Chase Sapphire Preferred® Card Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.3 out of 5 stars
95 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 18.24% - 25.24%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $95
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 18.24% - 25.24%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Mar 18, 2019
Excellent card
bhfowler88 Cardholder

CK had approval odds at fair, decided to apply anyway and was instantly approved for $5100. CK scores were 625 and 629. They sent FICO credit score with my card and it showed 668. Great card, great cl and online application and instant decision were so fast and easy! Highly recommend. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

May 16, 2018
Issues in the UK
Gibral Cardholder

Ifthis card is designed for you to travel with then it is not fulfilling it's value. I went to UK and multiple areas in London, different parts of England, Wales and Ireland could not read the card. Places like McDonald's, Hamleys, etc. I'd say half of the retailers could not read it. Worst case was budget rent a car could not read it so I ended up having to use my debit card and having to pay extra ($250) for rental car insurance. Again, this should not happen if it is a card designed for travel that you have to pay $95 for.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Apr 18, 2019
Go for it!
hengle95 Cardholder

Just got approved with a CL of $6,600 with scores between 680-685 across the board. 24 yr old with 60k income and remaining student loans. I say if your in a similar situation go for it you wont be dissapointed!

more ...
Apr 12, 2019
Feel cool owning it.
Sambd Cardholder

Approved with a very modest CL of $5000. I have a very thin credit profile and 700 ish score. 70k income. Welcome bonus was great and the rewards seem really cool. The card itself is beautiful. Heavy and metal. Love the deep blue color. If I was given a limit as high as on my Amex card this would be my everyday spender. Highly recommend.

more ...
Apr 10, 2019
Happy So Far!
Lauren578 Cardholder

Wasn’t sure about getting approved for this card while I am rebuilding my credit.  I have a lot of student loans but minimal other debt.  Scores just under 700 and was approved with a limit of $5,000.  I didn’t get an instant approval and I had to call twice to get the approval.  I say go for it! 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Apr 17, 2019

What number did you call?

 
Apr 08, 2019
Nice initial SL. First time with Chase
FriscoCally Cardholder

CK said I had very good odds of approval. Did some simuation and with a new credit card and line of 10k or more it said my score would increase 66 points.  So after reading the reviews on this one I did it.  Didnt get immediate approval so I called the 1800 number to check 4 days after. Automated response said I was approved but I had to get a operator to tell me my SL. It was $14,800  Nice SL for someone who has no affiliation wih Chase besides this card. I also asjked the operator to expedite the card and they did.   MY CK scores were 688 673 and experian is 710 at time of application and I make 200k plus a yr. Hope this helps someone with a little insight to the approval process. This card gave me a 50-70 score bump across all bureaus. So my scores are I now between 733-760 

more ...
Apr 06, 2019
Great rewards program
robojoyo Cardholder

I applied right here through CK and wasn’t instantly approved. It said they need to review. I was sent a letter about a week later saying I needed to call and verify that I applied. After they sent me a text with a code, she said she was going to now submit it, and then a few seconds later she said it looks like you’ve already been approved, congratulations, and your limit is $7000. My scores were F666,E764,T753. My credit only recently went up because I went to transunion and disputed a couple items and one was removed. I strongly suggest transunion online dispute. It gives you a chance to look at what creditors look at and you may be able to get something removed. My credit jumped up over 100 points after it was removed. Worth a try! Good luck!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Apr 06, 2019

This is true dispute everything you can the people you owe have so many days to respond most of the time they don’t and things start disappearing from you credit report I had 7 collections now I have two wich or medical bills. Once a debt is sent to collections it is no longer your responsibility to pay because the lender basically sold your debt to a collector. Don’t believe me look it up. Best way to get credit up is disputing and secured credit cards from your bank if approved my credit score went from TU 560 EQ 528 Creditwise 514 to 740 738 and 750 within a year my credit was bad real bad I was unaware how credit worked when I was young and now that I know I want to pass it on contact me for advice no charge I just want to help you seriously just advice no gimmicks. Just a guy on the couch watching game of thrones have a good day and dispute those collections. All of them and when it asks why the dispute click on the one that says no longer liable for this account

 
Apr 03, 2019
Pleasantly surprised
rdongoodman Cardholder

CK scores: Transunion 752, Equifax 762 with Creditwise 760. Aprroved within days for 20,500 limit

more ...
Apr 02, 2019
Approved TU686/EQ 690/EXP710(Prev. 690)
RusslinJimmies Cardholder

