American Express® Gold Card Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
American Express® Gold Card Reviews
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.3 out of 5 stars
82 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR Not Applicable
  • Annual Fee $250
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR See Terms*
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Feb 09, 2019
Best card for families
Familyman89 Cardholder

I rebuilt my credit over the course of 3 years waited till I was at least a 690-700 before applying for my first real credit card I did research for a couple months meaning I don’t make any kind of credit decisions lightly and wanted a card to fit my lifestyle after all my research I decided that American Express would be the best company for me with their variety of different cards and perks charge/credit cards and the fact that their point system isn’t over inflated with an absurd number of points that makes you feel like you have more value than you do they have a very well rounded point system so I decided to apply for an Amex Gold card through credit Karma because I had very good approval odds and I So I applied through the app and was approved in 5 minutes and had my card a week later after a few months with the card I have to say I absolutely love it I am a family man and feel like this is the perfect family card I spend ballpark 600-700 in groceries a month that’s 4x points per dollar and we like to eat out also that’s 4x points per dollar at restaurants so this card has substantial value for families and if you pay attention to the negative reviews about this card it is because it’s a charge card and people complain about not being able to Cary a balance and don’t like paying it off every month 1. I got this card because it’s a charge card meaning I only make purchases that I would have to make anyways month to month  groceries and eating out meaning I’m not over extending myself buying wish list items I use it and just pay the balance the next day I don’t wait for statements to come out I use it then put it back to $0 because it’s money I would spend anyway at least I’m getting rewards and points 2. The customer service has been great in app no complaints and I will be getting future credit cards with them so before you apply or use this card do yourself a favor and have a full understanding of what the difference between a charge and  card is charge cards can be a great tool to keep you from over spending month to month and not stress about carried balances growing in size and they definitely come with more rewards and perks 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jan 12, 2019
Points are not worth close to what you
HappywithCapOne Cardholder

I’ve tried twice to explain my huge disappointment with trying to use American Express points and my review was timed out. Short version the point can’t be used for what you think 

all travel must be booked thru American Express agents at a 4 times normal price that anyone can book on their own. I wish I could farther explain but I’ll be timed out again. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Nov 08, 2019
Not bad
SamIamck Cardholder

I checked through Amex website to see if I was pre approved before a HP. It said I was pre approved so I went ahead and applied and I was approved. Great charge card with great cash back. For Amex, they pull Experian so be mindful. If CK says the approval odds are good, check your EXP report as that is they bureau they pull from. TU 740, EQ 746 EXP 670. Before know which Bureau each lender uses, I applied for so many cards which all used EXP which is why that score is significantly lower then the rest. 

more ...
Oct 30, 2019
Undeserved cresit line decrease
Jsgagne Cardholder

I have had this card for a year and use it regularly. My initial credit limit was 2000, and over the past year I my EVERY payment ON TIME or early and always more than the minimum payment. They just decreased my credit line to 1000 for no reason! I will be paying this card off and closing it this week, this is no way yo repay loyal, responsible customers. Terrible service, very disappointed!!!

more ...
Oct 30, 2019

This is a charge card. You do t have a credit limit per day but you do have a limit on spending power. The less you use it the less you get.

 
Nov 05, 2019

Review of the wrong card

 
Nov 08, 2019

Charge cards have no limits only spending power

 
Oct 13, 2019
cdrtrek Cardholder

I have both the Gold and the Platinum cards and I go no where without them. No problems whatsoever and I've been a member of Amex for 30 years plus. Great Cards. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Oct 17, 2019

Enter Your Reply

 
Oct 02, 2019
Billybobcuccio Cardholder

It’s a charge card not a credit card. You use it for things you can afford to pay for immediately . Credit cards let you get too far ahead of yourself. Spend only what you can afford and you’ll love this card. I’ve used it almost exclusively this past year. I used to use a debit card and didn’t get any points from that , plus you lose the protection of a great bank like American Express. Use it like a debit , earn points which I just use to pay down my next bill. Don’t leave home without. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 125
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 
American Express® Gold Card Reviews

American Express® Gold Card

82 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i