Merrick Bank Double Your Line™ Visa® Credit Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.5 out of 5 stars
72 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

3.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR See Terms*
  • Annual Fee See Terms*
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR See Terms*

Our Take

If you’re looking to build your credit, the Merrick Bank Double Your LineTM Visa® Credit Card might make sense for you.

What to Like

While your credit limit might start off relatively low if you’re approved, Merrick Bank will double your credit line if you make at least the minimum monthly payment on-time for the first 7 months your account is open. After you make your payments, the increase is automatic. It’s also easy to find out if you’re pre-qualified before you actually apply, and you can see your pre-qualified APR and credit limit before making your application decision.

Look Out For

Like other cards that are primarily aimed at consumers looking to build their credit, credit limits here are relatively low and APRs are relatively high. There’s also no rewards or cash back with this card.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jan 11, 2017
pmartin1664 Cardholder

 I know....there are some who give this card a low review score. Fact is.....they most likely were denied credit, even after receiving pre=approval status. That most likely happened due to their FICO score taking a nose dive after Merrick received an initial point average that was safe for them to issue a card. Even people that are doing well in trying to rebuild their credit, hit a wall and maybe fall behind on other credit liabilities. ANYWAY.. I have been rebuilding my credit for the past 18 months. I have never been late with the 6 cards I now have. None are debit cards, or secured. My average line of credit is $1000. Merrick preapproved me at $1200 with a promise to double in 7 months. The APR is lower than even my 2 Capital One cards, and my zChase !!  OUTSTANDING !!!  Approval online was instantaneous. And ZERO fee's was the benefit that made this card, a NO BRAINER ! Finally, something that sounds too good to be true, and IS FANTASTIC. nO HIDDEN FEE'S OR FINE PRINT. If you receive an offer, don't waste any time in applying. the process is 10 or so questions. All in which the bank already has, and is just veryfying the applicant to make sure it's the same person the offer was addressed to. So...IF YOU HAVE AN OFFER IN HAND, APPLY !!! If you are simply looking at cards in which you want to apply to....and you have 600 to fair or better credit....APPLY !!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Sep 10, 2016
Avoid this one!
Anonymous Cardholder

Due to a variety of circumstances I had to file a Chap. 13 bankruptcy.  After paying back the full amount decided by the court but before it cleared my credit history I received an offer from Merrick.  It didn't have any annual fees, unlike most offers I was receiving, so I jumped right on it.  Yes the interest rates were high, but that was to be expected given my credit history and score at the time.  I didn't really have any issues until their fraud department called me one afternoon to tell me there was suspicious activity.  They rattled off a number of charges, to the tune of over $300, that were posted to my account in the last 3 days (all of which were in states not near me).  Cell phone payments to a company I don't use, restaurant bills for places about 900 miles away from me, video phone call services to prison inmates...just all sorts of random stuff.  At this point everything went south.  They told me I'd receive paperwork in the mail in 7-10 days to fill out to dispute the charges.  That time period went by and I received nothing.  I called their customer service who transfered me to the fraud department.  They'd never sent the paperwork.  No apologies, no excuses...just a "yeah, we never sent that out.  Maybe tomorrow."  In the meantime my account is maxed out, there are $300 of charges on the account I didn't make and they're in no hurry to do anything.  Again I wait.  On day 12 the paperwork arrives and only half of the fraudlent claims are listed.  Again I'm on the phone with the fraud department asking where the other $120 worth of fraudulent charges are and that they're not shown on their affidavit that I have to submit.  They blamed me saying I never claimed they were fraudulent (although they called me and I agreed to all charges they told me about) and told me to just pencil them in and mail the paperwork back.  I completed the paperwork and took it to the Post Office the same day I received it.  Since then 2 months have passed with no word on anything.  Customer service, if you can call it that, claims it can take up to 90 days (90 days!) to process claims b/c the MERCHANT has the final say.  If the merchant claims it is a real charge, I'm stuck paying it.  Bottom line, as the card holder, user and account holder...they don't care about my rights, my credit or me as their customer at all.  MERCHANTS have the final say.  In this time period of waiting on Merrick Bank to do something, ANYTHING to remedy the situation I had 2 fraudulent charges made to another account that I have.  Those charges were disputed, investigated and removed from my account within 48 hours...but somehow it takes Merrick 90 days?  Worst customer service I've ever dealth with.  Worst fraud/security department I've ever dealt with.  If this situation is ever remedied I will be paying off my account and closing it.  I'd rather take the credit score hit of closing the account than dealing with a company that doesn't have my best interest in mind.  I don't need their credit card to rebuild, there are plenty of other ways.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Aug 18, 2017
Awesome
Anonymous Cardholder

