Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Fingerhut® Credit Account

Find Out More

Ratings by Category

Application Process
Customer Service
Cardholder Ratings
3.5482 5

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jan 24, 2014
Good Starter
CenturyChild Cardholder

Excellent card to establish credit if you do not have any at all, or are in need of a tradeline to rebuild.

However, if you already have a tradeline started, you are probably better of to just give those time as better options will be avaialable to you once you get 6months to a year of good history.

This card does grow well with you though. Mine started off with a $250 balance and the only credit account I had at the time.  I used it 2 or 3 times over the course of 6 months.

By the time the account was 14 month old it now has a $1150 credit limit, though I do not use it anymore.

The bad thing about FH are the inflated prices.  But, as mentioned, if you have no tradelines they are a excellent place to start. Buy a couple small things and pay it of in a timely manner.

You will out grow it quick though.

Im giving it 5 stars as they really did help get my Credit History started and on the right path. Other than the higher prices, theres really nothing bad to say about them. Just know that going in, and thats its just a short term thing to deal with and you'll be fine.

more ...
 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Dec 01, 2010
psychicmike Cardholder

I was approved for this card in January 2010 with a starting limit of $330.  Then in April 2010 they increased it to $430.  They do give credit limit increases quite often.  The product prices are about 20% higher than most stores online. This is due to the low monthly payments they offer. It carries an interest rate of 24.90% on purchases. The key to buying products from this company is it is affordable if you buy just one or two items and pay on them. They constantly send you catalogs and emails with promotions and discounts.  I swear I get a catalog in the mail about once a week and about  1 email daily. They heavily over market their catalogs to get you to buy more than one item at a time and max out your limit fast. So Be Aware. Make only a few purchases and pay them off first before buying more.

more ...
 

Reviews (197)

Add Review
Jan 26, 2016
IF I COULD TURN BACK TIME :(
misspale2015 Cardholder

I've had this card for two years now. The first year was good. It does initally boost your credit. Now, I'm wishing I never got it. Beware of their " temporary credit limits". It's a ploy to get you to feel obligated to buy more **** from them. I've begged them to stop giving me temporary credit line increases, and they do it anyway. Why would I be mad at temporary credit line increases?? Well, I will tell you. It's all nice, and rosey for your credit, when you get these, but imagine what it looks like on your FICO score, when Fingerhut takes away 1500+ in available credit, and it hits your credit score. I'll tell you..... a decrease of about 35+ points down the *******. ****, FINGERHUT YOU'RE DOING ME WRONG!

Before some ill equipped jerk tells me, "well, you must have done something wrong", nope! 2 years of FLAWLESS PAYMENTS,buying their way overpriced ****,always making more than the minimum payments,this is the thanks I get? Two years of about 3k in purchases :( I also, have 7 other credit cards, and yes perfect payment history on those as well. 

So, if you don't mind a year later this being a complete waste of time, crap customer service from the middle east, awful APR, and all the merchandise being 40% more than the value of the product.... pick this card!!

In closing.... Fingerhut.... you're the devil... I will never buy anything again. You can take my 4k credit limit, and shove it!

more ...
Jan 26, 2016

Glad I took the time to read this!! I got approved for a Fingerhut account but will not be using it now!!! Thanks for the info!!

 
Feb 01, 2016

You should try capital one quicksilver one. I adore them!

 
Jan 24, 2016
Not Sure
aslife13 Cardholder

I was approved for this "card" aka "credit" in december of 2015 for $230.00 . Cool, no big deal. Nothing that i'm absolutely dying for. But then i checked my credit score and i had a new hard inquiry on there and it was from them. I'm not sure why, because i haven't used it yet. 

more ...
Jan 23, 2016
Ok option for improving credit.
kevvss Cardholder

This review is actually an update to one I have already written. I've had Fingerhut for almost two years, and up until a month ago I had mostly nothing but good things to say about it. The only negative I am finally realizing is that they provide you 'Temporary credit line increases', basically forcing you to buy something, or suffer the credit score drop. I went from a $2200 limit, to $1500 overnight because I didn't buy anything, which I think is insanity, and not a way to keep customers, especially when two years later things are finally looking up and I have 0% interest cards with rewards.

