United℠ Explorer Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.1 out of 5 stars
13 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

3 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 17.99% - 24.99%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0 intro, $95 after first year
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 17.99% - 24.99%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Mar 15, 2018
Primary Insurance on Rental Cars!
Naramri Cardholder

This card is fantastic for the rental car coverage, if you ever need it! That benefit is quite rare among card issuers, indeed. In January 2017, while driving an Enterprise car I was involved in a weird, unavoidable accident. Enterprise decided I was at fault and billed me for the totaled vehicle - nearly $12,000. Because I had used this card when reserving the car, and had also turned down Enterprise's daily insurance, I was covered fully by Chase. The process to take advantage of the coverage isn't difficult and the service representatives are very professional. They didn't require me to use my own car insurance first - Chase's insurance benefit was primary up to the full value of the car. I chose to charge the Enterprise damage bill on the Chase card itself, and then submitted documents for reimbursement. This gave a nice boost to my reward points! Applying for and getting the card was pretty easy, too, and there are no foreign transaction fees. I've had this card for almost 8 years.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jun 18, 2018
Don't file a claim
EGPI Cardholder

In theory, the benefits of this card seem great.  In practice, I felt like I’m dealing with scam artists.  Our overseas trip last year with United resulted in delayed flights, missed flights and luggage delays.  When our luggage didn’t arrive and we had to attend a wedding and a baptism, I called the international number on the back of my Mileage Plus Explorer card. They informed me of the benefits that we have and the amounts that we will be reimbursed, indicating to save our receipts and save the delayed baggage claim.  After returning to the U.S., I submitted the claim and the receipts.  I repeatedly received notifications that I need to submit proof that I tried to collect money from the overseas airline partner (final destination) and that I was denied the claim.  I was never told that this is a requirement when I called.  After many failed attempts to contact the overseas airlines to get verification, I called the claims department by phone to discuss if I have any other options.  The phone representative indicated that if I haven’t been successful in getting the information from the airlines, then I should send them proof of my attempts and the credit card claims department will work with the airlines to obtain it.  Again, I followed the instructions that I received over the phone.  A few weeks later, I receive another email indicating that the claim is on hold until I provide the requested information.  I replied indicating that I am waiting on their help.  Their response:  Per your terms and conditions, "You are responsible for gathering the necessary documentation to complete your claim and that all documents including the claim form must be received as soon as reasonably possible." The claim can be reopened once you have filed that claim with the carrier and provide the documentation to substantiate your claim.  There’s either a big disconnect between the claim officers and the customer support representatives on the phone or there’s a scam factor in the Explorer Card benefits.  Very pathetic on their part, but the customer is the one suffering.  The Mileage Plus card has been my primary credit card for around 25 years until I received the Mileage Plus Explorer card a couple of years ago.  As a result of this transaction, I cancelled the Mileage Plus card and soon to cancel my Explorer card once I determine how to use my remaining United miles before switching to another airline.  I started reviewing online and I’m finding many cards offering similar benefits with no annual fees.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Oct 24, 2018
Love the priority boarding
hchawks07 Cardholder

If you usually fly united this card is for you and pays for itself.  I fly a few times a year with United, free baggage for me and one passanger and priority boarding, its worth the annual fee.  

more ...
Oct 10, 2018
Good for Priority Boarding

I hate waiting in line and the priority boarding is what sold me on this card. Plus 60k miles sign up bonus was definitely solid. I have other cards that earn more miles with flights but this is a nice backup should I be looking to check bags and save some money. Fee alone is worth early boarding imo.

more ...
Oct 09, 2018
Bait and Swtich
btobias1908 Cardholder

Was offered 50,000 bonus miles for sign up, but after meeting all spending requirements was told I had signed up for an offer to waive the first year payment. Disputed, and was told there is nothing that can be done. 

more ...
Jul 05, 2018
Great airline card to have
Thesunshine1 Cardholder

I enjoy the first free checked luggage and the priority boarding. I also enjoy mileage plus shopping online where you earn mile points per retailer. The 40k bonus miles is awesome. I have had nothing but good experiences and I love this card. Amazing to have!

