Chase Sapphire Preferred® Card Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Chase Sapphire Preferred® Card Reviews
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.3 out of 5 stars
91 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 17.74% - 24.74%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $95
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 17.74% - 24.74%* Variable
Collapse

1 star reviews (13) See All

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Nov 07, 2019
Worst card ever!
Nikked2000 Cardholder

Applied for this card... got approved for this card. Started using the card. Then all off a sudden wake up one morning and they closed my account!! NO WARNING.. NO EMAIL..NO TEXT..NO NOTICE.
reason?
We saw delinquency in your past credit history????!!!
What the hell?
I am so glad that I was not overseas or on vacation and relied on this credit card.

more ...
Nov 15, 2019

they just did this crap to me, applied on nov 6 for sapphire preferred got approved 2 days later they called and said approved for 10,500. waited for card, and got it today to find out it was canceled in transit. what the heck??? I can easily apply for tons of credit and have this bank is a joke....

 
Nov 18, 2019

Same happened to me. *******s

 
Oct 20, 2019
Terrible!
Tracyco66 Cardholder

Chase promo said “spend 4000 before November and you’ll get 60000 points.” I had 230 more left to get the bonus and Chase closed the account because I spent too much toward my limit. Avoid this catch 22!!

more ...
Oct 29, 2019

What was your credit limit on this account?

 
Nov 17, 2019

That makes absolutely no sense. Regardless of credit limit, people max out their cards all the time. As long as you make you monthly min payments, you should be fine well at least in theory

 
Oct 16, 2019
Greta Card BUT
theceller Cardholder

Was great card "BUT" ( CHASE) Closed account  1 week after getting Card . Said Reason was to many Credit Inquireies .. LOL  Was using for 60,000 point bonus , Also added Auyhoised User Chase Cancelled Card " No Waring " No Mail"  "No Nothing " Also Cancled all Chase accounts I have had for over 15 Years .. Will Never Use CHASE again !! Very Unprofessional , In My Opinion !!

more ...
Oct 17, 2019

I would focus on going back go school. I wouldn't approve you if you structured your sentences with all caps like a title and had so many grammar mistakes.

 
Nov 07, 2019

Same happened to me. This card is total BS

 
Nov 15, 2019

they just did it to me approved me for 10k and then card arrived it was already canceled, even though they ran my credit 3 times before mailing.... nothing wrong with my credit, have good amounts of cards good limits and standing.....they are such a joke,

 
Oct 11, 2019
Bull crap
Lissette31 Cardholder

They approve you fir the card wait until you start charging a decent amount and then closes the account they says you have to many cc accounts open. It doesn't matter if I have 20 cards if my cards are being paid on time making payments over minimum payment shouldn't matter. A RIP off

more ...
Oct 29, 2019

If you don't mind me asking how many cards do you have?

 
Nov 07, 2019

Same happened to me!! Exactly what u said.. as long as u pay your card on time what is their problem
They are full of crap

 
Oct 08, 2019
Beware of this card
Mrselman1967 Cardholder

Was approved for this card at $4000, received card and charged $95 annual fee.  After having only 4 days account was closed with no warning and no explanation. Meanwhile I currently carrier 2 Amex cards which are awesome, thank you Amex, capital one Mastercard and a Discover.  I later called chase to enquirer why account was close and was told I didn't have enough credit.  Credit scores were 747/751, no my credit report shows a closed account.

more ...
Oct 10, 2019

The minimum you can be approved for this card is $5000 lol...

 
Oct 14, 2019

This is a visa signature card, the minimum limit is $5,000.

 
Oct 20, 2019

They did the same to me , closed right before I got my bonus points! Never late and paid more than minimums

 
Oct 22, 2019

Sounds fishy

 
Oct 24, 2019

They closed it just before getting your points!!!???? Thats so messed up and scamy

 
Nov 02, 2019

I dont feel like any of that is true the only one that makes any sense is the fact that this is a visa signature card with a minimum cl of 5000$ and if your limit is that close to your bonus spending amount you should probably know it's a bad idea to max the cl of a brand new card

 
Sep 16, 2019
Terrible company
BuaF1 Cardholder

The short story is, I had a mystery $500 charge on my Chase Sapphire Preferred that I asked to have remove because I didn’t make the charge.  I honestly didn’t think it would be a big deal.  Fast forward one month and a dozen email exchanges and phone calls......They refused to remove it and couldn’t explain to me why the charge was there.

