Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Chase Sapphire Reserve℠

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.8 out of 5 stars
62 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4.5 out of 5 stars

5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Oct 23, 2016
Instant approval, pleasantly surprised!
heavensent78 Cardholder

Ever since this card was released, I wanted it. However, I was certain that my credit scores weren't worthy of its premier benefits. After weeks and weeks of research, reading reviews, and getting myself excited about the card's stellar sign-on bonus and benefits, I bit the bullet and applied online. Before doing so, I used the preapproval tool on the Chase website and was only preapproved for the Sapphire Preferred, Freedom Unlimited, and Slate. I thought, eh, whatever. If I get declined, I can stop lusting over the Reserve and move on. But to my surprise, I received an instant approval for $10,000.

Back in the early 2000s, I destroyed my credit by making some not-so-smart decisions. I was so irresponsible with my accounts, and my score dipped into the low 500s. However, In 2006, I purchased a used car with a 5-year loan...my interest rate was super high but I dug that grave, so I made sure that I made all of the payments on time, and before I knew it the car was paid off. Since paying off this car, I used cash for everything and sort of just ignored my credit profile. Fast forward to this year: In May 2016, I decided it was finally time to become "credit healthy." In June 2016, I applied for the Chase United MileagePlus Explorer card and was instantly approved for $5,000. I was stoked, because I only applied for it after seeing a promo offer for a 70k sign-on bonus (and United is my preferred airline). Then in August 2016, after researching cards made for consumers who are rebuilding credit, I applied for an unsecured Capital One Platinum card and received an instant approval for $3,000.

Since opening my United MileagePlus Explorer account, I made at least two payments per month - making sure I paid more than the minimum due. At the end of September 2016, I saw that my limit on this card increased from $5,000 to $9,500. On the Capital One card, I pay off the balance in full each month since I only use it for smaller purchases (those late night fast food cravings!). Currently, my limit is still set at $3,000.

So the more important stuff... My CK scores are currently: TU:684, EQ:652. I have zero derogatory accounts, one student loan account with a $33k balance, one personal loan with a $4,700 balance, and my paid-off car is still showing on my report. My payment history on 100% on TU and 99% on EQ. My annual salary is $44k. CK stated my approval odds for this card as "Very Good," if that matters to anyone (I always take these with a grain of salt). I have one hard inquiry on both TU and EQ (at the time of applying for the Reserve card) and two new credit accounts in the past 24 months. My current utilization is at 46%.

I think I was approved not so much for my credit scores, but moreso for my history with Chase. I've been banking with Chase for over 10 years (I started with WaMu). And I think it also helped that I showed positive credit activity with their United MileagePlus Explorer card, despite the fact that I've only had the card for four months. I feel like I'm an outlier as far as credit score approvals for the Reserve card goes, but I also feel blessed to have this opportunity to continue strengthening my credit and take advantage of those awesome benefits! I apologize for my long story, but I figured it might help those of you out there who are considering this card but don't have what CK would consdier "Good" credit or above. I hope this review helps. Good luck, everyone!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Sep 27, 2016
The card ships pre-activated
jakebilbrey Cardholder

I applied for this card and it took a while to get approved, and then they shipped the card pre-activated so when it was stolen my first sign that they had actually sent the card was after it had been used for $2000 in fradulent purchases by a UPS thief. So I don't actually own this card, but Chase would say I do. I feel like this is a major security flaw that should never have been an issue if Chase took proper precautions.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jan 15, 2017
AMEX Platinum Alternative
crashspeeder Cardholder

This card costs as much as the AMEX Platinum annually ($450), but offered more than AMEX Platinum until AMEX realized they'd lose ground and decided to offer 5% on travel.  Unfortunately for AMEX, they define travel so narrowly that Chase Sapphire Reserve is still the easy choice.  Chase Sapphire Reserve gives you 3% on travel and 3% on restaurants, but they're generous about their definitions, meaning EZ Pass and commuter rail/bus count towards travel unlike AMEX.  This card is, therefore, more usable.  In addition, this offers $300 annually towards travel reimbursed, compared to AMEX Platinum's $200.  Furthermore, Chase doesn't require you to chose a specific airline and will simply automatically nullify the first $300 worth of travel you charge to the card every year.  Visa Infinite has nearly no information available in the US, which is rather annoying, but the benefits are well explained as they relate to the Chase card.  Already I've seen the Visa Signature Hotels collection is actually showing lower prices with more included add-ons than what is available on travel sites.

