Green Dot® Gold Prepaid Visa Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

1.2 out of 5 stars
22 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

1.5 out of 5 stars

1 5
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Oct 15, 2017
Nightmare!
GMG123 Cardholder

They will rip you off every chance they get and their "customer service" is truly awful. The only verification question is your ssn and you must do it over and over with a stranger in the Philippines to get anything accomplished...that is if you can get through at all.

more ...
Oct 13, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

bought card added money at requster. was going to gift it but instead went to use the money loaded on the card. but could not use without calling or online reg and giving all my personal info. called to get a refund only to get run around. put on hold for long time. again when i did not want to give a ss number I was transfered to the start of the call as if . Stay away from green dot is my opinion. 

more ...
Oct 13, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

bought card added money at requster. but could not use with calling or online reg and giving all my personal info. call ed to get refund only to get run around. put on hold for long time. again when i did not want to give a ss number I was transfered to the start of the call. Stay away from green dot is my opinion

more ...
Sep 15, 2017
Total scam, useless support!
Anonymous Cardholder

I unfortunately was stupid enough to buy this card. Purchase fee, activation fee, only to be told it cannot be used over the phone or online. Only in person, you know like that thing called cash. Support is unhelpful and unprofessional. They refuse to let you speak with a manager or supervisor and claim that there is only 1 them the person your talking to. Total crap. Its a scam. My vanilla, or a serve card is the way to go. Skip green dot, and skip the headache and money. JUST USE CASH! 

more ...
Sep 10, 2017
WORST CARD EVER
MYLIKAR Cardholder

THEY NEED TO BE SHUT DOWN. CUSTOMER SERVICE SUCKS! TRIED TO DISPUTE A 109$ PURCHASE AND ALL THEY KEEP SAYING IS THEY ARE INVESTIGATING. REDBOX ALREADY AUTHORIZED THE DISPUTE BUT ARE JUST WAITING FOR CONTACT FROM THE BANK IT HAS BEEN A LITTLE SHY OF A MONTH! WHAT ARE YOU INVESTIGATING? CUSTOMER SERVICE IS ABSOLUTELY TRASH. YOU COULD HAVE ADDED 1000 DOLLARS IN A MONTH BUT IT IT DONT FALL WITHIN WHAT TIME FRAME THEY NEEDED THE MONEY THEY WILL CHARGE YOUR CARD. CURRENTLY WAITING FOR MY DISPUTE TO FINISH AND I WILL BE WITH DRAWING ALL MY **** MONEY AND WILL NEVER DO THIS AGAIN.. LESSON LEARN. TERRIBLE COMPANY

more ...
Sep 08, 2017
Well first the 9.95$ monthly charge !!!
Pbreg Cardholder

It has been terrible dealing with customer service, I've had it for about 5 months for direct deposits of my payroll, well first it charges 2.50 for any atm not theirs or whatever that means I used THEIR MAP an got charged atm fee an fee from them so that's 5$ every atm transaction plus your 10$ fee cause 5cents makes no difference then apparently you do not refund for transactions I did not make ! It cost about 20$ a month just have the POS then you can't do much with it cause places don't like direct deposits on prepaid cards and the app is not information and sucks

more ...
Aug 16, 2017
NO human contact to resolve issues
Anonymous Cardholder

I have two cards, one I have been using for a long time, and a brand new one I have not yet used.  The new one was locked due to 'unusual activity'.  And now, while trying to resolve that issue, the one I have used for a long time has now been locked as well.  The transaction history shows nothing different yet their 'cut-and-paste' email response just repeats that the cards can no longer be used, nor will Green Dot do business with me.

The card is convenient, but the company itself is horribly structured and operated.  Need to find a better company that does not run it's financial tools on an algorithm like Amazon.

more ...
Jun 24, 2017
Best way to boost score
Marcocard Cardholder

GreenDot secured card boost my score 55 points in less than 30 days.
I ordered two weeks ago and it has already reported to Experian and Equifax.
Nothing bad about this card just the $4.95 I have to pay t CVS or Walmart to pay my bill

more ...
Jun 05, 2017
High fees, poor customer support
Anonymous Cardholder

I would not recommend this card to anyone.

more ...
May 26, 2017
False Advertisement(Claims to be gift)
Anonymous Cardholder

If you get this card go to their website fill out all the information. Then close your account right away.  I spoke with a rep let them know i wanted the account completely closed and they said they would mail me the remaining balance via a check.  I have a video recording of the whole process if anyone wants to see it.  You will lose money, an elderly parent bought a $50.00 gift card for us and I registered it and was shocked when I read their terms and conditions. I expect to see no money out of this gift card this company just kinda ripped of an older person who wanted to get a nice gift.  Monthy fees are about $10.00 applied before you can use the card. Each use is about $3.00 so had I wanted to use the card it would have actually been $37.00 which is insane. People who buy gift cards are not looking for a checking account this was kinda funny when I went through the process. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Green Dot® Gold Prepaid Visa Card