Chase Sapphire Preferred® Card Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.4 out of 5 stars
98 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Mar 18, 2019
Excellent card
bhfowler88 Cardholder

CK had approval odds at fair, decided to apply anyway and was instantly approved for $5100. CK scores were 625 and 629. They sent FICO credit score with my card and it showed 668. Great card, great cl and online application and instant decision were so fast and easy! Highly recommend. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

May 01, 2019
Decent Card. Beware of Chase though.
smonkey12 Cardholder

This was one of my first cards as an adult. I had it for a good 6 years or so with a 20k limit. I used it pretty regularly for awhile but then moved to a different card and carried a zero balance on this one. One day Credit Karma tells me that one of my accounts had been closed. I figured out it was this credit card. I called Chase to see why in the world they just cancelled my card for no reason. I was told it was becasue of inactivity even with a 95 dollar annual fee. They would not reopen the account for me. They said I could reapply.. WOOHOO. thanks! This cancellation had a relatively significant effect on my score with this being one of my oldest cards, not to mention the 20k reduction in available credit. The fact that they wouldn't reopen the account which was in perfectly good standing, and the fact that they "notified" me they were closing it by sending another piece of junk mail really left a bad taste in my mouth. I'll never open another Chase card again.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jun 14, 2019
lenygorine Cardholder

672 TU 619 EQ 623 EX (with 2 collection on EX EQ) and no other chase accounts. Only other card is secured $300 via Wells Fargo and received an instant approval for $8600. Credit Karma listed approval odds as “Good”, not sure why as my credit is trash. Called to have it expediated 2 business days. Good stuff. Just apply.

more ...
Jun 07, 2019
Great card, great rewards, no BS
seabeard Cardholder

Got approved for $5k at a 670 average.  Had the card to years and received two limit bumps and my limit is $28,000 now and scores in the low 700s.  Cash back is great, and always buys random dinners.  I recommend for anyone moving up from a "starter card" and into a real bank with real credit opportunities.

I liked it so much I got a Chase Freedom card shortly after I got this one.  Great stuff.

more ...
Jun 06, 2019
Beware of being approved!
Cantbeat24 Cardholder

I applied and got approved for $6300 credit limit. Got the card in the mail, activated it. Got some more brochures a few days later. Before I even used the card, they closed the account. What? Then got an email saying that I had too many inquiries. I only have 3 and 1 was theirs. The other 2 were from a year ago. Will never do business with Chase in fear of them closing the account and being denied at the register.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jun 13, 2019

I applied for a card because on credit karma that had an offer for 0 percent interest for 15 months on a balance transfer. Then after I got a approved, it read differently. Somehow, the application process got messed up and I was approved for this card instead. I would never apply for this card because it doesn’t offer balance transfers and there’s a $95 annual fee. The card I applied for had no annual fee. The customer service is disgusting. They are condescending and they insist it’s your mistake. I spoke to two supervisors, Uvia and Matthew and they were disgraceful.

 
Jun 05, 2019

First let me say, I received this card today so a full review is not yet possible. So far I'm impressed. The design (metal card) nice texture, and cool blue color. Now to the stuff people actually care about. My income 72k / yr, CK scores 642 TU, 646 EQ, fair approval odds before applying. CK shows EQ account was pulled. Instantly approved for $6200 CL sweet. Approval email confirmed card will be mailed 7-10 days. However called Chase to rush card. Received in 2 business days. I must say, I'm disappointed with CapOne and Discover. I currently have the Quick Silver, Quick Silver One, and Discover Secured CC's. CL limits are $600, $1250, and $300. I've had Quick Silver for 3 years and have NEVER missed a payment. The other 2 I've had about 16 months and NEVER missed payments on each. Carryover balances are below 29% or no balance each month but received very small credit increases or in Discover's case no increase nor graduated to unsecured card. Even though I've called them at least 5 times for this. Next call to Discover will be to cancel card and send my deposit back. If you're stuck in one of these type cards it may be time to move on even with just "Fair" approval odds. I hope this review has helped someone because reviews have helped me. Keep them coming.

