Chase Sapphire Preferred® Card Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.3 out of 5 stars
95 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 18.24% - 25.24%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $95
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 18.24% - 25.24%* Variable
Collapse

4 star reviews (14) See All

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Feb 25, 2019
Good Rewards for Travel
kodas21 Cardholder

I havent used this card yet, but the rewards bonus and there after seem good. You do have to spend $4000 to get the sign up bonus, which is alot compared to my Delta AMEX cards which only required $1000. However you do get the first year fee waved, which is nice. I got approved with a 670 scredit score.

more ...
Feb 26, 2019

What’s your CL?

 
Apr 03, 2019

If you need to accomplish the $4000 near the end of your 120 days you can Venmo a friend or relative the difference in what you would still need to achieve for just a 3% fee.

 
Jan 16, 2019
Great card with fast approval
Dukeblue2015 Cardholder

I was approved just about a week ago, for over $6000 instantly in about 45 seconds.
The funny part is that CK has my odds as poor. LoL.
My scores are around 680 ish.
The same thing happened to me with another bank that CK is still showing as having a poor chance of being approved.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Feb 04, 2019

When you applied for the card, did you do it trough CK and what income number you have submitted and lastly what was your credit / debt ratio?
Thanks

 
Nov 02, 2018

I applied last night got the message we’ll contact you in 30 days. Today I called message said we’ll contact you in two weeks. At 2:30pm today got a call from Chase making sure it was me that applied I said yes I confirmed my address somehow  I put the address wrong but he said no problem after verifying my info he said......Congratulations you’ve been approved you’ll have your card in a few days. 5K cl not bad Thank you CK 

more ...
Oct 10, 2018
Should have gone with Reserve

So I have had this card for a year and I do like it for dining out and travel. However I really should have just gone straight for the Reserve card and not looked back. Now with the new Gold card from AMEX I no longer use this for dining. I also have better airfare cards (Platinum AMEX).

Once I am at month 13 I will be looking to product change this to the Reserve. It comes out only being $55 more than this a year and has better point accumulation and perks. Once I do, that will be my go-to for travel (aside from airfare and hotel). Though I will use it to book in order to cover the $300 credit.

Pairing this card (or the Reserve) with the Freedom card is perfect as you can take those 5% categories and turn them into regular Ultimate Rewards Points to transfer to airlines or do with what you want. The value bonus is great.

more ...
Sep 29, 2018
Great card for Travel....
Dmind99 Cardholder

There are better cards for everyday fun, but this card is superior for travel. Travel redemption is market leading, but for restaurants and other everyday stuff, Cap One Savor is far superior for earning power. Point to point, WF propel is pretty awesome as well. 

more ...
Sep 02, 2018
A must for any traveler!
Rox5280 Cardholder

This Card is a must for any one who travels often!  The transfer partners are fantastic, for me it was Southwest Airlines and United Airlines. What really makes this card powerful is the ultimate rewards that you can pool with other Chase cards that also earn ultimate rewards including the Chase freedom and Chase freedom unlimited. 

 I was approved for this card with a $7000 credit limit, believe my credit score at the time was low 700s. 

Keep in mind to apply for this card make sure you are under the Chase 5/24 real meaning you have not opened five credit cards with any other issue were leaving Chase over the last 24 months which you would be automatically denied for this card.

I no longer have this card as I product changed it to a normal Chase freedom card I now have three of those. The reason being I am now focusing on cash back instead of points. Since cashback is much more valuable to me as I don’t travel often.

 Yes the card is metal, it’s nice and has good weight to it. 

more ...
Aug 17, 2018
No complaints
DirtyRalph518 Cardholder

Card is partially metal so has a different feel & weight. Applied and within seconds had a 10k CL. Though I have a 805 with excellent record just closed all my cards 5 yrs ago and paid off my house 14 months ago so credit history is just over 4 yrs on paper. Interest is high but only plan on using the spending power but keep my cards under 10%

more ...
Aug 16, 2018
Great card so far!

Inching towards my new member bonus! Approved at FICO 683, TU 758, EQ 760 for $28k. 

more ...
Aug 06, 2018
Great entry into points.
JeramyCLE Cardholder

If you can afford to spend $4,000 in the first three months, the 50,000 Chase Ultimate Rewards points are a great leap into using points for travel. While the points bonus for using the Chase portal are perfectly fine, it's the ability to transfer points to airlines and hotels that makes it a fantastic starting point. Those 50,000 points can get you two round-trip Saver tickets with United, or a week and a half in a Level 1 Hyatt.

And, shallow though it might be, the weight of the metal card gives it a sense of gravitas.

That said, once you've earned the 50,000 points and learned how you like to use points generally, the value of the card shrinks quickly. There are so many cards with similar annual fees that will get you where you want to go faster. Even if you prefer the Chase program and it's flexibility, the Sapphire Reserve would be a better value with the $300 travel credit. I'll likely cancel mine when the annual fee comes due, but I DO NOT regret signing up for it.

more ...
Aug 02, 2018
Approval 1 year post 500's Fico scores!!
bmagic Cardholder

-After being approved for a Freedom and receiving my CARS score of 715, I said what the heck and applied for the Sapphire Preferred 4 days later hoping it would be from the same hard pull(it was not) But I was instantly approved for 5k! I know it's the lowest limit. But I'm a year post having ficos in the 500's! Worked hard to clean up my credit profile and made all payments on time! Chase took a chance on me TWICE and I couldn't be any happier! I'm a frequent traveler, student, and full time worker so it's benefits will come in quite handy. This was my credit goal for right now. I'm in the garden now=)

Income- 30k + parental assistance during exams and hard times(i didn't include them)

-All 3 Fico range from 672-677

-CARS: 715

-current cards are Amex Delta Gold($1K) March 2018, Capital One Quicksilver($500)April 2017, Discover IT secured($200 about to be sock drawered) May 2017, Chase Freedom($2k)July 2018, and now CHASE SAPPHIRE PREFERRED(5k)TODAY!!

- 28 late payments from student loans, last late reported May '17 now current and deferred because im a current student (7 accounts 4 months due to a misunderstading that they won't delete {NELNET}), No other derogatory marks

-Averge Age of Credit: 3yrs 3months(I've had an auto loan and multiple personal loans to build credit in the past)

-Utilization: 19%-- much lower now because of additional cards

-Inq: EX(3) TU(2) EQ(5)- experian sent me another alert today so they pulled again from them but I'm not too concered

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 1,304
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 

Chase Sapphire Preferred® Card

14 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i