Mastercard® Black Card™ Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.1 out of 5 stars
8 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

4 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0% intro for 15 Billing Cycles on qualifying transfers
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 15.99%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $495; $195 for each additional user
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 15.99%* Variable

Our Take

The Mastercard® Black CardTM is aimed at consumers looking for a luxury credit card.

What to Like

There are a whole lot of perks to like, including 24/7 concierge services, a $100 annual airline credit, $100 toward a Global Entry application fee and more. There are more cool travel benefits too, like entry to VIP airport lounges and room upgrades at participating hotels. They’ll even mail you Luxury Gifts every once in a while.

Look Out For

This is a high-end card, so cardholders will usually have strong credit scores. There’s a $495 annual fee and an extra $195 annual fee for each additional user.

Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jul 27, 2017
Impressive and useful...
SRDuff12345 Cardholder

I have a very high limit on this card which makes it usually my "go to" card in my wallet. 

One of the major reasons that I applied for this card was the low interest rate on purchases every month... 15.5%. That's the lowest interest rate credit card that I have in my wallet. My American Express Preferred "clear card"  is a good credit card but the best they will do is 19%. I have always believed that the interest rate was based upon the person's individual credit score.  Personally, I have found that is not the case with most credit cards. Hands down, the "Black Card" makes the best practical choice of credit cards in my wallet.

I really wouldn't recommend applying for this card unless you have a 750 or better credit score. That way you will get a higher credit limit on this card which of course for me is the reason that it is my "go to" card... as I said.

There are a lot of travel benefits that I have enjoyed which of course give you more points to do other things with.

I have found that the my American Express Platinum card offers more benifits... but of course we are jumping to a grand a year and the card and it must be paid off in full every month.  Whereas with my "Black Card", as I have termed the card, you have the flexibility of paying it as you will.   No stress.

There is some enjoyment in pulling out my Black Card, or handing someone this card and watch their sometimes comments or expressions.

The card being made out of steel is not only more prestigious but I found it's easier to slide through the terminal... I live in Mississippi and some businesses haven't upgraded to the slide in the slot yet.

Overall… it's a great credit card to use.

more ...
May 09, 2017
Luxury
Anonymous Cardholder

Great card if you like to use for it being a world elite product. 2 times point redemption for

wirline and priority pass are the benefits here. 

more ...
Apr 28, 2017
Stupid card
Anonymous Cardholder

TU 792 approved for 5000$ 😳

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jul 28, 2017

Do you spend a lot on your other cards and pay them off every month?

 
Apr 16, 2017
Great Card, fits my needs
Gizzmo41 Cardholder

Being 4yrs post bankruptcy, I was surprised to get approved. Credit score 700 with income in the high six figures. The Priority pass select lounge access purchased separately would run $300 and my wife can get in free with me. Add the $100 credit for travel and global access and the AF is not such a hard pill to swallow. I use the card for the majority of my purchases, should have enough points for free airfare every year.

more ...
Mar 30, 2017
MASTER CARD BLACK CARD !!!!
Anonymous Cardholder

Idk why people are crying over an AF when knowing the fact that if you spend daily on this card you will be able to pay back the AF of $495 without an ease . I mean don't get me wrong , it's an high AF amount . The thing is before applying you see that this card is an ULTIMATE SPENDING TOOL , so this means the more you use it daily the more points you get and believe it it not , AMEX is PLATINUM isn't any better and it's same BS !!! The difference with this card is that it's your choice if you would like to pay full amount the next month or not with Amex your stuck because no matter what you have to pay the entire amount even if you decide not to . So yea get this card if your score is over 720 and you make 75k-100k yearly . Have at least record of spending at least 30k to 50k on credit cards previously before even considering this card .  Ciao !

more ...
Mar 10, 2017
The card grabs a lot of attention
Anonymous Cardholder

There's a lot of better options out there like the chase sapphire reserve they give a 300 dollars credit toward any travel purchase which is great and you get a point on any other purchase than restaurant you get 3 points  . With the black card you get one point regardless where you spend your buck and you only get 100 dollars worth of travel credit and the annual feel is higher. Looks really good and feels good you'll like all the compliments you get on the black card though.. 

more ...
Jan 07, 2017
Best Cash Back in Every Day Spending

This card loses a lot of people's interest because they directly look at the Annual Fee and stop doing their homework to see if the card is a good fit for them. First, If you travel 5+ time a year this is a card that you should really consider looking into it. They recently just updated their VIP lounge to Priority Pass, exactly the same as what Sapphire Reserve offers, which is over 900 locations. If you haven't experienced a VIP lounge at the airport with free drinks, snacks/food and a relaxing atmosphere, then its easy to miss the value this card offers. (I've literally saved at least ~$200 this year on just the drinks alone from these lounges). These airport lounges are more than I would ever pay for a single-time use without a membership, but the cost to do that is ~$40/hour. Just highlights the monetary value you are getting with the VIP Airport lounge access. As far as booking travel, getting 2X miles on any airline with no blackout dates or seat restrictions can really go a long way. Remember, Black Card also give your a $100 airline credit automatically, providing more value. Plus free TSA-Precheck and global entry membership ($100value)

Now as far as cash back. This is the best cash back card that I have seen for the type of spending that I do. So many cards trick you with their modifiers (and sure, maybe those modifiers make sense to you) but so much of my credit card spending is outside the areas of travel, gas and restaurants. Especially for someone with a lot of business expense, this is where this card really makes sense. What I call "every day spend" is almost always 1X on every credit card I've look into. I recently did a lot of remodeling, and everyone knows home improvement is costly. Getting that extra .5X on contractor cost and hardware supplies was realy nice.

I've figured in order for this card to be worth its value (after all the benefits I mentioned) I need to earn at least $100 additional in cash back in those everyday categories. This means, with that math, a person that is spending less than $1,667 on this card would really need to benefit from the double miles and VIP lounge to stretch and hit that $495 AF cost. Again, it's the homework you have to do in deciding what card is right for you and this one saves me a lot of money in categories that other credit cards couldn't.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 22, 2017

reserve is a much better card

 
Nov 22, 2016
Great Card
RAR3 Cardholder

While I understand the comments others say about this card being a "bad' card or a "useless" card; I feel that they do not truly understand the card for it's worth.  Those that get this card for the material it is made out of or for the fact that it says "BLACK CARD" on it are getting it for the wrong reason(s).  I applied for this card when it was taken over by MasterCard and use it for about 80% of my daily purchases.  The points rack up and the pros do outweigh the cons.  I understand that this card isn't for everyone.  I also understand that the annual fee is very high for a card of it's kind.  However, when using it properly, the card will be worth the annual fee in the long hual.  Aside from this card, I also own the American Express Platinum and Citi Prestige cards.  I am acitve in all three of them and therefore see the positive side of having so many points split between the three cards.  Like I said before; this card isn't meant for everyone.  If you obtain the card for the purpose of looking "cool" than you are not going to like this card after paying the annual fee.  If you get this card because you are good with paying your debts, enjoy the extra attention from a credit card lendor, enjoy the perks of the card (which are not many but they do still count), and can afford and not mind paying the annual fee; than this card will be a good card for your wallet/purse.  The customer service was excellent and the application process was painless.  They started me off with a low credit limit but soon increased it after 6 months of having the card.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Mastercard® Black Card™