Amazon.com Store Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.1 out of 5 stars
76 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Apr 27, 2017
Great for me!
youcanbuildit101 Cardholder

I was initially approved for the Amazon Prime Store Card with a 631 TU and a 644 EQ. 6 months later, I am at a 679 and 690, respectively. I have nothing but a good experience with this card. I have yet to need technical support as the website is easy to navigate; it's very easy to make a payment and I can see all of my statements, past balances and payments, and current information. It also keeps you updated on the balance of any products you have financed using the store card. I have called customer service once to change my address and phone number on file and the woman I spoke to was very pleasant and engaged and knew what she was doing. It was done in a few minutes and I was on my way. The card itself has a bit of a high interest rate, but I haven't carried a balance as I only use this card for financing with their 6, 12, and 24 month interest free plans. I would recommend the Amazon Prime Store Card to somebody who is looking for a way to make interest free payments on items such as tv's, cameras, mattresses, etc, as that's been my primary use and it's worked really well for me. I would not recommend the Amazon Prime Store Card to anyone who finds it hard to keep up with payments or tends to carry a balance. This card is really great for financing, but not so great for regular purchases due to it's high interest rate. Overall, I do love this card. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Feb 15, 2017
Credit destroying disaster
Anonymous Cardholder

You would think its a good idea to get an amazon card, right? Wrong. This is possibly the worst decision I made in my life. They take the money from my, very accredited, bank- then send me a letter saying the payment was "refunded by my bank." I can see the statement where the money came out, and never went back in. Call the customer service line, and in the account summary it forces you to sit through before transferring, it says my last payment was the amount that they are saying they did not receive. The customer support rep on the phone says that the payment didn't go through. I call the bank, they say that this is a KNOWN ISSUE WITH THIS RIP OFF OF A CARD, and the paper trail of the $307 taken out of my bank account, surprise surprise, leads straight to amazon. If I had one wish in the world it would be to have a time machine and go back and NEVER sign up for an amazon credit card. I think this may be more of a reflection on synchrany bank than amazon, but a multibillion dollar comapny should be set up with a better bank than some knock off joke of a credit line. That is all.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Nov 13, 2017
Horrible card
blackvishnu Cardholder

This card is horrible. I pay all my cards completely and on time - no exceptions. Yet Synchrony Bank, in the course of 7 months, managed to charge me 3 late fees for no reason at all! I tried and tried to call into their customer service and clear up the issues. No luck at all. I will never use this card again and would recommend you to steer clear of it. Just bad business.

more ...
Nov 12, 2017
So far, I love this card...
pghcraig Cardholder

Seeing a lot of bad reviews.... and hope I don't fall victim to some of the scenarios presented.  I have had the card for 4 months.... $800 CL with an TU 670 and EX 654 at the time I applied.  I also have a Banana Republic card with this bank.  They send me harassasing letters every month for the BR card saying "I agreed to sign up for electronic statements when I was approved...." (I did, I'm enrolled in them, and they send me this letter every month.)

The Amazon card is great if you regularly shop with Amazon.  0% interest financing on purchases $150 or up... 5% back on everything you buy.... and Amazon often has special offers for card holders like an additional 15% off a department or category, special selections of items with extra 15% off when you use your card, on top of the 5%.  I've saved $200 in four months with this card, so I am thirlled with that.

Will Synchrony bank nail me like some other reviewers?  Time will tell.... but Amazon offers a decent limit to start off with.  (My Synchronoy Banana Republic card that I got approved for the same day has only a $400 CL.)

Can't rate their customer service because I have not needed to call them or contact them yet.

more ...
Nov 09, 2017
Don't do it
momoftwotoo Cardholder

I have had this card for 7 years.  Perfect payment record.  I missed a payment on ANOTHER card entirely due to an oversight during a hurricaine.  Without warning Amazin reduced my credit limit to 10.00 over my balance.  That made my utilization got tp 99% on that card and dropped my credit score.  Right before Christmas too.  I usually buy 90% of my Christmas gifts but that won't happen this year!!

more ...
Oct 30, 2017
Credit impacting disaster!!!
agrimes3 Cardholder

I’ve had this card for well over a year I was 3 days late on a payment once and after that I get a notice in the mail indicating that after reviewing my account they are descreasing my credit limit to what I owe them!

This will greatly impact my credit as now my debt to credit ratio is maxed out. They ran my credit are suggesting my score is 40 points less than what TransUnion is reporting to me.  This card has been great, but not worthwhile to lower my credit score. Avoid at all costs! It unfortunate the good name of Amazon is associated with such shady practices.

more ...
Oct 27, 2017
Card randomly doesn't work
D924 Cardholder

Despite a $0 balance and a large credit limit the card continously places holds on Amazon orders. This card is a pain. 

more ...
Oct 18, 2017
awful
Anonymous Cardholder

Synchrony Bank is ridiculous

more ...
Sep 20, 2017
They closed my account!
Teavey Cardholder

I am very disgusted with Amazon right now. I went to place an order and my card was declined. I figured that I might had entered the number incorrectly so after doing it a couple of times it still didn't go through. I logged into my account to see what was going on and to my surprise MY ACCOUNT WAS CLOSED! :( I've had the card for almost a year with no issues, no problems, no late payments, or anything else. When I called them to find out what happened, they informed me that after reviewing my credit report, they determined that it was in their best interest to close the account. Now that I've been getting my old debts resolved I guess I'm starting to appear on everyone's "radar" and I'm getting dinged on a regular basis. No problem. I understand that. But I am very annoyed because I haven't had any slip-ups in the last 5 years. From the time I was issued the card to the present, I always paid my bill early and didn't carry a balance.  I don't see how that was a risk for them.

more ...
Sep 18, 2017
Customer service is a scam
abhi0206 Cardholder

Even google identifies their phone number as suspected spam callers. I have had late charges that I wasn't aware about. They charged the card for amazon prime and never billed my autopay option . Instead they charged late fees for 2-3 successive months and then called me to ask for a hefty amount. 

more ...
Sep 14, 2017
Lowered credit Limit - Messed up credit!
Anonymous Cardholder

I made one late payment (within 24 hours of due date) and they dropped my limit from $1,500 to $190. I called and even the rep said that this has been happening to "everyone" AND also mentioned that I hadn't had any late payments from me before  before. So why decrease my limit and ruin my credit showing a 67% usage? Very sketchy and not worthy of being associated with Amazon! 

more ...
Sep 14, 2017
Decreased Credit - Messed up my credit!

I am someone who is very responsible with payments. The ONE time I missed a payment (made it within 24 hours) and I went from having a an $1,500 limit to a $200 limit! The rep on the phone even said "Yeah you haven't missed any payments in the year" So why decrease my credit???? Insane! I have never heard of this before! This is a sketchy card and shouldn't be associated with Amazons reputation! 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Amazon.com Store Card