Amazon.com Store Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

1.6 out of 5 stars
25 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

1.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Mar 05, 2019
Instantly approved
Slimshack Cardholder

I was instantly approved with a generous credit limit of $2400 given that I have very limited credit history. So far its been great. APR is a little bit high but I pay the card off each month and have already gotten $15 cashback within the first month. 5% cashback is amazing for anyone who regularly shops amazon!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Nov 21, 2018
Hard to get CLIs
AmberRosieOcana Cardholder

I’ve had this card over a year now, I try to pay it off each month, and if not I have always paid on time and never pay the minimum.  I have tried twice to increase my credit limit and was denied both times.  I have other store cards through Synchrony and have received random increases on those, without asking.  Not this one though, and it’s frustrating.  If it wouldn’t hurt my score, I would just close the card and be done with it.  

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Sep 17, 2019
Lowered limit!!
AdriCW Cardholder

I used this credit regularly for all of my Amazon purchases for 1-2 years (and always had paid automatically in full so never late) until we switched to another credit card which gave us better points. I haven’t used the Amazon card for several months and just saw that they LOWERED my limit which dinged my credit score!! Will be closing this card ASAP.

more ...
Sep 15, 2019
Absolute nightmare
JKJ86 Cardholder

Cannot login to pay my bill and the support does nothing but says that they will note my complaint. Cannot login as it comes up with an error when attempting to do so. Cannot reset password or anything else as those functions also result in errors. I am a software developer and this is outrageous that their quality level is so poor that their site cannot handle errors properly and people can't pay their bills!

more ...
Aug 07, 2019
Joanneb11 Cardholder

I have never been late on a payment and have had this card for several years but after I complained about some questionable charges on my card within a few days my credit line was decreased., with no explanation. I do not recommend this card

more ...
Jul 25, 2019
Using this card is a nightmare
CreditChuring Cardholder

I got this card to check it out and the online wesite is so bad I put $14 on this card of my $3400 paided it off and am canceling.

more ...
Jul 15, 2019
UNSPEAKABLE. ILLEGAL.
namelessshnook Cardholder

I have SYNCHRONY bank Amazon Card. There are other Amazon cards like Chase. Sky high interest on Synchrony card, though I have excellent credit. Because of this I would use my other Amazon card from Chase, with medium interest and more customer friendly service in every way. It kept defaulting to Synchrony though I learned not to trust this bank. It's even hard to log on and pay bills. As for the Synchrony Amazon card, I stopped getting on line notices or any bills in the mail four months ago,  but get monothly DEMANDS FOR PAYMENT AFTER THE FACT and all with monthly late fees $35. THIS IS A GOUGE. Why would I ignore my mail for four months, and at the same time received ZERO on line timely reminders to pay, only late fees and dunning letters? NONE OF THIS IS ACCIDENTAL- and all of it is illegal. They need to be reported. Person on the phone was not bad but her hands were tied. I don't blame her but she works for monsters! Again I have excellent credit. I have crappy interface with Synchrony bank on other cards and I highly recommend against them. EXTREMELY USER HOSTILE OR EVEN ILLEGAL. AVOID. They belong in jail!

more ...
Jun 19, 2019
LOL Okay, Amazon.
gena23smith Cardholder

I have a 734 credit score, and a $200 credit limit that they absolutely will not increase. I've had the card for a couple years. This card is a joke. Not even worth the 5% cash back if I can't even use it for all my Amazon purchases.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Aug 05, 2019

Want a high limit put a 2000 item in your shoping cart then call them tell them what you need a credit limit increase for tell them its in your shoping cart and they will approve it on the spot then just delete it from your cart...ive done this 2 times and my card is 6 months old and i started with a 600 limit not my limit is 5500

 
Jun 17, 2019
Steal money
msd1983 Cardholder

Puts in there account then takes forever to refund they are lost on a question asked of them

more ...
May 01, 2019
High interest store card
Leeie Cardholder

I opened up an Amazon store card & used it a couple of times, paying the balance off in full each time. It had a zero balance and because I had a high credit score, and the card was only open 2 years I decided to close the account. However I come to find out that they never close that account, and instead lowered my credit line! As a result of lowering my credit line my Experian credit score decreased! Obviously I was upset at this and had to call Amazon back and request closure again into reverse their lowered credit line. She didn't know if it was possible, I did not want to keep the Amazon store card open because it would only be a matter of time before they would lower my credit line again due to lack of use, which would it lower my credit score again! She said it was their policy the lower credit lines when cards are not used even if it was paid on in full and on time. This is a terrible policy that Amazon has for their store card for responsible customers!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jul 03, 2019

By law, if you request the closure of a credit based account, it must be closed.

 
Apr 27, 2019
When was my account closed?
BubbleDaTee Cardholder

I just paid my card off 1 month ago. Never had NSF or missed a payment. I went to buy something on the site & it kept telling me the payment was declined. Well I check my online account & it says this account is closed please pay off the balance in full. I had/have no balance.

more ...
Apr 23, 2019
This card will lower your credit score!
LauRol Cardholder

Do not get this card. It works similar to Fingerhut. As long as you are using it 85%-100% they will raise your limit. If you try to pay it off or keep it around 30% to keep your credit good, they will DECREASE your credit limit to the exact amount you owe which will drasticly decrease your credit score causing other cards to raise your interest rates! Customer service reps do not speak English. They are in India and always have a bad connection.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jul 03, 2019

There is no evidence to support your claim, especially the comparison to Fingerhut. You are just guestimating about the card type because you are frustrated.

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations
 

Amazon.com Store Card