Chase Sapphire Preferred® Card Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.3 out of 5 stars
97 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 18.24% - 25.24%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $95
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 18.24% - 25.24%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Mar 18, 2019
Excellent card
bhfowler88 Cardholder

CK had approval odds at fair, decided to apply anyway and was instantly approved for $5100. CK scores were 625 and 629. They sent FICO credit score with my card and it showed 668. Great card, great cl and online application and instant decision were so fast and easy! Highly recommend. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

May 16, 2018
Issues in the UK
Gibral Cardholder

Ifthis card is designed for you to travel with then it is not fulfilling it's value. I went to UK and multiple areas in London, different parts of England, Wales and Ireland could not read the card. Places like McDonald's, Hamleys, etc. I'd say half of the retailers could not read it. Worst case was budget rent a car could not read it so I ended up having to use my debit card and having to pay extra ($250) for rental car insurance. Again, this should not happen if it is a card designed for travel that you have to pay $95 for.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Mar 29, 2019
High limit card
Imkahlon Cardholder

Applied for this card online with 771/770/756 score, took 4 days for approval. It just showed up on chase app, no welcome or confirmation notification. But still I am happy because I got approved for $17000. 

more ...
Mar 24, 2019
With just a 590 they approved me!!
Barnabee18 Cardholder

They approved me for $5000 with only a 590! Others would not give me that much!

more ...
Apr 01, 2019

bull****. Their not approving a 590 credit score.

 
Apr 06, 2019

I agree that is total bull

 
Apr 07, 2019

It said i had fair approval odds, i have 100% payment history and a decent job only reason I have a 590 is I max out my other cards of $750 and $500. Not lying

 
Mar 18, 2019
Excellent card
bhfowler88 Cardholder

CK had approval odds at fair, decided to apply anyway and was instantly approved for $5100. CK scores were 625 and 629. They sent FICO credit score with my card and it showed 668. Great card, great cl and online application and instant decision were so fast and easy! Highly recommend. 

more ...
Feb 27, 2019
Finally Got It!
TheRealJM12 Cardholder

If you’re reading this review you’re like me. Doing your research to see if you should apply yet. This card was always the goal when I started my credit journey back in 2014 after I graduated college. Applied for it once before back in 2017 and was denied. Had a Sam’s club mastercard and Chase Slate at the time both with $4,000 limits. Been working on my credit since. Had gotten the Chase Freedom Unlimited with a $6,000. Bought an engagement ring through financing with Kay’s Credit Card and got some experience with an Auto loan also through chase. Well finally the time came that I thought it was time to apply for the Sapphire Card again. It took me about a month of research to decide between the CSP and CSR. I had CK scores of 753/752 and FICO of 744/743/744 and an income of $100,000. I just couldn’t justify spending an extra $2,000 per year just to break even on the CSR so I decided to do the Preferred I figured I could earn the bonus and have no fee the first year. Then i could always upgrade after year one to the CSR. I was pre-approved through my chase app so I went ahead with the app. Since I was a chase member already it didn’t ask me for much other than phone number and salary. I figure this is because they see my history and banking. They pulled TransUnion and Experian. I was approved within 30 seconds with a $12,500 limit. Called to have card expedited. 

more ...
Feb 25, 2019
Good Rewards for Travel
kodas21 Cardholder

I havent used this card yet, but the rewards bonus and there after seem good. You do have to spend $4000 to get the sign up bonus, which is alot compared to my Delta AMEX cards which only required $1000. However you do get the first year fee waved, which is nice. I got approved with a 670 scredit score.

more ...
Feb 26, 2019

What’s your CL?

 
Apr 03, 2019

If you need to accomplish the $4000 near the end of your 120 days you can Venmo a friend or relative the difference in what you would still need to achieve for just a 3% fee.

