Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Green Dot® Gold Prepaid Visa Card

Find Out More

Ratings by Category

Application Process
Customer Service
Cardholder Ratings
1.5 5

Most Helpful Positive Review

Feb 05, 2015
Convenient & Awesome!
gakirk1971 Cardholder

I have been using Greendot for years and I love the simplicity of it. I started using it because I got tired of all the fees my bank was charging me for the smallest things...down to a $2 service fee just to talk to a teller. I have my paycheck and tax refunds direct deposited to my account and have never had a problem. The $5.95 fee has bee waived for so long I don't remember when I last paid it. I've looked into other pre paid cards and the fees are just crazy. I can't see leaving Greendot unless something goes really wrong.

more ...
 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jan 15, 2014
BEWARE!! EXTREME RIP OFF
orsunbear Cardholder

My company put $250 on a Green Dot prepaid visa so an employee would have a card for travel expenses. We were never able to get the card to work and 2 years later still trying to get our money back. Green Dot charges $5.95 month in management fees so they are slowly eating away the cash on the card. When we call the 866-795-7597 number we get at least 3 "customer service reps" (and I use the term very loosley) who bounce us around on hold with no resolution. This company is a complete fraud!!! 

more ...
 

Reviews (86)

Add Review
Apr 12, 2016
The card isnt the problem its the bank
Anonymous Cardholder

Funds come up missing and are rarely if at all replaced as well as the run around every time you call to find out about it. There is more than half of my wages gone and after almost 3 weeks still hasnt been returned and I'm still getting the run around. I'm taking legal action against them they are very unprofessional. It all seems too fishy to me This bank is full of thieves DONT use it. The card is convenient but it's to easy for funds to dissappear and way to difficult to get them back.

more ...
Mar 20, 2016
World's worst!
Anonymous Cardholder

Original card has to be "activated" through very long process including giving SS #. Then you get another card in the mail to be activated. Told me iron was activated and then it didn'the work. Value declines by $6.95 a month. Finally got through to a human who said it wasn't activated! Took another half hour. I hope this worked. Don't know yet. DO NOT BUY THIS CARD FOR YOURSELF OR AS A GIFT!!!!

more ...
Mar 13, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

I received a prepaid card from my elderly parents as a gift. They were completely confused and thought it was a secure gift card and all that would be needed is a pin of some sort. Low and behold this company requires a full disclosure of your personal information including a social security number in order to activate it. I work in a heavily regulated banking industry and am well versed in the requirements put out by our federal government post 9/11 as part of a plan to eliminating funds being transferred to terrorists and this company has figured out a way to manipulate this into a horrific experience for the common consumer. DO NOT mistake this for a gift card it is not, it is a prepaid debit card and falls under a unique set of rules. I am not willing to provide my full information to ANYONE let alone a company who will not even speak to you until you provide your ssi number to activate the card. I would get it if they had great customer service but the service department is obviously outsourced to another country and they are of little assistance and will only provide limited information until you activate the card at which point it is implied that you are now a customer. Technically this is similar to walking into a bank and opening a checking or savings account. Buyer be warned! 

more ...
Mar 05, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

Greendot is a scam they cancelled my card that has 5000.00 on it.They keep lying saying that sent a new one through fedx but have no tracking number. I called fedx gave them my address in was told nothing was ever sent to my address. I as to speak to a supervisor and there's never one available and never return calls. I have been dealing with this for a month. Do anyone knows how I can get my money from these crooks?????

more ...
Feb 25, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

Will put a block on account without notice and then takes days to get access to your money. Poor customer service, if you can call it customer service. Payday was today, bills to pay and can't use my money. All because I was trying to activate my renewal card, they blocked account for suspicious activity

more ...
Feb 18, 2016
Seems suspicious
Anonymous Cardholder

After deciding not to give them my SSN, I called the activation number (from one of those free phone apps) and when they asked for my birthday I gave them one that would make me under 18. They said that they can't issue me a personalized card, but that the temporary card is active. This was what I wanted all along, but if you're looking for a single-use/gift card, Do Not buy this. It's too much trouble. I also haven't tried to use it yet, and I've heard others say that it doesn't work even after beong "activated." Fingers crossed.

more ...
Feb 12, 2016
Steal Money!
Anonymous Cardholder

They have frozen my account without permission, lied to me about several matters, and will not provide access to my money. Its been 19 days.  They said they may provide access on day 25. They have over $3,000 of my money. I was using them solely for my banking matters. I broke down and started crying on the phone as I could not eat or put gas in my car and was on the brink of losing my job (which requires me to drive). I have another account with them, and they said they could not transfer my money to my other account or provide any solutions whatsoever. JUST DONT!

more ...
Feb 12, 2016
Controlling!!!!!
Anonymous Cardholder

They control how much of YOUR money YOU can spend a day. WTF!!! It's MY money!!! Couldn't even withdrawal MY money to buy a car....DO NOT USE THIS CARD!!!!!

more ...
Feb 11, 2016
NEVER USE GREENDOT CARD!!! 😡
Msgeorgia30 Cardholder

NEVER USE THIS CARD!! Someone stole my funds and since they card has used they will not refund your money back.  I'm now out of 150 dollars.  Use the vanilla gift card if you can, never use the greendot unless you just want to get ripped off!!

more ...
Dec 31, 2015
Pay Attention Folks!
Anonymous Cardholder

As I read these reviews, I'm really quite surprised. How can anyone actually have a problem with a prepaid debit card? The rules are specific and easy to understand. If you can't operate with this card, that may be a good indication of your need for a prepaid debit card to begin with. 

more ...

Top Similar Cards

Search All Cards
Add a Review

Add Your Review

Rate this card overall

Please select a rating

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Company Overview

Columbus Bank and Trust Company, also known as CB&T, issues credit and check cards that range basic to rewards. Credit card products include Purchase Perks Visa Platinum, Cash Rewards Visa Platinum, Business Visa Business Platinum, and Visa Platinum credit card. Two levels of rewards card programs are available, the Purchase Perks or Purchase Perks Premier, depending on a choice of available travel, shopping, and dining rewards. A notable, consumer-friendly feature of CB&T is the Credit Partner program that helps customers going through difficult times, such as disability or job loss, make minimum monthly payments.

Columbus Bank and Trust Company offers banking services from checking to savings to loans and more. CB&T operates under the holding company Synovus, based in Columbus, Georgia. Columbus Bank and Trust Company has branch locations and ATMs in Georgia.

Green Dot® Gold Prepaid Visa Card

86 Reviews