Chase Sapphire Reserve℠ Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.7 out of 5 stars
79 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Oct 23, 2016
Instant approval, pleasantly surprised!
heavensent78 Cardholder

Ever since this card was released, I wanted it. However, I was certain that my credit scores weren't worthy of its premier benefits. After weeks and weeks of research, reading reviews, and getting myself excited about the card's stellar sign-on bonus and benefits, I bit the bullet and applied online. Before doing so, I used the preapproval tool on the Chase website and was only preapproved for the Sapphire Preferred, Freedom Unlimited, and Slate. I thought, eh, whatever. If I get declined, I can stop lusting over the Reserve and move on. But to my surprise, I received an instant approval for $10,000.

Back in the early 2000s, I destroyed my credit by making some not-so-smart decisions. I was so irresponsible with my accounts, and my score dipped into the low 500s. However, In 2006, I purchased a used car with a 5-year loan...my interest rate was super high but I dug that grave, so I made sure that I made all of the payments on time, and before I knew it the car was paid off. Since paying off this car, I used cash for everything and sort of just ignored my credit profile. Fast forward to this year: In May 2016, I decided it was finally time to become "credit healthy." In June 2016, I applied for the Chase United MileagePlus Explorer card and was instantly approved for $5,000. I was stoked, because I only applied for it after seeing a promo offer for a 70k sign-on bonus (and United is my preferred airline). Then in August 2016, after researching cards made for consumers who are rebuilding credit, I applied for an unsecured Capital One Platinum card and received an instant approval for $3,000.

Since opening my United MileagePlus Explorer account, I made at least two payments per month - making sure I paid more than the minimum due. At the end of September 2016, I saw that my limit on this card increased from $5,000 to $9,500. On the Capital One card, I pay off the balance in full each month since I only use it for smaller purchases (those late night fast food cravings!). Currently, my limit is still set at $3,000.

So the more important stuff... My CK scores are currently: TU:684, EQ:652. I have zero derogatory accounts, one student loan account with a $33k balance, one personal loan with a $4,700 balance, and my paid-off car is still showing on my report. My payment history on 100% on TU and 99% on EQ. My annual salary is $44k. CK stated my approval odds for this card as "Very Good," if that matters to anyone (I always take these with a grain of salt). I have one hard inquiry on both TU and EQ (at the time of applying for the Reserve card) and two new credit accounts in the past 24 months. My current utilization is at 46%.

I think I was approved not so much for my credit scores, but moreso for my history with Chase. I've been banking with Chase for over 10 years (I started with WaMu). And I think it also helped that I showed positive credit activity with their United MileagePlus Explorer card, despite the fact that I've only had the card for four months. I feel like I'm an outlier as far as credit score approvals for the Reserve card goes, but I also feel blessed to have this opportunity to continue strengthening my credit and take advantage of those awesome benefits! I apologize for my long story, but I figured it might help those of you out there who are considering this card but don't have what CK would consdier "Good" credit or above. I hope this review helps. Good luck, everyone!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Sep 27, 2016
The card ships pre-activated
jakebilbrey Cardholder

I applied for this card and it took a while to get approved, and then they shipped the card pre-activated so when it was stolen my first sign that they had actually sent the card was after it had been used for $2000 in fradulent purchases by a UPS thief. So I don't actually own this card, but Chase would say I do. I feel like this is a major security flaw that should never have been an issue if Chase took proper precautions.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Sep 10, 2017
Amazing card! I use it for everything.
Anonymous Cardholder

The perks far outweigh the fees.  If you plan on carrying a balance on your card then perhaps you'll not see the benefits.  

more ...
Jul 13, 2017
Perfect for points
Anonymous Cardholder

I use this card for points on food and travel, and it pays for itself.

more ...
Jun 28, 2017
Approved on second application
Supercap Cardholder

I first applied for this card 6 months ago, score at the time was 710, but I had bankruptcy from 2007 still in my report. I was declined with the reason stating bankruptcy. Last month the bankruptcy fell off and my score jumped to 765, I reapplied and was approved with $20000 credit limit. Other than the bk I have 100% on time payments no collections, two cars paid off and a mortgage. Hope this helps someone. 

