Amazon.com Store Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.2 out of 5 stars
80 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

2 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Oct 15, 2016
Convenient, great signup promo!
LJM07 Cardholder

Being a Prime member, I have been interested in adding this Store Card to my account since I do the majority of my online shopping at Amazon.  I was just approved for a $2100 CL with scores of EQ: 673 TU: 685 and EX 677.  No open collections or unsatisfied judgments.  A total of 12 late payments from 2 student loans from 2013 still appear on my reports.  My current credit utilization is around 5%.  The only report they pulled for the account was TransUnion (same as in April, 2015).  I had applied for this card in April 2015 but was declined at the time (scores across the 3 bureaus were in the mid 500s, with open collections and 2 judgments).  Hope this helps someone.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Feb 15, 2017
Credit destroying disaster
Anonymous Cardholder

You would think its a good idea to get an amazon card, right? Wrong. This is possibly the worst decision I made in my life. They take the money from my, very accredited, bank- then send me a letter saying the payment was "refunded by my bank." I can see the statement where the money came out, and never went back in. Call the customer service line, and in the account summary it forces you to sit through before transferring, it says my last payment was the amount that they are saying they did not receive. The customer support rep on the phone says that the payment didn't go through. I call the bank, they say that this is a KNOWN ISSUE WITH THIS RIP OFF OF A CARD, and the paper trail of the $307 taken out of my bank account, surprise surprise, leads straight to amazon. If I had one wish in the world it would be to have a time machine and go back and NEVER sign up for an amazon credit card. I think this may be more of a reflection on synchrany bank than amazon, but a multibillion dollar comapny should be set up with a better bank than some knock off joke of a credit line. That is all.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Sep 20, 2017
They closed my account!
Teavey Cardholder

I am very disgusted with Amazon right now. I went to place an order and my card was declined. I figured that I might had entered the number incorrectly so after doing it a couple of times it still didn't go through. I logged into my account to see what was going on and to my surprise MY ACCOUNT WAS CLOSED! :( I've had the card for almost a year with no issues, no problems, no late payments, or anything else. When I called them to find out what happened, they informed me that after reviewing my credit report, they determined that it was in their best interest to close the account. Now that I've been getting my old debts resolved I guess I'm starting to appear on everyone's "radar" and I'm getting dinged on a regular basis. No problem. I understand that. But I am very annoyed because I haven't had any slip-ups in the last 5 years. From the time I was issued the card to the present, I always paid my bill early and didn't carry a balance.  I don't see how that was a risk for them.

more ...
Sep 18, 2017
Customer service is a scam
abhi0206 Cardholder

Even google identifies their phone number as suspected spam callers. I have had late charges that I wasn't aware about. They charged the card for amazon prime and never billed my autopay option . Instead they charged late fees for 2-3 successive months and then called me to ask for a hefty amount. 

more ...
Sep 14, 2017
Lowered credit Limit - Messed up credit!
Anonymous Cardholder

I made one late payment (within 24 hours of due date) and they dropped my limit from $1,500 to $190. I called and even the rep said that this has been happening to "everyone" AND also mentioned that I hadn't had any late payments from me before  before. So why decrease my limit and ruin my credit showing a 67% usage? Very sketchy and not worthy of being associated with Amazon! 

more ...
Sep 14, 2017
Decreased Credit - Messed up my credit!

I am someone who is very responsible with payments. The ONE time I missed a payment (made it within 24 hours) and I went from having a an $1,500 limit to a $200 limit! The rep on the phone even said "Yeah you haven't missed any payments in the year" So why decrease my credit???? Insane! I have never heard of this before! This is a sketchy card and shouldn't be associated with Amazons reputation! 

more ...
Sep 14, 2017
This "bank" (Synchrony) world's worst.
Rallyhat Cardholder

Incompetent at best; more likely fraudulent.  Do NOT get involved with this card.

more ...
Sep 13, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

My credit score went down a year ago and they lowered my credit limit less than my balance which made my score go lower. I didn't close it then but should have!! I just paid 1/2 of it off and they lowered my limit again! Score is same. Was given excuses from someone who could barely speak English. Closed card and he said "fine". Will pay off on payday and never buy from amazon again. 

more ...
Sep 06, 2017
SHOULD BE CALLED 'SUB-PRIME" CARD
Anonymous Cardholder

AMAZON SHOULD BE HELD PERSONALLY RESPONSIBLE FOR THE INCOMPETENCE OF ALLOWING PITIFUL SYNCHRONY BANK WHO CLOSED MY PRIME CARD DUE TO A LOWER FICO SCORE. ALWAYS ON TIME NEVER LATE ZERO BALANCE. LOYAL LONG TIME CUSTOMER AT AMAZON AND THEY DONT CARE. NEVER WILL I BUY ANYTHING FROM AMAZON AGAIN BECAUSE SYCHRONY DIDNT WANT TO REFUND MY FULL MEMBERSHIP PAID EITHER. SONG AND A DANCE FOR EVERYTHING. SAD SAD  

more ...
Aug 24, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

Terrible customer service. Takes 3 weeks just to change your telephone number because they have you verify your identity through archaic mailing instead of simply through email. 

more ...
Aug 23, 2017
Customer Service is a nightmare
Anonymous Cardholder

They made an error on my account and said I could no longer receive the 5% back because I wasn't a prime member (I was).   Multiple phone calls ended in them starting an "investigation."   The upshot was that I had to fill out paperwork, mail it in, etc. when the error was theirs.  I wouldn't bother with them. 

more ...
Aug 22, 2017
Lowered Credit Limit Without Warning
Aceflyer001 Cardholder

BEWARE!  I paid on time and when I paid it down, they reduced my credit limit without warning or cause.  My credit score is higher now than when I applied, so it makes no sense.  The end result of doing this right before a statement cut is it now shows my utilization ratio at 98%.  Although perhaps lega, it is very unethical!!  I called "customer service" and asked why my credit limit was reduced, spoke with Michelle (Employee ID 6054).  She said they don't handle that and I would be transferred....right into the "Old Navy" card services department.  WOW!  BAD in so many ways!!!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Amazon.com Store Card