Just got approved for $9,000. My Scores weren't the best Transunion 686 Equifax 690 and I enrolled in experians free trial for one month to get my experian score (690). Anyhow, I noticed on my experian credit report it went up to 710 today, and my credit karma scores for my equifax and transunion were still 686 and 690. I did the free annual credit report and paid 10$ for my transunion one I think? for the score which was 740!!! My guess was that credit karma just hadn't updated it yet. Anyhow I called Chase customer service, and they offer free expediting on any of their Sapphire cards, so they will be expediting it to a 2-3 day lead. I'm just happy Credit Karma helped me manage my bad credit and turn it into something good. Hope this helps everyone! Good luck happy hunting!

more ...
Apr 01, 2019
SUPER Great Card...!!!
KasichPitBuLL Cardholder

Nice SL, $18,7000... Ez $500. after I spent $4k... Heavy card... Feels Great..!! Nice deep color Blue...!! Account numbers are on the back side....!!! I have 3 Chase cards, This one, FU, and regular Freedom!!! Go for it and get it...!!!! :o)

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Apr 06, 2019

Btw CK scores were, 780--TU, 795--EQ, & EX FICO model 9--792... !!!

 
Mar 29, 2019
High limit card
Imkahlon Cardholder

Applied for this card online with 771/770/756 score, took 4 days for approval. It just showed up on chase app, no welcome or confirmation notification. But still I am happy because I got approved for $17000. 

more ...
Mar 24, 2019
With just a 590 they approved me!!
Barnabee18 Cardholder

They approved me for $5000 with only a 590! Others would not give me that much!

more ...
Apr 01, 2019

bull****. Their not approving a 590 credit score.

 
Apr 06, 2019

I agree that is total bull

 
Apr 07, 2019

It said i had fair approval odds, i have 100% payment history and a decent job only reason I have a 590 is I max out my other cards of $750 and $500. Not lying

 
Mar 18, 2019
Excellent card
bhfowler88 Cardholder

CK had approval odds at fair, decided to apply anyway and was instantly approved for $5100. CK scores were 625 and 629. They sent FICO credit score with my card and it showed 668. Great card, great cl and online application and instant decision were so fast and easy! Highly recommend. 

more ...
Feb 27, 2019
Finally Got It!
TheRealJM12 Cardholder

If you’re reading this review you’re like me. Doing your research to see if you should apply yet. This card was always the goal when I started my credit journey back in 2014 after I graduated college. Applied for it once before back in 2017 and was denied. Had a Sam’s club mastercard and Chase Slate at the time both with $4,000 limits. Been working on my credit since. Had gotten the Chase Freedom Unlimited with a $6,000. Bought an engagement ring through financing with Kay’s Credit Card and got some experience with an Auto loan also through chase. Well finally the time came that I thought it was time to apply for the Sapphire Card again. It took me about a month of research to decide between the CSP and CSR. I had CK scores of 753/752 and FICO of 744/743/744 and an income of $100,000. I just couldn’t justify spending an extra $2,000 per year just to break even on the CSR so I decided to do the Preferred I figured I could earn the bonus and have no fee the first year. Then i could always upgrade after year one to the CSR. I was pre-approved through my chase app so I went ahead with the app. Since I was a chase member already it didn’t ask me for much other than phone number and salary. I figure this is because they see my history and banking. They pulled TransUnion and Experian. I was approved within 30 seconds with a $12,500 limit. Called to have card expedited. 

more ...
Feb 25, 2019
Good Rewards for Travel
kodas21 Cardholder

I havent used this card yet, but the rewards bonus and there after seem good. You do have to spend $4000 to get the sign up bonus, which is alot compared to my Delta AMEX cards which only required $1000. However you do get the first year fee waved, which is nice. I got approved with a 670 scredit score.

more ...
Feb 26, 2019

What’s your CL?

 
Apr 03, 2019

If you need to accomplish the $4000 near the end of your 120 days you can Venmo a friend or relative the difference in what you would still need to achieve for just a 3% fee.

 
Feb 23, 2019
LIFE CHANGER. SUPRSED TO SAY THE LEAST!
Jfcolbert Cardholder

IF YOU BEEN ON THE FENCE ABOUT APPLYING FOR THIS CARD DO IT NOW!!! I started with a capitol one card for $300 last year, i had no credit score. A year later with paying my payments on time my credit score is at 667 transuinion, and 677 eqifax. I just applied for thos card today becausey capitol one card only gave me a $200 increase after haviing it for a year, and i wanted a card with a higher credit line. I applied for this card today was instantly approved for a $10,000 credit line. I couldnt believe it blew my mind back and change my life instantly now. I called and ask to speed up the card delivery today like other people did, and they said no problem your card will arrive in 2 business days. Thank GOD.

more ...
Mar 05, 2019

Congratulations

 
Mar 11, 2019

way to go!!

