Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

My Best Buy Visa® Card

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.2 out of 5 stars
85 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

2 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Aug 02, 2016
Love my card!
Anonymous Cardholder

To everyone who is complaining and saying, " I missed ONE payment and now I owe a million dollars," you knew this before going into the plan. Deffered interest is just that, as long as you make your minimum payment every month AND pay off your entire balance before the deferred interest period is up, you won't pay a single cent. I have had their in-store card for years and never had a single issue, this new visa was just issued and works the same way plus being able to use it elsewhere. I do agree that the rewards are not great outside of the store, but then again I only use it at the store to make large purchases. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Oct 02, 2016
slow update online, penalized for PIF
LavishSpending Cardholder

~601 real FICO scores
3 derogatories

$500 starting limit

First the Best Buy rep didn't make it clear I wasn't getting approved for the full amount requested for a purchase in store and that I only qualified for the card with a fee. After I accepted, then they told me the SL and fee. Then the in-store rep said I could call their credit department right away or when I come back in a few days to request a higher limit for a specific purchase. After wasting time confirming info and waiting, they immediately declined. I received a letter days later stating it was too soon to request a credit limit increase. At least there was no second hard pull, but what's the point in telling people to call in? The application process was silly.

The first three times I made payments so far, they froze my funds for days (well over a week). I called in the second time, and the explanation was that it's a new card, so they put a hold because I charged up and paid it twice before the statement. Okay fine, but then they just did it again. I called today, and the rep said anytime you pay in full, they will not release any of the available credit for eight days (that's business days in my experience).

Another problem is the transaction detail and balance online doesn't seem to update quickly like all my other cards and bank accounts do these days.

Frequent Best Buy shoppers or those with poor credit may still want to check this card out. You can get good rewards for Best Buy purchases (if you want that). Plus, they approved with derogs, thin file, and very low 600s. $500 SL is not much, but it's an okay start for a rewards card even with the annual fee. Current rewards: 5% Best Buy, 3% gas and clothes (limited time), 2% dining and groceries, 1% all other. I won't let this card renew next year before the AF now that I have a Barclaycard Rewards MasterCard and a Capital One QuicksilverOne (to be upgraded to regular Quicksilver one day).

And for all those complaining about being tricked, the annual fee, unexpected interest, etc. Read the terms. It's all there just like any other card terms. Don't like the terms, don't accept it or work on getting a better card. There are many reviews that are obviously unfair toward this card even if it does have some legit downsides.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Feb 24, 2017
$1 minium charge fee
Anonymous Cardholder

I opened an account and paid the service fee, for each month I haven't used my card they add a $1 minium charge fee for buying nothing. I am so mad I paid the yearly fee. I'm not sure it's legal to charge someone a monthly fee for carrying a $0 balance on a card.

more ...
Feb 17, 2017
Good card, decent rewards
intel352 Cardholder

No complaints, fan of Citi, decent rewards

more ...
Feb 09, 2017
Exactly as it says
Johne3819 Cardholder

Interest deffered is still charged if not PIF by time alloted

more ...
Feb 06, 2017
Charge card
JdnSora Cardholder

Okay for all the ppl who have this card I just want to point out rewards can be set at a claim amount it's a good charge card of need be. If you plan on using it you need to consider time of pay off. I have done both differed and money back and both no issues average spending is 3k monthly with a 2.5k limit. I have no issues with late reports.

more ...
Jan 31, 2017
It works
Anonymous Cardholder

Ok so here's the good thing if you shop at bestbuy it's awesome 5 percent back on any other purchase or 0 percent interest financing anything over 200 dollars. People complaining about the interest pay your bill. Also bad thing is you only get 5 dollars at a time and it takes a billing period to get the rewards and they expire. That kinda sucks. Still I shop at bestbuy a lot and have saved quite abbot if you don't shop there a lot you don't need it. What I heard if you have a score over 680 there's a good chance you get approved

more ...
Jan 24, 2017
Love it!!!
bblock98 Cardholder

I have been working hard to bulid my credit and I am now close to the 700's. Applied for this card because I shop there frequently. Felt a little uneasy because I have a lot of hard hits but wanted to try anyway. Within 20 seconds I was approved for a $2000 credit line! Extremely satisfied with the customer service. 

more ...
Jan 24, 2017
Idiotic customer service
Anonymous Cardholder

Every time I try to contact them, they quote same things over and over, without actually clarifying what I ask or ever helping me resolve the thing. Its kinda same thing with citi cards though, I should have expected this.

more ...
Dec 30, 2016
Doesnt deserve a star
Greatergood89 Cardholder

After four years of always on time payments and a very small credit limit. I requested a credit limit increase and was approved but not without a hard inquiry added to my credit! My credit is great 100% on time payments. Less than 50% usage. All of my other Card providers have tripled and quadrupled my credit limit without my even asking. I am extremely dissatisfied with customer service as well. 

more ...
Dec 21, 2016
Terrible. Terrible. Terrible!!!
twinmom1234 Cardholder

They issue reward certificates, email them to customers to get them to enter their stores or shop online, promise they're good and then refuse to redeem them once the time to return the item has expired. VERY UNETHICAL!!! I'm cancelling both our credit cards immediately and never shopping there again. I had other problems with their credit cards years ago but gave them another chance only to have this happen. Even their corporate office employee Adolfo #16910 refused to help and was very rude to boot

more ...
Dec 16, 2016
Lose reward points!
GeoJam3s Cardholder

So I have the Best Buy credit card as I have stock in Best Buy and I purchase a lot there. I made a large purchase on Black Friday and they offered the 18 month financing but said you lose the bonus points. What I did not understand is you lose all your rewards points when you select the free financing. This is like the worst program to try to get you to make more purchases at Best Buy. I am paying off the free financing and canceling. 

I could have used my Discover card and got 10% back for Best Buy at the time and I am still under free financing through them with their 18 month offer. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

My Best Buy Visa® Card