Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Upromise MasterCard

Approval Odds
Apply Now
My Saved Cards
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.
Find Out More

Ratings by Category

Application Process
Customer Service
Cardholder Ratings
2 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0% intro 15 Months on qualifying transfers
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 14.24% - 23.24%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 14.24% - 23.24%* Variable

Reviews (11)

Add Review
Oct 11, 2016
Funky card
Anonymous Cardholder

No problems with using the card.  The frustration comes when you want to redeem your rewards.  Unlike Citi and other card companies (which are efficient and easy to use when redeeming rewards), this card is a nightmare.  First, I was told I would have to wait 60 days from the first transaction.   Then I was told I would have to wait 90 days from the first statement balance, which is actually 4 months from the first date of purchase.  I hope they are not fraudulent.  Customer service tries to help, but they are hard to understand, and even harder to decipher.  They provide no incentive to keep using the card.  A mystery why they think anyone in this day and age of lots of CC that reward in an honest and efficient manner would put up with this.  I never use a CC without a reward structure, and I never use a CC that is a hassle.

more ...
Jul 11, 2016
Upromise cash back bonus denied
GeneJeanie Cardholder

For prospective card holders: the "up to 10% cash back" is the sum from the credit card issuer and the online merchant. The credit card issuer guarantees 1% cash back on all spending, and up to 4% additional cash back for "eligible" online purchases. There is generally another 5% reward (but as low as 1% and as high as 9% during promotion) from the online merchant for your "eligible" online purchases.

However, the online portal that one must use to make one's purchase eligible for this generous cash back is unable to reliably track my spending. I have had to file many claims for the missing 4% out of 5% Master Card cash back and the merchant-dependent 1-9% online shopping bonuses. Even so, many of my bonus claims were denied after Upromise conducted its reviews. The reasons for denial were always generic excuses like "clicking between multiple browser windows or tabs" and "taking advantage of other promotional offers" -- I made sure I didn't do any of those after my bonus was denied the first time! But many of my bonuses are still frequently denied.

The bottom line: I have had to use a spreadsheet to track every spending I make and every reward I receive, so I know when to file missing reward claims. If you want to get this card, you should get a spreadsheet ready and write to Upromise frequently to fight for your bonuses, too.

more ...
Jun 06, 2016
cardmaven Cardholder

if you want to fight about every bonus cashback then this card is for you.

more ...
May 04, 2016
IDamian Cardholder

Barkleys has 2 cards  Sallie Mae Rewards (which is GREAT!) BUT THEN THEY ALSO HAVE UPROMISE.  THIS IS ABOUT UPROMISE ONLY!!!

STay the hell away from UPROMISE. If I could give a negative score I would. I have never had so much trouble with a company of ANY kind.

I have a rating well over 800. I use 9 different cards. I am experienced being with a CC well over 35 years. 

1) They first promised $9 reward AND 5% on ll items bought,

THEN without any 30 days warning or any warning of any kind they state the $9 is only for the first time. FIne  but they  keep the promise of 5% on all else you buy online. SO I continue to use it throughout 2016 another 6 times. NOW THEY TELL ME TOO BAD, it ended on 2015!!

2) They take 90 days to send out any rewards you have accumulated 

3) They take 90 days (3 FULL MONTHS) to determine WHAT YOUR REWARDS comes to in the first place: 3 MONTHS! Their sister card Sallie Mae Rewards does it INSTANTANEOUSLY AND ALLOW YOU TO SUBTRACT THE REWARD FROM THE CHARGE FOR THAT MONTH. UPROMISE WILL ONLY SEND A CHECK IN THE MaIL 60 days later. ( WHo in their right mind wants to keep track of rewards from 3 months prior then wait ANOTHER 60 days (5 months in total) before you see the first dime?

4) Their personnel hardly speak English. YOu can get by with that because at least they are patient when you ask to repeat but much of the information you request is something they put you on hold in order to check with their supervisors, as if they just joined 2 week prior

5)  The sheer hassle is something is a nightmare. IF you get the right person to talk to, they will inevitably put you on hold until you get the RIGHT ANSWER TO YOUR QUESTION. Just today, the Supervisor I spoke to never listened to my question but simply spoke about what he wanted to tell me having nothing to do with my question. A Supervisor!

Pros:   Uh, while it is no longer available they did originally give me the $9 and the 5% when I shopped at which is the ONLY reason I stuck it out this long!!     (Unfortunately Sallie Mae REwards card will not reward online grocery stores).. 

It is my intention to use the AMEX Everyday card which at least gives me 3% on and completely cut up my UPROMISE Card. However I found out this won't be enough. I have to do more than simply not use the card.