more ...
Jun 25, 2017
Approved for $21k Inside Branch!
Toasty1221 Cardholder

I applied for this credit card back in March 2017 as I wanted to take advantage of the 100k signup points before it expired and went back to $50K. I saw that I had "very good" odds on CK so I went into the branch and applied. The whole process took less than ten minutes. Although I had a good feeling, I was still a bit nervous but soon the banker informed me that I was approved for $21,000. I should note that I also have a Chase checking account that I opened back in 2014 and opened a Chase savings account the month prior to applying for this card, not sure if that helps or not. I also have a Chase Freedom credit card. When I applied, I received a hard pull on both Experian and Equifax (check your state to see which bureau they pull from). My FICO score at the time was 733. This card is a VISA Infinite card so the minimum credit limit you will get is $10K, the Chase Sapphire Preferred is a VISA Signature card and the minimum credit limit you will get is $5K. As soon as I hit the $4K spend, the 100,000 points showed up on the Chase online portal.

After I was approved, I asked the banker transfer $5k of my new balance to my Chase Freedom credit card. I didn't want to ask for a CLI because Chase does a hard pull for CLI unlike Amex. I added my husband as an authorized user so my annual fee is $525 which showed up on the first statement, you have to pay it on the first due date. The $300 travel credit is applied each time you make a qualifying purchase. I already have TSA pre-check but I did apply for the Global Entry and paid for it with my new card and the $100 credit was applied to my account once the purchase posted. My husband and I use this card solely for restaurants and anything travel related; for all other purchases, we use our Chase Freedom cards. We each have our own and will combine points when we redeem them for travel (you get more out of your Freedom points if you transfer them to your Chase Sapphire Reserve card). I'm gardening for the next few months but plan to apply for the Chase Freedom Unlimited next for everyday purchases so that I can take advantage of the 1.5% cash back when the Chase Freedom quarterly bonus is not applicable. I think these three cards together are the best way to accumulate the most points to maximize your travel if that's what you're in to. 

My background: Average age of credit history is 5yrs 6 months; total inquiries before applying: Equifax 0, Experian 1; Total late payments on Experian & Equifax 8, my utilization was under 20% on both and I have 0 collections, 0 public records and 23 total accounts (some credit, some installment). Credit Cards: Amex Blue Cash $25K, BoFA $4,500, Chase Freedom was $1,500 now $5,500, Victoria's Secret $2,500. I'm also an authorized user on five of my husband's credit cards: Amex Blue Cash $12K, Chase Slate $2,900, Chase Freedom $3,800, and Chase Southwest VISA Sig $10K. 

Hope this review helps, folks. All the best!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jul 11, 2017

Very good review!

 
Jun 24, 2017
Perfect Credit Not Needed - $10K Baby😘
SoThankful215 Cardholder

At the time of my approval, my credit karma scores were; 663 T/U and 678 EQ. I was NOT approved right away as I got the screen that stated my application needed to be reviewed and I'd hear back from them within 7-10 days with a decision. This was on Friday (6/16/17). I couldn't wait that long because I was just too anxious to know if I was approved for this elite card. On Monday morning (6/19/17), I called their application status number (1-888-338-2586) and was politely transferred to their fraud department. This is standard procedure in preventing identity theft... I had 3 recent inquiries on my credit report so they simply wanted to make sure that I was the one applying for this card.

The representative asked me to verify my full name, social security #, phone #, etc. Lastly, she sent me a verification code via text and asked me to verify it. This all took about 2-3 minutes and after the verification process she said something that made me experience pure joy. 😊 "Thank you very much for verifying that information, I am happy to inform you that you've been approved with a $10,000 credit limit." My card arrived on Wednesday (6/21/17) via UPS Express. 👏👏

The welcome letter provided me with my Transunion FICO score, which at the time was 629. The card is made from metal... after all, it is a premium card on the Visa Infinite network. 👏❤

You do not need PERFECT credit to qualify for this card. However, I have read many reviews on various sites that states it's better to have a card with at least a minimum credit limit of $3,000. I do have a Capital One QuickSilver One Credit Card with that limit, which was my highest CL at the time of my approval. My utilization was 10% and I pay my balances in full... no collections, no bankruptcy, no repos, 6 total late payments on 3 different student loans, etc.

