Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Merrick Bank Double Your Line™ Visa® Credit Card

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.1 out of 5 stars
55 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

4 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR See Terms*
  • Annual Fee See Terms*
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR See Terms*

Our Take

If you’re looking to build your credit, the Merrick Bank Double Your LineTM Visa® Credit Card might make sense for you.

What to Like

While your credit limit might start off relatively low if you’re approved, Merrick Bank will double your credit line if you make at least the minimum monthly payment on-time for the first 7 months your account is open. It’s also easy to find out if you’re pre-qualified before you actually apply, and you can see your pre-qualified APR and credit limit before making your application decision.

Look Out For

Like other cards that are primarily aimed at consumers looking to build their credit, credit limits here are relatively low and APRs are relatively high. There’s also no rewards or cash back with this card.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

May 10, 2016
Continually increasing credit limit
neiberg21 Cardholder

I was appproved for this card a lttle over a year and a half ago with a low 600's credit score for a $500 limit. I have paid on time every month. It initially doubled after the 6th payment. I currently have a $2500 and my credit score is now just under 700. I love this card with the exception of the $4 mothly "maintainence" fee and the fairly high interst rate. The best thing to do is keep the balance low or pay off what you charge each month. Overall I am pleased with this card!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Sep 10, 2016
Avoid this one!
Anonymous Cardholder

Due to a variety of circumstances I had to file a Chap. 13 bankruptcy.  After paying back the full amount decided by the court but before it cleared my credit history I received an offer from Merrick.  It didn't have any annual fees, unlike most offers I was receiving, so I jumped right on it.  Yes the interest rates were high, but that was to be expected given my credit history and score at the time.  I didn't really have any issues until their fraud department called me one afternoon to tell me there was suspicious activity.  They rattled off a number of charges, to the tune of over $300, that were posted to my account in the last 3 days (all of which were in states not near me).  Cell phone payments to a company I don't use, restaurant bills for places about 900 miles away from me, video phone call services to prison inmates...just all sorts of random stuff.  At this point everything went south.  They told me I'd receive paperwork in the mail in 7-10 days to fill out to dispute the charges.  That time period went by and I received nothing.  I called their customer service who transfered me to the fraud department.  They'd never sent the paperwork.  No apologies, no excuses...just a "yeah, we never sent that out.  Maybe tomorrow."  In the meantime my account is maxed out, there are $300 of charges on the account I didn't make and they're in no hurry to do anything.  Again I wait.  On day 12 the paperwork arrives and only half of the fraudlent claims are listed.  Again I'm on the phone with the fraud department asking where the other $120 worth of fraudulent charges are and that they're not shown on their affidavit that I have to submit.  They blamed me saying I never claimed they were fraudulent (although they called me and I agreed to all charges they told me about) and told me to just pencil them in and mail the paperwork back.  I completed the paperwork and took it to the Post Office the same day I received it.  Since then 2 months have passed with no word on anything.  Customer service, if you can call it that, claims it can take up to 90 days (90 days!) to process claims b/c the MERCHANT has the final say.  If the merchant claims it is a real charge, I'm stuck paying it.  Bottom line, as the card holder, user and account holder...they don't care about my rights, my credit or me as their customer at all.  MERCHANTS have the final say.  In this time period of waiting on Merrick Bank to do something, ANYTHING to remedy the situation I had 2 fraudulent charges made to another account that I have.  Those charges were disputed, investigated and removed from my account within 48 hours...but somehow it takes Merrick 90 days?  Worst customer service I've ever dealth with.  Worst fraud/security department I've ever dealt with.  If this situation is ever remedied I will be paying off my account and closing it.  I'd rather take the credit score hit of closing the account than dealing with a company that doesn't have my best interest in mind.  I don't need their credit card to rebuild, there are plenty of other ways.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jan 11, 2017
pmartin1664 Cardholder

