Amazon.com Store Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.6 out of 5 stars
88 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

2.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Oct 15, 2016
Convenient, great signup promo!
LJM07 Cardholder

Being a Prime member, I have been interested in adding this Store Card to my account since I do the majority of my online shopping at Amazon.  I was just approved for a $2100 CL with scores of EQ: 673 TU: 685 and EX 677.  No open collections or unsatisfied judgments.  A total of 12 late payments from 2 student loans from 2013 still appear on my reports.  My current credit utilization is around 5%.  The only report they pulled for the account was TransUnion (same as in April, 2015).  I had applied for this card in April 2015 but was declined at the time (scores across the 3 bureaus were in the mid 500s, with open collections and 2 judgments).  Hope this helps someone.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Feb 11, 2013
Denied credit increase.
Anonymous Cardholder

Crazy thing happened to me. I have a $1000 limit on my Amazon Store card. On a whim, i clicked the request credit increase... nothing happened. I got a letter in the mail today that said i was denied. The letter goes on to basically say that i was denied because "The Percentage of Times payment Greater than Amount Due over Last 12 Months" and "Maximum consecutive Months there was a balance decrease over the most recent six months". I love this card, b/c i love Amazon and it makes it easy. Can you believe i was denied because I always pay more than is due and most of the time I pay my balances in full and keep 0 balance!!! This is the craziest thing i've ever heard of... My Credit score is over 720!!! So instead of rewarding a good customer, they penalize me because they are not making enough money off me in interest. I didn't need the increase anyway, i was just curious, i really don't care, but i think the reasoning is insane.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jul 12, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

I only had the Amazon Prime card a short time.  I had a credit limit of $400.00  and paid a bill of $300.00 with a remaining balance of around $88.00.  I thought that would in turn give me avalaible credit of $300.00.  But after all my transactions had cleared and the bill payment cleared from my bank, They did not update my avaliable credit.  They brought down the blance but held back providing me with the $300 dollar credit. So was unable to use the card after the payment.  What is the point of paying your bill if you can't use your card after you pay on it ?

I ended up cancleing and gong to use another card instead.   

more ...
Jul 10, 2017
Poor customer service and polices.
Anonymous Cardholder

Take my advice choose another card.

more ...
Jun 29, 2017
WOW!!
LadyJae0817 Cardholder

I have had this card for over a year, credit limit was $900... low yes, but I order my books and things like that.. So I log on and see that they have lowered my credit limit to $650.00 WOW.. I pay on time every month most time early never and I MEAN NEVER MISSED A PAYMENT!!  Thanks a lot!!  So of course I lost some points on my credit score!!  

more ...
Jun 19, 2017
No complaints.
AJ37130 Cardholder

I've had this card almost  year with no issues. I pay my bill monthly and received an unrequested limit increase after  a few months.

more ...
Jun 09, 2017
One of the worst store cards to get.
Anonymous Cardholder

I was always on time with my payments, untill a few month later. I would always pay every two weeks on time but then after a while, It starts to reject your payments even if you have money in you bank account and end up paying more. It rejected all of my five payments to a point that they have to close my account due to *Large amounts of Rejected payments*

Honeslty, what is the point of paying something off if they keep rejecting it, i have lost over $500 worth of return fees along with "Late Fees"

more ...
Jun 07, 2017
Lowered my credit limit for no reason.
Anonymous Cardholder

I got this card to help rebuild my credit. I was very responsible with it, never missed a payment, overpaid - - well above the minimum payment and kept on top of it only to receive a letter in the mail saying they lowered my limit after randomly pulling my credit report, months after they approved me for the card with a higher limit. That inquiry into my credit and the lowering of my limit made my credit utilization higher, both affected my score negatively. I hate this card. DO NOT GET IT! As soon as I pay them off, I'm cancelling. The worst!

more ...
Jun 07, 2017
This card gives Amazon a very bad name
towe5632 Cardholder

Do not I repeat do not apply for this card. Nothing but headaches

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jun 24, 2017

your review makes no sense. it gives no insight as to why it is a headache. please be more specific

 
Jun 05, 2017
Terrible. Poorly managed
Anonymous Cardholder

Amazon is great.  Their card sucks.  The web portal is poorly designed.  The customer service is all foreign and gives WalMart / McDonalds level service.  They've lost payments, stopped paper statements without warning, stopped text alerts for payments without warning.  

more ...
May 29, 2017
Avoid this card at all costs.
byhoung Cardholder

What a scam of a company. I trusted this at first because I thought I couldn't go wrong with Amazon. I am never late on payments, but this time my bank rejected a payment because I entered the wrong information. It was partly my fault, but their website gives no notification that I was late on a payment nor did it even warn me that the payment was rejected. So I'm just living my life while this scam of a company is charging me late fees and interest charges. It wasn't until I saw my credit score lower and my credit card being declind that I realized something was wrong. Then, I call them up to get these late charges waived to find out that I had "signed up" for a security service on my account and I had to call in to cancel that service as well. Avoid this card at all costs. 

more ...
May 28, 2017
worst card
Anonymous Cardholder

amazon sent wrong product, returned the product, then amazon lowered the card limit from 1500 to 100 without warning. customer service was awful.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Amazon.com Store Card