Blue Cash Everyday® Card from American Express Reviews

Blue Cash Everyday® Card from American Express Reviews
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.4 out of 5 stars
98 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

3.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0% for 15 Months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 14.49% - 25.49%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0% for 15 Months
  • Purchase Regular APR 14.49% - 25.49%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Dec 06, 2018
Good Card
peebleweeble Cardholder

I have this card and use it often for groceries and gas. They place your rewards on your next statement so the best way to acquire your reward credits is through gift cards. You will receive them in 7-14 days instead of the 45 - 60 credit on your account.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 04, 2019
Customer service was rude and wanted tax
BusinessOwner41 Cardholder

They want your federal tax returns. They did not require them before issuing the card and then after a month told me they needed them. I of course said no to that. Had I have known that they would have asked me for federal tax returns I would not have applied. Putting 4 years of federal tax returns out on the internet or even stored on their systems so they can be hacked later is just not a good idea. The value of the card is not worth the risk. No other card company has asked for my federal returns.  752 Fico score and don't need the hassle or risk. When I talked to them they said they had to have them or they might cancel me. I said to cancel my card I was not longer interested in it. Even though the card was paid in full they canceled the card and put it on my credit report that they had cancelled it when I had cancelled it.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Dec 05, 2019
American Express is the best
Olabren Cardholder

I've been a member since 1989 and I've always had the best service. This card in particular is a good one to have although they have higher cashback % on other cards. I received a generous credt balance with unsolicited increase in a few months.

more ...
Dec 03, 2019
would not recommend
Lgmrz Cardholder

Customer service was very unsettling. Way too many "glitches in the system" as they said for any basic security issue. I've had a bad experience owning this card for only a few of months, more headache than benefits !!!

more ...
Dec 03, 2019

Thanks, because of this review I've decided not to apply.

 
Dec 05, 2019

You based your decision on 1 review? My experience has been very good. System works great and customer service is excellent. Amex offers are unmatched in the industry.

 
Dec 02, 2019
Trash
superkamiguru Cardholder

I only applied for this card so that, upon approval, I could make use of the option to immediately make a purchase before the physical card arrived with the card number and a temporary CID.  This seemed perfect, as it would enable me to use the card to take advantage of a black friday deal that would enable me to pay off over time and get the $200 bonus since the item costs over $1k.  However, attempting to do so got my account locked.  I called a rep who said they cannot unock it until I get the physical card, but by then the deal will most likely end, thus the only reason I got the card is out the window, I just wasted a hard credit pull for nothing.  They also said maybe I could get the shipping expedited so I could at least have a chance to race against time getting the card before the deal ends.  I tried once and they said I had to wait 24 hours.  I waited 24 hours and called again only to be told that they couldn't expedite shipping the card after all.  By the time I get the card and can get my account unlocked the deal will most likely be over, meaning I cannot use the card for the only purpose that interests me.  I wasted my time and a hard credit pull just to be given the runaround.  Ridiculous.

more ...
Dec 01, 2019
Not the best

Overall, this card is fine. I use it mostly for groceries. The one thing I hate about it is that you have to wait until you have $25 worth of cash back to redeem it. For someone who doesn’t make/spend a lot of money, this can take forever to get to. My other cards (discover it and chase freedom) let me use cash back at any amount.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Dec 05, 2019

Agree, with Discover I can use my cash back at any amount. :)

 
Nov 30, 2019
Got the cash bonus immediately!
Teavey Cardholder

I was elated to finally get approved for an AMEX card!  And of course the cash bonus was a nice touch. But what surprised me was that I got the bonus immediately.  Typically with other cards, you have to pay the bill and then when the next statement closes, that's when you get the bonus. Not in this case. When I made a purchase that was a little over $1000, my balance was a little over $750. This is a good start and I hope to have many good years with this card.

more ...
Nov 12, 2019
It's a solid card if you want straight c
pointhope Cardholder

I think it's a good card with decent reward categories, but their other cards which give you Membership Rewards are preferable.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 13, 2019

Enter Your Reply

 
Nov 12, 2019
Horrible, you will regret this decision!
1437eric Cardholder

They will start you out with a high credit limit, after a while with no apparent reason they will reduce the limit on the card having a negative affect on your credit score. When you call them to find out why you'll get the runaround by people who can't speak English very well. They will offer you a solution to get your credit score and card limit back as long as you agree to pay them hundreds sometimes thousands of dollars in a one-time payment??? Can anyone say extortion?

more ...
Nov 12, 2019

If you owe money and they tell you paying on it will help your score that’s not extortion, that’s how credit works, you pay off debt and your score goes up.

 
Dec 03, 2019

If the reason is that you haven't paid your bill then that's all well and good but anything else is unexceptionable.

 
Nov 12, 2019
Amex will bring you down.
Juanc99 Cardholder

WARNING! I was enlightened after a terrible lesson in 2014 with these guys. I have a 811 CS presently. Was able to get out of so many credit mess through the help of my credit tutor @royalblade1 on telegram. 

more ...
Nov 12, 2019

He’s currently helping me build my credit. I’ve seen 100 points increase in the past 3 weeks.

