Blue Cash Everyday® Card from American Express Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.7 out of 5 stars
119 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

3.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0% for 15 Months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 15.24% - 26.24%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0% for 15 Months
  • Purchase Regular APR 15.24% - 26.24%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Oct 01, 2018
Dont rely on your CK approval odds
inoa05 Cardholder

If you're considering applying for this card based on your approval odds from CK don't! AMEX checks your FICO score and doesn't pull from Transunion or Equifax, so to say the creditkarma approval odds are inaccurate is an understatement. I suggest checking your Experian score and most important, check if you have pre approved offers from AMEX before applying.

My review/experience so far..

 When I applied for the Blue Cash Everyday my FICO score was somewhere around 740s-750s. I was approved and decided to apply for the Everyday Card at the same time, I was approved as well and they only counted as one inquiry so that's great! I received my cards roughly a week later via FEDEX overnight, included was my Experian score and report.

A few things I like/dislike so far..

 I like AMEX gives high starting limits and a 3X CLI after 60 days of opening the account. I like they give its members access to their FICO 8 score. The rewards aren’t rotating categories but the cash dollars updates at the end of each statement and you can only redeem in increments of $25. I let it build up anyway so that doesn’t bother me.

 So far I’ve only had 1 merchant that did not accept AMEX and being a large purchase it was disappointing, I ended up paying with a MC instead. Customer service seems to be outsourced, some agents have a strong accent and can be hard to understand at times but they're very friendly, courteous and try hard to make it right and fix whatever issue you might have. It takes about 2 months to start reporting on creditkarma, then reports 1 month late but eventually reports on time. Creditkarma is great for what it is, a free service. I don’t rely on it 100% and have a premium subscription with a reputable company that gives all 3 bureau score/report that updates in real time and so much more. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 04, 2019
Customer service was rude and wanted tax
BusinessOwner41 Cardholder

They want your federal tax returns. They did not require them before issuing the card and then after a month told me they needed them. I of course said no to that. Had I have known that they would have asked me for federal tax returns I would not have applied. Putting 4 years of federal tax returns out on the internet or even stored on their systems so they can be hacked later is just not a good idea. The value of the card is not worth the risk. No other card company has asked for my federal returns.  752 Fico score and don't need the hassle or risk. When I talked to them they said they had to have them or they might cancel me. I said to cancel my card I was not longer interested in it. Even though the card was paid in full they canceled the card and put it on my credit report that they had cancelled it when I had cancelled it.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jul 09, 2019
Love this card!
Melzee0909 Cardholder

I got my sign on bonus quickly. I like this card a lot and use it for everyday purchases.

more ...
Jul 15, 2019

how long after you reached the $1000 min spend did you get the bonus?

 
Jul 15, 2019

Its going to depend on your spending habits. If you buy a lot of merchandise up to 1,000, it will take longer due to the risk of returning merchandise. On the other hand, if you buy a lot of restaurant meals, it will happen pretty quickly, especially if you blow way over $1,000.

 
Jul 09, 2019
Ok
Hessdan Cardholder

My daughter passed away in December 2018! Add a job switch 1 month prior and our credit card balances began to increase. Tough times but we never made a single late payment on any accounts.

  All of my credit cards were fine with the exception of one. American Express reduced my credit lines to the level I owed and effectively killed my credit scores! Suddenly I was at 100% of the line! I called to cancel my cards and they warned me it could hurt my credit scores! I politely told them you all ready have!

 I will continue to make payments till the accounts are paid off but will never use Amex again! Fair weather friends!

more ...
Jul 04, 2019
So far, so good
BxGirl95 Cardholder

The last credit card I applied for was about 12 years ago so I decided it was time to add an AMEX into the mix. The application process was very simple and I was immediately approved for 25k. It’s only been 2 months, but in that short time my credit score went from 785 to 811. I’m not a big credit card user, but I’ve read several reviews that state AMEX will lower your credit limit due to inactivity, so I make small purchases and pay it off as soon as it pops up on my account. So far I’ve had no issues to report and I hope it stays that way.

more ...
Jun 21, 2019
BAD CARD
storedeals1 Cardholder

They will give lure you with a good offer for a balance transfer balance, if you still have credit left after the the balance transfer and you don't use the card, they will automatically lower you limit, it really does not matter to these people if you pay on time, if your credit score goes higher, they have bad customer service.

more ...
Jun 30, 2019

You probably aren't disclosing information regarding your credit situation as of late. Maybe you missed a payment with another card or account. They lost trust in you.

