United MileagePlus® Explorer Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.6 out of 5 stars
21 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

3.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 16.74% - 23.74%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $95
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 16.74% - 23.74%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jan 10, 2013
surprised to get this card
tiaharrison7 Cardholder

I am in the process of rebuilding my credit. Capital One cash rewards, along with responsible cash management over the past year has brought my credit score up about 100 points. My credit is still poor though, Trans 614 EQU 571 Experian 654

-United MileagePlus Explorer Card instantly approved me for the card and gave me a $5000 Credit Limit. The perks of the card look great and about 1 year ago I thought I was going to have to pay a company like credit one 100 bucks a year for a $300 credit line and no perks, I'm so thankful I didn't go that route and now have 3 great cards to help me rebuild my credit with rewards. I felt like I was on a roll and applied for a discover card the same day and got approved for that too $1000 credit limit with discover. All cards seem to have different perks and it seems to be good to have a small assortment of cards and just pay the bill in full each month.

capital one-great for establishing credit and improving credit quick with responsible use! initially I was given $500, 6 months later they brought it up to $2000 automatically

United MileagePlus Explorer Card-great rewards! free checked bags, free flights, free club passes; even after the first free year, the card pays for itself if you travel! $95 annual fee after the first year, but with all the rewards and perks of the card, it will save me about $500 a year

Discover-great rewards, no foriegn transaction fee, flexible card, no annual fee!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Apr 30, 2016
Just here for the trip insurance
crabspy Cardholder

I've had this card for 2 years now. Was able to get the old 50,000 miles spending bonus when it was offered back then. The priority boarding benefit lets you board as a Group 2 member which is good if you have carry on bags that you place in the overhead storage. The lounge passes are pretty ehhh especially with what is in the lounge. If you are flying solo you have to fly 2 round trips to break even with the annual fee if you are checking 1 bag. I fly 4 round trip domestic flights a year so I will never get status with the airline. The reason I keep this card is for the trip insurance. For that $95 annual fee I was able to get $250 in food and hotel when my flight was delayed. Which is actually a Visa Signature benefit and not really one with United.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

May 11, 2017
It's a nightmare to redeem points.
FryingDutchman Cardholder

Love our Venture card(s). Ome for personal and one for business.  Was really looking forward to this card as we fly United regularly. Redemption is through the mileage plus people and I'm not wasting one more minute of my life on this card to explain how bad their service is and how difficult it was to plan trips around restrictions.  Hours on the phone every trip.  You've been warned. One star for lack of useability. Which is the only reason to buy it.  $95 annual

more ...
Mar 28, 2017
APR is high, but so is the credit limit
KJensen2017 Cardholder

If you're a frequent traveller on United this card is awesome. No more having to wait for group 5 boarding anymore, and the free checked bag is a nice addition (even though I am a premier member so it's kind of moot). BUT... the interest rate I was given was the highest of all my cards (>20%). Gonna talk with Chase and get them to lower it.

more ...
Mar 15, 2017
I love my United Card
CrNa2020 Cardholder

I've had this card for about a year now. Here is some background. So when I was 18 I had 2 credit cards that I let go into default (crazy teen not really aware of credit how important credit is) I think my credit score was somewhere in the low 500's. Fast forward 10 years later in 2015 I had no real credit history of my own (my mom co-signed for 2 cars for me).  I went to the dealership to look at a car and ended up buying it on my own . I remember calling my mom at the dealership saying how I probably wasnt going to get approved but I did. My credit score was 644 according to the salesman. The 2 cards had fallen off of my credit report I only had a couple of small medical things like $200 total on the negatives. I applied for a Capital one Quicksilver one card and I was app for $1000 it's now at $3000 and the United MilagePlus card. With the MilagePlus Card I was so scared because I didnt think I would get it but I got app for $5000! My limit is still at $5000 because I dont want another credit inquiry from them Chase does a hard inquiry but I think I am just going to go for it so the limit increase helps my overall utilization. Oh, when I first applied for the card I was supposed to get 2 club passes. A couple of months went by and I didnt get them. I called customer service and they saw that they infact were not mailed. I wanted them for an upcoming trip I was about to go on.They overnight shipped the passes +2 extra for my trouble to my front door through UPS. I thought that was awesome.

more ...
Feb 17, 2017
Was given 30,000 instead of 50,000
Anonymous Cardholder

Was somehow signed up for 30,000 after spending $1,000 despite all the literature, blog posts, advertising, etc offering 50,000.

