Chase Sapphire Preferred® Card Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Chase Sapphire Preferred® Card Reviews
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.3 out of 5 stars
91 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 17.74% - 24.74%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $95
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 17.74% - 24.74%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Sep 16, 2019
djmatthews72 Cardholder

I have worked on my credit for the last 7 years.  Tonight was the culmination of that work.  Over the last week, I have been researching cards and wondering which to apply for.  I have several cards now with starter limits (no more than $2600).  Up late, I decided to apply for NFCU Amex.  Boom was approved for $15k.  So I said what the heck, I will apply for the Chase Sapphire Preferred (TPG suggested this card over Reserve b/c of bonus).  Again, success.  I was approved for $7k.  This may not seem like a big deal to some, but for me.....this is a huge win.  My scores have been climbing steadily and now this should put me in the upper 700s.  To anyone out there working hard to improve your credit profile, keep working.  It will pay off.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

May 01, 2019
Decent Card. Beware of Chase though.
smonkey12 Cardholder

This was one of my first cards as an adult. I had it for a good 6 years or so with a 20k limit. I used it pretty regularly for awhile but then moved to a different card and carried a zero balance on this one. One day Credit Karma tells me that one of my accounts had been closed. I figured out it was this credit card. I called Chase to see why in the world they just cancelled my card for no reason. I was told it was becasue of inactivity even with a 95 dollar annual fee. They would not reopen the account for me. They said I could reapply.. WOOHOO. thanks! This cancellation had a relatively significant effect on my score with this being one of my oldest cards, not to mention the 20k reduction in available credit. The fact that they wouldn't reopen the account which was in perfectly good standing, and the fact that they "notified" me they were closing it by sending another piece of junk mail really left a bad taste in my mouth. I'll never open another Chase card again.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Nov 12, 2019
Enjoying it!
MrDebonair1914 Cardholder

I have owned this card for 3 months now and have enjoyed stacking the points to use for traveling for our honeymoon. I racked up the 60,000 points pretty quick and today without request or notification I received a automatic credit line increase. Lastly, the website and app are very user friendly when it comes to making payments, making purchases with stores to collect 2x-5x the points and setting travel notifications without contacting customer service. 

more ...
Nov 16, 2019

what do you have to spend to accumulate 60K points? sounds like a lot.

 
Nov 17, 2019

Spend $4,000 in 3 months to receive 60K.

 
Nov 07, 2019
Buenos puntos!
Neltez Cardholder

Buenas recompensas, ofertas, fácil de acumular puntos y millas. Me ayudó a subir mi puntaje crediticio. Fácil uso de la aplicación, para hacer pagos y verificar transacciones. 

more ...
Nov 07, 2019
Worst card ever!
Nikked2000 Cardholder

Applied for this card... got approved for this card. Started using the card. Then all off a sudden wake up one morning and they closed my account!! NO WARNING.. NO EMAIL..NO TEXT..NO NOTICE.
reason?
We saw delinquency in your past credit history????!!!
What the hell?
I am so glad that I was not overseas or on vacation and relied on this credit card.

more ...
Nov 15, 2019

they just did this crap to me, applied on nov 6 for sapphire preferred got approved 2 days later they called and said approved for 10,500. waited for card, and got it today to find out it was canceled in transit. what the heck??? I can easily apply for tons of credit and have this bank is a joke....

 
Nov 18, 2019

Same happened to me. *******s

 
Oct 27, 2019
Beware of the fine print fees
Ragsley Cardholder

Unlike other cards, Chase uses cash advance to pull their interest charges.  This pushes the overall cost of this card to an exorbitant level.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Oct 30, 2019

Most credit cards have very unfavorable terms for cash advances, and I believe most people would advise never to do that unless there's some dire emergency. Also most of the "Rewards" type cards have terrible interest rates, and the only *correct* (from the customer's point of view) way to use these cards is to *never ever* carry a balance. As much as I love these rewards type cards, I also think of them as potential financial hand-grenades: don't pull the pin! :-)

 
Oct 25, 2019
Go to card
AIRONEONONE Cardholder

Applied and this card has become our go to card for most of our purchases. We easily made the 60,000 point bonus in a month and redeemed to cash which was also a breeze. I love how it comes up in my bank account and my digital wallet. It may be strange but the feel makes it seem like a luxury item. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 11, 2019

Do you know which bureau they pulled from with this card?

