United℠ Explorer Card Reviews

United℠ Explorer Card Reviews
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.3 out of 5 stars
6 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 18.24% - 25.24%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0 intro, $95 after first year
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 18.24% - 25.24%* Variable
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Nov 13, 2019
NO perks
Drikagray Cardholder

We have the card and still had to pay for carry on and checked bag. No upgrades allowed.

more ...
Nov 10, 2019
Valuable if you travel on United a lot
jcs012 Cardholder

This is the basic United Airlines credit card. I initially signed up for this for the 50k bonus miles and wanted to earn miles enough to travel, which I eventually did 3 years after signing up and spending on average $3k a month. I placed all my bills here - literally all possible bills to make it earn the 180k I needed for free international tickets. 

Fast forward to November 2019, the card has lost some of its value when United started to keep miles earned forever (they no longer expire). However, you still get free checked bags which I think is worth the annual fee if you travel as much as I do. One mile for every dollar plus some bonus on certain categories. No foreign transaction fees, either. 

Overall, I believe this is a good card to have and one worth keeping even though it has an annual fee.

more ...
Oct 17, 2019
No Clue Yet
burntheboats Cardholder

Approved @ 646 EX 706 TU 715 EQ. Amount approved 6000. Not sure which creditors were pulled. will update. Applied for card because I plan on traveling a lot for business the next few years.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Oct 17, 2019

Pulled Transunion report. Dropped 5pts.

 
Jul 21, 2019
Wonderful card with a lot of perks!
Gar60313 Cardholder

I travel a lot so the perks of travel whether it be the $100 in credit if you apply for global entry or TSA pre check is amazing! Also, no foreign transaction fees. Those are a few reasons why I love it!

more ...
Dec 27, 2018
Great rewards. Generous credit line.
Dulg24 Cardholder

Approval at 684 TU 635-645 Fico. Didn’t pull EQ. They use some chase scoring model. Had 696 there. Card took full 7-10 business days so I’d expedite it.

more ...
Dec 30, 2018

Amount approved?

 
Jan 04, 2019

$6200

 
Feb 10, 2019

how many new accounts did you have within the last 24 months?

 
Feb 15, 2019

Honestly 5/24 just caught up to me when I had like 9 accounts but I got both my chase cards when I technically was over already

 
Apr 01, 2019

Did you have any of your credit cards maxed out before applying ?

 
Jun 23, 2019

They pulled EX and TU?

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 751
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 
United℠ Explorer Card Reviews

United℠ Explorer Card