Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Chase Sapphire Reserve℠

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.8 out of 5 stars
70 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4.5 out of 5 stars

5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Oct 23, 2016
Instant approval, pleasantly surprised!
heavensent78 Cardholder

Ever since this card was released, I wanted it. However, I was certain that my credit scores weren't worthy of its premier benefits. After weeks and weeks of research, reading reviews, and getting myself excited about the card's stellar sign-on bonus and benefits, I bit the bullet and applied online. Before doing so, I used the preapproval tool on the Chase website and was only preapproved for the Sapphire Preferred, Freedom Unlimited, and Slate. I thought, eh, whatever. If I get declined, I can stop lusting over the Reserve and move on. But to my surprise, I received an instant approval for $10,000.

Back in the early 2000s, I destroyed my credit by making some not-so-smart decisions. I was so irresponsible with my accounts, and my score dipped into the low 500s. However, In 2006, I purchased a used car with a 5-year loan...my interest rate was super high but I dug that grave, so I made sure that I made all of the payments on time, and before I knew it the car was paid off. Since paying off this car, I used cash for everything and sort of just ignored my credit profile. Fast forward to this year: In May 2016, I decided it was finally time to become "credit healthy." In June 2016, I applied for the Chase United MileagePlus Explorer card and was instantly approved for $5,000. I was stoked, because I only applied for it after seeing a promo offer for a 70k sign-on bonus (and United is my preferred airline). Then in August 2016, after researching cards made for consumers who are rebuilding credit, I applied for an unsecured Capital One Platinum card and received an instant approval for $3,000.

Since opening my United MileagePlus Explorer account, I made at least two payments per month - making sure I paid more than the minimum due. At the end of September 2016, I saw that my limit on this card increased from $5,000 to $9,500. On the Capital One card, I pay off the balance in full each month since I only use it for smaller purchases (those late night fast food cravings!). Currently, my limit is still set at $3,000.

So the more important stuff... My CK scores are currently: TU:684, EQ:652. I have zero derogatory accounts, one student loan account with a $33k balance, one personal loan with a $4,700 balance, and my paid-off car is still showing on my report. My payment history on 100% on TU and 99% on EQ. My annual salary is $44k. CK stated my approval odds for this card as "Very Good," if that matters to anyone (I always take these with a grain of salt). I have one hard inquiry on both TU and EQ (at the time of applying for the Reserve card) and two new credit accounts in the past 24 months. My current utilization is at 46%.

I think I was approved not so much for my credit scores, but moreso for my history with Chase. I've been banking with Chase for over 10 years (I started with WaMu). And I think it also helped that I showed positive credit activity with their United MileagePlus Explorer card, despite the fact that I've only had the card for four months. I feel like I'm an outlier as far as credit score approvals for the Reserve card goes, but I also feel blessed to have this opportunity to continue strengthening my credit and take advantage of those awesome benefits! I apologize for my long story, but I figured it might help those of you out there who are considering this card but don't have what CK would consdier "Good" credit or above. I hope this review helps. Good luck, everyone!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Sep 27, 2016
The card ships pre-activated
jakebilbrey Cardholder

I applied for this card and it took a while to get approved, and then they shipped the card pre-activated so when it was stolen my first sign that they had actually sent the card was after it had been used for $2000 in fradulent purchases by a UPS thief. So I don't actually own this card, but Chase would say I do. I feel like this is a major security flaw that should never have been an issue if Chase took proper precautions.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Feb 16, 2017
Amazing perks.
RobRomeo Cardholder

At the time of applying to be honest I was just looking for a card to rack up points for travel and was just looking for the amazing 100k sign on bonus at the time. It was the last day they would be offering it but I thought my credit score was nowhere near where it needed to be for a card of this status. I always pay on time but had a rogue student loan acct that I didnt know existed and had a recent drop in score bringing me from 740s ish down to the 630s. It had been a few months and was steadily working my way back up but was only at maybe 670 when I applied. I was AMAZED when i just went for it and actually got approved and am now working towards reaching the spend for the bonus. Since getting the card I've taken advantage of the TSA/Global Entry credit and signed up for priority pass and got to use in Las Vegas (must have for anyone travelling if you dont have any sort of lounge access!!!). Its only been a few months so i dont have much to say regarding customer service or anything but if youre looking for a travel card this definitely seems worth it to me so far.

Approved for 11k , under the 5/24 chase rule.

more ...
Feb 13, 2017
Want this card? Here is a plan
fr3 Cardholder

This is a great card (so far on paper as I literally was just approved). When I applied, CK had my credit score at TU: 699 and EQ: 702. Applied and got approved at the branch (you have to go to the branch to get the 100K points).

Note that just six months ago my credit score was 631 (TU) and 640 (EQ). I did not have any credit cards, had an open lien and 1 car loan (with Chase) with no missed payments. The plan that worked for me was to:

1. Get the CapitalOne Platinum card which only gave me $2K credit limit (CapitalOne increased the limit to $3K after the first 5 months of no missed payment - I didn't have to call fo an increase). 

