Merrick Bank Double Your Line™ Visa® Credit Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.8 out of 5 stars
74 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

4 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR See Terms*
  • Annual Fee See Terms*
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR See Terms*

Our Take

If you’re looking to build your credit, the Merrick Bank Double Your LineTM Visa® Credit Card might make sense for you.

What to Like

While your credit limit might start off relatively low if you’re approved, Merrick Bank will double your credit line if you make at least the minimum monthly payment on-time for the first 7 months your account is open. It’s also easy to find out if you’re pre-qualified before you actually apply, and you can see your pre-qualified APR and credit limit before making your application decision.

Look Out For

Like other cards that are primarily aimed at consumers looking to build their credit, credit limits here are relatively low and APRs are relatively high. There’s also no rewards or cash back with this card.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

May 10, 2016
Continually increasing credit limit
neiberg21 Cardholder

I was appproved for this card a lttle over a year and a half ago with a low 600's credit score for a $500 limit. I have paid on time every month. It initially doubled after the 6th payment. I currently have a $2500 and my credit score is now just under 700. I love this card with the exception of the $4 mothly "maintainence" fee and the fairly high interst rate. The best thing to do is keep the balance low or pay off what you charge each month. Overall I am pleased with this card!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Sep 10, 2016
Avoid this one!
Anonymous Cardholder

Due to a variety of circumstances I had to file a Chap. 13 bankruptcy.  After paying back the full amount decided by the court but before it cleared my credit history I received an offer from Merrick.  It didn't have any annual fees, unlike most offers I was receiving, so I jumped right on it.  Yes the interest rates were high, but that was to be expected given my credit history and score at the time.  I didn't really have any issues until their fraud department called me one afternoon to tell me there was suspicious activity.  They rattled off a number of charges, to the tune of over $300, that were posted to my account in the last 3 days (all of which were in states not near me).  Cell phone payments to a company I don't use, restaurant bills for places about 900 miles away from me, video phone call services to prison inmates...just all sorts of random stuff.  At this point everything went south.  They told me I'd receive paperwork in the mail in 7-10 days to fill out to dispute the charges.  That time period went by and I received nothing.  I called their customer service who transfered me to the fraud department.  They'd never sent the paperwork.  No apologies, no excuses...just a "yeah, we never sent that out.  Maybe tomorrow."  In the meantime my account is maxed out, there are $300 of charges on the account I didn't make and they're in no hurry to do anything.  Again I wait.  On day 12 the paperwork arrives and only half of the fraudlent claims are listed.  Again I'm on the phone with the fraud department asking where the other $120 worth of fraudulent charges are and that they're not shown on their affidavit that I have to submit.  They blamed me saying I never claimed they were fraudulent (although they called me and I agreed to all charges they told me about) and told me to just pencil them in and mail the paperwork back.  I completed the paperwork and took it to the Post Office the same day I received it.  Since then 2 months have passed with no word on anything.  Customer service, if you can call it that, claims it can take up to 90 days (90 days!) to process claims b/c the MERCHANT has the final say.  If the merchant claims it is a real charge, I'm stuck paying it.  Bottom line, as the card holder, user and account holder...they don't care about my rights, my credit or me as their customer at all.  MERCHANTS have the final say.  In this time period of waiting on Merrick Bank to do something, ANYTHING to remedy the situation I had 2 fraudulent charges made to another account that I have.  Those charges were disputed, investigated and removed from my account within 48 hours...but somehow it takes Merrick 90 days?  Worst customer service I've ever dealth with.  Worst fraud/security department I've ever dealt with.  If this situation is ever remedied I will be paying off my account and closing it.  I'd rather take the credit score hit of closing the account than dealing with a company that doesn't have my best interest in mind.  I don't need their credit card to rebuild, there are plenty of other ways.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jun 15, 2017
A good starter credit card
P1lckl3 Cardholder

I have no problems with this credit card. They doubled my limit in the amount of time promised, but you have to fulfill the terms for the increase. Website and app are simple and they don't have a bunch of extras, just simple.

more ...
Jun 08, 2017
Unscrupulous Buisness Practice
Anonymous Cardholder

I just received a letter from merrick bank stating that my account is being closed due to inactivity and that my account will not be reopened. I have perfect credit and always paid my bill on time.

I will never do business with merrick bank or any of their affiliates again.

more ...
Jun 06, 2017
Easy to Get Hard to Make Changes
swarren2 Cardholder

The rate is locked in. With all the other cards I own the companies have been willing to lower interest rates over time. You will not be able to do that with the Merrick Bank card. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jun 11, 2017

Don't carry a balance and interest rates won't matter. Learn to use a credit card as a tool.

