Chase Sapphire Reserve® Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.2 out of 5 stars
42 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 19.24% - 26.24%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $450
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 19.24% - 26.24%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Sep 15, 2018
Slick
RespeckThaKANG Cardholder

Approved with a 10k starting limit. Was denied for freedom unlimited a week prior to applying for this card, so I was surprised to see that CK said i had very good approval odds for the reserve a week later (ck 690 TU & EQ 698...Experian Fico score 665) so i took the shot and here we are. I initially got the "30 day review" message, waited Chase a couple days later and was approved over the phone (seems that just wanted me to verify some info). Was also approved for Discover It $7500 starting limit a month ago and believe that played apart in Chase giving me this card. So far no complaints with customer service.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

May 18, 2018
Unfair
Trishnichols Cardholder

I applied and was approved for 24,000 CL. A week later, they closed my account stating I didnt have a long enough credit history. This created a hard inquiry on my credit for nothing.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jan 02, 2019
Best overall travel card!
DKelly921 Cardholder

This card is a must have if you travel regularly. The travel credits and benefits well outweighs the annual fee. You’ll love it! 

more ...
Jan 02, 2019
My #1 of 11 CC’s
PhDarien Cardholder

GET THIS CARD!

If you’re reading this, chances are that you’ve done some research and seen some YouTube videos about it already.  If you can’t easily get your $300 travel credit, the points and miles hobby isn’t for you.  I wouldn’t even recommend the CSP.  This has benefited my family and I in so many ways.  4 booked flights for free.  2 hotel stays and lounge access.  All with no annual fee.  If you’re in the military the annual fees and authorized user fees are voided.  After I get out, I’ll still keep this card considering it’s not blown out of the water by then.  It’s worth it with the fee, so you know it is without it.  

more ...
Jan 02, 2019

How’d you get them to waive the annual fee for being military ?

 
Jan 22, 2019

You don’t do anything. If you’re approved after September 2017, the MLA(Military Lending Act) doesn’t allow any interest rates above 34% I believe. These annual fees are considered to be interest rates somehow initially and thus the fees are waived. Like I said, I was willing to pay for them.

 
Dec 28, 2018
Topoheap Cardholder

Excellent card. This could be your one and only premium. 

more ...
Dec 18, 2018
Not special thing and to much processing
Arashiran Cardholder

This card waist my time and energy FOR NOTHING.
Why chase bank ask many nonsense questions from customers?

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Feb 22, 2019

Because they are trying to verify it’s you. I recently moved and my updated address did not match my credit report. So they had to ask questions. It’s not a big deal, it’s for your protection and theirs.

 
Dec 15, 2018
Great. If you don't have to call Chase.
LCTHJT Cardholder

It's a great card, with great perks.  Probably racked up about 500k points in the year I have had it. But dealing with Chase is a complete pain in the a$$.  If the perks were not what they are I would go elsewhere.  But alas the perks are that good.  But Chase customer service sucks!!!!

more ...
Dec 17, 2018

I've never had a problem with Chase customer service.

 
Dec 17, 2018

Enter Your Reply

 
Dec 17, 2018

$450 annual fee with an outstanding credit score? Don't be stupid!

 
Dec 08, 2018
Great card if like dining out and travel
ZarZar12345 Cardholder

3x points for dining and travel. Books travel thru chase and even better. 

more ...
Nov 17, 2018
Wave0302 Cardholder

I have a 756 Credit score and was approved for 31,900.  I’ve been banking with chase for over 10 years and my credit history is about 5 years in length.  I was happy with the limit that they offered me.  

more ...
Nov 15, 2018
Amazing Card. Good AMEX Competitor

I applied for this card thinking "they'll never approve me for this!".  Less than 24 hours later, I logged on to my Chase Bank account and saw a new account listed for my Sapphire Reserve.

Limit (they call it a credit access line) is $18k.

Score at time of app was mid 600's

The only perk that irritated me a little was the $300 travel credit which gets applied to the first "travel related" charge regardless of what it is.  I got my money's worth clearly, but i wouldve prefered to use the credit in a more directed fashion.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 13, 2019

If you buy gift cards for on the airline you chose then it will trigger the reimbursement. I got 300 worth of gift cards after i tried. YouTube it

 
Nov 11, 2018
NOT WORTH CRAZY PRICE
ouellette210 Cardholder

Get a real travel card from a company that actual pretands to care when you pay them this much money and has the expertise to back it up. Chase doesn't give a **** if your strandrad in some grassfield airport with no hotel, it's too busy figging new reasons to cancal your account for random reasons. Pay from two banks too many times in a nonth. That's a closed account. Buy too many Amazon gift cards. That's a closed account. Look crosseyed, that's closed account. You don't need the stress of being cancelled whenever Chase randomly feels like messing with you.

more ...
Dec 30, 2018

It’s not in a banks best interest to randomly mess with you. From your comments I would guess they were concerned with some type of fraud.

 
Jan 18, 2019

I don't think they closed your account for buying too much. They will if you don't pay them enough, as if one or more of your bank accounts rejected a payment. That's probably what happened

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 

Chase Sapphire Reserve®

42 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i