Chase Sapphire Preferred® Card Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Chase Sapphire Preferred® Card Reviews
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.3 out of 5 stars
91 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 17.74% - 24.74%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $95
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 17.74% - 24.74%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Sep 16, 2019
djmatthews72 Cardholder

I have worked on my credit for the last 7 years.  Tonight was the culmination of that work.  Over the last week, I have been researching cards and wondering which to apply for.  I have several cards now with starter limits (no more than $2600).  Up late, I decided to apply for NFCU Amex.  Boom was approved for $15k.  So I said what the heck, I will apply for the Chase Sapphire Preferred (TPG suggested this card over Reserve b/c of bonus).  Again, success.  I was approved for $7k.  This may not seem like a big deal to some, but for me.....this is a huge win.  My scores have been climbing steadily and now this should put me in the upper 700s.  To anyone out there working hard to improve your credit profile, keep working.  It will pay off.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

May 01, 2019
Decent Card. Beware of Chase though.
smonkey12 Cardholder

This was one of my first cards as an adult. I had it for a good 6 years or so with a 20k limit. I used it pretty regularly for awhile but then moved to a different card and carried a zero balance on this one. One day Credit Karma tells me that one of my accounts had been closed. I figured out it was this credit card. I called Chase to see why in the world they just cancelled my card for no reason. I was told it was becasue of inactivity even with a 95 dollar annual fee. They would not reopen the account for me. They said I could reapply.. WOOHOO. thanks! This cancellation had a relatively significant effect on my score with this being one of my oldest cards, not to mention the 20k reduction in available credit. The fact that they wouldn't reopen the account which was in perfectly good standing, and the fact that they "notified" me they were closing it by sending another piece of junk mail really left a bad taste in my mouth. I'll never open another Chase card again.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Nov 12, 2019
Enjoying it!
MrDebonair1914 Cardholder

I have owned this card for 3 months now and have enjoyed stacking the points to use for traveling for our honeymoon. I racked up the 60,000 points pretty quick and today without request or notification I received a automatic credit line increase. Lastly, the website and app are very user friendly when it comes to making payments, making purchases with stores to collect 2x-5x the points and setting travel notifications without contacting customer service. 

more ...
Nov 16, 2019

what do you have to spend to accumulate 60K points? sounds like a lot.

 
Nov 17, 2019

Spend $4,000 in 3 months to receive 60K.

 
Nov 07, 2019
Buenos puntos!
Neltez Cardholder

Buenas recompensas, ofertas, fácil de acumular puntos y millas. Me ayudó a subir mi puntaje crediticio. Fácil uso de la aplicación, para hacer pagos y verificar transacciones. 

more ...
Nov 07, 2019
Worst card ever!
Nikked2000 Cardholder

Applied for this card... got approved for this card. Started using the card. Then all off a sudden wake up one morning and they closed my account!! NO WARNING.. NO EMAIL..NO TEXT..NO NOTICE.
reason?
We saw delinquency in your past credit history????!!!
What the hell?
I am so glad that I was not overseas or on vacation and relied on this credit card.

more ...
Nov 15, 2019

they just did this crap to me, applied on nov 6 for sapphire preferred got approved 2 days later they called and said approved for 10,500. waited for card, and got it today to find out it was canceled in transit. what the heck??? I can easily apply for tons of credit and have this bank is a joke....

 
Nov 18, 2019

Same happened to me. *******s

 
Oct 27, 2019
Beware of the fine print fees
Ragsley Cardholder

Unlike other cards, Chase uses cash advance to pull their interest charges.  This pushes the overall cost of this card to an exorbitant level.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Oct 30, 2019

Most credit cards have very unfavorable terms for cash advances, and I believe most people would advise never to do that unless there's some dire emergency. Also most of the "Rewards" type cards have terrible interest rates, and the only *correct* (from the customer's point of view) way to use these cards is to *never ever* carry a balance. As much as I love these rewards type cards, I also think of them as potential financial hand-grenades: don't pull the pin! :-)

 
Oct 25, 2019
Go to card
AIRONEONONE Cardholder

Applied and this card has become our go to card for most of our purchases. We easily made the 60,000 point bonus in a month and redeemed to cash which was also a breeze. I love how it comes up in my bank account and my digital wallet. It may be strange but the feel makes it seem like a luxury item. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 11, 2019

Do you know which bureau they pulled from with this card?

 
Oct 24, 2019
Great Travel Rewards Card
SRH91 Cardholder

I have no complaints about this card. I am not a huge spender, but I still rack up thousands of dollars of travel rewards within a calendar year. The yearly fee of $95, at least to me, is very worth it to have this card. I have used this card now for a few years. If you're considering it, I would highly recommend you apply!

more ...
Oct 20, 2019
Terrible!
Tracyco66 Cardholder

Chase promo said “spend 4000 before November and you’ll get 60000 points.” I had 230 more left to get the bonus and Chase closed the account because I spent too much toward my limit. Avoid this catch 22!!

more ...
Oct 29, 2019

What was your credit limit on this account?

 
Nov 17, 2019

That makes absolutely no sense. Regardless of credit limit, people max out their cards all the time. As long as you make you monthly min payments, you should be fine well at least in theory

 
Oct 16, 2019
Greta Card BUT
theceller Cardholder

Was great card "BUT" ( CHASE) Closed account  1 week after getting Card . Said Reason was to many Credit Inquireies .. LOL  Was using for 60,000 point bonus , Also added Auyhoised User Chase Cancelled Card " No Waring " No Mail"  "No Nothing " Also Cancled all Chase accounts I have had for over 15 Years .. Will Never Use CHASE again !! Very Unprofessional , In My Opinion !!

more ...
Oct 17, 2019

I would focus on going back go school. I wouldn't approve you if you structured your sentences with all caps like a title and had so many grammar mistakes.

 
Nov 07, 2019

Same happened to me. This card is total BS

 
Nov 15, 2019

they just did it to me approved me for 10k and then card arrived it was already canceled, even though they ran my credit 3 times before mailing.... nothing wrong with my credit, have good amounts of cards good limits and standing.....they are such a joke,

 
Oct 14, 2019
Good rewards
LM00 Cardholder

Credit Karma showed this as "fair approval odds for me" but I applied and approved instantly with a $5100 credit limit. My score before I applied was TU- 548 and Equifax - 549.  My scores on CK immediately jumped up to 581, so maybe they just hadn't been updated. When I got my welcome letter with the card, it showed my Fico score as 666.  Crossing my fingers this helps my score go up in the next few months.

more ...
Oct 14, 2019

EDIT: my Fico score was 566 (not 666- don't know how to edit my review)

 
Oct 14, 2019

That’s crazy! Did you have any other cards with over $5000 CL? Also, what’s your annual income?

 
Oct 15, 2019

No, I don't. Annual income is $75k

 
Oct 15, 2019

That’s awesome! Congrats! What’s your credit history? As in how long?

 
Oct 14, 2019
Really good starter travel card.
Jack311G Cardholder

I enjoyed how easy combining my points are and the ease of use the travel portal is.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 02, 2019

Starter card there isn't really any better that aren't similar so are all visa signature cards starter's to you

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 1,304
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 
Chase Sapphire Preferred® Card Reviews

Chase Sapphire Preferred® Card

91 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i