Amazon.com Store Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.8 out of 5 stars
91 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

3 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jun 26, 2013
Great Product!
JWag12787 Cardholder

I have a Very Poor (557) score on CreditKarma due to student loans, my Capital One Secured CC, and tons of delinquent balances.  While I am working on paying these off, I have had a very impossible time with credit.  Amazon gave me a great opportunity!  They allow for me to have an $800 Credit Limit [more than enough for what I usually get at any point in time.  Just buy one or two things (or xmas shopping), pay off with extra money every check, and repeat].

The only flaw is there is no place that shows me what day the payment will be due, or how much the payment would be.  [minimum]

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Feb 11, 2013
Denied credit increase.
Anonymous Cardholder

Crazy thing happened to me. I have a $1000 limit on my Amazon Store card. On a whim, i clicked the request credit increase... nothing happened. I got a letter in the mail today that said i was denied. The letter goes on to basically say that i was denied because "The Percentage of Times payment Greater than Amount Due over Last 12 Months" and "Maximum consecutive Months there was a balance decrease over the most recent six months". I love this card, b/c i love Amazon and it makes it easy. Can you believe i was denied because I always pay more than is due and most of the time I pay my balances in full and keep 0 balance!!! This is the craziest thing i've ever heard of... My Credit score is over 720!!! So instead of rewarding a good customer, they penalize me because they are not making enough money off me in interest. I didn't need the increase anyway, i was just curious, i really don't care, but i think the reasoning is insane.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

May 18, 2017
Scam. Would award no score.
Corpscopp Cardholder

They pitch you saving but so many restrictions and no, you do not get a discount on your first order.  Bald face lie.  You might get a discount on a later transaction, but they lie about saving on the first transaction.

then, if you do not use it enough according to their idea of how often that is,  which is NOT what they lead you to believe, they will unilaterally inform you they are cancelling the account with no effort to allow you to keep it active, which will affect your credit score.

filing review request if what I believe is fraudulent practices, Bureau of Federal Consumer Financial Protection, 1700 G Street, Washington, DC, 20006.

more ...
May 09, 2017
Just an awful card.
davmar71 Cardholder

I had the card until today.  Just an awful card.. Sure you get a discount using it on Amazon.  But it comes with NO other typical benefits and it's not a credit card. It has no purchase protection of any type.  Their customer service is awful.  I was talking to them today and mentioned purchase protection and the idiot said.. we're a bank.. we don't offer that.  I told him Chase is a bank too and their card  albeit a credit card has many benefits.   Amazon should be embarassed promoting this card.. I  changed from using my Chase Freedom card to the Amazon card.. and of course bought a Chainsaw.. stolen 5 days after delivery and nneither Amazon Prime or Amazon Store Card have any kind of purchase protection.  Stupid me.. should have stuck with Chase.. I love that card.  

more ...
Apr 27, 2017
Great for me!

I was initially approved for the Amazon Prime Store Card with a 631 TU and a 644 EQ. 6 months later, I am at a 679 and 690, respectively. I have nothing but a good experience with this card. I have yet to need technical support as the website is easy to navigate; it's very easy to make a payment and I can see all of my statements, past balances and payments, and current information. It also keeps you updated on the balance of any products you have financed using the store card. I have called customer service once to change my address and phone number on file and the woman I spoke to was very pleasant and engaged and knew what she was doing. It was done in a few minutes and I was on my way. The card itself has a bit of a high interest rate, but I haven't carried a balance as I only use this card for financing with their 6, 12, and 24 month interest free plans. I would recommend the Amazon Prime Store Card to somebody who is looking for a way to make interest free payments on items such as tv's, cameras, mattresses, etc, as that's been my primary use and it's worked really well for me. I would not recommend the Amazon Prime Store Card to anyone who finds it hard to keep up with payments or tends to carry a balance. This card is really great for financing, but not so great for regular purchases due to it's high interest rate. Overall, I do love this card. 

more ...
Apr 25, 2017
Horrible Beware !
Anonymous Cardholder

My credit is prestine, never late on a payment. I had this card a year, made a large purchase and paid it off a few months ago.  I then waited a few months and decided to make another large purchase, Only to find my purchase with the amazon card declined. To my shocked, Amazon had lowered my credit limit with no warning to $100.00! I've been an Amazon customer for years, literally spent a very large amount of money with them. I decided to give their credit card a go after seeing an offer for a gift card as I checked out one day, I figured why not ? Horrible mistake! I'm sure that many will find this story hard to believe- thinking he was late so they cut him. Investigate this issue before you agree to take out an Amazon card- I am certainly by no means the only one with this issue. I will never shop at Amazon again, I am also cancelling prime. Loyalty means nothing, any company that operates in this manner does not have the customer at heart. 