I'm only wondering how long the benefits will stay what they currently are.  The 100,000 point bonus is now gone, but that was likely just a way to get new members in the short term.  Hopefully this card holds its own against the likes of AMEX Platinum.

more ...
Jan 13, 2017
AMAZING!!!
Natashajcm Cardholder

If you travel a lot, this card should be in your wallet! 

more ...
Jan 10, 2017
DesTownes Cardholder

A little over a year ago I personally applied for the Chase Sapphire Preferred and was approved instantly for $28,000. I loved the card and was so happy with the 50,000 reward points that came with it (My husband and I actually booked our trip to Rome with those points)! I was ecstatic to find out that Chase was coming out with another Sapphire card that offered more reward points. For this card my husband applied as the primary and I was an authorized user....he was instantly approved for $21,000. Since the annual fee on the "Reserve" was so high I downgraded my "Preferred" to the Regular Sapphire with no annual fee. After getting the $300 travel credit you really end up only paying $150 for the annual fee. That is definitely worth it for all the benefits that you get with the card. With the 100,000 reward points we booked a 5 night stay in Dubai and also multiple domestic flights. The priority pass is super great if you travel a lot. We had our first experience using the pass in Atlanta Georgia at their lounge. It was pretty cool. We normally pay to get inside...so it was great using the card to pass right through. 

Since the 100,000 reward points are being dropped down I personally applied yesterday so I wouldn't miss out on getting the reward points. FYI....my scores are EXP 792, Trans 790, EQU 756. I was not approved immediately and received the two weeks message when I called the automated line. So I called the recon line and that's when I found out they needed more information from me to verify my identlity. Once I faxed over the docs they needed I was immediately approved for another $15,000. Since I will not use my old "preferred" card that much I transfered most of my credit over to the new Reserve. Another thing that I will say.....the NATIONAL RENTAL free upgrade to EXECUTIVE MEMBER expired on Dec 31st so anyone looking to apply for the card just know that beneif listed on the site is now gone. You only be able to use the code for discounts but you won't have the automatic Executive Member Status for Elite Vehicles. I didn't mean to write so much but I wanted to share my experiece. It's a terrific card! 

more ...
Jan 06, 2017
Snagged before 100k pts bonus phased out
ReadyySethGo Cardholder

This is one of the best rewards card currently on the market. I decided to pull the trigger and take advantage of the bonus offer before it expires. Even after the 100K bonus points offer expires on Jan 11, (reducing to 50K bonus points for $4K spent in first 3 mos) it will still be one of the best rewards cards out there.  Factors that may have led to my approval: CK score of 738 (TransUnion) and 746 (Experian),  current Chase Freedom cardholder, annual income >100K. I was instantly approved for a 30K CL at 16.49 APR. I Immediately transferred my existing Chase Rewards points to this card to take advantage of 1:1 points transfers and 3x Chase Rewards travel redemption; and enrolled in membership benefits including Priority Pass Lounge access and complimentary rental car memberships through National and Avis. I will also be using the travel benefits to reimburse a TSA Global Entry fee this year. With a modest amount of travel, I look forward to earning the 100,000 bonus points and using my travel credits/reimbursements to offset the annual fee. 

more ...
Jan 06, 2017
EXCELLENT CARD AND SERVICE
DesTownes Cardholder

A little over a year ago I personally applied for the Chase Sapphire Preferred and was approved instantly for $28,000. I loved the card and was so happy with the 50,000 reward points that came with it (My husband and I actually booked our trip to Rome with those points)! I was ecstatic to find out that Chase was coming out with another Sapphire card that offered more reward points. For this card my husband applied as the primary and I was an authorized user....he was instantly approved for $21,000. Since the annual fee on the "Reserve" was so high I downgraded my "Preferred" to the Regular Sapphire with no annual fee. After getting the $300 travel credit you really end up only paying $150 for the annual fee. That is definitely worth it for all the benefits that you get with the card. With the 100,000 reward points we booked a 5 night stay in Dubai and also multiple domestic flights. The priority pass is super great if you travel a lot. We had our first experience using the pass in Atlanta Georgia at their lounge. It was pretty cool. We normally pay to get inside...so it was great using the card to pass right through. 

