Merrick Bank Double Your Line™ Visa® Credit Card

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.0 out of 5 stars
65 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

4 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR See Terms*
  • Annual Fee See Terms*
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR See Terms*

Our Take

If you’re looking to build your credit, the Merrick Bank Double Your LineTM Visa® Credit Card might make sense for you.

What to Like

While your credit limit might start off relatively low if you’re approved, Merrick Bank will double your credit line if you make at least the minimum monthly payment on-time for the first 7 months your account is open. It’s also easy to find out if you’re pre-qualified before you actually apply, and you can see your pre-qualified APR and credit limit before making your application decision.

Look Out For

Like other cards that are primarily aimed at consumers looking to build their credit, credit limits here are relatively low and APRs are relatively high. There’s also no rewards or cash back with this card.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

May 10, 2016
Continually increasing credit limit
neiberg21 Cardholder

I was appproved for this card a lttle over a year and a half ago with a low 600's credit score for a $500 limit. I have paid on time every month. It initially doubled after the 6th payment. I currently have a $2500 and my credit score is now just under 700. I love this card with the exception of the $4 mothly "maintainence" fee and the fairly high interst rate. The best thing to do is keep the balance low or pay off what you charge each month. Overall I am pleased with this card!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Sep 10, 2016
Avoid this one!
Anonymous Cardholder

Due to a variety of circumstances I had to file a Chap. 13 bankruptcy.  After paying back the full amount decided by the court but before it cleared my credit history I received an offer from Merrick.  It didn't have any annual fees, unlike most offers I was receiving, so I jumped right on it.  Yes the interest rates were high, but that was to be expected given my credit history and score at the time.  I didn't really have any issues until their fraud department called me one afternoon to tell me there was suspicious activity.  They rattled off a number of charges, to the tune of over $300, that were posted to my account in the last 3 days (all of which were in states not near me).  Cell phone payments to a company I don't use, restaurant bills for places about 900 miles away from me, video phone call services to prison inmates...just all sorts of random stuff.  At this point everything went south.  They told me I'd receive paperwork in the mail in 7-10 days to fill out to dispute the charges.  That time period went by and I received nothing.  I called their customer service who transfered me to the fraud department.  They'd never sent the paperwork.  No apologies, no excuses...just a "yeah, we never sent that out.  Maybe tomorrow."  In the meantime my account is maxed out, there are $300 of charges on the account I didn't make and they're in no hurry to do anything.  Again I wait.  On day 12 the paperwork arrives and only half of the fraudlent claims are listed.  Again I'm on the phone with the fraud department asking where the other $120 worth of fraudulent charges are and that they're not shown on their affidavit that I have to submit.  They blamed me saying I never claimed they were fraudulent (although they called me and I agreed to all charges they told me about) and told me to just pencil them in and mail the paperwork back.  I completed the paperwork and took it to the Post Office the same day I received it.  Since then 2 months have passed with no word on anything.  Customer service, if you can call it that, claims it can take up to 90 days (90 days!) to process claims b/c the MERCHANT has the final say.  If the merchant claims it is a real charge, I'm stuck paying it.  Bottom line, as the card holder, user and account holder...they don't care about my rights, my credit or me as their customer at all.  MERCHANTS have the final say.  In this time period of waiting on Merrick Bank to do something, ANYTHING to remedy the situation I had 2 fraudulent charges made to another account that I have.  Those charges were disputed, investigated and removed from my account within 48 hours...but somehow it takes Merrick 90 days?  Worst customer service I've ever dealth with.  Worst fraud/security department I've ever dealt with.  If this situation is ever remedied I will be paying off my account and closing it.  I'd rather take the credit score hit of closing the account than dealing with a company that doesn't have my best interest in mind.  I don't need their credit card to rebuild, there are plenty of other ways.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Mar 23, 2017
So far... so good
Ebags Cardholder

Don't know about customer service because I haven't had any issues.

