Disney's Premier Visa® Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.3 out of 5 stars
7 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

3.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jan 04, 2017
was surprised by approval
mikmakmom Cardholder

Credit karm shows 650 credit score, I've heard the Disney card is hard to get, and have been declined in the past so I wasn't sure if I should apply.  I was instantly approved for $5000 CL

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Oct 12, 2017
Questionable
Anonymous Cardholder

This review primarily applies to Disney Vacation Club members or potential members. One of the primary perks of this card is 0% interest for six months on purchases of Disney vacation packages, after which the standard interest rate kicks in. Having gone through numerous circles with Chase, Disney, and DVC, it seems that no one really knows what is going on. The terms of this promotion are vaguely stated in a mere few paragraphs in the terms with little clarification as to what constitutes a package, specifically in regards to DVC members. Resort rooms booked through DVC are handled a la carte, as are tickets and dining plans. According to Chase, depending upon which "decision" I go with (I'm choosing the last one I received from the highest escalation I could get), it's totally up to Disney as to how these promotions are "coded" in regards to the purchase. According to DVC management, they do not do packages and, based on my last conversation with them, the Disney Vacation Club, and Disney as a whole, it seems, could really care less about whether the Disney branded Visa card loses one of its central benefits for DVC members. The last DVC manager I spoke with even had the gall to suggest that I could still book standard packages without using my DVC membership to get the benefit. Welcome home indeed! If you are avid fans of vacationing in Disneyworld, as we are, this is obviously a great disappointment. While the down payment towards the DVC membership did qualify for the 0% promotion, even confirming that was confusing on all sides. Since the actual payments towards DVC cannot be put on a credit card this means that either one must put an enormous amount down on this card (that probably has a really limited credit limit) or lose out on this benefit entirely forevermore. The standard Disney Visa card offers a substandard 1% back on all purchases in the form of Disney dollars that must be loaded onto a redemption card. Both the credit card and redemption card offer some discounts and perks, but it is unclear anywhere as to whether the entire purchase of such must be made using either card. Considering that the 1% back in rewards is highly unlikely to result in much to spend in regards to a Disney vacation, the chances of having enough to cover even a couple of bills on the redemption card is unlikely. For example, one would need to spend $20,000 on the standard Disney Visa card (with a $3000 limit in my case) just to earn $200 worth of rewards to hopefully cover a couple of purchases in the parks. The Premier Disney Visa card does earn 2% on select categories, but that would still require spending $15,000 at a 50% mix of 1% and 2% categories to earn $200 worth of rewards AFTER losing $49 to the annual fee, which reduces the incentive further. Considering that most other cards offer at least this much standard, putting a fee-wall on the 2% categories seems steep. Now, the coup de grace from all of this is that the rewards ONLY benefit towards paying Disney. You read it right. Since all of the rewards only apply towards redemption or discount towards Disney, these limitations do not let you use your difficulty-earned rewards for your general use. I have taken a great deal of time writing this review in hopes of: 1) Informing potential applicants and current holders so they do not waste their time in vain like I did; 2) Disney waking up and realizing that their cards are not very magical on the bottom-line of cardholders; and 3) Receiving greatly-clarified terms and disclosures regarding these and other confusions that will benefit cardholders and make the experience as magical as Disney would like it to be.

A note: The general customer service representatives on both the Chase and Disney/DVC ends have been fantastic and friendly and are, aside from lacking perhaps some training on these specific matters and matters requiring escalation in general, some of the best. If I've had any grievances in the way of customer service (and I don't mean in regards to getting my way), they are with some clearly overpaid, underqualified, slightly-belligerent managers who need to know that they are not in the position of making company-wide decisions on policy. Rather than doing what is best for the company, some choose the route of shutdown or redirect, which just results in reviews like this one, which are the real skeletons in the closet of corporations, since they haunt products almost indefinitely.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Oct 12, 2017
Questionable
Anonymous Cardholder