****PLEASE READ****

On January 11, 2017 Chase will downgrade the 100,000 reward points to 50,000. I personally applied yesterday so I wouldn't miss out on getting the reward points. FYI....my scores are EXP 792, Trans 790, EQU 756. I was not approved immediately and received the two weeks message when I called the automated line (888-338-2586). So I called the recon line (877-470-9042) and that's when I found out they needed more information from me to verify my identlity. Once I faxed over the docs they needed I was immediately approved for another $15,000. Since I will not use my old "preferred" card that much I transfered most of my credit over to the new Reserve. Another thing that I will say.....the NATIONAL RENTAL free upgrade to EXECUTIVE MEMBER expired on Dec 31st so anyone looking to apply for the card just know that beneif listed on the site is now gone. You only be able to use the code for discounts but you won't have the automatic Executive Member Status for Elite Vehicles. I didn't mean to write so much but I wanted to share my experiece. It's a terrific card! 

more ...
Jan 06, 2017
Approved with T722 E755 scores
Anonymous Cardholder

Didn't see the approved screen immediately after submission but the card does appear one day later in Chase netbank.

more ...
Jan 06, 2017
Happy to own with 100,000 points!
dbmcubs21 Cardholder

I saw that the 100,000 points sign up bonus was going to phase out so I finally bit the bullet and applied.  My stats per CK 709 and 711 (Trans and Equi).  Got approved in one day with online application (initial message was pending).  $21,000 CL doubles my previous largest CL.  Excited to start using when it arrives in the next week or so.  Great card benefits which fit into my lifestyle well.  Chase customer service has always been great as well (Freedom and IHG cards).

more ...
Jan 03, 2017
Wallet Upgrade!
NatalieNerd Cardholder

I am beyond thrilled to be a CSR cardholder. I've studied all the benefits and features, and did some major calculations to determine if I could offset the hefty $450 annual fee. The $300 annual travel credit alone is worth it. I also dine out frequently, so I definitely maximize the 3x points versus CSP's 2x. With that said, based on my usage, this card's for me. And honestly, I like the CSR status. This card has grown in so much popularity that it just "cool" to have. 

Like others here, I did not know if I was worthy of such a prestigious card. Approval odds on Credit Karma stated "Very Good"; however, TU 687/EQ 709. Additionally, my overall usage is pretty high at 46%. On top of that, my one card with Chase (Freedom) is over 75% used. Needless to say, I don't think things were looking good for me.

I took my chances and went inside a branch, only to find out that I was pre-approved. Awesome! I submitted my application on the spot and was instantly approved for $14k. The banker even reached out to their credit card department after sharing that applications can be re-examined for a higher limit (with a second inquiry), and with my approval to move forward with the inquiry, they changed the limit to $16,800 on the spot. 

The overall experience was great, and I am very excited to take advantage of all the benefits. It will require some leg work to get set-up with the lounge access and the TSA application, but I don't mind. I hope those in my position find this review helpful. 

more ...
Dec 27, 2016
If credit karma says to apply do so
Anonymous Cardholder

I love this credit card. My score is not that great and got approve for it

more ...
Dec 27, 2016

Did they have a metal card to send ya?

 
Jan 09, 2017

What do you consider "not that great?"

 
Dec 20, 2016
Great card!
UJandan Cardholder

Applied online, no instant approval. 4/24, TU score 773. Called them 20 mins after submitting my application, approved with 29k limit.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 03, 2017

May I ask what is the number you called?

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Chase Sapphire Reserve℠

62 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i