Green Dot® Gold Prepaid Visa Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

1.2 out of 5 stars
22 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

1.5 out of 5 stars

1 5
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Dec 08, 2017
Bery bad service
Anonymous Cardholder

Applied fees to take your money

more ...
Dec 08, 2017
Debit prepaid card
Anonymous Cardholder

There is fee $7.5 on the card it would make your balance $-***

more ...
Dec 07, 2017
Waste of money
Anonymous Cardholder

Won't allow me to reload my card like I use to, now I'm out $30 and spent 5 to get it. When I left that was the best choice I had made with them. DO NOT WASTE MONEY ON THEM!! You can't even get cash back with them. Just the worst kind of scame ever.

more ...
Nov 09, 2017
LIKE A FRAUD CARD
Anonymous Cardholder

THEIR SYSTEM IS VBERY POOR. AND CUSTOMER SERVICE DOENST WANT TO BELIVE YOU. I WANT TO CLOSE MY CARD BUT THEY COULDNT DO ANYTHING. UNTIL I GOT ANOTHER DUE DATE THAT I NEED TO PAY FOR LATE PAYMENT.. IT SUCKS.. DONT USE THIS CARD PEOPLE.

more ...
Nov 09, 2017
Very bad experience
Anonymous Cardholder

Platinum green dot credit card is not for people who has no credit history yet..It almost ruin my credit history. very bad. I had to load money on it then I use it but suddenly they block my account and I couldn’t see my statement online. and when I call the customer service they say they can’t do anything until I need to pay the overlimit payment. and I send them checks and i pay for it and i told them close my account. The customer service said they will close my account once I paid the overlimit payment. But they didnt close it and then suddenly i need to call them back because i receive a text message on my phone telling me that i need to call the customer service regarding my account. The man said i exceeded the use of my credit card of 5 dollar. And he said before i close my account i need to pay 50 dollar on out. Because that is the line on my due date. And i ask him why do i need to pay for the amount i didn’t know who use it. Because im not using my card for almost a month.. This card is just stealing money on their customer.. Very poor banking system and technology.. I am not recommending this to use by other people.. This card is like a scam and fraud.. Prepaid card is better than this secured credit card..

more ...
Oct 15, 2017
Nightmare!
GMG123 Cardholder

They will rip you off every chance they get and their "customer service" is truly awful. The only verification question is your ssn and you must do it over and over with a stranger in the Philippines to get anything accomplished...that is if you can get through at all.

more ...
Oct 13, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

bought card added money at requster. was going to gift it but instead went to use the money loaded on the card. but could not use without calling or online reg and giving all my personal info. called to get a refund only to get run around. put on hold for long time. again when i did not want to give a ss number I was transfered to the start of the call as if . Stay away from green dot is my opinion. 

more ...
Oct 13, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

bought card added money at requster. but could not use with calling or online reg and giving all my personal info. call ed to get refund only to get run around. put on hold for long time. again when i did not want to give a ss number I was transfered to the start of the call. Stay away from green dot is my opinion

more ...
Sep 15, 2017
Total scam, useless support!
Anonymous Cardholder

I unfortunately was stupid enough to buy this card. Purchase fee, activation fee, only to be told it cannot be used over the phone or online. Only in person, you know like that thing called cash. Support is unhelpful and unprofessional. They refuse to let you speak with a manager or supervisor and claim that there is only 1 them the person your talking to. Total crap. Its a scam. My vanilla, or a serve card is the way to go. Skip green dot, and skip the headache and money. JUST USE CASH! 

more ...
Sep 10, 2017
WORST CARD EVER
MYLIKAR Cardholder

THEY NEED TO BE SHUT DOWN. CUSTOMER SERVICE SUCKS! TRIED TO DISPUTE A 109$ PURCHASE AND ALL THEY KEEP SAYING IS THEY ARE INVESTIGATING. REDBOX ALREADY AUTHORIZED THE DISPUTE BUT ARE JUST WAITING FOR CONTACT FROM THE BANK IT HAS BEEN A LITTLE SHY OF A MONTH! WHAT ARE YOU INVESTIGATING? CUSTOMER SERVICE IS ABSOLUTELY TRASH. YOU COULD HAVE ADDED 1000 DOLLARS IN A MONTH BUT IT IT DONT FALL WITHIN WHAT TIME FRAME THEY NEEDED THE MONEY THEY WILL CHARGE YOUR CARD. CURRENTLY WAITING FOR MY DISPUTE TO FINISH AND I WILL BE WITH DRAWING ALL MY **** MONEY AND WILL NEVER DO THIS AGAIN.. LESSON LEARN. TERRIBLE COMPANY

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Green Dot® Gold Prepaid Visa Card