2. Paid and satisfied the open lien, 

3. Used CapitalOne monthly without exceeding 10-15% utilization

4. Paid balance of CapitalOne in full every month

5. Continued to pay my auto loan on time (as it was done since the start of the loan)

Results: My credit went up to the current scores in just 6 months.  The Sapphire Reserve was not even recommended by CK, it had it as fair. But read a few reviews that bolstered my confidence. Note that I was also shopping for a new bank and went with Chase. I do not think it had any bearings on approval but who knows. Thought to mention it just in case we have die-hard sports fans that like to know all aspects of what one does to recreate it (superstitions). Hope this helps, I'm super thrilled to have this card. 

more ...
Feb 09, 2017
Approved after being denied CSP
BBitty Cardholder

Against all odds, I applied for this card in anticipation of traveling a lot. I'm 20, bring in only $40K a year, with a FICO score of only 670 and was instantly approved. I laughed when I saw the approval, since I was Denied the CSP, Amex Blue Preferred, and Barclay Arrival Plus. It doesn't make much sense but I'll take it, and benifit from every perk this card offers.

more ...
Jan 30, 2017
Great Customer Service
rob273b Cardholder

I've called in a couple of times to ask basic questions (just because I knew I could) and every time I do, the person I speak with is intelligent, enthusiastic, and quick to help me out. 

more ...
Jan 27, 2017
100K points still good in Chase branch!
Thaid2laguna2 Cardholder

Just got my Experian 8 score pumped up to 803, so I went into a local Chase branch to apply for Sapphire Reserve, having read that the 100K point bonus offer was still valid in branches until March. Got approved in 25 minutes, and will receive the card within 2 days. Amazingly high credit line. I'm a happy camper, and will explore other Chase services as well. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 27, 2017

A quick addendum, I had 2 other Chase cards when I applied, United MP Select and United Explorer, so getting a 1 for 1 exchange to UA miles is huge for me since I can book R/T first class tickets to Asia for 160K miles. The Select gets me 2x miles for gas and groceries, and now the Reserve will get me 3x for travel and restaurants. Explorer gets me a free checked bag, but on international they're free anyway. Credit limit - $34K!

 
Jan 24, 2017
Great rewards, fast statement credits!
nycdavid Cardholder

If you travel a lot, this card is certainly worth it.  I live in New York, which means lots of dining out and tavel (subway, parking, Uber, etc.).  I've had it for under a month and have racked up over 6k points.  Over 90% of my spending has been in the 3x catagories, and I've been using only this card.  Full disclosure, I did do a weekend trip to New Orleans, which helped, but still, most of my spending here at home has been travel and dining.

The travel credits are great, and come quickly.  As soon as a transaction posts (not pending, but actually posts) the refund out of the $300 travel credit hits the account automatically.  Same with the global entry/pre-check credit.

more ...
Jan 24, 2017
Grown a$$ persons card
Waldough Cardholder

Got approved instantly for $10,000 credit line with a 690 credit karma credit score. My friend also got approved with a similar credit score, you really don't need "perfect" credit. Don't be scared to apply!

more ...
Jan 18, 2017
Surprised
Anonymous Cardholder

I saw this card online a few months ago and decided that if I was gonna get a credit card, I might as well try for the best one. I am a college student living with my sister, so my parents send me money annually. I get 100k income and had a credit score of T730 EQ718 EX711. My credit history is only 2 years old, I have 3 capital one credit cards with limits of $2800, $1000 and a secured $350. I have a Victoria's Secret credit card (my first card that started my credit profile) with a limit of $250, and I have a car loan for $10,000. I went into a Chase branch today and despite both the banker and I doubting I will get approved, I was approved on the spot with a $11,000 limit!! I travel internationally at least twice a year, so I am really looking forward to the benefits of this card!

more ...
Jan 15, 2017
AMEX Platinum Alternative
crashspeeder Cardholder

This card costs as much as the AMEX Platinum annually ($450), but offered more than AMEX Platinum until AMEX realized they'd lose ground and decided to offer 5% on travel.  Unfortunately for AMEX, they define travel so narrowly that Chase Sapphire Reserve is still the easy choice.  Chase Sapphire Reserve gives you 3% on travel and 3% on restaurants, but they're generous about their definitions, meaning EZ Pass and commuter rail/bus count towards travel unlike AMEX.  This card is, therefore, more usable.  In addition, this offers $300 annually towards travel reimbursed, compared to AMEX Platinum's $200.  Furthermore, Chase doesn't require you to chose a specific airline and will simply automatically nullify the first $300 worth of travel you charge to the card every year.  Visa Infinite has nearly no information available in the US, which is rather annoying, but the benefits are well explained as they relate to the Chase card.  Already I've seen the Visa Signature Hotels collection is actually showing lower prices with more included add-ons than what is available on travel sites.

I'm only wondering how long the benefits will stay what they currently are.  The 100,000 point bonus is now gone, but that was likely just a way to get new members in the short term.  Hopefully this card holds its own against the likes of AMEX Platinum.

more ...
Jan 13, 2017
AMAZING!!!
Natashajcm Cardholder

If you travel a lot, this card should be in your wallet! 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Chase Sapphire Reserve℠

70 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i