American Express Cash Magnet™ Card Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.4 out of 5 stars
100 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0% for 15 Months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 15.24% - 26.24%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0% for 15 Months
  • Purchase Regular APR 15.24% - 26.24%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Sep 02, 2018
Fast Approval $10k
hjjinc7 Cardholder

I was hesitant to apply reading the reviews. Equifax 738 TU 730 Experian 695; knowing that Amex uses Experian had me nervous. I already have one AMEX for my business so I decided to try it. I was approved immediately for $10k, my highest credit card to date. I have been rebuilding my credit for 3 long years and I will not stop until those scores are over 800. Thanks Credit Karma

i has excellent approval odds

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Dec 03, 2018
Was let down.
Garda Cardholder

I applied solely to do a balance transfer. I had "excellent odds" and was approved. I was only approved for a credit line of $1,000 with a 718 credit score. I had to rub my eyes to make sure I was seeing that right. I got approved for 10k on another card a year ago easily but this "balance transfer recommendation" card was a huge let down.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jan 20, 2019
Easy to apply for and excellent outcome.
GPM18 Cardholder

Applied for this card as a backup in case my one and only card says "Not Approved" in error at a store.  Applied and in less than 1 minute was approved for $18,600.  Registering,  and their home account are easy and awesome to work with.  I made a good choice with this card.

more ...
Jan 19, 2019
Apply ONLY on their website!
MMSLUSS1 Cardholder

Great card, quick approval, BUT some intro offers only apply if you apply on their website, don't apply through Credit Karma. Instant approval for 6k with 692 score.

more ...
Jan 15, 2019
Good Flat Cash Back, High % Rate
meillasdad Cardholder

We already have the Blue Card Preferred, and keep a low limit on it, so when they approved us for $2k that was alright by me. I have a 731 score. The only issue is the interest rate is really high, so we can never revolve the debt on this card once the 0% is over.

more ...
Jan 14, 2019
useless
Taped Cardholder

I have 802/797 and approved for $1k asked for $1001 and denied LOL they can keep it

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 15, 2019

How many credit cards do you have? I have 927465 credit cards too!

 
Jan 13, 2019
Larlar4343 Cardholder

Overall a good card. The promotional rewards is easy to acquire with only 1000 over 3 months. Plus the financing.

more ...
Jan 11, 2019
Quick approval!
jhines2982 Cardholder

Had always thought having am American Express card was kind of a status symbol. I have been reading the reviews and seen credit scores higher than mine get small credit limits, so needless to say I was hesitant about applying. After a rough start to my credit history, I finally got everything on track and felt comfortable enough to give it a go. To my surprise I was approved instantly for 15K!!!  Im super excited to get this card in the mail. This was the last piece of completing my credit profile goals. 

more ...
Jan 11, 2019

What were your scores roughly

 
Jan 11, 2019

Congrats! Now just like with all other credit cards, after a year or so card companies lower credit limits without warning, just play with it and dont flip out. They boost them back up again or if not just get used to a reasonable spending limit.

 
Jan 08, 2019
Hooked!
queenb1999 Cardholder

I already have the Blue Cash Everyday. If you already have an AMEX card you can only apply for another on the AMEX site at least that was my experience. I applied for the Magnet card and was approved for 10k. With that I was able to transfer my Cap 1 balance! My credits scores are in the mid 700s but my utilization is 4% overall. Utilization counts. History with them definitely counts! With 2 Caps, 2 AMEX, 1 Discover, 1 Citi, I am now offically done!

more ...
Jan 05, 2019
Wouldn't do it if you paid me to use it!
Gunny8man Cardholder

American Express does not care abot card holders

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 07, 2019

This is not a review. This is an opinion. This is completely useless to people applying for the card just to scare them off by someone who could have screwed himself over or got delinquent or became irresponsible in their finances.

 
Jan 04, 2019
Nothing special
AJPenn Cardholder

I had scores of 700 and 702, approximately 20% usage, excellent approval odds. I was approved for 4200. I called about this and was shrugged off. I have another amex card with a 15000 limit so I was expecting a high limit. I did not get hit with a hard inquiry because I had an existing amex account. Came with the rewards as promised. 150 for the first 1000 spent. And another 100 if you can spend 6500. Not a very useful card to be honest.

more ...
Jan 02, 2019
Terrible
Galegrem1348 Cardholder

Was given a 10000 line tried once to use was denied because was using 3000 on one purchase they want you to use on multiple purchases cancelled card immediately don't bother

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 02, 2019

Why didn't you do a large purchazse like buy a house for a million dollars?

 
Dec 31, 2018
great card
knipatel Cardholder

It feels great holding the card, not like other plastic cards they have used great material in a card to make you feel when you hold it. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 04, 2019

This is not a review. This is an observation of the card construction quality. This is completely useless to people applying for the card.

 
Dec 28, 2018
Beware, AE offer 0% int, but won’t give!
Workmomof2 Cardholder

AE claims that because one goes through Credit Karma, the offer may not apply. Beware. They will charge you interest!!

more ...
Dec 24, 2018
I like this card!
gjkutlk7iuty Cardholder

I was browsing through other sites reading reviews and I do have to admit the logo of the Gladiator really does look like he is sticking his tongue out of his mouth. The drawing on the card banner makes it look like a long tongue since it is near his mouth. Everywhere so far has taken it except for those really cheapo discount warehouse stores. Their dashboard when you log in has everything separated in what categories and pie chart when you want to break things down in exact detail. I love it!! The ingeniuos Gladiator logo with the long banner resembling like a snakelike tongue really cracks me up reading reviews from other sites. Thank you!

more ...
Dec 23, 2018
Easy to use.
Kittykatkonway Cardholder

Obviously the biggest issue can be thar Amex is not accepted everywhere but I've been fortunate in my usage. I applied with a over all 710 score and was approved. I got great discounts using it for Univers Studios and rental cars.

more ...
Dec 25, 2018

Kittykatkonway

Did Credit Karma said you have a 710, or did you ☑ the real credit score?

