Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Fingerhut® Credit Account

Approval Odds
Application Process
Customer Service
3.5 5
Write a Review

About Credit Karma

Thinking about applying? Credit Karma can estimate your Approval Odds based on your credit profile. Get your information for free and get started.
  • Credit Scores
  • Credit Reports
  • Personalized Offers

Most Helpful Positive Review

Sep 21, 2014

Started with 300, now over 2K!!
Helpful to 24 out of 25 people

I had horrible credit! Score was in the 400's just 2 years ago. I did everything you can imagine to mess up my credit when i was younger! Well As I have gotten older I have been working very hard in just a short time. I applied with Fingerhut and got approved for 300. I ordered small thigs like towles, paid 5 dollars more a month for the first 3 months then paid it off. Did that for a pair of shoes aswell. then I get a letter saying that they increased my limit to 750! So I bought a deep fryer, paid that off within 3 months. then I went ahead and pulled the trigger and bought a push mower and a radio for my car. All togther about 700 dollars. had that paid down to a little over 100 bucks. The just recently i got another increase to 2,350 So i let that simmer for a bit and thought what the hell lets make some purchases so I can show them I can manage my account. I bought a Fireplace media center (598.00) A surrond sound (299.00) a Safe (249.00)  a leaf blower/ vacuume (149.00) A Ninja blender (129.00) also a kureig Coffe maker 299.00 And a bluetooth (129.00) Im a truck driver lol  Anyways Im sure Im forgetting something but over all I spent 1,957.26 of my credit!  This is a great card to have, What they want to see is how you pay and how much you pay, i always pay over the min amount that is KEY!! I havent had this accound a year yet, and now my credit score is almost 700, now mind you I have gotten other cards like a Wells Fargo secured card, A capital one card, Secured also. And was approved in the last 4 months for a Khols card (600 Limit) an Old navy card (400 CL) credit one card started at 200 limit, already increased to 500.00 even got a car loan with capital one for 17,000!! I also got approved for 1,100 Kay jewlers card! My credit is soaring every month now!!!   if you need any advice ill be more than happy to share how  I did all of this! If you have a computer, its as easy as 1,2,3!!

Read More

kriptiniteboi28's review was:    

 

Most Helpful Critical Review

Dec 01, 2010

Helpful to 29 out of 30 people

I was approved for this card in January 2010 with a starting limit of $330.  Then in April 2010 they increased it to $430.  They do give credit limit increases quite often.  The product prices are about 20% higher than most stores online. This is due to the low monthly payments they offer. It carries an interest rate of 24.90% on purchases. The key to buying products from this company is it is affordable if you buy just one or two items and pay on them. They constantly send you catalogs and emails with promotions and discounts.  I swear I get a catalog in the mail about once a week and about  1 email daily. They heavily over market their catalogs to get you to buy more than one item at a time and max out your limit fast. So Be Aware. Make only a few purchases and pay them off first before buying more.

Read More

psychicmike's review was:    

 

Reviews (135)

Mar 02, 2015

WONDERFUL!!!

I was woking on my credit and needed someone to give me a chance. I figured I would have the 30.00 deposit to pay but I apllied and was approved for a CL of 500.00 on their regular credit account. I have had them since Jan and I ordered an Apple Ipad Mini for 368.00. I have always paid over my minimum payment(26.99) I pay 50.00 or more and will be paying it off this month. I love the products they have and love that they gave me a chance. Thanks Fingerhut!!!!

Read More

bodhaineashley's review was:    

 
Write A Reply |

Feb 26, 2015

Brilliant.
Helpful to 1 out of 1 people

Started with Fresh Start. Started with a 250 purchase credit bought a 90$ item. Payed it off in 3 months. Graduated to advantage account with a 250$ CL. Bought a lego hp game and a hei cologne that was 76.97 payed it off in 2 months. Instant CLI to 850$. Been there ever since. I assume its because I am not utilizing my line enough. Plan to purchase an item that brings the Utilization on that account to 19%. Then will update if I was succesful for another CLI

Read More

Scotter514's review was:    

 
Write A Reply |

Feb 03, 2015

Good for building credit
Helpful to 1 out of 1 people

Was approved with a 583 from credit karma in January 2015 but they have yet to report my limit on my credit even not an inquiry which im not in any hurry to recieve but I was wondering if they have a set day of the month when they report or does it vary per account?

Read More

ej2046's review was:    

 
Write A Reply |

Jan 17, 2015

Try Walmart
Helpful to 2 out of 3 people

Fingerhut works for credit for people in a bad way with their credit, like myself.  But I've come to understand that Walmart is one of the easiest credit cards to get, and so I would recommend trying that first.  Because with Fingerhut, they mark up the prices about 40%, i.e. Samsung Galaxy Tab 10.1 for $459 when really it retails for $329.  Everything is market up drastical like that, so you pay through the nose before the high interest starts counting up.  If you can get approved for Walmart, you'll always know you are getting a good price.  I have both.  I'll eventually close Fingerhut.

Read More

mschaeff's review was:    

 
Write A Reply |

Jan 16, 2015

I was approved with poor credit

My credit score is 530 and I was approved for $500. Anyone who is improving their credit score I recommend you to now max your limit. Use only 20-30 percent of the card. The credit bureaus love this method and your lender will too. I can't wait for my credit score to rise. All the mistakes I made in the past is going to change and I hope you do the same.

Read More
  Write A Reply |

Jan 10, 2015

Works good fast shipping
Helpful to 1 out of 1 people

I'm 18 year old male and can't get credit anywhere so I tried fingerhut and it's been great excellent shipping, prices are a little high but it's worth it to build credit and pay things off monthly.

