer!), applied for Lowe's $600, applied for home depot $601 (that dollar matter, lol.), applied for Capital One buy power card, denied. I know what I said but I didn't stop there. I applied for the Chase freedom card, denied. That's when I officially stopped putting in apps. I read forum after forum on myfico (you should really checked them out) and I read about backdoor numbers. I called a backdoor number for Lowe's and asked for a credit limit increase (CLI) and he asked how much, I said $25,000. I'm not going to lie I expected for him to laugh and hang up on me. He didn't. Instead he asked me my personal income (25k) and if I own or rent (I rent but I said own since I'm looking to buy a house within the next six months) he placed me on hold for about six minutes and the slience was very intense. He came back and said, "I have some bad news" my heart kinda dropped in disappointment, "I wasn't able to approve you for $25,000 but I was able to approve you for $17,000. Do you accept?" I almost fell out my seat and did three backflips in the process. I was so speechless I couldn't even say yes. "Sir, sir are you there." I had to play it off, yes I'm here I was really looking forward to 25k but I guess 17k would do. I still can't believe it I called their automated system three times just to make sure I wasn't being pranked. I'm now currently on hold with home depot to try and do the same thing I did with Lowe's and next is Kohl's and Walmart. None of this would be possible if it wasn't for fingerhut fresh start. All of this happened today, May 17, 2016. I can't wait to get my cards in the mail. Don't ask questions just apply for fingerhut A.S.A.P! Go, Go, Go!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Apr 26, 2016
They never update to credit reporters
Pontiackid96 Cardholder

The last time they reported the balance to the credit bureau was February. Its coming close to the end of may and in February this account was close to being maxed out. Now its very close to being paid off. But is still hurting my credit scare because its showing i have a very high balance still.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Mar 26, 2017
Worst company ever
MikeJoned Cardholder

I placed a order and after 3 weeks of not hearing anything I called and asked what was going on, they canceled my order the last said and was returning my $30 I had to give well it's been just about 60 days since she told me that and I haven't received a thing. This company survives on thieving from unsuspected people and to be honest there is nothing you can do about it. This is complete BS and I will never recommend this company to ANYONE, STAY AWAY FROM THEM THEY WILL STEAL YOUR MONEY, POINT BLANK!

more ...
Mar 22, 2017
So far so good
Jerrydelvin Cardholder

Yes, the merchandise can be high, depending on what you buy, but my credit score was boosted a great deal. I am a happy camper.

more ...
Mar 21, 2017
A complete waist of time!
Dazd Cardholder

I clozed my account literally3 minutes ago and here's why. They give me this ridiculous credit line of $250 which if you have ever looked at Fingerhuts prices that does not allow you to buy much. Especially if your into electronics like I am. I sent them a email requesting a larger line of credit a couple of times telling them I was interested in buying a 55 inch tv. They told me they do not accept credit line increases. Their faq page says they reveiw your acct 3 times a year well I think thats not true because if they did they would want to know why someone would open a credit line and not use it for almost a year. I got tired of waiting and bought a tv locally with my credit card which has a limit over 10 times what Fingerhut gave me. So now that I was fed up with Fingerhut I sent them 1 last email and told them if they were unable to give me an increase in my limit then I was going to close my account. This women called me and told me the same garbage about not taking credit increase requests. So I told her to close my account. She says we take Visa and Mastercard and I thought why on earth would I use my credit card to buy from Fingerhut and pay more, wait for them to ship it and hope it gets here undamaged on when they say when I can just go to a local store pay a lot less and have it that day. So folks save yourselfs some aggravation and just get a credit card. Let Fingerhut keep not taking credit line increases and lose money while you enjoy your purchases that day.

more ...
Mar 13, 2017
Temporary Credit
Anonymous Cardholder

In the process of buying a house. Given 700.00 in Temporary credit. Didn't ask. If you don't use it.. You loose it... Effecting my credit score. I asked that they don't put it in my report and they did. Never again. I will be paying them off. DO NOT get caught in there rip off's.. If I knew before hand... I would have never got Finger hut. Email- Call... NO ONE cares to get back to you. Hey.. Great way to Thank a Veteran... Bad customer service.

more ...
Mar 07, 2017
Helped me dig out of a hole
barango92 Cardholder

I signed up Finger Hut after receiving their catalog in the mail. My credit was in the low 500s & I had almost given up hope that I could ever have good credit, but I figured this would be my best shot at fixing my credit. Using it responsibly I've gotten a credit increase & have significantly increased my credit score. Downside is the pricing on the merchandise. Everything is overpriced, but with responsible use; it is worth it.

more ...
Mar 07, 2017
Helped me dig out of a hole
barango92 Cardholder

I signed up Finger Hut after receiving their catalog in the mail. My credit was in the low 500s & I had almost given up hope that I could ever have good credit, but I figured this would be my best shot at fixing my credit. Using it responsibly I've gotten a credit increase & have significantly increased my credit score. Downside is the pricing on the merchandise. Everything is overpriced, but with responsible use; it is worth it.

more ...
Mar 05, 2017
Money waster
Joe60952 Cardholder

Merchandise is overpriced and shipping is very expensive

more ...
Feb 09, 2017
Thank you for giving me a chance!
bbrown0814 Cardholder

I applied originally with a score in the low 500's. I tried applying for many other cards and got denied for all of them. Fingerhut approved me for the fresh start program which is basically an installment loan. I had a $30 down payment for a $130 "loan". I paid off a little more the minimum each month about a week before it was due and just made my last payment last week. I checked my account yesterday and I got approved to move up to the actual credit account with a limit of $300. The fresh start program raised my score to the upper 500's and I can't wait to see how this continues to help me. I am so thankful that someone gave me a chance because it's the only thing I've found to help my credit with such a low score. I'm hoping soon I will be approved for other things I try for!

more ...
Jan 14, 2017
Too high of an interest rate
Anonymous Cardholder

They charge twice the price for items, and it's had to return items especially large items. You have to pay your own shipping and handling. The payments just keep getting higher and so doesn't the interest rate.

more ...
Jan 06, 2017
Pleasant and helpful
jstahr50 Cardholder

Fingerhut products are FAR superior to what they were years ago. Fingerhut has grown into a very reputable company that I am pleased to be affiliated with. I will be purchasing most all of my household needs from them moving forward. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Fingerhut® Credit Account