Green Dot® Gold Prepaid Visa Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

1.0 out of 5 stars
18 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

1.5 out of 5 stars

1 5
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jun 05, 2017
High fees, poor customer support
Anonymous Cardholder

I would not recommend this card to anyone.

more ...
May 26, 2017
False Advertisement(Claims to be gift)
Anonymous Cardholder

If you get this card go to their website fill out all the information. Then close your account right away.  I spoke with a rep let them know i wanted the account completely closed and they said they would mail me the remaining balance via a check.  I have a video recording of the whole process if anyone wants to see it.  You will lose money, an elderly parent bought a $50.00 gift card for us and I registered it and was shocked when I read their terms and conditions. I expect to see no money out of this gift card this company just kinda ripped of an older person who wanted to get a nice gift.  Monthy fees are about $10.00 applied before you can use the card. Each use is about $3.00 so had I wanted to use the card it would have actually been $37.00 which is insane. People who buy gift cards are not looking for a checking account this was kinda funny when I went through the process. 

more ...
May 16, 2017
Very terrible service
Anonymous Cardholder

I've had two cards with green dot but some how all my money on both cards disappear. I tried to get someone on the phone but it was just a pathetic recording! When it comes to your money you should be able to talk to a human being. I'm very disappointed in the service I've had with green dot and I hope no one else uses it because it is waste! What a pathetic company 

more ...
Apr 25, 2017
horrible
Anonymous Cardholder

stole 9.95 from me. I loaded the money and the card drafted the fee plus i had to pay 1.95 for it. complete rip off. do not buy the gree dot card period.

more ...
Apr 04, 2017
RIP OFF
Anonymous Cardholder

Loaded $20 , got charged $7.89 for a monthly fee 1 day after having it. Card balance was at $11 in 1 day and I didnt even get to use it. They literally just sold me the card for $2 then took another $8 the next day. Worst card ever. Go with amex green or blue, free direct deposits,

more ...
Mar 25, 2017
one giant rip-off
Anonymous Cardholder

i disputed three charges on my card and they closed my card because the dispute was rejected. i used the card for gas spending its a total rip-off i had to call and threating with leagal action in order for them to release my funds. not worth the headache. STAY AWAY FROM THIS ****TY COMPANY. They will rip you off stick to cash if u have to. 

more ...
Feb 10, 2017
Fraud- stole from me $500
Anonymous Cardholder

Don't buy this card; you can never claim your money back if they tell you that there are no funds on the card and you know that you put 500 on there

more ...
Jan 05, 2017
CHEATING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Anonymous Cardholder

I've bought the card in Wallmart. 

The card package says - "Use everywhere Visa debit is accepted". I bought it to use abroad. And put 50 dollars on it.

So, after you open package you realize that the card CAN NOT BE USED outside US!!!! I spent 50$ on the card +80$ for international shipping and not the card is USELESS. 

Customer service are idiots. They keep saying the card can't be used, it's default restriction. They could help me and disable fraud protection. More oever, when I talked about refund, they said they can do this, but there will be 15$ fee for it!!!!

NEVER NEVER USE the Green Dot. NEVER.

I will check how to sue them. It's great case for the sue.

more ...
Dec 23, 2016
Horrible impulse item near registers
Anonymous Cardholder

Oh what a ripoff.  I fault Walmart for even offering it.  They charge even for inquiries.  Legal scam!!!

more ...
Dec 12, 2016
Piece of crap
Anonymous Cardholder

Worst customer service. Left my son stranded because it would not reload. Issue still not resolved. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations
?>

Green Dot® Gold Prepaid Visa Card