Blue Cash Everyday® Card from American Express Reviews

Blue Cash Everyday® Card from American Express Reviews
3.3 out of 5 stars
85 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

3.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Dec 01, 2019
Not the best
MalikaFromBaltimore Cardholder

Overall, this card is fine. I use it mostly for groceries. The one thing I hate about it is that you have to wait until you have $25 worth of cash back to redeem it. For someone who doesn’t make/spend a lot of money, this can take forever to get to. My other cards (discover it and chase freedom) let me use cash back at any amount.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 04, 2019
Customer service was rude and wanted tax
BusinessOwner41 Cardholder

They want your federal tax returns. They did not require them before issuing the card and then after a month told me they needed them. I of course said no to that. Had I have known that they would have asked me for federal tax returns I would not have applied. Putting 4 years of federal tax returns out on the internet or even stored on their systems so they can be hacked later is just not a good idea. The value of the card is not worth the risk. No other card company has asked for my federal returns.  752 Fico score and don't need the hassle or risk. When I talked to them they said they had to have them or they might cancel me. I said to cancel my card I was not longer interested in it. Even though the card was paid in full they canceled the card and put it on my credit report that they had cancelled it when I had cancelled it.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Sep 11, 2019
Zero benefits with short balances
emmerised Cardholder

Not worth it. 

more ...
Sep 16, 2019

Hmmm. I got a lot of benefits with long balances. Definitely worth it.
Maybe you have a Xema card.

 
Sep 21, 2019

Maybe you have bad credit

 
Sep 09, 2019
awesome
oldmanpop1 Cardholder

great card if you use it wisely

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Sep 12, 2019

how much score do I need to get this card ?

 
Sep 06, 2019
Offers good cash back rewards
Ladybug190 Cardholder

This my firsy American Express card. I applied throught credit karma and received a $2k limit. Application process was easy and an instant approval. Card arrived fast. No issues as of yet!

more ...
Sep 19, 2019

Hi, what range was your CK score when you applied for this card?

 
Oct 29, 2019

738

 
Dec 21, 2019

Did you had to show them any income papers?

 
Sep 05, 2019
Run!!!
Sippirain Cardholder

My credit limit was cut in half for NOT USING my card as much as they wanted me tok and my credit score plummeted. About 6 months later they closed the account becasue they say I wasn't using the card enough. WTF!

Thankfully all 3 credit scores are now almost at 800.

more ...
Sep 05, 2019

undefined

 
Sep 16, 2019

Thank you for your review. The exact same thing recently happened to me even though I used the card the previous month, but not the last!!! I put a monthly online membership fee to auto charge to the card to keep it open. I'm sorry that happened to you. If you had put something small on it every month at minimum it probably would have stayed open.

 
Sep 16, 2019

Oh and my score is over 800 too and they still cut my limit in half. I've always paid on time. The card is 12 years old and this is how they treat a card member.

 
Sep 20, 2019

How often were you using the card? Generally if you use it once every three months, it shouldn't be closed.

 
Sep 24, 2019

I was using it monthly, stopped one month and they cut my limit in half while I have a perfect record for 12 years with them and a FICO over 800.

 
Sep 01, 2019
Good card but?
Flexxx1969 Cardholder

The card itself is not bad aside from the fact you can only receive the rewards above $25 dollars and it takes forever to get them sometimes as long as a couple months. My Capitol One Savior card is much better.

more ...
Sep 03, 2019

Hi i love my amex card i couldn't get that cap one card not approved but got approved for the amex card with a 2k limit now my limit is 10k my score was 694 on experian 700 equifax 700 trans.

 
Sep 04, 2019

Amex has deals I take advantage of that cap one Savor does not. I have the Savor card too. Some of the Amex deals far exceed rewards dollars and are directly applied to the account within a few days.

 
Aug 31, 2019
Terrible card!!!
Thalkett74 Cardholder

We have had this card for 4 years now. Never once have they offered a credit increase /line credit increase. NOTHING!!! They hound you for you payment 2-3 days before its due and they are rude as hell. My wife and I are paying this card off and NEVER again will we get any credit card from AMEX!!! Don't take a card with them they are not worth it. Then if you are late a few days on payment, they threaten to take you to collections. Glad we went with DISCOVER and CITI.

more ...
Sep 01, 2019

I had mine for 6 years and love it. I pay ON TIME, because that's what is expected of me. I haven't had a CL increase until I requested one online and got the amount I requested. Amex card is a great card unless of course you don't pay them, and who would expect them to be nice if you don't hold up your end of the bargain.

