Chase Sapphire Reserve℠ Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.7 out of 5 stars
54 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jun 28, 2017
Approved on second application
Supercap Cardholder

I first applied for this card 6 months ago, score at the time was 710, but I had bankruptcy from 2007 still in my report. I was declined with the reason stating bankruptcy. Last month the bankruptcy fell off and my score jumped to 765, I reapplied and was approved with $20000 credit limit. Other than the bk I have 100% on time payments no collections, two cars paid off and a mortgage. Hope this helps someone. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Dec 20, 2016
Chase Customer Service Falls Flat
cstehr Cardholder

The perks are pretty great IF you are able to use them. Read the fine print VERY carefully and proceed with caution as Chase's notoriously poor customer service disappoints yet again.

I opened my card on December 1st, intending on using up the 2016 annual travel credit, but my first statement inexplicably ended after two weeks on December 15th, causing my 2016 travel credit to expire. Customer service has been very unhelpful, insisting that it is my fault for not reading carefully. I insist that it is intentionally misleading to have my statement end after only two weeks of having the card open.

Once again, Chase's Draconian customer service policies are a letdown. I will be canceling this card as soon as I recoup my $450 annual fee and applying for a new premium credit card.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Nov 07, 2017
Magnificent
TampaJ813 Cardholder

Great card for people who know how to manage their credit.  applied for card and was given $50,000 limit right away All the benefits are top notch, i get free upgrades just about everywhere i go when i use this card, especially when i book through the cards website.  The benefits are second to no other card i have, or have seen.  The customer service and conceirge are spectacular.  This card has some of the best "experiences" i have seen also, i took advantage of their chance to go the emmy's and met a lot of stars, ate dinner next to them, and took pictures with them.  I plan on keeping this card a long time.  I would recommend this card for responible users only though.   

Trans:795

Exp: 801

Equifax:798

more ...
Sep 10, 2017
Amazing card! I use it for everything.
Anonymous Cardholder

The perks far outweigh the fees.  If you plan on carrying a balance on your card then perhaps you'll not see the benefits.  

more ...
Jul 13, 2017
Perfect for points
Anonymous Cardholder

I use this card for points on food and travel, and it pays for itself.

more ...
Jun 28, 2017
Approved on second application
Supercap Cardholder

I first applied for this card 6 months ago, score at the time was 710, but I had bankruptcy from 2007 still in my report. I was declined with the reason stating bankruptcy. Last month the bankruptcy fell off and my score jumped to 765, I reapplied and was approved with $20000 credit limit. Other than the bk I have 100% on time payments no collections, two cars paid off and a mortgage. Hope this helps someone. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 03, 2017

had you called the recon line, you would have gotten the card after a manual review. you and i have the same story

 
Jun 25, 2017
Approved for $21k Inside Branch!
Toasty1221 Cardholder

I applied for this credit card back in March 2017 as I wanted to take advantage of the 100k signup points before it expired and went back to $50K. I saw that I had "very good" odds on CK so I went into the branch and applied. The whole process took less than ten minutes. Although I had a good feeling, I was still a bit nervous but soon the banker informed me that I was approved for $21,000. I should note that I also have a Chase checking account that I opened back in 2014 and opened a Chase savings account the month prior to applying for this card, not sure if that helps or not. I also have a Chase Freedom credit card. When I applied, I received a hard pull on both Experian and Equifax (check your state to see which bureau they pull from). My FICO score at the time was 733. This card is a VISA Infinite card so the minimum credit limit you will get is $10K, the Chase Sapphire Preferred is a VISA Signature card and the minimum credit limit you will get is $5K. As soon as I hit the $4K spend, the 100,000 points showed up on the Chase online portal.

After I was approved, I asked the banker transfer $5k of my new balance to my Chase Freedom credit card. I didn't want to ask for a CLI because Chase does a hard pull for CLI unlike Amex. I added my husband as an authorized user so my annual fee is $525 which showed up on the first statement, you have to pay it on the first due date. The $300 travel credit is applied each time you make a qualifying purchase. I already have TSA pre-check but I did apply for the Global Entry and paid for it with my new card and the $100 credit was applied to my account once the purchase posted. My husband and I use this card solely for restaurants and anything travel related; for all other purchases, we use our Chase Freedom cards. We each have our own and will combine points when we redeem them for travel (you get more out of your Freedom points if you transfer them to your Chase Sapphire Reserve card). I'm gardening for the next few months but plan to apply for the Chase Freedom Unlimited next for everyday purchases so that I can take advantage of the 1.5% cash back when the Chase Freedom quarterly bonus is not applicable. I think these three cards together are the best way to accumulate the most points to maximize your travel if that's what you're in to. 