 
Nov 12, 2019

He’s very good. Royalblade@ ProtonMail. Com I believe that’s his email.

 
Nov 12, 2019

Heard about his credit repair services on here and I must say, it’s been a better day for me and my family since we employed this guy’s service. I was able to get a home loan that we do uch needed. Grateful!

 
Nov 12, 2019

Do they do any thing with credit inquiry

 
Nov 14, 2019

@JACK19701 yes, i believe so.

 
Nov 14, 2019

How much do they charge?

 
Nov 14, 2019

.......IN PROGRESS. He’s been impressive so far.

 
Nov 14, 2019

Would be needing their service. Hope I can trust you all

 
Nov 14, 2019

undefined

 
Nov 14, 2019

Good info

 
Nov 15, 2019

Spam

 
Nov 28, 2019

I’m Brooke, CEO and founder of wonderous world. I totally endorse Royalblade as your best choice for credit fixing. He as been instrumental to my financial success this year.

 
Dec 03, 2019

undefined

 
Nov 05, 2019
Great customer service

Applied via Credit Karma and got approved for $20k limit. Received card in the mail with envelope slit open. Person used my card fraudulently. I used AMEX online chat and also spoke to their fraud hotline specialist and they resolved the issue quickly and mailed me a new card via FedEx. Its only been 1 week since using the card and I've already received my $150 statement credit after drawing charges over $2k. Haven't seen any cash back credits yet but again it's only been 1 week and I think those come at the end of each statement period.

more ...
Oct 29, 2019
Hi360 Cardholder

First credit card and love it. So great for gas and grocery shopping. I'm a college student and have built my score from the low 600s into the low/mid 700s in less than a year by keeping my credit use under 10% and paying it off monthly. The app is sleek and easy to use, even esp to understand rewards points and purchase bonuses to add to your card. Amex customer service is great.

more ...
Oct 26, 2019
Finally Got Approved!
Teavey Cardholder

I applied for this card a couple of months ago and then another few months before that. Both times I was denied because I had too many accounts that were recently opened. Anyhow I was going through all of my accounts to make sure that they were up to date and then when I logged into CK this came up on my list of recommendations as being "pre-approved" so I figured that I'd give it another shot. Sure enough they approved me!  This was the final piece of the puzzle that I wanted to have in my profile and I hope to have good experiences with using it.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 24, 2019

Did they give you a good credit limit?

 
Oct 24, 2019
Cheating card PLEASE BE AWARE.
D4drive Cardholder

Once you got approved you will be getting good credit limit based on your credit score. BUT IF YOU MADE ANY LARGE PURCHASE WITH ANY OTHER CREDIT CARDS AND IF YOUR SCORE DROPPED SOME NUMBER ,WHEN THEY GET NOTIFICATIONS FROM FICO SCORE THEY WILL BE CUTTING DOWN YOUR LIMIT MORE THAN 90% OF YOUR TOTAL LIMIT WITHOUT ANY REASON AND NOTIFICATIONS.. 

more ...
Oct 26, 2019

How many points did your score drop? I had this happen to me once but it was because an old creditor that I finally paid off started reporting me. When 2 years worth of negative history suddenly popped up on my credit report, card issuers were pulling the plug on me left an right. I hope that Amex doesn't do business this way.

 
Nov 05, 2019

This is why I chose the savor one credit card with capital one instead of this card, there are so many complaints of this happening and it’s not okay, things happen and scores go up and down and I would never touch this card.

 
Nov 10, 2019

So, if I'm understanding this post correctly...your overall revolving credit utilization shot up at some point after you got this card, with a resulting (I'm assuming substantial) drop in your FICO score? Seems safe to assume that your FICO score dropped below some threshold and therefore triggered a decrease in credit line. I'd also assume that if your FICO score had dropped even lower it might have resulted in the account being closed. As bad as this was for you, this was not "cheating" on American Express's part. Most banks do periodic account reviews, with similar results if there's substantial changes in a customer's credit profile. Your key takeaways should be 1) watch your utilization carefully, and 2) learn what days of the month that your accounts tend to report, and 3) wherever possible, make payments in advance of those "reporting days" if your credit utilization is higher than it should be.

 
Oct 21, 2019
Good gas and grocery card.
KTURN71 Cardholder

I got it for the gas and grocery rewards originally. They offered me a pretty decent limit even with low credit history. They base most of your limit on the last payment you made on another acount X4. Great card for every day purchaes.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 22, 2019

What grocery stores do you use it at

 
Oct 21, 2019
Watch out!

I had to cancel this card after 5 years. I got an unauthorized $50 charge from Uzbekistan. No, I've never been to Uzbekistan. I've been in America all my life . When I reported it I was told that it was for a gym membership in that country and that that was a recurring monthly charge. What this meant was that I would have to dispute the charge every month for the rest of the time I owned the card.

more ...
Nov 03, 2019

I had Sears put a recurring charge on my account after I cancelled with them. So I called my card company and they suggested that I just get a. we card reissued.

