My Best Buy Visa® Card

Overall card rating

2.3
196 Reviews
from Credit Karma members

Most helpful positive review

Oct 20, 2016
Good. Just don't carry a balance
Credit Karma Member

Approved with a 675 credit score. $2000 credit limit. I currently have 7 other credit cards with a total of $20,250 in available credit. I filed for bankruptcy in 2012. No complaints so far

17
0
0

Most helpful negative review

Mar 28, 2013
Ok..If you need something from Best Buy
Credit Karma Member

I applied for this Card with a CS of 609 I was approved for a CL of $500 This was 2009. I never recieved a CL Increase or my APR% never changed. I called this week to cancel it. The immeditly Offered me a CL increase of $2000 dollars and a Apr drop of 8% From 24-16% Should have called sooner to end my CC :)

38
4
0


Member ratings


All member reviews (196)

43
17
9
17
110

May 14, 2022
Don’t.
Credit Karma Member

Not a good card long-term wise. I use this card specifically for groceries and gas and paid it off at the end of every month. One morning I received a letter stating that my account was being closed due to other factors on my credit report. I do not have outstanding collections, I pay off all of my credit card balances at the end of every month and I only used two out of five that I have. I have two extra loans one for my vehicle and one as a personal loan, both in good standing. I did get hit with a few bumps this year so I did have to pull my credit, more than I wanted to. Regardless, I still didn’t see a reason for them to immediately close my account when I had a good standing with them. The point system sucks, in a year I got two free games for my boyfriend and a few chargers

0
0
0

Mar 21, 2022
Honest Review
Credit Karma Member

Please Do not get this card!!. I was late on a payment due to Covid, So I was unable to work and had a missed payment on my Credit report. I informed Citibank of my situation and there’s nothing that they could do. Also filed a dispute multiple times

0
3
0

Feb 11, 2022
Incredibly frustrating timelines
Credit Karma Member

I got this card when I was needing to buy a kitchen appliance after moving and figured it'd be a good way to go through payments. It's been great as far as Best Buy purchases are concerned, but unfortunately the timeline for payments/available credit is the absolute WORST that I've ever seen with credit cards. Payments won't show up on "recent activity" for a few weeks at least so it's hard to know whether or not I need to make a payment. When I make a payment, it takes at least a week to show up on Best Buy and to be out of my account and I've had some consistent issues with this. I finally thought maybe I could use bill pay/checks through my bank to make it smoother, messaged Best Buy to confirm what needed to be on the check, the check was cashed, but Best Buy said that the right information was not on the check. It took about a month of calling, messaging, etc. to get them to TRY and find the check and when they finally did, they still charged me a late fee. It's been a good card, but man the customer service is atrocious.

2
0
0

Feb 03, 2022
Do not buy BESTBUY Card
Credit Karma Member

Do not buy this card. They make you spend more spend by giving bestbuy rewards from time to time. Hence I end up using this card and accumulate bestbuy points. After that its extremely worst service from bestbuy. extremely worst delivery service. In one instance the delivery person just left my expensive apple watch in some other location and picture he posted doesnt even match my address/building. The delivery person didnt even get a signature. They work with extremely poor delivery service companies. Bestbuy said it will take weeks/months to give a replacement. I still dont know if they will give back my points and refund money. They dont even have mechanisms to track their delivery. The customer service is not able to offer any solution at all. after talking for 1 hour the customer service just cancelled my call. There is no way to escalate this situation or get the money back. Bestbuy takes its own time to investigate and I dont even know if I will get a replacement/ rewards. It is very risky and unreliable to buy at bestbuy. I will never order anything from bestbuy again. Really surprised to see such an awful service by a big company like bestbuy.

0
3
0

Oct 02, 2021
Closed acct
Credit Karma Member

I have had this credit card for over 5yrs. Never missed a payment. Never went over my $1k limit. Kept it always in good standings. Friday morning oct.1st I woke up to a urgent email saying to check my acct. After further investigation in to my acct.... citi bank closed my acct. With no letter, no warning. nothing! The only reason i got any kind of explanation, was calling customer service and sitting on hold for 30mins to ask why..... the reason they gave me was that , my credit score changed 15points ( down ) from 2019 when my score was last checked..... I explained that i was never late on the payment or over the limit. She said that its just " policy " .... I DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS CARD!