My background: Average age of credit history is 5yrs 6 months; total inquiries before applying: Equifax 0, Experian 1; Total late payments on Experian & Equifax 8, my utilization was under 20% on both and I have 0 collections, 0 public records and 23 total accounts (some credit, some installment). Credit Cards: Amex Blue Cash $25K, BoFA $4,500, Chase Freedom was $1,500 now $5,500, Victoria's Secret $2,500. I'm also an authorized user on five of my husband's credit cards: Amex Blue Cash $12K, Chase Slate $2,900, Chase Freedom $3,800, and Chase Southwest VISA Sig $10K. 

Hope this review helps, folks. All the best!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jul 11, 2017

Very good review!

 
Jun 24, 2017
Perfect Credit Not Needed - $10K Baby😘
SoThankful215 Cardholder

At the time of my approval, my credit karma scores were; 663 T/U and 678 EQ. I was NOT approved right away as I got the screen that stated my application needed to be reviewed and I'd hear back from them within 7-10 days with a decision. This was on Friday (6/16/17). I couldn't wait that long because I was just too anxious to know if I was approved for this elite card. On Monday morning (6/19/17), I called their application status number (1-888-338-2586) and was politely transferred to their fraud department. This is standard procedure in preventing identity theft... I had 3 recent inquiries on my credit report so they simply wanted to make sure that I was the one applying for this card.

The representative asked me to verify my full name, social security #, phone #, etc. Lastly, she sent me a verification code via text and asked me to verify it. This all took about 2-3 minutes and after the verification process she said something that made me experience pure joy. 😊 "Thank you very much for verifying that information, I am happy to inform you that you've been approved with a $10,000 credit limit." My card arrived on Wednesday (6/21/17) via UPS Express. 👏👏

The welcome letter provided me with my Transunion FICO score, which at the time was 629. The card is made from metal... after all, it is a premium card on the Visa Infinite network. 👏❤

You do not need PERFECT credit to qualify for this card. However, I have read many reviews on various sites that states it's better to have a card with at least a minimum credit limit of $3,000. I do have a Capital One QuickSilver One Credit Card with that limit, which was my highest CL at the time of my approval. My utilization was 10% and I pay my balances in full... no collections, no bankruptcy, no repos, 6 total late payments on 3 different student loans, etc.

Additional information;

- Approval Odds on Credit Karma - Very Good
- Annual Income - $65,000
- Total Inquiries - 6
- They use Transunion to make their Decision

Current Credit Cards;

- Capitol One Platinum MasterCard - $500 CL
- Capitol One QuickSilver One - $3,000 CL
- OpenSky Secured Card - $200 CL (I will close this card soon since it has served its purpose)
- Auto Loan with Capital One Auto Finance with a balance of $12,264

Cards Recently Approved for (via Credit Karma) the same week but not yet showing on my report;

- Discover It - $1,000 CL
- Wells Fargo Platinum Card - $300 CL
- Wal-Mart Credit Card - $200 CL

I am rating this card based on my experience with it as an authorized user on my ex husband's account. I'm so happy to be able to take advantage of the many benefits offered by this card. Do not fret about the $450 annual fee, you receive $300 in travel credits and a host of other savings. I truly hope my review helps.

more ...
Jun 24, 2017
The best 'premium' credit card
ihearthummus Cardholder

Love this card! Currently have had this card for about 6 months and applied in time for the 100k point sign up offer. $450 annual fee is not waived the first year and does not count towards the 4k spending in 3 months for the bonus points. $300 travel credit back in travel so effective cost is $150 not factoring in the priority pass, emerald club, etc. I tend to use uber and uber eats a ton, so I've already gotten the $300 back. Used the chase points for travel already - booked a hotel for the weekend easy to reserve online and maybe $50 more than advertised on the hotel website. I've also used the purchase protection once easy to use and got my money back (FYI: free press summer fest is a disaster every year it got rained out 3x in a row now). They called me twice for fraud protection; once at the apple store (it was me) and one time for actual fraud protection (had to freeze the account and send a new card). As for applying and being approved, I previously had the CSP (18k CL) for about 8 months or so and no previous chase banking history. They approved instantly for 27k CL and I downgraded the CSP to just chase sapphire (no yearly fee and you get to keep using the CSP card until it expires). My TU and EQ scores were both around 750 when i applied for both CSP and CSR. The CSR credit limit increased my credit score to 760. About 90k yearly income and less than 4 yr total credit history. Good luck to applicants! great card to add for anyone who travels or uses and abuses uber/ubereats

more ...
Jun 25, 2017

This probably doesn't matter, but 90k pre tax or post?