more ...
Dec 07, 2016
Much better than American Airlines card
Brrich1 Cardholder

They post the miles quickly painless approval process, and unlike America and they give you access to the lounge twice a year as part of your card services

more ...
Nov 02, 2016
Great benefits so far
Iguananaut Cardholder

I'm confused by the reviews from people who were unable to take advantages of this card's perks. I never once had a problem. There is at least one thing they might be missing: in order to take advantage you have to pay for the flight *with* this card. I think you might also need to make the reservation directly through United but check on that. The first free checked bag alone has been worth the annual fee to me. I believe you also need to explicitly link the card to your mileage plus account. I got the card when it came with 50,000 free miles, which was a free flight right there. Now I think it's only 30,000 but if you fly a lot the miles will rack up fast. I've already gotten 2 flights out of it in the last year. I know some people hate United and that's fine, but my personal experience with their customer service has been pretty positive in the last several years so I'm somewhat loyal.

more ...
Sep 23, 2016
Did not provide promised benefits
Anonymous Cardholder

I signed up for this card mostly because i offered free checked bag for me and travelling companion. The very first time I travelled with it, the United checkin person asked me to pag for my checked bags. When I showed her the card, she said I would have to pay for the bags and then "contact the bank's customer service". I did so, paying $50 for the bag for me and my companion. Then I contacted Chase, which told me to contact United, and said that I would need to show my baggage tags. I did not have my baggage tags, since the United checkin person had not told me I needed to keep them. She just told me to contact the bank.

I contacted United to ask them to reimburse me the $50. That was more than a week ago, and I have not heard back.

This seems kind of a scam. They did not provide the benefit which they promised, and which you would think they are contractually required to provide. Now I am kicked back and forth between Chase and United. They know they charged me for the bags, since they have the credit card record (I paid for the bags with my Explorer card - the same card I used to book the trip). But it looks like they are not going to refund me for their mistake, because I didn't keep the bag tags, which they never told me I needed to keep. They charged me for something that they shouldn't have, and now ignore me when I ask for the refund I am entitled to. I fulfilled all the criteria they required (I booked the trip with my Explorer card, I travelled on United, and my companion was booked with the same card, at the same time as me, and was travelling on the same flight, with me).

This wasn't a mistake on their part - it was deliberate. I specifically told the United checkin person that I had an Explorer card which entitled me to free checked bags. She took the card, looked at it and asked me if I was the cardholder. I confirmed that I was. She then told me Ihad to pay for the bags. So it wasn't an oversight on the part of United - it was deliberate. 

I don't plan to keep this card. I don't like being taken advantage of.

more ...
Jan 13, 2017

I am going through similar fight between United and Chase for the checked in baggage fee of $200 charged for my recent international trip which I booked via united .com using chase explorer card and two different mileage plus and credit card to get the free checked in bag for primary and companion for 2 adults + 2 kids. United still charged me and I do have all the baggage tags for which I have submitted a refund request and the first response from United is that United charged for extra luggage. I have resubmitted the claim again via United refund and contacted Chase for an explanation as the ticket also clearly states that first checked bag is free. Though the promised offer was made as part of the chase explorer card activation/opening, Chase is not able to do anything and just told me to contact United. This was an international trip for which I paid about $2200/ticket/person. I am planning to close the two United Explorer cards opened from my household if they don't honor the first checked bag+companion bag option as promised at the time I opened the accounts. I have recently been approved for Chase Sapphire Reserve and plan to use that card after closing the United Explorer.

 
Feb 05, 2017

YOU SHOULD POST THIS on the Chase AND the United sites under "reviews"! People NEED to see what these people do to the customers AFTER the "con" them into signing up! F*** them!

 
Feb 05, 2017

I just applied for this card, IF THEY "SCREW" ME EVEN ONCE....it's NOT ONLY "adios" Chase, but "adios" United as well....I don't take that S*** from ANYONE in corporate America out to screw as many people as they can! I will NEVER use the card again, and I will NEVER fly United again....there is TOO MUCH competition out there to be abused by any one firm... I HATE "SCAMMERS" and I HATE "CON" and I HATE....THIEVES.....*******S!

 
Sep 14, 2016
awesome
Pmedic Cardholder

Update, I did get approved after 4 days of waiting..... I recieved a really great CL from them as well. 

more ...
Aug 29, 2016
2 billing cycles later
orangeco1 Cardholder

  Talked to chase after recieving a 50,000 mile invitation 3 weeks after recieving the card and they honored the invitation.The 50,000 showed up on my united frequent flyer miles within 2 days after my 2nd billing cycle.Thanks Chase.

more ...
Aug 23, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

I love  Chase Sapphire preferred but the United MileagePlus Explorer  is total waste of money and time.

They advertise free introductory membership offer for one year and yet still charge the 95 USD membership fee. You can’t speak with Chase Customer Service – they direct you to mileage plus explorer (worst customer service) and send you back and forth between chase and mileage plus.

The united part is pretty bad – 75 USD fee if you book your flights with awards within 21 day of travel date which is not mentioned anywhere.  Mile to USD conversion is 10000 miles to 75 USD – Pretty low.

Compare this to Chase Sapphire which offers 20% bonus rewards on your reward points when you book travel through their site. Going to cancel this card soon.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 751
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

United MileagePlus® Explorer Card