Green Dot® Gold Prepaid Visa Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

1.1 out of 5 stars
15 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

1.5 out of 5 stars

1 5
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Nov 21, 2018
Not as advertised direct deposit
brooklyn450 Cardholder

Nonsense card I deposit over $1000 a month and still get charged a fee. Direct deposit does not go in early, can't use the card to fuel up at the pump

more ...
Jul 13, 2018
Not worth the time and effort
donnie360 Cardholder

After a few initial problems with their online verification system, the card largely performs as expected. However, upon making my first purchase and subsequent payment, I find out my card was blocked when I next go to use the card again. After calling, I was later told that I needed to verify that the payment source I used to pay my balace was an accounty actually owned by me (which it indeed was). But, THEY NEVER CALLED ME, EMAILED ME, or attempted to contact me by mail egarding this requirement. Plus, THEY PROCESSED THE PAYMENT! if they were so concerned about verifying the owner of the account, why did they accept the funds? It seems like this is a company that does not have its act together. I just cancelled my card. 

more ...
Jun 29, 2018
terrible
Anonymous Cardholder

I recieved my direct deposit on 6/28/2018 on 6/29/2018 they closed my account for a reason no one could provide me. I was then put on hold for an hour to speak with a "supervisor" the lady was far from a supervisor they said i would recieve a check in 10 business days i asked if they could do a wire transfer western union anything at all fedex one day shipping but the lady said thats the only option we have. Like what do you mean you cant walk to fedex and drop something off? for something to take 10 days they would have to ship it out 5 days from now. I have kids i need to feed gas for my car to go to work my rent is now going to be late. i will have to pay a 100 late fee why you may ask because they closed my account for no reason and they cant re "open" it they are clueless dumb have no common sense to anything and have no true desire to help you they will only read off their manual script so sorry sir for the long wait but we cant help you nor do i acutally care to she then said i could wait up to one buisness day to speak with a manager ummmi waited an hour to speak with one which was suppose to be you if you want stress terrible customer service then join greendot any bank i mean any bank is better than this at netspend isnt awful but they at least sometimes go outside the box for customers not these guys miles while pay walmart 99 cents to cash your check then 99 cents to pay bills via western union your already paying them 10 dollars a month just to have the accoun then 4.95 for every reload

more ...
Jun 23, 2018
If I could I would give them ZERO stars!
Anonymous Cardholder

I had been hung on several times, no one would help me with the issue I had and the employees had lied to me about having international use telling me there's a 3 percent fee when I do international usage then telling me they don't have international usage, also they are very rude especially Supervisor, I had to constantly ask repeatedly to talk to supervisor to employee she had kept telling me no and trying to not let me talk to supervisor, there not professional at all and worst place to do business...

more ...
Jun 04, 2018
WORSE CUSTOMERS SERVICE
Cozmofel Cardholder

AVOID THIS CARD AT ALL COST. FEE'S FOR EVERYTHING. HORRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE. 60 TO 90 MINUTES HOLD TIME IF YOU CALL.

THEY CHARGE YOU MONTHLY, CHARGE YOU TO ADD MONEY, THE PLACE YOU ADD MONEY CHARGES YOU. THEIR APP IS USELESS IF YOU ARE TRYING TO GET A REFUND ON A PAYMENT SENT IN ERROR.

THEY DO NOT CARE ABOUT YOU.

more ...
May 17, 2018
They stole a large sum of money from me.
Anonymous Cardholder

I logged on, loaded it, used it once, and the very next day, my account was locked and my card declined. My info never seemed to match up, weird considering part of the info they want is your social. Definitely leaves me worried. Tried to call the number, and even many others. Nobody ever picks up. It's always an automated robot that tells you to enter certain digits. The number for the debit cards is literally a fasle line.

more ...
May 17, 2018
SCAM
MarioMiriam Cardholder

Doesn't work outside the States I traveled to Mexico and got declined from diferent retail stores. Not worth the shame.

more ...
Apr 16, 2018
TERRIBLE
Anonymous Cardholder

able to log on ONE time, after this NO MORE.  Ask for a code sent to cell phone or email, never get the code.  get locked out of online account. So, just great,,, the absolute worst card anyone could ever get. 

if it could get no stars, that is what i would give.

more ...
Apr 05, 2018
Robbery
Anonymous Cardholder

5 dollars is the cost of a refill card to add funds. You pay that to the retailer then go to pc to add the refill. Greendot takes an additional 5 each time you load. If you leave the card empty a recurring 5 dollar a month card servicing bill keeps compiling. You buy a 50 buck refill pack and load it. Nothing. Sometimes even minus. The card is good for a one time use situation. To get a hotel or buy something online if no other way. Otherwise is garbage. The price we pay when our credit isn't a-1. Still cheaper then maxing out a real card. Well no it isn't. Buy it use it once and trash it.

more ...
Apr 01, 2018
Scam
Anonymous Cardholder

my 11 year old purchased this at a store with his sister.  He could not use it.  It was already opened and not able to return. We had to register it to me and he used 15.00 if his 25 that he had spent on it. They charges him 7.95-we we’re unaware that this was not a regular visa gift card.  Called and cancelled immediately.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations
 

Green Dot® Gold Prepaid Visa Card