Chase Sapphire Preferred® Card Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Chase Sapphire Preferred® Card Reviews
4.3 out of 5 stars
93 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 17.49% - 24.49%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $95
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 17.49% - 24.49%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Sep 16, 2019
djmatthews72 Cardholder

I have worked on my credit for the last 7 years.  Tonight was the culmination of that work.  Over the last week, I have been researching cards and wondering which to apply for.  I have several cards now with starter limits (no more than $2600).  Up late, I decided to apply for NFCU Amex.  Boom was approved for $15k.  So I said what the heck, I will apply for the Chase Sapphire Preferred (TPG suggested this card over Reserve b/c of bonus).  Again, success.  I was approved for $7k.  This may not seem like a big deal to some, but for me.....this is a huge win.  My scores have been climbing steadily and now this should put me in the upper 700s.  To anyone out there working hard to improve your credit profile, keep working.  It will pay off.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

May 01, 2019
Decent Card. Beware of Chase though.
smonkey12 Cardholder

This was one of my first cards as an adult. I had it for a good 6 years or so with a 20k limit. I used it pretty regularly for awhile but then moved to a different card and carried a zero balance on this one. One day Credit Karma tells me that one of my accounts had been closed. I figured out it was this credit card. I called Chase to see why in the world they just cancelled my card for no reason. I was told it was becasue of inactivity even with a 95 dollar annual fee. They would not reopen the account for me. They said I could reapply.. WOOHOO. thanks! This cancellation had a relatively significant effect on my score with this being one of my oldest cards, not to mention the 20k reduction in available credit. The fact that they wouldn't reopen the account which was in perfectly good standing, and the fact that they "notified" me they were closing it by sending another piece of junk mail really left a bad taste in my mouth. I'll never open another Chase card again.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Feb 21, 2020
Great card, great rewards
CarlesMR Cardholder

This was one of my first high rewards cards I got when I finally built my credit history enough to get approved. I finally upgraded to the Sapphire Reserve with some hesitation, but I have to thank my overall experience with the Preferred card, which allowed to touch base with the magic world of credit card rewards and how you can get free money from your purchases with a little bit of research and strategic spending.

more ...
Feb 17, 2020
Scoolidge Cardholder

I applied for this card with a score of 630. Got approved for $5000. Within 2 months, I got another $2500 increase. 2 months later, my limit is at 10000. This card is so worth having, especially if you travel and dine out! The cash back is just amazing and you will not have any issues with this card! 

more ...
Feb 18, 2020

630 Score ?

 
Feb 19, 2020

Did this card leave a hard inquiry on your credit report?

 
Feb 09, 2020
Instantly approved!
Ivan7849 Cardholder

CK odds were good and I decided to apply for it. Got instantly approved, CL $9000, score of 685 TU and annual income of 100K. I also have the Chase Freedom Unlimited. Only time will tell but I plan to get the 60k points within 3 months of 5k spending. 

more ...
Feb 11, 2020

Edit: 60k points after spending $4000 by 5/11/2020

 
Feb 12, 2020

I wish to drop a review of my credit boost techs that got me 813 credit score. Well, I hired data scientists and financial Advisor Mr. Bob Mills aka Royalblade. He cleaned up a lot of mess on my credit profile which has left my credit score uprising since Dec 2019, where it was just 622 EQ and 599 TU. Royalblade @ Protonmail com is his email.

 
Feb 13, 2020

the New fico 10 will Destroy Credit Swepted Profiles lol being able to go back on data up to 2yrs lol yall are done in the near future

 
Feb 15, 2020

TeamBeaterz sounds like he watches YouTube until his brain is fried🤣😭

 
Feb 18, 2020

I’m currently working with Royalblade to get my credit scores up after I got denied for this at 615 CS TU. Looking good so far.

 
Feb 19, 2020

Did this card leave a hard inquiry on your credit report?

 
Feb 19, 2020

Yes it does leave a hrs inquiry

 
Feb 06, 2020
Worth the annual fee
jrmn0000 Cardholder

Great benefits and initial bonus. Partnered with most of the top tier airlines (domestic & international). There is always some great deals to earn more points on travel and dining.

