Amazon.com Store Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.6 out of 5 stars
83 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

2.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Oct 15, 2016
Convenient, great signup promo!
LJM07 Cardholder

Being a Prime member, I have been interested in adding this Store Card to my account since I do the majority of my online shopping at Amazon.  I was just approved for a $2100 CL with scores of EQ: 673 TU: 685 and EX 677.  No open collections or unsatisfied judgments.  A total of 12 late payments from 2 student loans from 2013 still appear on my reports.  My current credit utilization is around 5%.  The only report they pulled for the account was TransUnion (same as in April, 2015).  I had applied for this card in April 2015 but was declined at the time (scores across the 3 bureaus were in the mid 500s, with open collections and 2 judgments).  Hope this helps someone.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Feb 15, 2017
Credit destroying disaster
Anonymous Cardholder

You would think its a good idea to get an amazon card, right? Wrong. This is possibly the worst decision I made in my life. They take the money from my, very accredited, bank- then send me a letter saying the payment was "refunded by my bank." I can see the statement where the money came out, and never went back in. Call the customer service line, and in the account summary it forces you to sit through before transferring, it says my last payment was the amount that they are saying they did not receive. The customer support rep on the phone says that the payment didn't go through. I call the bank, they say that this is a KNOWN ISSUE WITH THIS RIP OFF OF A CARD, and the paper trail of the $307 taken out of my bank account, surprise surprise, leads straight to amazon. If I had one wish in the world it would be to have a time machine and go back and NEVER sign up for an amazon credit card. I think this may be more of a reflection on synchrany bank than amazon, but a multibillion dollar comapny should be set up with a better bank than some knock off joke of a credit line. That is all.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Aug 13, 2017
Convenient
Anonymous Cardholder

Statement could be more simple

more ...
Aug 01, 2017
What a scam
CoreyC84 Cardholder

Before anyone even consideres getting this card, DONT.  No matter how early you pay, if you pay the minimun balances every month or the entire balance, they will lower your available credit balance for apparently no reason other than "we have pulled your latest credit report". I've even heard stories from a few friends who used the card, paid the full balance, didnt use it for 2 months and their available amount went down due to "low usage". So unless your a cash cow for them, they dont care. The customer service is horrible. Even with a current credit score of 730, they wouldn't raise my limit back up. 

more ...
Jul 27, 2017
Worst card ever!
Anonymous Cardholder

I never use this card after I applied since I preferred to use my credit card from my bank, can't remember why I applied though. I got a bill surprisingly recently saying I owned a fee of $144, including late fee of $35. The bill had no description what that fee was for, so I called customer service. After waiting for them to transfer my call to different numbers, which took 2 hours, they told me I was enrolled in their prime subscription, but I never awared of it. They did it without my permission, then charged me a huge amount. The representatives misinformed me a lot of times, kept on giving me wrong information and not helpful. I was sure that those fees they were talking about never appeared on the website when I signed up for the card, because I checked the information very carefully before applying. After 2 hours I finally got my money back, but it affected my credit score a lot. My credit score when down more than 100 points after this, and I'm still working on the dispute process. This card is horribly managed. Do not apply for this if you don't want trouble! 

more ...
Jul 12, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

I only had the Amazon Prime card a short time.  I had a credit limit of $400.00  and paid a bill of $300.00 with a remaining balance of around $88.00.  I thought that would in turn give me avalaible credit of $300.00.  But after all my transactions had cleared and the bill payment cleared from my bank, They did not update my avaliable credit.  They brought down the blance but held back providing me with the $300 dollar credit. So was unable to use the card after the payment.  What is the point of paying your bill if you can't use your card after you pay on it ?

I ended up cancleing and gong to use another card instead.   

more ...
Jul 10, 2017
Poor customer service and polices.
Anonymous Cardholder

Take my advice choose another card.

more ...
Jun 29, 2017
WOW!!
LadyJae0817 Cardholder

I have had this card for over a year, credit limit was $900... low yes, but I order my books and things like that.. So I log on and see that they have lowered my credit limit to $650.00 WOW.. I pay on time every month most time early never and I MEAN NEVER MISSED A PAYMENT!!  Thanks a lot!!  So of course I lost some points on my credit score!!  

more ...
Jun 19, 2017
No complaints.
AJ37130 Cardholder

I've had this card almost  year with no issues. I pay my bill monthly and received an unrequested limit increase after  a few months.

more ...
Jun 09, 2017
One of the worst store cards to get.
Anonymous Cardholder

I was always on time with my payments, untill a few month later. I would always pay every two weeks on time but then after a while, It starts to reject your payments even if you have money in you bank account and end up paying more. It rejected all of my five payments to a point that they have to close my account due to *Large amounts of Rejected payments*

Honeslty, what is the point of paying something off if they keep rejecting it, i have lost over $500 worth of return fees along with "Late Fees"

more ...
Jun 07, 2017
Lowered my credit limit for no reason.
Anonymous Cardholder

I got this card to help rebuild my credit. I was very responsible with it, never missed a payment, overpaid - - well above the minimum payment and kept on top of it only to receive a letter in the mail saying they lowered my limit after randomly pulling my credit report, months after they approved me for the card with a higher limit. That inquiry into my credit and the lowering of my limit made my credit utilization higher, both affected my score negatively. I hate this card. DO NOT GET IT! As soon as I pay them off, I'm cancelling. The worst!

more ...
Jun 07, 2017
This card gives Amazon a very bad name
towe5632 Cardholder

Do not I repeat do not apply for this card. Nothing but headaches

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jun 24, 2017

your review makes no sense. it gives no insight as to why it is a headache. please be more specific

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Amazon.com Store Card