 
Jul 16, 2019

Same thing happened to me. I wasn't using the card too much so they lowered my credit limit.

 
Jun 19, 2019
Deceitful marketing
ErikaFW Cardholder

I Applied for this card in order to do a balance transfer, which this card was recommended for. I read all of the fine print and it said nothing about only being able to initiate a balance transfer one time. I also only got approved for about half of the amount of the balance I need to transfer. I called them and asked them if I could transfer a balance, pay it off, then transfer another balance that way I can  Applied for this card in order to do a balance transfer, which this card was recommended for. I read all of the fine print and it said nothing about only being able to initiate a balance transfer one time. I also only got approved for about half of the amount of the balance I need to transfer. I called them and asked them if I could transfer a balance, pay it off, then transfer another balance that way I can still Use the card. They said no and that I can only do one balance transfer with this card and that there is no way that I can increase that credit limit. Now I am stuck with a useless credit card, a hard inquiry on my credit report, and no way to actually transfer my balance off of my current card with a 25% interest-rate.  Use the card. They said no and that I can only do one balance transfer with this card and that there is no way that I can increase that credit limit. Now I am stuck with a useless credit card, a hard inquiry on my credit report, and no way to actually transfer my balance off of my current card with a 25% interest-rate.  I explained all of this to American express and how they marketed this card In a deceitful manner and now they have lowered my credit score and I am stuck with a useless credit card and they do not care. The woman on the phone told me there is nothing that she can do. If you need a regular credit card, sure this will work, if you need to transfer a balance or want this card in order to help your credit score,  DO NOT DO IT. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jun 19, 2019

Why in the heII would you transfer a balance to a rewards card and use it at the same time and pay even more interest? Get a low interest rate credit card for balances. Use a rewards card for rewards and pay the monthly balance in full. You probably need to focus on eliminating your balances before using rewards cards.

 
Jun 17, 2019
UnAmerican customer service
BigBoo1267 Cardholder

Watch your balance like a hawk

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jun 18, 2019

I do, and it's always accurate. Very American!

 
Jun 15, 2019
Very good rates with no annual fee
WorldPiece Cardholder

This card gives 3% on groceries, which is second only to rent as my biggest monthly expense, and 2% on gas, which is not bad either.  AMEX is accepted almost everywhere; I've only had to use my old Mastercard at two merchants since this became my primary card.  This is definitely a keeper.

more ...
Jun 13, 2019
Great Card
Yadai Cardholder

I was approved for a $6000. Now it has increased after three months to $10000. I'm very happy with it and I love the 0% APR intro !! 

more ...
Jun 11, 2019
Not the best!
Melzee0909 Cardholder

Really only got this card for the $150 bonus. Customer service is not in the USA and the online bill pay is weird. Points not that great prefer Chase Freedom and Discovery.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jul 14, 2019

Chase unlimited is a great card!!

 
Jun 09, 2019
Earn unto $250 in statement credit
ankursoni5555 Cardholder

Hi All, I have owned this card for almost 2 years now, I was approved for $8000 CL initially but now it has increased to $14000. This Amex card helps to keep credit in better shape because of the higher limit of the card my utlization ratio remains low. Due to this card i can say i was able to increase my credit score from experian 700 to 745. I have special link through which you can apply this card, I have a link on my instagram profile, just visit instagram from your PC or ur app and search for "ankursoni5555", you will find a special URL through which you can get statement credit upto $250. 

more ...
Jun 10, 2019

There is no signup bonus. Clicking your link might be a link to a virus. I wouldn't trust the link.

 
Jun 10, 2019

No 200/250 sign up bonus I should say

 
Jun 11, 2019

Please open the link in the incognito mode...or private window....additionally if possible use a VPN to change ur location and then use the incognito mode. You will see the higher bonus..

