Amazon.com Store Card

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.9 out of 5 stars
96 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

3 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jun 26, 2013
Great Product!
JWag12787 Cardholder

I have a Very Poor (557) score on CreditKarma due to student loans, my Capital One Secured CC, and tons of delinquent balances.  While I am working on paying these off, I have had a very impossible time with credit.  Amazon gave me a great opportunity!  They allow for me to have an $800 Credit Limit [more than enough for what I usually get at any point in time.  Just buy one or two things (or xmas shopping), pay off with extra money every check, and repeat].

The only flaw is there is no place that shows me what day the payment will be due, or how much the payment would be.  [minimum]

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Feb 11, 2013
Denied credit increase.
Anonymous Cardholder

Crazy thing happened to me. I have a $1000 limit on my Amazon Store card. On a whim, i clicked the request credit increase... nothing happened. I got a letter in the mail today that said i was denied. The letter goes on to basically say that i was denied because "The Percentage of Times payment Greater than Amount Due over Last 12 Months" and "Maximum consecutive Months there was a balance decrease over the most recent six months". I love this card, b/c i love Amazon and it makes it easy. Can you believe i was denied because I always pay more than is due and most of the time I pay my balances in full and keep 0 balance!!! This is the craziest thing i've ever heard of... My Credit score is over 720!!! So instead of rewarding a good customer, they penalize me because they are not making enough money off me in interest. I didn't need the increase anyway, i was just curious, i really don't care, but i think the reasoning is insane.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Apr 14, 2017
Absolutely TERRIBLE!
viper1685 Cardholder

I've had this card for a couple of years now and after missing one payment by 3 days they reduced my credit limit by $300. Not to mention whenever you call them, good luck getting someone that speaks English and is competent enough to do anything other than read a screen. I cleared the cookies on my PC and tried logging into my account and it wanted to send me verification. The number on file was a google voice number which accepts texts and every online account I use this number never fails me. Well Syncrony couldn't use it and made me call in. So I did. Verified my new cell number and I was transferred to someone who would walk me through the login process. He gets on the phone I have to verify everything again, guess what, the new number isn't showing up, but some other random number is. I advise him of the change and he transfers me to another rep. I AGAIN have to verify my information. He asks me what my cell number is...again and tells me that I can't use that number because it isn't verified. End result, they will mail me a letter with a verification code that I should receive in 7-10 business days. I understand security but this is absolutely obsurd. I am on the phone verifying everything about myself, Social, Birthday, Address, Credit Card Number...give me a **** break.

This bank is utter BS. Designed to help less than perfect applicants obtain credit, bone you with high interest, then basically tell you to screw off. 6 people I talked to just to try and get into my account, and I still have to wait 2 weeks to get in because of this crap. I'm ready to cut the card up, cancel it, and tell the bank to take a hike. DON'T GET THIS CARD!

more ...
Apr 12, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

Never missed a payment, maintained the credit limit they issued me but when I paid it off, they lowered the limit to practically nothing. What a slap in the face and a loss for Amazon. I will never purchase there again as long as they support this bank.

more ...
Apr 11, 2017
They aim to ruin your credit!
leaheileen Cardholder

Kept small balance. Always paid more than minimum due and often paid off balance. Each 6 months they would lower limit to just what I had paid off! This makes it look like you are using a higher percentage of your credit! DO NOT USE THIS BANK!!

I am in process of canceling my usage of Amazon completely bc of this. 

more ...
Apr 09, 2017
Shamed on Amazon for peddling this
Anonymous Cardholder

Amazon should be ashamed of peddling this product to the customers. No business should dilute the customer trust with this shady bank.

1) They don't show deferrer payments amount intentionally in the total amount due. Setting up customers for mistakes and charges. I repeat, this is done intentionally. When I asked costumer service why, they have they said we want you to do the "legwork".

2) They don't tell you that you have to pay $25 min from the deferred amount. Again, to trip you into charges.

