Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

My Best Buy Visa® Card

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.1 out of 5 stars
80 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

2 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Aug 02, 2016
Love my card!
Anonymous Cardholder

To everyone who is complaining and saying, " I missed ONE payment and now I owe a million dollars," you knew this before going into the plan. Deffered interest is just that, as long as you make your minimum payment every month AND pay off your entire balance before the deferred interest period is up, you won't pay a single cent. I have had their in-store card for years and never had a single issue, this new visa was just issued and works the same way plus being able to use it elsewhere. I do agree that the rewards are not great outside of the store, but then again I only use it at the store to make large purchases. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Oct 02, 2016
slow update online, penalized for PIF
LavishSpending Cardholder

~601 real FICO scores
3 derogatories

$500 starting limit

First the Best Buy rep didn't make it clear I wasn't getting approved for the full amount requested for a purchase in store and that I only qualified for the card with a fee. After I accepted, then they told me the SL and fee. Then the in-store rep said I could call their credit department right away or when I come back in a few days to request a higher limit for a specific purchase. After wasting time confirming info and waiting, they immediately declined. I received a letter days later stating it was too soon to request a credit limit increase. At least there was no second hard pull, but what's the point in telling people to call in? The application process was silly.

The first three times I made payments so far, they froze my funds for days (well over a week). I called in the second time, and the explanation was that it's a new card, so they put a hold because I charged up and paid it twice before the statement. Okay fine, but then they just did it again. I called today, and the rep said anytime you pay in full, they will not release any of the available credit for eight days (that's business days in my experience).

Another problem is the transaction detail and balance online doesn't seem to update quickly like all my other cards and bank accounts do these days.

Frequent Best Buy shoppers or those with poor credit may still want to check this card out. You can get good rewards for Best Buy purchases (if you want that). Plus, they approved with derogs, thin file, and very low 600s. $500 SL is not much, but it's an okay start for a rewards card even with the annual fee. Current rewards: 5% Best Buy, 3% gas and clothes (limited time), 2% dining and groceries, 1% all other. I won't let this card renew next year before the AF now that I have a Barclaycard Rewards MasterCard and a Capital One QuicksilverOne (to be upgraded to regular Quicksilver one day).

And for all those complaining about being tricked, the annual fee, unexpected interest, etc. Read the terms. It's all there just like any other card terms. Don't like the terms, don't accept it or work on getting a better card. There are many reviews that are obviously unfair toward this card even if it does have some legit downsides.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Dec 30, 2016
Doesnt deserve a star
Greatergood89 Cardholder

After four years of always on time payments and a very small credit limit. I requested a credit limit increase and was approved but not without a hard inquiry added to my credit! My credit is great 100% on time payments. Less than 50% usage. All of my other Card providers have tripled and quadrupled my credit limit without my even asking. I am extremely dissatisfied with customer service as well. 

more ...
Dec 21, 2016
Terrible. Terrible. Terrible!!!
twinmom1234 Cardholder

They issue reward certificates, email them to customers to get them to enter their stores or shop online, promise they're good and then refuse to redeem them once the time to return the item has expired. VERY UNETHICAL!!! I'm cancelling both our credit cards immediately and never shopping there again. I had other problems with their credit cards years ago but gave them another chance only to have this happen. Even their corporate office employee Adolfo #16910 refused to help and was very rude to boot

more ...
Dec 16, 2016
Lose reward points!
GeoJam3s Cardholder

So I have the Best Buy credit card as I have stock in Best Buy and I purchase a lot there. I made a large purchase on Black Friday and they offered the 18 month financing but said you lose the bonus points. What I did not understand is you lose all your rewards points when you select the free financing. This is like the worst program to try to get you to make more purchases at Best Buy. I am paying off the free financing and canceling. 

I could have used my Discover card and got 10% back for Best Buy at the time and I am still under free financing through them with their 18 month offer. 

more ...
Dec 15, 2016
Great rewards
nsfreehold Cardholder

I got approved for a decemt amount and i love the card. Very good rewards. I pay off my balance right after i use it no issues with this company

more ...
Dec 14, 2016
Absolute ripoff!
amitkumar07 Cardholder

As soon as your deferred interest promo expires, they are going to charge you 25% APR from the beginning of the promotion. That would equate to ~50% or more of your purchase depending upon your promo period. Apparently, that's in the fine print somewhere. Citibank customer service would rattle off the policy for you as a helpful measure.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Dec 18, 2016

I've never seen a deferred interest promo where this didn't apply, just for future reference.

 
Nov 29, 2016
AMAZING!
Anonymous Cardholder

You can't go wrong with Best Buy! You might buy clothes on a credit card more than you would buy electronics all the time. Which means it's easy to pay this card off with going months without buying anything. I use it mainly around the holidays and on birthdays for my friends. Best buy is my FAVORITE STORE and where I live the customer service is amazing. I paid this card down really good and started using it again around the holidays and they increased my limit. I'm officially done with shopping and will have this card PAID OFF in March 2017! Possibly February!

more ...
Nov 22, 2016
edw13185 Cardholder

Absolutely the worst of the worst. My credit card number was stolen and Citi's fraud department is nearly useless. They acknowledge the charges are fraudulent but refuse to take them off of my account while they investigate, which will take 60-90 days. In the mean time, they want me to make payments on these charges. I also have a Costco Citi Visa on which I put all my monthly expenses which I pay off every month, literally thousands of dollars. I've never disputed anything before, yet this is how they treate a loyal and profitable customer. Run far, run fast!

more ...
Nov 21, 2016
this credit card isa real life nightmare
Anonymous Cardholder

this best buy credit card is beyond a nightmare from the grave they dont stop calling if not paid on time they cant let nothing go there is so many people have this card making boat loads of cash on the intrest almost 30% are pretty much that number i figure the only way to end it is pay it off CUT THE CARD SHRED IT ONLY WAY TO MAKE IT GONE AND NOT USE IT NO MORE I GET A SURPRISE OF MONEY I OWE THEM  EVEN THOUGH I MADE ARRANGEMENTS TO PAY IT ALL OFF  AND THEY HIT ME WITH ANOTHER BILL I WOULD NEVER USE THEM AGAIN THEY HAVE CRAZY RATES YHEY SHOULD GO OUT OF BUSINESS AND USE CASH LOANS FOR THE RATES THEY CHARGE 

more ...
Dec 03, 2016

If you don't make the payments on time, don't blame them for asking where it is or charging you fees. Its a credit card.

 
Jan 02, 2017

Helloooo! Thank you

 
Nov 17, 2016
It's a credit card
Anonymous Cardholder

Fico score 615 got approval for 1k. Made a purchase for 615 and took the 12 months no interest payment. That option doesn't offer any reward zone points but hey I'm not paying any interest. Made my first payment before the due and well over the amount for minimum payment no issues so far with me

more ...
Nov 14, 2016
One payment wonder
Anonymous Cardholder

Better not make that first payment early or it won't count. I was very excited to start using my Best Buy account and start earning points. I made my first payment (nearly 4x the minimum) a day early. A few weeks later, I get hit with a late payment fee by Best Buy card services (a.k.a. Citi). I immediately paid off the remaining balance and closed the account. I no longer feel like shopping at Best Buy. I can always find an equally good deal elsewhere.

more ...
Nov 19, 2016

This is how all credit cards work. Regardless of what you pay, if you have a balance when the statement cuts, you owe that minimum payment.

 
Jan 02, 2017

How is that Best Buy's Fault 🤔 I'm confused on how that makes sense

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

My Best Buy Visa® Card