American Express Cash Magnet® Card Reviews

American Express Cash Magnet® Card Reviews
3.2 out of 5 stars
57 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

3 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0% for 15 Months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 14.49% - 25.49%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0% for 15 Months
  • Purchase Regular APR 14.49% - 25.49%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Apr 21, 2019
Great Card
kjtydy6 Cardholder

Okay, so I did not want to rush and write a review after my first impresssion, since it was not a good one. Allow me to elaborate. After spending two years repairing my credit and with a CS of 650 at the time, I applied for this credit card because A)CK said I had good approval odds, B) I was sent a pre-approval letter for another one of their cards, so I figured I had good chances, and C) this card has a cash bonus offer when I applied( $150 if I remember correctly) after spending only $1000 within your first three months. Although I did get approved instantly for $1k, they failed to inform me that i did not qualify for the cash bonus offer due to my credit score. Honestly, had I known this before, I woud not have applied. I then found myself with a credit card from a company that I resented already, but used it anyway for everyday purchases such as groceries, gas, and other bills always making sure to pay it off as soon as the charge was posted, always keeping a SUPER LOW balance. They have increased by CL twice since, and I have accumulated a significant amount of reward dollars and you can use them towards a lot of cool things, not just statement credit. They also have offers that you can add on your card to get cash back when purchasing from certain stores, restaurants and hotels(Levi's, Lulu's, Omni Hotels, CPK, MAC, Ray-Ban, etc) This absolutely changed my perspective and although it would have been nice to be eligible for that sign up bonus, this has become my go-to card. 

RE Customer Service: I initially called them when I spend my first $1000 to find out why the credit was not posted. They answered quickly and the operator was very efficient and clear about the procedure of opening the inquiry. I received a call back the next morning. I was in class so I did not answer and they left me a message. I was very impressed they called me and I did not have to be pursuing them to get the answers I needed. They did not have a resolution at that time, but they wanted to let me know they were looking into it and someone would call me. I did receive a call a couple of days later with the dissapointing news I mentioned above. Although I feel the offer was misleading, their service was outstanding and I have zero complains.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jun 03, 2019
Scam
Shezk Cardholder

I applied and received this card about 6 months ago... The first thing I was attracted to was the $150 welcome bonus offered when you spend $1,000 within the first 3 months. After spending WELL over $1,000 in less than the 3 months time frame I never received the welcome bonus or any information pertaining to it. After contacting customer service numerous times they are blatantly not honor the welcome bonus which is STILL posted/offered on all of their websites. Also you are not even able to redeem cash back until you have a minimum of $25 earned each time and many places don't even take American Express. I'm extremely dissatisfied with this card/company and I will no longer be using this card.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jan 04, 2020
easy to get, low credit limit
Angelinas72 Cardholder

i have 10 cc's never a missed payment, always pay full amount off before pmt due on any of them, had a score of 746 when i applied got 2000 cl big deal, sites easy to use but u cant use ur cash back till its 25 or more, no biggy, i never call cs on any of my cards so cant say if their cool or not. Gave 3 stars for the low credit limit, discover gave me 8500 w/a lower score. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 05, 2020

What discover card did u get that 8500 limit on?

 
Dec 31, 2019
American Express works with you.
RMFH55 Cardholder

I only had fair credit when I applied and was given a decent credit line of 4k. Within a year and a half of timely payments I have more than doubled that. Rewards are good, too, bit they really came through for me when I needed them. Thank you, Am Ex!

more ...
Dec 31, 2019
kwgoodman Cardholder

748 score, 10% utilization, 6year avg acct, approved $3500. It did pop up a message saying because of my balance transfers and amount of cards opened in the last year I didn't qualify for the intro offers. I've seen a bunch of people complaining about that. Maybe the pop-up is a new addition but it was very clear from the start before it even ran my credit that I wouldn't get the intro offers.

more ...
Dec 28, 2019
Amex Cash Magnet
Angelito81 Cardholder

I applied for the card. It offered 15 months 0% intro APR and $150 bonus when I spend whatever amount it was in next three months. I was approved. I received in the mail the card, but no intro APR, no bonus given. I called and they said I was not approved for the offer. That's a scam. Also they decreased my limit on my Amex blue to half the amount, and this was basically what they gave me on the "new" card with HIGHER APR. I would be careful with AMAX if you try to get second card. I did not approve any of their changes to my accounts!!!

more ...
Dec 28, 2019
This card is great.
aboutmyaccount Cardholder

Not only is this card great, American Express is probably the best, most professional, most respected credit card company out there. They are for a reason. Top of the line product with top of the line customer service. You can't go wrong here. Can highly recommend.

more ...
Dec 25, 2019
Waste of time
BobbyDelano Cardholder

I have a excellent credit score, but they still refuse to raise my limit. Even after paying the balance down to 0 several times.
I have other cards with 10 times the limit this one has.
I have requested a limit increase twice. And was refused. When every credit card I have raises my limit each time I ask.
My CC use is now at 5%, and still nothing.
My initial reason for applying for this card, was to replace all my others, and consolidate into one.
I am very disappointed.
I can get a higher **** credit limit at freakin CHUCKY CHEESE

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Dec 31, 2019

Same here. They are very stingy. I have excellent credit, low DTI, high income, and get refused every time I request an increase.

