Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Amazon.com Store Card

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.2 out of 5 stars
96 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

3 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Feb 12, 2016
Use it correctly and works great!
Anonymous Cardholder

I applied with a pretty low cs of 568 I got approved for a 1900 limit. If you make your purchase amount over $149, you will have 6 months of no interest. So when you need to purchase make sure you purchase a few items that you will need to hit that 149 amount, and that will give you six months to pay that off with no interest. It's worked wonders for me especially just buy household items in bulk like paper towels and toiletries. Just make sure you pay that balance before the 6 months because the interest accumulates every month and by the end of the six months you will pay all the back interest. Also if you purchase anything under 149 make sure that full balance is paid off by your next statement ALONG with the minimum payment due or they will hit you with interest charges for that purchase you made under the 149. Yes the card has a very steep interest rates but if you plan well and budget and do it this way, you will never pay interest.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jul 30, 2016
Synchrony closed my account after 2 days
SynchronySucks Cardholder

With a score of 730-740 I got instantly approved with 4k credit line. Two days later they closed account without notice and customer service is unable to give me the reason for it, leaving me with a dip in credit score from hard credit check. While rewards seem good, Synchrony is the worst bank I've dealt with.
 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jan 09, 2017
Absolute scam artists
DaveinLC Cardholder

I lost my job and went 59 days past due.  I got money to make a payment and did so on the 60th day I made a payment and per the REGISTERED letter they sent my account would not be closed if I made a payment by close of business the 23rd.  I made a payment (for more than thay had required) and my account was open... they closed my account anyway.  I then got an email from them 2 days later (surprise surprise happy Christmas) so I looked at my payment history and the payment I had made 2 days prior was missing.  I then scheduled another payment for over $400, only to have the first payment withdraw from my bank the next morning.  I attempted to cancel the second payment but 'it could not be done' by the rep that I spoke with.  They then tell me it will take 2-3 weeks to MAIL a check back to me.  I was also assured that the 'back office' would reopen my account.  I later found out that because of the holidays it would take 3-4 weeks and once an account is closed it cannot be reopened.   Their customer service is garbage WORSE than Comcast, they lie and pawn off responsibility to 'problemed customers' to the "back office".  I record all my phone calls and have saved all my chat sessionswith these scam artists.  

more ...
Jan 05, 2017
HORRIBLE customer service!
Jcoec3 Cardholder

1 star because 0 stars was not an option. I had to simmer for an hour or two before i decided to write this review. I made the MISTAKE of applying for an amazon store card BEFORE i read the reviews. The problem seemed to stem from synchrony bank and their customer service. I then contacted amazon and told them i meant to sign up for a rewards card, not this one and i addressed my concerns as to why i want to switch it up. They told me i'd have to contact synchrony bank directly. Reluctantly, i agreed. So, after work i called the bank and this girl answered with a nasty attitude almost immediately. I was having a hard time hearing her because i was walking to my car in a crowded parking lot and when i asked her to repeat the question she gave me a huge attitude about it. I work in a corporate call center myself as a manager and i strive for customer service and being attentive on the phone and i'm pretty easy going because i know what people in customer service job types go through on a regular basis. I gave this girl 3 chances before i went off on her. Her condescending attitude made me feel as if i, a very loyal amazon customer, was inconveniecing her. Never in my life have i ever been so insulted by someone who seemingly did not care when i told her i was upset, which caused me to then tell her what i thought of the bank as a whole. I definitely didn't want to give her or the company the assumption that you can talk to customers any type of way that you like and get away with it. I called amazon immediately after to address that there seems to be some sort of disconnect between them and synchrony because amazon has great customer service. All they told me was that they were going to relay my feedback to them, and i told them i'd be writing a review as well. SYNCHRONY BANK is the problem and they should fire their whole customer service team. I'm glad all the calls are recorded and they use that as a training opportunity. I have no idea if my issue i called about originally will ever get resolved, since the girl seemed to hate her job and everyone else, i doubt she is capable of producing any type of "work." God forbid you have an issue and have to deal with synchrony bank. So disappointed and hurt, it honestly made me consider just cancelling my whole amazon account altogether.

more ...
Jan 03, 2017
It's a good card for frequent amazpn use
stuartcari Cardholder

I only use for amazon purchases. Gains a lot of points that can be reused for everday things

more ...
Jan 03, 2017
Love the card, hate the payment portal
iManiac Cardholder

Intially declined summer 2015 with ~540ish TransUnion/Experian and 10+ items in collections.

