The Frontier Airlines World MasterCard®

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

1.0 out of 5 stars
13 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

1.5 out of 5 stars

1 5
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Mar 17, 2017
Trouble transferring miles.
Anonymous Cardholder

On my Barclay card statement it states that I had 40,000 miles transferred. When I call Frontier, they can find NOTHING about me. I gave them my name, Frequent flyer #, phone number, etc..... I talked with 2 different people at Frontier and they could not find ANYTHING about me, even though I have been emailed twice with my Frequent flyer info. They say the number doesn't exist, my name doesn't exist, my phone number doesn't exist... what a nightmare! I have a feeling this will be a LONG process to resolve!!

more ...
Mar 14, 2017
Poor service, high fees, cumbersome
Anonymous Cardholder

Got this card as planned to fly more on Frontier, until multiple abysmal travel experiences--cancellations for weather, no re-books, stranding our teenagers. Then we were charged high late fees on small balances that we are sure were made in time--we have numerous other cc's which we pay off on-time every month and are never late. We use the same schedule to pay this card. I feel they churn charges and fees, post payments late, etc. Then trying to cancel was impossible! Endless menus, transfers, begs to keep the card. Then I was cut off when almost done with the process, had to call back AGAIN. There are MANY credit cards out there. Avoid this one.

more ...
Mar 01, 2017
SCAM

Signed up in flight "earn 40,000 miles which = 2 free round trip tickets anywhere Frontier flies in the US...or 1 internationl ticket. All you have to do is purchase a pack of gum to activate the card."  Lie... the interest rate is 25% and you need to purchase $500.00 plus pay the annual fee.   The 40,000 miles is from place of departure.. so from Chicago to Florida..it's 20,000 1 way... hardly = 2 free round trip tickets.  Won't be using the card.  Scam. 

more ...
Dec 22, 2016
Poor Value
Anonymous Cardholder

This card was OK, but its more points for a trip than say Southwest, yet you only get the base fare covered.  So you still have to pay for your suitcase, seat or any other extra.  If they would make the works avialable with points, I would give it more stars.  Get any other airline card is my advice.  I am hoping to use up my points and dump this card.

more ...
Sep 07, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

Rip off, never fly Frontier again

more ...
Aug 19, 2016
Total Scam
Anonymous Cardholder

I earned the 40,000 miles by paying the $500 minimum, paying off all balances, and paying the annual fee. They have failed to apply the 40,000 to my account and it has been over two months. I've tried calling to resolve this countless times and keep being fed more and more excuses. They say "rest assured that the points will show up in my account" but over and over that has proven to be a lie.

more ...
Aug 17, 2016
Absolutely no reason to have one.
Witttay Cardholder

Application process was passable but only because it required so little imput from BarclayCard phone support. Credit card was fine to use at first but when I attempted to raise my card limit (FROM $500!) they insisted that the card had to be open 8 months before any credit line increase could happen which made the card absolutly useless (I have a credit score of 740-750, I don't understand why the limit was $500). Fast forward a few months and I'm stuck in a rural airport in Indiana trying to get home to New Jersey. I am carrying a large amount of luggage so I opt to rent a car to drive home to NJ which is where it all hits the fan. In the US youhave /very/ limited oppertunities to rent vehicles if you are under 25 years old unless you use a credit card but the problem with a $500 limit is you cannot even pay the temporary hold on the card required to rent the car. So I call up Barclay and after a solid 5 minutes of PRESS SEVEN TO TALK TO A REPRESENTATIVE I finally get in contact with a person who I cannot understand. I spend two hours on the phone being transfered around sometimes to helpful people sometimes back to where I started in an attempt to get an "emergency credit line increase" which I ended up finding out from the one competent rep who actually took time out of their day to help that "emergency credit line increase" form was the exact same form they would usually use for a credit line increase it just had a very official name. After three tries with three different people to have my credit line temporarily increased so I could have a TEMPORARY HOLD so I could rent a car I ended up giving up on the operation and walking the entire airport until I found out that Hertz was okay with heavily bending their rules on paying with a debit cards long as I put a hefty security deposit on the vehicle (Thank you Hertz for having mercy on me). 

I have never had quality support from the BarclayCard phone support. Constant smoke and mirrors (like the "emergency" increase form) and a million prompts before I could talk to an actual person who almost every time was unhelpful. I'd like to give some redeeming qualities of the card but I really can't think of anything.

Also, that "50,000 miles = two round trip tickets" they sell you on ends up getting you one round trip ticket in basic coach between New York and Chicago in the offseason. I haven't even tried to redeem it yet but judging from what everyone else on here is saying its going to be an absolute nightmare of a process to actually use or god forbid transfer my miles.

more ...
Jun 07, 2016
BUYER BEWARE!!! SCAM!!!
Anonymous Cardholder

I met the requirements for the card and the points showed up on my Barclay's account but they do not tranfer the miles. I was promised on over half a dozen occasions the miles would transfer to my early returns account and they never did. One lie after another. It is a bait and switch scheme and it is apparant there is a incentive not to honor the miles. They open up bogus resolution tickets to make the customer feel something is being done and nothing happens. They even said they would do a three way call between the bank and Frontier which was I was disconnected and hung up on. Do not get this card.

more ...
Jun 01, 2016
AVOID
Anonymous Cardholder

First off.. they charge you annually and the fee keeps increasing. At first it was $60, this year it was $70, then I got another random "service charge" for $60. NOT happy and it's literally impossible to use your miles. Skip this card and run for your life.

more ...
May 18, 2016
terrible terrible terrible
sharpiestories Cardholder

found out I was being lied to about interest rates and told "you should have read the fine print" efter they explicitly told me something contrary to the fine print. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

The Frontier Airlines World MasterCard®