Amazon.com Store Card

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.0 out of 5 stars
98 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

3 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Oct 15, 2016
Convenient, great signup promo!
LJM07 Cardholder

Being a Prime member, I have been interested in adding this Store Card to my account since I do the majority of my online shopping at Amazon.  I was just approved for a $2100 CL with scores of EQ: 673 TU: 685 and EX 677.  No open collections or unsatisfied judgments.  A total of 12 late payments from 2 student loans from 2013 still appear on my reports.  My current credit utilization is around 5%.  The only report they pulled for the account was TransUnion (same as in April, 2015).  I had applied for this card in April 2015 but was declined at the time (scores across the 3 bureaus were in the mid 500s, with open collections and 2 judgments).  Hope this helps someone.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Feb 15, 2017
Worse decision of my life
Anonymous Cardholder

This card does not even deserve a single star. I've lost maybe 3-4 hours on the phone and online chats because of their inconvenience. I've used the same checking account every time I make a payment and they would blame my personal bank for rejecting my payments. They charged me interest and late fees on payments I've made before the due date but because they choose to reject those payments, they penalized me for it. Calling in is a waste of time because they are RUDE and when I called them out for it, they would defend themselves and refuse to transfer me to upper management. They said they've sent me letters to my home and I confirmed my address with 3-4 agents and til this day no letters ever arrive with my account information. I thought that since I order so much from Amazon, why not get the Store Card. This was the worse decision of my life! I just made my last payment to them, and I hope they don't reject this one because I am soooo done with them. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Mar 17, 2017
fluke....
Anonymous Cardholder

I have had my card for over a year and I have made all payments on time. Paid off the balance and use this card often. Recently I made a payment and noticed that they decreased my limit by 250 bucks. This made my credit to debt rating go up which forced me to pay more due to I am looking to buy a house soon I need it to report well on my credit report. I recieved no notification and if I had not checked my account that day, I would not have known. Poor customer service and day card... I think I am going to close my account and my prime account and not use Amazon anymore. 

more ...
Mar 14, 2017
Beware of the big Credit Line!
Anonymous Cardholder

They give this card with a big credit line no matter what your credit score is. I had an issue about my Walmart Credit Card which is through the same company. On top of not solving the issue with my Walmart Card (which I can't authorize and use $0 balance) they put hold on my Amazon account the other morning indicating that recent purchases made was fraud. Guess what? I haven't made any purchases through my Amazon account and this is just relatiation. Now if I want to close these three accounts, I'll almost take out $5000 of my current credit line resulting loss of credit score. So it seems that a even though you don't use a bad credit company is a bad choice.

I went ahead and cancelled and Newegg order, which again through Synchrony Bank just because they are so scary and seems impossible to work with. It seems like all their profits are from beinf a predator bank. I'm hoping to keep good relationships with banks like Citi, Chase and Discover in order to not need this particular bank ever again in my life. So bad, terrible. 

more ...
Mar 13, 2017
Signed up for the $40 promo
Anonymous Cardholder

I applied for this a few months ago with a low credit and was declined. I tried again today with fair credit 636/629 and was approved.

Cant vouch for the card as I have not used it yet.

more ...
Mar 08, 2017
Payments rejected by the bank
Gotfooled1time Cardholder

I had this card and within the first year of having it, I was told that my bank had rejected the payments I made.  Every other credit card I have had no problem with clearing their payments.  Like everyone else I sat on hold for hours on end only to end up talking to someone in India (no need to describe how that coversation went).  This card has been a complete pain in my tush.  I will never do it again.  EVER!

more ...
Mar 07, 2017
Great until you can't pay a month.
Anonymous Cardholder

35$ late fee, not so bad. Until you get to 6 months then interest is out of control on a 300 bill, They will spam your phone 7 times a day, payment arrangements. You block their number, they use new number. They only want your money, there's too many hidden fees and inaccurate statements.

more ...
Mar 01, 2017
I regret ever getting this card!
Anonymous Cardholder

Ok lets start from the top, I applied for the amazon store card because I am always ordering things from amazon. I figured making payments would be better and I could work towards my goal. Mind you I never missed a payment in my life I had good credit. The keyword is "Had" My credit score was a 748 I worked hard to get it there. My goal was to get a house, that dream is now dead. Numorous times I tried to make a payment only to receive a email stating the payment was returned by your bank. Called multiple times only to sit on hold forever just to be told it was a problem with my bank.

