Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Fingerhut® Credit Account

Find Out More

Ratings by Category

Application Process
Customer Service
Cardholder Ratings
3.5 5

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jan 24, 2014
Good Starter
CenturyChild Cardholder

Excellent card to establish credit if you do not have any at all, or are in need of a tradeline to rebuild.

However, if you already have a tradeline started, you are probably better of to just give those time as better options will be avaialable to you once you get 6months to a year of good history.

This card does grow well with you though. Mine started off with a $250 balance and the only credit account I had at the time.  I used it 2 or 3 times over the course of 6 months.

By the time the account was 14 month old it now has a $1150 credit limit, though I do not use it anymore.

The bad thing about FH are the inflated prices.  But, as mentioned, if you have no tradelines they are a excellent place to start. Buy a couple small things and pay it of in a timely manner.

You will out grow it quick though.

Im giving it 5 stars as they really did help get my Credit History started and on the right path. Other than the higher prices, theres really nothing bad to say about them. Just know that going in, and thats its just a short term thing to deal with and you'll be fine.

more ...
 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Dec 01, 2010
psychicmike Cardholder

I was approved for this card in January 2010 with a starting limit of $330.  Then in April 2010 they increased it to $430.  They do give credit limit increases quite often.  The product prices are about 20% higher than most stores online. This is due to the low monthly payments they offer. It carries an interest rate of 24.90% on purchases. The key to buying products from this company is it is affordable if you buy just one or two items and pay on them. They constantly send you catalogs and emails with promotions and discounts.  I swear I get a catalog in the mail about once a week and about  1 email daily. They heavily over market their catalogs to get you to buy more than one item at a time and max out your limit fast. So Be Aware. Make only a few purchases and pay them off first before buying more.

more ...
 

Reviews (222)

Add Review
Jul 21, 2016
Good Experience! Great customer service
wendytx2 Cardholder

I applied with a Transunion 593 and E score of 548 and approved of 500 limit no depoit immediantley! I do see the prices are quite expensive as others have mentioned. Just be very careful and pay off total balance end of month. Im grateful for the immediate approval and chance to improve my credit!

more ...
Jul 04, 2016
Still helping me
Lola021080 Cardholder

Just a small update. I graduated from their fresh start program a month ago. They raised my limit only by twenty dollars. I was a little bummed but figured no huge deal. I didn't want a large purchase anyhow. I just wanted the increase for the boost to my score. So I bought a very small item. Seriously just a box of keurig cups for my brewer. I made the first payment a few weeks ago. Today I log in and my credit line has gone from 250 to 750. I was so excited. I still plan to just make small purchases and see how it goes. This card, as overpriced as the items are, has truly been the gateway to many other cards who probably would not have taken a chance on me. 

more ...
Jul 04, 2016

Did they report your account to the credit bureau yet?

 
Jun 28, 2016
Great company to rebuild credit
Wulfdane Cardholder

Fingerhut Credit is store credit and unlike other store credit like "Horizon Gold", Fingerhut actually sells quality merchandise at a reasonable cost and you do not pay a monthly subscription fee. You can go to their website and see exactly what they sell (they don't hide what they sell until you join)

You do pay more for most items shopping on Fingerhut (about 25% more), but Fingerhut also offers very low payments and is taking a risk by offering credit to so many people who have bad credit.  But the increase in price is well worth it when your working to improve your credit and have limited options.

If you need to rebuild your credit, Fingerhut is a good place to start. I recommend starting with small purchases until you get a feel for the program and what you can afford to pay monthly.

more ...
Jun 23, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

Customer service is terrible!  I wrote a bad product review on a bicycle I purchased.  It never posted to the website.  I emailed them and asked why my product review never posted.  They replied that I should read my terms of credit and that they report to all 3 credit bureaus.  WTF?  They didn't even READ my email!

more ...
Jun 18, 2016
applied, approved,...we shall see

just applied for the heck of it to see if i would get approved. sure did..$300 CL after i just got a notificaiton my equifax went up from 588 to 613 due to Credit One..just got BOA $99/$500 so going to buy headphones with finger hut and see how im treated..

more ...
Jun 12, 2016
A great credit builder
Anonymous Cardholder

My tu was 546 & eq 513! I got approved for 600! Im excited bec I'm trying to rebuild my credit and I feel like this a fresh start! 

more ...
Jun 06, 2016
Disappointed
akight Cardholder

I have had this card for 8 months. My credit limit WAS $500. I was recently REDUCED to a $300 credit limit! I have made EVERY payment before my due date and more then my minimum! The CSR couldn't give me a reason as to why my credit was reduced. My credit score at the time I applied was around the 550 mark and currently is 612. I have sent a demand letter to close account and will be paying the remaining $240 off in full. Not worth it. Their prices are insanely high compared to going to a department store. 

more ...
May 17, 2016
PathToRecovery Cardholder

This is long but you must read if you really want to build your credit up

Let me tell you guys (or women) all about my fingerhut experience.