more ...
Feb 06, 2020
Great credit limit
Jchris99 Cardholder

I applied for the chase sapphire preferred card 3 weeks ago & was instantly approved for $12,500 credit limit. This is my highest limit as of today discover $9200, hsbc $7800, amex$11,600, chase $12,500. This is my only card with an annual fee and it's $95 but well worth it with the intro offer of spend $4000 in first 3 months and get 60,000 travel miles or redeem for cash, love the option. The card is thick & heavy steel which I love as well. You can get up to 2x points air travel on every dollar spent which helps with annual fee year after year. The application process was easy and credit karma said I had an excellent chance of approval with trans 746 equifax 689 and fico 720. No lates or missed payments ever and using under 30% of credit in total. I would highly recommend this card as long as you pay your bill monthly yo avoud high apr, otherwise perfect card

more ...
Jan 26, 2020
Useful for a lot more than credit
KobeyCanada Cardholder

The card is the first I got when I came to America from Canada. At that time there was a promotion going on and I got $750 as a welcome bonus. They give $1 on all purchases with bonuses for travel, food and gas.

They will give offers of 5-10% for purchases made at various vendors for a limited time for example 5% if you shop at Domino's or little Caesars.. or others like Walmart grocery, Amazon, under Armour, etc.

They also offer at the current time a subscription to door dash for free if you use this card as the primary.

Points can be redeemed for cash, gift cards, merchandise or travel.

I use this card as my everyday card and I'm very happy with it.

more ...
Jan 21, 2020
So Far So Good...
ddhanson Cardholder

I applied for this card on 1/20/2020 with a 772 score for both TU/EQ.  I was immiediately approved with a 26k limit.  Will update this reveiw after the 3 months/4k spending for the 60k bonus points.  I also applied through a referral process as my brother has the card and loved it, and wanted to get him the 15k bonus.  I will leave the review as a 4/5 until the bonuses have been allocated.

more ...
Jan 19, 2020
It’s my best card.
StaffyJ Cardholder

This is my 4th credit card. I was approved with a T score 695 / am E score 701 and given an $16,600 limit. I got my card in October 2019 and maybe worried too much about reaching that $4000 threshold to receive the 60k miles but with Christmas around the corner it was much easier than expected. I basically put everything on this card. I think it's important to know that you may have to verify that they assign your transactions correctly at times when you are expecting the additional points for purchases that apply. I purchased food and parking on a college campus and saw my purchase was assigned as an education purchase. Fortunately, the app allows you to quickly make that correction. Also, I had questions about how the card perks would work for me for an upcoming trip I purchased. Customer service was very polite, patient, and clear. I am having a great experience so far. 

more ...
Jan 20, 2020

How long of a credit history did you have, if you don't mind me asking? I really want to apply, but am only showing a "fair" chance of getting approved. 703/698 scores.

 
Jan 21, 2020

Mine says good approval odds and my credit is slightly lower than yours. I have a history with chase using amazon only for 3 years if that helps.

 
Jan 24, 2020

Thanks!

 
Jan 17, 2020
very good card
hassandayton Cardholder

I have a credit score of 800+ .. credit limit 21K with 100K points with in 2 years 

more ...
Jan 13, 2020
They closed my account with cause.
SarahI0 Cardholder

Not a good card to have if you use all your credit like they show boat you into. Then they close the account for no reason but still owe a huge debt. My credit will take a hit because of this card.

more ...
Jan 14, 2020

Why would you max out a card they never suggested that i dont blame them because your obviously a risk if you cant paythe balance in full

 
Jan 15, 2020

When did you open it and when did they close it?

 
Jan 28, 2020

Using a all of a credit card's limit, especially on a new account, is a huge red flag to *any* bank. I have this same card and have never felt Chase is trying to "show boat" me into using the whole credit line. It is very standard "good advice" to use credit cards for their rewards, benefits, purchase protection, and simplification of finances where applicable...but NOT to spend to the point where you cannot repay the full statement balance in a given month.

 
Jan 10, 2020
Approved Quick
detroitmogul Cardholder

I have a 767 credit score and since I saw the points you get I decided to go ahead and apply. I spend $250k a year on FB ads and when I saw that all I had to spend was $4k in the first 3 months to get the $750 travel credit I jumped on it. I got approved for $16,200 out the gate. 

more ...
Dec 22, 2019
If you love rewards this card is for YOU

I was at really good approval odds when I decided to apply. Got approved for decent amount, and started using right away. Rewards stacked up quickly since I eat out a lot. A few months later my line increased by another 4k. Nice feel and weight. Definitely a different class of card with all the perks associated with it. Worth getting.

more ...
Dec 22, 2019

Do you carry 0 balance when the statement hits or do you just pay your statement balance in full. Just got the card and trying to gauge on how the increase the limit

 
Dec 28, 2019

Hi ,what score do u have when applied for the card ?

 
Jan 22, 2020

What was your Experian score when you applied ?

