Chase Sapphire Reserve® Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.2 out of 5 stars
42 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 19.24% - 26.24%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $450
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 19.24% - 26.24%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Sep 15, 2018
Slick
RespeckThaKANG Cardholder

Approved with a 10k starting limit. Was denied for freedom unlimited a week prior to applying for this card, so I was surprised to see that CK said i had very good approval odds for the reserve a week later (ck 690 TU & EQ 698...Experian Fico score 665) so i took the shot and here we are. I initially got the "30 day review" message, waited Chase a couple days later and was approved over the phone (seems that just wanted me to verify some info). Was also approved for Discover It $7500 starting limit a month ago and believe that played apart in Chase giving me this card. So far no complaints with customer service.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

May 18, 2018
Unfair
Trishnichols Cardholder

I applied and was approved for 24,000 CL. A week later, they closed my account stating I didnt have a long enough credit history. This created a hard inquiry on my credit for nothing.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Apr 15, 2019
"Great Travel Card"
GoHeels202 Cardholder

After doing my research about this card I was definitely interested but didn't have the best credit score so that made me nervous about applying. I had been trying to rebuild it over the past few months and at the time of applying I had my utilization down to 0% for 3 consecutive months, 2 late payments from 5 years ago, about 8 years of credit history and no other credit cards opened in the past few years. Credit score was a 669-671 and I was instantly approved for 14K. Can't wait to start using it and taking advantage of the perks that come with it. Hope this helps other people who may not have a high 700 score feel confident in applying and it really is the epitome of "you never know".

more ...
Apr 01, 2019
Excited
mehdi016 Cardholder

Went to chase branch and I was told that I was pre approved for both CSP and CSR. Transunion 747, Equifax 727 and 722 on my FICO 8. I was instantly approved for 10k !! 

Only 14 months of credit history ( capital one $800 and Amex magnet 10k). So happy to finally got this card, now ready to travel. 

more ...
Mar 26, 2019
Amazinggg
Thaiger2522 Cardholder

CK 803/813 FICO 790 $75k income got approved for $32k. I'm happy 🙂

more ...
Mar 22, 2019
Premium!!!
DonVon40 Cardholder

CK said that I had very good approval odds & I was approved for a $17,500 CL. Been repairing my credit for a few years now after my divorce almost crippled me! Scored were 690-710 at the time of applying & income was around $150K.

more ...
Mar 11, 2019
Great card, great bank, great benefits
Joshyoungfl Cardholder

Large annual fee but potential to earn back twice that if you use the perks.

more ...
Mar 05, 2019
High limit-First Chase-average credit
Lindsey456 Cardholder

Just got this card in the mail. After the email I got saying they wanted to verify some things, I figured i was turned down like every other card who sends me that email. Haven't gotten a chance to use it or learn about it. My credit was 667 and 669 with Equifax and transunion. I usually get turned down because I'm self employed. My income is well over 6 figures, got approved for a $21,700 limit so I'll take it. Will update in a few months

more ...
Feb 23, 2019
Great theoretical protections/utility
CBalla9 Cardholder

Using the card for international travel, to see family, etc. The benefits are pretty comprehensive with lots of protections extended to "immediate family" which is pretty broadly defined in everything except for trip delay. Trip delay/hotel coverage is only covered for User + spouse and children. The other protections, at least per the rep (haven't had to use it) extend out to cousins/parents/siblings, so it's pretty comprehensive. 

That said, I haven't had to use it for that yet. Hoping I won't.

Application process, while simple, had a lot of delay/lag involved. Ended up getting two sets of cards from Chase due to the delays/rush order put on one set due to the length of time the approval took/need to order tickets to get everyone booked together. 

more ...
Feb 13, 2019
THANK YOU CHASE!!! Instantly approved
qassam Cardholder

My credit score was 750 when I got approved which granted me a credit limit of $12,000. Keep in mind you have to have a solid credit foundation, at least 3-4 credit cards and of course a chase credit card before applying. 

more ...
Feb 14, 2019

Not really. I had only one credit credit (open for 13 months). Also, the credit card was a non chase card. I was approved three days ago with a credit limit of $17,500. It really depends on what’s in your credit history.

