Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Green Dot® Gold Prepaid Visa Card

Approval Odds
Application Process
Customer Service
1.6 5
Write a Review

About Credit Karma

Thinking about applying? Credit Karma can estimate your Approval Odds based on your credit profile. Get your information for free and get started.
  • Credit Scores
  • Credit Reports
  • Personalized Offers

Most Helpful Positive Review

Feb 05, 2015

Convenient & Awesome!

I have been using Greendot for years and I love the simplicity of it. I started using it because I got tired of all the fees my bank was charging me for the smallest things...down to a $2 service fee just to talk to a teller. I have my paycheck and tax refunds direct deposited to my account and have never had a problem. The $5.95 fee has bee waived for so long I don't remember when I last paid it. I've looked into other pre paid cards and the fees are just crazy. I can't see leaving Greendot unless something goes really wrong.

Read More

gakirk1971's review was:    

 

Most Helpful Critical Review

Jan 15, 2014

BEWARE!! EXTREME RIP OFF
Helpful to 2 out of 2 people

My company put $250 on a Green Dot prepaid visa so an employee would have a card for travel expenses. We were never able to get the card to work and 2 years later still trying to get our money back. Green Dot charges $5.95 month in management fees so they are slowly eating away the cash on the card. When we call the 866-795-7597 number we get at least 3 "customer service reps" (and I use the term very loosley) who bounce us around on hold with no resolution. This company is a complete fraud!!! 

Read More

orsunbear's review was:    

 

Reviews (67)

2 Contributions
2 People Helped

Most Helpful Review

BEWARE!! EXTREME RIP OFF

Helpful to 2 out of 2 people

My company put $250 on a Green Dot prepaid visa so an employee would have a card for travel expenses. We were never able to get the card to work and 2 years later still trying to get our money back. Green Dot charges $5.95 month in management fees so they are slowly eating away the cash on the card. When we call the 866-795-7597 number we get at least 3 "customer service reps" (and I use the term very loosley) who bounce us around on hold with no resolution. This company is a complete fraud!!! 

Mar 05, 2015

Be very carefull with the gift cards.

Green dot ,post office,walmart. From this point I will never use greendot,postoffice,walmart for gift cards handling.NEVER again . There are other ways to send money. Western union pehaps.

Read More
  Write A Reply |

Feb 20, 2015

the worst Ihave ever seen

after an hour on the phone the person on the other end of the phone refunded some of my money but not untill they took 30 dollors service fees . STAY AWAY HORRIBLE 

Read More
  Write A Reply |

Feb 05, 2015

Convenient & Awesome!

I have been using Greendot for years and I love the simplicity of it. I started using it because I got tired of all the fees my bank was charging me for the smallest things...down to a $2 service fee just to talk to a teller. I have my paycheck and tax refunds direct deposited to my account and have never had a problem. The $5.95 fee has bee waived for so long I don't remember when I last paid it. I've looked into other pre paid cards and the fees are just crazy. I can't see leaving Greendot unless something goes really wrong.

Read More

gakirk1971's review was:    

 
Write A Reply |

Feb 04, 2015

waste of money.

I recently found my custom card of my green dot visa. When I activated it, it told me I was in overdraft. I have NEVER used this specific card. The one I had before hasn't been used in long over a year and they were still charging me the monthly fee! On an INACTIVE card! Waste of time and money. I will never go through green dot again for anything. For anyone looking for a prepaid credit/debit card, go for american express's bluebird card. NO monthly fees, NO minimum reload, and NO RELOAD FEES. This is a no crap card and company. They always resolve any issuse the best and as fast as they can. Much better than a bank, and especially stupid green dot.

Read More
  Write A Reply |

Jan 30, 2015

The worse

Do not load your tax refund to this card!!!! Period unless you want your money took!!! Do not do not do not!!! I hate green dot, first they took my payroll check then my tax refund! 

Read More
  Write A Reply |

Jan 06, 2015

Absolutely awful

A few weeks ago I purchased a RELOADABLE GreenDot Prepaid Visa Card. After I spent the money on it, I went to put more on. We tried four times to put the money on and nothing happened. I wound up having to purchase a different Visa Card. I will never use GreenDot again.

Read More
  Write A Reply |

Dec 21, 2014

Was all good... and then

Had two of these cards for a year or so, then needed to drain them both to make a house payment.

What little was left on the card was locked out due to "suspicious activity", so I called and the woman on the other end read off the flow chart, confirmed I could not re-up and unlocked the twenty bucks or so, allowing me to get the remainder out of a cash machine.

Apparently the act of paying a mortgage was so traumatic for them that I had to be banished, and banished I was.