 I know....there are some who give this card a low review score. Fact is.....they most likely were denied credit, even after receiving pre=approval status. That most likely happened due to their FICO score taking a nose dive after Merrick received an initial point average that was safe for them to issue a card. Even people that are doing well in trying to rebuild their credit, hit a wall and maybe fall behind on other credit liabilities. ANYWAY.. I have been rebuilding my credit for the past 18 months. I have never been late with the 6 cards I now have. None are debit cards, or secured. My average line of credit is $1000. Merrick preapproved me at $1200 with a promise to double in 7 months. The APR is lower than even my 2 Capital One cards, and my zChase !!  OUTSTANDING !!!  Approval online was instantaneous. And ZERO fee's was the benefit that made this card, a NO BRAINER ! Finally, something that sounds too good to be true, and IS FANTASTIC. nO HIDDEN FEE'S OR FINE PRINT. If you receive an offer, don't waste any time in applying. the process is 10 or so questions. All in which the bank already has, and is just veryfying the applicant to make sure it's the same person the offer was addressed to. So...IF YOU HAVE AN OFFER IN HAND, APPLY !!! If you are simply looking at cards in which you want to apply to....and you have 600 to fair or better credit....APPLY !!

more ...
Jan 05, 2017
Awesome
Anonymous Cardholder

They actually do what they say. After the second increase , you get a small increase every 3 months!

more ...
Dec 30, 2016
Decent card for not so good credit score
TechnicianGirl Cardholder

I received a pre-approved offer in the mail from Merrick Bank. Even though I didn't know much about this card, the chance to double my limit after 6 on time payments intrigued me. I have been working hard to rebuild my credit after not having the best history. I just made my 6th payment and I am waiting to see that limit increase.  The interest is on the high side but given my short positive credit history, I'm not surprised. I'm working on lowering the balance I have on this card and plan to keep it lower. As far as customer service, I've only had to call once and the person I dealt with was very helpful. I did not have the bad customer service experience that some other cardholders have had. All in all, I feel this is a decent card with a great opportunity to boost your credit score. 

more ...
Dec 22, 2016
Great card for building credit
Anonymous Cardholder

Approved for $600 and no problem, except I dont like pending transactions you can't see them until after 3-5 days later.

more ...
Dec 13, 2016
Happy with this credit card
Anonymous Cardholder

I was approved when I was going through tough times during a divorce. That was a few years ago and I still have it. Customer service is easy to deal with. Even though I've rebuilt my credit since this company took a chance on me, I will continue to be a loyal customer. Thank you

more ...
Dec 12, 2016
Not Sure Yet
Gardener2016 Cardholder

I'm giving this card three stars based on the fact that I haven't had it very long. So far, it's been fine (no hidden fees). I immediately paid the start-up fees and used it for a dinner purchase. I'm currently waiting on that payment to post. It took about four days for the actual charge to appear on my online account. I don't like it taking that long. I feel like a charge should reflect immediately even though it's pending. Otherwise, I'll have to see how it goes. I don't really intend to use this card, because I have others. I just wanted a line to add to my available credit. I'm fine with paying the monthly fee and making a small purchase here and there to keep it "active".

more ...
Dec 10, 2016
Great for people with no credit
Anonymous Cardholder

It helped me rebuild credit after a cc writeoff and some collections. I dropped it a while back but it helped propel my score well into the 700's.

more ...
Dec 06, 2016
You get the increase like they say,
roybigb Cardholder

after first increase I have not got another after 2 years, of ontime payments ,. when I called was told my history was bad . the same history that was there when I got the catd .. REALLY

more ...
Nov 22, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

A really good credit rebuilding card.

more ...
Nov 20, 2016
good card for building credit
Anonymous Cardholder

started with 700 limit, 7 months later 1400 boom. It really helps elimante the amount of cards I need to carry. Customer service is ehh... They do maintenace on their website just about all day sunday, so if you bank online like me, setup your payments before sunday.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Merrick Bank Double Your Line™ Visa® Credit Card

55 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i