Amazon.com Store Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

1.8 out of 5 stars
29 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jun 27, 2018
No real problems but slow CLIs.
MoshaNJ Cardholder

I applied for this card in November 2016 with credit scores in the 580s. I was approved for a CL of $400. Over time, I used this card and others very sparingly and responsibly and paid off my balances on time, every month. I received a CLI to $700 about nine or ten months later and then to $1200 about three months after that. I had racked up an $1100 balance and was paying it off over time. I would pay down some and order some and eventually paid down the entire balance (I ahd a high balance of $1158--almost maxed). I kept my balance at $0 for several months--I would still place orders on Amazon but I would pay them before the statement was due--and then I was given an additional jump of $2k to bring my CL to $3200. I have never really had a problem with them. I don't particularly care for their customer service but I don't have to use them much. Again, no real problems but they are very slow to give credit limit increases. My scores are now in the 690s and low 700s and even when I went in and asked for CLI through their site, I was often denied for very random reasons like my balances are too high in relation to my current income--this was the reason when my credit usage was at about 15-20% and had been for months. I like the 5% statement credit/cash back on purchases and the 0% interest on purchases over $150 paid within six months. I'm not two years in yet but so far it hasn't been a terrible experience.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Sep 13, 2018
Horrid
pugbutter Cardholder

Not sure what to say. I was approved a year ago for $1,000. Never got even close to the limit and paid the balance within a few months. Shortly after, they closed the account without notice and my credit score dropped 45 points. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

May 01, 2019
High interest store card
Leeie Cardholder

I opened up an Amazon store card & used it a couple of times, paying the balance off in full each time. It had a zero balance and because I had a high credit score, and the card was only open 2 years I decided to close the account. However I come to find out that they never close that account, and instead lowered my credit line! As a result of lowering my credit line my Experian credit score decreased! Obviously I was upset at this and had to call Amazon back and request closure again into reverse their lowered credit line. She didn't know if it was possible, I did not want to keep the Amazon store card open because it would only be a matter of time before they would lower my credit line again due to lack of use, which would it lower my credit score again! She said it was their policy the lower credit lines when cards are not used even if it was paid on in full and on time. This is a terrible policy that Amazon has for their store card for responsible customers!

more ...
Apr 27, 2019
When was my account closed?
BubbleDaTee Cardholder

I just paid my card off 1 month ago. Never had NSF or missed a payment. I went to buy something on the site & it kept telling me the payment was declined. Well I check my online account & it says this account is closed please pay off the balance in full. I had/have no balance.

more ...
Apr 23, 2019
This card will lower your credit score!
LauRol Cardholder

Do not get this card. It works similar to Fingerhut. As long as you are using it 85%-100% they will raise your limit. If you try to pay it off or keep it around 30% to keep your credit good, they will DECREASE your credit limit to the exact amount you owe which will drasticly decrease your credit score causing other cards to raise your interest rates! Customer service reps do not speak English. They are in India and always have a bad connection.

more ...
Apr 15, 2019
Awful!!
CreditNewbz Cardholder

I am THISCLOSE to just closing this card, although I hear that's not ideal for my credit. The interest is SO ridiculously high. When I was approved I was making more money and was able to pay larger amounts on the balance of about $800, since then my financial situation has changed which has caused me to be able to pay just over the minimum amount each month but the interest racks up so much that I have accrued more of a balance than paid it down. I am SO fed up. I guess I should have researched this card more before applying. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
May 07, 2019

So let me get this straight. Your financial situation changed which resulted in you not being able to make decent payments like you used to. How is this Amazon's fault that you cannot pay your balance?

 
Mar 05, 2019
Instantly approved
Slimshack Cardholder

I was instantly approved with a generous credit limit of $2400 given that I have very limited credit history. So far its been great. APR is a little bit high but I pay the card off each month and have already gotten $15 cashback within the first month. 5% cashback is amazing for anyone who regularly shops amazon!

more ...
Feb 22, 2019
I'm feel so sad
Teabo Cardholder

I have had my card for 5 years never late and never missed a payment in November 2018 they dropped my limit by 800 some dollers then today Feb 22 2019 they dropped another 150 my score took a massive hit I called them crying my eyes out side I am a good customer never missed anything you know they wouldn't fix it said it was because of a deragatory mark and old power bill for 200 that by the way I just paid I'n full and is know longer even on my credit report and had absolutely nothing to do with them or how I make my payments again never late never missed my wife needs surgery and I can't even apply for the loan for her sugery because of what Amazon done to my score God forgive them

more ...
Jan 25, 2019
Decent while I had it.
Daniel2420 Cardholder

Had this card for roughly 11 months. For some reason they closed my account and wouldnt give me a reason. They said I would receive a letter within 7-10 days with a reason why they cancelled it. I have not received that letter yet. I always kept it paid off. It was never maxed out. I have never missed a payment and if anything i paid double my minimum payment always. Just had it to help out my credit and that was it. I have 5 credit cards and never missed a payment on them either. I keep balances low and make good money.

more ...
Jan 16, 2019
Ripoff
Southside025 Cardholder

I got an Amazon Store card a month ago, ordered a couple of items which I had to return.  The return process was flawless; I had my "refund" as soon as item was scanned at the post office.

What angered me (I have canceled the card) is that the refund for those items goes on a gift card.  I had to pay the $100 credit card balance, but will now have to "work off" the credit on the gift card.  I think that's a ripoff.  What if you don't pay the whole balance?  You get charged interest on your balance even though you're received a complete refund for the item.  

I don't know about or care about rewards.  I only got the card for the $10 credit on my first order. 

more ...
Jan 03, 2019
Auto Closed My Account
CPH0826 Cardholder

Received a Credit Karma alert that my account was closed! I had auto payments set up for a year. There was a mix up in my bank transactions. After just 2 NSF in a year, they will close your account! Of course, you know that is in the fine prints. They could've just called to have me take care of it another way, but instead they just close your account. This is just wrong and horrible customer service, as it negatively affects loyal customers. I loved using my store card & my prime membership together. This really sucks, so beware! 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations
 

Amazon.com Store Card