 
Sep 03, 2019

Hi i got a cli i also asked for a cli of 5k my limit is now 10k and i pay my bill way before the due date my due date is the 6th i pay the 2nd with no missed payments for 2 yrs.

 
Sep 22, 2019

Weird...we pay on time every time and have never received a call about a bill coming due. Also they’ve increased us three times in two years without requesting. Haven’t had any issues and they just gave us a lower apr for 9 months without us asking. Sounds like you maybe pay only minimum amount due and or are late often.

 
Oct 04, 2019

You are supposed to pay ON TIME, not even ONE day late. It's your fault.

 
Jan 05, 2020

Lies. Federal laws prevent creditors from reporting delinquent accounts to the credit bureaus until the account has been delinquent for 30 full business days. Not before. Sounds like you did something to flag their system and now you're butt hurt.

 
Aug 30, 2019
I own this card i love it.
blujay20 Cardholder

I own this card i was approved in jan 2018 they started me off with 5k limit now it's 10k$ limit with a error on my credit report i had to call there recon line and got approved you got do that if you got a fraud alert on your report for some reason i love my amex card and ther so nice.

more ...
Aug 20, 2019
Only card I am using right now.
Reviewer98 Cardholder

I've had this card for around 5 months now. It's very good for beginners. My sister with no credit history got approved for $2k. I was shocked when I got approved for $10k, I thought they made a mistake. My other cards have a $2k and $750 limit with interest, so I have stopped using those completely in favor of this one. I make payments on time and try to pay it off completely each month and my limit has just been upped to $15k. Love this card. I'll keep using it until the 0% interest deal wears off. I did not have any issues with the welcome bonus like some other reviewers did. I believe it goes towards your statement balance at the time.

more ...
Aug 19, 2019
I'm highly impressed!
xxE0l8l03xx Cardholder

Other than the fact that I cant use it everywhere, this card is amazing! American Express really does walk it like they talk it. Never let's me down and they stay on top of CL increases!! I highly recommend this card without a doubt.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Oct 03, 2019

Enter Your Reply

 
Aug 10, 2019
Great card
Chalakito24 Cardholder

i was approved for $2,000 but it’s ok I will rebuild my credit but American is doing a great job given an opportunity to the people with fair credit . Love my Card ❤️

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Sep 18, 2019

How was your score looking when you applied ?

 
Aug 06, 2019
This card and customer support is amazi.
James1965C Cardholder

Great card. Customer support is the best. Very good options

more ...
Aug 02, 2019
Don’t give the advertised offer
Jeen1 Cardholder

The first thing I was attracted to was the $150 welcome bonus offered when you spend $1,000 within the first 3 months. After spending WELL over $1,000 in less than the 3 months time frame I never received the welcome bonus or any information pertaining to it. After contacting customer service numerous times they are blatantly not honor the welcome bonus which is STILL posted/offered on all of their websites.

more ...
Jul 25, 2019
Don't judge a book by its cover.
Markutio Cardholder

They will tell you that your limit is one thing but then drop it out from under you if you use "too much" of your "limit." They will also approve laaarge charges to your card even if the expiration date, security code, name and address submit do not match what's on file and was used on the opposite side on the opposite side of a continent from where you had purchased a cup of coffee five minutes prior. Not to mention a plethora of other issues. (Make sure you actually get your sign on bonus kids, and I don't mean because I didn't spend the prerequisite amount, because I sure did, which was shortly before my limit decrease?) Bear in mind I have never made a late payment and regularly pay far above the minimum payment.

more ...
Jul 28, 2019

I wonder if you ran up high balances on your other cards.

 
Oct 10, 2019

That shouldn't matter! You sound like a young person who has never experienced what AMEX can do to you.
As the Romans said, "Caveat emptor!". And, as Judge Judy says, "If it sounds too good to be true, it usually is!"

 
Jul 23, 2019
Very good card with no annual fee
achunt2143 Cardholder

The rewards on this card are pretty good. Applied through credit karma. My first american express card. I had excellent approval odds so I figured I should apply. I was instantly approved for $3900. A couple months later I was given an increase to $10500. And no APR for 12 months is great too!

more ...
Jul 30, 2019

What was your credit score at the time you applied? Did they req hard inquiries when they raised you CL? What was your CS then at the time your CL had increased?