 
Jun 26, 2017

⬆⬆Yeah, it doesn't matter. 😊 Chase wants to know your gross annual salary.

 
Jun 19, 2017
Approved in Branch for $21K!!!
Toasty1221 Cardholder

I applied for this credit card back in March 2017 as I wanted to take advatange of the 100k signup points before it expired and went back to $50K. I saw that I had "very good" odds on CK so I went into the branch and applied. The whole process took less than ten minutes. Although I had a good feeling, I was still a bit nervous but soon the banker informed me that I was approved for $21,000. I should note that I also have a Chase checking account and recently opened a Chase savings account the month prior to applying, not sure if that helps or not. I also have a Chase Freedom credit card. When I applied, I received a hard pull on both Experian and Equifax (check your state to see which bureau they pull from). My FICO score at the time was 733. This card is a VISA Infinite card so the minumin credit limit you will get is $10K, the Chase Sapphire Preferred is a VISA Signature card and the minimum credit limit you will get is $5K. As soon as I hit the $4K spend, the 100,000 points showed up on the Chase online portal. 

After I was approved, I asked the banker transfer $5k of my new balane to my Chase Freedom credit card. I didn't want to ask for a CLI because Chase does a hard pull for increases unlike Amex. I added my husband as an authorized user so my annual fee is $525 which showed up on the first statement, you have to pay it on the first due date. The $300 travel credit is immedateily applied each time you make a qualifying purchase. I already have TSA pre-check but I did apply for the global entry and paid for it with my new card and the $100 credit was applied to my account once the purchase posted. My husband and I use this card soley for restaurants and anything travel related; for all other purchases, we use our Chase Freedom cards. We each have our own and will combine points when we redeem them for travel (you get more out of your Freedom points if you transfer them to your Chase Sapphire Reserve card). I'm gardening for the next few months but plan to apply for the Chase Freedom Unlimited next for everyday purchases so that I can take advangate of the 1.5% cash back when the Chase Freedom quarterly bonus is not applicable. I think these three cards together are the best way to accumulate the most points to maximize your travel if that's what you're in to. 

My background: Average age of credit history is 5yrs 6mos; total inquiries before applying: Equifax 0, Experian 1; Total late payments on Experian & Equifax 8, my utilization was under 20% on both and I have 0 collections, 0 public records and 23 total accounts (some credit, some installment). Credit Cards: Amex Blue Cash $25K, BoFA $4,500, Chase Freedom was $1,500 now $5,500, Victoria's Secret $2,500. I'm also an authorized user on five of my huband's credit cards: Amex Blue Cash $12K, Chase Slate $2,900, Chase Freedom $3,800, and Chase Southwest VISA Sig $10K. 

Hope this review helps, folks. All the best!

more ...
Jun 13, 2017
Perfect for the casual traveller
noobtravels Cardholder

This card has a large annual fee, however the $300 travel credit helps make it only $150 effectively if you make use of the credit each year. The card offers lounge access and earns a lot of UR points for dining which makes it easy to to accrue points for travel.

more ...
May 24, 2017
Excellent Travel Card!
eddiep426 Cardholder

One of the best travel cards available, applied because I plan on traveling more and no other travel card offered the perks this one does. The Priority Pass Select lounge access is one of the best available and the $300 dollar travel credit was very easy to obtain, just simply charge any travel related charge to the card and get the travel credit back within two business days after the charge post to you account. Not to mention the cost reimbursement of the Global Entry/TSA PreCheck credit you receive when you use your Sapphire Reserve card for payment. The few times that I did have to call into the customer service number located on the back of the card, there was no wait time the call was answered right away and on those occasions my customer service experience were exceptional. I also received the 100,000 bonus points as soon as I met the spend requirement and the statement closed. The application process was same as any other app, I was lucky enough to get the ( Application needs further review) massage after submitting my app. I was eventually approved about seven days later with a credit limit of $25,000.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Chase Sapphire Reserve℠

54 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i