 
Oct 24, 2019
Great Travel Rewards Card
SRH91 Cardholder

I have no complaints about this card. I am not a huge spender, but I still rack up thousands of dollars of travel rewards within a calendar year. The yearly fee of $95, at least to me, is very worth it to have this card. I have used this card now for a few years. If you're considering it, I would highly recommend you apply!

more ...
Oct 20, 2019
Terrible!
Tracyco66 Cardholder

Chase promo said “spend 4000 before November and you’ll get 60000 points.” I had 230 more left to get the bonus and Chase closed the account because I spent too much toward my limit. Avoid this catch 22!!

more ...
Oct 29, 2019

What was your credit limit on this account?

 
Nov 17, 2019

That makes absolutely no sense. Regardless of credit limit, people max out their cards all the time. As long as you make you monthly min payments, you should be fine well at least in theory

 
Oct 16, 2019
Greta Card BUT
theceller Cardholder

Was great card "BUT" ( CHASE) Closed account  1 week after getting Card . Said Reason was to many Credit Inquireies .. LOL  Was using for 60,000 point bonus , Also added Auyhoised User Chase Cancelled Card " No Waring " No Mail"  "No Nothing " Also Cancled all Chase accounts I have had for over 15 Years .. Will Never Use CHASE again !! Very Unprofessional , In My Opinion !!

more ...
Oct 17, 2019

I would focus on going back go school. I wouldn't approve you if you structured your sentences with all caps like a title and had so many grammar mistakes.

 
Nov 07, 2019

Same happened to me. This card is total BS

 
Nov 15, 2019

they just did it to me approved me for 10k and then card arrived it was already canceled, even though they ran my credit 3 times before mailing.... nothing wrong with my credit, have good amounts of cards good limits and standing.....they are such a joke,

 
Oct 14, 2019
Good rewards
LM00 Cardholder

Credit Karma showed this as "fair approval odds for me" but I applied and approved instantly with a $5100 credit limit. My score before I applied was TU- 548 and Equifax - 549.  My scores on CK immediately jumped up to 581, so maybe they just hadn't been updated. When I got my welcome letter with the card, it showed my Fico score as 666.  Crossing my fingers this helps my score go up in the next few months.

more ...
Oct 14, 2019

EDIT: my Fico score was 566 (not 666- don't know how to edit my review)

 
Oct 14, 2019

That’s crazy! Did you have any other cards with over $5000 CL? Also, what’s your annual income?

 
Oct 15, 2019

No, I don't. Annual income is $75k

 
Oct 15, 2019

That’s awesome! Congrats! What’s your credit history? As in how long?

 
Oct 14, 2019
Really good starter travel card.
Jack311G Cardholder

I enjoyed how easy combining my points are and the ease of use the travel portal is.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 02, 2019

Starter card there isn't really any better that aren't similar so are all visa signature cards starter's to you

 
Oct 11, 2019
For a low annual fee, a good travel card
Jwknows1 Cardholder

60,000 reward pts for spending $4K n 3 months ... I have a large purchase coming up and thought it would be a good time to apply for this card according to Credit Karma my scores were 757 and 757 respectively and Experian score of 783 I was approved for a credit limit of 22k so far so good I will revise my review if needed

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Oct 15, 2019

What was your credit score with chase when you were approved ?

 
Oct 11, 2019
Bull crap
Lissette31 Cardholder

They approve you fir the card wait until you start charging a decent amount and then closes the account they says you have to many cc accounts open. It doesn't matter if I have 20 cards if my cards are being paid on time making payments over minimum payment shouldn't matter. A RIP off

more ...
Oct 29, 2019

If you don't mind me asking how many cards do you have?

