Merrick Bank Double Your Line™ Visa® Credit Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.6 out of 5 stars
70 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

3.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR See Terms*
  • Annual Fee See Terms*
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR See Terms*
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Mar 08, 2017
Outstanding card and offer!
whdens Cardholder

Received the pre approved offer by mail to double the credit line. Cedit score horribly in the mid 500's.  I was approved shortly after applying.  Did not use the card much but when I did, paid it off in full most of the time. Credit score went up 30, 50 and then 75 points.  Exactly seven months later my credit limit automaticall doubled from $700 to $1,400 and my credit score rose another 50 points.

I highly recommend this card to anyone looking to build or, as in my case, rebuild their credit.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

May 23, 2017
Fraud
mhskelton Cardholder

I contacted this company the day fraudulent changes were placed onto my account.  I couldn't se them online, but i could see my credit limit was maxed out.  All of the charges were to Segpay (whatever that is).  This company does not do things like other companies.  Even though these charges are nothing remotely similar to any charge from your history, they still assume it's you.  Basically, you made the charges and theyre going to investigate to see if you, the customer, is being truthful.  Two weeks after I reported the charges, they were still on my account.  According to Zack, it could take upto 50 days to remove the charges if they find they are fraudulent.  In the meantime, your credit score is lowered.  Not to mention they make you feel like a criminal instead of a victim.  

Other than this, the company has been great.  However, this is a very big deal.  

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Oct 16, 2017
Love it!
lipstickchic75 Cardholder

This bank is one of the best for rebuilding credit!
I received a pre approval in the mail, excepted offer and approved for a nice credit line. I just received my double the credit line after 7 months of on time payments and very happy with this company. No- cash advance fee, over limit, returned payment, additional card and set-up . Fee free except a $48 annual fee. I really like their app and online services. Customer is great too!

more ...
Oct 16, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

I've had this card for 5 months and I haven't had any issues. I did however receive an email today saying My credit limit is scheduled to double December 14th!

more ...
Oct 02, 2017
Extremely Satisfied!!!
Anonymous Cardholder

Good card for rebuilding your credit.  Started me off at a decent limit and DOUBLED it after 7 timely payments.  Never had a need to call customer service.  Only downsde about the card is the high APR but when used responsibly its not an issue.

more ...
Oct 02, 2017
Great and comes in handy
sirdaddy Cardholder

It is a good investment just be responsible.

more ...
Sep 30, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

When the economy crashed, we went through hard times. All my credit card companies either closed my accounts or raised my interest rates to 30%, even when I paid some of them on time. This company did no such thing. Merrick Bank did not raise my rates or close my account. I am still with them today and appreciate them for allowing me to continue to have credit. They are a good company. 

more ...
Sep 22, 2017
Helped rebuild my credit!!!
hickt003 Cardholder

High interest rate on this card. Auto CLI's if you pay in time! Started around $500 credit limit, 18 months later it's around $1800 CL

pay off each month, that's my advice. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Sep 30, 2017

Agreed!

 
Sep 19, 2017
Great for rebuilding
Anonymous Cardholder

No way to request cli, but I have had 2 small ones from them after the initial "double your limit" approx 6-8 months apart. $550 to start then doubled to $1100, about 8 months after bumped to $1400, and about 6 months since then I'm at $1800 as of this morning's increase. Just used it every month, carry a small balance, and paid on time always:)

more ...
Sep 14, 2017
Hassle free, Convenient and easy!
Athens3340 Cardholder

I applied for the card from a promotional offer. TU 620, Eq 590. Approved for a $700 limit. After paying on time for 7 months my limit was doubled to $1400. The increase was applied 2 days after my payment posted.

more ...
Sep 07, 2017
Great Credit Card for Utilization
yankees992012 Cardholder

I receive a mail offer and approved a starting credit line of 1,100 and double to 2,200 after 7 months of on-time payments. This is a great card to start wth and they give you more starting Credit line. Starting credit score of low 600's and now close to 750. I have capital one Credit card before this. The interest rates depends on your credit score when applied. Mine was generous 16 percent interest. There's no yearly fees on mine. If you need a credit card to help your Utilization, Merrick bank credit card perfect for it. It is suggested to apply or accept the mail offer when your credit score is in fair range, higher chance of better Credit line to start with. Since Merrick bank helped me to bring up the credit score where i graduated to a better credit card with Rewards/Cash back.

more ...
Sep 06, 2017
Legit card, but read fine print
AyeJay77 Cardholder

This card is issued by invitation only...so don't bother applying if you havent received an offer with an approval code in the mail.

So, they sent me an offer for a card with a $600 limit. I entered my info online, and I was approved for $600. If you make 7 monthly payments on time they will double your limit. My Transunion score on creditkarma right now is 599. I have new credit history, after getting into all kinds of credit trouble a few years ago. I have a BK from 2008, two open collections from 2013.  I also have an open car loan,  two capital one cards, three comenity bank cards, a First Premier card, and a Credit one Visa - all with no missed payments, but all opened in the past two years. Most of my cards are about 80% used at any given time too.   LOTS of inquiries because I am trying to build credit up. I plan on using this card very little to lower my utilization %. There are annual fees with this card but I'm willing to pay them.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Sep 07, 2017

I have this card and there are no annual fees.

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Merrick Bank Double Your Line™ Visa® Credit Card