Maybe you can call them and ask for a new card saying you keep getting unauthorized charges on your account.

 
Nov 08, 2019

I agree with rsmy123 just get a new card. Any card company will do that if there’s charges you don’t agree with

 
Oct 14, 2019
I see some things never change...
Random789644 Cardholder

I had this card from 2001-2006. Everything went fine until I found myself getting divorced in mid-2005. Suddenly, out of the blue, they cut the limit down from $10k to roughly $4k, with no warning whatsoever. Note that my ex and I kept our finances separate, so the card was just mine. My balance was a bit north of $5k at the time, which shoved me immediately into their fun 30% punitive interest rate because I was suddenly over their new limit (where previously I was not.) I call them and ask why they did this, they said "policy", and refused to discuss anything further. Nice job of coming out of nowhere to kick a man when he's down, Amex!
--

Fast forward 13 years, and with a vastly better credit score (and a far superior wife, little-to-no debt, a massively higher salary...) I figured I'd start looking to expand my card portfolio a bit. I generally keep the balances well under $100, and pay them off each month. However, I wander by here, and see that others still suffer the same issues I had suffered. The whole demanding one's tax returns as well? Umm, no thanks, Amex. I see you still have a long way to go to clean your act up, and I for one refuse to fall into your mess again.

more ...
Oct 28, 2019

Totally loving this part of your comment.... "and a far superior wife "

 
Nov 01, 2019

far superior wife...lol. Like it's a car or something.

 
Nov 03, 2019

She's better quality, monthly maintenance is a lot less, and fewer problems.

 
Oct 13, 2019
Merdok2000 Cardholder

Terrible card.  Had a $7500 limit and paid my balance in full every month.  Had my limit reduced to $1000 because according to the two, "the most I ever spent on my card any month was $900.  

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Oct 22, 2019

Seriously!!!! only cuz you had spend $900 the most! i wish i don't suffer the same issue cuz i only use this card for college fees!

 
Oct 08, 2019
So far so good
Abuelail Cardholder

Don’t use it if you can’t pay back the money

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Dec 03, 2019

You have to pay your monthly balance completely?

 
Oct 08, 2019
If they ask for a financial review and
quintonashton Cardholder

And you don't provide it they shut down all amex cards

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Oct 29, 2019

so you approve of this?...since you gave it a 5 star rating

 
Oct 02, 2019
This is my go to card for everything!
fixingthepast Cardholder

I use this to pay all my bills online then pay it off before the billing cycle ends. Stacks of points that way.

I have never had an issue with this card, and even though my CR took a nosedive after buying a new car, my limit remains the same.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Oct 15, 2019

It’s a cash back card. I doesn’t earn points.

 
Sep 30, 2019
Nicktheflash Cardholder

Its the worst card ever and worst company/bank last weekend whilr i was out and trying to purchase something at the store i realized they reduced my limit FROM 20,000 to 1000 !!!! Unbelievable!! Just because my credit score dropped few points and that’s because of the equifax fraud which i had nothing to do with it and theres a le suit for them! Idk if they can do that i never missed any paiment and never had any issue as of paying my card so just dont get this card or any American express cards theyre really umreliable 

more ...
Oct 02, 2019

Enter Your Reply

 
Oct 15, 2019

Chase bank style

 
Oct 24, 2019

Absolutely they do. Happened to me also.

 
Nov 07, 2019

I’m worried. Just checking out the reviews. 810 credit score and now , sounds like the old Amex rules and stipulations don’t apply here. I’m not doing a transfer balance with them after reading the reviews. Ty’all

 
Nov 08, 2019

I use AMEX gold since 1993 with unlimited spending and never had any problems with their service. I do pay annually fees, but it is worth it.

 
Nov 10, 2019

You posted this same review, word for word, about the American Express Platinum card on the same day your posted this. Between the duplicate reviews and terrible spelling/grammar/random capitalization, credibility is questionable at best. The "Equifax fraud" was a couple years ago, how exactly did that affect your credit score in September 2019?

 
Sep 11, 2019
Zero benefits with short balances
emmerised Cardholder

Not worth it. 

more ...
Sep 16, 2019

Hmmm. I got a lot of benefits with long balances. Definitely worth it.
Maybe you have a Xema card.

 
Sep 21, 2019

Maybe you have bad credit

 
Sep 09, 2019
awesome
oldmanpop1 Cardholder

great card if you use it wisely

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Sep 12, 2019

how much score do I need to get this card ?

 
Sep 06, 2019
Offers good cash back rewards
Ladybug190 Cardholder

This my firsy American Express card. I applied throught credit karma and received a $2k limit. Application process was easy and an instant approval. Card arrived fast. No issues as of yet!

more ...
Sep 19, 2019

Hi, what range was your CK score when you applied for this card?

 
Oct 29, 2019

738

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 5,500
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 
Blue Cash Everyday® Card from American Express Reviews

Blue Cash Everyday® Card from American Express