First Progress Platinum Select MasterCard® Secured Credit Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

1.5 out of 5 stars
41 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

1.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR Not Applicable
  • Annual Fee $39
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 14.49%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Aug 04, 2018
Easy approval instant credit boost
michellebankhead92 Cardholder

The application process was quick and easy. Boosted my credit INSTANTLY by 30+ points within a week of approval. They do however take their annual fee upfront from your balance BUT that kick-starts the credit boost.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Oct 06, 2018
Joelfoit Cardholder

Please stay away from this credit card company.
I submitted a payment and it was reported late eventhough I made the payment on time.
There's a reason they're getting so many negative reviews,
Please stay away

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jan 22, 2019
HORRIBLE
CiscoColeman Cardholder

THE CUSTOMER SERVICE HORRIBLE. THEY DO NOT HAVE A EFFICIENT PAYMENT OPTION SO YOU ARE ALWAYS CONFUSED AS TO IF THEY RECEIVED YOUR PAYMENT OR NOT AND I THINK ITS ON PURPOES TO CONFUSE YOU. DO NOT APPLY FOR THIS CARD THEY ARE CROOKED AND I CAN NOT PIN POINT IT BUT I DO NOT TRUST THEM AT ALL. I AM PAYING THEM OFF AND CUTTING THIS CARD UP FOREVER!!!! THEY TAKE TO LONG FOR FUNDS TO CLEAR TO GET YOU CAUGHT UP IN LATE FEES ITS A TRAP!!! DO NOT DO IT TO YOURSELF USE A WELL KNOWN COMPANY LIKE DISCOVER OR CAPITOL ONE NOT THESE GUYS!!!!

more ...
Jan 17, 2019
Jlbentley Cardholder

Getting this card is easy. Will boost your score at first but after that it’s a nightmare! They make it very difficult to pay your bill every month. You can only pay by check through the mail. Then they hold it for 10 days before they actually credit your account. I’m lucky if I even get a bill every month. Usually it’s like every other month that a bill actually shows up, so I end up just sending a check with my account number on it to pay my bill. They’ve on more then one occasion reported my account as past due. It’s like they purposely try to make it hard to pay your bill on time just so they can charge you and report you to the credit bureaus as a late payment. Don’t bother getting this card. It’s more of a headache then a help to your credit score. 

more ...
Jan 03, 2019
Very difficult.
Bfossxo Cardholder

I had this card years ago trying to improve my credit. While it did that, everything about this company was difficult to deal with. Customer service is poor, website was outdated and payments were confusing and very difficult. Sometimes it would come out of my account and other times it didn't. I wouldn't recommend them. Look into other programs.

more ...
Dec 10, 2018
Horrible payment system
CJsmall14 Cardholder

This card only helped my credit after the initial opening of the account. First thing you can only pay by mail or have your bank do bill pay. So you can’t use our debit card or by cash for faster processing. My bill is due in the 12th I submitted my payment on the 5th took 5 days to show as a ending payment on the website but still no available balance update for another 3-5 days. So it ties up your money and eventually you have a late payment. I closed the card after 2 months. They told me it takes 14 days to get my money back and if I want it  expedited I needed to fax in my request and it would come in 10 days vs 14.  WAY TOO MUCH OF A HEADACHE FIND ANOTHER CARD. 

more ...
Nov 26, 2018
Jeffymetcalf Cardholder

I wouldn’t have given it a star but you have to Where to start do not I repeat do not sign up with this company you want to talk about bad I called because they charged me a late fee when I was never late I call them and they acted like it was my fault never got a pass for that then to cancel the card it take up to two weeks to cancel it plus another 10 WEEKS TO GET YOUR MONEY BACK!!!! It didn’t take no two weeks to take my money save your self go with the discover it card to rebuild this place should be shut down 

more ...
Nov 06, 2018
Not good
conjax Cardholder

Where do I begin. Most of the customer service folks are hard to understand. Somehow my bill pay for was reversed back to my bank and First Progress didn’t notify me. Thankfully I caught it before my due date. However I they put a hold on my account and charged me $10 to take an over the phone payment with a check. They don’t make it easy it pay like most other credit cards. Don’t go for this one. 

more ...
Nov 04, 2018
Helps credit.