All in all, if you make on time payments and buy just one thing, pay it off little by little, Fingerhut is great to build your credit back up. Once your credit is fixed though you probably wont want to have them sticking around anymore.

more ...
Jan 23, 2016
They give you a actual card!
MObettacredit Cardholder

Well, today I received my actual card in the mail! Lol! So far so good! Will make a little more than the minimum payment of course. So we'll see!

more ...
Jan 21, 2016
Great for rebuilding!
Mahalobeauty Cardholder

I applied for this card in 2014 and got approved for the fresh start. I never used it because I wasn't sure about the down payment and overpriced items. In August 2015 I applied again but they said I was already in the system (you have to call and request for them to delete your information) I decided to take on the offer. My fresh start CL was I think $140 I purchased a blow dryer and a coat (fun, I know) and tried to pay it off as slowly as I could. They reported as an installment loan on my credit report very fast! I made 5 payments on time (5 is all I could personally stretch it for, having a $15 payment to worry about every month was getting on my nerves) and within a week or so of my final payment I got the graduation email. I also got a card in the mail (kinda useless but cool) my starting CL for the regular account is $200 not much but I hear they give you increases very often. 

After 2 payments I got approved for my first unsecured credit cards and later that month some store cards. I believe this really had to do with the fresh start program as well as being an AU on another card. 

more ...
Jan 19, 2016
Fingerhut is great for starters
Anonymous Cardholder

Fingerhut is great for people looking to rebuild or start their credit. I am a real estate agent and I come across many people that do not have credit or enough credit. I always recommend that they apply for a fingerhut account as they are one of the easiest accounts to get. You will pay a lot more for the items than you would in a store or other online sites but at least you will start your credit line. So I tell people to get something not too expensive or get something from the clearance section especially when they have an additional 50% off clearance items. They will usually up your limit every 3 months and sometimes sooner. 

more ...
Jan 18, 2016
Quick Approval

I got a pre-approved catalog by mail, I applied online they asked me to call them, I called them they said I'm approved with $600 CL, at the time of approval my score was 620 TU 633 EX. will write any updates in future 

more ...
Jan 17, 2016
Use anyone but Fingerhut!
rinehart666 Cardholder

I've had a Fingerhut account for many years now. I have had several bad experiences with their customer service, and their prices are much too high. Their shipping prices are also triple what they should be. I had a balance of $4000 that I was able to pay down considerably this past week. After making a $2500 payment, they dropped my credit limit down to $2000 instead of $4000. Unlike other companies that reward you for paying off your account my increasing your credit limit, Fingerhut will punish you by lowering your credit limit. I was hoping to lower my income to credit ratio by paying this down; however, when they drop your credit limit, it still appears that I am at 75% usage instead of 25%. Thanks, Fingerhut. That's the reward I get for being a customer for probably close to ten years. Please don't use this company. There are other credit lines out there that you can get with better interest rates that charge reasonable amounts for their products and shipping. Don't make the mistake I did.

more ...
Jan 15, 2016
A good start to rebuilding credit
9DDREAD5 Cardholder

I can deal with the elevated prices on most items.

I can deal with the exorbitant interest rate.

I can deal with the 'mail payment by' designation versus a 'due date'.

What I CAN'T abide is random credit increases that are reduced if not use within a specific amount of time. 

Every time they reduce your credit limit by their unrequited  increase your credit is then conversely negatively affected and shows up on your report as a drop in your limit.

That kills your credit to balance ratio and provides an 'account provider' reduction in your credit limit which automatically lowers your credit score.

It is strongly discouraged to close out accounts as a consumer but I will absolutely close this one myself.

more ...
Jan 14, 2016
Just got approved!
MObettacredit Cardholder

Today I applied with Fingerhut for a credit line and I was approved with a credit limit of $400! I was shocked because my score with TU- 490 Eq- 559! Thanks Fingerhut! Now I have 3 open trade lines on my CR!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

Rate this card overall

Please select a rating

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Company Overview

Fingerhut® Credit Card, issued by WebBank, is a credit account for Fingerhut® customers. Fingerhut® Credit Card can be applied for online with a decision in as little as 5 seconds. Also, Fingerhut® reports to multiple credit bureaus in order to track cardholders' credit history and potentially build credit. Fingerhut® Credit Card site also features Credit Education resources, such as games, articles, and tips to teach cardholders how to manage and maintain good credit. Established in 1948, Fingerhut® is a nationwide direct retailer, servicing customers with a wide selection of products through online and mail-in orders. Fingerhut® also provides credit options and low monthly payments with a WebBank/Fingerhut® Credit Account to make buying more affordable for shoppers. With the motto, “Now You Can”, Fingerhut® helps make shopping possible for more consumers.

Fingerhut® Credit Account