Reapplied 11/24/2016 with ~630-640 TransUnion/Experian scores and 10+ items in collections. Instantly approved with a $1000 credit line.

I've been an Amazon Prime member since 2011 (originally Amazon Student with the college discount, but now a regular Amazon prime subscriber after graduating college). Other than groceries, which I primarly shop at Walmart for, pretty much anything else I buy is most likely coming from Amazon. Thus, it made perfect sense for me to eventually get this card. 5% cashback on qualifying Amazon.com purchases is the main reason you get this card. They also have special 6/12/24 mo. financing offers when your order exceeds certain price thresholds. What this means is, Amazon will give you 6/12/24 months to completely pay off your order without being charged interest. However, be aware that selecting these financing offers means you lose the 5% cashback reward. Ideally, you'll want to always get 5% cashback, but every now and then when you're doing those big $1,000+ purchases (like buying that brand new 60 inch 4k TV or what have you), it's nice to have the financing option available. 

Synchrony's handles the cashback rewards like this: First of all, unlike almost all other cashback rewards cards, there is no 'point' system with this card. For every $1 you spend, you get $0.05 cashback and that's it. These cashback rewards accrue over the duration of a billing cycle as you make purchases. Then, at the end of the billing cycle, Synchrony takes the total amount of cashback you earned during the billing cycle, and applies it to the principal/balance at the start of the next billing cycle.

The biggest downfall I have about this card is not so much the card and its terms, but the payment portal you have to use maintain your card's checks and balances. It's very clunky. It takes forever to post a transaction. If I make a purchase on Monday with the card, sometimes it won't actually post until the following Monday. Payment portals I use with other credit cards like Chase, Capital One,etc. are able to post within 1-2 days easily. Is it wrong for me to expect Synchrony to do the same? I also had a lot of technical difficulties with getting 2 way texting setup (i.e being able to text BAL and having it reply back with your current balance,etc)

more ...
Dec 29, 2016
Great card for a frequent Amazon shopper
goto10 Cardholder

First, do *not* carry a balance on this card. The interest rate is very high. If you can pay your balance monthly though the 5% statement credit is like free money and exceeds the rewards available from any standard bankcard. I've never used the 0% financing option on larger purchases but I could see that also being useful if you are disciplined enough to pay it off before the 0% interest period ends. I've never had to deal with their customer service but checking the balance and making a payment online is simple.

more ...
Dec 26, 2016
A great deal
Anonymous Cardholder

This is a great card. I have a prime membership and also have items with subscribe and save. It's convenient to have the Amazon store card to cover my monthly shipments. My annual Prime membership fee is automatically added to my store card. I really love the rewards program. It is taylored to my interests.

more ...
Dec 24, 2016
Unfair Interest Rates!
Anonymous Cardholder

Had this card, and the Interest is way too much! Paying 26.99% is like legal loan sharking!  My credit score is fair, 651. Why they have to charge so much Interest is beyond me. Oh, and by the way, siince the Feds raised the Interest rate this month (Dec. 2016) Synchrony says it is going to raise the Interest Rate yet again!

Canceled this card. Going to Banks that give 0% APR for 12-15 months.

