United MileagePlus® Explorer Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.9 out of 5 stars
12 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

3 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 16.99% - 23.99%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $95
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 16.99% - 23.99%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Mar 15, 2017
I love my United Card
CrNa2020 Cardholder

I've had this card for about a year now. Here is some background. So when I was 18 I had 2 credit cards that I let go into default (crazy teen not really aware of credit how important credit is) I think my credit score was somewhere in the low 500's. Fast forward 10 years later in 2015 I had no real credit history of my own (my mom co-signed for 2 cars for me).  I went to the dealership to look at a car and ended up buying it on my own . I remember calling my mom at the dealership saying how I probably wasnt going to get approved but I did. My credit score was 644 according to the salesman. The 2 cards had fallen off of my credit report I only had a couple of small medical things like $200 total on the negatives. I applied for a Capital one Quicksilver one card and I was app for $1000 it's now at $3000 and the United MilagePlus card. With the MilagePlus Card I was so scared because I didnt think I would get it but I got app for $5000! My limit is still at $5000 because I dont want another credit inquiry from them Chase does a hard inquiry but I think I am just going to go for it so the limit increase helps my overall utilization. Oh, when I first applied for the card I was supposed to get 2 club passes. A couple of months went by and I didnt get them. I called customer service and they saw that they infact were not mailed. I wanted them for an upcoming trip I was about to go on.They overnight shipped the passes +2 extra for my trouble to my front door through UPS. I thought that was awesome.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Sep 23, 2016
Did not provide promised benefits
Anonymous Cardholder

I signed up for this card mostly because i offered free checked bag for me and travelling companion. The very first time I travelled with it, the United checkin person asked me to pag for my checked bags. When I showed her the card, she said I would have to pay for the bags and then "contact the bank's customer service". I did so, paying $50 for the bag for me and my companion. Then I contacted Chase, which told me to contact United, and said that I would need to show my baggage tags. I did not have my baggage tags, since the United checkin person had not told me I needed to keep them. She just told me to contact the bank.

I contacted United to ask them to reimburse me the $50. That was more than a week ago, and I have not heard back.

This seems kind of a scam. They did not provide the benefit which they promised, and which you would think they are contractually required to provide. Now I am kicked back and forth between Chase and United. They know they charged me for the bags, since they have the credit card record (I paid for the bags with my Explorer card - the same card I used to book the trip). But it looks like they are not going to refund me for their mistake, because I didn't keep the bag tags, which they never told me I needed to keep. They charged me for something that they shouldn't have, and now ignore me when I ask for the refund I am entitled to. I fulfilled all the criteria they required (I booked the trip with my Explorer card, I travelled on United, and my companion was booked with the same card, at the same time as me, and was travelling on the same flight, with me).

This wasn't a mistake on their part - it was deliberate. I specifically told the United checkin person that I had an Explorer card which entitled me to free checked bags. She took the card, looked at it and asked me if I was the cardholder. I confirmed that I was. She then told me Ihad to pay for the bags. So it wasn't an oversight on the part of United - it was deliberate. 

I don't plan to keep this card. I don't like being taken advantage of.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Sep 14, 2017
Did not receive $100 statement credit
Anonymous Cardholder

On August 24th, I signed up for this card when booking a United flight for my family to the Bahamas.  As you go through the booking process you are constantly bombarded with banners to get the United MileagePlus Explorer card. I do not usually sign up for cards that have a membership fee but they were offering a statement credit.  During the application process I called Customer Service because I was having issues with applying.  When we were finished, I called back customer service to make sure that I was receiving what I signed up for.  At the time it was a $50 statement credit with 40,000 bonus miles.  She said no problem and I would see it on my next statement.  The next day I was booking another flight to Savannah, Georgia and to my surprise a banner popped up offering a $100 credit with the same mileage award.  I promptly called customer service and they said they would now issue a $100 credit.  I called again on September 5th and they assured me that I would be receiving the statement credit.  Well today I received a letter telling me that I was only eligible for miles.  Again, I called customer service and they said could do nothing.  Beware of this card, they do not honor their promises.

more ...
Aug 10, 2017
This card has false advertising.
Anonymous Cardholder

Although the card advertises a free bag and priority boarding, you don't get it.  I was asked to step out of line when boarding on TWO recent flight.  The desk personnel said I had to pay for the bag.  At that point I realized I had category "5" boarding (lowest) when the card advertises priority boarding (used to be automatic when you purchased, you were put into the boarding class right behind first class).  Not anymore.  Don't get this card!  United also is not a good airline anymore, so you will be accumulating miles on an airline less desireable to fly.  

