Merrick Bank Double Your Line™ Visa® Credit Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.2 out of 5 stars
57 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

3 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR See Terms*
  • Annual Fee See Terms*
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR See Terms*
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jul 31, 2018
Not as bad as you'd think
OldYoungin Cardholder

I've had this card for a year and a half after getting sick and screwing up my credit, and its just fine. I was initially approved for $900 CL with low 500's. Merrick gave me my increase two payments early, and two more in the last six months, bringing me to $2400 and into the mid 600's. My score has gone up enough to replace two fee'd starter cards with an unsecured Capital One Platinum, as well as an Amex Gold that I use as a glorified FICO-reporting debit card. I don't know why there are so many negative reviews, because they TELL YOU when you're on the payment page HOW MANY DAYS your payment takes to post. Also, on the back of your paper statments statments/on your PDFs, it clearly says that if your payment due date is inconvenient, you can call and have it adjusted. A couple of other reviews here said that they were charged "monthly fees", but I just double-checked legit all my statements, and have only been charged my yearly fee...well, yearly. But here's a hot tip: if you want your payment to post the same day instead of waiting three to six, it's $4, soooo that sounds like that's what's going on for those people. The one time I called customer service, I only waited one whole minute for a nice midwestern lady to reset my login password and hand-hold me over the phone until I was logged back in. All-in-all,if you're a risky cardholder, the higher APR, zero perks and yearly fee *really* aren't that terrible to bump your score significantly and show that you can have big-kid cards (again). If you have even just *GOOD* over FAIR credit, this is not the card for you. Oh, and they just updated the app in Spring 2018: it doesn't looke like 1997 anymore, making it easier to pay and review your statments via smartphone.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Sep 04, 2018
Good for lowering utilization.
codyplanetmgr Cardholder

I keep this card in my sock drawer. It’s not a great card, but it’s decent if you have bad credit. I applied with scores in the mid 600’s after getting a preapproval notice in the mail. I liked that they doubled the score after 6 months. I put a few bucks on it a month to keep it active. I mainly have it to lower my overall utilization. That’s about all this card is good for. I’ve heard lots of horror stories about Merrick but haven’t had any issues with them. They’re owned by Credit One, from what I understand, and I also have a card with Credit One. That may be why I got the letter for this card. Both are known to be pretty awful lenders, but I haven’t had any issues yet. If they were to close my account without warning I’m not sure I’d be as angry as some of the other reviewers seem to be. Is this card worth having? Not really, but if you have fair credit it’s one of the better options out there for you. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Nov 30, 2018
Stay away from this company
Mbaldwin622 Cardholder

I had gotten this card when I was starting to rebuild my credit. Even though I never missed a payment they refused to double my credit line after repeated calls. They have absolutley horrible customer service and beware if you make your monthly payments by check because they will conveniently not run your payment until weeks later and try to charge you a late fee. This credit company is a Scam and will rip you off every single chance they get. Avoid this credit card or you'll reget it!

more ...
Dec 07, 2018

Truth is you paid by check , it took forever to get there , and you were late. THAT'S why they didn't double your credit line. Get out of the stone age.

 
Dec 08, 2018

I use online banking to pay my credit cards. Merrick is a pain and they want my bank to send a check but if you pay the bill within a few days of it being issued you won't have a problem. You can also pay by phone. You shouldn't wait until the last few days to send your payment in

 
Nov 29, 2018
Merrick for the win!
sdonnelly Cardholder

This card is worth the application. While working to repair my credit, they stuck to their word and more than doubled my line after 7 months of on time payments.

Things happen, but repair takes time. Merrick has given me hope and encouragement to keep working towards my goal, while other cards have refused an increase after two years of on time payments. . Customer service is also, next to none.

more ...
Nov 15, 2018
SENT ME FRAUDULENT CHECK
ThatCatLady Cardholder

I did the secured card and closed my account so I didnt have to pay the annual fee. They sent me a check for the difference. The front of the check said "there is a water mark on the back of the check, if not then this is a copy". I work at a call center for credit cards so i am very familar with proper procedures so  I gave them a call. They kept insisting that I try to cash it. I kept stating that there is no watermark and I am not cashing it because it states there should be a watermark. They called me today and stated that their checks do not have watermarks. I laughed. I advised them that the check they sent me is now in the possesion of a detective for check fraud and it has been verified that it is a fradulent check. I googled the routing number and drawee name and it says SCAM!!! I advised the supervisor of this as well. PLEASE DO NOT CASH THEIR CHECKS! THEY ARE FAKE, ONCE YOU CASH IT YOU WILL NOT GET YOUR MONEY AND MAY BE BLACKLISTED!!! The supervisor that I spoke with said my case has been escalated higher than him.

more ...
Oct 30, 2018
Crooks Crooks and more Crooks

They won't accept payments from certain Banks they will sit on your funds for up to two weeks and not explain why don't apply for this card if you have a balance get away from them as quickly as you can

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Dec 08, 2018

Then pay by phone .Problem solved

 
Oct 30, 2018
Crooks

They won't accept payments from debit card or certain banks...... when I mail them a check they drew it out of my account and then sat on the funds for 10 days and close my account and started making negative reports on my credit report..... very difficult company to work with for some reason they don't want people to pay off debts they would rather send you to collections because I think they are just a collections outfit not really a credit card company I would give them less than one star if I could

more ...
Sep 24, 2018
Love this card!!!
Happygal0891 Cardholder

I was approved for this card last year with a score around 600 and they gave me a $300 limit. 6 months later it doubled to $600 and this month it doubled again to $1,200. While I've had to use almost 90% of the card a few times, I try and keep it under 10% and pay it off completely every two weeks. 2 yeara ago my score was around 450 and now it's around 660 and I'm getting approved for everything I apply for...including my first American Express! Just keep your utilization low and pay on time or early and you should have no problems!

more ...
Sep 17, 2018
Card is great fulfilled on promotion
Ally888 Cardholder

I got the letter to double my credit line in 6 months and help build credit. I was approved for $700, got my card, spent some money, and then made each payment on time. 6 months later it automatically doubled my credit line to $1400. Thank you!

more ...
Sep 16, 2018
Great card
Richard405 Cardholder

I have had this card for 1 year.....no problems at all. Payments clear immediately and credit line increases come as described.

more ...
Sep 04, 2018
Good for lowering utilization.
codyplanetmgr Cardholder

I keep this card in my sock drawer. It’s not a great card, but it’s decent if you have bad credit. I applied with scores in the mid 600’s after getting a preapproval notice in the mail. I liked that they doubled the score after 6 months. I put a few bucks on it a month to keep it active. I mainly have it to lower my overall utilization. That’s about all this card is good for. I’ve heard lots of horror stories about Merrick but haven’t had any issues with them. They’re owned by Credit One, from what I understand, and I also have a card with Credit One. That may be why I got the letter for this card. Both are known to be pretty awful lenders, but I haven’t had any issues yet. If they were to close my account without warning I’m not sure I’d be as angry as some of the other reviewers seem to be. Is this card worth having? Not really, but if you have fair credit it’s one of the better options out there for you. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Sep 05, 2018

I also have merrick and credit one and you made me curious so I checked it out. There is no affiliation between the two. Just trying to keep the record straight.

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 

Merrick Bank Double Your Line™ Visa® Credit Card