 
Aug 01, 2019

amex CLI are SP and you can get this card with scores in mid 600, there are other factors than just a score

 
Jul 21, 2019
Kinda Disrespected
JKing1996 Cardholder

I have a score of 720 and I responsibly manage $10,000 of credit. I think it goes without saying that I felt pretty disrespected after getting approved, but only for $1,000. Super upsetting in my opinion.

more ...
Jul 23, 2019

probably because you have to many New Accounts, The limit says Your are Lucky we even approved You lol

 
Jul 28, 2019

10,000 isn't a lot of credit to manage honestly. I'm sure with s good payment history with AMEX you'll see a CLI in a reasonable amount of time

 
Aug 19, 2019

They did me the same way... I manage 70k+ and had a 760... I started to cancel them when I was approved, but my wife urged me to keep them. They solicited the cards, no credit pull, and I applied. Don't like that 1k limit.

 
Sep 05, 2019

who cares what the limit is? I'm sure you have other credit cards, spread your charges out...

 
Jul 21, 2019
Never again
Rawhide55 Cardholder

I always paid on time my credit score was 690-730. I was going on a cruise and was going to use this card exclusively. I had a $15k cl and my balance was $13k+.I decided to pay $3k to have enough money to use on this particular cruise. As soon as the payment posted they dropped my cl to $10. I had to scramble to get some money for my vacation. Customer service was no help.

more ...
Jul 28, 2019

Using $13k of a $15k credit limit is a HUGE red flag. Card companies prefer you to be under 30% usage and you were at close to 90%! That lump payment probably made them think you were gearing up to max out

 
Aug 18, 2019

You couldn’t afford the cruise if you needed a credit card to finance it

 
Aug 19, 2019

You shouldn't have been planning a vacation if you had a 13k balance and not enough money to pay it off

 
Aug 28, 2019

I think they meant they had 13k unused of the 15k people. I think most would understand getting a credit limit decrease after almost maxing it out. Do people just spout off negativity online to seem smart?

 
Sep 05, 2019

Actually, it appears to me that most of the posters DID understand correctly ... this individual had a $15K CL and claimed a $13K+ balance. Decided to use the card for a vacation and paid DOWN the balance by $3K so they would potentially have a NEW balance of $10K giving them $5K of available credit. Then they said as soon as the PAYMENT POSTED, the CL was dropped to $10K leaving NO available credit, and they had to "scramble to come up with cash for the vacation." I tend to agree that vacations and such should be put off until there are ZERO balances of all personal debt (with the exception of a mortgage) ...

 
Sep 11, 2019

@Msd2018 I agree 100%.. Thats how U do it, its common sense. Most of responses here are right on point. True responsible credit card users. Good to see. :)

 
Oct 31, 2019

@Gokcchiefs actually you have it wrong. He used 13K NOT had 13K available. Do the **** math. If what you’re saying is true, his 3k payment would have given him a 1k credit! Does that make sense? Giving your credit card company an extra 1k in credit? Who would do that? It would mean his balance was 2k and he gave them 3k. Why for sh*** and giggles? You’re the one who has it wrong. This person maxed out his credit plain and simple.

 
Jul 20, 2019
Good in Super Markets
ZackAttack8203 Cardholder

This is a really good card for 3% cashback at super markets. I strongly recommend getting this card because 3% can go a long way for getting food and/or supplies from supermarkets (WALMART AND TARGET aren't supermarkets

more ...
Jul 21, 2019

you can get 3% back from walmart if you do walmart grocery pickup

 
Jul 22, 2019

That’s good to know. Thank you for sharing this information!

 
Jul 28, 2019

What about Walmart the is says Walmart neighborhood market?

 
Jul 09, 2019
Love this card!
Melzee0909 Cardholder

I got my sign on bonus quickly. I like this card a lot and use it for everyday purchases.

more ...
Jul 15, 2019

how long after you reached the $1000 min spend did you get the bonus?

 
Jul 15, 2019

Its going to depend on your spending habits. If you buy a lot of merchandise up to 1,000, it will take longer due to the risk of returning merchandise. On the other hand, if you buy a lot of restaurant meals, it will happen pretty quickly, especially if you blow way over $1,000.

