Chase Sapphire Reserve℠ Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.7 out of 5 stars
82 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 16.74%-23.74%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $450
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 16.74%-23.74%* Variable

Our Take

Chase Sapphire Reserve℠ is an elite credit card with premium benefits.

What to Like

There are a lot of perks to like here. Here are two: Cardholders get a $300 annual travel credit and 3X points on travel and dining at restaurants. You could also earn 50,000 bonus points after spending $4,000 on purchases in the first 3 months after opening. On top of that, cardholders have access to all sorts of smaller benefits, like up to $100 in credit toward a Global Entry or TSA Precheck® application fee.

Look Out For

First and foremost, there’s a big $450 annual fee to weigh all those benefits against. Chase Sapphire Reserve℠ also a premium card, meaning you’ll likely need strong credit to get approved.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Oct 23, 2016
Instant approval, pleasantly surprised!
heavensent78 Cardholder

Ever since this card was released, I wanted it. However, I was certain that my credit scores weren't worthy of its premier benefits. After weeks and weeks of research, reading reviews, and getting myself excited about the card's stellar sign-on bonus and benefits, I bit the bullet and applied online. Before doing so, I used the preapproval tool on the Chase website and was only preapproved for the Sapphire Preferred, Freedom Unlimited, and Slate. I thought, eh, whatever. If I get declined, I can stop lusting over the Reserve and move on. But to my surprise, I received an instant approval for $10,000.

Back in the early 2000s, I destroyed my credit by making some not-so-smart decisions. I was so irresponsible with my accounts, and my score dipped into the low 500s. However, In 2006, I purchased a used car with a 5-year loan...my interest rate was super high but I dug that grave, so I made sure that I made all of the payments on time, and before I knew it the car was paid off. Since paying off this car, I used cash for everything and sort of just ignored my credit profile. Fast forward to this year: In May 2016, I decided it was finally time to become "credit healthy." In June 2016, I applied for the Chase United MileagePlus Explorer card and was instantly approved for $5,000. I was stoked, because I only applied for it after seeing a promo offer for a 70k sign-on bonus (and United is my preferred airline). Then in August 2016, after researching cards made for consumers who are rebuilding credit, I applied for an unsecured Capital One Platinum card and received an instant approval for $3,000.

Since opening my United MileagePlus Explorer account, I made at least two payments per month - making sure I paid more than the minimum due. At the end of September 2016, I saw that my limit on this card increased from $5,000 to $9,500. On the Capital One card, I pay off the balance in full each month since I only use it for smaller purchases (those late night fast food cravings!). Currently, my limit is still set at $3,000.

So the more important stuff... My CK scores are currently: TU:684, EQ:652. I have zero derogatory accounts, one student loan account with a $33k balance, one personal loan with a $4,700 balance, and my paid-off car is still showing on my report. My payment history on 100% on TU and 99% on EQ. My annual salary is $44k. CK stated my approval odds for this card as "Very Good," if that matters to anyone (I always take these with a grain of salt). I have one hard inquiry on both TU and EQ (at the time of applying for the Reserve card) and two new credit accounts in the past 24 months. My current utilization is at 46%.

I think I was approved not so much for my credit scores, but moreso for my history with Chase. I've been banking with Chase for over 10 years (I started with WaMu). And I think it also helped that I showed positive credit activity with their United MileagePlus Explorer card, despite the fact that I've only had the card for four months. I feel like I'm an outlier as far as credit score approvals for the Reserve card goes, but I also feel blessed to have this opportunity to continue strengthening my credit and take advantage of those awesome benefits! I apologize for my long story, but I figured it might help those of you out there who are considering this card but don't have what CK would consdier "Good" credit or above. I hope this review helps. Good luck, everyone!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Sep 27, 2016
The card ships pre-activated
jakebilbrey Cardholder

