Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

American Eagle Outfitters™ Credit Card

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.9 out of 5 stars
11 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

3 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

May 31, 2016
Great!
new2credit19 Cardholder

As a very frequent Aerie shopper I decided to try and apply for the AEO Store Credit Card (not the visa) and see what would happen. I was instantly approved for a credit line of $700! At the time of application my credit score was a 672 and my credit history is new since im 18. The card seems to have good perks and is definitely worth is if you're a frequent shopper are Aerie and AEO! 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 31, 2016
Meh
yourcupoftea Cardholder

I've had this card for over 2 years already. When I first got it I would always use it to shop at AE. Pay my balance off in full, started off with $500 CL, then to $700 then finally $1,000. About a couple of months go by without using it because I had other loans to pay as any student does and then they decide to lower my limit to $250 without even letting me know. I had to pretty much find this out when I went shopping at the store and my card wouldn't go through. I've never made a late payment and always paid the account balance in full since the APR is really high. Honestly though, i'm not that upset about it since I hardly use it anyways. So whatever,

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Sep 14, 2016
AMAZING CUSTOMER SERVICE
Anonymous Cardholder

I had a mjaor issues with Expedia charging me for serivces that I had never received and they refused to refund the money. I don't know how that is possibly legal, but that is another story. I called American Eagle Credit Card services and not only did they help me through the entire process, but they took such a painful process off of my hands and took care of the enire issue. The benefits of this card are amazing! I have many credit cards, including USAA, and this by far takes the cake for the best card. So satisfied with this company. 

more ...
Sep 14, 2016
AMAZING CUSTOMER SERVICE
Anonymous Cardholder

I had a mjaor issues with Expedia charging me for serivces that I had never received and they refused to refund the money. I don't know how that is possibly legal, but that is another story. I called American Eagle Credit Card services and not only did they help me through the entire process, but they took such a painful process off of my hands and took care of the enire issue. The benefits of this card are amazing! I have many credit cards, including USAA, and this by far takes the cake for the best card. So satisfied with this company. 

more ...
Aug 09, 2016
Fine starter credit card but high APR
KSSL Cardholder

I got this card to get something on my credit report besides student loans.  I shopped the store enough and only used as much as I could pay within a month.  They kept giving me an increase unasked for about every year.  I finally decided to try to lower my APR after 6 years of keeping a low to 0 balance.  Was told there is no lowering the APR and it's just the standard rate.  Since their clothes turned to cheap materials and I've aged out of their customer base the rewards on the card useless to me. Guess I'll be paying mine off and locking it away while applying for a card with a lower interest rate and beetter rewards. 

more ...
Jun 14, 2016
Got closed on without warning!
Nerdy111 Cardholder

Beware! I initially got approved for a 150 cl. I used it a couple of times and had some good coupons. However, after no lates and a perfect pymt history, I was closed without warning after I paid it off. My scores were in the high 600's. I was angry! Never doing business with them again. They gave a bs answer about my credit report triggering a close. Btw, they gave me 3 other cc with synchrony bank for way over the 150 cl. I'm scared to see if they'll pull this wit the other cards as well. Stay away if you can! 

more ...
May 31, 2016
Great!
new2credit19 Cardholder

As a very frequent Aerie shopper I decided to try and apply for the AEO Store Credit Card (not the visa) and see what would happen. I was instantly approved for a credit line of $700! At the time of application my credit score was a 672 and my credit history is new since im 18. The card seems to have good perks and is definitely worth is if you're a frequent shopper are Aerie and AEO! 

more ...
Apr 20, 2016
I hate this card
Anonymous Cardholder

I was approved for this card about a year ago with a $150 credit limit. I usually pay the card off before the payment is due. I have asked for a credit limit twice since i had the card and they never do it...wish i never applied and wasted a hard inquiry 

more ...
Apr 11, 2016
A joke
Anonymous Cardholder

Had the card one year. Only used it 3 times, paying my balance off within 2 months each time. At my 1 year review, they up and closed my account without warning, in spite of the fact that I never missed a payment. How pathetic is that?

more ...
Mar 31, 2016
Meh
yourcupoftea Cardholder

I've had this card for over 2 years already. When I first got it I would always use it to shop at AE. Pay my balance off in full, started off with $500 CL, then to $700 then finally $1,000. About a couple of months go by without using it because I had other loans to pay as any student does and then they decide to lower my limit to $250 without even letting me know. I had to pretty much find this out when I went shopping at the store and my card wouldn't go through. I've never made a late payment and always paid the account balance in full since the APR is really high. Honestly though, i'm not that upset about it since I hardly use it anyways. So whatever,

more ...
Feb 09, 2016
They suck!
Anonymous Cardholder

I was with this company for over 6 years, I received a letter in the mail telling me that they were closing my account. I have been a very good customer with this company I have spent a lot of money with them and use my card a lot and managed to pay off my balance on many occasions. Yes I may have had a few late payments over the years but I've always managed to catch up and make my late payments and pay the fines associated with it. But after 6 years to just shut down a loyal customers card, you can bet that I will never be doing business with American Eagle again.

more ...
Jan 03, 2016
Confused by payments!!
Anonymous Cardholder

Ive had their store card for well iver a year $1500 credit limit. I was late in July by accident, paid the fee soon as I realized i was late and since then my minimum payment has been $35 and i only owe a total of $64.40. I have other credit cards where my balance is well over $2k and they dont even have a minimum payment of $35. I called and was told that because i was late once they raise you minimun for a year. I read the terms and conditions over a dozen times and this is a crock, there is no such termanology in their card holder agreement. Its not the money , i can afford to pay the balance off but its the point. Im debating on gettyN attorney. Did anyone else expierance this?? Also; if i read something wrong or incorrectly please let me know. I just want to understand their theory here, thanks!!!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

American Eagle Outfitters™ Credit Card