 
Jun 12, 2019

I am based in San Jose, CA and I am consistently able to see the $250 statement back offer by turning my VPN on and selecting RTP/New York and then using safari (New private window) or chrome (Incognito mode). Change the region anywhere in United States and change the browser and try again if you don't see the offer for any reason. Msg Me on instagram if ur facing trouble.

 
Jun 16, 2019

Let me know if you are not able to see higher offer..msg me

 
Jun 09, 2019
Get unto $200/$250 statement credit.
ankursoni5555 Cardholder

Hi All, I have owned this card for almost 2 years now, I was approved for $8000 CL initially but now it has increased to $14000. This Amex card helps to keep credit in better shape because of the higher limit of the card my utlization ratio remains low. Due to this card i can say i was able to increase my credit score from experian 700 to 745. I have special link through which you can apply this card, I have a link on my instagram profile, just visit instagram from your PC or ur app and search for "ankursoni5555", you will find a special URL through which you can get statement credit upto $250. 

more ...
May 30, 2019
PBEHE Cardholder

DROPPED MY AMEX BLUE PREFERRED CARD WITH A CREDIT LIMIT OF $17,800. KEPT MY AMEX BLUE CASH CARD, MEMBER FOR 11 YEARS. PAY CARD OFF MONTHLY. AMEX WANTS ME TO FILL OUT PAPERWORK AND SUPPLY TAX STATEMENTS IN ORDER TO INCREASE MY CREDIT LIMIT ABOVE $2,000 ON THE BLUE CASH CARD. WILL NO LONGER USE THIS CARD.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
May 30, 2019

What you should have done is ask to combine the credit lines on both cards to blue cash card and close the preferred card. By closing the preferred card, you may have increased your utilization significantly, because you lost 17,800 available credit.

 
May 28, 2019
Awesome
OprusXem Cardholder

They gave me a high credit limit and continued to increase it regularly. Customer service is always fast and thorough. There are ample offers for referring friends where both parties are rewarded. Cash back redemption is easy. And their website has nice tools to show how the card is being used. Not to mention how cool the card looks, that's always a bonus.

more ...
May 28, 2019

Was was your credit score if you don’t mind me asking

 
May 29, 2019

you can probably get this card with scores in mid 600s but score isn't everything. are you looking to get it??

 
May 27, 2019
Neilston Cardholder

AMEX Blue Cash Everyday has been in my wallet for years. Originally, I was approved for a $15,000 credit limit. After several months, they increased it to $18,000. My scores are, and always have been, higher than 750. AMEX has some nice features – their website is user-friendly, AMEX Travel has some good deals, and there are rotating deals you can add to your card. Overall, I’d recommend this card.

more ...
May 27, 2019
Bad customer service management
Nouche Cardholder

I was notified last week that my account, which had $0 balance and 0 late payments ever in two years was cancelled!

I did not use very much this card because eventough I had very good CS, they approved me for only 1k for balance transfer. Others, at the same time, gave me $8k and $11k.

Every year, all other companies would increase my credit line in order for me to use more their card. American Express just close the account instead to sent you mail or email as a reminder to use the card! Customer servise representative propose to do a hardcor on credit! Heck NO! My credit is the same as when I opened this account so if they approved me 2yrs ago without HC, they still can check all good payments etc of today! HC for just  $1000? NO! Keep the hole thing and make sure that you remove all info from your files!

I had them to remove my name and address from their files! They have beter not to send me ANY advertising EVER because I shall use everything legal against this bad customer management company!

more ...
May 23, 2019
Not recommended
Esamman Cardholder

I have this card since 2013, I only use it for gorcery shopping, not good for daily purchase (1% only) I use Citi card double cash (2% cash back), the rweards take tow statement periods to post on  your account (very slow), you can redeem only above $25(minimum), you only can redeem the cash back as statement credit (not really cash back) no option for direct deposit or check, my other cash back cards allow for direct deposit, again I don't recommend this card for daily purchase, you can choose citi double cash for daily purchase, chase freedom gives you quarter categories with 5% cash back on popular purchases, what I like about AMEX, their website is very organized, you can see your purchase categories easily and your rewards progressive. Also I think AMEX is the only one gives your free experian FICO score 8. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
May 25, 2019

The deals are awesome. I get a lot more dollars from those than I get from cash back rewards. Typically I get around $200/year back on occasional purchases throughout the year.

