American Express Cash Magnet® Card Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.0 out of 5 stars
128 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

4 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Sep 02, 2018
Fast Approval $10k
hjjinc7 Cardholder

I was hesitant to apply reading the reviews. Equifax 738 TU 730 Experian 695; knowing that Amex uses Experian had me nervous. I already have one AMEX for my business so I decided to try it. I was approved immediately for $10k, my highest credit card to date. I have been rebuilding my credit for 3 long years and I will not stop until those scores are over 800. Thanks Credit Karma

i has excellent approval odds

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jun 03, 2019
Scam
Shezk Cardholder

I applied and received this card about 6 months ago... The first thing I was attracted to was the $150 welcome bonus offered when you spend $1,000 within the first 3 months. After spending WELL over $1,000 in less than the 3 months time frame I never received the welcome bonus or any information pertaining to it. After contacting customer service numerous times they are blatantly not honor the welcome bonus which is STILL posted/offered on all of their websites. Also you are not even able to redeem cash back until you have a minimum of $25 earned each time and many places don't even take American Express. I'm extremely dissatisfied with this card/company and I will no longer be using this card.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jun 16, 2019
Idk
Yomomasofit Cardholder

Had to wait over a week to get this card. I asked for express shipping yet I feel like they just bull****ted their way out when I asked. I needed it for an emergency and yet it took way longer than any other card I've had. Super bad customer support and they will just keep tossing you around if they don't know the answer to your question. It was easy to apply but super bad in their customer service and or the time it takes to get the dam thing.

more ...
Jun 15, 2019
Better $$ incentives from other cards
Ziziloulama Cardholder

They lowered my limit because I don’t spend enough. Well I certainly won’t be spending anymore with them. My score is 821.  I should be given a higher limit. Have had this card for 25 years. 

more ...
Jun 14, 2019
EXTORTION
Wifey1Sock Cardholder

Last time I ever use a AMEX card, was originally approved for 8k. Now after a few months they randomly decide to lower my CL on multiple cards to obscene amounts forcing my accounts to their max. After I called them to ask what's going on they are demanding early payment on the balance in exchange for the credit limit back. THIS IS EXTORTION. I WILL NEVER USE AMEX AGAIN. 

I used to rave about Amex customer service and features, now I will tell everyone to stay away for the EXTORTIONIST company AMEX.

more ...
Jun 14, 2019
EXTORTION
Wifey1Sock Cardholder

Last time I ever use a AMEX card, was originally approved for 8k. Now after a few months they randomly decide to lower my CL on multiple cards to obscene amounts forcing my accounts to their max. After I called them to ask what's going on they are demanding early payment on the balance in exchange for the credit limit back. THIS IS EXTORTION. I WILL NEVER USE AMEX AGAIN. 

I used to rave about Amex customer service and features, now I will tell everyone to stay away for the EXTORTIONIST company AMEX.

more ...
Jun 10, 2019
Not too shabby
BigAlIV Cardholder

I applied for this card to add a second Amex to my wallet. I have the blue cash everyday with a mid 700 credit score. Very low balance compared to what I was approved for with the blue cash everyday, but I called after receiving my card and got the balance doubled. Amex has the best customer service around by far! You don't wait on hold and they're always friendly and easy to understand.

more ...
Jun 03, 2019
Scam
Shezk Cardholder

I applied and received this card about 6 months ago... The first thing I was attracted to was the $150 welcome bonus offered when you spend $1,000 within the first 3 months. After spending WELL over $1,000 in less than the 3 months time frame I never received the welcome bonus or any information pertaining to it. After contacting customer service numerous times they are blatantly not honor the welcome bonus which is STILL posted/offered on all of their websites. Also you are not even able to redeem cash back until you have a minimum of $25 earned each time and many places don't even take American Express. I'm extremely dissatisfied with this card/company and I will no longer be using this card.

more ...
May 28, 2019
Quick approval own
Sicofit Cardholder

Approved but havent received yet. Own another amex card which btw last month denied me a cl increase So, after reading reviews decided to apply because everyone said it wouldnt be a hard inquiry. Girl on phone wasnt able to verify that, but took a shot.
Ck 726 and 740. Fico 690 ish.
In 45 seconds appoved for 9200, Im pleased already have an account number and added to the mobile app

more ...
May 26, 2019
Low credit limit $2,000 w/a score of 775
Angelinas72 Cardholder

easy to get the card but they gave me a low credit limit, discover gave me 6gran w/a credit score of 655, chase gave 3400 w/a 775 score, discover is the better card.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jun 05, 2019

It should go up. Maybe even over the other cards limits. Things change.

 
May 18, 2019
Cancels without notice
Sf2400 Cardholder

I just got this card all my credit accounts in good standing across the board with Excellent credit. Approved in March cancelled in may 2 months later while I was in good standing! I'm contacting Experian to report their scandoulous buisness practices!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jun 11, 2019

Did they say why you were canceled?

 
May 04, 2019
The reviews are NOT REAL!!!
Rocket321off Cardholder

As of the date I wrote this review it showed there was 118 different reviews. They're all repeats same thing over and over. Can you trust a card company that writes their own reviews? The only reason I gave it five stars was that it might be at the top of the list so someone would read this.

more ...
May 09, 2019

So did you edit your stars because it shows you gave them 2?

 
Jun 05, 2019

First off, what hard proof do you have to your claim? Second, you believe you’re solving the issue by writing a fake review yourself? You don’t make logical sense.

 
Jun 11, 2019

How do you know?

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations
 

American Express Cash Magnet® Card

128 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i