If you're making your Monthly payments on time after 5-6months your limit will double.

more ...
Aug 18, 2017
Trouble
Anonymous Cardholder

Unforgiving, wrote letter, tried and tried but will not budge on removing ONE late payment. High rates and fees. Payingredients off this card. Would NOT RECOMMEND!

more ...
Aug 14, 2017
Any more credit increase
JACK19701 Cardholder

Has anyone got a credit increase after the promise to double after 7 months or is that it

more ...
Aug 13, 2017
Horrible unless your credit is shot
Anonymous Cardholder

High interest rates, annual and monthly fees, horrible THE WORST customer service. You are paying to rebuilt your credit with this card for sure. Do yourself a favor and shop around for a better card to rebuild credit with.

more ...
Aug 11, 2017
THIS CARD SUCKS!!!! AND YES I HAVE ONE
ULo68 Cardholder

I have this card with a $5000 credit line... I made a payment for $25.26 to bring my balance to zero.  My bank made an error and it was returned.  Merrick froze my entire account over $25.26 until that was repaid.  No problem there... and I even have a letter from my bank stating it was their error.... doesnt matter.  Merricks awesome customer service says that the account cant be used at all for 5 banking days after receipt of the new payment - even with verification that it was a banking error and not my fault.  So $5000 cant be used over a $25 return that was a banks error...   No problem... I wont use your card again for anything...

more ...
Jul 31, 2017
Not terrible
Merricksucks Cardholder

I accidently put the wrong account number to make a payment and they just cancelled my card! They said that I could make a payment on it from the correct account but when I tried they completely charged off my card. I really liked this card at first. I never made a late payment and I always paid it off every month, then they just screwed me and sent it to collections and that was it. Buyer beware

more ...
Jul 22, 2017
Merrick Bank - Fraudulent Criminals

DO NOT apply for this card, as actually being approved is FAR WORSE than not being approved. When you're approved, you get sucked into Merrick's scumbag, fraudulent underworld. Do some google research. They WILL look for reasons to post your payment late, and increase your interest rate as well as not doubling your credit line. Beware if you pay bills by check. They will hold the check until after your due date. We've had this happen three times already, and we're done with it. It will be paid off and closed forever. Customer service is absolutely worthless, regurgitating whatever they've been trained to say to avoid liability. They keep blaming the Post Office (but still load you up with fees and sky high interest), even though their payment center is a 1-2 day delivery zone from us.

more ...
Jul 16, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

They closed my account due to inactivity for over a year, but they never warned me about the inactivity until I received the cancellation notice! I called their customer service and spoke with their supervisor, but he was not helpful either.  When I challenged him to provide evidence of mail correspondences about the inactivity of my account for over a year (I never received a warning letter from them), he put me on hold for several minutes until he came back with the expected answer: "The bank's decision is final, your account has been closed due to inactivity'.  I told him I have been a customer for over 4 years and my card was recently upgraded to Platinum status due to excellent history and responsible use, but that did not get his attention.  The bank did not even bother telling me if my card can be reinstated or when I will eligible to re-apply for the same card.  All and all, I find their decision to close my card dubious and unjustifiable... judging by their customer service response and their +10-year website technology (the app did not fare well either), I see why their card was not much use to me.

more ...
Jul 16, 2017
Horrible Experience!
Jen63017 Cardholder

After being a customer for over 3 years, when I called to discuss the annual fee being charged to my account (over $70/year) and what could be done to lower that rate, there was no concern whatsoever as to working with me. Therefore I requested that my account be closed. To my dismay, my account was not closed, and I was charged another month of an annual fee. When I called customer service to reference that I had requested that this account be closed and this fee should be removed, they said they would be unable to remove it, because they couldn't locate a reference to my previous request in their system. After finally locating the notes made from the previous time I called in, I was then told they would still be unable to credit that fee back to me, and I would have to discuss with a supervisor further. Are you kidding me? Horrible customer service. Absolutely no way I would ever recommend this company. As a business owner, if I handled my clients in this manner, I would be unemployed. Word of warning, look else where! 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Merrick Bank Double Your Line™ Visa® Credit Card