more ...
Jun 18, 2018
Don't file a claim
EGPI Cardholder

In theory, the benefits of this card seem great.  In practice, I felt like I’m dealing with scam artists.  Our overseas trip last year with United resulted in delayed flights, missed flights and luggage delays.  When our luggage didn’t arrive and we had to attend a wedding and a baptism, I called the international number on the back of my Mileage Plus Explorer card. They informed me of the benefits that we have and the amounts that we will be reimbursed, indicating to save our receipts and save the delayed baggage claim.  After returning to the U.S., I submitted the claim and the receipts.  I repeatedly received notifications that I need to submit proof that I tried to collect money from the overseas airline partner (final destination) and that I was denied the claim.  I was never told that this is a requirement when I called.  After many failed attempts to contact the overseas airlines to get verification, I called the claims department by phone to discuss if I have any other options.  The phone representative indicated that if I haven’t been successful in getting the information from the airlines, then I should send them proof of my attempts and the credit card claims department will work with the airlines to obtain it.  Again, I followed the instructions that I received over the phone.  A few weeks later, I receive another email indicating that the claim is on hold until I provide the requested information.  I replied indicating that I am waiting on their help.  Their response:  Per your terms and conditions, "You are responsible for gathering the necessary documentation to complete your claim and that all documents including the claim form must be received as soon as reasonably possible." The claim can be reopened once you have filed that claim with the carrier and provide the documentation to substantiate your claim.  There’s either a big disconnect between the claim officers and the customer support representatives on the phone or there’s a scam factor in the Explorer Card benefits.  Very pathetic on their part, but the customer is the one suffering.  The Mileage Plus card has been my primary credit card for around 25 years until I received the Mileage Plus Explorer card a couple of years ago.  As a result of this transaction, I cancelled the Mileage Plus card and soon to cancel my Explorer card once I determine how to use my remaining United miles before switching to another airline.  I started reviewing online and I’m finding many cards offering similar benefits with no annual fees.

more ...
May 01, 2018
Taking away benefits
Anonymous Cardholder

This card had great travel protection benefits - up to $10,000 per person per trip. GONE. now $1500 😩

25,000 onus miles per year after spending $2500. GONE 😩😫

will be cutting up this card when my trip is over

more ...
Apr 29, 2018
Awesome for United Travel

I have had this card for quite a few years and have never had any problems using it for airfare and upgrades. Also I was told by a car rental place it has the 2nd best coverage only behind Amex Black. You have to use the card to purchase tickets or car rental in order to get the perks that may be the issue for some people.

more ...
Apr 18, 2018
Just try to use your miles
thoradddddd Cardholder

No matter how far ahead you plan you never get a biz class ticket or upgrade. United also keeps changing flight times without notifying reservations holders. Plus, with all United's publicity of late do you really want to fly this airline?

more ...
Dec 08, 2018

But how is the card!

 
Dec 13, 2018

None of that has anything to do with Chase or this card

 
Mar 22, 2018
Solid card for a weak airline.
JeramyCLE Cardholder

As I was rebuilding my credit, this credit card was my long term goal, so I was thrilled when I was finally approved. I put everything, including a bathroom remodel on it, and used the miles to take my wife on a trip for our anniversary.

Finding good flights on miles has become more difficult and United has spent the last year stepping on metaphorical yard rakes, but Chase has been fantastic. So, I’ve dropped this card in favor of the Sapphire Preferred.

Still, if you live in a United hub city, this card deserves a look.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Apr 11, 2018

Very smart move. United, ever since the David Dao incident, sucks. I won't go near them and neither will my fiance. If we're going to fly, it's either gonna be with American Airlines or Jet Blue. The Sapphire Preferred at least will allow you to fly whatever is available at a relatively decent discount w/UR points. :)

 
Mar 17, 2018
Disgusted, pure disappointment
Anonymous Cardholder

Unless you have the highest teir with the big annual fee this card is totally useless, and worse it will enrage you when you expect to recive any perk you will be denied. Unless your a expert at working a airline card for all it’s worth get yourself a simple cash back card like Citi double cash, 2% back on everything, can’t go wrong with that.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 751
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 

United℠ Explorer Card