I applied for this card and it took a while to get approved, and then they shipped the card pre-activated so when it was stolen my first sign that they had actually sent the card was after it had been used for $2000 in fradulent purchases by a UPS thief. So I don't actually own this card, but Chase would say I do. I feel like this is a major security flaw that should never have been an issue if Chase took proper precautions.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

May 24, 2017
Excellent Travel Card!
eddiep426 Cardholder

One of the best travel cards available, applied because I plan on traveling more and no other travel card offered the perks this one does. The Priority Pass Select lounge access is one of the best available and the $300 dollar travel credit was very easy to obtain, just simply charge any travel related charge to the card and get the travel credit back within two business days after the charge post to you account. Not to mention the cost reimbursement of the Global Entry/TSA PreCheck credit you receive when you use your Sapphire Reserve card for payment. The few times that I did have to call into the customer service number located on the back of the card, there was no wait time the call was answered right away and on those occasions my customer service experience were exceptional. I also received the 100,000 bonus points as soon as I met the spend requirement and the statement closed. The application process was same as any other app, I was lucky enough to get the ( Application needs further review) massage after submitting my app. I was eventually approved about seven days later with a credit limit of $25,000.

more ...
May 09, 2017
Best travel card on the market
jagrawr Cardholder

Hands down the best travel rewards card in the market, especially when used in conjunction with other CHASE cards in the ultimate rewards program. I use this card in conjunction with the CHASE Freedom and Freedom Unlimited, essentially making my earning power 5X points on rotating categories (from the Freedom), 3X points on travel and dining (from the Reserve), and 1.5X points on everything else (from the Freedom Unlimited). Points earned from all 3 cards can be combined and used through the Reserve, which can be transferred to various partners at a 1:1 ratio or redeemed through CHASE's Ultimate Rewards portal at 1.5X value for each point. Prices in the UR travel portal are generally the same as those displayed from aggregator sites like google flights and kayak. The best part about booking through the travel portal is the ability to still earn miles in frequent flyer programs as though the tickets were purchased outright. Double dipping at its finest. With the 100k sign up bonus alone, I was able to book a business class ticket on Japan Airlines from Tokyo to Manila by transferring points to British Airways, and multiple round-trip tickets from LAX to Seattle, DC, Mexico City, and Rome through the UR travel portal, thus still earning frequent flier miles. The Reserve more than makes up its steep annual fee with all the value it provides, but when combined with other cards in th UR line-up, can't be beat.

more ...
May 06, 2017
Apply if you qualify, do NOT miss out!
MikeyM14 Cardholder

I applied on the last day of the 100k Chase UR point promo in March and had a bit of an issue, but that has been the ONLY negative instance. Even that was diffused when I received an instant approval for a CL over the standard 10K and mid-tier APR. When I call customer service, I always receive prompt service and do not have to listen to endless rounds of an IVR. The points have been stacking up like crazy and already have my promo points pending in my account. The prices for tickets and hotes (via the Chase UR portal) seem comparable to prices listed on 3rd party sites as well as with the hotels/airlines.

As for the perks like Global Entry/TSA PreCheck, annual $300 travel credit and perks all hit within 1-2 business days after the transactions posted to my account. I am so happy that I applied for this card because of all the travel perks and benefits the are far above cards of a similar for an annual fee that is reasonable (especially considering you are reimbursed for $300 year after year).

more ...
May 03, 2017
Bad A$$ Card
Anonymous Cardholder

I love this cards perks. Its unlike any other card in the industry. I have good credit but still doubted that I would get approved. I was approved and its now my go too card - all of my other cards in my wallet are basically inactive because they cant compare to the rewards under this card. with the point value of 3 times that of othe cards for dinning and travel, its a no brainer. this card is a game changer in the credit card industry. 

more ...
Apr 04, 2017
No customer service - will be costly
Anonymous Cardholder

SO NOT WORTH IT. I mean, go get those points and use them, but don't use the cc. There are so many problems and customer services is non-existent. I mean HORRIBLE. So is the "concierge" service, which has not been able to help me at all, and has agents that don't know the difference between Austria and Australia (really). Note: you also DO NOT GET 1.5 POINTS per dollar on many things, because they misquote prices. e.g. A published airfare of $500 will be posted as $650 on Chase, so you can buy it with 43,000 points. And Chase won't fix it if you catch it.