 
Jun 05, 2017
True to their word!EXCELLENT CARD
Doctor68 Cardholder

i WAS APPROVED FOR $600 INITIALLY, MADE MONTHLY PAYMENTS AND THEY DOUBLED MY CREDIT LIMIT TO $1200 AFTER6 MONTHS, NO ISSUES WITH THIS CARD. MY PROBLEM IS WITH CREDIT KARMA. SUDDENLY I WAS AT 660 CREDIT SCORE AND RISING. NOW WITHIN THE LAST MONTH I AM AT A 624 CREDIT SCORE. A DROP OF 36 POINTS BECAUSE MY CREDIT UTULIAZATION WENT FORM 20 PERCENT TO 27 PERCENT. REALLY? ITS BELOW 30% AND THEY STILL LOWERED MY SCORE, THEN THEY OFFER THESE HIGH INTEREST LOANS THINKING WE ARE MORONS. **** CREDIT KARMA. I HAVE PAID DOWN A LOT DEBT, THESE GUYS ARE SCAMMERS PREYING ON US. NO MATTER WHAT I DO I CANT GET TO A 700 CREDIT SCORE AND I HAVE PAID WON, COLLECTIONS, DEBT, AND KEEP MY CARD USE WITHIN RANGE. TRANS UNION AND EQUIFAX ARE TAKING EVERYONE FOR A RIDE. i AM DONE WITH THESE PEOPLE.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jun 11, 2017

Most people don't know this, but Credit Karma is an "educational" score and not a true credit score. Your FICO score may be higher or lower depending on several factors. The scores here are not the same scores lenders use. FICO 8 is a common score used by lenders. Don't take my word for it either, research for yourself.

 
Jun 05, 2017
Approved!
jalencar08876 Cardholder

Like most folkes, I too am trying to re-establish my credit ratings. I used to have beyond excellent credit score in the upper 750+ and then when i got laid off, everything fell to pieces. It's amazing how your life changes in a flash. Well I still have a few major credit cards that are maxed out and im paying down slowly, until i get my barings. Most are in collection only have 2 major credit cards. 

I got a mailed invitation a week ago and thought this card along with others would be just another scam, some pre-qualified non sense then you apply for it get denied and you credit score goes down even more. Well I was approved for $700 with a 7month payment commitment to get my limit doubled. So we will see how this work. But I am to be approved. I doubt I will be using the card too much, but i got it to increase my available credit which should help my debt to income ratio and at least give me something to work with. 

more ...
Jun 02, 2017
Mad at this Card
Anonymous Cardholder

Haven't even been a month. Charged 200 out of 700 and two weeks in it took 18 points off trans union and experian. WAS suppose to help build credit instead it's taken it from me.

more ...
Jun 02, 2017
Made at this Card
Anonymous Cardholder

Haven't even been a month. Charged 200 out of 700 and two weeks in it took 18 points off trans union and experian. WAS suppose to help build credit instead it's taken it from me.

more ...
May 28, 2017
disappointing
Anonymous Cardholder

I got this card to better my credit. Now I'm telling you don't do it. I did use the card, and I paid it off in full in September of 2016.Within the next 5 months I did not have a reason to use the card so the company decided to cancel out my account. How nice of them. And to beat all when I questioned why they did it. I couldn't get a straight answer imagine that. Well anyway I suggest you stay as far away from Merrick Bank as you can.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jun 05, 2017

Many credit card companies cancel cards due to inactivity.

https://www.creditkarma.com/article/keep-accounts-active

 
May 28, 2017
Excellent
Anonymous Cardholder

When I first applied for this card, I was in the process of rebuilding my impaired credit. Right off the bat they had approved me for a credit line of $800. The next step is you have you pay your balance off every month & then after 7 months they review your account & see how well you have managed it. After the 7 months they will double your credit line. 

more ...
May 23, 2017
Fraud
mhskelton Cardholder

I contacted this company the day fraudulent changes were placed onto my account.  I couldn't se them online, but i could see my credit limit was maxed out.  All of the charges were to Segpay (whatever that is).  This company does not do things like other companies.  Even though these charges are nothing remotely similar to any charge from your history, they still assume it's you.  Basically, you made the charges and theyre going to investigate to see if you, the customer, is being truthful.  Two weeks after I reported the charges, they were still on my account.  According to Zack, it could take upto 50 days to remove the charges if they find they are fraudulent.  In the meantime, your credit score is lowered.  Not to mention they make you feel like a criminal instead of a victim.  

Other than this, the company has been great.  However, this is a very big deal.  

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

?>

Merrick Bank Double Your Line™ Visa® Credit Card