American Express Cash Magnet™ Card Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.5 out of 5 stars
82 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0% for 15 Months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 14.99% - 25.99%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0% for 15 Months
  • Purchase Regular APR 14.99% - 25.99%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Sep 02, 2018
Fast Approval $10k
hjjinc7 Cardholder

I was hesitant to apply reading the reviews. Equifax 738 TU 730 Experian 695; knowing that Amex uses Experian had me nervous. I already have one AMEX for my business so I decided to try it. I was approved immediately for $10k, my highest credit card to date. I have been rebuilding my credit for 3 long years and I will not stop until those scores are over 800. Thanks Credit Karma

i has excellent approval odds

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Dec 03, 2018
Was let down.
Garda Cardholder

I applied solely to do a balance transfer. I had "excellent odds" and was approved. I was only approved for a credit line of $1,000 with a 718 credit score. I had to rub my eyes to make sure I was seeing that right. I got approved for 10k on another card a year ago easily but this "balance transfer recommendation" card was a huge let down.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Dec 09, 2018
Amazing benefits
Cardy1 Cardholder

I got approved for this card in September and I already got an increase after 2 months. You can’t go wrong with the Amex cash magnet. I’m a happy Amex customer. Thank you 

more ...
Dec 06, 2018
They gave me $2,000
ImNet Cardholder

Great card, they only started me with $2,000, but after 60 days I requested a higher limit and they moved me to $6,000. Overall it’s a great card. I got my $150 bonus for spending like $2,000. So far I’ve spent over $6,500 on this card in about 70 days. Cash back is great and I can’t complain 💯

more ...
Dec 05, 2018
American Express Cash Magnet Card
jbengle1 Cardholder

I applied, received my card, used it for $1000 worth of purhases in less than three months but was denied $150 bonus,

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Dec 06, 2018

did they tell you why you were denied ?

 
Dec 03, 2018
grace2017 Cardholder

Approved instantly 5k. I have already recieved the bonus! Great card for cashback!

more ...
Dec 03, 2018
Was let down.
Garda Cardholder

I applied solely to do a balance transfer. I had "excellent odds" and was approved. I was only approved for a credit line of $1,000 with a 718 credit score. I had to rub my eyes to make sure I was seeing that right. I got approved for 10k on another card a year ago easily but this "balance transfer recommendation" card was a huge let down.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Dec 08, 2018

Can I ask what other card company you applied for? I'm wanting to do a balanced transfer only. Thx

 
Nov 29, 2018
WarCulture Cardholder

68% utility, scores around 663, approved for 2k. The web management system is up to par and easy to navigate. I practice AZEO now so my utility has gone down significantly and I should be good for an increase in 61 days

more ...
Nov 29, 2018

Hi you get your utilization down to 10% your score will really go up.

 
Nov 29, 2018

Yes indeed. AZEO = All at zero except one, this is in reference to utilization, the one card that reports is usually at <8%, at the time I applied for this card I had taken 3 trips prior. </p>

 
Nov 26, 2018
Awesme card
mehdi016 Cardholder

Generous limit !!

I only have 10 months credit history, 717 and 716 credit score. I received pre-approval in the mail and wasn't expecting an instant approval, but i was approved in 30sec with 10k limit. i'm so happy !! thank you Amex and Credit Karma.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 29, 2018

I wish i can get pre-approvals in the mail not sure why i don't.

 
Nov 22, 2018
mcerrone Cardholder

Instant 10k.   Hell yes love it 

more ...
Nov 25, 2018

Could you describe your profile? I'm also looking for 10k limit. I already have two CC with score in range 750

 
Nov 28, 2018

@Cvvvne you should definitely apply! Esp if Credit Karma states you have excellent approval odds

 
Nov 18, 2018
A must-have for current AMEX customers
jkwo Cardholder

If you already have an AMEX card, the application process is literally the easiest you will ever experience.  After logging in with my account info, all I had to complete was my annual income with the option of declaring my assets.  The application notates that AMEX considers your history with them, so if you have an established relationship, this card is a no-brainer.  Approved for $19,500 in less than 30 seconds.  All the other reviews mentioned that AMEX utilizes Experian and my FICO Score 8 is 830.  My only gripe, albeit a minor one, is that my balance transfer option was limited to $5,000.  

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 

American Express Cash Magnet™ Card

82 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i