 
Mar 14, 2019

How much income ?

 
Feb 14, 2019
High credit limit
Maybe245 Cardholder

I applied for this card mainly because I needed something with a high credit limit to help my credit score. I applied with a 716/712 (TransUnion & Equifax) according to Ck. Ck said my approval odds where “good” so I decided to jump the gun and apply. I received an email stating that an answer will be sent to me in 7-10 business days. Then I found that by reading some more reviews that you can call and ask for your application to be processed faster. I told them that I was going on a trip and I needed it quickly. Put me on hold for 5 minutes and I was told I was approved for $7,200$!!! I was shocked on how high the initial limit was. So far I’m happy with the card. The 95$ annual fee does not bother too much. But I highly recommend it if you need a high limit. I know I won’t be spending that much money on a credit card anyways. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Mar 22, 2019

Same here. I use CC exclusively and pay off every month but sometimes the reporting agencies happen to catch the high balances and it affects my FICO score due to the balance to limit ratio and above 30% usage (even tho I pay off every month, or majority anyways)

So, applying for this card yesterday and I was approved for a nice 5 figure limit. That should stop my FICO from dropping because I'm sure now my usage will always be way under the 30%.

Thank you Chase Sapphire!

 
Jan 23, 2019
Stellar Card
HariKariGirl Cardholder

Application process was instant and SL was great at $29,500.  First Chase card I got with under 4 years age on my oldest credit card and AAOL at 2 years.  Happy they took a chance with me.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Feb 13, 2019

Congrats!! What were your scores when you applied and do you bank with chase? I’m hoping this will be my first card too.

 
Jan 17, 2019
mcgriffmark Cardholder

I was approved for $17,500 with a 680 credit score across the board. So far I am very impressed with this card

more ...
Feb 05, 2019

did you apply through ck or chase directly??

 
Feb 15, 2019

I just applied through CK with the same credit scores and was instantly denied. Starting to wonder how many of the reviews are real. Especially when poor scores are getting high credit limits.
I already have 2 Chase cards and have never been late or missed a payment.

 
Feb 18, 2019

I also applied for this card with a 680 score and it said they needed time to review, which probably means I was also denied. When I get a better credit score can I apply again, do you know?

 
Feb 19, 2019

Kcarrl, Based off other reviews I'd give it a few days from when you applied to get a final decision from chase and if you still don't have an answer try calling the chase reconsideration line maybe they just need to verify some info. You can always apply later with better scores just know that I'll be another hard pull on your credit so that's something to consider.

 
Mar 23, 2019

I applied through Chase app this morning. I have checking, mortgage, Slate, Freedom Unltd and Amazon Prime. 641 score on CK, 680 Experian. After about a minute instantly approved $11,100. Called to expedite and said no problem.

 
Jan 16, 2019
Very happy customer
tnwamkpa Cardholder

I applied for this card & wasn't immediately approved, but got an approval letter in the mail soon after. I was approved for a $20,000 credit limit with $65K income, 823 credit score, and no debt. I haven't used any of the perks yet, but all of the promotions where extra points were offered worked seamlessly. Agents were always helpful when I called. After a year I was able to upgrade to the Sapphire Reserve, so I no longer own the card. But the 50K point sign up bonus I recieved, plus the points I racked up over the year were enough to buy a round trip ticket to Morocco plus a hotel stay in Paris and still have some points left. I'm very happy I signed up for this card.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Mar 14, 2019

How long was your wait for the approval letter to arrive in the mail? My application is under review right now and I’ve called to see if they can speed up the process of approval but was told they don’t expedite the approval process. I’ve read other reviews with people calling and getting it done so this automatically has me thinking I get declined. I guess I’ll have to wait and see.

 
Jan 16, 2019
Great card with fast approval
Dukeblue2015 Cardholder

I was approved just about a week ago, for over $6000 instantly in about 45 seconds.
The funny part is that CK has my odds as poor. LoL.
My scores are around 680 ish.
The same thing happened to me with another bank that CK is still showing as having a poor chance of being approved.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Feb 04, 2019

When you applied for the card, did you do it trough CK and what income number you have submitted and lastly what was your credit / debt ratio?
Thanks

 
Jan 11, 2019
BEWAREPoints are virtually worthless now
ouellette210 Cardholder

Don't let all these recent phoney reviews from low level Chase people cover the fact these traval points are now as worthless as bottle caps for Travel. You are now forced to book through Expedia were you will find greatly inflated prices for for very inconvient flight dates. Don't be fooled, this card is now garbage! I've stopped using it and won't be renewing it when the next $95 fee comes up/

more ...
Jan 12, 2019

No they’re still quite valuable when transferred to travel partners. By the way, I noticed you exclusively post negative reviews. Are there any credit-related products you do like?