I usually allow my blood to stop boiling prior to writing a review. This is the once case I have channeled my inner frustrationdirectly to every single fact that they simply can not handle like a normal company.


more ...
Apr 21, 2016
Joseppie Cardholder

They do not like you. Rude customer service. I have good credit and good income and have had the card for quite a while and they will not increase my cl I have low balances on all of my cards (below 30%) and have asked for an increase several times over the last 4 years, I have a chase card with a 10k limit and others similar this card....500 freaking dollars what the heck am I going to do with 500 limit. 

more ...
Apr 21, 2016
Lindziej6794 Cardholder

I have had this account since 2009 I have never been late on my payment, I keep my balance at below or around 25% and I have never had a limit increase. I make 6 figures a year and this card has a limit of $500. The only reason I keep it is because it's an old line of credit for my age.

more ...
Nov 09, 2015
The worst if service and timeliness is
Anonymous Cardholder

1) If you have a dispute, it takes them one month before you hear back to let you know IF they received the dispute.  

2)  To buy something online they make you go through their online PORTAL, which is fine, as I do it all the time BUT THEY HAVE TOLD ME I DID NOT GO THROUGH THEIR PORTAL, and there is simply NO WAY TO PROVE IT ONE WAY OR THE OTHER. Every month for the last three months they claim I did not use their portal to get to PeaPod online and therefore the 4% reward is not going to be given. The first time I complained it took 2 months to clear up IN MY FAVOR. now again THEY ARE CLAIMING THE SAME THING. I HAVE A 3% CARD WHICH I WILL NOW USE (AMEX EVERYDAY CARD) UNTIL I HEAR BACK FROM UPROMISE! But for the headache (and the difficulty in understanding the gentleman with the Indian accent who refuses to slow down after my requesting him to "say it again SLOWER") where I am not given a CASE number NOR anything in writing to even indicate I have a dispute going, makes me want to simply burn the card and never use it again. 

3)Even if the reward DOES GO THROUGH CORRECTLY, unlike their Sallie Mae Card from the same bank (which is a fine card), the reward does not show up for 30 days and the only way to receive it is by check. They will NOT reduce the charges on your card by the reward amount. You simply have to go to your bank and cash the check!

4) For those of you who believe you are getting what is promised you, I wonder how you know this since you must have a 30 day lag in your record keeping in order to match the reward to the month old expenditures.


I have excellent credit for the last 25 years (811 right now) and I use 10 cards with various reward percentages and various procedures for receiving those rewards.  This card UPromise is a joke!  It reminds me of the President of one of the Credit Cards I used to have who dumped me and others from membership in their Credit Card Company

. The REASON:  "WE have too many **dead beats** who pay ON TIME EACH AND EVERY MONTH NEVER INCURRFING A LATE FEE. We simply can not make any money off them!"

It's my guess the same man runs this company!

more ...
Jul 16, 2015
kcham817 Cardholder

I've had this card since Feburary 2013, been a UPROMISE member since 2009. In recent years, Upromise dropped some retailers that I frequently shop online with ( i.e. Target).  My credit limit increased automatically in 2014. I've been notified of suspcious activity on my account and was mailed a new card immediately. The app from Barclays make it easy to make payments, payment history, see statements, credit score etc. I really appreciate their annual summary with a percentage breakdown of everything I spent for the year. My credit score recently went up and I called to inquire on lowering the interest rate, they lowered it by 3%. I will keep this card around for a long time.

more ...
Mar 22, 2015
A Must-Have for On-line Shopping, etc.
bpround Cardholder

This is short and sweet.  The product, used in conjunction with the Upromise toolbar, has rebated me well in to the 4 figures in cash.  While the dining network fluctautes, the toolbar medium is reliable and an ingenious and free way to save money.  I call it, "The new age of 'credit couponing.'"  Barclays also approved another product for a freind in 2014 with:  CH 7 BR, TU/EFX <700.

more ...
Sep 24, 2014
UPromise Denied

Tried to apply for this card on Auguest 28 and finally was told on September 28 that I was denied.  I tried to see the application process that morning but it showed that their isn't one but after I got done talking to a woman telling me that I was denied, I got on the website again and it showed me then that I was denied.  Called the direct line to the business office and they told me that I was denied due to not having a record with credit cards before.  I will call tomorrow and see if I can get it reviewed and accepted without having to have a previous credit card.  My CS is 650

more ...
Mar 01, 2015

so what happened?


Top Similar Cards

Search All Cards
Add a Review

Add Your Review

Rate this card overall

Please select a rating

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

What should others know about this card?


How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Upromise MasterCard