I would call the bank and be told it is a problem with the store card. I would mail in checks and they would take weeks to post. Even sending in payments a couple weeks before payment is due. Meanwhile they were steady taking hits at my credit with every "Late payment". My credit reports kept going from derogatory to current back and forwards. My credit score is now a 566, When I seen how far is has dropped I was so angry and hurt.

I just sent out a check to pay the account off but it most likely will not post till it's "Late" and they tac another 35 dollar late fee along with the purchase intrest. If your thinking of getting the store card to work on credit there are better ways.  

more ...
Mar 06, 2017

There has to be a way to pay this card on line instead of mailing in checks. You may not trust it but all my other cards I am able to with no issues. That way it gets paid on time every time. If you call them I'm sure they will give you a better payment method than mailing in a check which could get lost or damaged in the mail. It also takes days to get there then days to clear. Not the best method for this day and age. I still empathize with you. That would hurt me as well.

 
Mar 08, 2017

Does your bank offer bill pay? Most do and it's free. I pay all my bills using my bank's bill pay service and the payments post electronically the very next day.

 
Feb 21, 2017
First Card in over five years!
mdlgols Cardholder

This was my first approval in over five years for a card and approved for $1300, CK scores TU 654 and EQ 645.  I use amazon ALL the time so this will be a good way for me to continue rebuilding my credit as I plan to pay in full every month since I previously had everything taken out of my checking account when I purchased before.  

more ...
Feb 19, 2017
So far so good
Anonymous Cardholder

I just applied for the Amazon store card and was approved along with a $40.00 gift card. I used the Amazon store card for one purchase and the gift card for another purchase. Both purchases went through successfully. I like Amazon and all it has to offer including the Amazon Prime where I can get my puchases in two says vs almost two weeks, so I'm a pleased customer.  So far so good. 

more ...
Feb 15, 2017
Credit destroying disaster
Anonymous Cardholder

You would think its a good idea to get an amazon card, right? Wrong. This is possibly the worst decision I made in my life. They take the money from my, very accredited, bank- then send me a letter saying the payment was "refunded by my bank." I can see the statement where the money came out, and never went back in. Call the customer service line, and in the account summary it forces you to sit through before transferring, it says my last payment was the amount that they are saying they did not receive. The customer support rep on the phone says that the payment didn't go through. I call the bank, they say that this is a KNOWN ISSUE WITH THIS RIP OFF OF A CARD, and the paper trail of the $307 taken out of my bank account, surprise surprise, leads straight to amazon. If I had one wish in the world it would be to have a time machine and go back and NEVER sign up for an amazon credit card. I think this may be more of a reflection on synchrany bank than amazon, but a multibillion dollar comapny should be set up with a better bank than some knock off joke of a credit line. That is all.

more ...
Feb 15, 2017
Worse decision of my life
Anonymous Cardholder

This card does not even deserve a single star. I've lost maybe 3-4 hours on the phone and online chats because of their inconvenience. I've used the same checking account every time I make a payment and they would blame my personal bank for rejecting my payments. They charged me interest and late fees on payments I've made before the due date but because they choose to reject those payments, they penalized me for it. Calling in is a waste of time because they are RUDE and when I called them out for it, they would defend themselves and refuse to transfer me to upper management. They said they've sent me letters to my home and I confirmed my address with 3-4 agents and til this day no letters ever arrive with my account information. I thought that since I order so much from Amazon, why not get the Store Card. This was the worse decision of my life! I just made my last payment to them, and I hope they don't reject this one because I am soooo done with them. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Amazon.com Store Card