My Best Buy Visa® Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.3 out of 5 stars
74 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

2.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Nov 17, 2016
It's a credit card
Anonymous Cardholder

Fico score 615 got approval for 1k. Made a purchase for 615 and took the 12 months no interest payment. That option doesn't offer any reward zone points but hey I'm not paying any interest. Made my first payment before the due and well over the amount for minimum payment no issues so far with me

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Oct 02, 2016
slow update online, penalized for PIF
LavishSpending Cardholder

~601 real FICO scores
3 derogatories

$500 starting limit

First the Best Buy rep didn't make it clear I wasn't getting approved for the full amount requested for a purchase in store and that I only qualified for the card with a fee. After I accepted, then they told me the SL and fee. Then the in-store rep said I could call their credit department right away or when I come back in a few days to request a higher limit for a specific purchase. After wasting time confirming info and waiting, they immediately declined. I received a letter days later stating it was too soon to request a credit limit increase. At least there was no second hard pull, but what's the point in telling people to call in? The application process was silly.

The first three times I made payments so far, they froze my funds for days (well over a week). I called in the second time, and the explanation was that it's a new card, so they put a hold because I charged up and paid it twice before the statement. Okay fine, but then they just did it again. I called today, and the rep said anytime you pay in full, they will not release any of the available credit for eight days (that's business days in my experience).

Another problem is the transaction detail and balance online doesn't seem to update quickly like all my other cards and bank accounts do these days.

Frequent Best Buy shoppers or those with poor credit may still want to check this card out. You can get good rewards for Best Buy purchases (if you want that). Plus, they approved with derogs, thin file, and very low 600s. $500 SL is not much, but it's an okay start for a rewards card even with the annual fee. Current rewards: 5% Best Buy, 3% gas and clothes (limited time), 2% dining and groceries, 1% all other. I won't let this card renew next year before the AF now that I have a Barclaycard Rewards MasterCard and a Capital One QuicksilverOne (to be upgraded to regular Quicksilver one day).

And for all those complaining about being tricked, the annual fee, unexpected interest, etc. Read the terms. It's all there just like any other card terms. Don't like the terms, don't accept it or work on getting a better card. There are many reviews that are obviously unfair toward this card even if it does have some legit downsides.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Aug 19, 2017
Great card I'm glad I got it.
Zercha Cardholder

I visited a BestBuy store while shopping for a new Laptop.  I was assisted by a very polite and helpful store associate who helped me find the right Laptop and then offered the credit option.  I accepted, applied and within minutes was approved for $2,000 and used that new Visa account to purchase the Laptop.  It was a great experience and I look forward to using my card and shopping at BestBuy again.  Of course I expect that all of the usual rules of having and using a credit card responsibly, including paying the bill on time will apply, just as it does with any other credit card.  Thanks BestBuy and Citi for a great experience!

more ...
Aug 14, 2017
Good one
Anonymous Cardholder

I just get approve for $3800.00 other stores just gave me $2500.00 whit my ITIN number. I'm just like wow I don't even know my credit score.

more ...
Aug 03, 2017
It was good until they cancelled on me
chrtravels Cardholder

I never had an issue with them until the card was cancelled. I typically only used the card for the larger purchases and I had not done so in a couple

of years due to being in the military. However they cancelled without saying anything. Supposedly they sent out a  letter but I never received one.

Apparently they don't do phone calls. This is not acceptable for something that can negatively effect your credit. It takes a long time to build up

trade lines, the least they can do is put in a phone call and leave a voicemail. They said that emails aren't sent due to security issues but they

do not need to include secure information so I cry foul on that one. If you are going to purchase regularly you are probably fine. If not, stear clear.

I won't be purchasing from Best Buy any longer.

more ...
Aug 03, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

No

more ...
Jul 27, 2017
Crooked!
Anonymous Cardholder

They will charge you a rediculious amount of interest. Read the fine print!!!! They are rude and will not work with you on any matters.

more ...
Jul 13, 2017
Best and worst Iv ever had
Otdf2017 Cardholder

You get the opportunity to pick if you want a year worth of no interest rate payments and or cash back rewards , which is great and all but it was my first ever card no one told me how it works including the very young man that sold me it... I picked the 12 months it seemed the better option. Whoever doesn't matter how much you pay extra on it you must pay 22-26 bucks a month , you will get late fees of 30 or so and I unfortunately found out that the interest rates are insanely high and I now have good standing credit and it is still very high 

more ...
Jun 30, 2017
WORST CREDIT CARD EVER!!!!
RezaTaba Cardholder

I've been a BestBuy Elite member for many years. Since BestBuy is using Citibank as their provider, they do not serve you if there is an issue. They refer you to Citibank which is the worst. For a very simple issue, I've called BestBuy-Credit (Citibank) and after talking to several representatives and supervisors, still my issue is not resolved. Every time they apologize and promise me the issue is resolved. However, after a few days I check my account and see nothing is changed. I believe I've called them +10 times and now I AM TIRED OF CALLING THEM AND WASTING MY VALUABLE TIME! Tomorrow I have to call them again despite hating them. I wish I just could quit but unfortunately I still have some promotional balances with them. I am doing my best to use PayPal Credit and Amazon Credit instead. I recommend you to avoid using BestBuy credit as much as possible until they return to their previous system. 

more ...
Jun 27, 2017
Good, but pay attention to terms
neuroticdave Cardholder

They tell you what you’re getting yourself into beforehand. Please read the disclosures and agreements before having any complaints. That being said, it has been great for me thus far. I was approved for $4000 credit limit and CK had my approval odds at fair with a 629/661 split. Just pay it on time and if you take advantage of the no interest financing on big purchases pay it off before the term is up. 

more ...
Jun 23, 2017
designed for high end purchases o%
DanfromFL Cardholder

use it it for its intened purpose high end electronics and applainces

0 % for up to 24 months simple. do not make little purchases with it had card for 10 years never paid a cent in intrest. plus BB price matches as well.

It does not effect promo rate. by far best card for electronics.

more ...
Jun 15, 2017
This card is able to be use in any store
Anonymous Cardholder

People should know that this card is available to be use in other store.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

My Best Buy Visa® Card