This review primarily applies to Disney Vacation Club members or potential members. One of the primary perks of this card is 0% interest for six months on purchases of Disney vacation packages, after which the standard interest rate kicks in. Having gone through numerous circles with Chase, Disney, and DVC, it seems that no one really knows what is going on. The terms of this promotion are vaguely stated in a mere few paragraphs in the terms with little clarification as to what constitutes a package, specifically in regards to DVC members. Resort rooms booked through DVC are handled a la carte, as are tickets and dining plans. According to Chase, depending upon which "decision" I go with (I'm choosing the last one I received from the highest escalation I could get), it's totally up to Disney as to how these promotions are "coded" in regards to the purchase. According to DVC management, they do not do packages and, based on my last conversation with them, the Disney Vacation Club, and Disney as a whole, it seems, could really care less about whether the Disney branded Visa card loses one of its central benefits for DVC members. The last DVC manager I spoke with even had the gall to suggest that I could still book standard packages without using my DVC membership to get the benefit. Welcome home indeed! If you are avid fans of vacationing in Disneyworld, as we are, this is obviously a great disappointment. While the down payment towards the DVC membership did qualify for the 0% promotion, even confirming that was confusing on all sides. Since the actual payments towards DVC cannot be put on a credit card this means that either one must put an enormous amount down on this card (that probably has a really limited credit limit) or lose out on this benefit entirely forevermore. The standard Disney Visa card offers a substandard 1% back on all purchases in the form of Disney dollars that must be loaded onto a redemption card. Both the credit card and redemption card offer some discounts and perks, but it is unclear anywhere as to whether the entire purchase of such must be made using either card. Considering that the 1% back in rewards is highly unlikely to result in much to spend in regards to a Disney vacation, the chances of having enough to cover even a couple of bills on the redemption card is unlikely. For example, one would need to spend $20,000 on the standard Disney Visa card (with a $3000 limit in my case) just to earn $200 worth of rewards to hopefully cover a couple of purchases in the parks. The Premier Disney Visa card does earn 2% on select categories, but that would still require spending $15,000 at a 50% mix of 1% and 2% categories to earn $200 worth of rewards AFTER losing $49 to the annual fee, which reduces the incentive further. Considering that most other cards offer at least this much standard, putting a fee-wall on the 2% categories seems steep. Now, the coup de grace from all of this is that the rewards ONLY benefit towards paying Disney. You read it right. Since all of the rewards only apply towards redemption or discount towards Disney, these limitations do not let you use your difficulty-earned rewards for your general use. I have taken a great deal of time writing this review in hopes of: 1) Informing potential applicants and current holders so they do not waste their time in vain like I did; 2) Disney waking up and realizing that their cards are not very magical on the bottom-line of cardholders; and 3) Receiving greatly-clarified terms and disclosures regarding these and other confusions that will benefit cardholders and make the experience as magical as Disney would like it to be.

A note: The general customer service representatives on both the Chase and Disney/DVC ends have been fantastic and friendly and are, aside from lacking perhaps some training on these specific matters and matters requiring escalation in general, some of the best. If I've had any grievances in the way of customer service (and I don't mean in regards to getting my way), they are with some clearly overpaid, underqualified, slightly-belligerent managers who need to know that they are not in the position of making company-wide decisions on policy. Rather than doing what is best for the company, some choose the route of shutdown or redirect, which just results in reviews like this one, which are the real skeletons in the closet of corporations, since they haunt products almost indefinitely.

more ...
Jun 08, 2017
Horrible Card to Own/Didn't Work & Rude
farm372 Cardholder

Used this card to card to charge over $1300 the first month. Paid the balance off before the next month.  Weeks later it did not work  when I went to buy AAA tickets. Said I had plenty of money and I paid off.  Rude woman in custmer service would not talk on phone without asking question I never gave them the answer to.  Hard to cancel card can not go online and do it.  Chase is one of the most dificult cards out to pay and deal with.  When it did not work they said I did not activate. I said are you kidding me I charged over $1300 and paid it.  BAD people to deal with and glad i took time to get rid of quick.

more ...
Apr 04, 2017
Approved & Happy!
rainmorgana Cardholder

I applied for this card with a 631 (Equifax) and 604 (TransUnion) and got a pending response. A minute later, a rep called to confirm my application, and I was approved for $1200! Seeing as I'm moving back to Orlando to work at Disney World again, this was a huge bonus for me. So looking forward to maintaining my credit with this card!

more ...
Mar 27, 2017
Surprised by approval
Kbyrnes07 Cardholder

With my credit score in the high 500 I didnt think I was going to get approved due to previous credit issues and currently trying to rebuild my credit. To my surprise I was approved right away with a $500 credit line which is better than nothing. I am so excited to used this card during my trip in two weeks!!! 

more ...
Mar 06, 2017
Great for Disney Fans
Anonymous Cardholder

I initially was declined for the card due to a bankruptcy that was discharged 6 months ago. I called in and asked for a review - very happy to say that they reconsidered and have a Disney Platinum Rewards card on the way. They took into consideration my situation and were very polite and helpful in the call to review. I am really excited and looking forward to my Disney World Vacay!

more ...
Feb 14, 2017
Bait and switch
Anonymous Cardholder

I picked up the application for this card at Disneyworld because it offered 200$ statement credit if you spent a certain amount during an initial period (same card that is offered on their website) and I knew I had a big expense coming up. I applied for the card and was told that the reward was a Disney gift card - i clarified that my offer stated it was a statement credit and the rep said "oh, you can apply it to your balance." Fast forward - I use the card and go to redeem the credit but can figure out how. Call customer service and ask to speak to a manager, who says another department can make that switch and they will call me in a few days to let me know they have done it and then they will deactivate the gift card. Two nights later I get a voicemail that they can't change my reward to a statement credit but I can call customer service (not the person who left the message) with any questions. So now what on earth do I do with a 200$ Disney gift card? I am canceling the card as soon as my payment goes through this month. Terrible.

more ...
Jan 04, 2017
was surprised by approval
mikmakmom Cardholder

Credit karm shows 650 credit score, I've heard the Disney card is hard to get, and have been declined in the past so I wasn't sure if I should apply.  I was instantly approved for $5000 CL

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Feb 13, 2017

Which credit bureau did they use to pull your score ?

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Disney's Premier Visa® Card