more ...
Jun 04, 2019
Excited to use
PNW72828278 Cardholder

Credit karma gave me a fair chance at being approved with a 684 Experian, 675 TransUnion and I dropped my utilization to like 1% in order to get a boost to apply for this. I was accepted after a week waiting, with a CL of 5300, which, while on the low side, I’m surprised I got approved at all! Can’t wait to start utilizing travel rewards. 

more ...
Jun 03, 2019
Excellent card
Dalzak Cardholder

I have had this card for a year now and can’t be happier I use it as A Main card for my expenses , and I have almost a thousand dollars in rewards. 

the application is smooth , the did ask to confirm my SS but things went through fast after that 

approved for a decent credit line 

totally worth it

more ...
Jun 03, 2019
Just Got Approved!!!!!!!
JackRyan437 Cardholder

Just got approved for this card with a 17,000 CL. My scores were 750 EU  775 TU  758 EXP. I'm excited to start my journey with Travel Reward cards. If you apply for this card remember JP Morgan Chase has that 5/24 rule. This means if you have opened 5 or more accounts (from any Credit card company) in the last 24 months, Chase will AUTOMATICALLY DENY YOU, PERIOD! Don't waste a hard inquiry if you don't meet the 5/24 rule!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jun 16, 2019

It don’t necessarily applies to everyone there is some that can get around the 5/24 rule .. well qualified ones

 
May 28, 2019
Horrible customer service
Larryly45 Cardholder

Got my card and the first purchase 849 insurance payment. Chase decided to freeze my card. After I pay the card in full. No call back to let me know about it. Had to find out from my insurance company. What a joke. Now waiting for the 849 refund from mail 10-16 days. Thank god I don’t really need it. Customer service is terrible. Going to try another company. Chase is black listed. Will never use any of its products again 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jun 13, 2019

So true!
I applied for a card because on credit karma that had an offer for 0 percent interest for 15 months on a balance transfer. Then after I got a approved, it read differently. Somehow, the application process got messed up and I was approved for this card instead. I would never apply for this card because it doesn’t offer balance transfers and there’s a $95 annual fee. The card I applied for had no annual fee. The customer service is disgusting. They are condescending and they insist it’s your mistake. I spoke to two supervisors, Uvia and Matthew and they were disgraceful.

 
May 25, 2019
hathcock90 Cardholder

640 credit score on all 3. utilization around 30% on report, no negative marks. 10k limit. Instant approval. 

more ...
May 31, 2019

Can you tell us the other credit card you have and salary ? That plays a huge part for approval.

 
Jun 01, 2019

What bureau did they pull from ?

 
May 25, 2019
My credit score was-only 640
Idina1 Cardholder

I applied while I was bitting my nails lol, and turns out I got approved !! Chase never approves me of anything! But I guess my luck changed!!! It’s a reward card used for traveling, but you still get point on any other purchases. This card can in handy. Thanks chase

more ...
May 14, 2019
Be careful! Rewards is with Third Party.
HuaMengLi Cardholder