Had 2 of the cards with different APR and annual fee. But closed 1. Help my credit a bit. Not a bad card.

more ...
Dec 10, 2018

Type your answer better. However. Your broken English isn't that hard for me but excruciating for othere yo understand.

 
Jan 01, 2019

So is this a credit card or using your 200 limit?

 
Oct 29, 2018
LYING TO GET YOUR MONEY!!
Beingscammed2 Cardholder

CALL THE BETTER BUSINESS BUREAU (BBB.) THEY WILL DEFINITELY INVESTIGATE THIS FRADULANT SITE!

more ...
Oct 25, 2018
Hate it, Don't Get this Card
RichardComeau Cardholder

I have this card I cannot stand dealing with these people they have non-existent customer service nobody answers their phone. Every month they keep changing my address to my fathers forwarding address because he shares the same name as me I've told them three times my address has not changed but they keep changing it and mailing my mail to a different address never get my bill on time and it's causing me lates constantly it's on my credit report

more ...
Oct 23, 2018
Do not. Do not get this card
ToddH1966 Cardholder

The worst car to ever. Payment Processing absolutely sucks. They do everything they can not to help you rebuild credit but to make your score worse. Look at the reviews that should tell you everything

more ...
Oct 06, 2018
Joelfoit Cardholder

Please stay away from this credit card company.
I submitted a payment and it was reported late eventhough I made the payment on time.
There's a reason they're getting so many negative reviews,
Please stay away

more ...
Oct 03, 2018
Runaway as FAST as you can
jonzevans Cardholder

I submitted 2 applications and received 2 secure cards.  Company never sent secure cards.  Payment was sent and expressly detailed where to direct the funds but the company appropriated the funds into the wrong account.  Due to this, the company charged me a late fee on an annual fee and would not remove it.  A free that that was funded for $200 ended up showign over $100 in fees after a few months.  What a RIP OFF.  I ended up closing both accounts.

more ...
Sep 12, 2018
Hassle
Yourlifeisgold Cardholder

This company makes it as difficult as possible to make payments. They have an online customer account access, yet you cant actually " do" anything with your account online. You cant make a payment online, and the ONLY options are to go through a difficult process through your own bank to try and set up payment accts for online bill pay..but you cant change the date or make a payment through this system when you want too. There os no freedom to make payments early and once you set the date, it wont allow you to make any payments except on that particular day. The only other option is to call into the customet center...and get charged a 10$ fee to make a payment over the phone, that ALSO puts a 10 plus day hold on your funds and payment processing. I would not reccomend this card company....i will be shutting it down soon and getting other credit cards to build my credit.
It was worth the hassle for a while STRICTLY to build up my credit, but Im free now and my credit is better so I qualify for othet cards I can continue to build with that make it easy to make payments so I can make them on time without all this extra hassle.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Dec 10, 2018

Agreed. Very difficult to make a payment.

 
Aug 23, 2018
221KCS Cardholder

One of the worst cards I ever have the customer service is horrible and you can be locked out for no reason I had to go fax many documents to prove my identity everything is so inconvenient I prefer my capital one so much better and easier

more ...
Aug 22, 2018
Anonymous Cardholder

There are additional yearly fees in your statement on a tiny box that you may oversee.
I was being charged double on my annual fees and when I called CS all they kept telling me is that they don't see it on there end therefore you are not being charged. It was clear as day on my statement and got tired of going back and forth with them I immediately closed my account.

more ...
Aug 14, 2018
Wish I had known
ces2578 Cardholder

Charging a $10 fee if you want to pay with a check over the phone kind of says it all. The company doesnt have a method to pay online. The "pay online" option they give via your online account is if you want to pay via the bill pay option your bank offers - if they offer it. And as usual the customer reps really could care less about any complaint you might have regarding fees or anything else. I should have checked the online reviews before applying. 

