Chase Sapphire Reserve® Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.5 out of 5 stars
39 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 19.24% - 26.24%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $450
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 19.24% - 26.24%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jan 14, 2019
Immediately Approved with High Limit
GoCoogs17 Cardholder

Was convinced to apply due to the plethora of benefits, way too many to list. 675 TransUnion and 672 Equifax at the time of application. Good Standing with an Auto Loan. Immediately approved for a $16,300 Limit. If you plan on even taking 1 trip this year, then the card is already worth it. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Nov 11, 2018
Terrible service from Chase
SCHNOODLE3 Cardholder

Chase invited to apply for this card from my online acccount so that seems that I would be preapproved, especially as I have been a credit, banking, loan and mortgage customer for over 25 years. They appproved, sent me the card about 5 days latter. Two days latter I go online and my account is closed. What kind of horrible way to ttreatit a customer. Why even approve it, let alone send a card.  Typical of the kind of terrible experiences others get from Chase.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jul 11, 2019
6tea9 Cardholder

Applied for this card as I’m traveling a lot for work and wanted to capitalize on the points & benefits. CK said my scores were around 680 & I have about an 180k annual income. Received a call a few hours after the application was submitted from an unknown number, called them back and was approved for 10K after a few verification questions. Excited for all the perks!

more ...
Jun 15, 2019
Packed with perks
Pro134 Cardholder

Huge sign up bonus and very good 3x rate on travel and dining. Airport lounge access is nice as is the $300 travel credit and $85 TSA Pre. So far we have used all those perks and already earned an additional 15k in rewards in just the first two months. Have not had to use customer service so can’t speak to it’s quality. 

more ...
May 26, 2019
Fav travel card!
Nellybby Cardholder

I do love my chase sapphire reserve card , but i hate there customer service , it sucks. I maximize on my card and use it for travel and dining to get my 3x points and on anything else I use my other credit card. I would like to try out the Amex platnuim card or the MasterCard black card to see what the comparisons really are , but so far love my chase sapphire reserve 

more ...
May 25, 2019
Excellent travel rewards card
mrkt09 Cardholder

Was approved in Feb 2019 with a 734 FICO, 771 CK TU, 90k income. Approved for 23,300 instantly, first Chase card and no other Chase relationships. Love the shopping portal (10X points easily becomes 15X when using th travel portal, more transferring to partners. Customer service has been... Okay. Not Discover by any means or AmEx, but not Capital One. Travel credit is extremely generic and encompassing and priority pass has goten me multiple free steak dinners on trips. Would recommend it if you can his the bonus requirement and the effective 150 fee make it a keeper for the lng term. Another often overlooked perk is National Emerald Executive status. Ive rented a midsize for 3 days for about 215 and got a premium lux SUV which is closer to 730 for the same trip! What a benefit.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jul 03, 2019

I’m considering getting this card myself. I always bought a previous relationship with chase would help your case. Did you apply online??

 
May 09, 2019
1000% Worth It
tnwamkpa Cardholder

I'll admit, the $450 annual fee scared me - the idea of paying that much for a credit card seemed ludicous to me. But this card is so worth it - I never thought I would rave about a credit card, but here I am. So far it has delivered on everything promised, including the $300 travel credit. I just came back from a trip to Morocco that I booked with points I earned with the Sapphire Preferred before I upgraded to the Reserve. Upgrading to the Reserve was an easy call to Chase a year after owning the Preferred card. The travel company I booked my Morocco trip with required travel insurance, which this cc covered, saving me about $100. I used the Priority Pass lounges at all airports I visited & was very happy with the free meals and drinks I enjoyed. I utilized the global entry & TSA precheck, which saved me a good amount of time & aggravation. So far the card has been worth more than the annual fee I paid.  If you travel a lot, you will love an appreciate this card. The perks and benefits are excellent.

more ...
May 01, 2019
High balance hard
Jay1898 Cardholder

I have a 760/763/820 credit score with an income of 163k and was just approved for $33,500.  I also have a Discover (20k) Amex platinum and a few other lower balance cards. I havn't used this card yet but im excited about it. I'll update if I have any issuse. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jul 07, 2019

Do they ask for verification or proof of income

 
Apr 30, 2019
Approved on second try, not instantly
Corto713 Cardholder

Trans: 748 - Eq: 745 - Exp: 720 /// 1 Year 7 Month history with 3 cards // ~$50,000 income // Denied for having too many credit inquiries (11 within past 12 months), then approved for $10,000 limit a month later with no changes (12 within past 12 months), after calling Chase Rep.

"Thank you for your request. We need to review your request a little longer." - I called the Chase App Status line 3 days after this message and was approved

Note: SEVEN of the 11-12 inquiries were from a dealership that sent my information to several other institutions without my consent.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jul 15, 2019

Was this your first chase card? I want to apply, but i don't have any chase cards or history with them.

 
Apr 15, 2019
"Great Travel Card"
GoHeels202 Cardholder

After doing my research about this card I was definitely interested but didn't have the best credit score so that made me nervous about applying. I had been trying to rebuild it over the past few months and at the time of applying I had my utilization down to 0% for 3 consecutive months, 2 late payments from 5 years ago, about 8 years of credit history and no other credit cards opened in the past few years. Credit score was a 669-671 and I was instantly approved for 14K. Can't wait to start using it and taking advantage of the perks that come with it. Hope this helps other people who may not have a high 700 score feel confident in applying and it really is the epitome of "you never know".

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Apr 27, 2019

What if u make $15 per hour and full time and got 700 credit scote

 
Apr 01, 2019
Excited
mehdi016 Cardholder

Went to chase branch and I was told that I was pre approved for both CSP and CSR. Transunion 747, Equifax 727 and 722 on my FICO 8. I was instantly approved for 10k !! 

