Bloomingdale's Credit Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.6 out of 5 stars
7 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Sep 05, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

AWESOME!

offers are really good, I would recommend this to my friends.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Dec 03, 2016
Unethical Practices
Anonymous Cardholder

DO NOT APPLY FOR THIS CARD!!!!!

Early November I was approved for a Bloomingdale's Amex with $4000 CL, purchased a Ted Baker shirt for $90. Over a two week span I would come into the store to try on a Ralph Lauren coat. Why so many visits? Most of the time if I want to purchase something I have to know I really want it. If I keep going back to a store to try it on that means I really do gotta have it. And I try to avoid impulse buying. 

Purchased the coat and returned one week later because when I wore it my arms would become very itchy. Practically unbearable. Keep in mind I had my receipt and the coat was only worn twice to the office. 

One day after said return I logged into my Bloomingdale's account. It  accepted my credentials but then an error was posted in red that said my account was reported lost or stolen so what I was able to view online was limited. 

Called Bloomingdale's Customer Service and after hours on the phone the answer I received from the many different agents I had spoken with was that I called to report my account as being fraudulently open and so they closed the account. What's worse is that I couldn't pay off the $90 balance I had. I was told it was posted but after two attempts come to find out they posted it to my Macy's account. WTF!!!???

Everyone I had spoken with says the notes on my account state I called in to report the account as being open fraudulently. This is impossible because the fraud department had to send a code to the number they had on file (my cell phone) in order to proceed. If I called in to report the account as being fraudulently opened then why did they not send a confirmation text then?

I read in other consumer complaints against Bloomingdale's on how accounts were closed after a certain amount of returns were made. My only guess with my account is that although it was only one return it was made before I had my card for a month, didn't give enough time to prove I am not a chronic 'returner'. 

It is in my honest opinion that unethical practices are being taught at Bloomingdale's Credit Services. It's unfortunate. 

Bloomingdale's had just lost a potential 'power buyer'.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jun 11, 2017
Whatever you do, don't get this card.
Anonymous Cardholder

No matter how tempting it might seem, don't. What they fail to tell you is you only get the opening discount up to $250.00. After that, nothing. Citibank are the ones that own/run the cards. I've caught them more than once with fees that were not even supposed to be on my account. They've corrected it everything but still. If and when I do use it, I scan the statement. Do not recommend. 

more ...
Apr 12, 2017
Approved $400 with 654 Experian!!
JosepBillcc3 Cardholder

Credt score: 654 Experian hard pull.
>Initial credit limit: $400

>Online application, instant approval.

>3 late payments student loan in 2014

>Credit utilization 38%

more ...
Dec 23, 2016
Approve for the AMEX version!
TagHeuerBlue Cardholder

Pleasantly surprised I was approved for the AMEX version of the store card when I knew I was only in the mid 600's score, with a limit of $4000!  Long story: the sales associate applied for me at the register and she had to call in since it wasn't an instant approval. Not sure if they are hurting for sales since I wanted to purchase a Tag Heuer watch at $3600 so the phone agent approved it (and I told the phone agent I have a $0 balance Barclay Card with $10,000 limit so I can still buy it if I don't get the store card approved).  I also qualified for the Club Account sinc eit was a fine watch purchase so I can pay off in 12 months with no interest.  Combining with their bonus "Loyalist Points" event and first day purchase of $250 off on the bill, the watch is now almost 25% off (albeit $900 of it will be in a form of store giftcard).  After I got the card in the mail (took about 14 days) I signed up for paperless billing and automatic payment right away since I've read horror stories on other reviews about their payment problems.  They also offered a bonus points program if I spent $150 within the first 90's day at non-Bloomingdale's location, equivalent to $50 store giftcard.  I am trying to find out if this card would apply the extra payment to the 0% portion of the bill first so I would keep ending up paying interest on the non promotional purchases even if I pay extra into the monthly payment (but not the full balance).  Overall: the APR is high on this card but if you can take advantage of the Club Account for large purchase at 0% or is able to pay off right away while gaining bonus points during their special events, this is a good store credit card.

more ...
Dec 03, 2016
Unethical Practices
Anonymous Cardholder

DO NOT APPLY FOR THIS CARD!!!!!

Early November I was approved for a Bloomingdale's Amex with $4000 CL, purchased a Ted Baker shirt for $90. Over a two week span I would come into the store to try on a Ralph Lauren coat. Why so many visits? Most of the time if I want to purchase something I have to know I really want it. If I keep going back to a store to try it on that means I really do gotta have it. And I try to avoid impulse buying. 

Purchased the coat and returned one week later because when I wore it my arms would become very itchy. Practically unbearable. Keep in mind I had my receipt and the coat was only worn twice to the office. 

One day after said return I logged into my Bloomingdale's account. It  accepted my credentials but then an error was posted in red that said my account was reported lost or stolen so what I was able to view online was limited. 

Called Bloomingdale's Customer Service and after hours on the phone the answer I received from the many different agents I had spoken with was that I called to report my account as being fraudulently open and so they closed the account. What's worse is that I couldn't pay off the $90 balance I had. I was told it was posted but after two attempts come to find out they posted it to my Macy's account. WTF!!!???

Everyone I had spoken with says the notes on my account state I called in to report the account as being open fraudulently. This is impossible because the fraud department had to send a code to the number they had on file (my cell phone) in order to proceed. If I called in to report the account as being fraudulently opened then why did they not send a confirmation text then?

I read in other consumer complaints against Bloomingdale's on how accounts were closed after a certain amount of returns were made. My only guess with my account is that although it was only one return it was made before I had my card for a month, didn't give enough time to prove I am not a chronic 'returner'. 

It is in my honest opinion that unethical practices are being taught at Bloomingdale's Credit Services. It's unfortunate. 

Bloomingdale's had just lost a potential 'power buyer'.

more ...
Oct 11, 2016
Worst Credit Card I ever Had
Anonymous Cardholder

Bloomingdale credit card is the worst credit card I ever had!!! They reported late payment and hurt my credit without sending me notification to let me know that my payment was past due for two months!! They did not block me from purchasing for two months, send me a single email, letter, or voicemail to notify that I had past due. All it's doing is to make interest out from account holders! When I called the customer service, they were not there to help me. Very bad attitude! 

more ...
Sep 05, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

AWESOME!

offers are really good, I would recommend this to my friends.

more ...
Jul 28, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

After paying the balance off in full every month I was late on a payment (wasn't able to access their website which seems to always be down!!!!) they dinged my credit from 802 to 699, over a $40 charge and some late fees. So angry. Their credit department was not at all helpful. Will not be giving these low lifes my business -closed account.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Bloomingdale's Credit Card