Additional information;

- Approval Odds on Credit Karma - Very Good
- Annual Income - $65,000
- Total Inquiries - 6
- They use Transunion to make their Decision

Current Credit Cards;

- Capitol One Platinum MasterCard - $500 CL
- Capitol One QuickSilver One - $3,000 CL
- OpenSky Secured Card - $200 CL (I will close this card soon since it has served its purpose)
- Auto Loan with Capital One Auto Finance with a balance of $12,264

Cards Recently Approved for (via Credit Karma) the same week but not yet showing on my report;

- Discover It - $1,000 CL
- Wells Fargo Platinum Card - $300 CL
- Wal-Mart Credit Card - $200 CL

I am rating this card based on my experience with it as an authorized user on my ex husband's account. I'm so happy to be able to take advantage of the many benefits offered by this card. Do not fret about the $450 annual fee, you receive $300 in travel credits and a host of other savings. I truly hope my review helps.

more ...
Jun 24, 2017
The best 'premium' credit card
ihearthummus Cardholder

Love this card! Currently have had this card for about 6 months and applied in time for the 100k point sign up offer. $450 annual fee is not waived the first year and does not count towards the 4k spending in 3 months for the bonus points. $300 travel credit back in travel so effective cost is $150 not factoring in the priority pass, emerald club, etc. I tend to use uber and uber eats a ton, so I've already gotten the $300 back. Used the chase points for travel already - booked a hotel for the weekend easy to reserve online and maybe $50 more than advertised on the hotel website. I've also used the purchase protection once easy to use and got my money back (FYI: free press summer fest is a disaster every year it got rained out 3x in a row now). They called me twice for fraud protection; once at the apple store (it was me) and one time for actual fraud protection (had to freeze the account and send a new card). As for applying and being approved, I previously had the CSP (18k CL) for about 8 months or so and no previous chase banking history. They approved instantly for 27k CL and I downgraded the CSP to just chase sapphire (no yearly fee and you get to keep using the CSP card until it expires). My TU and EQ scores were both around 750 when i applied for both CSP and CSR. The CSR credit limit increased my credit score to 760. About 90k yearly income and less than 4 yr total credit history. Good luck to applicants! great card to add for anyone who travels or uses and abuses uber/ubereats

more ...
Jun 25, 2017

This probably doesn't matter, but 90k pre tax or post?

 
Jun 26, 2017

⬆⬆Yeah, it doesn't matter. 😊 Chase wants to know your gross annual salary.

 
Jun 19, 2017
Approved in Branch for $21K!!!
Toasty1221 Cardholder

I applied for this credit card back in March 2017 as I wanted to take advatange of the 100k signup points before it expired and went back to $50K. I saw that I had "very good" odds on CK so I went into the branch and applied. The whole process took less than ten minutes. Although I had a good feeling, I was still a bit nervous but soon the banker informed me that I was approved for $21,000. I should note that I also have a Chase checking account and recently opened a Chase savings account the month prior to applying, not sure if that helps or not. I also have a Chase Freedom credit card. When I applied, I received a hard pull on both Experian and Equifax (check your state to see which bureau they pull from). My FICO score at the time was 733. This card is a VISA Infinite card so the minumin credit limit you will get is $10K, the Chase Sapphire Preferred is a VISA Signature card and the minimum credit limit you will get is $5K. As soon as I hit the $4K spend, the 100,000 points showed up on the Chase online portal. 

