Chase Sapphire Reserve® Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.6 out of 5 stars
40 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 18.99% - 25.99%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $450
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 18.99% - 25.99%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jan 14, 2019
Immediately Approved with High Limit
GoCoogs17 Cardholder

Was convinced to apply due to the plethora of benefits, way too many to list. 675 TransUnion and 672 Equifax at the time of application. Good Standing with an Auto Loan. Immediately approved for a $16,300 Limit. If you plan on even taking 1 trip this year, then the card is already worth it. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Aug 07, 2019
Always having to call to make purchases
QueenDiva88 Cardholder

Had the card for about 2 months, and every time i try to make a big purchase my card gets declined and i have to call chase fraud department to notify them it’s me making the purchase. This has happened numerous times, even when i was in the store. It’s embarrassing to have your card declined when you know you have the money available. I’m sick of calling to ask to use the card every time i want to make a purchase. I want to cancel the account. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Oct 17, 2019
Excellent perks
Mvagusta Cardholder

Applied with a 730 FICO score and $110k income and was instantly approved for $25k limit. 

more ...
Sep 30, 2019
APPROVED FOR 15k
sslack18 Cardholder

Applied for the CSR last week on the 25th. Got the awful we need to review your application message. Today 9/29 they called me and  verified some of my information and approved me for 15k!!! I am so happy I have been building my credit. My CS are TU 702 EF 698 and Ex 685! UT was at 26%. Credit karma said I had fair approval odds. I was going to apply for the CSP but had my heart set on this and I’m going on a vacation next month and really wanted the benefits of this card so I just went for it. I’m so happy that I did. If you are thinking of applying for this card I say just go for it ! Income is 96k a year! Good luck!

more ...
Sep 17, 2019
Great benefit for travelers.
NDash Cardholder

I travel often so applying for this card was pretty much a no-brained for me. I cancelled my Chase Sapphire Preferred, wanted for a few dahs and then applied. I guess my credit score was quite comfortable, and got instant approval. 

more ...
Sep 14, 2019
Got it for the travel benefits
GiveMeTacos21 Cardholder

CK score- 696/694...  Applied as I was looking for travel benefits to supplement my work travel (ie Priority Pass membership and extra perks for my personal travel).  Applied on Monday, instantly approved, credit check has FICO of 706.  Received card on Wednesday.  Immediately switched my monthly auto pay bills to this card and set up auto pay to pay off at the end of the month.  Looking forward to continuing my points game with this card.  

more ...
Sep 05, 2019
This card puts me on a different level !
Yamoore24 Cardholder

I applied for this card with a 673 TU, 675 EQ and 696 Exp.  My overall utilitization was about 28% and was instantly approved for $13,100.  Although most reviews say dont waste your time if you dont have atleast a 720+ I decided to give it a try and it worked.  Below is what I think helped the most:

1.  5/24 rule -  I had 4/24 (four cards open in past 2 years.)  I attempted the reserve 15 months ago and was declined BTW.

2.  One of my recently opened cards has a 20k CL (NFCU Amex).  Behind that before this card was a 3k CL from Delta Amex gold. I think having the larger credit limit in good standings helped the most.

3.  Credit utilization is important.  I've been keeping it under 30% consistently. 

I think if you meet the critera and your score is over 670 you should be good.  I was and I'm all smiles.  The benefits seem endless and it did not take a dangerously high credit score.  Hope this helps!

more ...
Sep 11, 2019

What’s the point of having all that credit if you can’t use it? You stated you have to keep it under 30% utilization, right?
I’m not trying to offend you or anyone else but I don’t understand the point of having all that available credit if you technically can’t use it or you’ll be penalized.

 
Sep 11, 2019

only use what you can payback the same month.

 
Sep 22, 2019

Cable guy: that is the point of the strategies of having a good credit. Below 30% utilization is common, over that percentile tends to scare creditors. I learned the hard way of not being “credit wise” and thanks to Credit Karma, I have gained experience over the years and now I have decent credit (same points as Yamoore24 actually) and will improve my scores.

 
Sep 30, 2019

Thank you for your review! You are the reason why I went ahead and applied! I had to wait a few days I wasn’t instantly approved but today I got the call telling me I was approved! I am so excited!!

 
Sep 01, 2019
Best premium credit card
thunderboy Cardholder

I  apply for this card with 756 credit score from chase  and I get approved for $19800. i will use this card for vacations!

more ...
Aug 26, 2019
Just got approved for $15,000!!

CK credit score 778 and 775 with a a fico score of 750, I wasn’t instantly approved but a few days after, I got a call to ask me a few security questions and I got approved, I’ll be receiving the card in a few days, can’t wait !!! 

more ...
Aug 29, 2019

No mention of your credit limit you were approved for?

 
Sep 04, 2019

Lol... It's in the title of the post

 
Sep 08, 2019

What was the security questions they asked?

 
Oct 10, 2019

How many days is a few? A week? Just wondering so I can be on the lookout. Fhank!

 
Aug 25, 2019
Top Tier Card
cbvcsf06 Cardholder

Excellent card, superb value if you travel and enjoy perks/rewards. Applied through the link on creditkarma & received my card about a week later. Very nice starting/opening credit limit. An absolute must have in your wallet.

more ...
Aug 22, 2019
Wow! It is fantastic for travel!
gjones73mcd Cardholder

The perks are great! Visited SA to drop my son at college, stayed in a hotel and used the card to pay... the next day the hotel charge was credited to my card! Can you say 300 a year credit for travel! Got approved with a 793 score and 205k income. 33500 limit. Thanks Chase!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Oct 10, 2019

Thank!! Good for you!

 
Aug 12, 2019
Excellent card for travel!
Ali05 Cardholder

I apply for this card with fair odds 734 and 741 and I get approved for 23300$ instantly. Don’t be afraid go for it!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Sep 30, 2019

What was your income?

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 

Chase Sapphire Reserve®

40 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i