According to a Chase representative, Chase Travel is handled by a third party. "Chase Travel is not really Chase" - Chase representative. They do not accept and correct their mistakes, instead they push the responsibility onto others. I lost over $2000 because of Chase. I booked 2 round-trip tickets through Chase Travel. There were issues with my flight, so I called Chase Travel for a solution. The representative offered and cancelled my entire flight and said that I have airline credit for those 2 tickets. Chase Travel sent me a "Cancelled Flight Credit Voucher" containing my airline credit amount, confirmation code, and itinerary number. However, when I tried to book, I could not use those credits. From then on, I spent 5 additional days in another country and over 200USD worth in phone bills from calling Chase. The following are the outcomes/responses/actions that occurred during those 20+ hours of phone calls: Chase would tell me that my airline credit is with the airline, therefore I need to book directly through the airline. I called to book with the airline, but they told me that they had no record of my credit and that these credits should be handled by the third party (Chase Travel). I called Chase back, Chase calls the airline, and the result is that my credit wasn’t approved (?) even though I received an official email voucher. I tell Chase it was their decision to cancel my flight (my party asked for the best solution to the missed flight and this was what Chase provided) so the responsibility should be on them. Chase tells me they need to check their recordings and investigate the situation, I tell them to call me back when the investigation is done, they never call me back. I called a couple more times to look for an immediate solution and one representative said they can fly me home the next day for a flight costing 2000 - 4000USD. I hung up and called again, a different representative said there is no flight until 3 weeks later. I hung up and booked a separate flight home by myself and went to a Chase Branch for assistance. I was informed there is nothing they could do except to make a call to Chase Travel and file for Chase Escalations. So we called Chase Travel for 2+ hours at the office and was told that I had made a call to them on a date that I did not. Then, I was told that the airline credit should have been refunded. When I said it was not, the representative said it is in the process of being refunded. I told her to give me information to check on that, so she said she will contact the ticketing department and put me on hold. I asked her to call me back when she has the confirmation about the refund, but she never did. The escalation was then filed, but it was the same exact thing that had been happening over my 20+ hours of phone call - they told me to contact the airline. I called the airline again because Chase Escalation’s representative was giving me attitude for not checking again, but the result was the same – the airline had no record. I called Chase Escalation to give them the update and now they are ignoring my calls. Before the escalations, there was also no record of my case. I had asked about call-back numbers, case numbers, names, but Chase would tell me there is none of that. I cannot contact them to follow-up. It has been over a month and this issue is still unsolved. Chase is great if there are no issues, but if there is… good luck.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
May 28, 2019

Document everything and get the information for their legal department and inform them that you intend on filing a lawsuit. Trust me, that will light a fire under them and will get your problems resolved. If that fails follow through with the lawsuit. You will DEFINITELY win!!

 
May 14, 2019
BETTER THAN AMERICAN EXPRESS!
Amber33333 Cardholder

GREAT CUSTOMER service, they gave me an amazing line of credit, I am very happy with this card and I had to call customer service twice so far and both assisted me in taking care of my issues. Very pleasant and the card application process takes less than 3-4 minutes.

more ...
May 02, 2019
Nice Rewards, Good Service
Appleslauce Cardholder

The card has decent point returns, which can be used for cashback, air miles, and various other things like gift cards.  The no foreign transaction fee is a huge bonus for someone looking to travel/live abroad.  I personally found the service from the card to be excellent; I once lost my wallet and found it but cancelled my cards just to be certain.  When calling the line for help, they were very courteous, understanding, and laughed at my jokes.  They changed the card for me for no problem and I recieved a replacement in the mail very quickly!

more ...
May 01, 2019
Decent Card. Beware of Chase though.
smonkey12 Cardholder

This was one of my first cards as an adult. I had it for a good 6 years or so with a 20k limit. I used it pretty regularly for awhile but then moved to a different card and carried a zero balance on this one. One day Credit Karma tells me that one of my accounts had been closed. I figured out it was this credit card. I called Chase to see why in the world they just cancelled my card for no reason. I was told it was becasue of inactivity even with a 95 dollar annual fee. They would not reopen the account for me. They said I could reapply.. WOOHOO. thanks! This cancellation had a relatively significant effect on my score with this being one of my oldest cards, not to mention the 20k reduction in available credit. The fact that they wouldn't reopen the account which was in perfectly good standing, and the fact that they "notified" me they were closing it by sending another piece of junk mail really left a bad taste in my mouth. I'll never open another Chase card again.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
May 05, 2019

You should know that you have to occasionally use a credit card to keep the account open. Even buying a coffee would keep it open. Not Chase fault it is your own fault

 
Apr 26, 2019
No problems
mrss1987 Cardholder

I had high approval odds from CK. I applied and was approved for 9k CL. I have a CC with Chase already

more ...
Apr 25, 2019
Used in Europe, Chile, and Middle East
mjadams5 Cardholder

Great card, works everywhere I go, 2x points for travel and dining, so a very convenient travel card.  I have 135,000 points, I've never used them.  Planning a trip to Chile this summer, will use them then.