 
Jan 17, 2019

Looks like he’s just mad at the world. Definitely has some issues.

 
Feb 27, 2019

atonpitbull and Rwt5691 CAN'T either one of you accept public criticism without being critical yourselves? Seems like both of you are truly mad at the World. This platform is created exclusively to allow any consumer to share their own experiences, and both of you need to refocus your hate on You-tube or Craigslist.

 
Feb 28, 2019

Right. All this coming from a person who gives everything negative one-star reviews. Yikes!

 
Mar 01, 2019

Worry about yourself idiot

 
Mar 10, 2019

Maybe his accounts keep getting cancelled because of abuse of cardholder agreements?

 
Jan 10, 2019
Motivated75 Cardholder

I Just got approved for this card and the Chase SW rapid rewards card both with $13,600 initial credit limits, the application process and approval process literally took seconds.  I have seen nothing but rave reviews on these two after researching for two months.  My cK scores are TR 688 and EQ 694, i've been working on my scores for the last year.  My experian fico score is 701.  All were around 550 a year ago.  Also, just closed on a $300,000 VA mortgage so it makes me a first time home owner as well.  I look forward to using these cards responsibly and fully taking advantage of the rewards they have to offer.  

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 31, 2019

What’s your score the 688 when applying? Or it is now? What was it when you applied?

 
Jan 10, 2019
Must have in your wallet
blove94 Cardholder

Great card for travel and day to day spending. Looking foward to upgrading to the Reserve after a year.

more ...
Jan 10, 2019
I love this card.
Marcelor86 Cardholder

I applied with a 680 (on credit Karma) and got approved for $9k. It's helped build my credit along w/ my new mortgage. The 50,000 points bonus is amazing, it's basically $600  towards a plane ticket. 

more ...
Dec 26, 2018
Instantly approved - easy application
charcharbeanz Cardholder

I haven't used this one yet, but was instantly approved. I have been building my credit for the last 4-5 years and have a score of about 680. (Always pay on time, all accounts in very good standing, mostly student loans and car loan). Was looking for something to use when traveling/ to get points to use toward travel and this seemed to be the best option for what I was looking for. Several friends also have this card and said good things. Was nervous about getting approved, but CK said I had very good odds, so I went for it. Was instantly approved for $5,200 line of credit. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 08, 2019

It say I got a fair chance to get approve credit low 600 all on time payment 3 inquiries

 
Dec 25, 2018
Horrible Customer Service
cclusetti Cardholder

I've had a sapphire preferred for 8 months and tried to upgrade to a sapphire reserved. Even thou I have a checking account and mortgage with Chase, they said I had to wait a year and that those are "all different products" so it doesn't matter. They do nothing to put loyal customers first. Pathetic. I plan to move my mortgage to a different bank as soon as interest rates are more favourable due to their poor customer experience.

more ...
Dec 27, 2018

It's federal law that you can't product change within 1 year of opening the account.

 
Dec 29, 2018

I'm sure they had their reasons, just having accounts with them doesn't entitle you to anything. Don't be spoiled, be patient, I'm sure your credit is better than mine, but I got the card, and I only have checking with them. No direct deposits, but lots of transfers in.

They have credit card rules that others don't, just getting the preferred was awesome. They also want you to use it the way it was designed. Didn't know the 1 year rule was law though.

 
Dec 29, 2018

Part of that federal law doesn’t allow banks to raise or lower your annual fee within the first year. This is why you can’t upgrade to the reserve or downgrade to a Freedom or Freedom Unlimited card. Once you’ve had it open more than a year, call them. They’ll switch it to any Ultimate Rewards card you want.

 
Feb 26, 2019

Interest rates have been VERY favorable for the last 8 years or so. They are moving. ...moving up. No offense but the fact you don't know that interest rates have been all time lows for quite awhile a rising, makes me question this negative review.

 
Feb 28, 2019

Is good that you weren’t able to upgrade, if you upgrade you will miss the chance to get the sign up bonus for the CSR

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 1,304
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 

Chase Sapphire Preferred® Card

95 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i