 
Jan 31, 2020

What is the score please?

 
Feb 25, 2020

When you said you got approved with a
decent amount how much was cause the initial credit limit when approve is no less than $ 5,000

 
Dec 09, 2019
Main Daily Use Card
IndyJeepMan Cardholder

I've had this card since 2014 - this is the card my wife and use daily (Charge $60k-$70k a year on it and PIF monthly so interest rate is no concern).  The rewards are solid, and due to our use I make more off the card in rewards use than the annual fee, so it's worth it.  I would NOT recomend having more than 1 card with an annual fee unless your charge rewards outweigh the fee, which is hard to do across mult fee cards.

Initial CL approved was $29k

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Dec 17, 2019

What was your score and income when you applied for the card not trying to be nosey just trying to see if I'll get approved

 
Dec 04, 2019
Shoot your shot
ABayyy345 Cardholder

HiII! 

So, I tbjnk Chase should be paying me a monthly endorsement fee at this point because I am recommending this card to folx on a daily basis! I loveee this card and I'm so happy with the benefits. 
Back story: I started my credit journey late 2018 by cutting up my credit cards and using the SELF lender app where I saw I huge change in my credit score. In November I had a score of 530, by April I had a 610 then in September I finally hit 700 (woot woot). This was a combination of keeping my credit utilization below 30, sometimes 20%, making my payments on time and taking advantage of credit line increases from other credit cards. When I started my journey, I knew that this was the credit card that I was going to apply for so in June, I went ahead and applied... and I got approved for $5400!!! At the time my score was no more than 650 TU and 630 ish EQU. 

I was able to get the 60,000 point bonus by spending $4000 within the first month of owning this card which was so awesome (60,000 points was worth $800+ in travel or $650 in cash back, still haven't decided which I'll accept)!!! Fast forward to Dec 1st, after having this card for only 5 months, my credit line jumped to $10,400!!!! Funny enough, they didn't even notify me of this change, I saw it via credit karma but I was still very thrilled! I called Chase to assure that it was accurate and the customer service rep explained that since I spend about $400-500 per month on the card and pay off $350-400 by the next statement closing date consecutively, the bank saw no issue with increasing my balance within those few short months!!! 

Back in October I got my 60,000 points but in order for me to do so I had to make a big purchase because I hadn't used the card all month so I paid off my iphone 8plus, purchased the iPhone 11 p max, and accessories which came out to be around $600, by November's statement, I had paid back $550 of these dollars back. Explaining these purchases is just to give examples of how I pay my cc bill so that you can get the idea of how I got this swift credit line increase. 

I think that this card is so awesome and I always recommend my friends and family to apply because the additional $8,000 credit limit is usually untouched but nice to have ICE. 

Good luck to everyone on their credit journey, thumbs up to Chase for this card. 

FYI: approval odds stated "fair" when I applied so I was skeptical but went for it anyways☺️

more ...
Jan 15, 2020

That is so awesome I think I want to apply for this card now.

 
Jan 17, 2020

I want this card so bad my CS is 646 I’m gonna try to get it a little higher. Approval odds are fair

 
Jan 29, 2020

My score will go up next month due to all my inquiries coming off leaving me at 1. Deff will be applying for card next month.

 
Feb 25, 2020

Is not possible been approved under the 700’s chase is one of the cards that require excellent credit and higher credit score to be approve

 
Nov 30, 2019
EXCELLENT!!

I received the green "Already Approved" message in the Chase App with a CL of 6500. Applied on the 14th if November, Had it rushed shipped and received it on the 18th for my birthday the day before I flew out to Jamaica. Perfect timing!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 22, 2020

What was your credi score when you applied

 
Nov 29, 2019
740 TU with approx 2 yrs credit history
megansidd99 Cardholder

I was a little concerned I would get declined for this card due to my length of credit history. My average history is less than 2 years (I'm 20 yrs old) and between my two main credit cards I have only a $3,900 limit. I do have a higher income than I used to ($70,000) which may have boosted my odds. I was instantly approved with a $8,400 limit. Credit Karma gave me a "very good" rating and also a "fair" rating to be accepted by Chase. I would say if you have a credit score over 700, do some research on Google and then go for it. I experimented with the credit card simulator on Credit Karma and decided to take a chance. I'm glad I did! The benefits are amazing with this card, not to mention the sign up bonus.

more ...
Dec 16, 2019

You’re 20 yrs old and make $70000? What profession is that? I’m assuming you haven’t completed a 4 year degree, unless you started college at 16 and applied for a job, got accepted, and started working immediately after graduating

