Merrick Bank Double Your Line™ Visa® Credit Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.4 out of 5 stars
71 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

3.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR See Terms*
  • Annual Fee See Terms*
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR See Terms*
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Mar 08, 2017
Outstanding card and offer!
whdens Cardholder

Received the pre approved offer by mail to double the credit line. Cedit score horribly in the mid 500's.  I was approved shortly after applying.  Did not use the card much but when I did, paid it off in full most of the time. Credit score went up 30, 50 and then 75 points.  Exactly seven months later my credit limit automaticall doubled from $700 to $1,400 and my credit score rose another 50 points.

I highly recommend this card to anyone looking to build or, as in my case, rebuild their credit.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

May 23, 2017
Fraud
mhskelton Cardholder

I contacted this company the day fraudulent changes were placed onto my account.  I couldn't se them online, but i could see my credit limit was maxed out.  All of the charges were to Segpay (whatever that is).  This company does not do things like other companies.  Even though these charges are nothing remotely similar to any charge from your history, they still assume it's you.  Basically, you made the charges and theyre going to investigate to see if you, the customer, is being truthful.  Two weeks after I reported the charges, they were still on my account.  According to Zack, it could take upto 50 days to remove the charges if they find they are fraudulent.  In the meantime, your credit score is lowered.  Not to mention they make you feel like a criminal instead of a victim.  

Other than this, the company has been great.  However, this is a very big deal.  

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Dec 11, 2017
Exactly what I needed to build my credit
Alkalethia Cardholder

This card is super fair. After you make 9 payments on time and at least the minimum they put more trust in you and double your limit. This card has saved me more than once!!

more ...
Dec 11, 2017
Excellent they do increase after 7 payme
Lucifer187 Cardholder

Good for rebuilding credit ☺ I love the card!

more ...
Dec 11, 2017
Unauthorized charges are not covered
Ls53 Cardholder

If you have an unauthorized charge on the card you have to pull teeth to get the charges taken off 30 to 60 days worth of waiting ridiculous

more ...
Dec 08, 2017
Not that great
Anonymous Cardholder

They do what they say as long as you make 7 payments on time, but the interest rate is pretty high and In the 2 years I’ve had the card they only increased my limit once and that was because I made my 7 payments. I paid off the card 9 months ago and haven’t used it since. If you want to rebuild your credit than get the card, however don’t expect too much from it. No rewards what so ever! 

more ...
Dec 07, 2017
Sucks
RJenkins2 Cardholder

Don't do it!  This company is a fake!  They sell your information.  

more ...
Dec 07, 2017
JJRtgw Cardholder

Great initially but staff is not knowledgeable of how their reviews work. Got a line that was supposed to double after 7 payments. Was late one day and contacted them regarding the mishap in my end and was reassured that I’d still be eligible for increase as scheduled, however upon the date I was due the increase I was informed that one day late disqualified my increase, thus putting me in the typical pay on time and possible the account would be reviewed and an increase offered... so there went my happy Christmas! 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Dec 10, 2017

So you made a late payment and it's their fault they didn't increase your limit. Makes sense.

 
Dec 03, 2017
I love it!
Frankiew1130 Cardholder

So far this card is incredible. I absolutely love how easy the app is to pay my bill and look at my transactions. The card itself did take a while to get here, but I feel it was worth the wait. I have only had the card a month and I like this one better then the other card I have. The annual rate is not that bad considering my other card is a secured card and I had to put $250 down. I already see a change in my credit score and it wonderful since my fiancé and I are getting married soon and would love to get our own home. Anyway when my card wasn’t here yet after 3 weeks, I called had a wonderful experience with customer service and received my card 6 days later! I recommend to anyone who needs to rebuild credit and also needs a higher then normal credit line. 

more ...
Dec 01, 2017
Worst card and customer service
Anonymous Cardholder

DO NOT APPLY!! If your credit is bad find another way to improve it. Their customer service is as if you're dealing with robots, bad business model when dealing with customers. I'd rather have bad credit than a Merrick Bank credit card.

more ...
Nov 28, 2017
RealCustomer Cardholder

This card is just great! It has really helped my score and it has all the features a credit card should have!

Great customer service 

Great app to give you all your account and payment information 

And they do double your available credit when you pay your bill 6 months in a row.

By far this is my card of choice 

more ...
Nov 27, 2017
weirdest bunch i've ever dealt with.
jabbahursty Cardholder

i've dealt with their customer service 3 times and it's been nothing but bizarre adventures.  

the most recent one takes the cake.  merrick is the only visa i have, so i use them at costco.  every time i use it at costco, my card gets a fraud alert, even though i pay my card online immediately after using it.  now i'm fraud alerted on a zero balance account and have to call them to deal with customer service, which is a nightmare.  i call them from my home phone, which is not an authorized number to call them on.  i am asked what number i am calling from and i say i don't know and have to look it up.  aha, fraud has been proven and my card is stopped!  on a zero balance account that is reguarly used at costco

the security department sends me a letter saying that they have discovered that my card has been stolen and that they have stopped it and will send me a new card.  but the new card is the same information as hte old card that i stole from myself and made fraudulent purchases at costco that i have acknowledged making and have paid in full.  

normal, huh?

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Merrick Bank Double Your Line™ Visa® Credit Card