 
Jul 09, 2019
Ok
Hessdan Cardholder

My daughter passed away in December 2018! Add a job switch 1 month prior and our credit card balances began to increase. Tough times but we never made a single late payment on any accounts.

  All of my credit cards were fine with the exception of one. American Express reduced my credit lines to the level I owed and effectively killed my credit scores! Suddenly I was at 100% of the line! I called to cancel my cards and they warned me it could hurt my credit scores! I politely told them you all ready have!

 I will continue to make payments till the accounts are paid off but will never use Amex again! Fair weather friends!

more ...
Jul 04, 2019
So far, so good
BxGirl95 Cardholder

The last credit card I applied for was about 12 years ago so I decided it was time to add an AMEX into the mix. The application process was very simple and I was immediately approved for 25k. It’s only been 2 months, but in that short time my credit score went from 785 to 811. I’m not a big credit card user, but I’ve read several reviews that state AMEX will lower your credit limit due to inactivity, so I make small purchases and pay it off as soon as it pops up on my account. So far I’ve had no issues to report and I hope it stays that way.

more ...
Jun 21, 2019
BAD CARD
storedeals1 Cardholder

They will give lure you with a good offer for a balance transfer balance, if you still have credit left after the the balance transfer and you don't use the card, they will automatically lower you limit, it really does not matter to these people if you pay on time, if your credit score goes higher, they have bad customer service.

more ...
Jun 30, 2019

You probably aren't disclosing information regarding your credit situation as of late. Maybe you missed a payment with another card or account. They lost trust in you.

 
Jul 16, 2019

Same thing happened to me. I wasn't using the card too much so they lowered my credit limit.

 
Jun 19, 2019
Deceitful marketing
ErikaFW Cardholder

I Applied for this card in order to do a balance transfer, which this card was recommended for. I read all of the fine print and it said nothing about only being able to initiate a balance transfer one time. I also only got approved for about half of the amount of the balance I need to transfer. I called them and asked them if I could transfer a balance, pay it off, then transfer another balance that way I can  Applied for this card in order to do a balance transfer, which this card was recommended for. I read all of the fine print and it said nothing about only being able to initiate a balance transfer one time. I also only got approved for about half of the amount of the balance I need to transfer. I called them and asked them if I could transfer a balance, pay it off, then transfer another balance that way I can still Use the card. They said no and that I can only do one balance transfer with this card and that there is no way that I can increase that credit limit. Now I am stuck with a useless credit card, a hard inquiry on my credit report, and no way to actually transfer my balance off of my current card with a 25% interest-rate.  Use the card. They said no and that I can only do one balance transfer with this card and that there is no way that I can increase that credit limit. Now I am stuck with a useless credit card, a hard inquiry on my credit report, and no way to actually transfer my balance off of my current card with a 25% interest-rate.  I explained all of this to American express and how they marketed this card In a deceitful manner and now they have lowered my credit score and I am stuck with a useless credit card and they do not care. The woman on the phone told me there is nothing that she can do. If you need a regular credit card, sure this will work, if you need to transfer a balance or want this card in order to help your credit score,  DO NOT DO IT. 

more ...
Jun 19, 2019

Why in the heII would you transfer a balance to a rewards card and use it at the same time and pay even more interest? Get a low interest rate credit card for balances. Use a rewards card for rewards and pay the monthly balance in full. You probably need to focus on eliminating your balances before using rewards cards.

 
Oct 06, 2019

There is a window for balance transfers it says first 45 days usually. If you can afford to transfer it and immediately pay it off to transfer more in 45 days why not just pay it off on the card its on?

 
Jun 17, 2019
UnAmerican customer service
BigBoo1267 Cardholder

Watch your balance like a hawk

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jun 18, 2019

I do, and it's always accurate. Very American!

 
Jun 15, 2019
Very good rates with no annual fee
WorldPiece Cardholder

This card gives 3% on groceries, which is second only to rent as my biggest monthly expense, and 2% on gas, which is not bad either.  AMEX is accepted almost everywhere; I've only had to use my old Mastercard at two merchants since this became my primary card.  This is definitely a keeper.

more ...
Jun 13, 2019
Great Card
Yadai Cardholder

I was approved for a $6000. Now it has increased after three months to $10000. I'm very happy with it and I love the 0% APR intro !! 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 5,500
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations
 
Blue Cash Everyday® Card from American Express Reviews

Blue Cash Everyday® Card from American Express