Amazon.com Store Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

1.7 out of 5 stars
27 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

1.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Mar 05, 2019
Instantly approved
Slimshack Cardholder

I was instantly approved with a generous credit limit of $2400 given that I have very limited credit history. So far its been great. APR is a little bit high but I pay the card off each month and have already gotten $15 cashback within the first month. 5% cashback is amazing for anyone who regularly shops amazon!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Sep 13, 2018
Horrid
pugbutter Cardholder

Not sure what to say. I was approved a year ago for $1,000. Never got even close to the limit and paid the balance within a few months. Shortly after, they closed the account without notice and my credit score dropped 45 points. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jul 15, 2019
UNSPEAKABLE. ILLEGAL.
namelessshnook Cardholder

I have SYNCHRONY bank Amazon Card. There are other Amazon cards like Chase. Sky high interest on Synchrony card, though I have excellent credit. Because of this I would use my other Amazon card from Chase, with medium interest and more customer friendly service in every way. It kept defaulting to Synchrony though I learned not to trust this bank. It's even hard to log on and pay bills. As for the Synchrony Amazon card, I stopped getting on line notices or any bills in the mail four months ago,  but get monothly DEMANDS FOR PAYMENT AFTER THE FACT and all with monthly late fees $35. THIS IS A GOUGE. Why would I ignore my mail for four months, and at the same time received ZERO on line timely reminders to pay, only late fees and dunning letters? NONE OF THIS IS ACCIDENTAL- and all of it is illegal. They need to be reported. Person on the phone was not bad but her hands were tied. I don't blame her but she works for monsters! Again I have excellent credit. I have crappy interface with Synchrony bank on other cards and I highly recommend against them. EXTREMELY USER HOSTILE OR EVEN ILLEGAL. AVOID. They belong in jail!

more ...
Jun 19, 2019
LOL Okay, Amazon.
gena23smith Cardholder

I have a 734 credit score, and a $200 credit limit that they absolutely will not increase. I've had the card for a couple years. This card is a joke. Not even worth the 5% cash back if I can't even use it for all my Amazon purchases.

more ...
Jun 17, 2019
Steal money
msd1983 Cardholder

Puts in there account then takes forever to refund they are lost on a question asked of them

more ...
May 01, 2019
High interest store card
Leeie Cardholder

I opened up an Amazon store card & used it a couple of times, paying the balance off in full each time. It had a zero balance and because I had a high credit score, and the card was only open 2 years I decided to close the account. However I come to find out that they never close that account, and instead lowered my credit line! As a result of lowering my credit line my Experian credit score decreased! Obviously I was upset at this and had to call Amazon back and request closure again into reverse their lowered credit line. She didn't know if it was possible, I did not want to keep the Amazon store card open because it would only be a matter of time before they would lower my credit line again due to lack of use, which would it lower my credit score again! She said it was their policy the lower credit lines when cards are not used even if it was paid on in full and on time. This is a terrible policy that Amazon has for their store card for responsible customers!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jul 03, 2019

By law, if you request the closure of a credit based account, it must be closed.

 
Apr 27, 2019
When was my account closed?
BubbleDaTee Cardholder

I just paid my card off 1 month ago. Never had NSF or missed a payment. I went to buy something on the site & it kept telling me the payment was declined. Well I check my online account & it says this account is closed please pay off the balance in full. I had/have no balance.

more ...
Apr 23, 2019
This card will lower your credit score!
LauRol Cardholder

Do not get this card. It works similar to Fingerhut. As long as you are using it 85%-100% they will raise your limit. If you try to pay it off or keep it around 30% to keep your credit good, they will DECREASE your credit limit to the exact amount you owe which will drasticly decrease your credit score causing other cards to raise your interest rates! Customer service reps do not speak English. They are in India and always have a bad connection.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jul 03, 2019

There is no evidence to support your claim, especially the comparison to Fingerhut. You are just guestimating about the card type because you are frustrated.

 
Apr 15, 2019
Awful!!
CreditNewbz Cardholder

I am THISCLOSE to just closing this card, although I hear that's not ideal for my credit. The interest is SO ridiculously high. When I was approved I was making more money and was able to pay larger amounts on the balance of about $800, since then my financial situation has changed which has caused me to be able to pay just over the minimum amount each month but the interest racks up so much that I have accrued more of a balance than paid it down. I am SO fed up. I guess I should have researched this card more before applying. 

more ...
May 07, 2019

So let me get this straight. Your financial situation changed which resulted in you not being able to make decent payments like you used to. How is this Amazon's fault that you cannot pay your balance?

 
Jul 03, 2019

I think you may be displacing blame on the card instead of looking for a solution to make regular payments per its terms and eventually pay it off,

 
Mar 05, 2019
Instantly approved
Slimshack Cardholder

I was instantly approved with a generous credit limit of $2400 given that I have very limited credit history. So far its been great. APR is a little bit high but I pay the card off each month and have already gotten $15 cashback within the first month. 5% cashback is amazing for anyone who regularly shops amazon!

more ...
Feb 22, 2019
I'm feel so sad
Teabo Cardholder

I have had my card for 5 years never late and never missed a payment in November 2018 they dropped my limit by 800 some dollers then today Feb 22 2019 they dropped another 150 my score took a massive hit I called them crying my eyes out side I am a good customer never missed anything you know they wouldn't fix it said it was because of a deragatory mark and old power bill for 200 that by the way I just paid I'n full and is know longer even on my credit report and had absolutely nothing to do with them or how I make my payments again never late never missed my wife needs surgery and I can't even apply for the loan for her sugery because of what Amazon done to my score God forgive them

more ...
Jun 28, 2019

Omg that is so sad 😞 god bless you and your heart.

 
Jul 03, 2019

Credit scores do not become lower due to changes in credit limits. They become lower because of the ratio of credit available to credit already used.

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations
 

Amazon.com Store Card