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Sep 11, 2017

Did you purchase the flight with the card? Flights must be purchased with the card for benefits to be eligible.

 
Jul 03, 2017
useless - can never cash in miles
KHST Cardholder

It does give access to United Club and checked back but main reason I got it was to use points - never seem to have flights available - ALWAYS a catch - had tw years will never renew - also never got adequate bonus miles in beginning as promised - 

more ...
Jun 30, 2017
Always wanted this card
SpotterDave Cardholder

Applied even though aproval odd were listed as"fair". Aproved instantly with a 702/722 CK. I travel a fair amount and this card makes it easier.

more ...
Jun 16, 2017
Good card for the United benefits
jflo141 Cardholder

I travel on United a lot, but not enough to get status...so Priority Boarding, free bag and a couple club passes a year are worth the $95 bucks a year to me. Approved instantly for 21K CL with 737 EQ/722 TU. Also have a Chase Sapphire Preferred and Chase Freedom.

more ...
May 11, 2017
It's a nightmare to redeem points.
FryingDutchman Cardholder

Love our Venture card(s). Ome for personal and one for business.  Was really looking forward to this card as we fly United regularly. Redemption is through the mileage plus people and I'm not wasting one more minute of my life on this card to explain how bad their service is and how difficult it was to plan trips around restrictions.  Hours on the phone every trip.  You've been warned. One star for lack of useability. Which is the only reason to buy it.  $95 annual

more ...
Mar 28, 2017
APR is high, but so is the credit limit
KJensen2017 Cardholder

If you're a frequent traveller on United this card is awesome. No more having to wait for group 5 boarding anymore, and the free checked bag is a nice addition (even though I am a premier member so it's kind of moot). BUT... the interest rate I was given was the highest of all my cards (>20%). Gonna talk with Chase and get them to lower it.

more ...
Mar 15, 2017
I love my United Card
CrNa2020 Cardholder

I've had this card for about a year now. Here is some background. So when I was 18 I had 2 credit cards that I let go into default (crazy teen not really aware of credit how important credit is) I think my credit score was somewhere in the low 500's. Fast forward 10 years later in 2015 I had no real credit history of my own (my mom co-signed for 2 cars for me).  I went to the dealership to look at a car and ended up buying it on my own . I remember calling my mom at the dealership saying how I probably wasnt going to get approved but I did. My credit score was 644 according to the salesman. The 2 cards had fallen off of my credit report I only had a couple of small medical things like $200 total on the negatives. I applied for a Capital one Quicksilver one card and I was app for $1000 it's now at $3000 and the United MilagePlus card. With the MilagePlus Card I was so scared because I didnt think I would get it but I got app for $5000! My limit is still at $5000 because I dont want another credit inquiry from them Chase does a hard inquiry but I think I am just going to go for it so the limit increase helps my overall utilization. Oh, when I first applied for the card I was supposed to get 2 club passes. A couple of months went by and I didnt get them. I called customer service and they saw that they infact were not mailed. I wanted them for an upcoming trip I was about to go on.They overnight shipped the passes +2 extra for my trouble to my front door through UPS. I thought that was awesome.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Aug 10, 2017

what was your score when you applied? i'm thinking about applying for American Airlines' Barclay Card. I got the offer flyer on a recent flight. ((fingers crossed)))

 
Feb 17, 2017
Was given 30,000 instead of 50,000
Anonymous Cardholder

Was somehow signed up for 30,000 after spending $1,000 despite all the literature, blog posts, advertising, etc offering 50,000.

more ...
Dec 07, 2016
Much better than American Airlines card
Brrich1 Cardholder

They post the miles quickly painless approval process, and unlike America and they give you access to the lounge twice a year as part of your card services

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 751
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

United MileagePlus® Explorer Card