more ...
Mar 20, 2017
Take it from someone who has 10+ years
Anonymous Cardholder

In the 10+ possibly 15 years experience with these guys, I can't say too many positives. Even to this day they are my highest interest rates card due to some late payments a decade ago. Nothing I have done since then has gotten it down. My credit line goes up incrementally about $100 every so often. But what good is that with a high interest rate? I've contemplated closing this account dozens of times but as someone who overcame bad credit, there is always a fear of putting a dent in it by taking away credit. And the high fees especially for late pay? It's insane. There has not been a time when I didn't feel like the price gouged me. There's companies that truly want to help people and ones like this that just take advantage. Don't bother calling Customer service either it's not in house.

more ...
Mar 17, 2017
Good Card so Far
KetKet1 Cardholder

I like this card so far.  Promised a increase in 7 months and did that was appproved for 750 initially which went up to 1500 automatically in 7 months right before christmas like they promised

more ...
Mar 13, 2017
Sketchy
Anonymous Cardholder

Save yourself this card is nothing but problems! I opened the card and had to pay the annual fee UPFRONT then they promised to raise my limit after 3 months of good on time payments but that didn't happen, considering all there hidden fees would pop up randomly, and their website is a joke!, I closed the card after 4 months and they gave me a hard time, the employees just don't care, also I paid off my CLOSED account twice and both times they charged me $6 mysterious dollars to refrain me from being completely done with them! SHADY BANK!

more ...
Mar 08, 2017
Outstanding card and offer!
whdens Cardholder

Received the pre approved offer by mail to double the credit line. Cedit score horribly in the mid 500's.  I was approved shortly after applying.  Did not use the card much but when I did, paid it off in full most of the time. Credit score went up 30, 50 and then 75 points.  Exactly seven months later my credit limit automaticall doubled from $700 to $1,400 and my credit score rose another 50 points.

I highly recommend this card to anyone looking to build or, as in my case, rebuild their credit.

more ...
Mar 07, 2017
Perfect for building credit
Anonymous Cardholder

Started out with a 600 credit line and just as promised, after 7 months of on time pmts, my increase doubled.. Now I'm at 1200 and my credit score went up by 25points! Love this card..

more ...
Feb 28, 2017
Poor
Anonymous Cardholder

Very poor customer service!! Will not fix simple problems for long term customers. I would not recommend this card to anyone. 

more ...
Feb 21, 2017
PERFECT
Naye1987 Cardholder

I applied for this credit card when my score was a little under 600 paid my payments on time after 7th payment my credit line doubled.

more ...
Feb 21, 2017
Best Rebuilder Card
EYMRS Cardholder

This card is awesome for those who need to rebuild their credit. Limits start out <$1,000 typically but as long as you pay 7 months ON TIME (no whining about how you were "only" a few days late - don't be late. Ever), they will double your limit. Annual fees vary (mine is $36 or $3 a month). 

Solid contender until you can get with prime banks / no annual fee cards.

From what I know, Merrick is by invitation only.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Mar 02, 2017

LOL @ "No whining about being a few days late". I am fortunate that I have a decent bank that I deal with because this was the one card that I almost let get away from me. I just happened to log into my account only to realize that TODAY was the DUE DATE and it was 11:45 PM! I scrambled to make my online payment and didn't hear anything for a couple of days. Then when I got the email confirming that the payment posted, I was so happy that I didn't get dinged. That was indeed a close call.

 
Feb 20, 2017
Just in time
Hapsmig Cardholder

Approved for $550. Score jumped up 15 points. I activated it immediately & hurried off to pay my cable bill.

After a few days, I checked back in the website to just look around. I noticed that the "Payment Due Date:" was blank/unpopulated.

Further down it reads, "Late Payment Warning: If we do not receive your minimum payment by the date listed above, you may have to pay a late fee up to $37.00."

No big deal. I'm just going to just pay this thing off. Confident the "Due Date" will fix itself.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Merrick Bank Double Your Line™ Visa® Credit Card

65 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i