2
0
1

Aug 30, 2021
Seriously disappointed
Credit Karma Member

Used my card $577 charged. I Paid it in full 2 weeks later. My credit score dropped 63 points after use due to using my credit? Raised 2 points after having to dispute that I had paid my card. Come on Best Buy? So much for this card.

3
3
2

Mar 16, 2021
Horrible Customer Service
Credit Karma Member

I have had the Citibank Visa card for years. I am in the process of finally trying to pay it off. I just got off the phone with a customer service manager, who was a male and spoke down to me like I was an idiot. My bank had to mail in my payment check, due to their online process being changed without notice. They did not process the check on the date that was supposed to be processed on, therefore I did a stop payment through my bank. The payment still got processed a few days later by Best Buy. The man tried to argue with me stating that the payment was processed on the original date on the 12th, in which nothing was posted digitally till the 16th. I felt completely spoken down to and it was completely unprofessional, and he was a manager!! The worst tele-customer service ever.

3
1
0

Dec 25, 2020
Not bad but target card is better
Credit Karma Member

I was approved for the platinum visa with a $10,000 credit limit. The 5% back in store credit is a really good rewards rate. Whenever I need new appliances I buy them at best buy and pay in full at time of purchase which gives me 5% back in store credit which is often enough to get a couple video games for free. The negatives about this card is you can only redeem in increments of $5 while the target card gives you 5% off immediately at purchase as well as the fact that the mobile app for making payments isn't very good. I keep this card due to the $10,000 limit being great for my utilization rate on my credit score and because the rewards rate is really good.

3
1
2

Apr 25, 2020
AVOID IT
Credit Karma Member

Avoid this card like a plague. If I could rate it zero, I would in a heartbeat. If you have to get it, make sure you pay your promotional balances first before using it elsewhere, otherwise, your payments won't be paying for the promotion until you start accruing interest. Plus, the customer service is rude and the worst. Just keep away from this lot

9
0
1

Mar 25, 2020
Waste of credit
Credit Karma Member

Well after reading these reviews I can say I'm not as upset as I was earlier today. Was a BestBuy customer with the Visa credit card for 3 yrs . Never had an issue. Paid off my card on 3/20/2020 and never received the credit back on the card. They never put the credit back on your card immediately for some reason and you usually have to call to get the funds released, so I sent a message to them via the app on 3/23/2020 (because their customer service hold time has been atrocious lately) and never received a response...fast forward to 3/25/2020, I get an email at 5:34am advising that my account had been closed due to a "review" of my account. Hunh? I immediately called them first thing at 8am. Got a nasty rep who could care less about reviewing my account and simply stated my account was not "renewed" and that I'll be receiving a letter with a number to call. I told her repeatedly that the letter was already sent via email and said nothing about a "renew", in which she rudely interrupted and reinterated what she had already stated. I asked for her supervisor, supervisor transferred me to another department, who advised that my information had been "pulled" and the decision was made to close my account. Mind you, this was AFTER paying off my card 5 days prior and has also taken place during the Coronavirus pandemic. I spoke with a rep named Kyle in corporate who was absolute garbage and did not help at all, referring me to Citibank instead . I've never missed a payment with them, and have great credit history so this makes absolutely no sense. Something else seems to be going on with this company and I will never get another card or do business with them again. Beware.

7
1
1

1-10 of 196

See Approval Odds before you apply

We’ll estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. Join today — it’s free! You’ll also get:

Sign up
  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

My Best Buy Visa® Card

My Best Buy Visa® Card


These ratings and reviews are provided by our users. Banks, issuers and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee this content, are not responsible for it, and may not even be aware of it.

†† The opinions you read here come from our editorial team. Credit Karma receives compensation from third-party advertisers, but that doesn’t affect our editors' opinions. Our marketing partners don’t review, approve or endorse our editorial content. It’s accurate to the best of our knowledge when it’s posted.