This is not a good card to run a balance on, if you need that search for a lower APR and no annual fee (this one is $95).  In summary I give this card high marks if you are actually going to use it for travel. 

Chase website is also fine and easy to use, once established there, no need for paper billing.  I get all reminders and alerts sent to my phone.  It is 2019. 

more ...
Apr 21, 2019
Great first premium card
glinchi Cardholder

This is the one card I wanted to have, and now, I do. Feels good to know what's behind this card, a solid bank and all the insurances it provides for the holder, Has a great concierge service for Sapphire customers that is prompt and efficient, and once you pair it with services like lifelock, it's a winning combination. 

Just learned that you don't have to do all the online shopping thru the rewards portal, but, why not? they make it very competitive and have almost everything, from plane tickets to amazon to special events for card holders. get it, shop with it, respect it, enjoy it and watch all the rewards pile up that will bring happiness to you once you know how to use them.

more ...
Apr 21, 2019
Chase is very forgiving
wlstiger Cardholder

I had a freedom unlimited and ran into a financial bind (credit score 580 at that time) for a few years only making minimum payments and missed two payments with the freedom card and they clsoed it still owing 2k. Been workig on paying it off over the past few years and other debts, and a loan that went to collections. Long story short I paid off the balance on my old chase card last year and opened up a Costco Citi card with a good limit. Did my research on how to rebuild my credit, boosted up to over 700. I applied for this thinking I am not going to get approved after saying I need more verification. Looked a few days later on my Chase checking account and boom, I got a CSP account. From what I hear they for the most part do not contact you if you get approved. I called to verify and they said welcome to csp, I asked to expidite my for and got it 2 days later so I can get teh bounus point so I can have a decent/free honeymoon next year!! Thank you Chase for another chance

more ...
Apr 18, 2019
Go for it!
hengle95 Cardholder

Just got approved with a CL of $6,600 with scores between 680-685 across the board. 24 yr old with 60k income and remaining student loans. I say if your in a similar situation go for it you wont be dissapointed!

more ...
Apr 12, 2019
Feel cool owning it.
Sambd Cardholder

Approved with a very modest CL of $5000. I have a very thin credit profile and 700 ish score. 70k income. Welcome bonus was great and the rewards seem really cool. The card itself is beautiful. Heavy and metal. Love the deep blue color. If I was given a limit as high as on my Amex card this would be my everyday spender. Highly recommend.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
May 11, 2019

My Hilton AMEX pays 5x per dollar for dining, versus CSP's 2x per dollar, but use my CSP card for everything else.

 
Apr 10, 2019
Happy So Far!
Lauren578 Cardholder

Wasn’t sure about getting approved for this card while I am rebuilding my credit.  I have a lot of student loans but minimal other debt.  Scores just under 700 and was approved with a limit of $5,000.  I didn’t get an instant approval and I had to call twice to get the approval.  I say go for it! 

more ...
Apr 17, 2019

What number did you call?

 
May 15, 2019

I am interested in this card, what you mean you needed to call twice? I tho ig you dont get approved instant, its like permanent.

 
Apr 08, 2019
Nice initial SL. First time with Chase
FriscoCally Cardholder

CK said I had very good odds of approval. Did some simuation and with a new credit card and line of 10k or more it said my score would increase 66 points.  So after reading the reviews on this one I did it.  Didnt get immediate approval so I called the 1800 number to check 4 days after. Automated response said I was approved but I had to get a operator to tell me my SL. It was $14,800  Nice SL for someone who has no affiliation wih Chase besides this card. I also asjked the operator to expedite the card and they did.   MY CK scores were 688 673 and experian is 710 at time of application and I make 200k plus a yr. Hope this helps someone with a little insight to the approval process. This card gave me a 50-70 score bump across all bureaus. So my scores are I now between 733-760 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 1,304
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations
 

Chase Sapphire Preferred® Card

98 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i