Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Chase Sapphire Reserve℠

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.9 out of 5 stars
45 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4.5 out of 5 stars

5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 16.24% - 23.24%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $450
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 16.24% - 23.24%* Variable

Our Take

Chase Sapphire ReserveSM is an elite credit card with premium benefits.

What to Like

There are a lot of perks to like here. Here are two: Cardholders get a $300 annual travel credit and 3X points on travel and dining at restaurants. You could also earn 100,000 bonus points after spending $4,000 in purchases in the first 3 months after opening. On top of that, cardholders have access to all sorts of smaller benefits, like up to $100 in credit toward a Global Entry or TSA Precheck® application fee.

Look Out For

First and foremost, there’s a big $450 annual fee to weigh all those benefits against. Chase Sapphire ReserveSM is also a premium card, meaning you’ll likely need strong credit to get approved.

Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Nov 30, 2016
The $450 annual fee vs the card's perks
CarlesMR Cardholder

CHASE is competing head to head with the Amex Platinum card with its new Sapphire Reserve credit card. WIth a hefty $450 annual fee from day 1 (no fees waived during the first year), this card has the best intro offer in the market right now: 100,000 points after $4,000 spent in the first 90 days. 100,000 points are $1,000 in cash back, but even better you get 50% value increase if you book flights/hotel/car rental through the Ultimate Rewards portal. That is $1,500 worth of travel expenses. Plus an annual $300 travel credit, VIP lounge access, Global Entry discounts and 1x point/dollar in every purchase/3x points/dollar in dining and travel expenses (which include from public transportation to flight tickets).

If this card is combined with a Chase Freedom/Freedom Unlimited, you will become a force to be reckoned with in the Ultimate rewards program. :)

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 30, 2016

Edit: I got approved with a 780.

 
Nov 29, 2016
ABOUT TO GET STARTED
TuBL Cardholder

Just applied my CSR 10 mins ago at a local Chase branch. Got approved instantly with $33k CL. However, my current credit score is only 734 according to credit report provided by Chase Slate cardholder's benefit. 

more ...
Nov 29, 2016
The 99% elite card.
PointsJunkie Cardholder

If you are thinking about applying for this card and Credit Karma is giving you a good-very good chance of getting it, then just go for it. I have a 690 TU 695 Eq and was approved instantly for 10k. I do not do any banking with Chase but also have CSP and Chase Southwest. My FICO shows a 676 and my utilization is at 16%, if you have a couple spotty things in your credit history like me but you pay everything on time, what do you have to lose? 

more ...
Nov 23, 2016
Good rewards
Anonymous Cardholder

Worth it!

more ...
Nov 23, 2016
Best premium rewards card!
Barcalaw30 Cardholder

I have been eying this card since it came out, but was too nervous to apply. I saw my credit score steadily improve, but was still not pre-approved through Chase. Both my CL scores are 730 and my FICO is 717. Income is high at $180K+, but my credit history is fairly short. I came home today and decided that it was time to man up and apply so I could get the $300 travel credit for 2016 and 2017. Nervously filled out the application and BOOOM! Approved immediately with a $25K CL, which is $20K higher than any other card I had. I am extremely excited to receive my card next week and start accumulating the great rewards! 

more ...
Nov 19, 2016
Great Benefits and rewards.
Anonymous Cardholder

I never thought I'll apply for card(s) with $450 annual fee. I thought those were always for millionaires. However, I read a lot about Chase Reserve and after doing my research I applied got instant approval. My score is 785 and got $32K credit limit.  Already used my card for the $300 credit limit, making my annual fee $150 now. Used for Avis and National car rental as I travel outside my city a lot. Amazing deals as I got 35% discount plus I didnt have to stand in line, as this card makes you an emerald customer. I booked an intermediate but I was allowed to choose any car for full size and above, as that is part of the perks for this card. Cant wait to keep using this card and earn more rewards. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 30, 2016

I agree with you. I thought I would never apply for a high-roller, $450 annual fee credit card anytime soon. But this Sapphire Reserve is too good to resist, specially with the intro offer of 100,000 points. I am stacking up my points so I can fly for free once a year at least! This card is a must, particularly if you plan on traveling a lot in the near future.

Thank you for mentioning the emerald costumer perk. I'll keep that in mind in my future car rental with Avis/National.

 
Nov 17, 2016
Good card, worth holding.
Anonymous Cardholder

CL 22.7K with 755(TU) 753(EQ). 24/5 (one macy's card out of the 5 cards.)

more ...
Nov 16, 2016
APPROVED!!!!
mingyee22 Cardholder

For over a decade my credit score has been in the 620 range or lower -  I had 3 - 5 accounts in collections that I paid off a few weeks ago thanks to Credit Karma showing me where the ugly black marks were on my nightmarish record.  Miraculously, my credit score shot up to 735 EQ and 741 TU, got approved for a $10K limit.  SO EXCITED!! Thank you, Credit Karma!!!!

more ...
Nov 16, 2016

Congrats. :) Credit Karma really is a great tool, if you take it in stride. I, myself, went with the Preferred for the time being...but maybe in the next couple years I'll be able to cope with a substantial ($450) annual fee. At any rate, good luck to ya! :)

 
Nov 18, 2016

thanks! the $450 is hefty, but if you travel at least a couple times a year it's all worth it because they instantly credit up to $300 of your travel expenses, and they also reimburse you up to $100 for TSA pre-check.

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Chase Sapphire Reserve℠

45 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i