Blue Cash Everyday® Card from American Express Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.9 out of 5 stars
136 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0% for 15 Months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 15.24% - 26.24%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0% for 15 Months
  • Purchase Regular APR 15.24% - 26.24%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Oct 01, 2018
Dont rely on your CK approval odds
inoa05 Cardholder

If you're considering applying for this card based on your approval odds from CK don't! AMEX checks your FICO score and doesn't pull from Transunion or Equifax, so to say the creditkarma approval odds are inaccurate is an understatement. I suggest checking your Experian score and most important, check if you have pre approved offers from AMEX before applying.

My review/experience so far..

 When I applied for the Blue Cash Everyday my FICO score was somewhere around 740s-750s. I was approved and decided to apply for the Everyday Card at the same time, I was approved as well and they only counted as one inquiry so that's great! I received my cards roughly a week later via FEDEX overnight, included was my Experian score and report.

A few things I like/dislike so far..

 I like AMEX gives high starting limits and a 3X CLI after 60 days of opening the account. I like they give its members access to their FICO 8 score. The rewards aren’t rotating categories but the cash dollars updates at the end of each statement and you can only redeem in increments of $25. I let it build up anyway so that doesn’t bother me.

 So far I’ve only had 1 merchant that did not accept AMEX and being a large purchase it was disappointing, I ended up paying with a MC instead. Customer service seems to be outsourced, some agents have a strong accent and can be hard to understand at times but they're very friendly, courteous and try hard to make it right and fix whatever issue you might have. It takes about 2 months to start reporting on creditkarma, then reports 1 month late but eventually reports on time. Creditkarma is great for what it is, a free service. I don’t rely on it 100% and have a premium subscription with a reputable company that gives all 3 bureau score/report that updates in real time and so much more. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 04, 2019
Customer service was rude and wanted tax
BusinessOwner41 Cardholder

They want your federal tax returns. They did not require them before issuing the card and then after a month told me they needed them. I of course said no to that. Had I have known that they would have asked me for federal tax returns I would not have applied. Putting 4 years of federal tax returns out on the internet or even stored on their systems so they can be hacked later is just not a good idea. The value of the card is not worth the risk. No other card company has asked for my federal returns.  752 Fico score and don't need the hassle or risk. When I talked to them they said they had to have them or they might cancel me. I said to cancel my card I was not longer interested in it. Even though the card was paid in full they canceled the card and put it on my credit report that they had cancelled it when I had cancelled it.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Apr 21, 2019
It’s a fraud.. never gave $150 bonus
soumen1984 Cardholder

I had spend well more than 1000$ in first 3 months.. they never gave 150$ as told in agreement and advertisement.. followed multiple times over phone and online chat.. never got 

more ...
Apr 20, 2019
Had it for years Great Card!
Trap91 Cardholder

Ive had American Express Blue since 1999 and I love it. Never had one problem with the card and have used it to travel in the Military and after I left the Military. Great card used it and wore it out several times. Now I use it for Business and it has great perks for car rental etc.... American Express will never leave my wallet, because when others have failed it was my goto card.

more ...
Apr 18, 2019
GREAT!
cripple2 Cardholder

There are a LOT of horrible cards out there. This is NOT one of them. I got a GENROUS Credit limit and No hassles from them. No Soam mail. NO unsolicted calls. I do not thin kthis card offers you anything such as CHECKS (its American Express-on a NO annual fee card-AMEX just doesnt gie out checks to use against your credit limit. ) Otherwise-I think its a might FAIR card for the CL I got.

more ...
Apr 13, 2019
Options, options, and more options.
BigAlIV Cardholder

They started me off with a $10,000 limit and then I receive two bumps within 6 months up to 14500. I started with a high 600 credit limit now I'm at almost 750 because of this card. More than a year of no interest, welcome bonus, cash back, and so many discount offers definitely recommend to everybody!

