Green Dot® Gold Prepaid Visa Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

1.0 out of 5 stars
16 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

1.5 out of 5 stars

1 5
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

May 16, 2017
Very terrible service
Anonymous Cardholder

I've had two cards with green dot but some how all my money on both cards disappear. I tried to get someone on the phone but it was just a pathetic recording! When it comes to your money you should be able to talk to a human being. I'm very disappointed in the service I've had with green dot and I hope no one else uses it because it is waste! What a pathetic company 

more ...
Apr 25, 2017
horrible
Anonymous Cardholder

stole 9.95 from me. I loaded the money and the card drafted the fee plus i had to pay 1.95 for it. complete rip off. do not buy the gree dot card period.

more ...
Apr 04, 2017
RIP OFF
Anonymous Cardholder

Loaded $20 , got charged $7.89 for a monthly fee 1 day after having it. Card balance was at $11 in 1 day and I didnt even get to use it. They literally just sold me the card for $2 then took another $8 the next day. Worst card ever. Go with amex green or blue, free direct deposits,

more ...
Mar 25, 2017
one giant rip-off
Anonymous Cardholder

i disputed three charges on my card and they closed my card because the dispute was rejected. i used the card for gas spending its a total rip-off i had to call and threating with leagal action in order for them to release my funds. not worth the headache. STAY AWAY FROM THIS ****TY COMPANY. They will rip you off stick to cash if u have to. 

more ...
Feb 10, 2017
Fraud- stole from me $500
Anonymous Cardholder

Don't buy this card; you can never claim your money back if they tell you that there are no funds on the card and you know that you put 500 on there

more ...
Jan 05, 2017
CHEATING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Anonymous Cardholder

I've bought the card in Wallmart. 

The card package says - "Use everywhere Visa debit is accepted". I bought it to use abroad. And put 50 dollars on it.

So, after you open package you realize that the card CAN NOT BE USED outside US!!!! I spent 50$ on the card +80$ for international shipping and not the card is USELESS. 

Customer service are idiots. They keep saying the card can't be used, it's default restriction. They could help me and disable fraud protection. More oever, when I talked about refund, they said they can do this, but there will be 15$ fee for it!!!!

NEVER NEVER USE the Green Dot. NEVER.

I will check how to sue them. It's great case for the sue.

more ...
Dec 23, 2016
Horrible impulse item near registers
Anonymous Cardholder

Oh what a ripoff.  I fault Walmart for even offering it.  They charge even for inquiries.  Legal scam!!!

more ...
Dec 12, 2016
Piece of crap
Anonymous Cardholder

Worst customer service. Left my son stranded because it would not reload. Issue still not resolved. 

more ...
Dec 06, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

I've used a greendot card for the past 2 years.  Someone in Brooklyn NY cloned my card and drained all my money out of it at a Walgreens.  They must have bought Visa Cards.  I called greendot when I realized there was a problem.  They told me that it would take up to 10 days to investigate.  And once they do, they may not reimburse me!  I have to pay rent, so I was none too happy.  So I called Walgreens to see if they could reimburse me.  They told me I would have to call my police department because it's a criminal matter.  The police haven't called me back.  Greendot refuses to speed up the process.  And Walgreens says that it's not their responsiblity to investiage or to reimburse.  I'm so frustrated.  Don't banks have insurance to protect their customers when theft is involved?  Greendot and Walgreens have millions and probably billions of dollars.  I have 16 dollars.  It just doesn't seem fair that I just have to suck it up while these companies are rolling in the dough and have insurance to cover losses. 

Can somebody please help me?

more ...
Nov 29, 2016
Do not buy one as a gift!!
Anonymous Cardholder

I received this as a gift card from a friend but to use it you have to register it and to do that, you have to register with green dot as a bank and open an account!!!  Could never get any help from customer service both via phone or on line website. I ended up throwing the card away and I guess these scammers get to keep the $$.  Please just buy a regular gift card NOT GREEN DOT!!!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Green Dot® Gold Prepaid Visa Card