 
Feb 14, 2019

Forgot to add. My credit score at the time I applied was 785 TU, 798 Exp and 800 EQ. No prior relationship with chase.

 
Feb 22, 2019

I got approved beginning of February. TU 672 EQ 672. Got approved for 16,700 limit. No prior chase card. 3 credit cards(discover, capital one, citi) and student loans.

 
Jan 14, 2019
Immediately Approved with High Limit
GoCoogs17 Cardholder

Was convinced to apply due to the plethora of benefits, way too many to list. 675 TransUnion and 672 Equifax at the time of application. Good Standing with an Auto Loan. Immediately approved for a $16,300 Limit. If you plan on even taking 1 trip this year, then the card is already worth it. 

more ...
Feb 07, 2019

Congrats!! were those your ck scores? and did you have a prior relationship with chase?

 
Feb 17, 2019

Did they run a hard credit check when you applied for the card?

 
Feb 25, 2019

Is this your first credit card with Chase?

 
Jan 02, 2019
Best overall travel card!
DKelly921 Cardholder

This card is a must have if you travel regularly. The travel credits and benefits well outweighs the annual fee. You’ll love it! 

more ...
Jan 02, 2019
My #1 of 11 CC’s
PhDarien Cardholder

GET THIS CARD!

If you’re reading this, chances are that you’ve done some research and seen some YouTube videos about it already.  If you can’t easily get your $300 travel credit, the points and miles hobby isn’t for you.  I wouldn’t even recommend the CSP.  This has benefited my family and I in so many ways.  4 booked flights for free.  2 hotel stays and lounge access.  All with no annual fee.  If you’re in the military the annual fees and authorized user fees are voided.  After I get out, I’ll still keep this card considering it’s not blown out of the water by then.  It’s worth it with the fee, so you know it is without it.  

more ...
Jan 02, 2019

How’d you get them to waive the annual fee for being military ?

 
Jan 22, 2019

You don’t do anything. If you’re approved after September 2017, the MLA(Military Lending Act) doesn’t allow any interest rates above 34% I believe. These annual fees are considered to be interest rates somehow initially and thus the fees are waived. Like I said, I was willing to pay for them.

 
Dec 28, 2018
Topoheap Cardholder

Excellent card. This could be your one and only premium. 

more ...
Dec 18, 2018
Not special thing and to much processing
Arashiran Cardholder

This card waist my time and energy FOR NOTHING.
Why chase bank ask many nonsense questions from customers?

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Feb 22, 2019

Because they are trying to verify it’s you. I recently moved and my updated address did not match my credit report. So they had to ask questions. It’s not a big deal, it’s for your protection and theirs.

 
Dec 15, 2018
Great. If you don't have to call Chase.
LCTHJT Cardholder

It's a great card, with great perks.  Probably racked up about 500k points in the year I have had it. But dealing with Chase is a complete pain in the a$$.  If the perks were not what they are I would go elsewhere.  But alas the perks are that good.  But Chase customer service sucks!!!!

more ...
Dec 17, 2018

I've never had a problem with Chase customer service.

 
Dec 17, 2018

Enter Your Reply

 
Dec 17, 2018

$450 annual fee with an outstanding credit score? Don't be stupid!

 
Dec 08, 2018
Great card if like dining out and travel
ZarZar12345 Cardholder

3x points for dining and travel. Books travel thru chase and even better. 

more ...
Nov 17, 2018
Wave0302 Cardholder

I have a 756 Credit score and was approved for 31,900.  I’ve been banking with chase for over 10 years and my credit history is about 5 years in length.  I was happy with the limit that they offered me.  

more ...
Nov 15, 2018
Amazing Card. Good AMEX Competitor

I applied for this card thinking "they'll never approve me for this!".  Less than 24 hours later, I logged on to my Chase Bank account and saw a new account listed for my Sapphire Reserve.

Limit (they call it a credit access line) is $18k.