more ...
Apr 20, 2017
terrible customer service
Anonymous Cardholder

The phone prompts to get help are terrible and if you ever get an operator they are hard to understand. Wasted too much time and made me very angry. Overall I have had fair experiences with Amazon - the service for the card was not fair. No sure I will use the card again. 

more ...
Apr 14, 2017
Absolutely TERRIBLE!
viper1685 Cardholder

I've had this card for a couple of years now and after missing one payment by 3 days they reduced my credit limit by $300. Not to mention whenever you call them, good luck getting someone that speaks English and is competent enough to do anything other than read a screen. I cleared the cookies on my PC and tried logging into my account and it wanted to send me verification. The number on file was a google voice number which accepts texts and every online account I use this number never fails me. Well Syncrony couldn't use it and made me call in. So I did. Verified my new cell number and I was transferred to someone who would walk me through the login process. He gets on the phone I have to verify everything again, guess what, the new number isn't showing up, but some other random number is. I advise him of the change and he transfers me to another rep. I AGAIN have to verify my information. He asks me what my cell number is...again and tells me that I can't use that number because it isn't verified. End result, they will mail me a letter with a verification code that I should receive in 7-10 business days. I understand security but this is absolutely obsurd. I am on the phone verifying everything about myself, Social, Birthday, Address, Credit Card Number...give me a **** break.

This bank is utter BS. Designed to help less than perfect applicants obtain credit, bone you with high interest, then basically tell you to screw off. 6 people I talked to just to try and get into my account, and I still have to wait 2 weeks to get in because of this crap. I'm ready to cut the card up, cancel it, and tell the bank to take a hike. DON'T GET THIS CARD!

more ...
Apr 12, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

Never missed a payment, maintained the credit limit they issued me but when I paid it off, they lowered the limit to practically nothing. What a slap in the face and a loss for Amazon. I will never purchase there again as long as they support this bank.

more ...
Apr 11, 2017
They aim to ruin your credit!
leaheileen Cardholder

Kept small balance. Always paid more than minimum due and often paid off balance. Each 6 months they would lower limit to just what I had paid off! This makes it look like you are using a higher percentage of your credit! DO NOT USE THIS BANK!!

I am in process of canceling my usage of Amazon completely bc of this. 

more ...
Apr 09, 2017
Shamed on Amazon for peddling this
Anonymous Cardholder

Amazon should be ashamed of peddling this product to the customers. No business should dilute the customer trust with this shady bank.

1) They don't show deferrer payments amount intentionally in the total amount due. Setting up customers for mistakes and charges. I repeat, this is done intentionally. When I asked costumer service why, they have they said we want you to do the "legwork".

2) They don't tell you that you have to pay $25 min from the deferred amount. Again, to trip you into charges.

3) They do a hard credit inquiry lowering your score.

4) The customer service in India and USA is the worse I have encountered. They don't solve any issues, just listen to you problems. The customer service in India doesn't even understand what are you talking about.

5) The website is sub-par, hard to navigate and find information.

6) They don't accept direct electronic payments from other banks and tell you to mail the check four days before the due charges. This is done intentionally to trip you into charges.

I am in the process or quiting the bank, surely will expand the list.

Shame on Amazon!

more ...
Apr 09, 2017
Shamed on Amazon for peddling this
Anonymous Cardholder

Amazon should be ashamed of peddling this product to the customers. No business should dilute the customer trust with this shady bank.

1) They don't show deferrer payments amount intentionally in the total amount due. Setting up customers for mistakes and charges. I repeat, this is done intentionally. When I asked costumer service why, they have they said we want you to do the "legwork".

2) They don't tell you that you have to pay $25 min from the deferred amount. Again, to trip you into charges.

3) They do a hard credit inquiry lowering your score.

4) The customer service in India and USA is the worse I have encountered. They don't solve any issues, just listen to you problems. The customer service in India doesn't even understand what are you talking about.

5) The website is sub-par, hard to navigate and find information.

6) They don't accept direct electronic payments from other banks and tell you to mail the check four days before the due charges. This is done intentionally to trip you into charges.

I am in the process or quiting the bank, surely will expand the list.

Shame on Amazon!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Amazon.com Store Card