 
Dec 17, 2019

lmao I was asking myself the exact same thing

 
Dec 26, 2019

THE LIES YOU TELL

 
Jan 03, 2020

Maybe she is a dancer they make alot !or works for family let's not be jealous,no one is the same no judgement. 🧚‍♀️😊

 
Nov 23, 2019
Great travel card
woshields Cardholder

Easy application process, I applied for this card a little over a year ago and was instantly approved for $16,900 with a credit score of roughly 710.  I like that this card allows me to redeem points for 25% extra if I book through Chase's travel website; additionally, I can also transfer points between my credit cards, so I can use my Chase Freedom card to accumulate 5% cash back on various things and transfer the points to this card to redeem some great deals on flights, etc.  

I would highly recommend this credit card to redeem points for miles -- especially if you can partner it with another Chase credit card.  

more ...
Nov 19, 2019
Approved!
MegaMoney7 Cardholder

26 years old. $25k income. TU 799. Approved for $7,400 CL. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 19, 2019

First CC with Chase.

 
Nov 12, 2019
Enjoying it!
MrDebonair1914 Cardholder

I have owned this card for 3 months now and have enjoyed stacking the points to use for traveling for our honeymoon. I racked up the 60,000 points pretty quick and today without request or notification I received a automatic credit line increase. Lastly, the website and app are very user friendly when it comes to making payments, making purchases with stores to collect 2x-5x the points and setting travel notifications without contacting customer service. 

more ...
Nov 16, 2019

what do you have to spend to accumulate 60K points? sounds like a lot.

 
Nov 17, 2019

Spend $4,000 in 3 months to receive 60K.

 
Jan 30, 2020

Did increase come on your third statement.

 
Nov 07, 2019
Buenos puntos!
Neltez Cardholder

Buenas recompensas, ofertas, fácil de acumular puntos y millas. Me ayudó a subir mi puntaje crediticio. Fácil uso de la aplicación, para hacer pagos y verificar transacciones. 

more ...
Nov 07, 2019
Worst card ever!
Nikked2000 Cardholder

Applied for this card... got approved for this card. Started using the card. Then all off a sudden wake up one morning and they closed my account!! NO WARNING.. NO EMAIL..NO TEXT..NO NOTICE.
reason?
We saw delinquency in your past credit history????!!!
What the hell?
I am so glad that I was not overseas or on vacation and relied on this credit card.

more ...
Nov 15, 2019

they just did this crap to me, applied on nov 6 for sapphire preferred got approved 2 days later they called and said approved for 10,500. waited for card, and got it today to find out it was canceled in transit. what the heck??? I can easily apply for tons of credit and have this bank is a joke....

 
Nov 18, 2019

Same happened to me. *******s

 
Dec 01, 2019

What is the valid reasoning that they are giving for doing this?

 
Dec 25, 2019

They have a separate department full of jerks whose only purpose is to close accounts down for a plethora of trivial reasons.

 
Oct 27, 2019
Beware of the fine print fees
Ragsley Cardholder

Unlike other cards, Chase uses cash advance to pull their interest charges.  This pushes the overall cost of this card to an exorbitant level.

more ...
Oct 30, 2019

Most credit cards have very unfavorable terms for cash advances, and I believe most people would advise never to do that unless there's some dire emergency. Also most of the "Rewards" type cards have terrible interest rates, and the only *correct* (from the customer's point of view) way to use these cards is to *never ever* carry a balance. As much as I love these rewards type cards, I also think of them as potential financial hand-grenades: don't pull the pin! :-)

 
Nov 24, 2019

Good info. TY.

 
Oct 25, 2019
Go to card
AIRONEONONE Cardholder

Applied and this card has become our go to card for most of our purchases. We easily made the 60,000 point bonus in a month and redeemed to cash which was also a breeze. I love how it comes up in my bank account and my digital wallet. It may be strange but the feel makes it seem like a luxury item. 

more ...
Nov 11, 2019

Do you know which bureau they pulled from with this card?

 
Nov 29, 2019

Experian and TransUnion they pulled from me.

 
Oct 24, 2019
Great Travel Rewards Card
SRH91 Cardholder

I have no complaints about this card. I am not a huge spender, but I still rack up thousands of dollars of travel rewards within a calendar year. The yearly fee of $95, at least to me, is very worth it to have this card. I have used this card now for a few years. If you're considering it, I would highly recommend you apply!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 1,304
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 
Chase Sapphire Preferred® Card Reviews

Chase Sapphire Preferred® Card

93 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i