Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Citi ThankYou® Preferred Card - Low Intro APRs - EXPIRED OFFER

Find Out More

Ratings by Category

Application Process
Customer Service
Cardholder Ratings
3.5 5

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jul 08, 2013
Anonymous Cardholder

Received a notice that I was per-approved for this card. Applied and received a 10k credit line at 15.24%. Called to add another account user and they asked if the CL was enough, I said it could be better and they bumped me up to 15k. All good on my end, then again I have the Citi Diamond Preferred which already has a 25k limit. 0 utilization.

more ...

Most Helpful Negative Review

Oct 07, 2012
Cold and Uncaring Company
djmartinusen Cardholder

 My wife and I had this card for years. We always paid on time and never missed a single payment. But as a victim of the housing crisis, I had to give up my construction business and my wife also lost her business. Both of us found work, but our income has been reduced so we fell behind on our mortgage. Citi was the only one of our credit cards that reduced our credit limit to a mere $500. I called and explained our situation and reminded them of our perfect record with them, but they could care less.    

more ...

Reviews (31)

Add Review
Sep 10, 2015
The worst ever customer service
Anonymous Cardholder

As I asked to waive a fee the guy offered to cancel my card. Not even the courtesy to offer another card.

more ...
Mar 17, 2015
Initially App Under Review

Initially I was told online that my application needed review, I immediately called the Citi number aand was placed on hold for about 3 mins. The rep was very nice and made small talk with me and approved me for 2k CL. My CK cs is 653 so i can live with that. overall good experience so far, lets hope it continues.

more ...
Oct 15, 2014
Just applied and was approved.

Applied today and was wanting this card for the bonus offer, as well as the extra points on resturaunt and entertainment purchases, seeing as I go to concerts very frequently. I was approved instantly (within their 30 second online approval). I really like how they gave me my credit score and factors right online instead of just sending them to me via mail. They approved me with a limit that is fair for what I needed, and low end of the interest rates that this card offers after the 0% for 12 months. I was told I had "Poor" odds of getting approved for this via CK. My Trans Union via CK was 685 and my Vantage was 755. I am pretty sure CK is a few months behind, seeing as Citi pulled my experian and it was 728 which is in the "Good" rating. Cant complain, I have quite a few other cards that I use to help pay for school with and also earn rewards like my Discover, and my Amex. I have a little over 2 years of credit history and a lower income due to being part time. Hope this helped! 

more ...
Mar 05, 2015

The rewards system is a bit complicated and not as offering compared to the Chase Freedom which is a horrible card also. But the Discover It card has everything and more. This Bank has given me some many problems from offering loans and then denying them without a clear explanation. The limit is fairly good I will admit that and the online features have improved otherwise this card and bank are useless.

Sep 12, 2014
Citi Thank You Preferred Card
Joeshmo907 Cardholder

I did not recieve any prequalified offer for this card, but did perform a search on to see what card was best for me. This card came up with 0% APR for 15 months and with a sign on bonus of 20,000 points after $1,500 spent in the first three months. This is one of the best offers I have come across and I deffinately enjoyed the generous credit limit of $4,000. 

more ...
Sep 03, 2014
Initally denied
drbanes Cardholder

I initially applied online, was unfortunately denied. I hate running my credit, not because I have bad credit, but because it is pretty good (732CK) and want to keep it that way. I am an authorized user on a whole bunch of other cards so they also pop up on my credit report. Was denied saying that I have too high of a debt-to-income ratio, however after a quick call to CitiBank they approved me with a pretty low CL of 3K.They saw that I wasn't a primary account holder for a lot of accounts so they changed their decision. The perks are OK; I originally wanted to get the Capital One Venture Card which has 1.25 pointsn per dollar, unlimited points and you can pick and choose whatever travel company you want to go with. Just happy it was approved.

more ...
Sep 01, 2014
TY Preferred - Not bad
CaseyfromAmerica Cardholder

My only issue is that the cash value of points is $.5/pt.  So when you get 2x points on a large portion of purchases, it really only equates to 1%.  I am happy with the card and getting 1% for sure. However, the standard these days is becoming 1% for every purchase, and by using the "2x" advertising they are almost falsely promoting themselves.  I can't blame the card or the company....probably my fault for not digging it up beforehand.

more ...
Jun 23, 2014
Poor chance of approval leads to suprise

I kept receiving mailers with invitations to apply for the 0% @15 months, I finally decided to see what it was all about.  After having crappy credit for most of my 20s I've been careful to build credit a little at a time and have been using Credit Karma to help along the way.  Checked out the card on Credit Karma which showed poor chances of approval with a score of 668, checked my experian (700), and figured what the heck.  I applied online using my invitation code and was instantly approved with a limit of $4000.00, not the largest credit line, but definitely good for me.  We'll see as far as customer service along the way, but for now this along with my Amex blue card are to me the perfect pair.  

more ...
Jun 04, 2014
Great Rewards
WilliamCq Cardholder

We put every transaction on this card and pay off every month. The rewards are awsome! its about 100 bucks for every 10,000 spend - 1% kickback!

more ...
May 09, 2014
Applied online, got denied then approved

So I have no real experience with this card yet. this review is based on app process only. CK showed fair approval odds with the Citi Diamond Preferred (poor for this one). I went into the website and used the card finder tool, it said I was pre approved for this one. I happily applied, to get the "denied" message. w/ 719 in experian but only 691 in CK, I was hurt and confused and did not want another hard inquiry (already have 7 in 1 year). I called in the reconsideration line, asked why was denied, and the guy put me on hold to "check status". Out of the blue, I was approved for 3K. Couldn't be happier.

more ...
Apr 22, 2014
freefordan Cardholder

Got a pre-approved offer in the mail... wasn't really interested except for the 0% APR on balance transfers ... did the app over the phone with a representative instead of online and was approved for $13k, i almost fainted lol

more ...

Top Similar Cards

Search All Cards
Add a Review

Add Your Review

Rate this card overall

Please select a rating

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

What should others know about this card?


How was application process?

How was customer service?


Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 113
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Citi ThankYou® Preferred Card - Low Intro APRs - EXPIRED OFFER