I've since cleaned up my finances, so there's no need for this low rent card in my life anymore.

Might be a good fit for someone with no other options and who will only make small purchases.

Read More
  Write A Reply |

Dec 17, 2014

"Ghost charges" = can't spend my cash

Card worked OK for almost a year, using it lightly.  

But then I used it on a business trip.  I loaded it up and bought plane tickets and reserved a rental car.  Before i left home, a mysterious pending charge for $160 showed up and took a week to disappear.  I was able to spend around that, but it was an annoyance that Green Dot people couldn't explain.  I added money for other things, including changing my return trip, and that went fine.   

Then I needed to extend my rental car.  I added money to the card, waited 10-15 minutes, then looked up my balance.  The funds I just added did show up on the Green Dot app on my phone, so I had about $375 on the card.  I called the rental place to extend (cost around $160).  They said my card was declined due to insufficient funds.  However, a charge of over $280 went through Green Dot and the payment was authorized.  That was way more than the amount needed to extend the car.  So no car but I was charged for the car...and then some.

Calling Green Dot means talking to people who do not seem to handle more than bisic situations.  Dozens of apologies, but nothing more than stating procedures...if they remember them.  It was about the 4th call that it was suggested that I get a release statement from the rental place so they can take care of it right away..  I had them fax it over to Green Dot, then followed up.  The customer service agent found the fax, but then said it would be 1-2 business days.  I made the agent transfer me to her supervisor.  The supervisor could not find the fax.  I made the supervisor search again...maybe the agent had the fax.  The supervisor could not deternine which agent  transferred me to the supervisor. The supervisor finally (after more prodding from me) found it and with more apologies, told me 1-2 business days (to press a button and put MY funds back on MY card) .  Apparently, they were only going to paper clip the fax to some notes and place it in someone else's in box right away.  I talked to 4 different (literally) GD people; its abvious that they are not on the same page.  

Over $280 on my card is inaccessible for two days, so I had to use another $45 of the accessible $90 left on the card to pay for the car until the $280 is made accessible again.  I should have have the car paid for and a bit over $200 available to me.  

I think I am not going to deal with Green Dot in the future if I have the choice.  Up to this trip, I may have given Green Dot 4 stars (their app crashes on my Android phone, the suspicious looks I get when I try to buy 2 moneypacks at a time to recharge the card), but this adventure strips them of two more stars.  Also, the rental company told me they don't usually accept these pre-paid cards because they have had this problem before.

Read More
  Write A Reply |

Nov 24, 2014

never got to spend my money!!

do not use this card!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! its a scam!!!!

Read More
  Write A Reply |

Nov 22, 2014

Green dot is a scam

I got a Green Dot card yesterday because I needed to pay some bills ASAP. After i made an account&activated the card They told me that they could not verify the information that I had given them so I would not be able to get a permanent card&I could just use the funds that I had already on there, so I paid my for my car renewal&my life insurance policies. I got a email this morning saying that they blocked my card for supicious activity...mind you I only made two tranactions online. So I called them like the email said&I never got to speak to anyone just a recording saying that my card is blocked&that I would not be able to reload or buy any more green dot cards in the future.I just logged on&my insurance company has not taken the money yet so I do not know if green dot blocked the card before they were able to take it &they are closed until Monday. I can not believe this but after all the hassle I wouldn't but another green dot card anyway. All I wanted to do was pay my bills. 

Read More

SoRite87's review was:    

 
Write A Reply |

Top Similar Cards

Search All Cards

Add Your Review Of Green Dot® Gold Prepaid Visa Card

Rate this product

Rate your application experience (Optional)

Application Process

Customer Service

What is your experience with this product?

I Have It

I Used To Have It

I Applied For It

Write your review:

Profile Image
Anonymous

Company Overview

Columbus Bank and Trust Company, also known as CB&T, issues credit and check cards that range basic to rewards. Credit card products include Purchase Perks Visa Platinum, Cash Rewards Visa Platinum, Business Visa Business Platinum, and Visa Platinum credit card. Two levels of rewards card programs are available, the Purchase Perks or Purchase Perks Premier, depending on a choice of available travel, shopping, and dining rewards. A notable, consumer-friendly feature of CB&T is the Credit Partner program that helps customers going through difficult times, such as disability or job loss, make minimum monthly payments.

Columbus Bank and Trust Company offers banking services from checking to savings to loans and more. CB&T operates under the holding company Synovus, based in Columbus, Georgia. Columbus Bank and Trust Company has branch locations and ATMs in Georgia.

Approval Odds

Green Dot® Gold Prepaid Visa Card