I enjoyed using both Chase cards I had, The sapphire reserve and the Freedom card.  30k limit between the two, but ultimately decided to close both accounts because they couldn’t resolve a simple fraudulent charge.  Also, they really go out of their way to make you feel like a dummy when you say "I don’t understand".

Their last option to me was to write a letter to the CEO to dispute......Write a letter to the CEO.

more ...
Aug 13, 2019
Chase Sapphire Worst Mistake Ever

I’m just like everybody else wanting to have good credit! So I took credit karma suggestion and I applied for the Chase Sapphire credit card.  I was simply approved in minutes!  Credit score at the time of my application was 698 and they had approve me with a $17,500 limit. I received my new Chase Sapphire credit card approximately three weeks later!  activated my card and that was it !  6 days of having my new Chase Sapphire credit card I get an alert telling me that my account was canceled I didn’t cancel my account nor did I use it so I called chase customer service I was transferred four times and finally I was told that they had to cancel my card JP Morgan Chase had buyers remorse. 

more ...
Sep 13, 2019

Ridiculous. They shouldn't be lawfully able to do that

 
Oct 13, 2019

I'm thinking that Chase gave you too high of a credit limit with your Scores so that's why they cancelled your account. If that's the case, they should have reissued you another card with a lower limit.

 
Jul 25, 2019
BEWARE
Spaniard89 Cardholder

GOT CARD WITH 6400 CREDIT USED IT MADE A PAYMENT WITH STILL PLENTY OF CREDIT AVAILABLE AND THEY PUT HOLD ON CARD WITH OVER HALF MY CREDIT STILL AVAILABLE BECAUSE THEY WANTED TO WAIT FOR PAYMENT TO CLEAR. 

more ...
Jun 06, 2019
Beware of being approved!
Cantbeat24 Cardholder

I applied and got approved for $6300 credit limit. Got the card in the mail, activated it. Got some more brochures a few days later. Before I even used the card, they closed the account. What? Then got an email saying that I had too many inquiries. I only have 3 and 1 was theirs. The other 2 were from a year ago. Will never do business with Chase in fear of them closing the account and being denied at the register.

more ...
Jun 13, 2019

I applied for a card because on credit karma that had an offer for 0 percent interest for 15 months on a balance transfer. Then after I got a approved, it read differently. Somehow, the application process got messed up and I was approved for this card instead. I would never apply for this card because it doesn’t offer balance transfers and there’s a $95 annual fee. The card I applied for had no annual fee. The customer service is disgusting. They are condescending and they insist it’s your mistake. I spoke to two supervisors, Uvia and Matthew and they were disgraceful.

 
Jun 18, 2019

Thank you for the heads up !

 
Jun 18, 2019

5/24? Could be the reason

 
Jul 11, 2019

I was approved, and at the apple store the card was declined. I called and they said my account in under review, im waiting until tomorrow to see if this is what happened to me as well, if so, everyone will be hearing of this from me, EVERYONE! This is HORRIBLE!!!

 
Sep 09, 2019

That’s bs. How embarrassing

 
May 28, 2019
Horrible customer service
Larryly45 Cardholder

Got my card and the first purchase 849 insurance payment. Chase decided to freeze my card. After I pay the card in full. No call back to let me know about it. Had to find out from my insurance company. What a joke. Now waiting for the 849 refund from mail 10-16 days. Thank god I don’t really need it. Customer service is terrible. Going to try another company. Chase is black listed. Will never use any of its products again 

more ...
Jun 13, 2019

So true!
I applied for a card because on credit karma that had an offer for 0 percent interest for 15 months on a balance transfer. Then after I got a approved, it read differently. Somehow, the application process got messed up and I was approved for this card instead. I would never apply for this card because it doesn’t offer balance transfers and there’s a $95 annual fee. The card I applied for had no annual fee. The customer service is disgusting. They are condescending and they insist it’s your mistake. I spoke to two supervisors, Uvia and Matthew and they were disgraceful.

 
Jul 17, 2019

What card without fee did you apply for?

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 1,304
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 
Chase Sapphire Preferred® Card Reviews

Chase Sapphire Preferred® Card

13 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i