Chase Sapphire Reserve® Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Chase Sapphire Reserve® Reviews
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.8 out of 5 stars
36 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 18.74% - 25.74%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $450
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 18.74% - 25.74%* Variable
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Aug 07, 2019
Always having to call to make purchases
QueenDiva88 Cardholder

Had the card for about 2 months, and every time i try to make a big purchase my card gets declined and i have to call chase fraud department to notify them it’s me making the purchase. This has happened numerous times, even when i was in the store. It’s embarrassing to have your card declined when you know you have the money available. I’m sick of calling to ask to use the card every time i want to make a purchase. I want to cancel the account. 

more ...
Aug 22, 2019

I have had the card for 2 years and have never had that problem. I would call Chase and see why this is happening.

 
Sep 03, 2019

Your full of shlt

 
Sep 11, 2019

lmao

 
Jul 25, 2019
I JUST GOT APPROVED!
Kviews Cardholder

My Credit karma score was TU 748 EQ 769 and EX FICO 8 score was 754. I wasn’t instantly approved. I called the reconsideration line and they told me my app was declined, it’s pending. They transferred me to another line to confirm my information and approved me for 16,300. This is my first and ONLY CHASE CARD. I was scared to apply cause i have ZERO history with this bank. Tried for the card cause i had one more slot on my 5/24. 

more ...
Aug 22, 2019

How long before you got approval? I applied 08/20 and haven't heard from them yet. How many days did wait before you called recon line? Thank you in advance.

 
Oct 10, 2019

What number did you call?

 
Jul 11, 2019
6tea9 Cardholder

Applied for this card as I’m traveling a lot for work and wanted to capitalize on the points & benefits. CK said my scores were around 680 & I have about an 180k annual income. Received a call a few hours after the application was submitted from an unknown number, called them back and was approved for 10K after a few verification questions. Excited for all the perks!

more ...
Jun 15, 2019
Packed with perks
Pro134 Cardholder

Huge sign up bonus and very good 3x rate on travel and dining. Airport lounge access is nice as is the $300 travel credit and $85 TSA Pre. So far we have used all those perks and already earned an additional 15k in rewards in just the first two months. Have not had to use customer service so can’t speak to it’s quality. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Aug 07, 2019

How do you know what lounges you have access to, I’m traveling at the end of the month

 
May 26, 2019
Fav travel card!
Nellybby Cardholder

I do love my chase sapphire reserve card , but i hate there customer service , it sucks. I maximize on my card and use it for travel and dining to get my 3x points and on anything else I use my other credit card. I would like to try out the Amex platnuim card or the MasterCard black card to see what the comparisons really are , but so far love my chase sapphire reserve 

more ...
May 25, 2019
Excellent travel rewards card
mrkt09 Cardholder

Was approved in Feb 2019 with a 734 FICO, 771 CK TU, 90k income. Approved for 23,300 instantly, first Chase card and no other Chase relationships. Love the shopping portal (10X points easily becomes 15X when using th travel portal, more transferring to partners. Customer service has been... Okay. Not Discover by any means or AmEx, but not Capital One. Travel credit is extremely generic and encompassing and priority pass has goten me multiple free steak dinners on trips. Would recommend it if you can his the bonus requirement and the effective 150 fee make it a keeper for the lng term. Another often overlooked perk is National Emerald Executive status. Ive rented a midsize for 3 days for about 215 and got a premium lux SUV which is closer to 730 for the same trip! What a benefit.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jul 03, 2019

I’m considering getting this card myself. I always bought a previous relationship with chase would help your case. Did you apply online??

 
May 09, 2019
1000% Worth It
tnwamkpa Cardholder

I'll admit, the $450 annual fee scared me - the idea of paying that much for a credit card seemed ludicous to me. But this card is so worth it - I never thought I would rave about a credit card, but here I am. So far it has delivered on everything promised, including the $300 travel credit. I just came back from a trip to Morocco that I booked with points I earned with the Sapphire Preferred before I upgraded to the Reserve. Upgrading to the Reserve was an easy call to Chase a year after owning the Preferred card. The travel company I booked my Morocco trip with required travel insurance, which this cc covered, saving me about $100. I used the Priority Pass lounges at all airports I visited & was very happy with the free meals and drinks I enjoyed. I utilized the global entry & TSA precheck, which saved me a good amount of time & aggravation. So far the card has been worth more than the annual fee I paid.  If you travel a lot, you will love an appreciate this card. The perks and benefits are excellent.

more ...
May 01, 2019
High balance hard
Jay1898 Cardholder

I have a 760/763/820 credit score with an income of 163k and was just approved for $33,500.  I also have a Discover (20k) Amex platinum and a few other lower balance cards. I havn't used this card yet but im excited about it. I'll update if I have any issuse. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jul 07, 2019

Do they ask for verification or proof of income

 
Apr 30, 2019
Approved on second try, not instantly
Corto713 Cardholder

Trans: 748 - Eq: 745 - Exp: 720 /// 1 Year 7 Month history with 3 cards // ~$50,000 income // Denied for having too many credit inquiries (11 within past 12 months), then approved for $10,000 limit a month later with no changes (12 within past 12 months), after calling Chase Rep.

"Thank you for your request. We need to review your request a little longer." - I called the Chase App Status line 3 days after this message and was approved

Note: SEVEN of the 11-12 inquiries were from a dealership that sent my information to several other institutions without my consent.

more ...
Jul 15, 2019

Was this your first chase card? I want to apply, but i don't have any chase cards or history with them.

 
Jul 24, 2019

Car dealerships pull from multiple places but I've read around that even if you have 20+, it still counts just as if it is just 1 pull. Creditors know you're shopping for best interest rate. So even with that seven that you have, it is considered as 1 pull.

 
Jul 24, 2019

I need to get my score up I see. A card like this I thought you had to have at least a 6 fig income, guess not. I'm at 65k but my highest score is a 690. I see I need to get in the 700s before thinking about applying for this card. Helpful review indeed.

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 
Chase Sapphire Reserve® Reviews

Chase Sapphire Reserve®

36 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i