American Eagle Outfitters Credit Card

American Eagle Outfitters Credit Card

Overall card rating

2.5
42 Reviews
from Credit Karma members

Most helpful positive review

Jan 10, 2015
I have 2!
Credit Karma Member

I have both the AE store and AE Visa credit card I applied years ago just on a whim (it was my B-day) with a CL of 2400 and 5300 respectively over time. I shop frequently at AE and though the APR is high it's what you'd usually expect out of a store credit card, right? I always pay on time and in full each month and unlike the others who have negatively reviewed this card I'll review the positives of this card. One is the rewards. If you love shopping here than that's at least a plus as you can earn a $10 coupon for every $25 spent plus a 15, 20, 30, or 40% off coupon for every dollar spent in every quarter from the year. Another is the CL increases which in the long run help your credit score. If you're fully and fiscally responsible with your credit and spending habits of course you won't run into problems and that also applies generally when you think about it. When I first applied for the store credit card I started VERY LOW at $200 but eventually into $850 and finally $2400. I made small purchases and paid them off constantly. Anything and everything will help to build an excellent credit score which in the end I've achieved in a few years. If you're impatient, don't shop AE as much, aren't responible with spending, quick to judge, or ambivalent about this card don't bother getting it. It's just like any other store credit card you can apply for. But if your into looking at the brighter side of things and try to look into the positives give it a shot. What do you have to lose if you take of things?

Helpful6
Not Helpful2
Comment0
Flag

Most helpful negative review

May 27, 2014
Hardly worth applying for
Credit Karma Member

I got my card in January and they only gave a measly $150 credit limit. Even though I paid my parlance in full monthly and have had a zero balance for the last 2 or 3 billing cycles they still haven't increased my limit. I've even been issued a card with a $4000 limit since then from a different issuer and my score has significantly increases since being issued the american eagle card. Sometimes companies need to apply some common sense to their credit processes. I would probably even do more business with them if they gave a higher limit. Oh well, I'm sure they will figure it out one day. Probably right around the time they stop outsourcing their customer service to india or Pakistan...

Helpful8
Not Helpful0
Comment0
Flag


Member ratings


All member reviews (42)

13
2
5
4
18

Jun 27, 2022
Disgusting
Credit Karma Member

Returned a garment through an American Eagle store. Cashier stated they would return the 49.95 credit on a store gift card. Charge would be taken off the American Eagle credit card. Not only did the charge never get taken off the credit card, but I was dragged around for 6 months starting in January. Every customer service rep I spoke with gave me a different story. The last CSR I spoke with in May stated the charge would be taken off and the dispute was finalized. Just today in June, I found out the dispute was never finalized, and I would need to pay back the charge on my AEO credit card. Don’t get an AEO credit card. Not worth it. Effected my credit score multiple times also.

Helpful0
Not Helpful0
Comment0
Flag

May 05, 2021
Not Worth It
Credit Karma Member

I've had this card for about 2 years, and was approved with a CL of 250. I've tried over the years to get them to increase it and they will not increase it even a little bit. The store is too expensive to really use a credit limit of 250 so I basically don't even use it now. Not worth the effort.

Helpful0
Not Helpful0
Comment0
Flag

Mar 27, 2020
They closed my account- completely!
Credit Karma Member

I had this card about 8 months. I always carried a balance, but always made my payments on time. When I received my tax return I paid off the card in full, along with other store cards. As soon as the payment hit, they closed my account for "lack of real estate", and other reasons as well. I will no longer have another card from Comenity. I paid my card off to raise my credit score (along with the others) and to lessen my debt to income ratio. Once they closed my account my credit score tanked even worse than when I had a balance. If I would of known that, I would of just carried a balance until I got approved for a home loan.

Helpful3
Not Helpful0
Comment0
Flag

Apr 24, 2019
Throwing away customers
Credit Karma Member

I opened this card with a low-average credit score and a past bankruptcy, granted a $500 limit. I used it consistently but always paid it off, never paid late and a year later they lowered my limit to $150, that's barely even usable. I had some high utilization on other cards but still no lates and my credit was better than ever. I paid off the remaining balance a couple months ago and thought nothing of it until I got a credit alert that a card had been closed. No reason when I called, apparently the underwriter just doesn't want people shopping at AE.

Helpful3
Not Helpful0
Comment1
Flag

Jan 10, 2019
I applied
Credit Karma Member

So I applied today and it did not deny but did not approve right away. I have a 650 Trans. Will I have to wait for a letter in the mail for approval or denial? Does it mean that I will be denied because I did not get an instant approval? i gave it a 1 star because i do not even have the card yet- Ill review again later IF i am approved.

Helpful0
Not Helpful0
Comment0
Flag

Dec 18, 2018
EXCELLENCE.... They gave me a chance...
Credit Karma Member

They work with people rebuilding there credit

Helpful0
Not Helpful0
Comment0
Flag

Dec 04, 2018
Great Card
Credit Karma Member

This card is great. I love American eagle also.

Helpful1
Not Helpful0
Comment0
Flag

Nov 16, 2018
Awful credit limit
Credit Karma Member

I have good credit and good income and for more than a year was only allowed $175 in credit haha. I cancelled this card today!

Helpful2
Not Helpful0
Comment1
Flag

Sep 28, 2018
Credit Karma Member

DO NOT GET THIS CARD. I just got denied a credit increase, and I have a decent credit score! My line has been ONLY $150 for over a year. Not worth it!!

Helpful0
Not Helpful0
Comment0
Flag

Sep 18, 2018
Crappy card
Credit Karma Member

I got approved with CL of 350 when my credit score was low like 580 and 6 months later they closed my account because I paid off my bill in full. Seriously screw this company I wont be shopping here or old navy as they did the same. They apparently want you to be in debt.

Helpful0
Not Helpful0
Comment0
Flag

1-10 of 42

See Approval Odds before you apply

We’ll estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. Join today — it’s free! You’ll also get:

Sign up
  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations
American Eagle Outfitters Credit Card

American Eagle Outfitters Credit Card

American Eagle Outfitters Credit Card

American Eagle Outfitters Credit Card


These ratings and reviews are provided by our users. Banks, issuers and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee this content, are not responsible for it, and may not even be aware of it.

†† The opinions you read here come from our editorial team. Credit Karma receives compensation from third-party advertisers, but that doesn’t affect our editors' opinions. Our marketing partners don’t review, approve or endorse our editorial content. It’s accurate to the best of our knowledge when it’s posted.