Chase Sapphire Preferred® Card Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.4 out of 5 stars
98 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Mar 18, 2019
Excellent card
bhfowler88 Cardholder

CK had approval odds at fair, decided to apply anyway and was instantly approved for $5100. CK scores were 625 and 629. They sent FICO credit score with my card and it showed 668. Great card, great cl and online application and instant decision were so fast and easy! Highly recommend. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

May 01, 2019
Decent Card. Beware of Chase though.
smonkey12 Cardholder

This was one of my first cards as an adult. I had it for a good 6 years or so with a 20k limit. I used it pretty regularly for awhile but then moved to a different card and carried a zero balance on this one. One day Credit Karma tells me that one of my accounts had been closed. I figured out it was this credit card. I called Chase to see why in the world they just cancelled my card for no reason. I was told it was becasue of inactivity even with a 95 dollar annual fee. They would not reopen the account for me. They said I could reapply.. WOOHOO. thanks! This cancellation had a relatively significant effect on my score with this being one of my oldest cards, not to mention the 20k reduction in available credit. The fact that they wouldn't reopen the account which was in perfectly good standing, and the fact that they "notified" me they were closing it by sending another piece of junk mail really left a bad taste in my mouth. I'll never open another Chase card again.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jun 14, 2019
lenygorine Cardholder

672 TU 619 EQ 623 EX (with 2 collection on EX EQ) and no other chase accounts. Only other card is secured $300 via Wells Fargo and received an instant approval for $8600. Credit Karma listed approval odds as “Good”, not sure why as my credit is trash. Called to have it expediated 2 business days. Good stuff. Just apply.

more ...
Jun 07, 2019
Great card, great rewards, no BS
seabeard Cardholder

Got approved for $5k at a 670 average.  Had the card to years and received two limit bumps and my limit is $28,000 now and scores in the low 700s.  Cash back is great, and always buys random dinners.  I recommend for anyone moving up from a "starter card" and into a real bank with real credit opportunities.

I liked it so much I got a Chase Freedom card shortly after I got this one.  Great stuff.

more ...
Jun 06, 2019
Beware of being approved!
Cantbeat24 Cardholder

I applied and got approved for $6300 credit limit. Got the card in the mail, activated it. Got some more brochures a few days later. Before I even used the card, they closed the account. What? Then got an email saying that I had too many inquiries. I only have 3 and 1 was theirs. The other 2 were from a year ago. Will never do business with Chase in fear of them closing the account and being denied at the register.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jun 13, 2019

I applied for a card because on credit karma that had an offer for 0 percent interest for 15 months on a balance transfer. Then after I got a approved, it read differently. Somehow, the application process got messed up and I was approved for this card instead. I would never apply for this card because it doesn’t offer balance transfers and there’s a $95 annual fee. The card I applied for had no annual fee. The customer service is disgusting. They are condescending and they insist it’s your mistake. I spoke to two supervisors, Uvia and Matthew and they were disgraceful.

 
Jun 05, 2019

First let me say, I received this card today so a full review is not yet possible. So far I'm impressed. The design (metal card) nice texture, and cool blue color. Now to the stuff people actually care about. My income 72k / yr, CK scores 642 TU, 646 EQ, fair approval odds before applying. CK shows EQ account was pulled. Instantly approved for $6200 CL sweet. Approval email confirmed card will be mailed 7-10 days. However called Chase to rush card. Received in 2 business days. I must say, I'm disappointed with CapOne and Discover. I currently have the Quick Silver, Quick Silver One, and Discover Secured CC's. CL limits are $600, $1250, and $300. I've had Quick Silver for 3 years and have NEVER missed a payment. The other 2 I've had about 16 months and NEVER missed payments on each. Carryover balances are below 29% or no balance each month but received very small credit increases or in Discover's case no increase nor graduated to unsecured card. Even though I've called them at least 5 times for this. Next call to Discover will be to cancel card and send my deposit back. If you're stuck in one of these type cards it may be time to move on even with just "Fair" approval odds. I hope this review has helped someone because reviews have helped me. Keep them coming.

more ...
Jun 04, 2019
Excited to use
PNW72828278 Cardholder

Credit karma gave me a fair chance at being approved with a 684 Experian, 675 TransUnion and I dropped my utilization to like 1% in order to get a boost to apply for this. I was accepted after a week waiting, with a CL of 5300, which, while on the low side, I’m surprised I got approved at all! Can’t wait to start utilizing travel rewards. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 1,304
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations
 

Chase Sapphire Preferred® Card

98 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i