Unless you like parting with your hard earned money, suggest that you do research before applying and accepting this card. Wish I had. :-(

more ...
Dec 20, 2016
Great deal for prime members
Anonymous Cardholder

If you're a prime member like I have been for years. I mean I routinely save thousands in shipping per year, now everything I buy I get 5% off, just pay off the balance in full each month, and you get 5% back. how in the world can you possibly go wrong?  It's like getting money for free!

more ...
Dec 18, 2016
Great CC for an Amazon Shopper!
Manny1344 Cardholder

This review is from: Amazon.com Store Card (Financial Product)

Amazon.com Store Card

I absolutely love the financing offers available from this card, and I've had nothing but a great experience so far. The interest rate on this card is high, but if you don't leave a balance (except for the promotional balances) then you won't have a problem and will probably enjoy the 5% back rewards on eligible purchases. I've had my card for a little over two months now and have no complaints. Paying my bill is easy, the website is easy to use, and straightforward and simple. I haven't contacted Synchrony Bank support, and I'm not sure if I'll have to in the future. Everything you need is on the website, one thing I'd love for them to implement is a Card Lock feature, like what my bank offers. Would help bring peace of mind knowing that I could lock my card and prevent charges. Detailed review below.

--Amazon Prime Store Card

Easy to use, it is ready to use as soon as you are approved and the application process took me under thirty minutes. I liked that they give a $50 gift card, but I wish it was $70, either way I can't complain, it's a gift card for signing up for a credit card. 6-month ($149+) and 12-month ($599+) are simple to use. Just add items that "subtotal" to the amount of the financing option you want or higher, and when you're checking out, it'll ask you to confirm your payment option, then if you want 5% or the financing option available. The charges will end up in a pending state until they are shipped, usually the whole order must ship for the charges to go through. You do receive a physical card by mail, just so that you can sign up and use the website. Not sure if anyone else can use it, as my card was automatically linked to my account, hopefully not, but won't try. You can use the card to pay for Amazon Prime, which I find useful as you can pay with you card, and if you pay the amount off before the billing cycle ends, then you won't be charged interest (haven't tried it, but if it just like the Best Buy credit card, it should be the same).

--Credit Limit

Depending on your credit worthiness and income, they should give you a relatively good credit limit. I received a $1,500 credit limit, and did end up using 86% of it. Didn't find out until just recently that the Credit Reporting Agencies don't like to see that you've used more than 30% of your total available credit. If I had known sooner, I would have kept a low balance, then paid it off before I used it again. Thought that might be handy for anyone that didn't know that information. At the summary page on the website, it provides you with your total balance, and what you have available to spend.

--Website

The website looks modern, looks like it has quality built into it, and is easy to navigate and find what you are looking for. What I love most about the site is tree things, one, the ability to allocate payment, two, is they provide your monthly FICO Score for free, with a graph included, and three is the alerts function of the website. The Payment Allocation page allows you to either have "Standard Allocation," "Allocate Payment to Deferred Interest Promotional Balances First," and "Allocate Payment to Non-Promotional Balances First." I find this very useful when needed, it allows you to choose where your payments are going to. Just as my bank does, Synchrony gives you your FICO score monthly for free, it allows you to see what you credit score is doing, and what is impacting it the most. It brings peace of mind knowing what you credit score is monthly. The "Alerts" function of the website has a lot of options. You can get an email and/or text alerts that lets you know if your balance exceeds you specified amount, when you available to spend is an amount of your credit limit, when you want to be notified in days before your payment is due and when a promotional purchase is about to expire, when your account is past due, when a transaction is over a specified amount, and when you receive credit or refunds to your account. One other thing you can do is setup 2-way Text Messaging, that allows you to text a short number, that can provide you with your Account Balance, Available Credit, Due Date and Minimum Payment, and Transaction History without having to be logged in. Statements are relatively quick to be posted after your due date, about 1-2 days after. It’s pretty much the same statement you'd get at any other bank, it breaks down your account with new balances and payments. You can setup recurring payments and paperless statements, and one service they offer is Card Security. Card Security cancels your minimum monthly payment—or entire balance up to $10,000—if certain events occur, like unemployment, hospitalization, etc. You do have to provide more documentation, like proof of a Full-time/Part-time/Seasonal/Self-Employed job, and it will cost $1.66 per $100 of the ending monthly balance on your account.