 
Nov 07, 2019

Same happened to me!! Exactly what u said.. as long as u pay your card on time what is their problem
They are full of crap

 
Oct 08, 2019
Beware of this card
Mrselman1967 Cardholder

Was approved for this card at $4000, received card and charged $95 annual fee.  After having only 4 days account was closed with no warning and no explanation. Meanwhile I currently carrier 2 Amex cards which are awesome, thank you Amex, capital one Mastercard and a Discover.  I later called chase to enquirer why account was close and was told I didn't have enough credit.  Credit scores were 747/751, no my credit report shows a closed account.

more ...
Oct 10, 2019

The minimum you can be approved for this card is $5000 lol...

 
Oct 14, 2019

This is a visa signature card, the minimum limit is $5,000.

 
Oct 20, 2019

They did the same to me , closed right before I got my bonus points! Never late and paid more than minimums

 
Oct 22, 2019

Sounds fishy

 
Oct 24, 2019

They closed it just before getting your points!!!???? Thats so messed up and scamy

 
Nov 02, 2019

I dont feel like any of that is true the only one that makes any sense is the fact that this is a visa signature card with a minimum cl of 5000$ and if your limit is that close to your bonus spending amount you should probably know it's a bad idea to max the cl of a brand new card

 
Oct 06, 2019
Awesome!
KaylaH2019 Cardholder

I was introduced to this card via Credit Karma reccomendations. I have been working on building my credit for about two years and finally got it up to above 700 with the help of the capital one platinum card also reccomended by credit karma. This is my first card with a high spending limit and the rewards are incredible. The rewards of being able to use my points to take my family on vacations are awesome, but the budget tools that the app provides help put spending into perspective and helps me budget and use my card resonsibly! Chase customer service is also incredibly available, no wait time around the clock. I have reccomended this card to many of my friends and even my mom haha

more ...
Sep 27, 2019
Best bonus rewards
Mtwils Cardholder

So. I woke up today and finally decided to apply for this card. 
I was nervous Bc the last thing you want to do is be rejected for a card and have a hard inquiry on your report. So with credit karma I had very good approval odds with a TU 728 Equifax 722 and my Experian from that app was 698. I also signed up for Chase Credit Journey. It gives you a free credit score and recommends Pre-qualifying cards. Well today the preferred popped up on it so I gave it a shot! Approved in seconds with a $6000 limit (which I'm ok with Bc it will definitely increase)  and not only that. But my bonus sign on was 70,000points. 10k higher than the offer is! So I'm excited to start using this card! 

more ...
Sep 25, 2019
simple and with shop offers
screename117 Cardholder

you get shop offers for extra points, if you find expedia inflated prices join the membership club, fixed.  Theres a few nifty perks, I havent had anyproblems so far or with making larger purchases.  Pretty solid card with decent perks.

more ...
Sep 19, 2019
Awesome
aj0423 Cardholder

Got this card June 23rd this year. Approved for 5K. Recieved an email that they increased my line to 8100. That's am increase of 3100 in just 3 months. I paid balance as soon as it slowed.

more ...
Sep 16, 2019
djmatthews72 Cardholder

I have worked on my credit for the last 7 years.  Tonight was the culmination of that work.  Over the last week, I have been researching cards and wondering which to apply for.  I have several cards now with starter limits (no more than $2600).  Up late, I decided to apply for NFCU Amex.  Boom was approved for $15k.  So I said what the heck, I will apply for the Chase Sapphire Preferred (TPG suggested this card over Reserve b/c of bonus).  Again, success.  I was approved for $7k.  This may not seem like a big deal to some, but for me.....this is a huge win.  My scores have been climbing steadily and now this should put me in the upper 700s.  To anyone out there working hard to improve your credit profile, keep working.  It will pay off.

more ...
Sep 21, 2019

Around what was your score when you got approved for the NFCU Amex?

 
Nov 16, 2019

Now all you have to do to maintain that score is NEVER use the cards! Congratulations. I know how good that feels. I just raised my score 120 points.

