First Progress Platinum Select MasterCard® Secured Credit Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

1.5 out of 5 stars
34 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

1.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR Not Applicable
  • Annual Fee $39
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 14.74%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Aug 04, 2018
Easy approval instant credit boost
michellebankhead92 Cardholder

The application process was quick and easy. Boosted my credit INSTANTLY by 30+ points within a week of approval. They do however take their annual fee upfront from your balance BUT that kick-starts the credit boost.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Dec 10, 2018
Horrible payment system
CJsmall14 Cardholder

This card only helped my credit after the initial opening of the account. First thing you can only pay by mail or have your bank do bill pay. So you can’t use our debit card or by cash for faster processing. My bill is due in the 12th I submitted my payment on the 5th took 5 days to show as a ending payment on the website but still no available balance update for another 3-5 days. So it ties up your money and eventually you have a late payment. I closed the card after 2 months. They told me it takes 14 days to get my money back and if I want it  expedited I needed to fax in my request and it would come in 10 days vs 14.  WAY TOO MUCH OF A HEADACHE FIND ANOTHER CARD. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Mar 26, 2019
Haven't even received yet
tsb51 Cardholder

I applied, was approved and 4 weeks later still haven't received. Yesterday they finally told me that there was an issue and it was returned in the mail so it will take 14 more days to receive. I asked for proof that it was returned because I have already received a statement and another letter asking if I had received the card. This is a nightmare and if I cancel now, I still will be charged the $49 yearly fee or it will go against my credit. This company is a scam. No customer service at all, just a lot of talking in circles. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Apr 03, 2019

It seems like the issue is with the postal service since you didn't get the card.

 
Mar 24, 2019
Hands down worst card ever!
travisjkay Cardholder

The app process was absurd. Customer service is actually a joke. I called after a week to make a payment they told me I have to mail a check or pay electronically which my bank cant locate their bank so I cant. They hung up on me multiple times. If you use the card you have to go straight home and mail a check because it takes 10-15 days for them to receive it and then they hold it so you are automatically late. Then your credit gets hit. I used it responsibly however it didnt benefit me in any way. The BBB should look into them. They need to be shut down. Needless to say I used my card twice then closed it. Do NOT get this card. Many other great secured options

more ...
Mar 11, 2019
Horrible
Jayfo4 Cardholder

They debited my acount 2 times for 200 dollars and its been over a werk and no sighn of my money not to mention have to wait 45 mi s to get a custmer service person that then thought it was funny i was looking for my 400$ never apply!!!!!!

more ...
Mar 07, 2019
Worst card I’ve ever had my entire life
Jf0705616 Cardholder

Absolute worst customer service. They collect your money and don’t always apply it to ur bill causing u to be late on making payments and still have the nerve to feel they deserve a payment for late charge. Biggest hassle to get a hold of an agent to help u. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Mar 21, 2019

The money you paid for the card is a security deposit. They hold it in case you dont pay you bill over time. IF you do pay your bill then you will get your security deposit back. But its a seperate thing... the money you paid doesnt go on your card... like a debit card. It goes to the side as security to the company incase youre irresponsible

 
Feb 08, 2019
What a scam
Uscrewedme Cardholder

Do not use this card unless it’s your last choice. They do not take electronic payments of any sort. Just snail mail and they hold your check 10 days. The customer service is a joke and if you get a manager they lie to get you off of the phone.

more ...
Jan 22, 2019
HORRIBLE
CiscoColeman Cardholder

THE CUSTOMER SERVICE HORRIBLE. THEY DO NOT HAVE A EFFICIENT PAYMENT OPTION SO YOU ARE ALWAYS CONFUSED AS TO IF THEY RECEIVED YOUR PAYMENT OR NOT AND I THINK ITS ON PURPOES TO CONFUSE YOU. DO NOT APPLY FOR THIS CARD THEY ARE CROOKED AND I CAN NOT PIN POINT IT BUT I DO NOT TRUST THEM AT ALL. I AM PAYING THEM OFF AND CUTTING THIS CARD UP FOREVER!!!! THEY TAKE TO LONG FOR FUNDS TO CLEAR TO GET YOU CAUGHT UP IN LATE FEES ITS A TRAP!!! DO NOT DO IT TO YOURSELF USE A WELL KNOWN COMPANY LIKE DISCOVER OR CAPITOL ONE NOT THESE GUYS!!!!

more ...
Jan 17, 2019
Jlbentley Cardholder

Getting this card is easy. Will boost your score at first but after that it’s a nightmare! They make it very difficult to pay your bill every month. You can only pay by check through the mail. Then they hold it for 10 days before they actually credit your account. I’m lucky if I even get a bill every month. Usually it’s like every other month that a bill actually shows up, so I end up just sending a check with my account number on it to pay my bill. They’ve on more then one occasion reported my account as past due. It’s like they purposely try to make it hard to pay your bill on time just so they can charge you and report you to the credit bureaus as a late payment. Don’t bother getting this card. It’s more of a headache then a help to your credit score. 

more ...
Jan 03, 2019
Very difficult.
Bfossxo Cardholder

I had this card years ago trying to improve my credit. While it did that, everything about this company was difficult to deal with. Customer service is poor, website was outdated and payments were confusing and very difficult. Sometimes it would come out of my account and other times it didn't. I wouldn't recommend them. Look into other programs.

more ...
Dec 10, 2018
Horrible payment system
CJsmall14 Cardholder

This card only helped my credit after the initial opening of the account. First thing you can only pay by mail or have your bank do bill pay. So you can’t use our debit card or by cash for faster processing. My bill is due in the 12th I submitted my payment on the 5th took 5 days to show as a ending payment on the website but still no available balance update for another 3-5 days. So it ties up your money and eventually you have a late payment. I closed the card after 2 months. They told me it takes 14 days to get my money back and if I want it  expedited I needed to fax in my request and it would come in 10 days vs 14.  WAY TOO MUCH OF A HEADACHE FIND ANOTHER CARD. 

more ...
Nov 26, 2018
Jeffymetcalf Cardholder

I wouldn’t have given it a star but you have to Where to start do not I repeat do not sign up with this company you want to talk about bad I called because they charged me a late fee when I was never late I call them and they acted like it was my fault never got a pass for that then to cancel the card it take up to two weeks to cancel it plus another 10 WEEKS TO GET YOUR MONEY BACK!!!! It didn’t take no two weeks to take my money save your self go with the discover it card to rebuild this place should be shut down 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 1,844
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 

First Progress Platinum Select MasterCard® Secured Credit Card