 
Dec 15, 2019
Great rewards and offers!
Todd007200 Cardholder

Received awesome promotions through American Express and I'm flabbergasted but don't have a 5-star rating.

more ...
Dec 11, 2019
Great card-I use it for all purchases
JS4242 Cardholder

I have had this card for a year. I love it. I got the welcome bonuses when I was told I would and the cash back is awesome! Glad I went with it..

more ...
Dec 10, 2019
Awesome
Upf23 Cardholder

Great card, I got this card with a small CL because of my score then after 9 months they bumped me up to double. Best card I owe, service is amazing and so is Amex overall. Get this card

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Dec 22, 2019

What were your scores at time of application?

 
Sep 22, 2019
Best first step into the world of Amex!
bjdwashere Cardholder

American Express is the BEST to deal with! They really stand behind the product and put customers first. I can't say the same about some of the other credit cards that I have. I would highly recommend this card to anyone. Thank you credit karma for suggesting this one to me!

more ...
Sep 09, 2019
It was oK
SDFIG Cardholder

I changed to a different card. 

more ...
Sep 06, 2019
Have paid no interest & on auto draft.
Dbjs40 Cardholder

I have capital one venture one that seems to charge daily interest even when I pay balance off each month. This American Express has been my go to. Capital one doesn't even give full value on rewards when getting gift cards or applying rewards for statement credits, but both of my American Express cards do.

more ...
Sep 05, 2019
Good
DsiS10 Cardholder

This credit card is very good although I did not receive the bonus due to my credit being low when I applied they increased my limit without me even telling them. I would recommend this card for building credit but please be aware most places don't take Amex so always have a backup that's like the mayor issue I have with Amex in general.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Dec 24, 2019

Plan to apply for AMEX in 2020. What were your scores when you applied?

 
Aug 30, 2019
I got the card i LOVE IT
blujay20 Cardholder

Hi i got this card i love it i got a cl 2$.

more ...
Aug 30, 2019

That's Great. Congrats. I am planning to get one and wanted to ask what was your credit score at the time you applied for the card? Thanks

 
Sep 03, 2019

that was suppose to be 2k$ sorry about that people.

 
Aug 28, 2019
AMEX cash magnet, best card in wallet
Mrselman1967 Cardholder

Applied after approx 9 months of credit history.  Was approved in about 2 min for $4000, just recently ask for limit increase to $5000 and was approved immediately.  Awesome card, Thank you AMEX.

more ...
Aug 30, 2019

Hi how did you do they how much you make a year what was your score?

 
Sep 01, 2019

That’s great. How much was your credit score at the time you applied for this card?

 
Dec 25, 2019

I call BS on this

 
Aug 27, 2019
Beware888 Cardholder

BEWARE, deceptive and thieving business! Every card I’ve had with the 0 intro promo has never required me to pay during the promotional period. Had I known these LIARS would render this promotion I would have never applied for this now pointless card. 

Customer service is Nonexistent! Might as well be talking to a robot. NEVER will do business with AE ever again!

more ...
Sep 13, 2019

I don't understand.. you are always required to make minimum monthly payments.. if you carry a balance after the promotional period ends.. you will be charged interest on all charges from day one.. all cards work this way..

 
Sep 21, 2019

Was going to make the same comment RickS111 made. The promotion wasn't "90 days with no payments" -- don't mean to hurt any feelings but this must be a young person without much credit history or experience.

 
Aug 23, 2019
Can't pay certain bills but still ok.
Jyws Cardholder

Will update my review once I receive my $150 bonus

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Aug 24, 2019

I got my $150 bonus yay! 5 star now...they did what they said they will do.

 
Aug 06, 2019
797 Excellent credit 2k approved
edrservices Cardholder

Waste of inquiry

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Sep 06, 2019

I had a different Amex card with a 10k limit, with a credit score close to yours, and was also approved for 2k. Was very disappointed. But after a year, my credit limit is over 7k. Will probably close it after promo Apr ends in December. Otherwise, it's a great card. Offers member services almost all other credit cards have phased out.

 
Aug 06, 2019
754 credit score 9% utilization
Jadesalvatore Cardholder

CK said approval odds were excellent, no pre approval from website though

scores 754, 768, 781

wanted for cash back but mainly for balance transfer of 5k

heard amex was generous with those with good credit scores and responsible usage

I have multiple cards with limits ranging from 5k-10k

only two cards with balances

no negs

long credit hx 

received a tiny 1000$ credit line

not worth the inquiry and will close acct as soon as card arrives 

more ...
Aug 06, 2019

That's nuts some people with credit scores less then 680 are getting 10k limits but us higher 750 plus credit score people get less the. 2000 allowance its crap

 
Aug 06, 2019

Make sure you do not actually "close" the account, but keep it around because closed accounts make your credit look not so good. I keep my unwanted accounts as long as there is no annual fee cause apparently other creditors and lenders will take note on closed accounts.