I hope my review was detailed enough for you to decide, if I have anything more to add, I will update my review. Hope you enjoy! :]

more ...
Dec 18, 2016
Great CC for an Amazon Shopper!
Manny1344 Cardholder

This review is from: Amazon.com Store Card (Financial Product)

Amazon.com Store Card

I absolutely love the financing offers available from this card, and I've had nothing but a great experience so far. The interest rate on this card is high, but if you don't leave a balance (except for the promotional balances) then you won't have a problem and will probably enjoy the 5% back rewards on eligible purchases. I've had my card for a little over two months now and have no complaints. Paying my bill is easy, the website is easy to use, and straightforward and simple. I haven't contacted Synchrony Bank support, and I'm not sure if I'll have to in the future. Everything you need is on the website, one thing I'd love for them to implement is a Card Lock feature, like what my bank offers. Would help bring peace of mind knowing that I could lock my card and prevent charges. Detailed review below.

--Amazon Prime Store Card

Easy to use, it is ready to use as soon as you are approved and the application process took me under thirty minutes. I liked that they give a $50 gift card, but I wish it was $70, either way I can't complain, it's a gift card for signing up for a credit card. 6-month ($149+) and 12-month ($599+) are simple to use. Just add items that "subtotal" to the amount of the financing option you want or higher, and when you're checking out, it'll ask you to confirm your payment option, then if you want 5% or the financing option available. The charges will end up in a pending state until they are shipped, usually the whole order must ship for the charges to go through. You do receive a physical card by mail, just so that you can sign up and use the website. Not sure if anyone else can use it, as my card was automatically linked to my account, hopefully not, but won't try. You can use the card to pay for Amazon Prime, which I find useful as you can pay with you card, and if you pay the amount off before the billing cycle ends, then you won't be charged interest (haven't tried it, but if it just like the Best Buy credit card, it should be the same).

--Credit Limit

Depending on your credit worthiness and income, they should give you a relatively good credit limit. I received a $1,500 credit limit, and did end up using 86% of it. Didn't find out until just recently that the Credit Reporting Agencies don't like to see that you've used more than 30% of your total available credit. If I had known sooner, I would have kept a low balance, then paid it off before I used it again. Thought that might be handy for anyone that didn't know that information. At the summary page on the website, it provides you with your total balance, and what you have available to spend.

--Website

The website looks modern, looks like it has quality built into it, and is easy to navigate and find what you are looking for. What I love most about the site is tree things, one, the ability to allocate payment, two, is they provide your monthly FICO Score for free, with a graph included, and three is the alerts function of the website. The Payment Allocation page allows you to either have "Standard Allocation," "Allocate Payment to Deferred Interest Promotional Balances First," and "Allocate Payment to Non-Promotional Balances First." I find this very useful when needed, it allows you to choose where your payments are going to. Just as my bank does, Synchrony gives you your FICO score monthly for free, it allows you to see what you credit score is doing, and what is impacting it the most. It brings peace of mind knowing what you credit score is monthly. The "Alerts" function of the website has a lot of options. You can get an email and/or text alerts that lets you know if your balance exceeds you specified amount, when you available to spend is an amount of your credit limit, when you want to be notified in days before your payment is due and when a promotional purchase is about to expire, when your account is past due, when a transaction is over a specified amount, and when you receive credit or refunds to your account. One other thing you can do is setup 2-way Text Messaging, that allows you to text a short number, that can provide you with your Account Balance, Available Credit, Due Date and Minimum Payment, and Transaction History without having to be logged in. Statements are relatively quick to be posted after your due date, about 1-2 days after. It’s pretty much the same statement you'd get at any other bank, it breaks down your account with new balances and payments. You can setup recurring payments and paperless statements, and one service they offer is Card Security. Card Security cancels your minimum monthly payment—or entire balance up to $10,000—if certain events occur, like unemployment, hospitalization, etc. You do have to provide more documentation, like proof of a Full-time/Part-time/Seasonal/Self-Employed job, and it will cost $1.66 per $100 of the ending monthly balance on your account.

I hope my review was detailed enough for you to decide, if I have anything more to add, I will update my review. Hope you enjoy! :]

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Amazon.com Store Card