Second issue: SCHEDULED PAYMENTS MAY NOT POST. Be careful! Because once they get dropped and you expected the scheduled payment, they won't do anything to help you. They'll charge the late fee and interest and whatnot and never address your problem. Ever. The customer service is insanely bad. 0 stars. You are asking for a nightmare with this card.

more ...
Mar 11, 2017
approved with TU 710, equifax 715
CT19130 Cardholder

My sister and friend both have this card and got me interested in it as well.  The perks that come with it are worth the hefty $450 annual fee. The annual travel credit of $300 and priority pass access to lounges (typically $35-40 per access) so after like 4 visits to these lounges really cancels out the annual fee. I was surprised that I was approved for $13,000, especially since this time last year my score was at a 650 with TU due to some poor payment histories from my college years but I got it back up to TU 710 and my current annual income is $78,000. I took a star away because the sign on point bonus was 50,000 online and 100,000 in a branch but I have no branches within 50 miles from me. When I called in asking to see if I could get the additional points due to the fact that I couldn't go to a branch since there were none, the customer service rep just said there wasn't anything he could do and that if I wanted the points, I should have traveled to a branch.

more ...
Mar 10, 2017
Don't assume you don't qualify
sfsummer Cardholder

I've been wanting the Chase Sapphire Reserve card for a few months now, but wanted to lower my cc utilization to below 10%. I'm rebuilding my credit, and have scores between 685-730, have an Amex cash back card with limit of $5000, DiscoveryIT card with limit of $5500, and a Citibank card with a limit of $1800. My average age of credit is ~4 years. I was under the 5/24 rule and have a checking account and car loan from Chase (always paid on time), and annual income of about ~$140k. I went into the branch (3/10/17) to get the 100k point bonus before it ended on 3/12/17. I honestly didn't think I would get approved and was readying myself to talk to recon or see if I could get the CSP card. Literally less than 5 minutes later, they told me I was approved for $13k.   

I say go for it, this offer is too good to pass up.

more ...
Mar 09, 2017
Best Card I ever had
Serejun88 Cardholder

Simply Love It. As a CRA all I do is travel. A lot.

Spent over 10k first month and got the bonus 3 weeks after account opening. Added my wife as authorized user, and it was delivered before got confirmation email confirming it's been sent. Exacly Jimmy Jones style

Priority Pass;

TSA;

Excellent Customer Service. Now sit back and collect UR for my Honeymoon

more ...
Mar 08, 2017
Great card to use.
Anonymous Cardholder

I've spent well over $10k in purchases in a month it's nice to watch the points add up.

more ...
Mar 04, 2017
Chase is amatuer hour.
mosterlol Cardholder

If you are used to great customer service like American Express, avoid this card like the plague.   Chase is total amatuer hour.   Last weekend went to use my Chase card to pay for my wife's birthday dinner.   It was rejected and I had to ask a friend to pay for the meal.  Totally embarrassing.   I call them up and it takes 3 calls to resolve the problem.   This weekend, I am in line at grocery store and go to make a $47 purchase and they decline the charge 2x.   I am now that guy who is slowing the whole **** line down becuase I can't pay.   I call them up and they say that the reason this week is because of some charge on Friday that they had questions about.  Did they ever send me an email, text message or phone call about their concerns, so that I know my card is not going to work?  Of course not, because this is the Chase amatuer hour.    I have had Amex cards for years but figured I would try this card because of the 100,000 points.  Chase is acting like they are dealing with Joe Sixpack who can't afford to pay their cable bill and not someone who can choose whatever card they want.  If you want this card, do it for the points but know the service is going to suck.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Chase Sapphire Reserve℠

82 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i