My Best Buy Visa® Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.2 out of 5 stars
82 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

2 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Aug 02, 2016
Love my card!
Anonymous Cardholder

To everyone who is complaining and saying, " I missed ONE payment and now I owe a million dollars," you knew this before going into the plan. Deffered interest is just that, as long as you make your minimum payment every month AND pay off your entire balance before the deferred interest period is up, you won't pay a single cent. I have had their in-store card for years and never had a single issue, this new visa was just issued and works the same way plus being able to use it elsewhere. I do agree that the rewards are not great outside of the store, but then again I only use it at the store to make large purchases. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 28, 2013
Ok..If you need something from Best Buy
nartman Cardholder

I applied for this Card with a CS of 609 

I was approved for a CL of $500 

This was 2009. I never recieved a CL Increase or my APR% never changed. 

I called this week to cancel it. The immeditly Offered me a CL increase of $2000 dollars and a Apr drop of 8% From 24-16%

Should have called sooner to end my CC :) 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jul 13, 2017
Best and worst Iv ever had
Otdf2017 Cardholder

You get the opportunity to pick if you want a year worth of no interest rate payments and or cash back rewards , which is great and all but it was my first ever card no one told me how it works including the very young man that sold me it... I picked the 12 months it seemed the better option. Whoever doesn't matter how much you pay extra on it you must pay 22-26 bucks a month , you will get late fees of 30 or so and I unfortunately found out that the interest rates are insanely high and I now have good standing credit and it is still very high 

more ...
Jun 30, 2017
WORST CREDIT CARD EVER!!!!
RezaTaba Cardholder

I've been a BestBuy Elite member for many years. Since BestBuy is using Citibank as their provider, they do not serve you if there is an issue. They refer you to Citibank which is the worst. For a very simple issue, I've called BestBuy-Credit (Citibank) and after talking to several representatives and supervisors, still my issue is not resolved. Every time they apologize and promise me the issue is resolved. However, after a few days I check my account and see nothing is changed. I believe I've called them +10 times and now I AM TIRED OF CALLING THEM AND WASTING MY VALUABLE TIME! Tomorrow I have to call them again despite hating them. I wish I just could quit but unfortunately I still have some promotional balances with them. I am doing my best to use PayPal Credit and Amazon Credit instead. I recommend you to avoid using BestBuy credit as much as possible until they return to their previous system. 

more ...
Jun 27, 2017
Good, but pay attention to terms
neuroticdave Cardholder

They tell you what you’re getting yourself into beforehand. Please read the disclosures and agreements before having any complaints. That being said, it has been great for me thus far. I was approved for $4000 credit limit and CK had my approval odds at fair with a 629/661 split. Just pay it on time and if you take advantage of the no interest financing on big purchases pay it off before the term is up. 

more ...
Jun 23, 2017
designed for high end purchases o%
DanfromFL Cardholder

use it it for its intened purpose high end electronics and applainces

0 % for up to 24 months simple. do not make little purchases with it had card for 10 years never paid a cent in intrest. plus BB price matches as well.

It does not effect promo rate. by far best card for electronics.

more ...
Jun 15, 2017
This card is able to be use in any store
Anonymous Cardholder

People should know that this card is available to be use in other store.

more ...
Jun 10, 2017
Helped my C.S., but that's all it did
Anonymous Cardholder

I was approved with a small credit limit. I expected that. After nearly 5 years with the card and no late payments, they still won't give me a C.L.I., not even a modest increase. Too late to close now, but wish I didn't apply.

more ...
Jun 07, 2017
Close my account without notice!

I always pay all of my accounts on time. I've never missed a payment for this card, not once. They closed my active and frequently used account while it was carrying a balance without any notice whatsoever. I got a letter in the mail after the fact, stating it was closed because I was "re-evaluated" and they claimed that my credit score was about 60 point lower than it has ever been in my life time as a reason why. The told me I'd have to pay off this card and re-ably if I wanted to open my account again. I missed one payment about 3 months later and they hounded me relentlously. Dozens of calls without voicemails and they put my account on some sort of collection list - for being about a week late. My grandmother had just died! Seriously harboring some recentful feelings for this company and their underhanded B.S. I won't ever use Citi credit in the future and if you are wise you'll avoid them too. They have the WORST customer service imaginable! 

more ...
Jun 07, 2017
Close my account without notice!

I always pay all of my accounts on time. I've never missed a payment for this card, not once. They closed my active and frequently used account while it was carrying a balance without any notice whatsoever. I got a letter in the mail after the fact, stating it was closed because I was "re-evaluated" and they claimed that my credit score was about 60 point lower than it has ever been in my life time as a reason why. The told me I'd have to pay off this card and re-ably if I wanted to open my account again. I missed one payment about 3 months later and they hounded me relentlously. Dozens of calls without voicemails and they put my account on some sort of collection list - for being about a week late. My grandmother had just died! Seriously harboring some recentful feelings for this company and their underhanded B.S. I won't ever use Citi credit in the future and if you are wise you'll avoid them too. They have the WORST customer service imaginable! 

more ...
Jun 01, 2017
WORST CARD
edabney07 Cardholder

Only good option is the special financing. But they do hard pulls to increas credit limit and will not increase limit above 1500. 

more ...
May 31, 2017
As a Best Buy employee it sucks
Anonymous Cardholder

DO NOT USE ONLINE PAYMENTS

The customer service is utterly useless if there system screws up and will continually tell you to just talk to your bank. I work at Best Buy and they won't even help me, god help anyone else who needs help with it. Another note is that the minimum payment never will equal the total amount in the "interest free" period so ma,e sure you keep an eye out on your account.

tl;dr Don't get it unless you plan on paying it off very soon when ever you use it, and always pay in store

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jun 26, 2017

Online payments work perfectly fine for me, just takes a few days to go thru.

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

My Best Buy Visa® Card