more ...
Apr 12, 2019
Perfect card to build trust with Amex.
Sambd Cardholder

This was actually my first credit card. I was approved in March of 2018 for a $4000 limit. Very thin 700 credit score and $70k income. Only thing on my credit was my auto loan an authorized user credit card. 13 months later my limit is $15,000 and I was upgraded to the blue cash preferred. I also now have the platinum card with Amex. Once you have a good pay history, they offer you everything they have lol. Great rewards for the $0 fee. Highly recommend 

more ...
Apr 09, 2019
Terrible
Nugz12345 Cardholder

Initially got this card with a 13k credit limit, balance got to about 4600 and they shut my credit line down to 4800. When I called customer service, they said that I have many delinquent accounts with late payments (I have never had a late payment with any account- and they also confirmed I have an excellent payment history with them). They also said they decreased my credit limit because my FICO score apparently dropped to 640.....however when I receive my FICO score from my other creditors it is 730. It seems like American Express is trying to make my FICO score in the 600’s! I will be taking my business elsewhere 

more ...
Mar 31, 2019
Not good for balance transfer
Anonymous8427 Cardholder

I applied for this card to do a balance transfer. It offered 15 month no interest. I was approved for $25,000 credit line but there is a max of $5000 for balance transfers. I wish I would have picked a different card as now I have a hard inquiy and an addtional account to bring y score down.

more ...
Mar 31, 2019

Well, why don't you use it as a rewards card as it is the main purpose of the card? Rewards cards are not very good cards for balance transfers. Balance transfer cards are good for balance transfers. The rewards are great, I earn much more reward dollars using the deals than I do with 3%, 2%, and 1%.

 
Apr 18, 2019

How can I get approved for a balance for $25,000? My highest card is $11,000. So far cards that I open have been $4000 lately. I want to have a great big credit card line with amex but I dont want to start off low. I'm also trying to find the card with the best rewards possible for gas, groceries, and every purchases like deli's, fast food, mall apparels.

 
Mar 25, 2019
Will screw up your credit score
Edtomas222 Cardholder

They decreased my credit limit after a year of owning one never had a single late payment always paid few hundreds over the minimum due 

also they don’t negotiate  lower down your interest rate like other companies 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Mar 27, 2019

Good chance something on your credit report (such as a drastic increase in utilization %, late payment on another account, etc.) caused a credit limit decrease. Trashing AMEX without revealing all the facts is just irresponsible.

 
Mar 24, 2019
American Express is NOT GOOD AT ALL!!!
Vic2019 Cardholder

American Express sucks. They invite you to $10000 credit limits, for example, and then, when you have a $4000 debt, for example,  that you are paying with no late payments included, the will reduce your credit limit into $5000 in order to make you pay. They will destroy your credit without consideration. They won't notify you before, they will just do it. They offer you big credit limit, make you bite and then they will try to take all the money you took as a loan, and they will try to do it in one second...and if you do not pay, they going to take the money from the companies that insured their way to exist. I will never have another card from that guys. Not recommended, not at all. Don't like the way they do business. By the way, if you call them, they will put someone from INDIA to take care of you, you won't understand a word, trust me.

more ...
Mar 25, 2019

Very true

 
Mar 27, 2019

I ran mine up to 13k, paid it off, and asked for a 5k limit increase and they granted it. They didn't trash me!

 
Mar 23, 2019
Horrible !!!
luis000 Cardholder

I own this credict card, the cash back, you only can use when you make $ 25 or more, and you need to process it to be availabe to use, I have Discover and the Caskback is automatic ready to use it does not matter if you have $ 2, you can use it. And the offer to "PLAN IT" payments, is a pay system, but ... the report tou balance !!!!! is like you are not making payments !!! . For example is you spend $600 Amex offer 3 payments of $200/mounth , ok is fine , but the report the balance !!!!! is NOT A PAYMENTS SYSTEM . if I have a payment plan . my payments is $200 a month. if I not pay $200 . report my balance=$200, or if  I pay $100 . report my balance $100.... don't get this Credit card

more ...
Mar 29, 2019

You don’t understand credit cards, huh?

