The First Access VISA® Credit Card

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.0 out of 5 stars
18 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

3 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Nov 04, 2014
GOOD CARD FOR BAD CREDIT
Anonymous Cardholder

i have a score of 537 and they accepted with a limit of 350 honeslty great card and is not a scam like other credit cards 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 07, 2016
There payment process sucks
caselaw Cardholder

I have the first Access visa and the total visa both great cards only one serious problem with there payment system, it takes almost 72 hours to post to your acoount if you made your payment on a friday using the money gram express system it still takes 72 hours to post and it takes 72 hours for your money to be available for use, because the system is down friday saturday sunday and wont post till monday at midnight, the system shows you delinquent because the system fails to credit your account on a timely manner and will access a $37 late fee when infact you made your payments on its due date or a day before its due on a friday, this is wrong and should not happen, money gram post your money immediately once you make the payment but mid america bank & trust website is very cheap low budget that manages our accounts on line, i know they can do better than this to better manage our on line banking. not very happy with there on line system very cheap website with no class.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Apr 08, 2017
MY CREDIT SCORE WENT UP IN one mounth
Anonymous Cardholder

FOR the paying process is slow but they explain that to you at the beginning  in less than a mounth My credit score wen UP 14 points !!!

more ...
Apr 02, 2017
Waste of MONEY!!!
Anonymous Cardholder

There are better cards out there than this card. Try Capitalone.

more ...
Mar 15, 2017
Ok card to build credit
rroman86 Cardholder

I've had this card for about 9 months then application process was easy. You have to pay $89 to apply and then $125 to activate the card. I pay my card in full every month so I haven't had any issues. If you use their website to make payments and you pay with your debit card the payment clears within 24 hrs if you do it through your bank acct it take up to a week to post. The easiest way for me to make my payments was to do bill pay through my bank it clears as soon as they receive the payment. Only bad thing about the card is that they offer zero benefits at all. I've made all of my payment on time and rarely have a balance and they gave me a $50 CLI after 6 months (capital one gave me $1000) I was going to close it but I was told it would hurt my credit since I've had it for almost a year. 

more ...
Jan 30, 2017
NEVER "HAD IT"
Anonymous Cardholder

Could not review without clicking "I own it", "I had it", or "I applied"  None of these are the case.

I never heard of this company until I started receiving spam emails from them. 

I have blocked them and would never trust a company that would send spam emails to people who have never contacted them first. 

more ...
Dec 15, 2016
Yeah you get approved but
Anonymous Cardholder

Yes you do get approved,  however bad part is where is the customer service,  you call and it takes forever to speak to someone,  and then beware of the reps you talk to because they will lie to you that your card was sent and it wasnt yet just to get you off the phone.I have had 6 payments paid on time and they sent me 6 statements and then when i asked for a CLI after 6 months they declined it trying to say it wasnt 6 months yet, and to me it's like they are happy to send you and email with a decline decision.

more ...
Oct 29, 2016
Waste of Time

I've had this card over 2 years. You must pay a $89 processing and activation fee to begin using the card. I was given a $300 limit when I initially applied and opened account. After over 12 months of timely payments, sometimes multiple payments per month, I received no offers of a credit limit increase. Trust me, this credit card company has no incentives for being a responsible accountholder. I finally received a $50 credit limit increase after logging into my account and requesting an increase. What a waste! They report monthly to the credit agencies but with a credit limit so low and no incentive to increase your limit, your credit score will not benefit from having this card. My advice is to look for other card options. This one is a waste of time. I recently closed my account because of the issues outlined here. 

more ...
Oct 22, 2016
CCredit42 Cardholder

I applied with 523 score, got approved with me proving my income . Awesome, because I'm disabled and on a tight budget . Thank you, First Access!

more ...
Oct 14, 2016
Don't Waste Your Time
JamesHoller Cardholder

While yes they approve you, they also sit on your payments for 14 business days...not calendar days...what a joke! Use this card at your own peril!

more ...
Oct 04, 2016
Great for rebuilding credit
Cristaterk Cardholder

I opened a secured credit card through Open Sky and then a month later was approved for this unsecured card. It gave me a $50 increase after 6 months on on-time payments. The only downfall is that I do not know when they report the balance to the credit bureaus and even though I pay it every month, it sometimes shows my highest balance for the month. Easy to make payments online and they are applied the next day.

more ...
Sep 18, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

Don't waste your time!  I assure you it's not worth it! I've had this card for almost 2 years; never late or missed a payment and NEVER got an increase. I have zero debt, derogatory marks or collections. I haven't asked for an increase but you'd think with no defaults they would just give it to you in good faith. What a waste!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 281
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

The First Access VISA® Credit Card