Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

United MileagePlus® Explorer Card

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.9 out of 5 stars
29 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.


Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 16.24% - 23.24%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0 intro annual fee for the first year, then $95
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 16.24% - 23.24%* Variable

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jun 19, 2016
Vidit Cardholder

I applied for this card right after I applied for Chase Sapphire two weeks ago; I didin't get an instant decision but after 10 days I was verfied and got both the cards for 8K. 

They shipped my Chase Sapphire with UPS Express but I am still waiting for the United Mileage Plus in mail. I would expect Chase to ship both the cards by express.

Anyway, I am glad that I am approved as this is a great card for a United traveler or even for someone who travels a lot. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?


Most Helpful Negative Review

Apr 30, 2016
Just here for the trip insurance
crabspy Cardholder

I've had this card for 2 years now. Was able to get the old 50,000 miles spending bonus when it was offered back then. The priority boarding benefit lets you board as a Group 2 member which is good if you have carry on bags that you place in the overhead storage. The lounge passes are pretty ehhh especially with what is in the lounge. If you are flying solo you have to fly 2 round trips to break even with the annual fee if you are checking 1 bag. I fly 4 round trip domestic flights a year so I will never get status with the airline. The reason I keep this card is for the trip insurance. For that $95 annual fee I was able to get $250 in food and hotel when my flight was delayed. Which is actually a Visa Signature benefit and not really one with United.

more ...

Was this review helpful?


These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Sep 23, 2016
Did not provide promised benefits
Anonymous Cardholder

I signed up for this card mostly because i offered free checked bag for me and travelling companion. The very first time I travelled with it, the United checkin person asked me to pag for my checked bags. When I showed her the card, she said I would have to pay for the bags and then "contact the bank's customer service". I did so, paying $50 for the bag for me and my companion. Then I contacted Chase, which told me to contact United, and said that I would need to show my baggage tags. I did not have my baggage tags, since the United checkin person had not told me I needed to keep them. She just told me to contact the bank.

I contacted United to ask them to reimburse me the $50. That was more than a week ago, and I have not heard back.

This seems kind of a scam. They did not provide the benefit which they promised, and which you would think they are contractually required to provide. Now I am kicked back and forth between Chase and United. They know they charged me for the bags, since they have the credit card record (I paid for the bags with my Explorer card - the same card I used to book the trip). But it looks like they are not going to refund me for their mistake, because I didn't keep the bag tags, which they never told me I needed to keep. They charged me for something that they shouldn't have, and now ignore me when I ask for the refund I am entitled to. I fulfilled all the criteria they required (I booked the trip with my Explorer card, I travelled on United, and my companion was booked with the same card, at the same time as me, and was travelling on the same flight, with me).

This wasn't a mistake on their part - it was deliberate. I specifically told the United checkin person that I had an Explorer card which entitled me to free checked bags. She took the card, looked at it and asked me if I was the cardholder. I confirmed that I was. She then told me Ihad to pay for the bags. So it wasn't an oversight on the part of United - it was deliberate. 

I don't plan to keep this card. I don't like being taken advantage of.

more ...
Sep 14, 2016
Pmedic Cardholder

Update, I did get approved after 4 days of waiting..... I recieved a really great CL from them as well. 

more ...
Aug 29, 2016
2 billing cycles later
orangeco1 Cardholder

  Talked to chase after recieving a 50,000 mile invitation 3 weeks after recieving the card and they honored the invitation.The 50,000 showed up on my united frequent flyer miles within 2 days after my 2nd billing cycle.Thanks Chase.

more ...
Aug 23, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

I love  Chase Sapphire preferred but the United MileagePlus Explorer  is total waste of money and time.

They advertise free introductory membership offer for one year and yet still charge the 95 USD membership fee. You can’t speak with Chase Customer Service – they direct you to mileage plus explorer (worst customer service) and send you back and forth between chase and mileage plus.

The united part is pretty bad – 75 USD fee if you book your flights with awards within 21 day of travel date which is not mentioned anywhere.  Mile to USD conversion is 10000 miles to 75 USD – Pretty low.

Compare this to Chase Sapphire which offers 20% bonus rewards on your reward points when you book travel through their site. Going to cancel this card soon.

more ...
Aug 23, 2016
not useful for holiday/casual traveler
Anonymous Cardholder

Other cards from Chase are way more better and offer greater befits


Unnecesary charges for using award miles. (75 USD if ticket booked withing 21 days of travel day) - Charges are in some fine print somewhere (not clear had to check my credit card statement)

First year was supposed to be free as advertised - but charged me 95 USD. 

Only bonus rewards on United flights

more ...
Aug 23, 2016
Great but......
rikfan Cardholder

This is an update. I posted  a few months ago about getting this card by accident walking off a plane..... Well now that I used it a bit I'm finding out that's its a monster card. IF you're a United flyer..... I use it for Primary insurance when renting cars. And all the United perks are great. I really feel that you need a companion card to complement this card. Maybe a Chase Sapphire or American Express Premier Rewards card. I have the AE Rewards card but It's a Charge card. It has a pay over time feature for any charge over 100 bucks. I may try it.......  So all in all, if you're a United flyer it's perfect. If not, try the cards mentioned above. They both are rock solid. Good luck all. Thx Karma for the site......

more ...
Aug 12, 2016
Did Not Think I would get this card
GregMartin120 Cardholder

In the process of rebuilding my credit. 3 weeks ago I applied and received the Freedom Unlimited Card from Chase. Rocked it with a zero dollar balance and here we are. I hope this card works out great because I want to travel much more here in the future and it will definatley help!

more ...
Aug 01, 2016
TU fico mid 600 and EQ mid 600
orangeco1 Cardholder

Great card with a generous cl. Recieved need more time to process notice in 30 days. A week later was sent an e-mail saying I was approved.For the curious it was over 3000.

more ...
Jul 30, 2016
Shijsuma13 Cardholder

This a useful card for me because I fly United Airlines frequently, but not frequently enough to have status. The card gets me Group 2 boarding, even when I use a different credit card to book the flight. Also, the United Club passes and free checked bags are a nice perk, if you use them. The Chase app is well designed and easy to use. I have also been happy with Chase customer service overall, in the 5 years that I have had this card. The rewards are OK, but I think the card is only worth it in the long term if you use the perks (checked bags, passes, group 2 boarding) frequently enough to justify the annual fee.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

1 Reply
Sep 05, 2016

I agree 100%. It's a really good card to have but you must use all the United perks to justify the 95 dollar a year fee. It's a top shelf card.

Jul 21, 2016
Surprised & Excited!
Anonymous Cardholder

TU669 EF686

I've been working on improving my credit score for the past 7 months and was really nervous about applying. I currently have one active credit card (2011) and had 2 credit card closures a few years ago (I wasn't very wise through college). I've been timely with all credit card, student loan, and car payments since then. I needed this card to raise my credit score and wanted the perks of traveling with my favorite airline. I was really nervous but ended up getting a $5000 credit limit. I'm very excited to use it!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?


How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 751
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

United MileagePlus® Explorer Card