 
Jan 03, 2019

It looks salacious.

 
Dec 22, 2018
Excellent Odds, Only approved 2K
MsValerieAnne Cardholder

I applied for the card and got approved. My approval odds were excellent. My credit scores and FICO are all mid 700s. 100% on time payments for my other cards, yet my highest credit is $6,000 (Cap 1 card).  After reading all the others and how much lower some people had  score wise/history wise, I decided to apply hoping I'd get at least $4,00, since I'll be using it as a balance transfer card. I got approved for $2,000, with $1,500 being allowed for balance transfers, so instead going down to one payment a month, if i tranfer, I'll have 3 monthly payments. 

FICO (Transunion) 771 /  FICO (Experian)  753  -- Scores on here and CreditSesame 743 all the way around. 

more ...
Dec 17, 2018
Easy to get
blujay20 Cardholder

Hi i now got the card when i applyed my experian score was 712 with 2 inquiries 3 years credit history cl $2000 they said you gota 6 months to get a cli other then that was easy to get i applyed through credit karma with very good approval odds and got in my other amex card is a every day blue cash with a $10000 limit i got that one on there site they treat me very well since iv been with them since feb Note! if you get denied call there reconsideration line i dont got the # but its easy to look up.

more ...
Dec 22, 2018

Very hard to understand

 
Dec 24, 2018

No it's not hard to understand if you don't get approved call there reconsideration line it's that simple.

 
Dec 29, 2018

Wtf are you saying??? No one can understand what you’re trying to say.

 
Jan 08, 2019

Hi all of you can thumbs me down all you want, I love american express there nice and easy to work with.

 
Dec 12, 2018
Excellent flat rate cashback card
Zelderado Cardholder

As most already know by this point through other reviews, American Express uses the Experian credit score which could be considerably lower than your Equifax or TransUnion. My TU and EQ scores were, and have since been 745 (both before AND after applying for this card) for about a solid year in both directions. And yet, I was only approved for a CL of $1,000 (a little disappointing). Otherwise... customer service, the rewards, the ease of using the AmEx app, and the attention to potential fraudulent acts are all fantastic! I would definitely recommend for those looking for a straightforward flat rate cashback card with nice promotional rewards and other benefits.

more ...
Dec 12, 2018
Pretty good card
tattedupboy Cardholder

I applied and was approved with a 680 Experian FICO score. As I'm sure anyone with this card knows, if you use this as your primary card (or any AmEx card, for that matter), make sure to carry a backup Visa or MasterCard. When I am able to use it, it's great, and the welcome bonus is the cherry on top. 

more ...
Dec 09, 2018
Amazing benefits
Cardy1 Cardholder

I got approved for this card in September and I already got an increase after 2 months. You can’t go wrong with the Amex cash magnet. I’m a happy Amex customer. Thank you 

more ...
Dec 06, 2018
They gave me $2,000
ImNet Cardholder

Great card, they only started me with $2,000, but after 60 days I requested a higher limit and they moved me to $6,000. Overall it’s a great card. I got my $150 bonus for spending like $2,000. So far I’ve spent over $6,500 on this card in about 70 days. Cash back is great and I can’t complain 💯

more ...
Dec 06, 2018
30,000 Limit with no Fee, perfect
umermulla Cardholder

0% apr and $0 fee

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Dec 14, 2018

How much was ur score ?

 
Dec 05, 2018
American Express Cash Magnet Card
jbengle1 Cardholder

I applied, received my card, used it for $1000 worth of purhases in less than three months but was denied $150 bonus,

more ...
Dec 06, 2018

did they tell you why you were denied ?

 
Dec 16, 2018

You probably have to wait a couple of billing cycles before you get the bonus.

 
Dec 28, 2018

They have a 1 time welcome bonus per lifetime. So if you ever had one from them, even if it was a business card, you can't get another.

 
Dec 03, 2018
grace2017 Cardholder

Approved instantly 5k. I have already recieved the bonus! Great card for cashback!

more ...
Dec 03, 2018
Was let down.
Garda Cardholder

I applied solely to do a balance transfer. I had "excellent odds" and was approved. I was only approved for a credit line of $1,000 with a 718 credit score. I had to rub my eyes to make sure I was seeing that right. I got approved for 10k on another card a year ago easily but this "balance transfer recommendation" card was a huge let down.

more ...
Dec 08, 2018

Can I ask what other card company you applied for? I'm wanting to do a balanced transfer only. Thx

 
Dec 28, 2018

Yes, I want to know as well. What card was it?

 
Nov 29, 2018
WarCulture Cardholder

68% utility, scores around 663, approved for 2k. The web management system is up to par and easy to navigate. I practice AZEO now so my utility has gone down significantly and I should be good for an increase in 61 days

more ...
Nov 29, 2018

Hi you get your utilization down to 10% your score will really go up.

 
Nov 29, 2018

Yes indeed. AZEO = All at zero except one, this is in reference to utilization, the one card that reports is usually at <8%, at the time I applied for this card I had taken 3 trips prior. </p>

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 

American Express Cash Magnet™ Card

100 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i