Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Capital One® Platinum Max

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.8 out of 5 stars
5 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

5 out of 5 stars

5 5
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Oct 26, 2016
Awesome!
Anonymous Cardholder

Love this card!

more ...
May 12, 2016
doreen2 Cardholder

Applied for this card only to rebuild credit. Credit scores in high 500's and was originally given a CL of $200 and then within 6 months I got an increase to $500 after using the card and paying it off on time. It's OK to have when you're trying to rebuild your credit. My credit scores are now in the high 600's and am always trying to improve to keep it rising. 

more ...
May 12, 2016
A wonderful tool for rebuilding credit
4courage Cardholder

This card was recommended by Credit Karma for rebuilding credit. After my divorce, I closed all credit accounts and paid them off, however having no open credit was as bad as having compromied credit. I found myself trapped with a 534 ratiing. I owed no money to anyone and my house & car were paid off. But my credit rating was stagnant. This held in place for 6 years. Reluctantly I applied for this card in Nov 2015. I received the card with a $500 limit. I charged items of $100 or less and paid the card balance before the due date each month. It is now May 2016. My credit score has raised to 734. Finally in the good range, no more anxiety over a credit check for a cell or whatnot. My card limit was raised to $2500, I didnt even ask for a increase. 

Are credit scores a gimmick propetuated by the banks and credit card companies? Absolutely. But you can't win if you don't play. Why should I pay higher interest rates and car/ home owners insurance just because I refuse to have a credit card? It stinks. But at least if you have to play, play to win. Just be sure you are using this to your advantage. Keep your balance low, pay it off monthly. You don't have to have a bunch of cards. Just one in good standing made a huge difference. 200 point increase in less than 6 months. 

This month my card number was appropriated by someone in FL. They had a nice dinner at Boston Market and filed their car with gas. I was alerted by Capital One by email the same day. They froze my card, removed the charges and issued a new one. Excellent fraud protection. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
May 12, 2016

Wonderful story! This WILL HELP in regards to things that I want to do for the betterment and PERFECTION in EVERYTHING.....for my credit scores to increase, and then some! I learned that its best to just SPEND ONLY ABOUT 30% of what you actually have on your credit cards....by NOT SPENDING the "other 70%" that you actually HAVE "AVAILABLE TO SPEND', then that increases your score much better & much more. Financial Fitness! :)

 
Apr 15, 2016
Credit Rebuilding
afgorka927 Cardholder

I got a pre-approval in the mail for this card after having First Premier (which was the only card I could get with a credit score in the low 500) So I submitted the info online that they sent me with the pre-approval and sure enough they gave me a $300 limit ) interest for about 6 months and then they increased me to $500 and 6 months later to $1000 and I also got approved for Capital one Quicksilver after a year of havinig Cap One Platinum with a $500 limit. I am still rebuilding and my credit score is currently at 579 but considering i was at like 525 a year ago i'm pretty happy with the slow progress. I don't want to go crazy with credit cards i just want to keep the ones i have been able to get in good standing and build with these.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Capital One® Platinum Max