Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

The First Access VISA® Credit Card

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.9 out of 5 stars
16 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

3 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR Not Applicable
  • Annual Fee $75 for first year, After that $48 annually
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 29.99%*

Our Take

The First Access VISA® Credit Card is a solid option for people looking to build or rebuild their credit scores.

What to Like

Since the First Access VISA® Credit Card reports monthly to all three major credit bureaus, you can use this card to start building your credit with on-time payments and other responsible use. The card is geared toward those looking to build credit, so people with limited credit histories may qualify. Finally, the card is unsecured, meaning you won’t have to pay a deposit to get access to your credit.

Look Out For

There are a few notable fees to contend with here. There’s an $89 processing fee and a $75 annual fee in your first year, and then a $48 annual fee and a $6.25 monthly servicing fee thereafter. At 29.99%, this card also comes with a high APR on purchases and cash advances.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jun 09, 2016
seanjk1218 Cardholder

PS my score went from 540 to 630 tran 602 Equifax and 615

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 07, 2016
There payment process sucks
caselaw Cardholder

I have the first Access visa and the total visa both great cards only one serious problem with there payment system, it takes almost 72 hours to post to your acoount if you made your payment on a friday using the money gram express system it still takes 72 hours to post and it takes 72 hours for your money to be available for use, because the system is down friday saturday sunday and wont post till monday at midnight, the system shows you delinquent because the system fails to credit your account on a timely manner and will access a $37 late fee when infact you made your payments on its due date or a day before its due on a friday, this is wrong and should not happen, money gram post your money immediately once you make the payment but mid america bank & trust website is very cheap low budget that manages our accounts on line, i know they can do better than this to better manage our on line banking. not very happy with there on line system very cheap website with no class.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Oct 29, 2016
Waste of Time

I've had this card over 2 years. You must pay a $89 processing and activation fee to begin using the card. I was given a $300 limit when I initially applied and opened account. After over 12 months of timely payments, sometimes multiple payments per month, I received no offers of a credit limit increase. Trust me, this credit card company has no incentives for being a responsible accountholder. I finally received a $50 credit limit increase after logging into my account and requesting an increase. What a waste! They report monthly to the credit agencies but with a credit limit so low and no incentive to increase your limit, your credit score will not benefit from having this card. My advice is to look for other card options. This one is a waste of time. I recently closed my account because of the issues outlined here. 

more ...
Oct 22, 2016
CCredit42 Cardholder

I applied with 523 score, got approved with me proving my income . Awesome, because I'm disabled and on a tight budget . Thank you, First Access!

more ...
Oct 14, 2016
Don't Waste Your Time
JamesHoller Cardholder

While yes they approve you, they also sit on your payments for 14 business days...not calendar days...what a joke! Use this card at your own peril!

more ...
Oct 04, 2016
Great for rebuilding credit
Cristaterk Cardholder

I opened a secured credit card through Open Sky and then a month later was approved for this unsecured card. It gave me a $50 increase after 6 months on on-time payments. The only downfall is that I do not know when they report the balance to the credit bureaus and even though I pay it every month, it sometimes shows my highest balance for the month. Easy to make payments online and they are applied the next day.

more ...
Sep 18, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

Don't waste your time!  I assure you it's not worth it! I've had this card for almost 2 years; never late or missed a payment and NEVER got an increase. I have zero debt, derogatory marks or collections. I haven't asked for an increase but you'd think with no defaults they would just give it to you in good faith. What a waste!

more ...
Aug 25, 2016
It's OK
mrswillette Cardholder

Ther is an $89 fee you have to pay up front before you can use the card and the fee can be paid by debit or credit card. Also There is a $75.00 anual fee which is taken from the card as well. I would suggest that you make your payment at least two weeks before the due date. If you pay by debit or credit card, you can only make one payment every five days online. Other than that, the card should only be used to build your credit. 

more ...
Jul 21, 2016

DO NOT GET THIS CARD! The worst decision I ever made!  They charge a $89 processing fee, $75 annual fee. With a $300 credit line (which was only $225, after they subtracted the $75 annual fee). They will report to the credit bureaus in 1 WEEK after you activate your card. I activated my card on July 2. They reported to EQ & EXP on July 10. I almost maxed my credit limit ( the balance was $274) which is 91% utilization. Which I was going to pay off in 2 weeks. They didn't even give me time to make the payment. The bill wasn't due until August 4th. Mind you I activated the card on July 2. Guess what happened? My Equifax credit score was decreased from 636 to now 523. I am so upset. The goal was to REBUILD my credit, not damage it even more. WOW!! But wait, I thought it take CC companies at least 30 days to report new card accounts. Open Sky waited approximately 3 weeks to report my secured card account. Which only had 19% utilization (I received a 74 point increase via Equifax). For some reason neither CC companies reported to Trans Union. 

more ...
Aug 03, 2016

thanks for the tip, did it ever report payment yet?

 
Aug 25, 2016

well, u did almost max the card out per your own statement.. so it really isn't their fault.. everything u read about credit cards tell you NOT to spend more than a percent on the avail credit.. it will report automatically when you do.. "credit utilization" at least you learn from your own doing..

 
Sep 01, 2016

Anytime you open a new Account your score will always drop.

 
Jun 28, 2016
Great for rebuilding credit
Wulfdane Cardholder

First Access is a great card for those who are rebuilding their credit. Like most cards that help people with bad credit, you do pay a monthly fee, but it is a small fee that is well worth it when you consider your options.

I have never had a problem with the company, I've only called customer service once for a card replacement and they were very friendly. First Access has played a big role in rebuilding my credit and I'm grateful for it. Most of the complaints I see about First Access are from people do not understand what they are applying for or are blaming the company for their mistakes.

more ...
Jun 09, 2016
seanjk1218 Cardholder

PS my score went from 540 to 630 tran 602 Equifax and 615

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jul 26, 2016

How long did it take you?

 
Jun 09, 2016
seanjk1218 Cardholder

The first access for giving me my first credit card with my poor credit year later now I own a capital one card to the so much y'all be great

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Sep 11, 2016

Capital One is the worse bank you can deal with. Good luck with that card Mr. 29.9% interest.

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 281
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The First Access VISA® Credit Card