Score at time of app was mid 600's

The only perk that irritated me a little was the $300 travel credit which gets applied to the first "travel related" charge regardless of what it is.  I got my money's worth clearly, but i wouldve prefered to use the credit in a more directed fashion.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 13, 2019

If you buy gift cards for on the airline you chose then it will trigger the reimbursement. I got 300 worth of gift cards after i tried. YouTube it

 
Nov 11, 2018
NOT WORTH CRAZY PRICE
ouellette210 Cardholder

Get a real travel card from a company that actual pretands to care when you pay them this much money and has the expertise to back it up. Chase doesn't give a **** if your strandrad in some grassfield airport with no hotel, it's too busy figging new reasons to cancal your account for random reasons. Pay from two banks too many times in a nonth. That's a closed account. Buy too many Amazon gift cards. That's a closed account. Look crosseyed, that's closed account. You don't need the stress of being cancelled whenever Chase randomly feels like messing with you.

more ...
Dec 30, 2018

It’s not in a banks best interest to randomly mess with you. From your comments I would guess they were concerned with some type of fraud.

 
Jan 18, 2019

I don't think they closed your account for buying too much. They will if you don't pay them enough, as if one or more of your bank accounts rejected a payment. That's probably what happened

 
Nov 11, 2018
Terrible service from Chase
SCHNOODLE3 Cardholder

Chase invited to apply for this card from my online acccount so that seems that I would be preapproved, especially as I have been a credit, banking, loan and mortgage customer for over 25 years. They appproved, sent me the card about 5 days latter. Two days latter I go online and my account is closed. What kind of horrible way to ttreatit a customer. Why even approve it, let alone send a card.  Typical of the kind of terrible experiences others get from Chase.

more ...
Oct 15, 2018
Prestigious Card
Wrangler0303 Cardholder

Was approved instantly through an online application. Only had one credit card before from a bank with a CL of 1000. 23y with a CS of 770 and no out standing loans. Never any miss payments and have had 3 different loans throughout history. Great benefits and is considered a highly prestigious card with benefits not offered by many other cards available.

more ...
Oct 08, 2018
Awful
Kevin7780 Cardholder

I had the card for 1 week and they closed the account because I didn't use it quick enough and because of concerns they had. So if you had concerns why give me a card then close it a week later... So now I'll have a hard hit on my credit and another for them closing it... Thanks Chase....

Will never open a Chase account again. I'll stick to capital one...

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Oct 08, 2018

I would call them and find out what concerns that they had. It’s not in a banks best interest to open and close an account that quick unless there was a good reason.

 
Sep 21, 2018
Love it
Jeff32407 Cardholder

I have been repairing my credit for a year now. I took a chance on applying for this card because ck said I had very good odds of getting it. So despite getting turned down for a Chase Freedom card a month earlier I was able to get this card. It has come in very handy. My scores are still low for the average approved application, my TU is 661 and EQ is 659. But my income is relatively high, just over 70k. Hope this helps and good luck applying!

more ...
Oct 07, 2018

My TU is 679 and EQ 694 but credit karma said I have poor odds. I am thinking of taking a chance but I am scared I will get denied.

 
Oct 23, 2018

Chikzee, my scores have increased since the Sapphire has been added to my credit report TU 697 and EQ 691. Even though these are higher ck now says I would have a poor chance of being approved for the card. Possibly wait til you get to at least 700 to have better odds. Good luck if you do apply.. I still love the card. I just finished using the 300 dollar travel credit and I'm getting global entry so my effective annual fee is going to be $50 for this year.

 
Sep 15, 2018
Slick
RespeckThaKANG Cardholder

Approved with a 10k starting limit. Was denied for freedom unlimited a week prior to applying for this card, so I was surprised to see that CK said i had very good approval odds for the reserve a week later (ck 690 TU & EQ 698...Experian Fico score 665) so i took the shot and here we are. I initially got the "30 day review" message, waited Chase a couple days later and was approved over the phone (seems that just wanted me to verify some info). Was also approved for Discover It $7500 starting limit a month ago and believe that played apart in Chase giving me this card. So far no complaints with customer service.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 

Chase Sapphire Reserve®

42 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i