Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

The First Access VISA® Credit Card

Approval Odds
Apply Now
My Saved Cards
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.
Find Out More

Ratings by Category

Application Process
Customer Service
Cardholder Ratings
3 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR Not Applicable
  • Annual Fee $75 for first year, After that $48 annually
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 29.99%*

Most Helpful Positive Review

Nov 04, 2014
Anonymous Cardholder

i have a score of 537 and they accepted with a limit of 350 honeslty great card and is not a scam like other credit cards 

more ...

Most Helpful Negative Review

Dec 31, 2014
this, credit one and first premier

these cards all appear to be in the same family.  If your credit is mediocre to low, you can also likely be approved for Kohls, Victoria Secret and Nordstrom.  My credit has increased over 100 points in the last year using these cards with low balances.  Divorce killed my credit and rebuilding it is costly, but worth it in the long run!

more ...

Reviews (52)

Add Review
Oct 14, 2016
Don't Waste Your Time
JamesHoller Cardholder

While yes they approve you, they also sit on your payments for 14 business days...not calendar days...what a joke! Use this card at your own peril!

more ...
Oct 04, 2016
Great for rebuilding credit
Cristaterk Cardholder

I opened a secured credit card through Open Sky and then a month later was approved for this unsecured card. It gave me a $50 increase after 6 months on on-time payments. The only downfall is that I do not know when they report the balance to the credit bureaus and even though I pay it every month, it sometimes shows my highest balance for the month. Easy to make payments online and they are applied the next day.

more ...
Sep 18, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

Don't waste your time!  I assure you it's not worth it! I've had this card for almost 2 years; never late or missed a payment and NEVER got an increase. I have zero debt, derogatory marks or collections. I haven't asked for an increase but you'd think with no defaults they would just give it to you in good faith. What a waste!

more ...
Aug 25, 2016
It's OK
mrswillette Cardholder

Ther is an $89 fee you have to pay up front before you can use the card and the fee can be paid by debit or credit card. Also There is a $75.00 anual fee which is taken from the card as well. I would suggest that you make your payment at least two weeks before the due date. If you pay by debit or credit card, you can only make one payment every five days online. Other than that, the card should only be used to build your credit. 

more ...
Aug 11, 2016

They asked me for proof of income. Being self employed, that isn't easy. Don't apply for this card.

more ...
Sep 11, 2016

Why? Don't you file taxes? Just get a copy of your last year's tax return.

Aug 10, 2016
Also TOO, the fee

The $75 annual fee comes out of your initial credit limit. So, you get a $225 credit limit at first instead of the full $300.

more ...
Aug 10, 2016
I got approved with a 545!

Credit Karma said that my approval odds were poor. First Access sent me an e-mail advising me to apply. I applied and I was approved for a unsecured credit limit of $300. There is a $89 processing fee that must be paid initially before the account to be opened. i believe this will be the start of a bright future head! I finally have the chance to begin my life 😄😌

more ...
Jul 21, 2016
Rarepreciousgem35 Cardholder

DO NOT GET THIS CARD! The worst decision I ever made!  They charge a $89 processing fee, $75 annual fee. With a $300 credit line (which was only $225, after they subtracted the $75 annual fee). They will report to the credit bureaus in 1 WEEK after you activate your card. I activated my card on July 2. They reported to EQ & EXP on July 10. I almost maxed my credit limit ( the balance was $274) which is 91% utilization. Which I was going to pay off in 2 weeks. They didn't even give me time to make the payment. The bill wasn't due until August 4th. Mind you I activated the card on July 2. Guess what happened? My Equifax credit score was decreased from 636 to now 523. I am so upset. The goal was to REBUILD my credit, not damage it even more. WOW!! But wait, I thought it take CC companies at least 30 days to report new card accounts. Open Sky waited approximately 3 weeks to report my secured card account. Which only had 19% utilization (I received a 74 point increase via Equifax). For some reason neither CC companies reported to Trans Union. 

more ...
Aug 03, 2016

thanks for the tip, did it ever report payment yet?

Aug 25, 2016

well, u did almost max the card out per your own statement.. so it really isn't their fault.. everything u read about credit cards tell you NOT to spend more than a percent on the avail credit.. it will report automatically when you do.. "credit utilization" at least you learn from your own doing..

Sep 01, 2016

Anytime you open a new Account your score will always drop.

Jun 28, 2016
Great for rebuilding credit
Wulfdane Cardholder

First Access is a great card for those who are rebuilding their credit. Like most cards that help people with bad credit, you do pay a monthly fee, but it is a small fee that is well worth it when you consider your options.

I have never had a problem with the company, I've only called customer service once for a card replacement and they were very friendly. First Access has played a big role in rebuilding my credit and I'm grateful for it. Most of the complaints I see about First Access are from people do not understand what they are applying for or are blaming the company for their mistakes.

more ...
Jun 09, 2016
seanjk1218 Cardholder

PS my score went from 540 to 630 tran 602 Equifax and 615

more ...
Jul 26, 2016

How long did it take you?


Top Similar Cards

Search All Cards
Add a Review

Add Your Review

Rate this card overall

Please select a rating

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

What should others know about this card?


How was application process?

How was customer service?


Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 281
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The First Access VISA® Credit Card