First Progress Platinum Select MasterCard® Secured Credit Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

1.5 out of 5 stars
41 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

1.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR Not Applicable
  • Annual Fee $39
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 14.49%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Aug 04, 2018
Easy approval instant credit boost
michellebankhead92 Cardholder

The application process was quick and easy. Boosted my credit INSTANTLY by 30+ points within a week of approval. They do however take their annual fee upfront from your balance BUT that kick-starts the credit boost.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Oct 06, 2018
Joelfoit Cardholder

Please stay away from this credit card company.
I submitted a payment and it was reported late eventhough I made the payment on time.
There's a reason they're getting so many negative reviews,
Please stay away

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Oct 06, 2018
Joelfoit Cardholder

Please stay away from this credit card company.
I submitted a payment and it was reported late eventhough I made the payment on time.
There's a reason they're getting so many negative reviews,
Please stay away

more ...
Oct 03, 2018
Runaway as FAST as you can
jonzevans Cardholder

I submitted 2 applications and received 2 secure cards.  Company never sent secure cards.  Payment was sent and expressly detailed where to direct the funds but the company appropriated the funds into the wrong account.  Due to this, the company charged me a late fee on an annual fee and would not remove it.  A free that that was funded for $200 ended up showign over $100 in fees after a few months.  What a RIP OFF.  I ended up closing both accounts.

more ...
Sep 12, 2018
Hassle
Yourlifeisgold Cardholder

This company makes it as difficult as possible to make payments. They have an online customer account access, yet you cant actually " do" anything with your account online. You cant make a payment online, and the ONLY options are to go through a difficult process through your own bank to try and set up payment accts for online bill pay..but you cant change the date or make a payment through this system when you want too. There os no freedom to make payments early and once you set the date, it wont allow you to make any payments except on that particular day. The only other option is to call into the customet center...and get charged a 10$ fee to make a payment over the phone, that ALSO puts a 10 plus day hold on your funds and payment processing. I would not reccomend this card company....i will be shutting it down soon and getting other credit cards to build my credit.
It was worth the hassle for a while STRICTLY to build up my credit, but Im free now and my credit is better so I qualify for othet cards I can continue to build with that make it easy to make payments so I can make them on time without all this extra hassle.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Dec 10, 2018

Agreed. Very difficult to make a payment.

 
Aug 23, 2018
221KCS Cardholder

One of the worst cards I ever have the customer service is horrible and you can be locked out for no reason I had to go fax many documents to prove my identity everything is so inconvenient I prefer my capital one so much better and easier

more ...
Aug 22, 2018
Anonymous Cardholder

There are additional yearly fees in your statement on a tiny box that you may oversee.
I was being charged double on my annual fees and when I called CS all they kept telling me is that they don't see it on there end therefore you are not being charged. It was clear as day on my statement and got tired of going back and forth with them I immediately closed my account.

more ...
Aug 14, 2018
Wish I had known
ces2578 Cardholder

Charging a $10 fee if you want to pay with a check over the phone kind of says it all. The company doesnt have a method to pay online. The "pay online" option they give via your online account is if you want to pay via the bill pay option your bank offers - if they offer it. And as usual the customer reps really could care less about any complaint you might have regarding fees or anything else. I should have checked the online reviews before applying. 

more ...
Aug 13, 2018
This company Sucks
jusme72 Cardholder

I closed out this card with a $185 balance and I had $200 in a secured fee. But they say I now owe them $141 for a late fee because they didn’t close the account when I asked them too. They even reported it to the credit bureau as late fees took them 2 months to close it out but I owe them $141 in late fees

more ...
Aug 05, 2018
Helpful
33049 Cardholder

Got this card an boom my score went up 55 points. Awsome thank u first progress.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Oct 04, 2018

Sounds like a review written by an employee of First Progress... I've used these secured cards in the past and paid for that mistake. They make it nearly impossible to make a payment so that they can hit you with late fees which usually puts your balance over the limit (your annual fee almost does this all by itself). Now they can hit you with over the limit fees as well as late fees. Don't walk away from these offers - RUN! It's going to lower your credit score in more instances than it will increase it.

 
Aug 04, 2018
Easy approval instant credit boost

The application process was quick and easy. Boosted my credit INSTANTLY by 30+ points within a week of approval. They do however take their annual fee upfront from your balance BUT that kick-starts the credit boost.

more ...
Jul 21, 2018
Keshiro Cardholder

Very very poor customer service and they act like you have no choice but to take whatever they want

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 1,844
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 

First Progress Platinum Select MasterCard® Secured Credit Card