The First Access VISA® Credit Card

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.9 out of 5 stars
17 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

3 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jun 09, 2016
seanjk1218 Cardholder

PS my score went from 540 to 630 tran 602 Equifax and 615

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Apr 11, 2016
bells8912 Cardholder

i applied  for this card and they ask me to send my w2 papers i have never heared a credit card asking for a w2 form so this is not good for me

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Mar 15, 2017
Ok card to build credit
rroman86 Cardholder

I've had this card for about 9 months then application process was easy. You have to pay $89 to apply and then $125 to activate the card. I pay my card in full every month so I haven't had any issues. If you use their website to make payments and you pay with your debit card the payment clears within 24 hrs if you do it through your bank acct it take up to a week to post. The easiest way for me to make my payments was to do bill pay through my bank it clears as soon as they receive the payment. Only bad thing about the card is that they offer zero benefits at all. I've made all of my payment on time and rarely have a balance and they gave me a $50 CLI after 6 months (capital one gave me $1000) I was going to close it but I was told it would hurt my credit since I've had it for almost a year. 

more ...
Jan 30, 2017
NEVER "HAD IT"
Anonymous Cardholder

Could not review without clicking "I own it", "I had it", or "I applied"  None of these are the case.

I never heard of this company until I started receiving spam emails from them. 

I have blocked them and would never trust a company that would send spam emails to people who have never contacted them first. 

more ...
Dec 15, 2016
Yeah you get approved but
Anonymous Cardholder

Yes you do get approved,  however bad part is where is the customer service,  you call and it takes forever to speak to someone,  and then beware of the reps you talk to because they will lie to you that your card was sent and it wasnt yet just to get you off the phone.I have had 6 payments paid on time and they sent me 6 statements and then when i asked for a CLI after 6 months they declined it trying to say it wasnt 6 months yet, and to me it's like they are happy to send you and email with a decline decision.

more ...
Oct 29, 2016
Waste of Time

I've had this card over 2 years. You must pay a $89 processing and activation fee to begin using the card. I was given a $300 limit when I initially applied and opened account. After over 12 months of timely payments, sometimes multiple payments per month, I received no offers of a credit limit increase. Trust me, this credit card company has no incentives for being a responsible accountholder. I finally received a $50 credit limit increase after logging into my account and requesting an increase. What a waste! They report monthly to the credit agencies but with a credit limit so low and no incentive to increase your limit, your credit score will not benefit from having this card. My advice is to look for other card options. This one is a waste of time. I recently closed my account because of the issues outlined here. 

more ...
Oct 22, 2016
CCredit42 Cardholder

I applied with 523 score, got approved with me proving my income . Awesome, because I'm disabled and on a tight budget . Thank you, First Access!

more ...
Oct 14, 2016
Don't Waste Your Time
JamesHoller Cardholder

While yes they approve you, they also sit on your payments for 14 business days...not calendar days...what a joke! Use this card at your own peril!

more ...
Oct 04, 2016
Great for rebuilding credit
Cristaterk Cardholder

I opened a secured credit card through Open Sky and then a month later was approved for this unsecured card. It gave me a $50 increase after 6 months on on-time payments. The only downfall is that I do not know when they report the balance to the credit bureaus and even though I pay it every month, it sometimes shows my highest balance for the month. Easy to make payments online and they are applied the next day.

more ...
Sep 18, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

Don't waste your time!  I assure you it's not worth it! I've had this card for almost 2 years; never late or missed a payment and NEVER got an increase. I have zero debt, derogatory marks or collections. I haven't asked for an increase but you'd think with no defaults they would just give it to you in good faith. What a waste!

more ...
Aug 25, 2016
It's OK
mrswillette Cardholder

Ther is an $89 fee you have to pay up front before you can use the card and the fee can be paid by debit or credit card. Also There is a $75.00 anual fee which is taken from the card as well. I would suggest that you make your payment at least two weeks before the due date. If you pay by debit or credit card, you can only make one payment every five days online. Other than that, the card should only be used to build your credit. 

more ...
Jul 21, 2016

DO NOT GET THIS CARD! The worst decision I ever made!  They charge a $89 processing fee, $75 annual fee. With a $300 credit line (which was only $225, after they subtracted the $75 annual fee). They will report to the credit bureaus in 1 WEEK after you activate your card. I activated my card on July 2. They reported to EQ & EXP on July 10. I almost maxed my credit limit ( the balance was $274) which is 91% utilization. Which I was going to pay off in 2 weeks. They didn't even give me time to make the payment. The bill wasn't due until August 4th. Mind you I activated the card on July 2. Guess what happened? My Equifax credit score was decreased from 636 to now 523. I am so upset. The goal was to REBUILD my credit, not damage it even more. WOW!! But wait, I thought it take CC companies at least 30 days to report new card accounts. Open Sky waited approximately 3 weeks to report my secured card account. Which only had 19% utilization (I received a 74 point increase via Equifax). For some reason neither CC companies reported to Trans Union. 

more ...
Aug 03, 2016

thanks for the tip, did it ever report payment yet?

 
Aug 25, 2016

well, u did almost max the card out per your own statement.. so it really isn't their fault.. everything u read about credit cards tell you NOT to spend more than a percent on the avail credit.. it will report automatically when you do.. "credit utilization" at least you learn from your own doing..

 
Sep 01, 2016

Anytime you open a new Account your score will always drop.

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 281
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

The First Access VISA® Credit Card