American Eagle Outfitters™ Credit Card

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.7 out of 5 stars
10 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jan 10, 2015
I have 2!
GreenEdge Cardholder

I have both the AE store and AE Visa credit card I applied years ago just on a whim (it was my B-day) with a CL of 2400 and 5300 respectively over time. I shop frequently at AE and though the APR is high it's what you'd usually expect out of a store credit card, right? I always pay on time and in full each month and unlike the others who have negatively reviewed this card I'll review the positives of this card. One is the rewards. If you love shopping here than that's at least a plus as you can earn a $10 coupon for every $25 spent plus a 15, 20, 30, or 40% off coupon for every dollar spent in every quarter from the year. Another is the CL increases which in the long run help your credit score. If you're fully and fiscally responsible with your credit and spending habits of course you won't run into problems and that also applies generally when you think about it. When I first applied for the store credit card I started VERY LOW at $200 but eventually into $850 and finally $2400. I made small purchases and paid them off constantly. Anything and everything will help to build an excellent credit score which in the end I've achieved in a few years. If you're impatient, don't shop AE as much, aren't responible with spending, quick to judge, or ambivalent about this card don't bother getting it. It's just like any other store credit card you can apply for. But if your into looking at the brighter side of things and try to look into the positives give it a shot. What do you have to lose if you take of things?

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

May 27, 2014
Hardly worth applying for
Customer151 Cardholder

I got my card in January and they only gave a measly $150 credit limit. Even though I paid my parlance in full monthly and have had a zero balance for  the last 2 or 3 billing cycles they still haven't increased my limit. I've even been issued a card with a $4000 limit since then from a different issuer and my score has significantly increases since being issued the american eagle card. Sometimes companies need to apply some common sense to their credit processes. I would probably even do more business with them if they gave a higher limit. Oh well, I'm sure they will figure it out one day. Probably right around the time they stop outsourcing their customer service to india or Pakistan...

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Mar 04, 2017
Lousy card!
CarBear11 Cardholder

One year later my limit dropped from 280 to 140. Not worth the trouble! Jeans are made of cheap material and fit has gone down hill!

more ...
Feb 03, 2017
Terrible
Anonymous Cardholder

"The interest rate in non-negotiable." That just says it there. My interest rate is 24%. Way too high!!! Do not get it! Go to capital one instead.

more ...
Jan 19, 2017
Not worth it!
Anonymous Cardholder

This was my first credit card and also the worst card I've ever had. I've owned it for about 5 years (I'm only keeping it because it's my oldest account amd boosts my credt score). The interest rate is extremely high (22.99% or higher) and there seems to be no way to get them to lower it. There are no rewards other than the points to get a discount at AE.

more ...
Jan 13, 2017
So disappointed!
Littlegirl2008 Cardholder

If you haven't applied fot one, keep away from it. Nothing special about this card. Not as many deals and discount as Macy. Not as much cash back rewards as Discover or Chase. Not even many discounts in store. The benefit I got from this card didn't worth a hard pull on my credit. I certainly learnt a lesson from this experience.

The sales girl told me it won't affect my credit score since there's no anuual fee. I felt fooled after I found the credit inquiry after a month! Also there are some some promised cash rewards if you use the card to purchase in and outside of AEO. I made the purchase but never get any rewards. I called the customer service and it took so long to get to talk to a real person. I told him I wanted to close the account. He just answered ok you are all set and hang up. Not even a "thank you". Looks like they don't care about customers. Perhaps they already know why people are closing out the account!

So disappointed. Never be tempted to the open account promotions. By the way, they only offer a 15%. Even Macy offers a 20%. Think before you leap.

more ...
Dec 11, 2016
Good for Rebuilding
JosepBillcc3 Cardholder

Approved for the store version with TU-569 Credit Karma score.

CL $150

Issuer: SYNCB (Synchrony Bank)

Hard inquiry: do 1 for Transunion

Hard Inquiries total: 17 previous/18 now
(3 previously from SYNCB in 2015, 2 for Syncb/walmart, 1 for Syncb/amazon, all three DENIED)

Average Age of Accounts: 1 year 1 month

Credit cards utilization: 63% across all 7

No collections on accounts.

1 missed payment on a closed loan from February 2016.

3 serious missed payments in an open student loan 3 years ago.

2 charge off from mobile companies

19 open accounts in good standing

My other scores EQ-711/EX-637
(Credit Karma & Credit.com scores.)

My first time with Synchrony, I tried to enter for 10 YEARS and finally did it!!!  I apply online and the system give me the message "you're almost done, we need more information. Call us within 48 hours". I call the next morning, talk to the CSR and she put me on hold 2 minutes.  Then she come back and say: Congratulations you are approved, your CL is $150 and your card will arrive in the mail within 7-10 days!! Very low CL but happy for the entrance to SYNCHRONY with 569 Credit Karma Score/ 671 Synchrony Bank Mail Letter.

more ...
Sep 14, 2016
AMAZING CUSTOMER SERVICE
Anonymous Cardholder

I had a mjaor issues with Expedia charging me for serivces that I had never received and they refused to refund the money. I don't know how that is possibly legal, but that is another story. I called American Eagle Credit Card services and not only did they help me through the entire process, but they took such a painful process off of my hands and took care of the enire issue. The benefits of this card are amazing! I have many credit cards, including USAA, and this by far takes the cake for the best card. So satisfied with this company. 

more ...
Sep 14, 2016
AMAZING CUSTOMER SERVICE
Anonymous Cardholder

I had a mjaor issues with Expedia charging me for serivces that I had never received and they refused to refund the money. I don't know how that is possibly legal, but that is another story. I called American Eagle Credit Card services and not only did they help me through the entire process, but they took such a painful process off of my hands and took care of the enire issue. The benefits of this card are amazing! I have many credit cards, including USAA, and this by far takes the cake for the best card. So satisfied with this company. 

more ...
Aug 09, 2016
Fine starter credit card but high APR
KSSL Cardholder

I got this card to get something on my credit report besides student loans.  I shopped the store enough and only used as much as I could pay within a month.  They kept giving me an increase unasked for about every year.  I finally decided to try to lower my APR after 6 years of keeping a low to 0 balance.  Was told there is no lowering the APR and it's just the standard rate.  Since their clothes turned to cheap materials and I've aged out of their customer base the rewards on the card useless to me. Guess I'll be paying mine off and locking it away while applying for a card with a lower interest rate and beetter rewards. 

more ...
Jun 14, 2016
Got closed on without warning!
Nerdy111 Cardholder

Beware! I initially got approved for a 150 cl. I used it a couple of times and had some good coupons. However, after no lates and a perfect pymt history, I was closed without warning after I paid it off. My scores were in the high 600's. I was angry! Never doing business with them again. They gave a bs answer about my credit report triggering a close. Btw, they gave me 3 other cc with synchrony bank for way over the 150 cl. I'm scared to see if they'll pull this wit the other cards as well. Stay away if you can! 

more ...
May 31, 2016
Great!
new2credit19 Cardholder

As a very frequent Aerie shopper I decided to try and apply for the AEO Store Credit Card (not the visa) and see what would happen. I was instantly approved for a credit line of $700! At the time of application my credit score was a 672 and my credit history is new since im 18. The card seems to have good perks and is definitely worth is if you're a frequent shopper are Aerie and AEO! 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

American Eagle Outfitters™ Credit Card