Chase Sapphire Preferred® Card Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Chase Sapphire Preferred® Card Reviews
4.3 out of 5 stars
93 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 17.49% - 24.49%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $95
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 17.49% - 24.49%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Sep 16, 2019
djmatthews72 Cardholder

I have worked on my credit for the last 7 years.  Tonight was the culmination of that work.  Over the last week, I have been researching cards and wondering which to apply for.  I have several cards now with starter limits (no more than $2600).  Up late, I decided to apply for NFCU Amex.  Boom was approved for $15k.  So I said what the heck, I will apply for the Chase Sapphire Preferred (TPG suggested this card over Reserve b/c of bonus).  Again, success.  I was approved for $7k.  This may not seem like a big deal to some, but for me.....this is a huge win.  My scores have been climbing steadily and now this should put me in the upper 700s.  To anyone out there working hard to improve your credit profile, keep working.  It will pay off.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

May 01, 2019
Decent Card. Beware of Chase though.
smonkey12 Cardholder

This was one of my first cards as an adult. I had it for a good 6 years or so with a 20k limit. I used it pretty regularly for awhile but then moved to a different card and carried a zero balance on this one. One day Credit Karma tells me that one of my accounts had been closed. I figured out it was this credit card. I called Chase to see why in the world they just cancelled my card for no reason. I was told it was becasue of inactivity even with a 95 dollar annual fee. They would not reopen the account for me. They said I could reapply.. WOOHOO. thanks! This cancellation had a relatively significant effect on my score with this being one of my oldest cards, not to mention the 20k reduction in available credit. The fact that they wouldn't reopen the account which was in perfectly good standing, and the fact that they "notified" me they were closing it by sending another piece of junk mail really left a bad taste in my mouth. I'll never open another Chase card again.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Feb 21, 2020
Great card, great rewards
CarlesMR Cardholder

This was one of my first high rewards cards I got when I finally built my credit history enough to get approved. I finally upgraded to the Sapphire Reserve with some hesitation, but I have to thank my overall experience with the Preferred card, which allowed to touch base with the magic world of credit card rewards and how you can get free money from your purchases with a little bit of research and strategic spending.

more ...
Feb 17, 2020
Scoolidge Cardholder

I applied for this card with a score of 630. Got approved for $5000. Within 2 months, I got another $2500 increase. 2 months later, my limit is at 10000. This card is so worth having, especially if you travel and dine out! The cash back is just amazing and you will not have any issues with this card! 

more ...
Feb 18, 2020

630 Score ?

 
Feb 19, 2020

Did this card leave a hard inquiry on your credit report?

 
Feb 09, 2020
Instantly approved!
Ivan7849 Cardholder

CK odds were good and I decided to apply for it. Got instantly approved, CL $9000, score of 685 TU and annual income of 100K. I also have the Chase Freedom Unlimited. Only time will tell but I plan to get the 60k points within 3 months of 5k spending. 

more ...
Feb 11, 2020

Edit: 60k points after spending $4000 by 5/11/2020

 
Feb 12, 2020

I wish to drop a review of my credit boost techs that got me 813 credit score. Well, I hired data scientists and financial Advisor Mr. Bob Mills aka Royalblade. He cleaned up a lot of mess on my credit profile which has left my credit score uprising since Dec 2019, where it was just 622 EQ and 599 TU. Royalblade @ Protonmail com is his email.

 
Feb 13, 2020

the New fico 10 will Destroy Credit Swepted Profiles lol being able to go back on data up to 2yrs lol yall are done in the near future

 
Feb 15, 2020

TeamBeaterz sounds like he watches YouTube until his brain is fried🤣😭

 
Feb 18, 2020

I’m currently working with Royalblade to get my credit scores up after I got denied for this at 615 CS TU. Looking good so far.

 
Feb 19, 2020

Did this card leave a hard inquiry on your credit report?

 
Feb 19, 2020

Yes it does leave a hrs inquiry

 
Feb 06, 2020
Worth the annual fee
jrmn0000 Cardholder

Great benefits and initial bonus. Partnered with most of the top tier airlines (domestic & international). There is always some great deals to earn more points on travel and dining.

more ...
Feb 06, 2020
Great credit limit
Jchris99 Cardholder

I applied for the chase sapphire preferred card 3 weeks ago & was instantly approved for $12,500 credit limit. This is my highest limit as of today discover $9200, hsbc $7800, amex$11,600, chase $12,500. This is my only card with an annual fee and it's $95 but well worth it with the intro offer of spend $4000 in first 3 months and get 60,000 travel miles or redeem for cash, love the option. The card is thick & heavy steel which I love as well. You can get up to 2x points air travel on every dollar spent which helps with annual fee year after year. The application process was easy and credit karma said I had an excellent chance of approval with trans 746 equifax 689 and fico 720. No lates or missed payments ever and using under 30% of credit in total. I would highly recommend this card as long as you pay your bill monthly yo avoud high apr, otherwise perfect card

more ...
Jan 26, 2020
Useful for a lot more than credit
KobeyCanada Cardholder

The card is the first I got when I came to America from Canada. At that time there was a promotion going on and I got $750 as a welcome bonus. They give $1 on all purchases with bonuses for travel, food and gas.

They will give offers of 5-10% for purchases made at various vendors for a limited time for example 5% if you shop at Domino's or little Caesars.. or others like Walmart grocery, Amazon, under Armour, etc.

They also offer at the current time a subscription to door dash for free if you use this card as the primary.

Points can be redeemed for cash, gift cards, merchandise or travel.

I use this card as my everyday card and I'm very happy with it.

more ...
Jan 21, 2020
So Far So Good...
ddhanson Cardholder

I applied for this card on 1/20/2020 with a 772 score for both TU/EQ.  I was immiediately approved with a 26k limit.  Will update this reveiw after the 3 months/4k spending for the 60k bonus points.  I also applied through a referral process as my brother has the card and loved it, and wanted to get him the 15k bonus.  I will leave the review as a 4/5 until the bonuses have been allocated.

more ...
Jan 19, 2020
It’s my best card.
StaffyJ Cardholder

This is my 4th credit card. I was approved with a T score 695 / am E score 701 and given an $16,600 limit. I got my card in October 2019 and maybe worried too much about reaching that $4000 threshold to receive the 60k miles but with Christmas around the corner it was much easier than expected. I basically put everything on this card. I think it's important to know that you may have to verify that they assign your transactions correctly at times when you are expecting the additional points for purchases that apply. I purchased food and parking on a college campus and saw my purchase was assigned as an education purchase. Fortunately, the app allows you to quickly make that correction. Also, I had questions about how the card perks would work for me for an upcoming trip I purchased. Customer service was very polite, patient, and clear. I am having a great experience so far. 

more ...
Jan 20, 2020

How long of a credit history did you have, if you don't mind me asking? I really want to apply, but am only showing a "fair" chance of getting approved. 703/698 scores.

 
Jan 21, 2020

Mine says good approval odds and my credit is slightly lower than yours. I have a history with chase using amazon only for 3 years if that helps.

 
Jan 24, 2020

Thanks!

 
Jan 17, 2020
very good card
hassandayton Cardholder

I have a credit score of 800+ .. credit limit 21K with 100K points with in 2 years 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 1,304
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 
Chase Sapphire Preferred® Card Reviews

Chase Sapphire Preferred® Card

93 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i