3) They do a hard credit inquiry lowering your score.

4) The customer service in India and USA is the worse I have encountered. They don't solve any issues, just listen to you problems. The customer service in India doesn't even understand what are you talking about.

5) The website is sub-par, hard to navigate and find information.

6) They don't accept direct electronic payments from other banks and tell you to mail the check four days before the due charges. This is done intentionally to trip you into charges.

I am in the process or quiting the bank, surely will expand the list.

Shame on Amazon!

more ...
Apr 09, 2017
Shamed on Amazon for peddling this
Anonymous Cardholder

Amazon should be ashamed of peddling this product to the customers. No business should dilute the customer trust with this shady bank.

1) They don't show deferrer payments amount intentionally in the total amount due. Setting up customers for mistakes and charges. I repeat, this is done intentionally. When I asked costumer service why, they have they said we want you to do the "legwork".

2) They don't tell you that you have to pay $25 min from the deferred amount. Again, to trip you into charges.

3) They do a hard credit inquiry lowering your score.

4) The customer service in India and USA is the worse I have encountered. They don't solve any issues, just listen to you problems. The customer service in India doesn't even understand what are you talking about.

5) The website is sub-par, hard to navigate and find information.

6) They don't accept direct electronic payments from other banks and tell you to mail the check four days before the due charges. This is done intentionally to trip you into charges.

I am in the process or quiting the bank, surely will expand the list.

Shame on Amazon!

more ...
Apr 01, 2017
A JOKE
Anonymous Cardholder

Synchrony Bank is the worst credit lender ever!! i just went to make a purchase on my amazon account for it to be declined and then upon further investigation realizing they drooped my limit 300 dollars funny i just made a 300 dollar payment. i have never been late in the 6 months i had the card so why decrease my limit? i also had a Walmart card through this same bank and they recently just closed my card. Same thing there they decreased my limit down to only a 100 dollars and then recently they just closed my card when i didnt even have a balance at the time! if you care about your credit score at all do not i repeat DO NOT apply for a card through Synchrony Bank at all!! They are pathetic.....Thanks for nothing

more ...
Mar 26, 2017
The worst in worst
Anonymous Cardholder

Extremely bad experience with it.

more ...
Mar 25, 2017
SUCKS
Anonymous Cardholder

You will never get information from the bank that payment is due until payment for a purchase is declined. They zap you and squeeze out extra cash. Very unprofessional. Can't BELIEVE Amazon is associated with such a shady company. Cancelling everything now.

more ...
Mar 17, 2017
fluke....
Anonymous Cardholder

I have had my card for over a year and I have made all payments on time. Paid off the balance and use this card often. Recently I made a payment and noticed that they decreased my limit by 250 bucks. This made my credit to debt rating go up which forced me to pay more due to I am looking to buy a house soon I need it to report well on my credit report. I recieved no notification and if I had not checked my account that day, I would not have known. Poor customer service and day card... I think I am going to close my account and my prime account and not use Amazon anymore. 

more ...
Mar 14, 2017
Beware of the big Credit Line!
Anonymous Cardholder

They give this card with a big credit line no matter what your credit score is. I had an issue about my Walmart Credit Card which is through the same company. On top of not solving the issue with my Walmart Card (which I can't authorize and use $0 balance) they put hold on my Amazon account the other morning indicating that recent purchases made was fraud. Guess what? I haven't made any purchases through my Amazon account and this is just relatiation. Now if I want to close these three accounts, I'll almost take out $5000 of my current credit line resulting loss of credit score. So it seems that a even though you don't use a bad credit company is a bad choice.

I went ahead and cancelled and Newegg order, which again through Synchrony Bank just because they are so scary and seems impossible to work with. It seems like all their profits are from beinf a predator bank. I'm hoping to keep good relationships with banks like Citi, Chase and Discover in order to not need this particular bank ever again in my life. So bad, terrible. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Amazon.com Store Card