more ...
Aug 13, 2018
This company Sucks
jusme72 Cardholder

I closed out this card with a $185 balance and I had $200 in a secured fee. But they say I now owe them $141 for a late fee because they didn’t close the account when I asked them too. They even reported it to the credit bureau as late fees took them 2 months to close it out but I owe them $141 in late fees

more ...
Aug 05, 2018
Helpful
33049 Cardholder

Got this card an boom my score went up 55 points. Awsome thank u first progress.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Oct 04, 2018

Sounds like a review written by an employee of First Progress... I've used these secured cards in the past and paid for that mistake. They make it nearly impossible to make a payment so that they can hit you with late fees which usually puts your balance over the limit (your annual fee almost does this all by itself). Now they can hit you with over the limit fees as well as late fees. Don't walk away from these offers - RUN! It's going to lower your credit score in more instances than it will increase it.

 
Aug 04, 2018
Easy approval instant credit boost

The application process was quick and easy. Boosted my credit INSTANTLY by 30+ points within a week of approval. They do however take their annual fee upfront from your balance BUT that kick-starts the credit boost.

more ...
Jul 21, 2018
Keshiro Cardholder

Very very poor customer service and they act like you have no choice but to take whatever they want

more ...
Jul 14, 2018
Avoid!
Tim270 Cardholder

I got this card as a starter card and built a little credit with it, then was able to get an unsecured credit card through another lender, and with a lower interest rate.
So I cancelled this card. Two months later I noticed my credit dropped and I investigated why. I found that First Progress had reported on my credit that the account was charged off as bad debt and it hurt my credit score. It was not bad debt though, and it wasn't charged off... It was a SECURED card, so they had my $200 and I closed the account having spent that much on the card. So we were even. I wasn't in debt to them. I have since disputed this "bad debt" on my credit report, but I'm afraid it won't change their remark on the account and will not increase my score back to where it was before.
Avoid this card! Because when you close it they will act like they are fine with that, but then screw you on your credit when they add on untrue remarks to your closed account with them.

more ...
Jul 14, 2018

Also, they have a ten business day hold on payments made over the phone, and last year when I had the card, I couldn't get anyone to answer when I called customer service to pay with a debit card, since I don't like bank drafting. I was never able to get anyone on the line and would have been late on my payment because of that, so I had to do a bank draft. They are hard to get ahold of, and rude or hard to understand when you finally do!

 
Jul 18, 2018

It was a bad debt because you didn’t pay off the $200 you spent on the card. With secured cards the initial payment is a “security deposit” or your credit line. Just like when you rent a house you can’t leave and not pay the last months rent because you paid that amount as a security deposit. You pay off what you owe then they return the initial deposit. They get their money either way and you’re just hurting yourself in the long run.

 
Jul 22, 2018

Yeah dude you’re dumb. You don’t charge 200 and then call it even. You square up a zero balence with them and then they give you the 200 bucks. You can’t read very well can you lol

 
Sep 18, 2018

Your score dropped because you closed a line of credit. Even if you choose not to use the card, never close an account.

 
Jun 30, 2018
ce060402 Cardholder

Very difficult to communicate with this organization. Extremely high fees and transaction charges.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jul 08, 2018

Geez i am sooooo glad i read these reviews before ordering this card

 
Jun 25, 2018
Anonymous Cardholder

Do not get this card it has a 10 business day HOLD WHEN PAYING OVER THE PHONE...

more ...
Jun 24, 2018
These people are awful!
Anonymous Cardholder

Do yourself a favor and go with any of the other 100s of cards on the market. When you call them on the phone, they actually work at having awful service. The reps are rude and unhelpful.

more ...
Jun 15, 2018
Dealing with customer service is torture
Anonymous Cardholder

So many better options. I should have listened to the reviews. If you ever have a problem, e.g. entered wrong PIN, let's just say I would rather deal with the folks at the IRS. Trying to reach a rep. Is painful. They would rather you send them questions via US mail.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 1,844
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 

First Progress Platinum Select MasterCard® Secured Credit Card