 
Feb 23, 2019
LIFE CHANGER. SUPRSED TO SAY THE LEAST!
Jfcolbert Cardholder

IF YOU BEEN ON THE FENCE ABOUT APPLYING FOR THIS CARD DO IT NOW!!! I started with a capitol one card for $300 last year, i had no credit score. A year later with paying my payments on time my credit score is at 667 transuinion, and 677 eqifax. I just applied for thos card today becausey capitol one card only gave me a $200 increase after haviing it for a year, and i wanted a card with a higher credit line. I applied for this card today was instantly approved for a $10,000 credit line. I couldnt believe it blew my mind back and change my life instantly now. I called and ask to speed up the card delivery today like other people did, and they said no problem your card will arrive in 2 business days. Thank GOD.

more ...
Mar 05, 2019

Congratulations

 
Mar 11, 2019

way to go!!

 
Mar 14, 2019

How much income ?

 
Feb 14, 2019
High credit limit
Maybe245 Cardholder

I applied for this card mainly because I needed something with a high credit limit to help my credit score. I applied with a 716/712 (TransUnion & Equifax) according to Ck. Ck said my approval odds where “good” so I decided to jump the gun and apply. I received an email stating that an answer will be sent to me in 7-10 business days. Then I found that by reading some more reviews that you can call and ask for your application to be processed faster. I told them that I was going on a trip and I needed it quickly. Put me on hold for 5 minutes and I was told I was approved for $7,200$!!! I was shocked on how high the initial limit was. So far I’m happy with the card. The 95$ annual fee does not bother too much. But I highly recommend it if you need a high limit. I know I won’t be spending that much money on a credit card anyways. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Mar 22, 2019

Same here. I use CC exclusively and pay off every month but sometimes the reporting agencies happen to catch the high balances and it affects my FICO score due to the balance to limit ratio and above 30% usage (even tho I pay off every month, or majority anyways)

So, applying for this card yesterday and I was approved for a nice 5 figure limit. That should stop my FICO from dropping because I'm sure now my usage will always be way under the 30%.

Thank you Chase Sapphire!

 
Jan 23, 2019
Stellar Card
HariKariGirl Cardholder

Application process was instant and SL was great at $29,500.  First Chase card I got with under 4 years age on my oldest credit card and AAOL at 2 years.  Happy they took a chance with me.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Feb 13, 2019

Congrats!! What were your scores when you applied and do you bank with chase? I’m hoping this will be my first card too.

 
Jan 17, 2019
mcgriffmark Cardholder

I was approved for $17,500 with a 680 credit score across the board. So far I am very impressed with this card

more ...
Feb 05, 2019

did you apply through ck or chase directly??

 
Feb 15, 2019

I just applied through CK with the same credit scores and was instantly denied. Starting to wonder how many of the reviews are real. Especially when poor scores are getting high credit limits.
I already have 2 Chase cards and have never been late or missed a payment.

 
Feb 18, 2019

I also applied for this card with a 680 score and it said they needed time to review, which probably means I was also denied. When I get a better credit score can I apply again, do you know?

 
Feb 19, 2019

Kcarrl, Based off other reviews I'd give it a few days from when you applied to get a final decision from chase and if you still don't have an answer try calling the chase reconsideration line maybe they just need to verify some info. You can always apply later with better scores just know that I'll be another hard pull on your credit so that's something to consider.

 
Mar 23, 2019

I applied through Chase app this morning. I have checking, mortgage, Slate, Freedom Unltd and Amazon Prime. 641 score on CK, 680 Experian. After about a minute instantly approved $11,100. Called to expedite and said no problem.

 
Jan 16, 2019
Very happy customer
tnwamkpa Cardholder

I applied for this card & wasn't immediately approved, but got an approval letter in the mail soon after. I was approved for a $20,000 credit limit with $65K income, 823 credit score, and no debt. I haven't used any of the perks yet, but all of the promotions where extra points were offered worked seamlessly. Agents were always helpful when I called. After a year I was able to upgrade to the Sapphire Reserve, so I no longer own the card. But the 50K point sign up bonus I recieved, plus the points I racked up over the year were enough to buy a round trip ticket to Morocco plus a hotel stay in Paris and still have some points left. I'm very happy I signed up for this card.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Mar 14, 2019

How long was your wait for the approval letter to arrive in the mail? My application is under review right now and I’ve called to see if they can speed up the process of approval but was told they don’t expedite the approval process. I’ve read other reviews with people calling and getting it done so this automatically has me thinking I get declined. I guess I’ll have to wait and see.

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 1,304
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 

Chase Sapphire Preferred® Card

97 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i