Amazon.com Store Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.6 out of 5 stars
96 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

2.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jun 26, 2013
Great Product!
JWag12787 Cardholder

I have a Very Poor (557) score on CreditKarma due to student loans, my Capital One Secured CC, and tons of delinquent balances.  While I am working on paying these off, I have had a very impossible time with credit.  Amazon gave me a great opportunity!  They allow for me to have an $800 Credit Limit [more than enough for what I usually get at any point in time.  Just buy one or two things (or xmas shopping), pay off with extra money every check, and repeat].

The only flaw is there is no place that shows me what day the payment will be due, or how much the payment would be.  [minimum]

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Feb 11, 2013
Denied credit increase.
Anonymous Cardholder

Crazy thing happened to me. I have a $1000 limit on my Amazon Store card. On a whim, i clicked the request credit increase... nothing happened. I got a letter in the mail today that said i was denied. The letter goes on to basically say that i was denied because "The Percentage of Times payment Greater than Amount Due over Last 12 Months" and "Maximum consecutive Months there was a balance decrease over the most recent six months". I love this card, b/c i love Amazon and it makes it easy. Can you believe i was denied because I always pay more than is due and most of the time I pay my balances in full and keep 0 balance!!! This is the craziest thing i've ever heard of... My Credit score is over 720!!! So instead of rewarding a good customer, they penalize me because they are not making enough money off me in interest. I didn't need the increase anyway, i was just curious, i really don't care, but i think the reasoning is insane.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jun 19, 2017
No complaints.
AJ37130 Cardholder

I've had this card almost  year with no issues. I pay my bill monthly and received an unrequested limit increase after  a few months.

more ...
Jun 09, 2017
One of the worst store cards to get.
Anonymous Cardholder

I was always on time with my payments, untill a few month later. I would always pay every two weeks on time but then after a while, It starts to reject your payments even if you have money in you bank account and end up paying more. It rejected all of my five payments to a point that they have to close my account due to *Large amounts of Rejected payments*

Honeslty, what is the point of paying something off if they keep rejecting it, i have lost over $500 worth of return fees along with "Late Fees"

more ...
Jun 07, 2017
Lowered my credit limit for no reason.
Anonymous Cardholder

I got this card to help rebuild my credit. I was very responsible with it, never missed a payment, overpaid - - well above the minimum payment and kept on top of it only to receive a letter in the mail saying they lowered my limit after randomly pulling my credit report, months after they approved me for the card with a higher limit. That inquiry into my credit and the lowering of my limit made my credit utilization higher, both affected my score negatively. I hate this card. DO NOT GET IT! As soon as I pay them off, I'm cancelling. The worst!

more ...
Jun 07, 2017
This card gives Amazon a very bad name
towe5632 Cardholder

Do not I repeat do not apply for this card. Nothing but headaches

more ...
Jun 05, 2017
Terrible. Poorly managed
Anonymous Cardholder

Amazon is great.  Their card sucks.  The web portal is poorly designed.  The customer service is all foreign and gives WalMart / McDonalds level service.  They've lost payments, stopped paper statements without warning, stopped text alerts for payments without warning.  

more ...
May 29, 2017
Avoid this card at all costs.
byhoung Cardholder

What a scam of a company. I trusted this at first because I thought I couldn't go wrong with Amazon. I am never late on payments, but this time my bank rejected a payment because I entered the wrong information. It was partly my fault, but their website gives no notification that I was late on a payment nor did it even warn me that the payment was rejected. So I'm just living my life while this scam of a company is charging me late fees and interest charges. It wasn't until I saw my credit score lower and my credit card being declind that I realized something was wrong. Then, I call them up to get these late charges waived to find out that I had "signed up" for a security service on my account and I had to call in to cancel that service as well. Avoid this card at all costs. 

more ...
May 28, 2017
worst card
Anonymous Cardholder

amazon sent wrong product, returned the product, then amazon lowered the card limit from 1500 to 100 without warning. customer service was awful.

more ...
May 18, 2017
Scam. Would award no score.
Corpscopp Cardholder

They pitch you saving but so many restrictions and no, you do not get a discount on your first order.  Bald face lie.  You might get a discount on a later transaction, but they lie about saving on the first transaction.

then, if you do not use it enough according to their idea of how often that is,  which is NOT what they lead you to believe, they will unilaterally inform you they are cancelling the account with no effort to allow you to keep it active, which will affect your credit score.

filing review request if what I believe is fraudulent practices, Bureau of Federal Consumer Financial Protection, 1700 G Street, Washington, DC, 20006.

more ...
May 09, 2017
Just an awful card.
davmar71 Cardholder

I had the card until today.  Just an awful card.. Sure you get a discount using it on Amazon.  But it comes with NO other typical benefits and it's not a credit card. It has no purchase protection of any type.  Their customer service is awful.  I was talking to them today and mentioned purchase protection and the idiot said.. we're a bank.. we don't offer that.  I told him Chase is a bank too and their card  albeit a credit card has many benefits.   Amazon should be embarassed promoting this card.. I  changed from using my Chase Freedom card to the Amazon card.. and of course bought a Chainsaw.. stolen 5 days after delivery and nneither Amazon Prime or Amazon Store Card have any kind of purchase protection.  Stupid me.. should have stuck with Chase.. I love that card.  

more ...
Apr 27, 2017
Great for me!

I was initially approved for the Amazon Prime Store Card with a 631 TU and a 644 EQ. 6 months later, I am at a 679 and 690, respectively. I have nothing but a good experience with this card. I have yet to need technical support as the website is easy to navigate; it's very easy to make a payment and I can see all of my statements, past balances and payments, and current information. It also keeps you updated on the balance of any products you have financed using the store card. I have called customer service once to change my address and phone number on file and the woman I spoke to was very pleasant and engaged and knew what she was doing. It was done in a few minutes and I was on my way. The card itself has a bit of a high interest rate, but I haven't carried a balance as I only use this card for financing with their 6, 12, and 24 month interest free plans. I would recommend the Amazon Prime Store Card to somebody who is looking for a way to make interest free payments on items such as tv's, cameras, mattresses, etc, as that's been my primary use and it's worked really well for me. I would not recommend the Amazon Prime Store Card to anyone who finds it hard to keep up with payments or tends to carry a balance. This card is really great for financing, but not so great for regular purchases due to it's high interest rate. Overall, I do love this card. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations
?>

Amazon.com Store Card