Fingerhut® Credit Account Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.3 out of 5 stars
54 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

3.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

May 11, 2017
Decent
Richman87 Cardholder

I was recently approved for the "Fresh Start" program. I as many of the people on here are looking for the credit support. They say "good credit is the new rich" and when starting over you can't expect the best when you start off with trench shoveling grade credit.  I intend to start with a rich mixture of pretty generic (probabaly over priced) credit lines and gradually work my way up the ladder from this point forward. With the FH fresh start program I placed my $30 deposit for a game that I know costs $20 at Wal-Mart. I know I'm overpaying but honestly, it's my own fault for putting myself here. I'll be waiting to see what im given following my actual rotating line of credit and will be using about 10 - 15 percent of that for my purchases with immediate pay off. The strategy here is to show a resposible non-depedent use of credit. So far I have placed my order, paid my deposit and, received tracking and delivery (for today) all in a very timely manner. I will do my best to keep everyone updated on my experience with these folks.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Apr 20, 2017
i have weblink fingerhut account
brookeatch31 Cardholder

Pretty good for improving credit. I got approved for a fresh account with $130 credit so i bought something I already needed. Shipping is pretty expensive it took every bit of my $30 required deposit and they take forever to update to the credit companys but I guess I cant complain it boosted my credit up an extra 34 points the first month.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Aug 18, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

Ordered a Skirt and it was delivered to me i had to return the skirt due to them sending the wrong size. 2 years later i am still waiting for my refund of 97 dollars. I am in the credit report as a charge off and am unable to find out who has the credit account or the the skirt.

more ...
Aug 04, 2017
forgiving of bad credit
Ahnistsmommy Cardholder

I got approved for 180 credit line with a 537 credit score, tried to go back and make a payment and its basically acting like my other order was never placed saying i still have the same 180 dollar credit line.my order was shipped and perfect i guess its just a glitch. 

more ...
Jul 21, 2017
Not professional at all !!!!!!!!
erin1311 Cardholder

 I returned the item took over three weeks still no refund!!!  Closed account 

more ...
Jul 11, 2017
FingerHut is a huge Scam
FHCustomer11 Cardholder

I've had a fingerhut account since 2014 they were great until about Winter 2016. Keep in mind I have no ill emotion or hate towards FH I have great credit but FingerHut is a scam! Crazy high hidden late fees and hidden APR charges. Also when I called customer service they were no help, they only pushed to get as much money as they could out of me. I'm done doing business with FH for good!

more ...
Jun 29, 2017
Stink business
Anonymous Cardholder

They would sell item as 2-10 times price to you plus shipping handling, bought nautica wallet came with box has suggestions retail price said $40, fingerhut charges $70 plus$12.99 shipping and handling, then hotwheel pack 5 for $19.99 plus $5.99 (Walmart sell a little under $5) then Jeans selling on amazon for $19.99, fingerhut selling at $199 plus 29.99 shipping. My friend who went bankrupt own it, no way I will. Stink business ever. I started from 300 scored, built it back up to 6xx within 2 years, go with secured capital one then secured discover, please take your time and think twice if you are not in bankruptcy situation, you should deserve better places for your second chance. But if bankrupt, this might be the only choice.

more ...
Jun 26, 2017
Great for Credit Rebuilding
ChicoEnya Cardholder

Plain and simple folks Fingerhut is for credit rebuilding.  The fact is those of us with bad credit got ourselves the bad credit and Fingerhut is a leg back up to good credit.  I applied did the fresh start program graduated with a 300 CL.  I only buy inexpensive items and pay them off before my statement as to not pay any interest.  My credit has boosted over 50 points just from Fingerhut alone.  Also do yourself a favor and get the Capital one secured card *Yes you pay a 200 deposit to get the card* However between fingerhut and Capital One I have gone from a 475 to a 600 FICO score.  I am also still going up as I charge small things and pay them off before my statements.  I just got approved for an unsecured credit card as well.   Fact is those of you trying to buy TVs and Furniture NO its not a good deal and the interest will kill you but once again that is not responsible purchases to be making for credit rebuilding.  Make responsible credit decisions and Fingerhut will benefit you!

more ...
Jun 21, 2017
FRESH START MEANS WITH FINGER HUT NOT CREDIT
Nofreshstart Cardholder

When you join the fresh start program, they do not tell you that your credit will go down once you pay off the 1st credit limit under the Fresh Start program. Yes it will plumit. What happens is, they give you a different account number when you acutallly become what they call a finger hut member, after you pay off Fresh start limit. At that point they give you a different account number and close the fresh start account number, causing your credit to drop. So for the 1st couple of payments you will see an increase, then the bottom will fall out. My credit dropped 55 points after paying ahead of time for fresh start and paying it off. I had no other revolving credit, and no current derogatory remarks at that time.When you call finger hut, about the fresh start propgram, at thus point that's when they seperate finger Hut from the Fresh start.Please read all reviews about this before getting an account. These people writing the reviews are WARNING YOU!!! FIND ANOTHER WAY TO BUILD YOUR CREDIT.

more ...
Jun 20, 2017
So Far So Good.
Anonymous Cardholder

Be responsible. Make payments on time. Boosted my score 30+ poi ts after one payment. Waiting to graduate yo revolving credit soon. Only placethat wouldgive me credit.

more ...
May 24, 2017
Lesson learned
Greg7777777 Cardholder

   The company will give almost anyone credit. The catch is.....everything is very over charged. I bought an item and my credit didn't budge. Everything is clear and I'm current on everything. My credit is still 529. Nothing moved, now I have a payment which is going nowhere, along with my credit. I bought a desk for $500 and made 9 payments. 

   I bought nothing else and made minimum payment along with double payments. My balance to date after 9 payments is $493.00. That's right, $500....9 ontime payments ranging from $35 to $100 and $7 went to principal. Everything else went to Fingerhut. So..... this means I paid $500 for a $130 desk on Amazon...made 9 payment equaling $538...and I still owe fingerhut $493.00. I should have never bought something so high. 

   I suggest buying something very small and paying it off in full. I have a feeling, if I dont pay this off in full, I will pay thousands of dollars for a desk wgich won't sell at a yard sale for $50. Lesson learned. 

more ...
May 11, 2017
Decent
Richman87 Cardholder

I was recently approved for the "Fresh Start" program. I as many of the people on here are looking for the credit support. They say "good credit is the new rich" and when starting over you can't expect the best when you start off with trench shoveling grade credit.  I intend to start with a rich mixture of pretty generic (probabaly over priced) credit lines and gradually work my way up the ladder from this point forward. With the FH fresh start program I placed my $30 deposit for a game that I know costs $20 at Wal-Mart. I know I'm overpaying but honestly, it's my own fault for putting myself here. I'll be waiting to see what im given following my actual rotating line of credit and will be using about 10 - 15 percent of that for my purchases with immediate pay off. The strategy here is to show a resposible non-depedent use of credit. So far I have placed my order, paid my deposit and, received tracking and delivery (for today) all in a very timely manner. I will do my best to keep everyone updated on my experience with these folks.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jun 14, 2017

Decent (Continued) 6/14/17

I have made my first payment that was required to be setup on desktop and can now be paid via the mobile app. So far I have no issues with Fingerhut or the product I received. The account properly reported to each credit bureau. My first payment due on 6/13/17 has not reported as of yet (bill was paid around 5/25/17) they report based on billing cycle not when bill is paid. Not much else to report, I'll check in at least every billing cycle, sooner if I have an experience of some kind with them.

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Fingerhut® Credit Account