After I was approved, I asked the banker transfer $5k of my new balane to my Chase Freedom credit card. I didn't want to ask for a CLI because Chase does a hard pull for increases unlike Amex. I added my husband as an authorized user so my annual fee is $525 which showed up on the first statement, you have to pay it on the first due date. The $300 travel credit is immedateily applied each time you make a qualifying purchase. I already have TSA pre-check but I did apply for the global entry and paid for it with my new card and the $100 credit was applied to my account once the purchase posted. My husband and I use this card soley for restaurants and anything travel related; for all other purchases, we use our Chase Freedom cards. We each have our own and will combine points when we redeem them for travel (you get more out of your Freedom points if you transfer them to your Chase Sapphire Reserve card). I'm gardening for the next few months but plan to apply for the Chase Freedom Unlimited next for everyday purchases so that I can take advangate of the 1.5% cash back when the Chase Freedom quarterly bonus is not applicable. I think these three cards together are the best way to accumulate the most points to maximize your travel if that's what you're in to. 

My background: Average age of credit history is 5yrs 6mos; total inquiries before applying: Equifax 0, Experian 1; Total late payments on Experian & Equifax 8, my utilization was under 20% on both and I have 0 collections, 0 public records and 23 total accounts (some credit, some installment). Credit Cards: Amex Blue Cash $25K, BoFA $4,500, Chase Freedom was $1,500 now $5,500, Victoria's Secret $2,500. I'm also an authorized user on five of my huband's credit cards: Amex Blue Cash $12K, Chase Slate $2,900, Chase Freedom $3,800, and Chase Southwest VISA Sig $10K. 

Hope this review helps, folks. All the best!

more ...
Jun 13, 2017
Perfect for the casual traveller
noobtravels Cardholder

This card has a large annual fee, however the $300 travel credit helps make it only $150 effectively if you make use of the credit each year. The card offers lounge access and earns a lot of UR points for dining which makes it easy to to accrue points for travel.

more ...
May 24, 2017
Excellent Travel Card!
eddiep426 Cardholder

One of the best travel cards available, applied because I plan on traveling more and no other travel card offered the perks this one does. The Priority Pass Select lounge access is one of the best available and the $300 dollar travel credit was very easy to obtain, just simply charge any travel related charge to the card and get the travel credit back within two business days after the charge post to you account. Not to mention the cost reimbursement of the Global Entry/TSA PreCheck credit you receive when you use your Sapphire Reserve card for payment. The few times that I did have to call into the customer service number located on the back of the card, there was no wait time the call was answered right away and on those occasions my customer service experience were exceptional. I also received the 100,000 bonus points as soon as I met the spend requirement and the statement closed. The application process was same as any other app, I was lucky enough to get the ( Application needs further review) massage after submitting my app. I was eventually approved about seven days later with a credit limit of $25,000.

more ...
May 09, 2017
Best travel card on the market
jagrawr Cardholder

Hands down the best travel rewards card in the market, especially when used in conjunction with other CHASE cards in the ultimate rewards program. I use this card in conjunction with the CHASE Freedom and Freedom Unlimited, essentially making my earning power 5X points on rotating categories (from the Freedom), 3X points on travel and dining (from the Reserve), and 1.5X points on everything else (from the Freedom Unlimited). Points earned from all 3 cards can be combined and used through the Reserve, which can be transferred to various partners at a 1:1 ratio or redeemed through CHASE's Ultimate Rewards portal at 1.5X value for each point. Prices in the UR travel portal are generally the same as those displayed from aggregator sites like google flights and kayak. The best part about booking through the travel portal is the ability to still earn miles in frequent flyer programs as though the tickets were purchased outright. Double dipping at its finest. With the 100k sign up bonus alone, I was able to book a business class ticket on Japan Airlines from Tokyo to Manila by transferring points to British Airways, and multiple round-trip tickets from LAX to Seattle, DC, Mexico City, and Rome through the UR travel portal, thus still earning frequent flier miles. The Reserve more than makes up its steep annual fee with all the value it provides, but when combined with other cards in th UR line-up, can't be beat.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Chase Sapphire Reserve℠

79 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i