 
Apr 01, 2019

Apparently not. Credit card companies report the remaining balance and minimum monthy payment. So if you have a $600 total amount owed in July; they will report 600 balance and minimum payment. If you pay $200 in August they will report the 400$ balance and minimum payment.

 
Mar 23, 2019
Great and simple
Emilianolgu Cardholder

The AMEX Blue Cash was my 2nd Credit card ever, and I love it. 3% back on groceries, 2% back on gas & certain stores, and 1% back on everything else.

I look forward to holding this card my entire life, and upgrading it to the Blue Cash Preferred for 6% back on groceries & 3% back at Gas stations & certain stores once I have a family! I would recommend anyone who does not have a family yet to get this card. If you have some hungry mouths and spend more than $31 at the grocery market per week, get the Blue Cash Preferred! 

more ...
Mar 17, 2019
nice card customer service is excellent
jimmyd787 Cardholder

my scores are 825,813 amd 840  i was approved for $13,800.

more ...
Mar 15, 2019
American Express is great!
Anonymous Cardholder

Highly recommend

more ...
Mar 13, 2019
Low lines of credit
Baraq7613 Cardholder

This card gave me my lowest limit yet. I have other cards with over 10k limits. This one only gave me 1000. My credit scores I the 740s 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Mar 13, 2019

If you have a ton of cards and a revolving balance, most banks will give you a small line on new cards. And if you already have an Amex card, it's almost guaranteed you'll get a smaller line on that second card. You did not provide any of this information, so maybe the you should get 1 star as a customer.

 
Mar 13, 2019
Great Grocery Card, Great Benefits
Nathan201 Cardholder

This card is straight forward. It's great for groceries, and it has great benefits that I've used multiple times now. American Express' customer service has always been good for me, and all of the claims process is done in house and is easy to fill out as well

more ...
Mar 11, 2019
Great starter card and everyday card
Drlosi Cardholder

I didn't have bad credit, I just had no credit. Spent 30 years paying cash or using my debit card. Decided I needed to play the game if I wanted a good credit score. 7 months after I got my very first credit card (Cap One $2,500 limit), I applied for a Blue Cash card. I was disappointed they didn't offer me the bonus, but beggars can't be choosers. I was only approved for $500 with a 669 Experian score. I used the card for gas and groceries and little oddball stuff. Made one payment a week and only let $20 go to statement each month. Made my payments and after 5 months they raised my limit to $1000. I kept doing the same thing, make a payment a week and only let $20 go to statement each month. After 10 months they raised my limit to $3,000 with a 708 Experian score. Amex has been great on the customer service and their phone app is easy to use. Payments post almost immediately. I plan on upgrading the card to the Preferred card after I have had it for a year as I spend more than $66 a week on average for groceries. So far I have run into only two places that haven't taken an Amex card, Great Clips and most doctors offices. It is a great card and Amex will treat you right if you treat your credit right. Highly recommend. 

more ...
Mar 11, 2019
Best Credit Card Company!
kf4sci Cardholder

I destroyed my credit by not using it for several years. It’s been rough trying to get it back. American Express has been good to me! Customer service is fantastic! Payments are quick & easy and post immediately. No hidden fees, ridiculous interest or games, just a good place to do business with. I started with a rather low credit limit but it doesn’t matter as you can make payments as often as you like keeping your balance low.

more ...
Mar 08, 2019
Great beginner cash back card from AMEX
NikhilKedia Cardholder

Anyone who wants to get their first AMEX card should definitely get this. No annual fee and 15 Month 0% APR for 15 Months.

more ...
Mar 04, 2019
Customer service was rude and wanted tax

They want your federal tax returns. They did not require them before issuing the card and then after a month told me they needed them. I of course said no to that. Had I have known that they would have asked me for federal tax returns I would not have applied. Putting 4 years of federal tax returns out on the internet or even stored on their systems so they can be hacked later is just not a good idea. The value of the card is not worth the risk. No other card company has asked for my federal returns.  752 Fico score and don't need the hassle or risk. When I talked to them they said they had to have them or they might cancel me. I said to cancel my card I was not longer interested in it. Even though the card was paid in full they canceled the card and put it on my credit report that they had cancelled it when I had cancelled it.

more ...
Mar 05, 2019

Maybe you’re asking too much credit increase that’s why they need to do financial review.

