My Best Buy Visa® Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.3 out of 5 stars
68 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

2.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Sep 03, 2017
Great card if you PIF during promo
Anonymous Cardholder

I've had the My Best Buy (Citibank) Credit Card for a few years now. The application process was simple. I was originally approved for $1200 CL, and my CK score at the time was around 680. I got an auto CLI to $2200 after a year or so, and just recently got another auto CLI to $3300. I've purchased quite a bit of stuff (TV's, laptop, smart watch, etc) and have never paid a cent of fees of interest because I use the 12, 18 or 24 month "special financing" (no interest if paid in full), and pay everything off..if I can't afford the monthly payments I don't buy it! I get things when they're on sale, and Apple products are cheaper at Best Buy than buying from from Apple. 

I'm certain having this card has helped build my credit (CK score is now 780). If you like or need electronics (and can afford monthly payments), this is a great choice. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 04, 2017
Can't reach out to support
Anonymous Cardholder

I tried online support, phone support and everything I can. Literally my call got hanged up saying presentatives are too busy with other calls.

I was expecting the same customer service from my Citi Double Cash card. Well, I guess I'll stick with Amazon for financing my toys.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Oct 19, 2017
MarieH129 Cardholder

I had this card for 6+ years.  Started at a $500 credit limit at 22% interest and it never changed.  I called and they refused to do anything so I closed the card. 

720 FICO

more ...
Oct 14, 2017
Worst
Anonymous Cardholder

one of the worst cards I ever had. Everything is complicated. You ask them at the store to add things to the promotion they don't and at the end they charge interest for that. Even tho I have a promotion of 6 months no interest. So be carful. 

more ...
Oct 13, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

This is by far one of the worst cards you could ever own. If for some reason you are charged something incorrectly they will not even speak to the merchant to get it taken off the card in a reasonable amount of time, you have to wait 2 weeks for the charge to "fall off" and the money just gets tied up until then. That means if you go out for a 50 dollar dinner and they accidentally charge you 5000 dollars you will have a 5000 charge on your card for upwards of 2 weeks. The customer service for this card is non-existant, you will be talking to someone in india who will not have a clue how to do anything or even make the attempt. RUN FSAr AWAY FROM THIS CARD.

more ...
Oct 09, 2017
Closed without notice...
Cfinkel Cardholder

I just found out my card was closed on August 31st. I was not notified by CitiCard, but by CreditKarma. They swear they sent me notification, but it’s October 9th and I have received nothing. They said my account was closed due to a delinquency I have paid and disputing through the credit agency. I paid off my card to help fix my credit and I’m being penalized over something that was wrongfully reported as derogatory. I’m even more upset with the fact the person I spoke to was so busy reading a script than trying to help me, they couldn’t be a human being for 2 minutes. I’ve been told in the past Citi cards are the worst you can have and boy is it true. They can’t even work with you to rebuild your credit so you can buy a home... 

more ...
Sep 11, 2017
A joke- stay away!
cbrockhoft Cardholder

Approved me 2500- I went on vacation, not knowing I was over the limit and hit with 1400 IN FEE's !!! THIS CARd IS A JOKE - won't work with me --offered to pay balance in full but minus the INSANE OUTRAGEOUS FEE's of $1400 and they said NOPE!! Oh well then I'll go bankrupt before paying there ABSURD FEE's !! 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Sep 24, 2017

Don't blame the bank for your mistake of not keeping up with your expenses. Lay in the bed you made.

 
Sep 11, 2017
A joke!
cbrockhoft Cardholder

I have this card- 2500 limit, we on vacation and used the card not knowing I was OVER THE LImit- it maxed out 1000 over and now charging me 1400 in LATE FEE's - what a horrible card- why let me go over and not notify me ???why the hell would you change me 1490 in fees and NOW SCREWED ME -wont work with me !! Uhh don't get this card - ruined my credit and told me oh well pay the bill!! I offered to pay it off in full MINUS THE INSANE  $1400 in fees - again said NOPE !! 

more ...
Sep 08, 2017
Thought it was a good deal
Anonymous Cardholder

Please read the fine print on the credit card.  I just got my statement and had 6 mo free financing but i did not know that if you do not pay the balance off with in the 6 months, the finance charges revert back to the original purchase date.  I thought it would begin on the date it was up.  I just got hit with almost $500 finance fee in one month. 

more ...
Sep 16, 2017

Most credit cards, or Same As Cash credit or 0.0 APR credit deals work that way.

 
Sep 24, 2017

Not even most...ALL credit cards that offer this work this way

 
Sep 03, 2017
Great card if you PIF during promo
Anonymous Cardholder

I've had the My Best Buy (Citibank) Credit Card for a few years now. The application process was simple. I was originally approved for $1200 CL, and my CK score at the time was around 680. I got an auto CLI to $2200 after a year or so, and just recently got another auto CLI to $3300. I've purchased quite a bit of stuff (TV's, laptop, smart watch, etc) and have never paid a cent of fees of interest because I use the 12, 18 or 24 month "special financing" (no interest if paid in full), and pay everything off..if I can't afford the monthly payments I don't buy it! I get things when they're on sale, and Apple products are cheaper at Best Buy than buying from from Apple. 

I'm certain having this card has helped build my credit (CK score is now 780). If you like or need electronics (and can afford monthly payments), this is a great choice. 

more ...
Aug 19, 2017
Great card I'm glad I got it.
Zercha Cardholder

I visited a BestBuy store while shopping for a new Laptop.  I was assisted by a very polite and helpful store associate who helped me find the right Laptop and then offered the credit option.  I accepted, applied and within minutes was approved for $2,000 and used that new Visa account to purchase the Laptop.  It was a great experience and I look forward to using my card and shopping at BestBuy again.  Of course I expect that all of the usual rules of having and using a credit card responsibly, including paying the bill on time will apply, just as it does with any other credit card.  Thanks BestBuy and Citi for a great experience!

more ...
Aug 14, 2017
Good one
Anonymous Cardholder

I just get approve for $3800.00 other stores just gave me $2500.00 whit my ITIN number. I'm just like wow I don't even know my credit score.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Oct 14, 2017

That's how I started with them and end up with 1000 and bunch of interest.

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

My Best Buy Visa® Card