Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Chase Freedom

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.2 out of 5 stars
18 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

3 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR Not Applicable
  • Annual Fee Not Applicable
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR Not Applicable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jan 01, 2016
Enjoying my Freedom
revisrn Cardholder

I applied for Chase Freedom 12/17/15 with  Credit Karma  poor approval chances. TU:628/Equifax:641. I recieved  Chase preapproval letter and applied online . I was given a 4500 line of credit. I have 15 months at 0% interest . Plan on transferring other Credit Card balances and paying them off. Two things to note

After getting the card my credit score went up toTU 675/EQ691

1 Have banked with Chase for several years

NurseinTX

2.  Have a high income rate

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jun 19, 2016
dishonest bank - zero rating
epiccheetah Cardholder

would never trust them. they do not stand behind their offers.  was offered $125 for putting $500 on the card in the first 3 months.  Was also offered $25 for adding an authorized user.  Did all of the above and never saw it.  When questioned about 115 days later, was told they didn't have anything like that and was also told they would have honored it if I had asked them in less then 90 days.  Kind of hard to determine that they were going to screw me out of it in before the 90 days when the promotion time frame was 90 days.  Would never trust them.  I have asked for them to stop all solicitation to me since they do not provide what they offer.  Enough with the open a direct deposit checking account and get $200! Scammers.  Closing the accoun

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Nov 26, 2016
Terrible Card, terrible service

I had difficulties accessing the site one night to make my payment, this was the last night for me to pay. Yes I know, I should pay my credit card bill early, but how many people honestly do that? I thought it was paid, and in the morning as soon as I realized it wasn't, I called Chase to inform them about the late payment (less than 12 hours later) and asked if it could be redunded, since it was not very late, not intentional, and due to a misunderstanding on my part. The customer service said that there was no late fee or interest assessed at the time, and assured me that if there was, I could call back and get it redunded. They even said they would make a note on my account.

Fast forward a few days. Late fee and interest charges applied to bill, I called them immediately upon seeing them and asked them to cancel them as they promised. Instead they told me "there was nothing they could do". I wasn't very happy, and sent a message to their customer service online, thinking that maybe it would go to someone more official, with actual power to do something. Instead, they gave me the same speel, with an added "we do everything to maintain your trust and service." kind of ironic. Chase has the worst customer service of any credit cards around, and no one deserves to have to put up with them. Go with American Express or Discover.

more ...
Nov 26, 2016
Terrible Card, terrible service

I had difficulties accessing the site one night to make my payment, this was the last night for me to pay. Yes I know, I should pay my credit card bill early, but how many people honestly do that? I thought it was paid, and in the morning as soon as I realized it wasn't, I called Chase to inform them about the late payment (less than 12 hours later) and asked if it could be redunded, since it was not very late, not intentional, and due to a misunderstanding on my part. The customer service said that there was no late fee or interest assessed at the time, and assured me that if there was, I could call back and get it redunded. They even said they would make a note on my account.

Fast forward a few days. Late fee and interest charges applied to bill, I called them immediately upon seeing them and asked them to cancel them as they promised. Instead they told me "there was nothing they could do". I wasn't very happy, and sent a message to their customer service online, thinking that maybe it would go to someone more official, with actual power to do something. Instead, they gave me the same speel, with an added "we do everything to maintain your trust and service." kind of ironic. Chase has the worst customer service of any credit cards around, and no one deserves to have to put up with them. Go with American Express or Discover.

more ...
Nov 15, 2016
OK
Anonymous Cardholder

So far ok.

more ...
Nov 15, 2016
HORRIBLE!
Anonymous Cardholder

CUSTOMER SERVICE IS HORRIBLE. NO HELP WHAT SO EVER. HIGH INTREST.

more ...
Nov 07, 2016
Nice cash back
Anonymous Cardholder

Very good card to have.

more ...
Nov 01, 2016
Low Limit
jmarie91210 Cardholder

I really enjoy the card benefits associated with this card, but I was only approved for a $600 limit. Can't do much with that. I am unsure why this limit is so low, my other two Chase cards have $2,300 and $2,000 limits. Other than that, it is a pretty good card.

more ...
Jun 19, 2016
dishonest bank - zero rating
epiccheetah Cardholder

would never trust them. they do not stand behind their offers.  was offered $125 for putting $500 on the card in the first 3 months.  Was also offered $25 for adding an authorized user.  Did all of the above and never saw it.  When questioned about 115 days later, was told they didn't have anything like that and was also told they would have honored it if I had asked them in less then 90 days.  Kind of hard to determine that they were going to screw me out of it in before the 90 days when the promotion time frame was 90 days.  Would never trust them.  I have asked for them to stop all solicitation to me since they do not provide what they offer.  Enough with the open a direct deposit checking account and get $200! Scammers.  Closing the accoun

more ...
May 22, 2016
Give us FREE
JeBe4 Cardholder

JP Morgan sucks
 

I was approved for $400 towards the end of November 2015 for both my BP and Wal-Mart store cards. I already had a Amazon Prime store  card from Jan 2015 when I bought my Blackberry Classic I was given a $1000 limit. Fast-forward, I was ready to reestablish my credit from the damage I did at 18 being young and dumb.; I opened up Capital One, Suntrust, etc. I want to get rid of the 1st Premier’s Verve Credit One’s of the world,  So I wanna say like 30-60 days later all three cards got an increase (my Amazon received a $200 increase over the summer auto, so in Nov 2015 I had $1200 Amazon, $400 BP and $400 Wal-Mart).