 
Aug 07, 2019

Thanks for your feedback but closing an act would only affect me negatively if this account were older. Utilization would be affected barely since my available credit without this card is over 100k. Also Amex doesn’t report a new credit line until over month after applying for it so it probably won’t even be calculated in.

 
Aug 07, 2019

And I couldn’t care less if they look at my closed accounts they were all paid and in good standing for us with excellent credit they should be lining up to offer us their services they’re are not many of us and any bank would approve us, these mediocre limits show us whose not worth the trouble.

 
Aug 19, 2019

Just wondering if I was the only one heated about my 1k limit... I wanted to closer it, but my wife convinced me not to...

 
Sep 03, 2019

Hi did you call there recon line? amex dont just look at scores they check everything how i got this card is i have amex everday blue cash 0$ af card i had for 11 months befor that i started my credit with a cap one journey card.

 
Sep 13, 2019

Don't get mad at the computer..! Get an actual "live" person on the phone and you may get what you want..!

 
Aug 03, 2019
754 credit score 9% utilization
Jadesalvatore Cardholder

No neg 

scores 754, 768, 792

tiny 1000$ limit 

not worth the inquiry

more ...
Aug 19, 2019

I guess that's the way they're doing business now... 756 and 0 utilization when I applied...

 
Sep 03, 2019

HI after 6 months you can ask for a cli of 5000 i did.

 
Jul 25, 2019
Bad
mardwk Cardholder

I never received the welcome bonus ($100) that they said they would provide. Also, the card is not supported for payments in many shops and websites.

more ...
Jul 23, 2019
Using it for the balance transfer
Credometer69 Cardholder

I’ve never had an Amex card and CK stated very good approval odds. CK has been pretty accurate for me. Experian pull 701 Fico, 28% cred utilz, $7500 debt load with good debt/income ratios. System generated approval for $8000. Was approved on 7/22 so further details other than wanting balance transfer for 15 billing cycles. Cold apped, was prequalified for a few cards on AMEX site but Cash Magnet did not appear . Looking for prequalification on a lender’s website is not always accurate and just because no offers come up does not mean you won’t approved. 

more ...
Jul 23, 2019
Very good basic card
achunt2143 Cardholder

Amex is great! And this card is a good card for when you want to have a big purchase. I'm buying counter tops with this card because of the 15 months no interest. I currently have two amex cards (blue cash and amex gold) and was pre-approved by amex before applying. They instantly approved me for $5k. My average age is 11months FICO all 729. CK TU 743 CC EQ 739

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Aug 02, 2019

I've never had an AMEX card but heard you must pay your balance in full. How does that work with 15 months no interest, I assume paying in full no longer applies?

 
Jul 21, 2019
Feel Cheated to The MAX!
ErikKenway Cardholder

$150 of welcome offer bonus after spending $1000 was the decision for me to open this account in the first place. After Meeting the treshold, and waited for 2 billing cycles there was no sign of the amount of $150 to pop up on my account. So I called them and guess what?! they said I was not eligible for the offer so there is nothing they can do to give me the bonus. To finalize the horrible experience with them, they required $25 minimum to cash out the cash back! Yeah Amex is a fraud! Stay away from this card or the company for your own sake. Never ever in my life this kinda stuff happened to me regarding welcome bonus offer. Closed my account right away. 

more ...
Aug 02, 2019

What were the conditions of getting the bonus offer, was it to spend $1k, how were you able to identify you qualified for the offer?

 
Sep 21, 2019

American Express's customer service has declined over the years. I had a Amex Gold Card since 1981 that I paid annual fees of $150/year for two cards though we rarely used it for more than 5 years. I was going to close it and then forgot (during my husband's chemo) to make my payment timely and was late two days. Amex kindly reversed the $29 late fee when I requested it due to my long history and sterling record of timely payments. Told the man to go ahead and cancel the card and that I was sending a check for the new balance minus the $150 fee due that month. I told him I'd charged $45 that had yet to show but would pay it on receipt of the bill. When the bill came, they'd charged me ANOTHER $29 late fee, this time for not paying the $150 annual fee! I called to remind them of the card's cancellation and was told they'd check the recording they made of my call to see if I'd "really" canceled it. In the meantime, Amex reported me to the credit bureau and my credit score dropped more than 100 points! I was livid. When I called demanding they remove the negative info from my Report, they'd taken care of it already (yet didn't call me).The following month my Credit Report showed account was again "in good standing" (BTW, that's how they reverse a negative even though it doesn't REMOVE their mistake from the Report), and my score jumped back up to 825 (but then went down to 815 for two months when I canceled the card).No follow up phone call or no "glad we could help reverse this" letter after 37 YEARS of being a perfect customer. I will NEVER do business with Amex again. Back in the day, Gold Amex card indicated good credit. I'd kept it because I hated to cancel a card I'd had for so many years. Credit score is now 830. My advice? NEVER pay a fee for a credit card.

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 
American Express Cash Magnet® Card Reviews

American Express Cash Magnet® Card