 
Sep 16, 2019
Great card ! High limit !
Tnalls86 Cardholder

CK said I had a "good" chance at getting approved , so I applied with a score of 688, and got approved for 6000$

more ...
Sep 22, 2019

What credit bureau was pulled

 
Sep 23, 2019

Equifax and transunion I believe

 
Sep 24, 2019

I wonder how c k decides the odds my vantage scores are higher than yours and c k only said a fair chance of approval

 
Sep 16, 2019
Terrible company
BuaF1 Cardholder

The short story is, I had a mystery $500 charge on my Chase Sapphire Preferred that I asked to have remove because I didn’t make the charge.  I honestly didn’t think it would be a big deal.  Fast forward one month and a dozen email exchanges and phone calls......They refused to remove it and couldn’t explain to me why the charge was there.

I enjoyed using both Chase cards I had, The sapphire reserve and the Freedom card.  30k limit between the two, but ultimately decided to close both accounts because they couldn’t resolve a simple fraudulent charge.  Also, they really go out of their way to make you feel like a dummy when you say "I don’t understand".

Their last option to me was to write a letter to the CEO to dispute......Write a letter to the CEO.

more ...
Sep 13, 2019
Love it, great rewards
Caarhus Cardholder

Fantastic credit card with an unmatched rewards redemption site. Big fan of it and it's a metal card! I'll admit, Chase isn't my favorite mobile banking app, but this card is great!

more ...
Sep 12, 2019
Excellent Credit Card!

I wanted another card so I can have a higher credit limits as suggested by credit karma. And within minutes I got approved for $5000! My credit score was around 665 at the time and Experian around 712. I’m so happy I finally have a card that has a higher credit limits. 

more ...
Sep 09, 2019
Just approved
OOKevinc Cardholder

Just started repairing my credit. Went from 620 to a 650 in the last ten days ( ef 652 tu 655). My CK rating went from fair to good so I decided to apply. $90k gross pay. $7900 CL. Hope this helps.

more ...
Sep 09, 2019

Also, called for expedited shipping!

 
Sep 20, 2019

Thank you. By stating your salary and the credit limit, it helped a lot.

 
Sep 01, 2019
It's a excellent card with great rewards
Wrigc323 Cardholder

I love the cash back for shopping at some of my favorite places.

more ...
Sep 27, 2019

Are you sure you're reviewing the correct card here? I ask that because the Chase Sapphire Preferred is not a "cash back" card.

 
Oct 15, 2019

You can use it to shop if you want.

 
Aug 27, 2019
A good mid-tier travel card

Even if you ultimately want the Sapphire Reserve card, this one might be worth getting first since it's (as of July-Aug 2019) offering a signup bonus that's 10,000 points higher. Also, if you're in the "building or solidifying credit" phase, the Preferred will be easier to qualify for since its minimum credit line is $5,000 versus the $10,000 minimum CL for the Reserve. In this scenario, you'd have to wait a year to upgrade to the Reserve, but if you hang onto all the points what you earned with the Preferred can be used with the higher redemption value of the Reserve after upgrading.

My application was done in a Chase branch since I was setting up a new checking account at the same time. This data may interest some: checking Chase's prequalification site beforehand gave me nothing (despite my FICO scores ranging from 792 to 835), but after setting up the checking account the Chase rep told me that he saw a message that I was prequalified for their credit cards. Then did the application for the Sapphire Preferred and was approved with a 17,000 CL. The card was expedited and showed up two days later.

Unlike with most American Express cards, one can't add Chase cards to Apple Pay before recieving the physical card. So if you might need the full 90 days to reach $4,000 spending to get the signup bonus, you should probably ask to have the card expedited (it will then be sent via overnight delivery) rather than waiting a week or two for snail-mail.

One thing I do appreciate about this card, versus AMEX: the "travel" category for elevated points multipliers is much broader, including rental cars, taxis and car services as well as airfare. Spending on Zipcar is also included in that category.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 1,304
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 
Chase Sapphire Preferred® Card Reviews

Chase Sapphire Preferred® Card

91 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i