The time is now Jan/Feb 2016 (perhaps Dec 2015 not sure don’t feel like researching lol) they auto raised my limits, now I pay off my BP card every month, and carry balance on my Amazon and Wal-Mart. Limits were $1400 Amazon, $700 Wal-Mart, and $500 BP. - all done auto.  Fast forward to May 2016, I know they use soft pulls, and my Capital One received large increase, so I wanted to increase them all - I logged onto my  Amazon and Wal-Mart accounts and it denied me the computer increase -.I read if you chat or call you  may get different results.

SO I chat Amazon, she provided me a reference # to call in with, I requested $5k they gave  me $3500 (mind you I was just denied by the computer not even 4 hours earlier early Monday morning like 4am when I was up bored) - I thought cool! Well….I had to go to Wal-Mart then it dawned on me it is the same bank! As I sat in the parking lot on my blackberry Classic, I used the chat option they asked my income (pretty high/decent) I asked again for $5k, was approved for $3500 immediate use! Awesome! I finished my shopping, and my appointment, got home to my office balancing my receipts I got to my gas receipt and said what the heck so I log onto BP chat I ask for $5k, was given $2500 which is perfect, I pay the card off each month. SO Between Capital One, and Synchrony Bank my total available credit literally doubled across the board.

I am a bit nervous though, these limits are PERFECT for a single individual I doubt I will ever need a larger limit any time soon, however the higher limit WILL make me put more spend on the accounts since my utilization won’t be hit with lower limits. SO with the new increases I made a deferred interest purchase on my Amazon, and did some shopping at Wal-Mart - Now I will be paying off my balances in 4 weeks, I just hope because I pay off my balance they don’t lower my limit because I don’t always need to buy items which sucks because if you don’t use your card you potentially lose the credit line and after reading different people's experiences like with most things, it is going to vary, so I will not worry and use the cards as I see fit when I need to buy something hopefully they keep my lines open I am excited to be on the other side of the CREDIT GAME but I am no fool it is a GAME so I won’t ever take it personal, it’s just business. I don’t mind them making interest off of me I don’t buy what I can’t afford to pay off if I had to, but 0% APR with Capital One , Deferred interest options, why rush to pay it off in full if I can divide it out over 6 months o_0 so I WILL use Amazon, and Wal-Mart especially that 3% for online. My cash back with Capital one is awesome, but my 0% expires in Aug so I will pay off the balance and not carry a balance.

Sidenote, I have a Chase Freedom since 2010! My original limit was $1500 ( I did work for them at the time) I was relocating and the $1500 came in handy, I charged it up but paid it right back off in FULL!  Do you know they lowered my limit to $300! LMAO AHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAH mind you I don’t work for them, and won a legal case against them. Nonetheless, I have tried twice over the past 5+ years for an increase HARD INQ and they deny.

So, screw you JP Morgan. I have Cap 1’s, Suntrust, and Synchrony to meet my credit needs WELL exceed them! I won't be using Chase until my limit goes up. You can’t win for lose with credit though, you either spend too much or don’t spend enough, you owe or don't etc.  Oh yea with Chase I HAVE NEVER BEEN LATE!!! Literally, matter of fact  I have never been late or missed a payment on my credit cards in the last 5+ years! My credit was screwed when I was 18 in college you gave me a $1000 limit LOL ahhah of course I knew better but didn’t fully understand what credit was and had a BLAST shopping lol hahh but no you live and you learn and like I said I ALWAYS make at least my min payment on my cards, I know the game they play that is why i am closing some accounts with fee’s and _hitty limits. Anyways play the game don’t let

more ...
May 19, 2016
Excellent
blkangelt Cardholder

The card was a recomendation through Credit Karma. Before I applied, I did the soft pre-screen/pre-approval first to see if I could get the card. No need to do hard credit check, if it wasnt going to go through. To my surprise I was approved. Just received the card in the mail with a 6000 credit line. This was also a surprise. I was expecting at least to get 1000. It has taken a long time, 10 years, to get here after a divorce, and the ex raining havoc on my credit. Just wanted the card for major emergencies. Anyone applying for a card, do a pre-qualify soft screen first. Not just with this card, with all of them that have it available.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Chase Freedom