Read More
  Write A Reply |

Jan 06, 2015

FINGERHUT IS NOT WORTH IT!
Helpful to 1 out of 1 people

I thought the same thing, that I could rebuild my revolving credit with a fingerhut account. So I got an account and ordered some products, after paying a $30.00 down payment I ordered a Kitchen Aid food processor and a canning set. Got the canning set first & everything was fine. A couple days later I got the food processor and it didn't work. So I called fingerhut & after getting a run around with customer service they told me I would have to send it back for a refund to my account or get a replacement product. Now mind that I have already paid for shipping, I asked them if they would send me a return shipping label or would they just have UPS pick it up. They told me I would have to pay shipping and they would credit that amount to my account. So after going around in circles with their customer service I decided to send it back and have the shipping amount credited to my account. After 3 weeks since I sent the BROKEN product back to them I called to see if my account had been credited yet because nothing was different on the website page of my account, It still said that  I owed them the full amount & a payment was coming due. So I called & the foreign women on the phone was giving me a hard time, then she told me that they had just recieved the product back that day. I had shipping tracking and they had the product for over a week and half. She told me that it would be credited back to my account in a couple of days and I should call back then. She just didn't want to deal with me and was trying to get me off the phone. So I said ok, I checked my account a couple of days later and my account was credited for the broken product but my account wasn't credited for the return shipping. So I paid off what i owed & closed the account . I will never deal with fingerhut again. Thier customer service is the worst I have ever dealt with, they just keep repeating themselves & don't want to deal with you at all.

So fingerhut screwed me out of $25.00 But I can't report that to a credit company can I. It's not fair that companies can screw people of money and nothing can been done, but if the customer is unhappy with the service that they are getting and decide not to pay them, then your credit get screwed up because of it. Companies like fingerhut with there out sourcing and robotic customer service people that have no souls can get away with things like this because their part of big business and are untouchable just like the rest of corperate america.

Don't deal with fingerhut to rebuild your credit, it's just not worth it, it's going to backfire on you and screw your credit up more. I think I got off easy & lost $25.00 My credit is still intact.

Read More

Igotoffeasy's review was:    

 
Write A Reply |

Jan 05, 2015

Credit ok CUSTOMER SERVICE BAD
Helpful to 1 out of 1 people

Currently have now. Applied back in June of 2014. Started with $500 cl. Paid 2 payments then got a increase of $300. I barely use this account. SHIPPING is bogus.... It takes about 2 weeks to get your item that you have already paid about $20 for shipping alone. The product is OVERPRICED. Some items by a little and many by $30 and up. Things like an iPad can be bought for around 500 and up on fingerhut depending on size. But after some simple google searches it only about $30 more here. With a very low monthly. But with that being said that was the price around Christmas when FH had them up to $250 off. And yes they were in competition with big box stores. But as of now I'm SURE the $$$ has gone back up. Any way I get emails from FH once a week if not more on my credit limit and a code. The bad thing is they DONT honor my code I have gotten in the last 10 emails. I have called customer service to stop getting this code if I cant use it. I had to even forward them my emails and still I get we don't know how you got this email. Was ithis code forwarded to you from another member??? NOPE your company sent it to me. Ugh so frustrating. So now have just paid it down to a balance of around $50 and pay just over min if that. My score has definitely jumped way up. I get tons of offers from other credit companies but resist temptation. I hope fingerhut looks at people... Their customers reviews on the company and start to make some changes because with today's World Wide Web it's not hard to look up and see what your customers think your brand / company. 

Read More
  Write A Reply |

Jan 02, 2015

HORRID SERVICE
Helpful to 1 out of 1 people

PAID FOR EXPRESS SHIPPING, AND 2 WEEKS LATER STILL HAVEN'T RECEIVED MY ITEM!!! THIS COMPANY IS GARBAGE!!! DO NOT ORDER THEIR OVER PRICED LOW END S**T!!!

Read More

domenick27's review was:    

 
Write A Reply |

Dec 29, 2014

For Credit Building Only!

This account got me running to improve my credit- BUT . . . I received an item I did not order, returned it and was never credited for the amount. Fingerhut stated they never recieved so I refused to pay on now I am currently disputing this on me Credit Report. I purchased other items prior to this issue and paid off immediately as I was only using them to build my credit. Now due to their poor customer service it's a bad mark on my report.

Use them ONLY if you have no other choice and purchase small priced items a few times- then get rid of it.

Read More
  Write A Reply |

Add Your Review Of Fingerhut® Credit Account

Rate this product

Rate your application experience (Optional)

Application Process

Customer Service

What is your experience with this product?

I Have It

I Used To Have It

I Applied For It

Write your review:

Profile Image
Anonymous

Company Overview

Fingerhut® Credit Card, issued by WebBank, is a credit account for Fingerhut® customers. Fingerhut® Credit Card can be applied for online with a decision in as little as 5 seconds. Also, Fingerhut® reports to multiple credit bureaus in order to track cardholders' credit history and potentially build credit. Fingerhut® Credit Card site also features Credit Education resources, such as games, articles, and tips to teach cardholders how to manage and maintain good credit. Established in 1948, Fingerhut® is a nationwide direct retailer, servicing customers with a wide selection of products through online and mail-in orders. Fingerhut® also provides credit options and low monthly payments with a WebBank/Fingerhut® Credit Account to make buying more affordable for shoppers. With the motto, “Now You Can”, Fingerhut® helps make shopping possible for more consumers.
Approval Odds

Fingerhut® Credit Account

Search All Cards