Only 14 months of credit history ( capital one $800 and Amex magnet 10k). So happy to finally got this card, now ready to travel. 

more ...
Mar 26, 2019
Amazinggg
Thaiger2522 Cardholder

CK 803/813 FICO 790 $75k income got approved for $32k. I'm happy 🙂

more ...
Mar 22, 2019
Premium!!!
DonVon40 Cardholder

CK said that I had very good approval odds & I was approved for a $17,500 CL. Been repairing my credit for a few years now after my divorce almost crippled me! Scored were 690-710 at the time of applying & income was around $150K.

more ...
Mar 11, 2019
Great card, great bank, great benefits
Joshyoungfl Cardholder

Large annual fee but potential to earn back twice that if you use the perks.

more ...
Mar 05, 2019
High limit-First Chase-average credit
Lindsey456 Cardholder

Just got this card in the mail. After the email I got saying they wanted to verify some things, I figured i was turned down like every other card who sends me that email. Haven't gotten a chance to use it or learn about it. My credit was 667 and 669 with Equifax and transunion. I usually get turned down because I'm self employed. My income is well over 6 figures, got approved for a $21,700 limit so I'll take it. Will update in a few months

more ...
Feb 23, 2019
Great theoretical protections/utility
CBalla9 Cardholder

Using the card for international travel, to see family, etc. The benefits are pretty comprehensive with lots of protections extended to "immediate family" which is pretty broadly defined in everything except for trip delay. Trip delay/hotel coverage is only covered for User + spouse and children. The other protections, at least per the rep (haven't had to use it) extend out to cousins/parents/siblings, so it's pretty comprehensive. 

That said, I haven't had to use it for that yet. Hoping I won't.

Application process, while simple, had a lot of delay/lag involved. Ended up getting two sets of cards from Chase due to the delays/rush order put on one set due to the length of time the approval took/need to order tickets to get everyone booked together. 

more ...
Feb 13, 2019
THANK YOU CHASE!!! Instantly approved
qassam Cardholder

My credit score was 750 when I got approved which granted me a credit limit of $12,000. Keep in mind you have to have a solid credit foundation, at least 3-4 credit cards and of course a chase credit card before applying. 

more ...
Feb 14, 2019

Not really. I had only one credit credit (open for 13 months). Also, the credit card was a non chase card. I was approved three days ago with a credit limit of $17,500. It really depends on what’s in your credit history.

 
Feb 14, 2019

Forgot to add. My credit score at the time I applied was 785 TU, 798 Exp and 800 EQ. No prior relationship with chase.

 
Feb 22, 2019

I got approved beginning of February. TU 672 EQ 672. Got approved for 16,700 limit. No prior chase card. 3 credit cards(discover, capital one, citi) and student loans.

 
Jan 14, 2019
Immediately Approved with High Limit
GoCoogs17 Cardholder

Was convinced to apply due to the plethora of benefits, way too many to list. 675 TransUnion and 672 Equifax at the time of application. Good Standing with an Auto Loan. Immediately approved for a $16,300 Limit. If you plan on even taking 1 trip this year, then the card is already worth it. 

more ...
Feb 07, 2019

Congrats!! were those your ck scores? and did you have a prior relationship with chase?

 
Feb 17, 2019

Did they run a hard credit check when you applied for the card?

 
Feb 25, 2019

Is this your first credit card with Chase?

 
Jan 02, 2019
Best overall travel card!
DKelly921 Cardholder

This card is a must have if you travel regularly. The travel credits and benefits well outweighs the annual fee. You’ll love it! 

more ...
Jan 02, 2019
My #1 of 11 CC’s
PhDarien Cardholder

GET THIS CARD!

If you’re reading this, chances are that you’ve done some research and seen some YouTube videos about it already.  If you can’t easily get your $300 travel credit, the points and miles hobby isn’t for you.  I wouldn’t even recommend the CSP.  This has benefited my family and I in so many ways.  4 booked flights for free.  2 hotel stays and lounge access.  All with no annual fee.  If you’re in the military the annual fees and authorized user fees are voided.  After I get out, I’ll still keep this card considering it’s not blown out of the water by then.  It’s worth it with the fee, so you know it is without it.  

more ...
Jan 02, 2019

How’d you get them to waive the annual fee for being military ?

 
Jan 22, 2019

You don’t do anything. If you’re approved after September 2017, the MLA(Military Lending Act) doesn’t allow any interest rates above 34% I believe. These annual fees are considered to be interest rates somehow initially and thus the fees are waived. Like I said, I was willing to pay for them.

 
Dec 28, 2018
Topoheap Cardholder

Excellent card. This could be your one and only premium. 

more ...
Dec 15, 2018
Great. If you don't have to call Chase.
LCTHJT Cardholder

It's a great card, with great perks.  Probably racked up about 500k points in the year I have had it. But dealing with Chase is a complete pain in the a$$.  If the perks were not what they are I would go elsewhere.  But alas the perks are that good.  But Chase customer service sucks!!!!

more ...
Dec 17, 2018

I've never had a problem with Chase customer service.

 
Dec 17, 2018

Enter Your Reply

 
Dec 17, 2018

$450 annual fee with an outstanding credit score? Don't be stupid!

 
Dec 08, 2018
Great card if like dining out and travel
ZarZar12345 Cardholder

3x points for dining and travel. Books travel thru chase and even better. 

more ...
Nov 17, 2018
Wave0302 Cardholder

I have a 756 Credit score and was approved for 31,900.  I’ve been banking with chase for over 10 years and my credit history is about 5 years in length.  I was happy with the limit that they offered me.  

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 

Chase Sapphire Reserve®

39 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i