Green Dot® Gold Prepaid Visa Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

1.1 out of 5 stars
13 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

1.5 out of 5 stars

1 5
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jan 24, 2019
Worst system ever what a complete rip of
Flodnshahs Cardholder

Be prepared to pay for everything just to use your own money

more ...
Dec 19, 2018
Don't Buy Green Dot Visa Debit Cards
slarocco1 Cardholder

I have 4 visa debit cards with $500 on each card. I can not withdraw the cash from my ATM. It keeps saying that it's the wrong pin #. I know it's the right pin #. When I activated the cards a window pops up saying the information is not correct, when I double, triple checked the number, expiration date, and the 3 # on the back of the card, still does not sync. I have tried to change the pin # but yet again it says the wrong pin. It shows the balance on the cards $500 each card. However, you can't get the money out. What good is it if you can't get the money from these cards. I don't want to use it to pay bills or anything else. I want the cash. Even when you go on to their website, you can't register more than one card at a time. So, next, I'll try using one card and see if that works at the ATM and then come back and register another, so on and so forth. What a waste of time and energy this has caused me not to say the stress this has been just trying to cash these cards. Total WASTE, would not get these cards for anyone and don't buy them. I was going to use these for Christmas gifts, but if I can't get the money from them I might have to have a few people disappointed. When I try calling the support number, no one there knows what to do. They keep saying the same thing over and over. "Oh, not sure, it should work at the ATM".....YES, I know it should but it's not. Ask them to check the card to make sure all the numbers and balance are correct. they say "Sorry, we have not the way of checking, just go to your bank and to the ATM, you should be able to get money from ATM" JOKE, JOKE!! I definitely would not purchase these cards as a gift for someone, imagine giving a person a gift card and they not being able to use it. Ridiculous!!!

more ...
Nov 21, 2018
Not as advertised direct deposit
brooklyn450 Cardholder

Nonsense card I deposit over $1000 a month and still get charged a fee. Direct deposit does not go in early, can't use the card to fuel up at the pump

more ...
Jul 13, 2018
Not worth the time and effort
donnie360 Cardholder

After a few initial problems with their online verification system, the card largely performs as expected. However, upon making my first purchase and subsequent payment, I find out my card was blocked when I next go to use the card again. After calling, I was later told that I needed to verify that the payment source I used to pay my balace was an accounty actually owned by me (which it indeed was). But, THEY NEVER CALLED ME, EMAILED ME, or attempted to contact me by mail egarding this requirement. Plus, THEY PROCESSED THE PAYMENT! if they were so concerned about verifying the owner of the account, why did they accept the funds? It seems like this is a company that does not have its act together. I just cancelled my card. 

more ...
Jun 29, 2018
terrible
Anonymous Cardholder

I recieved my direct deposit on 6/28/2018 on 6/29/2018 they closed my account for a reason no one could provide me. I was then put on hold for an hour to speak with a "supervisor" the lady was far from a supervisor they said i would recieve a check in 10 business days i asked if they could do a wire transfer western union anything at all fedex one day shipping but the lady said thats the only option we have. Like what do you mean you cant walk to fedex and drop something off? for something to take 10 days they would have to ship it out 5 days from now. I have kids i need to feed gas for my car to go to work my rent is now going to be late. i will have to pay a 100 late fee why you may ask because they closed my account for no reason and they cant re "open" it they are clueless dumb have no common sense to anything and have no true desire to help you they will only read off their manual script so sorry sir for the long wait but we cant help you nor do i acutally care to she then said i could wait up to one buisness day to speak with a manager ummmi waited an hour to speak with one which was suppose to be you if you want stress terrible customer service then join greendot any bank i mean any bank is better than this at netspend isnt awful but they at least sometimes go outside the box for customers not these guys miles while pay walmart 99 cents to cash your check then 99 cents to pay bills via western union your already paying them 10 dollars a month just to have the accoun then 4.95 for every reload

more ...
Jun 23, 2018
If I could I would give them ZERO stars!
Anonymous Cardholder

I had been hung on several times, no one would help me with the issue I had and the employees had lied to me about having international use telling me there's a 3 percent fee when I do international usage then telling me they don't have international usage, also they are very rude especially Supervisor, I had to constantly ask repeatedly to talk to supervisor to employee she had kept telling me no and trying to not let me talk to supervisor, there not professional at all and worst place to do business...

more ...
Jun 04, 2018
WORSE CUSTOMERS SERVICE
Cozmofel Cardholder

AVOID THIS CARD AT ALL COST. FEE'S FOR EVERYTHING. HORRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE. 60 TO 90 MINUTES HOLD TIME IF YOU CALL.

THEY CHARGE YOU MONTHLY, CHARGE YOU TO ADD MONEY, THE PLACE YOU ADD MONEY CHARGES YOU. THEIR APP IS USELESS IF YOU ARE TRYING TO GET A REFUND ON A PAYMENT SENT IN ERROR.

THEY DO NOT CARE ABOUT YOU.

more ...
May 17, 2018
They stole a large sum of money from me.
Anonymous Cardholder

I logged on, loaded it, used it once, and the very next day, my account was locked and my card declined. My info never seemed to match up, weird considering part of the info they want is your social. Definitely leaves me worried. Tried to call the number, and even many others. Nobody ever picks up. It's always an automated robot that tells you to enter certain digits. The number for the debit cards is literally a fasle line.

more ...
May 17, 2018
SCAM
MarioMiriam Cardholder

Doesn't work outside the States I traveled to Mexico and got declined from diferent retail stores. Not worth the shame.

more ...
Apr 16, 2018
TERRIBLE
Anonymous Cardholder

able to log on ONE time, after this NO MORE.  Ask for a code sent to cell phone or email, never get the code.  get locked out of online account. So, just great,,, the absolute worst card anyone could ever get. 

if it could get no stars, that is what i would give.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations
 

Green Dot® Gold Prepaid Visa Card