 
May 18, 2019
Sudden Cancellation
ChaCochran Cardholder

I was notified today that my account, which had $0 balance and 0 late payments ever in two years was cancelled! Their reasoning is that my card balances on other revolving accounts is hign and that there has been no activitiy on my AE card in twelve months. Contradictory much!!!! Their cancellation without notice will ultimately hurt my score because my available credit will reduce, therby increasing my usage to available credit ratio. BULL****!!!! Don't bother with this card. I used to consider AE a reputable company, not anymore!!!

more ...
May 18, 2019

You didn't use your card...that's a cardinal sin when it comes to banks and credit card usage. Sorry, but you made your bed on that one.

 
May 18, 2019

Run up your other cards and not use the card over a year increases their risk. I would have closed the account on you too.

 
Jun 06, 2019

Had this experience with VS (haven't used it in 3 years...they (VS) closed my account and my score dropped 23 pints. same thing happened when Toys R Us went out of business. My account was at 0, but my score also dropped. There should be an opposite reaction to scores when stores go out of business for bankruptcy.

 
May 16, 2019
DON'T DO IT. EVER.
Redbird1980 Cardholder

Have the card for over a year, take a promotion at work, use the card for some business related expenses getting started. My limit gets LOWERED and I call to find out why. Get told that if I promise to pay so much of the balance in the next 60 days, we can discuss getting my old credit limit back. Nowhere near exceeding the previous credit limit, but now that they lowered it, yes. There had BETTER not be any "over limit" fees.....DO NOT GET ANY CARD FROM AMERICAN EXPRESS.

more ...
May 11, 2019
Versatile card for travel
SlyFox32 Cardholder

Excellent customer service, easily accepted without issues, sometimes website a little wonky

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
May 15, 2019

If anyone needs a fast credit boost please don’t hesitate to talk to data scientist called Royalblade on telegram @ royalblade or e-mail Royalblade @ protonmail. Com. He has done a good job for me, I would like to help others get this help since I know how much I suffered to get this.

 
May 09, 2019
Good for everyday purchases

I got this card as one of my first ones, perfect card to add to the collection to add while building credit that adds value! 

I also love Amex customer support!

more ...
May 06, 2019
Approved in 30 seconds
Rnealbrt Cardholder

Great for the intro apr at 0% 15months got approved for a 4000 credit line with 745 credit score from credit carma

more ...
Apr 21, 2019
It’s a fraud.. never gave $150 bonus
soumen1984 Cardholder

I had spend well more than 1000$ in first 3 months.. they never gave 150$ as told in agreement and advertisement.. followed multiple times over phone and online chat.. never got 

more ...
May 06, 2019

if you previously had this card, you wont qualify for bonus or maybe you didnt spend $1000 in 90 from the day you were approved. who knows...

 
May 19, 2019

I also think if you upgraded you don’t qualify for the bonus.

 
Jul 13, 2019

Thank you for giving detailed information on how they treat their customers now, my credit score is very important to me and they are not being fair from what I have seen here. I will not apply

 
Apr 20, 2019
Had it for years Great Card!
Trap91 Cardholder

Ive had American Express Blue since 1999 and I love it. Never had one problem with the card and have used it to travel in the Military and after I left the Military. Great card used it and wore it out several times. Now I use it for Business and it has great perks for car rental etc.... American Express will never leave my wallet, because when others have failed it was my goto card.

more ...
Apr 18, 2019
GREAT!
cripple2 Cardholder

There are a LOT of horrible cards out there. This is NOT one of them. I got a GENROUS Credit limit and No hassles from them. No Soam mail. NO unsolicted calls. I do not thin kthis card offers you anything such as CHECKS (its American Express-on a NO annual fee card-AMEX just doesnt gie out checks to use against your credit limit. ) Otherwise-I think its a might FAIR card for the CL I got.

more ...
Apr 13, 2019
Options, options, and more options.
BigAlIV Cardholder

They started me off with a $10,000 limit and then I receive two bumps within 6 months up to 14500. I started with a high 600 credit limit now I'm at almost 750 because of this card. More than a year of no interest, welcome bonus, cash back, and so many discount offers definitely recommend to everybody!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 5,500
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 

Blue Cash Everyday® Card from American Express