Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Green Dot® Gold Prepaid Visa Card

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

1.3 out of 5 stars
22 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

1.5 out of 5 stars

1.5 5
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Dec 06, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

I've used a greendot card for the past 2 years.  Someone in Brooklyn NY cloned my card and drained all my money out of it at a Walgreens.  They must have bought Visa Cards.  I called greendot when I realized there was a problem.  They told me that it would take up to 10 days to investigate.  And once they do, they may not reimburse me!  I have to pay rent, so I was none too happy.  So I called Walgreens to see if they could reimburse me.  They told me I would have to call my police department because it's a criminal matter.  The police haven't called me back.  Greendot refuses to speed up the process.  And Walgreens says that it's not their responsiblity to investiage or to reimburse.  I'm so frustrated.  Don't banks have insurance to protect their customers when theft is involved?  Greendot and Walgreens have millions and probably billions of dollars.  I have 16 dollars.  It just doesn't seem fair that I just have to suck it up while these companies are rolling in the dough and have insurance to cover losses. 

Can somebody please help me?

more ...
Nov 29, 2016
Do not buy one as a gift!!
Anonymous Cardholder

I received this as a gift card from a friend but to use it you have to register it and to do that, you have to register with green dot as a bank and open an account!!!  Could never get any help from customer service both via phone or on line website. I ended up throwing the card away and I guess these scammers get to keep the $$.  Please just buy a regular gift card NOT GREEN DOT!!!

more ...
Nov 28, 2016
Scam
Anonymous Cardholder

Do not buy.

more ...
Oct 30, 2016
Piece of crap! Beware
Anonymous Cardholder

For one I first put in $20 for my 11 year old so she can purchase something online,. Not knowing that as long as we have this card they will charge u a monthly fee of 9.95 plus 4.95 to reload! Really !! I would never ever do business with this ppl , it's a freakin joke. Rule #1 just get a freakin gift card use it or loose it done deal . No monthly charge no nothing.  I just kiss daughters $20 good bye! 

more ...
Aug 14, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

This company is a scam has held my money for over a week won't let me reload my card and keeps coming up with more excuses and lying about the card They sent me I requested 3 cards and they said I've only requested one they are full of s*** beware of these people and the customer service is garbage don't expect to get any help from these people if that's what you want to call them be very afraid of these people and your money I swear that on everything I love

more ...
Aug 03, 2016
Avoid this company!
mico11 Cardholder

I had a merchant place a large charge on my card in error. The merchant sent a email & fax to Green Dot explaining the error. However, Green Dot placed the charge as "pending" taking away from available funds and refuse to remove the hold. To make matter worst, I spoke with a representative over the phone. She told me there was nothing they can do, "it the charge was from a rental car company they could remove the "pending" transaction" Now this is crazy, because you can not use Green Dot at rental car companies. I asked the rep to transfer me to a manager or someone in a higher position, at which time the rep hung-up the phone in my face. Note, I never spoke or used any profanity to the rep, nor did I speak badly toward the rep. No one should ever experience customer service in this manner. I am simple trying to use "My Money" to pay bills and eat. I can not wait 10-days to eat. Avoid this company!

more ...
Jul 12, 2016
Horrible
Anonymous Cardholder

I got this card in November and right now it's June and I didn't even know my security number but now the card doesn't even work!?! And I was only goning to spend like $2 on something.Pure watse of my money and time!!! ๐Ÿ˜ก๐Ÿ˜ก๐Ÿ˜ก๐Ÿ˜ก๐Ÿ˜ก๐Ÿ˜ก๐Ÿ˜ก๐Ÿ˜ก๐Ÿ˜ก๐Ÿ˜ก๐Ÿ˜ก๐Ÿ˜ก๐Ÿ˜ก๐Ÿ˜ก๐Ÿ˜ก๐Ÿ˜ก๐Ÿ˜ก๐Ÿ˜ก๐Ÿ˜ก๐Ÿ˜ก๐Ÿ˜ก๐Ÿ˜ก๐Ÿ˜ก๐Ÿ˜ก๐Ÿ˜ก๐Ÿ˜ก๐Ÿ˜ก๐Ÿ˜ก๐Ÿ˜ก๐Ÿ˜ก๐Ÿ˜“

more ...
Jul 10, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

HORRIBLE I WOULD ADVISE ANYONE DO NOT GET A GREEN DOT CARD . Customer service sucks , all they do is take money out of your card for unknown fees ! SCAM BE AWARE 

more ...
May 06, 2016
Rip-off targeting poor and elderly
StripperCanoes Cardholder

My mom-in-law received a $100 GreenDot Visa card as a gift. Her son tried repeatedly to activate the card and according to the activation process, were never successful.

A few months passed, and she brought the card to me to activate. Turns out the card was active and her $100 card had an available balance of $40. 

I checked the transaction history and found that GreenDot was charging her $7.95 per month for having the card!

This is an incredible rip-off targeting the poor and elderly, who can't afford to have money stolen and have no recouse when a company like GreenDot does exactly that.

more ...
May 05, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

My card got HACKED. I filed 2 police reports.I have to do their job for their incompetent ***. Contacted the store manager myself. Police provided the thieves on surveillance cameras. And these sick *** holes in the dispute department denied my case twice. $815.85 gone. So they think...I've now got an attorney on it.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. Youโ€™ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Green Dot® Gold Prepaid Visa Card