My credit score was 426 (as most of us from silly mistakes when I was younger) and I was approved for a fresh start account for $130 (bummer!). I used my entire credit limit on my first purchase (lucky it was reporting as a installment loan and not credit card so it didn't affect my utilization) all of the stuff fell apart within two weeks (cheaply made but highly overpriced) but I still continued to pay on it (really didn't have a choice if I wanted to continue on the path to recovery). I paid more than the minimum each month even if it was just a dollar more. I fully paid off my balance after my third payment. After a week I received a email congratulating me on graduating to a revolving account and after two weeks I received a paper card and began reporting to the bureau's as a credit card with a whopping, wait for it, wait for it, $150 (oh my gosh that's a huge increase, right?) Well at least my credit went from 426 TU to 613 TU within three months. After all of my baddies fell off of my credit report I had a chat with a mortgage broker asking him what all I need to get a home loan and he mentioned that I need at least three revolving credit accounts. Well credit apps here I come I started off with Gettington (fingerhit sister) and surprisingly was denied. I applied for a Capital One Quick Silver One and was approved for $300. I read somewhere that QS1 is harder to get than Platinum so I applied for a Platinum card and was approved for $500. Getting approved for two cards was very, very exciting so I applied for even more, I said I was going to stop once I get a denial. I applied for Kohl's approved for $300, applied for Walmart $150 (bummer!), applied for Lowe's $600, applied for home depot $601 (that dollar matter, lol.), applied for Capital One buy power card, denied. I know what I said but I didn't stop there. I applied for the Chase freedom card, denied. That's when I officially stopped putting in apps. I read forum after forum on myfico (you should really checked them out) and I read about backdoor numbers. I called a backdoor number for Lowe's and asked for a credit limit increase (CLI) and he asked how much, I said $25,000. I'm not going to lie I expected for him to laugh and hang up on me. He didn't. Instead he asked me my personal income (25k) and if I own or rent (I rent but I said own since I'm looking to buy a house within the next six months) he placed me on hold for about six minutes and the slience was very intense. He came back and said, "I have some bad news" my heart kinda dropped in disappointment, "I wasn't able to approve you for $25,000 but I was able to approve you for $17,000. Do you accept?" I almost fell out my seat and did three backflips in the process. I was so speechless I couldn't even say yes. "Sir, sir are you there." I had to play it off, yes I'm here I was really looking forward to 25k but I guess 17k would do. I still can't believe it I called their automated system three times just to make sure I wasn't being pranked. I'm now currently on hold with home depot to try and do the same thing I did with Lowe's and next is Kohl's and Walmart. None of this would be possible if it wasn't for fingerhut fresh start. All of this happened today, May 17, 2016. I can't wait to get my cards in the mail. Don't ask questions just apply for fingerhut A.S.A.P! Go, Go, Go!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

more ...
May 18, 2016

*Update*
Home depot gave me $13,000 (from $601)
Walmart gave me $5,000 (from $150)
Kohl's wouldn't budge
I also applied for Amazon and was approved for $1450 and of course I called to recon. He asked me how much I said $19,000, he gave me $11,000.
My credit scores is not even in the 700's and I already have over $47,000 in credit limit. Next thing to do is continue to make on time payments and let all of my new accounts age.

On the path to 750+

 
May 20, 2016

lol smh wow...

 
Jun 15, 2016

Thank you for sharing this! I will take your advicemail and read the forums on nyfico as well as try calling the "backdoor numbers" for increases. Congratulations!!!!

 
Jun 20, 2016

what back door numbers did you call? I actually have walmart, kohls, capital one, amazon, and home depot lol so i could use your help please!

 
May 09, 2016
"""A NICE HONEST CARD TO REBUILD"""
Jmh523 Cardholder

Fingerhut dam sure helps people in need of credit rebuilding or strengthening. Im sorry but people need to really Thank Webbank. I will say that fingerhut and amazon same product is about 35% more expensive compare to amazon. But so what. It pays to have good credit. What i like alot about fingerhut is that they send you a catalog and they have very nice stuff. If you make a purchase one a month you will get a GENEROUS credit line increase every 3 months. Then after 6 months you can slow down and try a capital one card to continue your journey to great credit. But i will say Web bank and fingerhut does help.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

Rate this card overall

Please select a rating

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Company Overview

Fingerhut® Credit Card, issued by WebBank, is a credit account for Fingerhut® customers. Fingerhut® Credit Card can be applied for online with a decision in as little as 5 seconds. Also, Fingerhut® reports to multiple credit bureaus in order to track cardholders' credit history and potentially build credit. Fingerhut® Credit Card site also features Credit Education resources, such as games, articles, and tips to teach cardholders how to manage and maintain good credit. Established in 1948, Fingerhut® is a nationwide direct retailer, servicing customers with a wide selection of products through online and mail-in orders. Fingerhut® also provides credit options and low monthly payments with a WebBank/Fingerhut® Credit Account to make buying more affordable for shoppers. With the motto, “Now You Can”, Fingerhut® helps make shopping possible for more consumers.

Fingerhut® Credit Account