 
Mar 06, 2019

It was smart of you not to put your tax information out on the web. If the Federal Government can be hacked (OPM) and a major financial institution (Wells Fargo) a credit card company certainly can be hacked to. I have never been asked for tax info, this card comes with major risk.

 
Mar 07, 2019

Tax returns may be required for a business card if you are a sole proprietorship. Maybe you applied for a business card.

 
Mar 02, 2019
KatieJB Cardholder

I’m very pleased with everything about this card. The length of the 0% intro interest has been awesome and very helpful. It has a great  welcome bonus and the rewards are nice. They gave me a decent amount of credit for someone who has a relatively new credit profile in terms of credit cards. And after several months, they raised my credit limit which is helpful in building good credit (as long as you keep your overall balances low of course). Also, I’ve had nothing but good experiences with customer service. HIGHLY recommend this card.

more ...
Feb 23, 2019
I OWN IT! 😎😄😃😃😎
Sadarr1985 Cardholder

  I Have Three Cards From American Express, And To Me, American Express Is The! Top Of The Line Credit Card!  Now There Is A Small Secret That Some Of You Do Not Know, And I Do Not Know, Why!  But Some Credit Card Issuers If They Do Not See CapitalOne On Your Credit Report, They Will Be A Little Hesitant About Issuing You A Card.

  Also If You Get A Chance To Get Credit Through FingerHut, American Express And FingerHut Has The Same Credit Score.  Also If You Ever Get A Credit Card Through Chase!  Try And Keep A Good Credit History!  I Have Found By Other People's Post, That Once You Have A Bad Credit History Through Chase!  Chase Will Black List You!  Meaning That You Will Never Get Another Card From Them!  

more ...
Mar 03, 2019

Ummm no. All your credit cards are on your report and all potential lenders see that. (Yes they all see capital one)You're spreading disinformation. I'd advise you to stop

 
Mar 07, 2019

I Dont! Think There Is A Secret! About Having! Capital One On Your! Credit Report Affects! Your Approval For This! Card! American! Express! Is! No! Different! Than! Any! Other! Issueerrrerer!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

 
Mar 13, 2019

Why You Type Like This? You A Book Writer Looking For The Best New Title? Hi Bot!

 
Feb 16, 2019
Instant $13,500 SL, Instant $150 bonus!
Katiedid1986 Cardholder

Scores in the 780’s, util 13% at application time, no lates, no baddies, 2 new cards, income $150k. Instant $13,500 starting 

line, as soon as I hit $1,000 spend the $150 credit was instant. I referred my husband and got another $75. The card is clear and makes a statement when you use it. I love the app, everything is user friendly!

more ...
Feb 08, 2019
Pulls the rug out!!
Larelin Cardholder

You can follow all the rules and payments to the letter and they can still cancel you out of the blue. I had zero balance and never carried over a balance from the previous month.. out of the blue i got notice it was cancelled and my credit wqs now worse... How in the wprld did they think I was a risk?!? I had the card for two darn years!!!!

more ...
Jan 13, 2019
Easy To Use
TCrudup Cardholder

This card is one of my favorite! It has a mobile app and for me thats a must. Payments can be made easily anytime and post within a few days. Most charger ove $100 have give you the option to make a payment plan that does not gain interest! I've only had to call them a couple of times and each time the operator was kind and responded to my issue quickly. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 5,500
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 

Blue Cash Everyday® Card from American Express