Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Green Dot® Gold Prepaid Visa Card

Find Out More

Ratings by Category

Application Process
Customer Service
Cardholder Ratings
1.6623 5

Most Helpful Positive Review

Feb 05, 2015
Convenient & Awesome!
gakirk1971 Cardholder

I have been using Greendot for years and I love the simplicity of it. I started using it because I got tired of all the fees my bank was charging me for the smallest things...down to a $2 service fee just to talk to a teller. I have my paycheck and tax refunds direct deposited to my account and have never had a problem. The $5.95 fee has bee waived for so long I don't remember when I last paid it. I've looked into other pre paid cards and the fees are just crazy. I can't see leaving Greendot unless something goes really wrong.

more ...
 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jan 15, 2014
BEWARE!! EXTREME RIP OFF
orsunbear Cardholder

My company put $250 on a Green Dot prepaid visa so an employee would have a card for travel expenses. We were never able to get the card to work and 2 years later still trying to get our money back. Green Dot charges $5.95 month in management fees so they are slowly eating away the cash on the card. When we call the 866-795-7597 number we get at least 3 "customer service reps" (and I use the term very loosley) who bounce us around on hold with no resolution. This company is a complete fraud!!! 

more ...
 

Reviews (77)

Add Review
Dec 31, 2015
Pay Attention Folks!
Anonymous Cardholder

As I read these reviews, I'm really quite surprised. How can anyone actually have a problem with a prepaid debit card? The rules are specific and easy to understand. If you can't operate with this card, that may be a good indication of your need for a prepaid debit card to begin with. 

more ...
Dec 23, 2015
deceptive
Anonymous Cardholder

I had used this bank previously to send money to a relative.  Yesterday I bought one to send $$ to another relative.  Can't do it, have to wait until maybe January for my personalized Card. XXXXX in customer Service has the worst skills EVER!!  Told me repeatedly that no supervisor/manager was available, told me she understood my frustration, and kept saying 'no problem'.  Well, yes it is a problem. I bought the card in good faith, and will not waste my time on this card again.  I will spend what is on my card today & be done with this service.  Shame on XXXXX XXXXXX for being affiliated with such a sham!

more ...
Dec 13, 2015
Anonymous Cardholder

i dont understand y they need so much info to register this little card...i just got mine and loaded money on mine..and now i come home and read the reviews...oh boy hope it goes well i dont even need this card anyway..i just want to online shop...Happy Holidays

more ...
Nov 17, 2015
TERRIBLE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Anonymous Cardholder

DO NOT GET THIS CARD...!!!!!!!!!!! THEY WILL JUST STEAL FROM YOU. NOBODY WILL HELP. THE CUSTOMER SERVICE IS TERRIBLE. THEY SENT MY PERSONAL CARD AND CANCELED THE ONE I HAD WITH ME. I WAITED 3 WEEKS FOR THE NEW CARD THAT NEVER CAME. I ENDED MY ACCOUNT THAT HAD $60 ON IT AND WAS SUPPOSED TO GET A CHECK. NEVER GOT THAT EITHER! CUSTOMER SERVICE DOES NOT HELP. SAVE YOUR MONEY DO NOT NOT NOT GET THIS CARD

more ...
Nov 14, 2015
Anonymous Cardholder

I was a VIP Member so my monthly fees were less.and I left them for a Serve card that has no fees.

more ...
Sep 15, 2015
Greendot is a legitimate & honest bank.
Anonymous Cardholder

Please, know this upfront and you won't be disappointed: (1.) Greendot is not a gift card, and, (2.) it isn't a typical bank debit card linked to your checking account.

Most importantly: READ THE TERMS & CONDITIONS thoroughly. It spells out exaclty what they charge for, and what they don't charge for. What is delayed and what is instant. Please read & get to know that, because Greendot sticks to it. 

I've relied on my Greendot card heavily for the past year or so. There's been no mysteriously missing money or anything like that. And, everything their customer service agents told me would happen actually happened -- and on schedule. No outright lies (although I see some people claiming that). Finally, do yourself a favor & upgrade to their VIP Member option. I can't remember what the fee was, but it was very small. Membership will give you priority in reaching customer service agents, and, you won;t get charged a lot of piddly fees that many people have to pay each month. Just like their website says. It's true.

I've researched the company and they are a legitimate "online" bank, and abide by any & all federal regulations. Nothing's been stolen from me by Greendot, that's for sure. I think they could improve in a couple areas maybe, but they are not scammers or crooks.

more ...
Sep 05, 2015
RIPOFF!!!!
Rippedofflasttime Cardholder

I also bought a card when I needed to and to avoid the monthly fee I cancelled the card I had and purchased a new one. Because I left a total of $6.30 on 3 of the cards and they have to issue me refunds they sent me: "This letter is in response to a refund you recently requested. Considering the number of refunds requested to date (8/31/15), it appears you are not able to use this product in the manner for which it has been intended and it is, therefore, not suited for you. We suggest you refrain from purchasing this product in the future or asking others to purchase it on your behalf. Please not that, as a result of your pattern of refund requests, furture refund requests may not be granted."  

I thought the cards were to be used when you needed to pay a bill or purchase something that required a form of payment not cash. Every time I cancel the card it ask why I was cancelling I told them I'm not paying a $5.95 fee for a card I only use occassionally. 

I've recommended this card to friends but no more. After getting this letter I wouldn't recommend this card for any thing.
 

more ...
Jul 23, 2015
Vary confusing to register a new card
Anonymous Cardholder

I'v been using green dot for years and usually don't have many issues, but the one time I needed to use this service I was bounced around from varification page to varification page getting nowhere (when indeed all forms of information were entered correctly). As a result my card was put in a 24 hour lockout when all I was trying to do was register the darn thing. Of course this happens the one time I need it most and I'm vary displeased, for now it's going to cost me an arm and leg to do what should have been a simple and easy process. The hassle and stress of this issue will result in the discontinuing of any future involvement and use of any greendot service.

more ...
Mar 05, 2015
Be very carefull with the gift cards.
Anonymous Cardholder

Green dot ,post office,walmart. From this point I will never use greendot,postoffice,walmart for gift cards handling.NEVER again . There are other ways to send money. Western union pehaps.

more ...
Feb 20, 2015
the worst Ihave ever seen
Anonymous Cardholder

after an hour on the phone the person on the other end of the phone refunded some of my money but not untill they took 30 dollors service fees . STAY AWAY HORRIBLE 

more ...

Top Similar Cards

Search All Cards
Add a Review

Add Your Review

Rate this card overall

Please select a rating

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Company Overview

Columbus Bank and Trust Company, also known as CB&T, issues credit and check cards that range basic to rewards. Credit card products include Purchase Perks Visa Platinum, Cash Rewards Visa Platinum, Business Visa Business Platinum, and Visa Platinum credit card. Two levels of rewards card programs are available, the Purchase Perks or Purchase Perks Premier, depending on a choice of available travel, shopping, and dining rewards. A notable, consumer-friendly feature of CB&T is the Credit Partner program that helps customers going through difficult times, such as disability or job loss, make minimum monthly payments.

Columbus Bank and Trust Company offers banking services from checking to savings to loans and more. CB&T operates under the holding company Synovus, based in Columbus, Georgia. Columbus Bank and Trust Company has branch locations and ATMs in Georgia.

Green Dot® Gold Prepaid Visa Card

77 Reviews